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Subtitle TO DEFINE THE TERM “PENDING CHARGE” AS IT PERTAINS TO THE OFFENSE OF
FAILURE TO APPEAR.

Impact Summary* Undetermined.

Change from current law? Amends Arkansas Code Annotated § 5-54-120 to define “pending charge”
as a charge that results from an arrest or after the filing of a criminal information or indictment and that
has not been resolved by acquittal, conviction, dismissal or nolle prosequi.

Impact Information

This bill enlarges the pool of defendants who can be charged with a violation of Arkansas Code
Annotated § 5-54-120, Failure to appear. Data is unavailable on the number of potential defendants who
have failed to appear before the filing of a criminal information or indictment.

The following information has been provided for reference. According to Arkansas Sentencing
Commission data, in calendar year 2013, there were 504 offenders convicted of a violation of A.C.A. §
5-54-120, Failure to appear, Class C felony. Of those, there were 303 cases in which Failure to appear
was the most serious offense. Of those 303, 144 were sentenced to probation or a suspended imposition
of sentence. Of the 159 remaining, 30 were sentenced to a Community Corrections Center, with an
average sentence length of 27 months. The remaining 129 were sentenced to the Arkansas Department
of Corrections for an average sentence length of 51 months.

! This impact assessment was prepared (3/3/15 7:50 AM) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. § 16-
90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-
simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following
designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for
ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds.

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors
Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000

Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000 Unclassified As specified in statute Class C  Up to 30 days; up to $500



A.C.A. 8§ 5-54-120. Failure to appear.

(a) A person commits the offense of failure to appear if he or she fails to appear without reasonable excuse
subsequent to having been:

(1) Cited or summonsed as an accused; or
(2) Lawfully set at liberty upon condition that he or she appear at a specified time, place, and court.
(b) Failure to appear is a:

(1) Class C felony if the required appearance was in regard to a pending charge or disposition of a felony
charge either before or after a determination of guilt of the charge;

(2) Class D felony if the required appearance was in regard to an order to appear issued before a revocation
hearing under § 16-93-307 and the defendant was placed on probation or suspended sentence for a felony offense;

(3) Class A misdemeanor if the required appearance was in regard to a pending charge or disposition of a Class
A misdemeanor charge either before or after a determination of guilt of the charge;

(4) Class B misdemeanor if the required appearance was in regard to a pending charge or disposition of a Class
B misdemeanor charge either before or after a determination of guilt of the charge;

(5) Class B misdemeanor if the required appearance was in regard to a pending charge or disposition of a Class
C misdemeanor charge either before or after a determination of guilt of the charge;

(6) Class B misdemeanor if the required appearance was in regard to a pending charge or disposition of a Class
D misdemeanor charge either before or after a determination of guilt of the charge;

(7) Class B misdemeanor with the same penalty as the unclassified misdemeanor in the pending charge or
disposition if the required appearance was in regard to a pending charge or disposition of an unclassified
misdemeanor either before or after a determination of guilt on the charge; and

(8) Class C misdemeanor if the required appearance was in regard to a pending charge or disposition of a
violation either before or after a determination of guilt of the charge.

(c) This section does not apply to an order to appear imposed as a condition of suspension or probation under § 5-
4-303.

HISTORY: Acts 1975, No. 280, § 2820; A.S.A. 1947, § 41-2820; Acts 1991, No. 916, § 1; 2011, No. 514, § 1;
2011, No. 570, § 32; 2013, No. 1193, § 1.



