1 State of Arkansas A BillACT 1220 OF 1991 2 78th General Assembly SENATE BILL 691 Regular Session, 1991 By: Senators Dowd and Harriman 6 For An Act To Be Entitled 7 "AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE REDISTRICTING OF THE g CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS TO 9 CONFORM TO THE 1990 UNITED STATES CENSUS; AND FOR OTHER 10 PURPOSES." 12 13 BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: 14 15 SECTION 1. The State of Arkansas is hereby divided into four (4) 16 congressional districts, provided that the members of the House of 17 Representatives of the United States Congress presently serving from each of 18 the existing congressional districts of this State shall continue to serve 19 until the expiration of their current terms, and successor Congressmen shall 20 be elected from the congressional districts as established in this act. It is 21 the intention of this act to provide for congressional districts of 22 substantially equal population in order to comply with the Equal Protection 23 Clause of the 14th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States. 2.4 25 SECTION 2. The First Congressional District shall be composed of the 26 counties of: Arkansas, Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Fulton, 27 Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Lee, Lonoke, Mississippi, 28 Monroe, Phillips, Prairie, Poinsett, Randolph, St. Francis, Searcy, Sharp, 29 Stone, and Woodruff; and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect 30 one (1) member of the House of Representatives of the United States. 31 SECTION 3. The Second Congressional District shall be composed of the 32 33 counties of: Conway, Faulkner, Perry, Pulaski, Saline, Van Buren, White, and 34 Yell; and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member 35 of the House of Representatives of the United States.

36

SB 691

1	SECTION 4. The Third Congressional District shall be composed of the
2	counties of: Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson,
3	Logan, Madison, Marion, Newton, Polk, Pope, Sebastian, Scott, and Washington;
4	and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the
5	House of Representatives of the United States.
6	
7	SECTION 5. The Fourth Congressional District shall be composed of the
8	counties of: Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia,
9	Dallas, Desha, Drew, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Jefferson,
10	Lafayette, Little River, Lincoln, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Ouachita, Pike,
11	Sevier, and Union; and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect one
12	(1) member of the House of Representatives of the United States.
13	
14	SECTION 6. All provisions of this act of a general and permanent nature
15	are amendatory to the Arkansas Code of 1987 Annotated and the Arkansas Code
16	Revision Commission shall incorporate the same in the Code.
17	
18	SECTION 7. If any provision of this act or the application thereof to
19	any person or circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect
20	other provisions or applications of the act which can be given effect without
21	the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions of this
22	act are declared to be severable.
23	
24	SECTION 8. All laws or parts of laws in conflict with this act are
25	hereby repealed.
26	
27	/s/Dowd, et al
28	
29	APPROVED: 4-10-91
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	

SB 691

1