REPORT OF THE EXECUTIVE SUBCOMMITTEE OF THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

January 17, 2020

Senator Cecile Bledsoe, Co-Chair
Senator Terry Rice, Vice Co-Chair
Senator Jim Hendren

Representative Jeff Wardlaw, Co-Chair
Representative Jim Dotson, Vice Co-Chair
Representative Matthew J. Shepherd

Senator Bill Sample Representative Kenneth B. Ferguson

January 16, 2020 Meeting

We, the Executive Subcommittee of the Arkansas Legislative Council, met at 12:30 p.m. on January 16, 2020 in Room 205 of the State Capitol Building, Little Rock, Arkansas. Co-Chair Jeff Wardlaw called the meeting to order and saw a quorum of members present. The members present are listed on the sign-in sheet.

Consideration of a Proposal to Create an ALC Special Subcommittee

Co-Chair Wardlaw recognized Senator Jane English to present a proposal to create the ALC Special Subcommittee on Data Sharing, pursuant to ALC Rule.5(c).

After a brief presentation by Senator English, Co-Chair Wardlaw recognized members for questions. Following discussion, Co-Chair Cecile Bledsoe made a motion to do pass. The motion was seconded and passed with voice vote.

Consideration of Emergency Rules

DFA – Arkansas Racing Commission rules:

Co-Chair Wardlaw recognized Mr. Byron Freeland, attorney for the Commission to present the request for review and approval of the following emergency rules for the Department of Finance & Administration – Arkansas Racing Commission:

- 1) Emergency Rule: Rule 2169(a) Jockey Mount Fees;
- 2) Emergency Rule: Rule 1050(a) Definition of "Objection";
- 3) Emergency Rule: Rule 2212(b) Entries;
- 4) Emergency Rule: Rule 2224(c) Entries;
- 5) Emergency Rule: Rule 2359 Protests;
- 6) Emergency Rule: Rule 2426-A Claiming.

With no questions from the subcommittee, Co-Chair Wardlaw stated that without objection, the proposed emergency rules are reviewed and approved and the review and approval shall be effective upon adjournment of the Legislative Council meeting on Friday, January 17, 2020.

Report of the Executive Subcommittee January 17, 2020 Page 2

Benton County Regional Solid Waste Management District rule:

Co-Chair Wardlaw recognized Ms. Wendy Bland, Director, Benton County Regional Solid Waste Management District to further present the request for review and approval of the following emergency rule for the Benton County Regional Solid Waste Management District:

1) Emergency Rule: Amendment of the BCRSWMD-Amending the type and amount of District Fees.

Co-Chair Wardlaw also acknowledged Ms. Robyn Reed, Director, Boston Mountain Solid Waste District and Mr. Thomas Kieklak, Attorney, Harrington, Miller, Kieklak, Eichman, Brown, and Senator Bob Ballinger to provide further testimony against the rule.

Following questions from members and discussion of the rule, Co-Chair Jeff Wardlaw stated that without objection, the proposed emergency rule is reviewed and approved, and the review and approval is effective upon adjournment of the Arkansas Legislative Council Meeting, scheduled for Friday, January 17, 2020.

Director's Report

Co-Chair Wardlaw recognized Marty Garrity, Director, Bureau of Legislative Research, to deliver her Director's Report. Director Garrity reported to the subcommittee regarding updates to the General Assembly website, legislative facilities funds that are available, and the progress on codification of administrative rules.

There being no further business before the subcommittee, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Senator Cecile Bledsoe and Representative Jeff Wardlaw, Executive Subcommittee Co-Chairs

CB/JW/MG:sla