Hall of the House of Representatives

84th General Assembly - Second Extraordinary Session, 2003 **Amendment Form**

Subtitle of Senate Bill No. 28

"THE COMPREHENSIVE PUBLIC EDUCATION REORGANIZATION ACT."

Amendment No. 9 to Senate Bill No. 28.

Amend Senate Bill No. 28 as engrossed, S12/16/03 (version: 12-16-2003 14:52):

Beginning on Page 17, delete Section 8, and Section 9 entirely and substitute: "SECTION 8. Arkansas Code Title 6, Chapter 20, Subchapter 6 is amended to add an additional section to read as follows: 6-20-602. Designated isolated districts. The following school districts are designated as isolated districts under § 6-20-601 and shall not be subject to consolidation, annexation, or reorganization solely because of the school district's average daily membership or under this act: (1) Alread School District; (2) Arkansas City School District; (3) Biggers-Reyno School District; (4) Bright Star School District; (5) Marion County School District; (6) Carthage School District; (7) Cord-Charlotte School District; (8) Deer School District; (9) Delaplaine School District; (10) Elaine School District; (11) Evening Shade School District; (12) Fourche Valley School District; (13) Gillett School District; (14) Kingston School District; Lynn School District; (15) (16) Mount Judea School District; Mount Pleasant School District; (17) Oark School District; (18) (19) Oden School District; (20) Paron School District; Randolph County School District; (21) (22) River Valley School District; (23) Rural Special School District; Scotland School District; (24)



(25) Sparkman School District;

(26) St. Joe School District;

(27) St. Paul School District;

(28) Stone County School District;

(29) Taylor School District;

(30) Umpire School District;

(31) Williford School District; and

(32) Winslow School District.

SECTION 9. Arkansas Code § 6-20-601(a), concerning funding for isolated school districts, is amended to read as follows:

(a) As Effective for the 2004-2005 school year and each school year thereafter, as used in this section, "isolated school district" means a school district that is listed under § 6-20-602 and that meets any four (4) of the following five (5) criteria:

(1) There is a distance of twelve (12) miles or more by hardsurfaced highway from the high school of the district to the nearest adjacent high school in an adjoining district;

(2) The density ratio of transported students is less than three (3) four (4) students per square mile of area;

(3) The total area of the district is ninety-five square miles (95 sq. mi.) eighty square miles (80 sq. mi.) or greater;

(4) Less than fifty percent (50%) of bus route miles is on hardsurfaced roads; and

(5) There are geographic barriers such as lakes, rivers, and mountain ranges which would impede travel to schools that otherwise would be appropriate for consolidation, cooperative programs, and shared services."

The Amendment was read _____ By: Representative Boyd KAC/TAT - 01-06-2004 10:12 TAT237

Chief Clerk