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Subtitle PROHIBITING CERTAIN SEX OFFENDERS FROM ENTERING ON A PUBLIC SCHOOL
CAMPUS UNDER CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES.

Impact Summary* Minimal.

Change from current law’ Amends Arkansas Code Annotated § 5-14-132(c)(2) by removing an
exception to the prohibition of a Level 3 or 4 sex offender entering a public school campus. Arkansas
Code Annotated 8§ 5-14-132 makes it a Class D felony for a Level 3 or Level 4 sex offender to enter a
public school campus unless an offender meets one of the narrow exceptions set out in this provision.
The proposed bill would eliminate the exception found in subsection (c)(2), which allows a Level 3 or
Level 4 sex offender to enter a public school campus for the purpose of attending a school sponsored
event for which an admission fee is charged or tickets are sold or distributed. (See attached for entire
code provision.)

Impact Information By eliminating an exception to the prohibition on Level 3 and 4 sex offenders
entering a public school campus, this proposed bill could potentially broaden the number of people
subject to violating A.C.A. § 5-14-132.

Currently there are 8 inmates serving a term of incarceration in the Arkansas Department of Correction
for violating A.C.A. § 5-14-132 as currently written. Administrative Office of the Courts reports that
since 2013 there have been 5 convictions for 8§ 5-14-132 as currently written

The Arkansas Crime Information Center reports that as of 1/6/2015, there were 4,690 Level Il and 362
Level IV sex offenders.

! This impact assessment was prepared (1/28/2015, 10:15 a.m.) by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. §
16-90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Correction and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-
simulation model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following
designations will be used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for
ADC inmate costs; and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds.

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors

Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000
Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000 Unclassified As specified in statute Class C  Up to 30 days; up to $500



A.C.A. 8 5-14-132. Registered offender prohibited from entering upon school campus --
Exception.

(a) As used in this section:

(1) "Campus" means the real property, a building, or any other
improvement in this state owned, leased, rented, or controlled by or for the operation of a public
school; and

(2) "Public school” means any school in this state that is:

(A) A public school operated by a public school district;

(B) A charter school established under the Public School Funding Act of 2003, § 6-20-
2301 et seq.;

(C) A state-funded prekindergarten program operated by a public school or an education
service cooperative;

(D) The Arkansas School for the Blind;

(E) The Arkansas School for the Deaf;

(F) The Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts;

(G) An educational facility of the Division of Youth Services of the Department of
Human Services or contracting with the Division of Youth Services; or

(H) An educational facility of the Division of Developmental Disabilities Services of the
Department of Human Services.

(b) It is unlawful for a sex offender who is required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act
of 1997, § 12-12-901 et seq., and who has been assessed as a Level 3 or Level 4 offender to knowingly
enter upon the campus of a public school.

(c) It is not a violation of this section if the sex offender:

(1) Is less than twenty-two (22) years of age and is a student enrolled in a grade kindergarten
through twelve (K-12) program;

(2) Enters upon the campus for the purpose of attending a school-sponsored event for which an
admission fee is charged or tickets are sold or distributed, a graduation ceremony, or a
baccalaureate ceremony;

(3) Enters upon the campus on a day that is not designated a student contact day by the public
school's calendar or on a day in which no school-sponsored event is taking place upon the
campus; or



(4) Is the parent or guardian of a student enrolled in a public school and enters upon the campus

where the student is enrolled for the purpose of:

(A) Delivering to the student medicine, food, or personal items if the medicine, food, or
personal items are delivered directly to the public school's office; or

(B) Attending a scheduled parent-teacher conference if the sex offender is escorted to and
from the scheduled parent-teacher conference by a designated public school official or
employee.

(d) (1) A sex offender who is the parent or guardian of a student enrolled in a public school and
wishes to enter upon the campus where the student is enrolled for any other purpose shall give
reasonable notice to the public school principal or his or her designee.

2 (A) The public school principal or his or her designee may allow the parent or guardian
sex offender to enter upon the campus so long as there is a designated public school
official or employee available to escort and supervise the parent or guardian sex offender
while he or she remains on campus.

(B) If a designated public school official or employee is not available at the time the
parent or guardian sex offender wishes to enter upon the campus, the parent or guardian
sex offender shall not enter upon the campus until he or she is notified that a designated
public school official or employee is available.

(e) Upon conviction, any sex offender who violates this section is guilty of a Class D felony.

HISTORY: Acts 2007, No. 992, § 1; 2009, No. 748, § 15.



