ARKANSAS SENATE

84th General Assembly - Second Extraordinary Session, 2003 **Amendment Form**

Subtitle of House Bill No. 1018 "AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE CONTINUED SUPPORT OF ISOLATED SCHOOL DISTRICTS."

Amendment No. 5 to House Bill No. 1018.

Amend House Bill No. 1018 as engrossed, S1/13/04 (version: 01-13-2004 13:21):

Add Senators Broadway and Bisbee as cosponsors of the bill

AND

Add Representative Mahony as cosponsors of the bill

AND

Delete everything following the enacting clause and substitute the following: "SECTION 1. (a) Upon the effective date of consolidation, annexation, or reorganization, the following school districts that received isolated funding in the 2003-2004 school year shall become isolated school areas for the sole purpose of receiving isolated funding and shall have a per student isolated funding amount as follows:

| County Column A | School District Column B | Per Student Isolated Funding Amount Column C |
|---------------------|--------------------------|--|
| <u>Van Buren</u> | Alread | 2,219 |
| <u>Desha</u> | <u>Arkansas City</u> | 2,040 |
| <u>Randolph</u> | Biggers-Reyno | <u>763</u> |
| Miller | Bright Star | <u>916</u> |
| Marion | Bruno Pyatt | <u>329</u> |
| Dallas | <u>Carthage</u> | <u>1,938</u> |
| <u>Independence</u> | Cord-Charlotte | <u>235</u> |
| <u>Woodruff</u> | Cotton Plant | <u>733</u> |
| Crittenden | Crawfordsville | <u>642</u> |
| <u>Newton</u> | <u>Deer</u> | <u>853</u> |



| Greene | <u>Delaplaine</u> | <u>215</u> |
|------------------|-------------------|--------------|
| Desha | Delta Special | 952 |
| Nevada | Emmet | 307 |
| Sharp | Evening Shade | 115 |
| Ashley | Fountain Hill | 339 |
| Yell | Fourche Valley | 1,603 |
| <u>Arkansas</u> | Gillett | 1,000 |
| <u>Lincoln</u> | Gould | 765 |
| Lincoln | Grady | 560 |
| Polk | Hatfield | 42 |
| Monroe | Holly Grove | 868 |
| Arkansas | Humphrey | 328 |
| Union | Huttig | 668 |
| Cleveland | <u>Kingsland</u> | 394 |
| Madison | Kingston | <u>661</u> |
| <u>Phillips</u> | <u>Lake View</u> | 1,054 |
| Searcy | <u>Leslie</u> | <u>628</u> |
| <u>Lawrence</u> | <u>Lynn</u> | <u>782</u> |
| <u>Columbia</u> | <u>McNeil</u> | <u>329</u> |
| <u>Union</u> | Mount Holly | <u>898</u> |
| <u>Newton</u> | Mount Judea | <u>622</u> |
| <u>Izard</u> | Mount Pleasant | <u>225</u> |
| <u>Johnson</u> | <u>Oark</u> | 1,576 |
| Montgomery | <u>Oden</u> | <u>671</u> |
| <u>Saline</u> | <u>Paron</u> | <u>733</u> |
| <u>Yell</u> | Plainview-Rover | <u>297</u> |
| <u>Franklin</u> | Pleasant View | <u>679</u> |
| <u>Randolph</u> | Randolph County | <u>444</u> |
| <u>Lawrence</u> | River Valley | <u>106</u> |
| <u>Stone</u> | Rural Special | <u>788</u> |
| <u>Searcy</u> | Saint Joe | <u>727</u> |
| Madison | Saint Paul | <u>123</u> |
| <u>Hempstead</u> | <u>Saratoga</u> | <u>1,407</u> |
| <u>Van Buren</u> | Scotland | <u>1,841</u> |
| <u>Dallas</u> | <u>Sparkman</u> | <u>487</u> |
| <u>Ouachita</u> | <u>Stephens</u> | <u>1</u> |
| <u>Stone</u> | Stone County | <u>367</u> |
| <u>Jackson</u> | <u>Swifton</u> | <u>458</u> |
| <u>Columbia</u> | <u>Taylor</u> | <u>353</u> |
| <u>Howard</u> | <u>Umpire</u> | <u>2,152</u> |
| <u>Union</u> | <u>Union</u> | <u>45</u> |
| <u>Columbia</u> | <u>Walker</u> | <u>819</u> |
| Newton | Western Grove | <u>375</u> |
| <u>Cleburne</u> | Wilburn | <u>978</u> |

 Sharp
 Williford
 475

 Washington
 Winslow
 494

- (b) Beginning with the 2004-2005 school year and each school year thereafter, state financial aid in the form of isolated funding shall be provided to school districts containing an isolated school area in an amount equal to the prior year three (3) quarter average daily membership of the isolated school area multiplied by the per student isolated funding amount for the isolated school areas as set forth under column "C" of subsection (a) of this section.
- (c) No school district may receive isolated funding, under this section, for an isolated school area if the prior year three (3) quarter average daily membership of the isolated school area exceeds three hundred and fifty (350).
- (d) A school district receiving isolated funding for an isolated school area shall expend the funds solely for the operation, maintenance, and support of the isolated school area.
- (e) No school district or isolated school area which may qualify under other law to receive additional state aid because its average daily membership is less than three hundred fifty (350) shall be eligible to receive funding under this section except that a district qualifying under other law for such aid and qualifying for funds under this section may elect to receive funds under this section in lieu of aid under other.
- (f) For the purposes of this section, school districts with isolated school areas shall account for the average daily membership of all schools located in the isolated school area as required by the Department of Education and shall submit reports as required by the department.
- (g) The department shall distribute isolated funding under this section in two (2) payments per school year.
- (h) Nothing in this section shall be construed to determine a school district's qualification as an isolated school under Arkansas Code § 6-20-601 as required to prohibit the closing of an isolated school in the act that was introduced as House Bill 1109 of the Second Extraordinary Session of 2003 of the General Assembly.
- (i) The State Board of Education may promulgate rules as necessary for the proper implementation of this section."

| The Amendment was read the first time, rules suspended and read the seco | nd time and |
|--|-------------|
| By: Senator Broadway | |
| KAC/TAT - 01-27-2004 11:17 | |
| TAT359 | Secretary |