ARKANSAS SENATE

88th General Assembly - Regular Session, 2011 **Amendment Form**

Subtitle of Senate Bill No. 981

TO CHANGE THE FOUR CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS AS A RESULT OF THE MOST RECENT FEDERAL CENSUS DATA.

Amendment No. 1 to Senate Bill No. 981

Amend Senate Bill No. 981 as originally introduced:

Page 1, delete lines 21 and 22 and substitute the following:

"SECTION 1. Arkansas Code §§ 7-2-102 - 7-2-105 are amended to read as follows:

7-2-102. First Congressional District.

The First Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of: Arkansas, Baxter, Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Lee, Lonoke, Marion, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Prairie, Poinsett, Randolph, St. Francis, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, White, and Woodruff; and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the House of Representatives of the United States.

7-2-103. Second Congressional District.

The Second Congressional District shall be composed of the counties of: Conway, Faulkner, Newton, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Van Buren, White, and Yell; and the qualified electors residing therein shall elect one (1) member of the House of Representatives of the United States.

7-2-104. Third Congressional District.

(a) The Third Congressional District shall be composed of:

(1) The the counties of: Benton, Boone, Carroll, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Newton, Pope, Sebastian, and Washington;

and (2) The following voting districts of Franklin County as existed

on January 1, 2011:

(A) J P Districts 3-C, 4-B, and 5-A;

(B) Ozark Rural District 4-A; and

(C) Voting Districts 1-B, 2-A, 2-B, 3-A, 3-B, 3-D, 3-E, 4-C, 6-A, 6-B, 6-C, 6-D, and 6-E.

(b) The the qualified electors residing therein in the counties and portions of Franklin County listed under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member of the House of Representatives of the United States.



7-2-105. Fourth Congressional District.

(a) The Fourth Congressional District shall be composed of:

(1) The the counties of: <u>Arkansas</u>, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Jefferson, Lafayette, <u>Lee</u>, Little River, Lincoln, Logan, Miller, <u>Monroe</u>, Montgomery, Nevada, Ouachita, <u>Phillips</u>, Pike, Polk, <u>Prairie</u>, Scott, Sevier, and Union; and

(2) The following voting districts of Franklin County as existed on January 1, 2011:

(A) J P Districts 5-B, 7-A, 7-D, and 8-C; and

(B) Voting Districts 7-B, 7-C, 8-A, 8-B, 9-A, and 9-B.

(b) The the qualified electors residing therein in the counties and portions of Franklin County listed under subsection (a) of this section shall elect one (1) member of the House of Representatives of the United States."

The Amendment was read the first time, rules suspended and read the second time and _______By: Senator J. Key
MAG/CDS - 03/15/11 11:00
MAG307
Secr

Secretary