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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION

DAPHANE P. LATHROP CLAIMANT

V. CLAIM NO. 200356

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF

TRANSPORTATION RESPONDENT
ORDER

Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission™) is the
motion filed by the Arkansas Department of Transportation (the “Respondent”) to dismiss the
claim of Daphane P. Lathrop (the “Claimant”). Based upon a review of the pleadings, including
Respondent’s motion, and the law of Arkansas, the Claims Commission hereby finds as follows:

1. Claimant filed the instant claim, alleging that Claimant’s vehicle was damaged
when it slid on the “ruts of water” in the roadway on Highway 1 during a rainstorm. Claimant also
alleged personal injuries.

2. Respondent filed a motion to dismiss, arguing that Claimant’s damage was not
caused by negligence of Respondent or its employees. Respondent also argued that Claimant failed
to state a claim upon which relief can be granted. Respondent affirmatively pled that Claimant was
the proximate cause of her damages.

3. Claimant responded to the motion to dismiss, arguing that the injuries she and her
son sustained were “due to the insufficient attention given to the road.” Claimant stated that the
“ruts and ridges in the road filled with water which caused my vehicle to hydroplane, and as of
[this] date, this issue still has not been repaired.”

4. In reviewing this motion to dismiss, the Claims Commission must treat the facts
alleged in the complaint as true and view them in a light most favorable to the Claimant. See

Hodges v. Lamora, 337 Ark. 470, 989 S.W.2d 530 (1999). All reasonable inferences must be
1



resolved in favor of the Claimant, and the complaint must be liberally construed. See id. However,
the Claimant must allege facts, not mere conclusions. Dockery v. Morgan, 2011 Ark. 94 at *6, 380
S.W.3d 377, 382. The facts alleged in the complaint will be treated as true, but not “a plaintiff’s

theories, speculation, or statutory interpretation.” See id. (citing Hodges, 337 Ark. 470,989 S.W.2d

530 (1999)).

5. The Claims Commission finds that dismissal is premature.

6. Respondent’s motion to dismiss is DENIED, and the parties are instructed to begin
discovery.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/:'4/ / s A o ,’ff
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ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION

Courtney Baird

Dexter Booth

Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair
Paul Morris, Co-Chair
Sylvester Smith

DATE: January 9. 2020

Notice(s) which may apply to your claim

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that
party then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of
Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1)(B)(ii). A decision of the Claims
Commission may only be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(3).

(2) If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40)
days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). Note: This
does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements.

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval
and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b).




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION

DAPHANE P. LATHROP CLAIMANT

V. CLAIM NO. 200356

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF

TRANSPORTATION RESPONDENT
ORDER

Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) is the
claim filed by Daphane P. Lathrop (the “Claimant”) against the Arkansas Department of
Transportation (herein referred to as “ArDOT” or the “Respondent”). At the hearing held on June
17,2021, Claimant proceeded pro se. Steven Abed appeared on behalf of Respondent. Based upon
areview of the pleadings, argument of the parties, and the law of the State of Arkansas, the Claims
Commission hereby finds as follows:

1. Claimant filed her claim on October 10, 2019, seeking an unspecified amount of
damages related to injuries suffered and property damage incurred by Claimant as the result of a
hydroplaning accident.

2. Respondent filed an answer denying liability.

3. Respondent also filed a motion to dismiss, which was denied by the Claims
Commission on January 9, 2020. As part of that order, the parties were instructed to conduct
discovery.

4. A hearing was set for June 17, 2021.

Hearing Testimony

5. By way of opening and testimony, Claimant stated that there were three accidents
in the same area as her accident, one of which involved a death. Claimant talked to the ArDOT

supervisor in Wynne, who was unaware of these accidents. The supervisor said that any time an

1



accident occurs, he is supposed to be notified, but he was not notified. These accidents occurred
in 2013 on the same stretch of highway and within five miles of Claimant’s accident.

6. By way of opening, Respondent stated that Claimant had a $1000 deductible and
less than $10,000 in medical bills, all of which should have been covered by Claimant’s Geico
med pay coverage.

7. Claimant testified further regarding a July 16, 2020, accident that was incorrectly
stated in Respondent’s discovery responses as being Respondent’s only report of an accident over
the last two years. Claimant also disagreed with Respondent’s description of the driver in that
accident as “sleepy.”

