1	INTERIM RESOLUTION 2013-004
2	
3	REQUESTING THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL EXPRESS ITS SUPPORT
4	OF AMENDMENT 83 TO THE ARKANSAS CONSTITUTION DEFINING MARRIAGE AS
5	CONSISTING ONLY OF THE UNION OF ONE MAN AND ONE WOMAN.
6	
7	WHEREAS, Amendment 83 to the Arkansas Constitution provides that
8	marriage consists only of the union of one man and one woman; and
9	
10	WHEREAS, marriage between one man and one woman is the building block
11	upon which our society is based; and
12	
13	WHEREAS, at the November 2004 general election, the people of the state
14	of Arkansas overwhelmingly approved Amendment 83 by a vote of 75% to 25%; and
15	
16	WHEREAS, certain provisions of Arkansas law also provide that marriage
17	shall be only between a man and a woman and that marriage licenses shall not
18	be issued to persons of the same sex (Arkansas Code §§ 9-11-107, 9-11-109, 9-
19	11-208); and
20	
21	WHEREAS, the power to regulate marriage is a power reserved to the
22	people that lies within the domain of state legislatures and not with the
23	courts; and
24	
25	WHEREAS, on May 9, 2014, Pulaski County Circuit Court Judge Chris
26	Piazza declared that Amendment 83 and certain similar statutes were
27	unconstitutional; and
28	
29	WHEREAS, Judge Piazza's decision is in direct contradiction to his oath
30	to uphold the Arkansas Constitution and the overall right of the State of
31	Arkansas to declare policy on such matters; and
32	
33	WHEREAS, Judge Piazza's decision disregards the clear wishes of the
34	state's electorate when approving Amendment 83; and
35	

1 WHEREAS, the decision also fails to acknowledge the longstanding 2 precedent of the United States Supreme Court that individual states have the 3 authority to define marriage within their states, as evidenced by 4 Hollingsworth v. Perry, 133 S.Ct. 2652 (2013); and 5 6 WHEREAS, while the Arkansas Legislative Council recognizes that 7 families take many forms, the institution of marriage itself is sacred and 8 must be upheld between one man and one woman; and 9 10 WHEREAS, Judge Piazza has overstepped his judicial authority and the Arkansas Legislative Council should take all possible actions to correct this 11 12 overreach and ensure that this erroneous decision does not negatively impact 13 the state and its citizens, 14 15 NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL OF THE EIGHTY-NINTH 16 17 GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: 18 19 THAT the Arkansas Legislative Council affirms its support for Amendment 20 83 and its declaration that marriage consists of only the union of one man 21 and one woman. 22 23 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Arkansas Legislative Council views the 24 actions of Pulaski County Circuit Judge Chris Piazza as an abuse of his 25 judicial authority. 26 27 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Arkansas Legislative Council encourages 28 the Arkansas Supreme Court to uphold Amendment 83 which represents the will 29 of the people of Arkansas and to find that all marriages entered into after 30 Judge Piazza's decision that would otherwise have been prohibited by 31 Amendment 83 are null and void. 32 33 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Arkansas Legislative Council encourages 34 the Attorney General to vigorously defend Amendment 83 with the full weight 35 and power of his office.

36

```
1
           BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Arkansas Legislative Council shall
2
    explore legislative remedies to prevent the Arkansas Constitution and the
    will of the people of this state from being negated by judicial activism
3
4
    which violates the separation of powers ensured in our form of government.
 5
6
    Respectfully submitted,
7
8
9
10
     Senator Jason Rapert
11
    District 35
12
13
14
15
     Senator Cecile Bledsoe
16
    District 3
17
18
19
20
     Senator Ronald Caldwell
21
    District 23
22
23
24
25
     Senator Alan Clark
26
    District 13
27
28
29
30
     Senator John Cooper
31
    District 21
32
33
34
35
     Senator Jonathan Dismang
36
    District 28
```

