## Hall of the House of Representatives

84th General Assembly - Regular Session, 2003 Amendment Form

Subtitle of House Bill No. 2548

"AN ACT TO REAPPORTION THE COURT OF APPEALS DISTRICTS."

## Amendment No. 1 to House Bill No. 2548.

Amend House Bill No. 2548 as originally introduced:

Add Senator J. Jeffress as a cosponsor of the bill

AND

Delete everything after the enacting clause and substitute:

"SECTION 1. Purpose.

(a) Under Act 889 of 1999, the Arkansas Court of Appeals Apportionment Commission was created to review the electoral districts for the Court of Appeals and make a recommendation on the changes to be made effective January 1, 2004. The commission has reviewed the current districts and the data from the 2000 census, received input from judges, lawyers, and the general public, and considered the requirements and restrictions of federal and state law. Because of major shifts in population which have occurred since the current districts were created utilizing the 1970 census, a realignment of these districts <u>is necessary</u>.

(b) The Arkansas Court of Appeals consisted of six (6) judges when it was first created. The number of members grew to nine (9) judges in 1996, and to twelve (12) judges in 1997. However, when the new judgeships were created, no plan was made to stagger the dates of the end of the terms for each of the judges. As a result, the terms of eight (8) of the twelve (12) judges end in 2004. In order to provide for an orderly transition of members and create a reasonable level of stability on the court, it is necessary to adjust the current terms of office.

(c) It is the purpose of this act to create new electoral districts for the Arkansas Court of Appeals and to establish the dates for electing the judges within each of these districts.

SECTION 2. Court of Appeals Districts

The State of Arkansas is divided into the following seven (7) districts for the election of judges to the Arkansas Court of Appeals:

(1) District 1 shall be composed of Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Greene, Lonoke, Mississippi, Monroe, Poinsett, Prairie, White and Woodruff counties;



(2) District 2 shall be composed of Baxter, Boone, Cleburne, Conway, Faulkner, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Marion, Newton, Pope, Randolph, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, and Van Buren counties;

(3) District 3 shall be composed of Benton, Carroll, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Madison, and Washington counties;

(4) District 4 shall be composed of Clark, Garland, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Little River, Logan, Miller, Montgomery, Pike, Polk, Scott, Sebastian, Sevier, and Yell counties;

(5) District 5 shall be composed of Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Drew, Grant, Lafayette, Lincoln, Nevada, Ouachita, and Union counties;

(6) District 6 shall be composed of Pulaski, Perry and Saline counties; and

(7) District 7 shall be composed of Arkansas, Chicot, Desha, Jefferson, Lee, Phillips, and St. Francis counties.

SECTION 3. Court of Appeals Transition.

The elections under this section 3 shall be for an eight (8) year term as follows:

(1) The judgeship currently designated as District 2, Position 2, shall continue to be designated District 2, Position 2 and shall be subject to election in 2004 in District 2;.

(2) The judgeship currently designated as District 4, Position 1 shall continue to be designated District 4, position 1 and shall be subject to election in 2004 in District 4;

(3) The judgeship currently designated as District 4, Position 2 shall continue to be designated District 4, Position 2 and shall be subject to election in 2004 in District 4;

(4) The judgeship currently designated as District 5, Position 1 shall be designated District 5 judge and shall be subject to election in 2004 in District 5;

(5) The judgeship currently designated as District 3, Position 2 shall continue to be designated District 3, Position 2 and shall be subject to election in 2006 in District 3;

(6) The judgeship currently designated as District 1, Position 2, shall be designated District 1, Position 1 and shall be subject to election in 2006 in District 1;

(7) The judgeship currently designated District 5, Position 2 shall be designated District 1, Position 2 and shall be subject to election in 2006 in District 1;

(8) The judgeship currently designated District 6, Position 2 shall continue to be designated District 6, Position 2 and shall be subject to election in 2006 in District 6;

(9) The judgeship currently designated District 1, Position 1 shall be designated District 7 judge and shall be subject to election in 2008 in District 7;

(10) The judgeship currently designated District 6, Position 1 shall continue to be designated District 6, Position 1 and shall be subject to election in 2008 in District 6;

(11) The judgeship currently designated District 2, Position 1 shall continue to be designated District 2, Position 1 and shall be subject to election in 2010 in District 2; and (12) The judgeship currently designated District 3, Position 1 shall continue to be designated District 3, Position 1 and shall be subject to election in 2010 in District 3.

SECTION 4. Each currently serving member of the Court of Appeals shall continue in office until his or her position shall be subject to election, as provided for under this act, regardless of the date otherwise set as the expiration of his or her term, and regardless of any changes in the geographical boundaries in the district from which he or she was elected."

The Amendment was read	
By: Representative Ledbetter	
PBB/APK - 040120031159	
ONE413	Chief Clerk