8. On cross-examination, Claimant testified that she has had her driver’s license for
at least 40 years. On the day of the accident, the stretch of highway started off dry before a
downpour started. The police report stated that Claimant was in the left lane. The ruts in the road
fill quickly with rain. There was standing water more than ' inch in several places. Claimant
signed the police report and stated in the driver statement that she hit a puddle. The wreck was at
1:55 p.m. It was daylight. The police report indicates 101 for road surface condition (wet) and 105
for weather condition (rain), but there is no indication that roadway conditions were a factor in the
accident. The speed limit was 65 miles per hour. Claimant was going 40—45 miles per hour.
Another woman wrote information for Claimant. Claimant was headed to Forrest City to take her
son to a job interview at 2:00 p.m. Prior to the accident, Claimant had told her son to call
McDonald’s to let them know he would be late for the interview because of the rain. The police
report for the Bradley accident, which was three miles from Claimant’s accident, states that there
were vehicle defects, including defective steering. The police report for the February 2020 accident

was in St. Francis County, two miles north of this accident. The police report for the August 2020



accident involving a death states that there was insufficient tread on the vehicle’s tires and that the
driver was under the influence of drugs and going too fast.

0. Trooper Jake Price testified that he has been with Arkansas State Police for
approximately four years. He did not find that ruts played a role in the accident. He arrived at 2:06
p.m. He did not work any other hydroplane accident on Highway 1 that day.

10. On cross-examination, Trooper Price stated that he usually talks to everyone at the
scene unless someone has already been transported to the hospital.

11. Matt Emberton, district maintenance engineer for District 1, testified that his district
covers this stretch of road. There were no prior complaints. He determined that the ruts were Y4 of
an inch. ArDOT is only notified of an accident if there is property damage to ArDOT signs, etc.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

12.  The Claims Commission finds that the witnesses were credible.
13. The Claims Commission finds that Claimant’s claim is based upon negligence.
14. The elements of a negligence claim are duty, breach of duty, and damages

proximately caused by the breach. Chambers v. Stern, 347 Ark. 395, 406, 64 S.W.3d 737, 744
(2002).

15. The Claims Commission finds Claimant’s testimony and evidence to be insufficient
to establish liability on the part of Respondent, especially in light of the contributing factors in the
other accidents referenced by Claimant.

16.  As such, the Claims Commission unanimously DENIES and DISMISSES

Claimant’s claim.



IT IS SO ORDERED.

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION
Courtney Baird

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION
Dexter Booth

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION
Henry Kinslow, Chair

DATE: July 13, 2021

Notice(s) which may apply to your claim

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that
party then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of
Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1)(B)(ii). A decision of the Claims
Commission may only be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(3).

(2) If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40)
days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). Note: This
does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements.

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval
and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b).




From: Daphane Lathrop

To: Kathryn Irby
Subject: Re: ORDER: Lathrop v. ArDOT, Claim No. 200356
Date: Thursday, July 15, 2021 3:59:57 AM

Good morning, Yes I want to appeal the decision.

Sent from my iPhone

On Jul 14, 2021, at 7:16 AM, Kathryn Irby <Kathryn.Irby(@arkansas.gov> wrote:

Ms. Lathrop, if you would like to appeal, you just need to let me know. Email is fine. |
will then transmit a copy of the claim file to the Arkansas General Assembly, and this
claim would be put on an agenda for the Claims Review Subcommittee at some point in
the future (the subcommittee typically only meets a few times each year).

Thanks,
Kathryn Irby

rrom: I

Sent: Tuesday, July 13, 2021 7:55 PM

To: Kathryn Irby <Kathryn.lrby@arkansas.gov>

Cc: Abed, Steven <Steven.Abed@ardot.gov>; Blakley, Sharon
<Sharon.Blakley@ardot.gov>

Subject: Re: ORDER: Lathrop v. ArDOT, Claim No. 200356

Please let me know the process for appeal.
Thank you,
Daphane Lathrop

Sent from my iPhone

On Jul 13, 2021, at 1:30 PM, Kathryn Irby <Kathryn.Irby@arkansas.gov>
wrote:

Ms. Lathrop and Mr. Abed, please see the order entered in the above-
referenced claim.

Thanks,
Kathryn Irby

Kathryn Irby



Arkansas State Claims Commission
101 East Capitol Avenue, Suite 410
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

(501) 682-2822
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