REPORT OF THE EXECUTIVE SUBCOMMITTEE OF THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

September 17, 2021

Senator Terry Rice, Co-Chair Senator Missy Irvin, Vice Co-Chair Senator Cecile Bledsoe Senator Jimmy Hickey, Jr Representative Jeff Wardlaw, Co-Chair Representative Jim Dotson, Vice Co-Chair Representative Matthew J. Shepherd Representative Kenneth B. Ferguson

September 10, 2021 Communications

Pursuant to a motion adopted by the full Legislative Council at its August 27, 2021 meeting, the co-chairs of ALC met on September 10, 2021 and approved the American Rescue Plan Act Appropriation and Funding requests for the Arkansas Department of Commerce for "ready" projects in the Arkansas Rural Connect Program. Notice of this action was sent to all members of ALC on September 10, 2021.

September 15, 2021 Meeting

We, the Executive Subcommittee of the Arkansas Legislative Council, met at 9:00 a.m. on September 15, 2021 in Room A of the Big MAC Building, Little Rock, Arkansas. Co-Chair Terry Rice called the meeting to order and saw a quorum of members present.

Co-Chair Rice recognized Mr. Patrick Klein, Mr. Matt Kersting, Mr. Ken Vieira, Ms. Elena Lynett (via *Zoom*), Mr. Andrew Kaplan (via *Zoom*), Mr. Jon Stuckey (via *Zoom*), and Ms. Joanna Balogh-Reynolds, of The Segal Group, Inc. to present the PowerPoint presentations regarding Mental Health Parity, Musculoskeletal and Oncology, and the State of Arkansas website review.

Co-Chair Wardlaw recognized members for questions after the presentation. Co-Chair Wardlaw also recognized Mr. Jake Bleed, Director of Employee Benefits Division and Ms. Amy Fecher, Secretary, both of Department of Transformation & Shared Services (DTSS), to respond to questions.

There being no further business before the subcommittee, this meeting was adjourned.

September 16, 2021 Meeting

We, the Executive Subcommittee of the Arkansas Legislative Council, met at 9:00 a.m. on September 16, 2021 in Room A of the Big MAC Building, Little Rock, Arkansas. Co-Chair Terry Rice called the meeting to order and saw a quorum of members present.

Co-Chair Rice recognized Mr. Mark White, Chief of Staff and Chief Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs Officer, and Ms. Martina Smith, Director, Division Of Provider Services And Quality Assurance, both of DHS, to present the request for consideration of an emergency rule from the Department of Human Services (DHS) for Direct Care Staffing Requirements, pursuant to Act 715 of 2021.

Seeing no questions from members, Co-Chair Rice stated, without objection, the emergency rule is approved and shall be effective September 18, 2021.

Co-Chair Rice recognized Ms. Marty Garrity, Director, Bureau of Legislative Research (BLR) to give the *Director's Report*. Ms. Garrity provided to members information on Special Language codification, enhancing BLR network security, remodeling efforts behind Room A/B to create more meeting room space for members, and the extension of a submission deadline for proposals.

Co-Chair Rice recognized Senator Cecile Bledsoe for a motion.

Senator Bledsoe moved to proceed with refurbishing and redesigning the area behind Rooms A/B where the telephone booths are located, into two small conference rooms. The motion was seconded and approved by voice vote.

Co-Chair Rice recognized Mr. Patrick Klein, Mr. Matt Kersting, Mr. Ken Vieira, Mr. Nick Taylor, Ms. Joanna Balogh-Reynolds, and Ms. Kirsten Schatten, of The Segal Group, Inc. to present the Summary of Recommendations for the State of Arkansas Employee Health Benefits. After the presentation, Co-Chair Rice recognized members for questions.

Co-Chair Rice recognized Mr. Jake Bleed, Director of Employee Benefits Division, Department of Transformation & Shared Services (DTSS), to respond to questions.

Co-Chair Rice also recognized Mr. Kevin Anderson, Assistant Director, Fiscal, and Ms. Katie Walden, Analyst, both of Bureau of Legislative Research (BLR) to provide information on the payment summary to Employee Benefits Division (EBD) for the Public School Employee Health Benefits Plan.

There being no further business before the subcommittee, this meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Senator Terry Rice and Representative Jeff Wardlaw, Executive Subcommittee Co-Chairs

TR/JW/MG:sla