Hall of the House of Representatives

84th General Assembly - Regular Session, 2003

Amendment Form

Amendment No. 1 to House Bill No. 1692.

Amend House Bill No. 1692 as originally introduced:

Page 1, delete lines 32 through 36, and substitute the following: "(b)(1) There is established the Board of Visitors for the University of Arkansas at Monticello, which shall consist of $\frac{1}{1}$ eleven (11) members appointed by the Governor.

(2)(A) First, the Governor shall make seven (7) appointments from a list of no less than twenty (20) names jointly prepared by the members of the House of Representatives representing the eighth, ninth, tenth, and twelfth house districts, and the senator representing the twenty-fourth senate district.

(B) The seven (7) appointments shall include one (1) each from Ashley, Bradley, Chicot, Cleveland, Desha, Drew and Lincoln counties.

(3)(A) Second, the Governor shall appoint two (2) members from:

(i) The Board of Directors of Forest Echoes

Technical Institute, which after July 1, 2003 shall be known as University of Arkansas at Monticello College of Technology-Crossett; and

(ii) The Board of Directors of Great Rivers

Technical Institute, which after July 1, 2003 shall be known as University of Arkansas at Monticello College of Technology-McGehee.

(B) The Board of Directors of Forest Echoes Technical Institute, which after July 1, 2003 shall be known as University of Arkansas at Monticello College of Technology-Crossett, and Great Rivers Technical Institute, which after July 1, 2003 shall be known as University of Arkansas at Monticello College of Technology-McGehee, shall be appointed by the Board of Trustees of University of Arkansas.

(2) The Governor shall endeavor to make appointments to the initial board of visitors, and thereafter as terms expire and vacancies occur for any reason, so that at least five (5) members of the board will be alumni of the University of Arkansas at Monticello, two (2) members represent the state at large, and seven (7) members represent the following counties: Drew, Ashley, Bradley, Chicot, Cleveland, Desha, and Lincoln.

(c)(1) $\underline{(A)}$ Appointments shall be bipartisan and be for terms of three (3) years.

VJF744

- (B) The Governor shall make appointments to the initial board of visitors, and thereafter as terms expire and vacancies occur for any reason, so that at least seven (7) members of the board will be alumni of the University of Arkansas at Monticello.
- (C) After the expiration of the terms of the members initially appointed under (b)(1)(B), the members appointed in 2006 shall draw lots for staggered terms with the terms of four (4) members expiring in 2007, the terms of four (4) members expiring in 2008, and the terms of three (3) members expiring in 2009.
- (3) years."

AND

Page 2, delete lines 1 through 21 entirely

AND

Page 3, delete line 7, and substitute the following:
"and improvement of the quality of the academic programs, and shall expand its mission to include technical education at Forest Echoes Technical
Institute, which after July 1, 2003 shall be known as University of Arkansas at Monticello College of Technology-Crossett, and Great Rivers Technical
Institute, which after July 1, 2003 shall be known as University of Arkansas at Monticello College of Technology-McGehee."

AND

Page 3, line 11, delete "Board of Trustees" and substitute "the Governor."

AND

Page 3, delete line 12 entirely

The Amendment was read	
By: Representative Bolin	
KAS/VJF - 031920031212	
VJF744	Chief Clerk