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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 
 
MARSHA FRAZIER, AS 
ADMINISTRATRIX OF THE 
ESTATE OF MARSHALL 
FRAZIER JR. CLAIMANT 
 
V. CLAIM NO. 191008 
 
UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR 
MEDICAL SCIENCES  RESPONDENT 
 
 

ORDER 

 The above-referenced claim came before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the 

“Claims Commission”) on May 12, 2022, for a hearing on pending motions. Ms. Frazier appeared 

in her pro se1 capacity, and Sherri L. Robinson appeared on behalf of the University of Arkansas 

for Medical Sciences (UAMS or the “Respondent”). At the hearing, the Claims Commission 

considered the following the motions to dismiss filed by UAMS, as well as UAMS’ motion to stay 

discovery. 

Procedural History 

1. On April 10, 2019, Ms. Frazier filed an individual claim (styled Marsha Frazier v. 

UAMS) related to the death of her husband, Marshall Frazier Jr. Ms. Frazier filed the claim pro se, 

and she alleged $500,000.00 in damages. Ms. Frazier alleged the following in her complaint: 

He was fine up into [sic] the charge nurse came in later running her shift and she 
didn’t to [sic] check and see if he had already had it about 30 to 45 minutes and the 
same medication was given to[o] soon and it resulted in his death. The medication 
was administered to[o] soon. I feel as though that is the cause of his heart failure. 
 

 
1 “Pro se” is a Latin phrase that can be translated as “in his own behalf.” This phrase is used to 

describe a claimant who files a claim without being represented by an attorney. 
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On another page, Ms. Frazier stated that “Marshall Frazier was fine but the charge nurse was 

running late for her shift and just administered his medication to[o] soon.” In a supporting affidavit, 

Ms. Frazier stated that “I am the Claimant of this Complaint to this Claims commission in the 

above caption[ed] action herein.” 

2. Respondent moved to dismiss, arguing that Ms. Frazier does not have standing to 

bring a lawsuit on behalf of her now deceased husband. 

3. On October 1, 2019, Ms. Frazier filed a pleading titled “Notification of 

Administration and Remove Claim Out Abeyance Continue with the Wrongful Death Settlement” 

and attached a petition and other documents filed in Jefferson County Circuit Court. Ms. Frazier 

also moved to amend her complaint to increase the amount of damages from $500,000.00 to 

$1,500,000.00, stating that the original amount was a “typo.” 

4.  By order dated October 9, 2019, the claim was re-captioned Marsha Frazier, as 

Administratrix of the Estate of Marshall Frazier Jr. v. UAMS. In that same order, the Claims 

Commission granted Ms. Frazier’s request to modify the amount of her claimed damages. 

5. The parties then conducted some discovery. 

6. UAMS subsequently filed its second motion to dismiss, arguing that Ms. Frazier 

must exhaust her claims against the UAMS physicians and that Ms. Frazier failed to do so prior to 

the expiration of the statute of limitations on August 26, 2019.2 

7. Ms. Frazier responded, arguing that wrongful death actions are subject to a three-

year statute of limitation and that claims related to “a foreign object in the body” must be filed 

 
2 Ms. Frazier’s complaint, as well as the medical records attached to her complaint, indicate that 

Mr. Frazier passed away on August 26, 2017. 
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within one year from the date of discovery. Ms. Frazier further argued that Mr. Frazier’s appendix 

was missing at the time of his autopsy, such that the three-year statute of limitation would apply. 

8. UAMS then filed a motion to stay discovery. 

9. Ms. Frazier opposed the motion to stay discovery and included in her response 

additional argument that the three-year statute of limitation should apply. 

10. On May 18, 2020, the Claims Commission sent a scheduling order to the parties, 

directing Ms. Frazier to identify all witnesses, including an expert witness, by September 30, 

2020.3 That scheduling order also directed the parties to have all discovery completed, including 

depositions, by December 30, 2020. Ms. Frazier confirmed receipt of the scheduling order by 

correspondence filed on June 25, 2020. 

11. On September 1, 2020, Ms. Frazier filed documents related to a lawsuit that she 

filed in Pulaski County Circuit Court against UAMS physicians related to the death of her husband 

(the “Physician Lawsuit”).4 The Physician Lawsuit was dismissed with prejudice by the Pulaski 

County Circuit Court on September 8, 2021. In the order, Circuit Judge Herbert Wright specifically 

found, inter alia, that (1) Ms. Frazier’s lawsuit was barred by the applicable statute of limitation 

contained in Ark. Code Ann. § 16-114-203; and (2) Ms. Frazier’s pro se filing of the lawsuit on 

behalf of the Estate of Marshall Frazier Jr. constitutes the unauthorized practice of law, such that 

her complaint is a nullity. 

