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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 
DRITA ISMAILI  CLAIMANT 

 

V. CLAIM NO. 221139 

 

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF 

TRANSPORTATION RESPONDENT 

 
 

ORDER 

 
Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) is the 

motion filed by the Arkansas Department of Transportation (the “Respondent”) to dismiss the 

claim of Drita Ismaili (the “Claimant”). Based upon a review of the motion and the law of 

Arkansas, the Claims Commission hereby finds as follows: 

1. Claimant filed her original claim (Claim No. 190684) on December 20, 2018, 

seeking $15,000.00 in damages from Respondent related to a November 30, 2018, one-car 

accident, in which Claimant’s vehicle was damaged. The Claims Commission granted 

Respondent’s motion to dismiss on May 28, 2019, and denied Claimant’s motion for 

reconsideration on October 29, 2019. 

2. On March 31, 2022, Claimant filed the instant claim related to the same November 

30, 2018, accident and submitted additional documents. 

3. Respondent filed a motion to dismiss, arguing that this claim is time-barred. 

4. Claimant responded, arguing that the letter from Crossland Construction is critical 

to this claim. 

5. The Claims Commission notes that Claimant’s claim is a negligence claim and is 

subject to a three-year statute of limitations. Ark. Code Ann. § 16-56-105; Hill v. Hartness, 2017 

Ark. App. 664, 536 S.W.3d 649. In this claim, the statute of limitations began running on the date 
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of the accident and expired three years later on November 30, 2021. Claimant’s original claim was 

filed within the applicable time period, and the claim was closed after Claimant’s motion for 

reconsideration was denied on October 29, 2019. Claimant’s second claim was filed four months 

after the statute of limitations expired and, as such, is time-barred. 

6. While the parties do not argue the issue of the savings statute, the Claims 

Commission notes that it is not applicable and cannot extend the statute of limitations because 

Claimant’s original claim was dismissed more than a year before the statute of limitations expired. 

See Ark. Code Ann. § 16-56-126. 

7. Respondent’s motion to dismiss is GRANTED, and Claimant’s claim is 

DISMISSED as outside the statute of limitations. 
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IT IS SO ORDERED. 

       
      _______________________________________ 

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 
 
Courtney Baird 
Dexter Booth 
Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair 
Paul Morris, Co-Chair 
Sylvester Smith 

 
      DATE: July 18, 2022 
 

 
Notice(s) which may apply to your claim 

 

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal 
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that 
party then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of 
Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1)(B)(ii). A decision of the Claims 
Commission may only be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(3). 
 

(2) If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40) 
days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). Note: This 
does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements. 
 

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval 
and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b). 