1	
2	
3	
4	Senator Jane English
5	District 34
6	
7	
8	
9	Senator Jake Files
10	District 8
11	
12	
13	
14	Senator Jim Hendren
15	District 2
16	
17	
18	
19	Senator Bart Hester
20	District l
21	
22	
23	
24	Senator Jimmy Hickey
25	District 11
26	
27	
28	
29	Senator Bruce Holland
30	District 9
31	
32	
33	
34	Senator Missy Irvin
35	District 18
36	

1	
2	
3	Senator Bryan King
4	District 5
5	
6	
7	
8	Senator David J. Sanders
9	District 15
10	
11	
12	
13	Senator Gary Stubblefield
14	District 6
15	
16	
17	
18	Senator Eddie Joe Williams
19	District 29
20	
21	
22	
23	Senator Jon Woods
24	District 7
25	
26	
27	
28	Representative Randy Alexander
29	District 88
30	
31	
32	
33	Representative Bob Ballinger
34	District 97
35	
36	

1		
2	Representative	Scott Baltz
3	District 61	
4		
5		
6		
7	Representative	Nate Bell
8	District 20	
9		
10		
11		
12	Representative	Ken Bragg
13	District 15	
14		
15		
16		
17	Representative	David L. Branscum
18	District 83	
19		
20		
21		
22	Representative	John Burris
23	District 98	
24		
25		
26		
27	Representative	Les "Skip" Carnine
28	District 90	
29		
30		
31		
32	Representative	John Catlett
33	District 73	
34		
35		
36		

1	Representative	Ann V. Clemmer
2	District 23	
3		
4		
5		
6	Representative	Bruce Cozart
7	District 24	
8		
9		
10		
11	Representative	Robert E. Dale
12	District 68	
13		
14		
15		
16	Representative	Gary Deffenbaugh
17	District 79	
18		
19		
20		
21	Representative	Jody Dickinson
22	District 47	
23		
24		
25		
26	Representative	Jim Dotson
27	District 93	
28		
29		
30		
31	Representative	Charlotte Vining Douglas
32	District 75	
33		
34		
35		
36	Representative	Jon S. Eubanks

1	District 74
2	
3	
4	
5	Representative Joe Farrer
6	District 44
7	
8	
9	
10	Representative Charlene Fite
11	District 80
12	
13	
14	
15	Representative Jeremy Gillam
16	District 45
17	
18	
19	
20	Representative Justin T. Harris
21	District 81
22	
23	
24	
25	Representative Mike Holcomb
26	District 10
27	
28	
29	
30	Representative Douglas House
31	District 40
32	
33	
34	
35	Representative John K. Hutchison
36	District 52

1		
2		
3		
4	Representative	Sheilla E. Lampkin
5	District 9	
6		
7		
8		
9	Representative	Homer Lenderman
10	District 53	
11		
12		
13		
14	Representative	Kelley Linck
15	District 99	
16		
17		
18		
19	Representative	Andy Mayberry
20	District 27	
21		
22		
23		
24	Representative	James McLean
25	District 63	
26		
27		
28		
29	Representative	David Meeks
30	District 70	
31		
32		
33		
34	Representative	Stephen Meeks
35	District 67	
36		

1	
2	
3	Representative Josh Miller
4	District 66
5	
6	
7	
8	Representative John Payton
9	District 64
10	
11	
12	
13	Representative Terry Rice
14	District 21
15	
16	
17	
18	Representative Tommy Thompson
19	District 65
20	
21	
22	
23	Representative Jeff Wardlaw
24	District 8
25	
26	
27	
28	Representative Bruce Westerman
29	District 22
30	
31	
32	
33	Representative Tommy Wren
34	District 62
35	
36	

1	By:	MBM/KFV
2		
3		
4		
5		
6		
7		
8		
9		
10		
11		
12		
13		
14		
15		
16		
17		
18		
19		
20		
21		
22		
23		
24		
25		
26		
27		
28		
29		
30		
31		
32		
33		
34		
35		