12. On January 4, 2020, Ms. Frazier voluntarily dismissed her appeal of the order 

dismissing the Physician Lawsuit.5 

 
3 In that same scheduling order, UAMS was directed to identify a rebuttal expert witness by October 

30, 2020. 
 
4 Marsha G. Frazier – Administrator of Estate of Marshall Frazier Jr. v. Dr. Benjamin Tharian et 

al., Pulaski County Circuit Court Case No. 60CV-20-4734. 
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Argument at Hearing 

13. At the May 12, 2022, Claims Commission hearing on the pending motions, UAMS 

noted that the second motion to dismiss is actually a motion for summary judgment. UAMS argued 

that it is entitled to summary judgment because Ms. Frazier did not exhaust her remedies against 

the physicians involved in her husband’s treatment because she did not timely file the lawsuit. 

14. Ms. Frazier argued that when she filed her claim with the Claims Commission in 

April 2019, the statute of limitation had not expired. She further argued that the statute of limitation 

is tolled; that UAMS is liable under the theory of respondeat superior; that UAMS removed her 

husband’s appendix; that her husband’s death was preventable; and that her husband’s gallbladder 

should have been removed. 

15. The chair commissioner noted his concerns with Ms. Frazier’s standing to file the 

original claim in April 2019, as Ms. Frazier filed the complaint individually and without the other 

statutory heirs at law.6 

16. The chair commissioner also noted his concerns with Ms. Frazier’s pro se filing as 

administratrix of the Estate of Marshall Frazier, citing to Henson v. Cradduck, 2020 Ark. 24, 593 

S.W.3d 10. Ms. Frazier disagreed, stating that while she had to be represented by an attorney in 

circuit court, she is not required to have an attorney before the Claims Commission because it is 

an administrative hearing. 

 
5 In the filing voluntarily dismissing her appeal, Ms. Frazier stated that her unsuccessful attempts 

to retain an attorney “is why [the laws regarding the] unauthorized practice [of law] should be 
unconstitutional.” 

 
6 In Ms. Frazier’s October 1, 2019, Claims Commission filing, she included a petition filed with 

the Jefferson County Circuit Court, which includes the names of three daughters (Luciana A. Frazier, Dena 
M. Perry, and Sheena C. Frazier) and one son (Emmanuel D. Frazier).  
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17. Additionally, the chair commissioner noted that Ms. Frazier had not yet identified 

an expert witness as required by the Claims Commission’s May 18, 2020, scheduling order. Ms. 

Frazier disagreed, stating that she consulted with her own GI doctor and that it has been found 

unconstitutional to require an expert witness. 

18.  Ms. Frazier argued that she was bringing her claim sui juris7; that her husband’s 

gallbladder should have been removed; that UAMS allowed her husband’s health to deteriorate; 

and that her husband’s appendix was gone by the time of his autopsy. Ms. Frazier also disagreed 

that the statute of limitation had expired. 

Ms. Frazier’s Standing to Bring Original Claim 

19. Ark. Code Ann. § 16-62-102(b) defines how a wrongful death action may be 

pursued: 

Every action shall be brought by and in the name of the personal representative of 
the deceased person. If there is no personal representative, then the action shall be 
brought by the heirs at law of the deceased person. 

 
The heirs at law are defined in the same statute as the surviving spouse, children, parents, and 

siblings of the deceased, as well as anyone “standing in loco parentis to the deceased” and anyone 

“to whom the deceased stood in loco parentis at any time.” See id. 

20. The Arkansas Supreme Court clarified in Ramirez v. White County Circuit Court, 

343 Ark. 372, 38 S.W.3d 298 (2001), that, in the absence of a personal representative, a wrongful 

death action must be brought by all heirs at law and that an individual heir at law does not have 

standing to bring a wrongful death action unless that individual is the only heir at law.8 

 
7 “Sui juris” is a Latin phrase that can be translated as “having full legal rights or capacity.” This 

phrase is used to describe individuals who have reached the age of majority and are not under the 
guardianship of another. See generally, Smith v. Walker, 187 Ark. 161, 58 S.W.2d 946 (1933). 

 
8 Quoting Brewer v. Lacefield, 301 Ark. 358, 784 S.W.2d 156 (1990), the Arkansas Supreme Court 

in Ramirez held that “[t]he wrongful death code provisions do not create an individual right in any 
beneficiary to bring suit.” 
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21. In St. Paul Mercury Ins. Co. v. Circuit Court of Craighead County, Western Div., 

348 Ark. 197, 73 S.W.3d 584 (2002), the Arkansas Supreme Court found that where plaintiffs 

were without standing to bring a lawsuit, the complaint was rendered a nullity. 

