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Subtitle TO AMEND THE CRIMINAL OFFENSE OF BATTERY IN THE SECOND DEGREE

Impact Summary* Minimal, affecting fewer than 10 offenders per year.

Change from current law? Amends Arkansas Code Annotated § 5-13-202(a)(3)(B) to add operating a
motorboat while intoxicated to the conduct subject to a Battery in the second degree charge. Under the
proposed bill, a person commits the offense of Battery in the second degree if the person recklessly
causes serious physical injury to another person while operating or in actual physical control of a
motorboat if at the time the person is intoxicated or the alcohol concentration in the person’s breath or
blood is eight-hundredths (0.08) or more based upon the definition of alcohol concentration in § 5-65-
204. Amends Arkansas Code Annotated § 5-13-202 to add a new subsection indicating “motorboat”
means the same as defined in A.C.A. 8 5-76-101. See attached for current code provisions.

Impact Information

This proposed bill adds to the pool of possible offenders who could be charged with Battery in the
second degree, a Class D felony.

The US Coast Guard reports that in 2013 there were four (4) boating accidents in Arkansas in which
alcohol was a factor and there was a resulting injury or death.

The Arkansas Department of Corrections reports sixteen (16) inmates serving a term of incarceration for
violating A.C.A. § 5-13-202(a)(3)(B), Battery in the second degree, as currently written.

! This impact assessment was prepared (1/28/15 5:06 PM) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. § 16-
90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-
simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following
designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for
ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds.

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors
Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000

Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000 Unclassified As specified in statute Class C  Up to 30 days; up to $500



A.C.A. 8 5-13-202. Battery in the second degree.
(a) A person commits battery in the second degree if:

(1) With the purpose of causing physical injury to another person, the person causes serious physical
injury to another person;

(2) With the purpose of causing physical injury to another person, the person causes physical injury
to another person by means of a deadly weapon other than a firearm;

(3) The person recklessly causes serious physical injury to another person:
(A) By means of a deadly weapon; or
(B) While operating or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle if at the time:
(i) The person is intoxicated; or

(ii) The alcohol concentration in the person's breath or blood is eight-hundredths (0.08) or more
based upon the definition of alcohol concentration in 8 5-65-204; or

(4) The person knowingly, without legal justification, causes physical injury to or incapacitates a
person he or she knows to be:

(A) (i) A law enforcement officer, firefighter, code enforcement officer, or employee of a
correctional facility while the law enforcement officer, firefighter, code enforcement officer, or
employee of a correctional facility is acting in the line of duty.

(i1) As used in this subdivision (a)(4)(A):

(@) (1) "Code enforcement officer” means an individual charged with the duty of enforcing a
municipal code, municipal ordinance, or municipal regulation as defined by a municipal code, municipal
ordinance, or municipal regulation.

(2) "Code enforcement officer" includes a municipal animal control officer; and
(b) "Employee of a correctional facility™ includes a person working under a professional

services contract with the Department of Correction, the Department of Community Correction, or the
Division of Youth Services of the Department of Human Services;



(B) A teacher or other school employee while acting in the course of employment;
(C) An individual sixty (60) years of age or older or twelve (12) years of age or younger;

(D) An officer or employee of the state while the officer or employee of the state is acting in the
performance of his or her lawful duty;

(E) While performing medical treatment or emergency medical services or while in the course of
other employment relating to his or her medical training:

(i) A physician;
(if) A person licensed as emergency medical services personnel, as defined in § 20-13-202;
(ii1) A licensed or certified health care professional; or
(iv) Any other health care provider; or
(F) An individual who is incompetent, as defined in § 5-25-101.
(b) Battery in the second degree is a Class D felony.

HISTORY: Acts 1975, No. 280, § 1602; 1981, No. 877, § 1; 1983, No. 12, § 1; A.S.A. 1947, § 41-
1602; Acts 1995, No. 1173, 8§ 1; 1995, No. 1305, § 2; 1995, No. 1338, § 1; 1997, No. 207, § 1, 1997,
No. 878, § 1; 1999, No. 389, § 1; 2003, No. 66, § 1; 2007, No. 827, § 27; 2009, No. 344, § 1; 2009, No.
689, § 1; 2011, No. 1120, § 6; 2011, No. 1168, § 1; 2013, No. 429, § 1.

A.C.A. 5-76-101. Definitions.
As used in this chapter:

(1) "Controlled substance™ means a drug, substance, or immediate precursor in Schedules 1-VI of the
Uniform Controlled Substances Act, § 5-64-101 et seq.;

(2) "Intoxicated" means influenced or affected by the ingestion of alcohol, a controlled substance,
any intoxicant, or any combination of alcohol, a controlled substance, or intoxicant, to such a degree that
the operator's reactions, motor skills, and judgment are substantially altered and the operator constitutes
a clear and substantial danger of physical injury or death to himself, herself, or others;

(3) (A) "Motorboat" means any vessel operated upon water and that is propelled by machinery,
whether or not the machinery is the principal source of propulsion.

(B) "Motorboat™ includes personal watercraft as defined in § 27-101-103(10);



(4) "Operator™" means a person who is controlling the speed and direction of a motorboat or a person
who is in direct physical control of the motorboat;

(5) "Underage" means any person who is under twenty-one (21) years of age and may not legally
consume alcoholic beverages in Arkansas; and

(6) "Waters™ means any public waters within the territorial limits of the State of Arkansas.

HISTORY: Acts 1995, No. 518, § 1; 2005, No. 1458, § 1; 2009, No. 693, § 1.



