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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 

JAMES SUBER, JR. (ADC 167529)  CLAIMANT 

 

V. CLAIM NO. 180834 

 

STATE OF ARKANSAS RESPONDENT 

 

 

ORDER 

 

Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) is the 

motion filed by the State of Arkansas (the “Respondent”) to dismiss the claim of James Suber, Jr. 

(the “Claimant”). Based upon a review of the motion, the argument of the parties, and the law of 

Arkansas, the Claims Commission hereby finds as follows: 

1. Claimant filed its claim on April 16, 2018, seeking $10,000.00 in damages from 

the “State of Arkansas Accessor” regarding a “special warranty deed” giving two named 

individuals ownership of a parcel of land in which Claimant claims an ownership interest. 

2. Respondent moved to dismiss Claimant’s claim, arguing that Claimant has failed 

to state facts upon which relief can be granted and that dismissal is proper pursuant to Ark. R. Civ. 

Proc. 12(b)(6). 

3. Claimant did not respond to the motion to dismiss, but he did file a “Request for 

Writ of Mandamus” regarding Respondent’s “factual default.”  

4. In reviewing this motion to dismiss, the Claims Commission must treat the facts 

alleged in the complaint as true and view them in a light most favorable to the Claimant. See 

Hodges v. Lamora, 337 Ark. 470, 989 S.W.2d 530 (1999). All reasonable inferences must be 

resolved in favor of the Claimant, and the complaint must be liberally construed. See id. However, 

the Claimant must allege facts, not mere conclusions. Dockery v. Morgan, 2011 Ark. 94 at *6, 380 

S.W.3d 377, 382. The facts alleged in the complaint will be treated as true, but not “a plaintiff’s 
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theories, speculation, or statutory interpretation.” See id. (citing Hodges, 337 Ark. 470, 989 S.W.2d 

530 (1999)). 

5. Even under the liberal pleading standard in Hodges, the Claims Commission finds 

that dismissal is proper pursuant to Ark. R. Civ. Proc. 12(b)(6). If Claimant believes that he is the 

rightful owner of a parcel of land, Claimant has remedies through a court of general jurisdiction 

against the owners of record. 

6. Respondent’s motion to dismiss is GRANTED, and Claimant’s claim is 

DISMISSED WITHOUT PREJUDICE. Claimant’s request is DENIED. 

IT IS SO ORDERED. 

      

       
      _______________________________________ 

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 

Dexter Booth 

Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair 

Bill Lancaster 

Sylvester Smith 

Mica Strother, Co-Chair 

 

      DATE: September 28, 2018 

 

 

Notice(s) which may apply to your claim 

 

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal 

with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(b). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that party 

then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of Appeal 

with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(b)(3). A decision of the Claims Commission may only 

be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). 

 

(2) If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40) 

days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(b). Note: This 

does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements. 

 

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval 

and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b). 
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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 

JAMES SUBER, JR. CLAIMANT 

 

V. CLAIM NO. 180834 

 

STATE OF ARKANSAS  RESPONDENT 

 

ORDER ON CLAIMANT’S 

MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION 

 

Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) is a 

motion filed by James Suber, Jr. (the “Claimant”) for reconsideration of the Claims Commission’s 

September 28, 2018, order denying and dismissing Claimant’s claim against the State of Arkansas 

(the “Respondent”). Based upon a review of the pleading, the arguments made therein, and the law 

of Arkansas, the Claims Commission hereby unanimously finds as follows: 

1. Claimant filed his claim on April 16, 2018, seeking $10,000.00 in damages related 

to a “special warranty deed” giving two named individuals ownership of a parcel of land in which 

Claimant claims an ownership interest. 

2. Respondent filed a motion to dismiss on May 15, 2018, arguing, inter alia, that 

Claimant failed to state a claim upon which relief can be granted. 

3. On May 26, 2018, Claimant notified the Claims Commission of his paroled status 

and address change. 

4. On September 28, 2018, the Claims Commission granted Respondent’s motion and 

denied and dismissed the claim. 

5. Claimant filed the instant motion for reconsideration on October 25, 2018, with the 

following statements: 
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• “I James Suber Jr. never receive [sic] the motion to dismiss until I contacted 

the Arkansas State Claims Commission office . . .” 

 

• “I receive at my home address from . . . [counsel for Respondent] dated May 

15th 2018 a motion to dismiss.” 

 

6. Despite the apparent contradiction in the two statements, the Claims Commission 

finds that absent from Claimant’s motion for reconsideration is any response to Respondent’s 

motion to dismiss. It remains undisputed that Claimant does not allege in his claim that Respondent 

was a party to the alleged “secret ‘Special Warranty Deed.’” Claimant’s motion does not address 

the fact that there is no state entity known as the “State of Arkansas Accessor & Land 

Management.” 

7. Moreover, parties are responsible for ascertaining the status of his claim. Claimant 

did notify the Claims Commission of his new address on May 26, 2018, but he did not call to check 

to see whether anything had been filed until June 13, 2018. Even after Claimant received a copy 

of the motion to dismiss, Claimant did not respond to it. Instead, Claimant waited until the Claims 

Commission entered an order granting the motion to dismiss before he filed the motion for 

reconsideration. 

8. As such, the Claims Commission finds that Claimant is not entitled to 

reconsideration of his claim. 

9. Claimant’s motion for reconsideration is DENIED as untimely, and the September 

28, 2018, order remains in effect. 

  



3 

 

IT IS SO ORDERED. 

       
      _______________________________________ 

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 

Courtney Baird 

Dexter Booth 

Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair 

Paul Morris, Co-Chair 

Sylvester Smith 

 

      DATE: July 30, 2019 

 

 

Notice(s) which may apply to your claim 

 

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal 

with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that 

party then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of 

Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1)(B)(ii). A decision of the Claims 

Commission may only be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(3). 

 

(2) If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40) 

days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). Note: This 

does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements. 

 

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval 

and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b). 












