March 15, 2012

Senator Mary Ann Salmon, Senate Co-Chair Representative Tommy Lee Baker, House Co-Chair Arkansas Legislative Council 315 State Capitol Little Rock, AR 72201

Dear Senator Salmon and Representative Baker:

Your Subcommittee on Higher Education met at 1 p.m. January 26, 2012 in Room A MAC to hear the following presentations:

An update from Mr. Shane Broadway, Interim Director, Arkansas Department of Higher Education, on remediation rates among Lottery Scholarship recipients;

An update from Mr. Broadway on implementation of Act 971 or 2009 by institutions of higher education;

A report from Donald R. Bobbitt, President of the University of Arkansas System, on salaries and cost containment efforts at the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts (ASMSA),

Your Subcommittee on Higher Education met at 1 p.m. February 7, 2012 in Room A MAC to hear reports on revenue-producing contracts at the following fouryear higher education institutions:

- 1. Arkansas State University at Jonesboro
- 2. University of Arkansas at Fayetteville
- 3. University of Arkansas at Fort Smith
- 4. University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
- 5. University of Arkansas at Monticello
- 6. University of Arkansas at Little Rock
- 7. Arkansas Tech University
- 8. University of Central Arkansas
- 9. Southern Arkansas University
- 10. Henderson State University

The Subcommittee also heard testimony from a panel of six undergraduates from the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, who presented a number of concerns relating to textbook assignment, prices, and availability.

Your Subcommittee on Higher Education met at 1 p.m. March 15, 2012 in Room A MAC to hear reports on cost containment at the following non-formula higher education institutions:

- 1. Criminal Justice Institute
- 2. Clinton School of Public Service
- 3. Arkansas Archaeological Survey
- 4. Arkansas Research and Education Optical Network
- 5. Division of Agriculture
- 6. Garvan Woodland Gardens
- 7. University of Arkansas System
- 8. Arkansas State University System
- 9. Arkansas State University Heritage Sites
- 10. Arkansas Delta Training and Education Consortium
- 11. Henderson State University Community Education Center
- 12. SAU Tech- Arkansas Environmental Training Academy
- 13. SAU Tech Arkansas Fire Training Academy

Sincerely,

Sen. Sue Madison Senate Co-Chair Rep. Johnnie Roebuck House Co-Chair