22. The Arkansas Supreme Court reiterated the Ramirez and St. Paul Mercury holdings 

in Brewer v. Poole, 362 Ark. 1, 207 at *14–15, S.W.3d 458, 466 (2005), succinctly stating, in 

pertinent part, that: 

[Arkansas Code Annotated] Section 16–62–102(b) requires that every cause of 
action for wrongful death shall be brought by and in the name of the personal 
representative, or, if there is no personal representative, then the action shall be 
brought by the heirs at law of the deceased person. The original complaint in this 
case failed to include all the heirs at law as parties to the suit. Therefore, the original 
complaint was a nullity. 
 

23. The Claims Commission finds that Ms. Frazier’s April 2019 claim filing was not 

brought by a personal representative or by all of the heirs at law. As one of several heirs at law, 

Ms. Frazier did not have standing to bring this claim, such that the Claims Commission must find 

that Ms. Frazier’s April 2019 claim filing is a nullity. This means that the April 2019 claim filing 

effectively “never existed.” Davenport v. Lee, 348 Ark. 148, 160, 72 S.W.3d 85, 94 (2002). 

Ms. Frazier’s Standing to Bring a Pro Se Claim as Administratrix 

24. In Henson v. Cradduck, 2020 Ark. 24, 593 S.W.3d 10, the Arkansas Supreme Court 

stated that “a nonlawyer estate administrator filing a pro se complaint on behalf of an estate in a 

wrongful death action constitutes the unauthorized practice of law,” 9 meaning that the pro se 

complaint is rendered a nullity. 

25. While Ms. Frazier argued that she is entitled to pursue a pro se complaint on behalf 

of an estate at the Claims Commission, she is incorrect. If a claim would be subject to dismissal in 

circuit court for reasons other than sovereign immunity, the Arkansas General Assembly has 

 
9 Citing to Davenport v. Lee, 348 Ark. 148, 72 S.W.3d 85 (2002). 

https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000004&cite=ARSTS16-62-102&originatingDoc=I9296da84ec7c11d9b386b232635db992&refType=SP&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=7489f9e4c72a43d28458d19f8c875d8c&contextData=(sc.Search)#co_pp_a83b000018c76
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prohibited the Claims Commission from awarding damages to a claimant.10 In this claim, the 

Claims Commission knows that a pro se wrongful death complaint on behalf of Mr. Frazier’s estate 

would be subject to dismissal in circuit court because it already has been dismissed by the Pulaski 

County Circuit Court based, in part, upon Ms. Frazier’s unauthorized practice of law. 

26. While Ms. Frazier is correct that other pro se claimants appeared before the Claims 

Commission on May 12, 2022, Ms. Frazier is not a pro se claimant pursuing an individual claim—

she is an administratrix of her husband’s estate bringing a wrongful death claim on behalf of his 

estate, and Arkansas law is clear that she is not permitted to bring such a claim pro se. 

27. As such, to the extent that Ms. Frazier’s October 1, 2019, filing titled “Notification 

of Administration and Remove Claim Out Abeyance Continue with the Wrongful Death 

Settlement” could be construed as a wrongful death complaint on behalf of her husband’s estate, 

the Claims Commission finds that such complaint is a nullity because it was brought pro se by Ms. 

Frazier as administratrix. To the extent that this filing could be construed as an amended complaint 

or a correction of the original complaint, the Arkansas Supreme Court held that where an original 

complaint was a nullity, “an amended complaint cannot relate back to something that never 

existed, nor can a nonexistent complaint be corrected.” Davenport, 348 Ark. at 160, 72 S.W.3d at 

94. 

28. Moreover, even if the October 1, 2019, filing had been filed by an attorney and 

satisfied all pleading requirements, it would be subject to dismissal based upon expiration of the 

statute of limitations because the nullified nature of the original claim.11 

 
10 Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-204(c): 
 

The commission shall not make an award for a claim or action that, as a matter of law, 
would be dismissed from a court of law for reasons other than sovereign immunity. 
 

