REPORT OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE RULES AND REGULATIONS SUBCOMMITTEE OF THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

May 18, 2012

Co-Chairs:

The Subcommittee on Administrative Rules and Regulations met at 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday, May 16, 2012, in Room 171 of the State Capitol. The following committee members attended: Senator Percy Malone, Co-Chair; Representative James L. Word, Co-Chair; Senator Randy Laverty, Vice Chair, Senators Mary Anne Salmon and Johnny Key; Representatives Terry Rice, Randy Stewart, Les "Skip" Carnine, and Kelley Linck. Other legislators attended as follows: Representatives Kim Hammer, Loy Mauch, Gary Deffenbaugh, Sheilla Lampkin, Matthew Shepherd, and Debra Hobbs.

1. The subcommittee reviewed the following rules filed pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 10-3-309:

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION (Mark White)

- a. Distribution of Student Special Needs Funding and the Determination of Allowable Expenditures of Those Funds
- b. Supplemental Education Service Providers

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION, REVENUE DIVISION (Martha Hunt)

a. Rule 2012-2; Arkansas Sales Tax Holiday

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES, FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION (Jeff Wood)

a. DHS Social Services Block Grant Pre-Expenditure Report for SFY July 1, 2012 – June 30, 2013

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES, MEDICAL SERVICES (Andy Allison)

a. Official Notice #03-12 and Section I 2-12

STATE MEDICAL BOARD (Kevin McGuire)

- a. Regulation 2.8 Governing the Physician/Patient Relationship
- b. Regulation 24 Governing Physician Assistants
- c. Regulation 18 Governing the Centralized Verification Service (CCVS).

STATE PLANT BOARD (Jason Robertson)

a. Emergency Rule; Rice Levee Spraying Waiver – Section (X)(D)(2)(e) of the regulations written pursuant to the Arkansas Pesticide Use and Application Act

PUBLIC EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM (Jay Wills)

a. DROP Provisions.

COMMISSION FOR ARKANSAS PUBLIC SCHOOL ACADEMIC FACILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION (Lynn Robertson, Kendra Clay, and Drew Blankenship)

- a. Appeals from Determinations of the Arkansas Division of Public School Academic Facilities and Transportation
- b. Facilities Master Plan
- c. Academic Facilities Partnership Program

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION (John Bethel)

a. General Service Rules and Telecommunications Providers Rules (1981).

DEPARTMENT OF WORKFORCE SERVICES (Derwin Taylor)

a. Amendment to Transitional Employment Assistance (TEA) State Plan Arkansas Title IV-A, Arkansas TANF Work Verification Plan, and TEA Policy Manual 2. The Subcommittee also adopted the attached report of the Senate Interim Committee on Education and the House Interim Committee on Education and reviewed the following two rules:

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION (Mark White)

- a. Non-Traditional Licensure Program
- b. Teacher Licensure by Reciprocity

Respectfully submitted,

Senator Percy Malone, Co-Chair

Representative James Word, Co-Chair

ARKANSAS GENERAL ASSEMBLY

HOUSE INTERIM COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION and SENATE INTERIM COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

Senator Jimmy Jeffress Senate Chair Representative Eddie Cheatham House Chair

REPORT

of the Joint Meeting of the Senate Interim Committee on Education and House Interim Committee on Education to the Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the Arkansas Legislative Council

May 10, 2012

Senator Percy Malone, Senate Chair Representative James Word, House Chair Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee Arkansas Legislative Council

Chairman Malone and Chairman Word:

At a joint meeting on May 9, 2012, the Senate Interim Committee on Education and the House Interim Committee on Education heard presentations by the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) concerning the following proposed ADE rules:

- Rules Governing the Non-Traditional Licensure Program
- Rules Governing Teacher Licensure by Reciprocity

Following examination of the proposed rules, testimony from representatives of the Arkansas Department of Education and other interested parties, and discussion by the Committees, this is to advise that the Committees have reviewed the rules.

Respectfully submitted,

Senator Jimmy Jeffre Chair Senate Interim Committee on Education

henry

Representative Eddie Cheatham Chair House Interim Committee on Education