Hall of the House of Representatives

84th General Assembly - Regular Session, 2003

Amendment Form

Amendment No. 1 to House Bill No. 2886.

Amend House Bill No. 2886 as originally introduced:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and substitute: "SECTION 1. Purpose.

- (a) Under Act 889 of 1999, the Arkansas Court of Appeals Apportionment Commission was created to review the electoral districts for the Court of Appeals and make a recommendation on the changes to be made effective January 1, 2004. The commission has reviewed the current districts and the data from the 2000 census, received input from judges, lawyers, and the general public, and considered the requirements and restrictions of federal and state law. Because of major shifts in population which have occurred since the current districts were created utilizing the 1970 census, a realignment of these districts is necessary.
- (b) The Arkansas Court of Appeals consisted of six (6) judges when it was first created. The number of members grew to nine (9) judges in 1996, and to twelve (12) judges in 1997.
- (c) It is the purpose of this act to create new electoral districts for the Arkansas Court of Appeals and to establish the dates for electing the judges within each of these districts.
 - SECTION 2. <u>Court of Appeals districts.</u>
- (a)(1) District 1 shall be composed of Clay, Greene, Craighead,
 Poinsett, White, Woodruff, Cross, Mississippi, Crittenden, St. Francis, Lee,
 Monroe, and Phillips counties.
- (b)(1) District 2 shall be composed of Boone, Marion, Baxter, Fulton, Sharp, Randolph, Jackson, Lawrence, Independence, Izard, Stone, Searcy, Newton, Pope, Van Buren, Cleburne, Conway, and Faulkner counties.
- (2) The judgeships currently designated as District 2, Positions 1 and 2 shall continue to be designated as District 2, Positions 1 and 2.
- (c)(1) District 3 shall be composed of Benton, Carroll, Washington, Madison, Crawford, Franklin, and Johnson counties.
- (2) The judgeships currently designated as District 3, Positions 1 and 2 shall continue to be designated as District 3, Positions 1 and 2.



- (d)(1) District 4 shall be composed of Sebastian, Logan, Scott, Yell, Perry, Polk, Montgomery, Garland, Howard, Pike, Clark, Sevier, Little River, Miller, and Hot Spring counties.
- (2) The judgeships currently designated as District 4, Positions 1 and 2 shall continue to be designated as District 4, Positions 1 and 2.
- (e)(1) District 5 shall be composed of Lonoke, Prairie, Grant,

 Jefferson, Arkansas, Dallas, Cleveland, Lincoln, Hempstead, Nevada, Ouachita,

 Calhoun, Bradley, Drew, Lafayette, Columbia, Union, Desha, Chicot, and Ashley
 counties.
- (2) The judgeships currently designated as District 5, Position 1 and 2 shall continue to be designated as District 5, Position 1 and 2.
 - (f)(1) District 6 shall be composed of Pulaski and Saline counties.
- (2) The judgeships designated as District 6, Positions 1 and 2 shall continue to be designated as District 6, Positions 1 and 2.
 - SECTION 3. Court of Appeals elections.
- (a)(1) The elections under this section 3 shall be for an eight (8) year term.
- (2) The date of election for each of the twelve (12) positions of the Court of Appeals shall be subject to election at each general election on the following schedule:
- (A) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this act shall be subject to election in 2004:
 - (i) District 1, Position 2;
 - (ii) District 2, Position 2;
 - (iii) District 3, Position 2;
 - (iv) District 4, Position 1;
 - (v) District 4, Position 2;
 - (vi) District 5, Position 1;
 - (vii) District 5, Position 2; and
 - (viii) District 6, Position 2.
- (B) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this act shall be subject to election in 2008:
 - (i) District 1, Position 1; and
 - (ii) District 6, Position 1.
- (C) The following positions as designated in section 2 of this act shall be subject to election in 2010:
 - (i) District 2, Position 1; and
 - (ii) District 3, Position 1.
- SECTION 4. Each currently serving member of the Court of Appeals shall continue in office until his or her position shall be subject to election, as provided for under this act, regardless of the date otherwise set as the expiration of his or her term, and regardless of any changes in the geographical boundaries in the district from which he or she was elected."

The Amendment was read	
By: Representative C. Taylor	
PBB/RCK - 031220030808	
RCK643	Chief Clerk