## Hall of the House of Representatives

84th General Assembly - Regular Session, 2003 Amendment Form

\*\*\*\*\*\*

Subtitle of House Bill No. 2396

"AN ACT TO ESTABLISH THE CIRCUIT COURT APPORTIONMENT COMMISSION."

## Amendment No. 1 to House Bill No. 2396.

Amend House Bill No. 2396 as originally introduced:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and substitute: "SECTION 1. (a) In order to assist the Arkansas General Assembly and the Arkansas Supreme Court with the respective duties and responsibilities which they are assigned under the Arkansas Constitution to establish the jurisdiction of state courts and to set the number and boundaries of circuit court districts, there is created the Circuit Court Apportionment Commission to be composed of the following persons: (1) The Chairman of the Senate Interim Committee on Judiciary or his or her designee, plus two (2) other members of the committee to be selected by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate; (2) The Chairman of the House Interim Committee on Judiciary or his or her designee, plus two (2) other members of the committee to be selected by the Speaker of the House; (3) The Chief Justice of the Arkansas Supreme Court or his or her designee, who shall serve as chair of the commission; The President of the Arkansas Judicial Council; (4) (5)(A) Two (2) circuit judges appointed by the Arkansas Judicial Council, one (1) of whom shall be a minority. (B) The judges shall be from different congressional districts; (6) The President of the Arkansas Bar Association or his or her designee; and (7) Two (2) persons appointed by the Governor, one (1) of whom shall be a minority. (b) In addition to the voting members identified in subsection (a) of this section, the following persons shall serve as nonvoting ex-officio members of the commission: (1) The Prosecutor Coordinator or his or her designee; (2) The Executive Director of the Public Defender Commission or his or her designee; (3) The dean of the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville

School of Law, or his or her designee; and



(4) The dean of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock School of Law or his or her designee.

(c) The commission shall meet at the call of the chair and hold hearings between July 1, 2004, and December 31, 2004.

(d) The commission shall review the current jurisdiction of state courts and the number and location of circuit court districts and make a recommendation to the Eighty-Fifth General Assembly and the Arkansas Supreme Court.

(e) The Administrative Office of the Courts shall provide necessary meeting space, staff, clerical support, and technical assistance to the commission."

The Amendment was read \_\_\_\_\_ By: Representative Hathorn PBB/RCK - 041020030823 RCK911

**Chief Clerk**