## ARKANSAS SENATE

88th General Assembly - Regular Session, 2011

## **Amendment Form**

\* \*

## Subtitle of Senate Bill No. 972

TO ESTABLISH THE FOUR CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS IN ARKANSAS FOR 2011 - 2012.

## Amendment No. 1 to Senate Bill No. 972

Amend Senate Bill No. 972 as originally introduced:

Add Senator Bookout as a cosponsor of the bill

AND

Delete everything after the enacting clause and substitute:
"SECTION 1. Arkansas Code §§ 7-2-102 — 7-2-105 are amended to read as follows:

- 7-2-102. First Congressional District.
- (a) The First Congressional District shall be composed of:
  (1) The the counties of: Arkansas, Baxter, Chicot,
  Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Fulton,
  Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln,
  Lonoke, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Prairie, Poinsett,
  Randolph, St. Francis, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, and Woodruff; and
  the
- (2) The following voting districts of Jefferson County as they existed on January 1, 2011:
  - (A) 19 (Dunnington) voting district;
  - (B) P15 (Dudley Lake) voting district;
  - (C) 25 (Old River) voting district;
  - (D) 57 (Villemont) voting district; and
  - (E) P91 (Roberts) voting district; and
- (3) The voting districts and voting precincts of Searcy County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-104(4).



- (b) The qualified electors residing therein in the counties and portion of Jefferson County and Searcy County listed under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member of the House of Representatives of the United States.
  - 7-2-103. Second Congressional District.
- (a) The Second Congressional District shall be composed of:
- (1) The the counties of: Conway, Faulkner, Perry, Pulaski, Saline, Van Buren, and White, and Yell; and the.
- (b) The qualified electors residing therein in the counties listed under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member of the House of Representatives of the United States.
  - 7-2-104. Third Congressional District.
- (a) The Third Congressional District shall be composed of:
  (1) The the counties of: Benton, Boone, Carroll,
  Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Newton, Pope,
  Sebastian, and Washington; and the
- (2) The voting districts and voting precincts of Crawford County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-105(2);
- (3) The following voting districts of Newton County as they existed on January 1, 2011:
  - (A) Big Creek voting district;
  - (B) Dogpatch voting district;
  - (C) Grove voting district;
  - (D) Hasty voting district;
  - (E) Polk voting district;
  - (F) Richland voting district; and
  - (G) White voting district;
- (4) The Prairie voting district of Searcy County as it existed on January 1, 2011: and
- (5) The voting districts and voting precincts of Sebastian County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-105(5).
- (b) The qualified electors residing therein in the counties and portions of Crawford County, Newton County, Searcy County, and Sebastian County listed under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member of the House of Representatives of the United States.

- 7-2-105. Fourth Congressional District.
- $\underline{\text{(a)}}$  The Fourth Congressional District shall be composed of:
- (1) The the counties of: Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Franklin, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Little River, Lincoln, Logan, Madison, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Ouachita, Pike, Polk, Scott, Sevier, and Union, and Yell; and the
- (2) The following voting districts of Crawford County as they existed on January 1, 2011:
  - (A) Alma #1 voting district;
  - (B) Alma #4 voting district;
  - (C) Bidville voting district;
  - (D) Chester voting district;
  - (E) Dean Springs voting district;
  - (F) Dyer voting district;
  - (G) Eagle Crest voting district;
  - (H) Kibler voting district;
  - (I) Locke voting district;
  - (J) Mountain voting district;
  - (K) Mulberry #1 voting district;
  - (L) Mulberry #2 voting district;
  - (M) Mulberry #3 voting district;
  - (N) Porter voting district;
  - (0) Vine Prairie voting district;
  - (P) Whitley voting district; and
  - (Q) Winfrey voting district;
- (3) The voting districts and voting precincts of Jefferson County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-102(2);
- (4) The voting districts and voting precincts of Newton County as they existed on January 1, 2011, that are not listed under § 7-2-104(3); and
- (5) The following voting districts of Sebastian County as they existed on January 1, 2011;
  - (A) 9-1-A voting district;
  - (B) 9-1-B voting district;
  - (C) 9-1-C voting district;
  - (D) 9-1-D voting district;
  - (E) 9-1-E voting district;
  - (F) 9-1-Q voting district;
  - (G) 9-2-E voting district;

- (H) 9-3-E voting district;
  (I) 9-3-F voting district;
  (J) 9-3-G voting district;
  (K) 9-3-H voting district;
  (L) 9-3-I voting district;
  (M) 9-3-J voting district;
  (N) 9-3-K voting district;
  (O) 9-3-L voting district; and
- (0) 9-3-L voting district; and (P) 9-3-M voting district.
- (b) The qualified electors residing therein in the counties and portions of Crawford County, Jefferson County,

  Newton County, and Sebastian County listed under subsection (a)
  of this section shall elect one (1) member of the House of

of this section shall elect one (1) member of the House of Representatives of the United States."

The Amendment was read the first time, rules suspended and read the second time and	
By: Senators Madison, Bookout	
MAG/CDS - 04/11/11 02:58	
MAG398	Secretary