11 Arkansas law is well settled that the “Medical Malpractice Act applies to all causes of action for 
medical injury occurring after April 2, 1979, including wrongful-death and survival actions arising from 
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Scheduling Order and Expert Witness Requirement 

29. Even if Ms. Frazier’s original claim filing and her filings as the pro se 

administratrix of Mr. Frazier’s estate were proper, the Claims Commission finds that an additional 

basis for dismissal exists based upon Ms. Frazier failure to identify an expert witness within the 

time specified by the Claims Commission. Ms. Frazier’s argument regarding the 

unconstitutionality of the expert testimony requirement is simply wrong.12 Ms. Frazier may be 

thinking of the Arkansas Supreme Court’s decision in Summerville v. Thrower, 369 Ark. 231, 253 

S.W.3d 415 (2007), in which the Arkansas Supreme Court held unconstitutional the portion of 

Ark. Code Ann. § 16-114-209(b) mandating dismissal of a medical malpractice lawsuit if the 

plaintiff failed to file an expert affidavit within 30 days of filing the complaint. However, in 

Summerville, the Arkansas Supreme Court also affirmed the requirement that expert testimony be 

provided, stating that “[t]his court has upheld that requirement for expert testimony regarding the 

standard of care. . . .” Id. at 238, 253 S.W.3d at 420. As such, expert testimony is required to 

 
the death of a patient,” such that the two-year statute of limitation applies. Davis v. Parham, 362 Ark. 352, 
208 S.W.3d 162 (2005). The Arkansas Supreme Court has reviewed the inconsistency between the two-
year statute of limitation in the Medical Malpractice Act and the three-year statute of limitation in the 
Wrongful Death Act and found that the Medical Malpractice Act’s statute of limitation controls “where 
death ensues from medical injuries.” See id. at 361, 208 S.W.3d at 168 (citing to Looney v. Bolt, 330 Ark. 
530, 955 S.W.2d 509 (1997); Scarlett v. Rose Care, Inc., 328 Ark. 672, 944 S.W.2d 545 (1997); Morrison 
v. Jennings, 328 Ark. 278, 943 S.W.2d 559 (1997); Pastchol v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 326 Ark. 
140, 929 S.W.2d 713 (1996); and Hertlein v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 323 Ark. 283, 914 S.W.2d 
303 (1996). 

 
 12 Arkansas Court of Appeals explained the expert testimony requirement in Johnson v. Schafer, 
2018 Ark. App. 630, 565 S.W.3d 144: 
 

…unless the asserted negligence could be comprehended by a jury as a matter of common 
knowledge, a plaintiff has the additional burden of providing three propositions by expert 
testimony: the applicable standard of care; the medical provider’s failure to act in 
accordance with that standard; and that the failure was the proximate cause of the plaintiff’s 
injuries. 
 

(emphasis added). 
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ultimately prevail at trial, even though an expert affidavit does not have to be filed 

contemporaneously with the complaint. 

Conclusion 

30. The Claims Commission finds that Ms. Frazier’s April 2019 claim filing and her 

pro se filings as administratrix of the Estate of Marshall Frazier Jr. to be nullities. As it has now 

been nearly five years since Mr. Frazier’s death, the Claims Commission finds that the statute of 

limitations has long expired and that the claim must be dismissed with prejudice. 
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 IT IS SO ORDERED. 

      
     _______________________________________ 

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 
Dexter Booth 

       
      _______________________________________ 
      ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

Henry Kinslow 

       
      _______________________________________ 

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 
Paul Morris, Chair 

 
      DATE: May 18, 2022 
 
 
 
 
 

Notice(s) which may apply to your claim 
 
(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal 

with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that 
party then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of 
Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1)(B)(ii). A decision of the Claims 
Commission may only be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(3). 
 

(2) If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40) 
days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). Note: This 
does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements. 
 

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval 
and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b). 
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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 

MARSHA FRAZIER, AS 

ADMINISTRATRIX OF THE 

ESTATE OF MARSHALL 

FRAZIER JR. CLAIMANT 

 

V. CLAIM NO. 191008 

 

UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR 

MEDICAL SCIENCES  RESPONDENT 

 

 

ORDER 

Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) is a notice 

of appeal filed in the claim of Marsha Frazier, as Administratrix of the Estate of Marshall Frazier 

Jr. (the “Claimant”) against the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (the “Respondent”). 

This notice of appeal was filed by the “Heirs at Law of Marshall Frazier Jr.” (who were not parties 

to the claim) and was filed more than 40 days after the Claims Commission’s May 18, 2022, 

dismissal of Claimant’s claim with prejudice. 

Despite these issues, the Claims Commission will transmit this claim file to the Arkansas 

General Assembly, as Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211 does not permit the Claims Commission to 

reject an appeal. 
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IT IS SO ORDERED. 

      
      _______________________________________ 

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 

Courtney Baird 

Dexter Booth 

Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair 

Paul Morris, Co-Chair 

Sylvester Smith 

 

      DATE: July 12, 2022 

 

Notice(s) which may apply to your claim 

 

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal 

with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that 

party then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of 

Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1)(B)(ii). A decision of the Claims 

Commission may only be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(3). 

 

(2) If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40) 

days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). Note: This 

does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements. 

 

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval 

and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b). 

(4)  




