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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 

ANDREW MARTIN CLAIMANT 

 

V. CLAIM NO. 220058 

 

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF 

TRANSPORTATION  RESPONDENT 

 

 

ORDER 

 Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) is the 

motion filed by the Arkansas Department of Transportation (the “Respondent”) to dismiss the 

claim of Andrew Martin (the “Claimant”). Based upon a review of Respondent’s motion, the 

arguments made therein, and the law of Arkansas, the Claims Commission hereby finds as follows: 

1. Claimant filed the instant claim, alleging that Claimant’s vehicle was damaged on 

“an unrepaired section of road.” 

2. Respondent filed a motion to dismiss, arguing, inter alia, that Claimant has failed 

to state a claim against Respondent upon which relief can be granted. Respondent seeks dismissal 

pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) of the Arkansas Rules of Civil Procedure. 

3. Claimant did not file a response. 

4. In reviewing this motion to dismiss, the Claims Commission must treat the facts 

alleged in the complaint as true and view them in a light most favorable to the Claimant. See 

Hodges v. Lamora, 337 Ark. 470, 989 S.W.2d 530 (1999). All reasonable inferences must be 

resolved in favor of the Claimant, and the complaint must be liberally construed. See id. However, 

the Claimant must allege facts, not mere conclusions. Dockery v. Morgan, 2011 Ark. 94 at *6, 380 

S.W.3d 377, 382. The facts alleged in the complaint will be treated as true, but not “a plaintiff’s 

theories, speculation, or statutory interpretation.” See id. (citing Hodges, 337 Ark. 470, 989 S.W.2d 

530 (1999)). 
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5. The Claims Commission agrees with Respondent that dismissal of this claim is 

proper. Claimant did not allege any specific facts related to Respondent. In the absence of any 

allegations against Respondent, the Claims Commission must dismiss the claim. The fact that 

Claimant’s vehicle was damaged is not, by itself, sufficient to demonstrate a claim against 

Respondent.  

6. As such, Respondent’s Motion to dismiss is GRANTED, and Claimant’s claim is 

DISMISSED pursuant to Ark. R. Civ. Proc. 12(b)(6) without prejudice. 

IT IS SO ORDERED. 

       
      _______________________________________ 

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 
 
Courtney Baird 
Dexter Booth 
Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair 
Paul Morris, Co-Chair 
Sylvester Smith 

 
      DATE: January 12, 2022 
 

Notice(s) which may apply to your claim 

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal 
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that 
party then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of 
Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1)(B)(ii). A decision of the Claims 
Commission may only be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(3). 
 

(2) If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40) 
days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). Note: This 
does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements. 
 

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval 
and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b). 






