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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 
ANTHONY WILLIAMSON   CLAIMANT 

 

V. CLAIM NO. 200681 

 

ARKANSAS STATE POLICE RESPONDENT 

 
 

ORDER 

 
Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) is the 

motion filed by the Arkansas State Police (the “Respondent”) to dismiss the claim of Anthony 

Williamson (the “Claimant”). Based upon a review of the motion and the law of Arkansas, the 

Claims Commission hereby finds as follows: 

1. Claimant filed his claim on January 6, 2020, alleging that certain items were 

wrongfully kept by Respondent after being seized on July 16, 2007. 

2. Respondent filed a motion to dismiss, arguing that Claimant’s claims are barred by 

the applicable three-year statute of limitation. Ark. Code Ann. § 16-56-105. 

3. Claimant did not respond to the motion, but he did file discovery requests. 

4. After reviewing the pleadings, the Claims Commission agrees with Respondent that 

Claimant’s claim is time-barred pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 16-56-105.  

5. Respondent’s motion to dismiss is GRANTED, and Claimant’s claim is DENIED 

and DISMISSED. 
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IT IS SO ORDERED. 
      

       
      _______________________________________ 

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 
 
Courtney Baird 
Dexter Booth 
Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair 
Paul Morris, Co-Chair 
Sylvester Smith 

 
      DATE: February 20, 2020 
 

 
Notice(s) which may apply to your claim 

 

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal 
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that 
party then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of 
Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1)(B)(ii). A decision of the Claims 
Commission may only be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(3). 
 

(2) If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40) 
days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). Note: This 
does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements. 
 

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval 
and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b). 
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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 
 
ANTHONY WILLIAMSON  CLAIMANT 
 
V. CLAIM NO. 200681 
 
ARKANSAS STATE POLICE RESPONDENT 
 

ORDER ON CLAIMANT’S 
MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION 

 
Now before the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) is a 

motion filed by Anthony Williamson (the “Claimant”) for reconsideration of the Claims 

Commission’s February 20, 2020, order dismissing Claimant’s claim against the Arkansas State 

Police (the “Respondent”). Based upon a review of the pleading, the arguments made therein, and 

the law of Arkansas, the Claims Commission hereby unanimously finds as follows: 

1. Claimant filed his claim on January 6, 2020, alleging that certain items were 

wrongfully kept by Respondent after being seized by Respondent on July 16, 2007. 

2. Respondent filed a motion to dismiss, arguing that Claimant’s claims are barred by 

the applicable three-year statute of limitation pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 16-56-105. The Claims 

Commission agreed and granted Respondent’s motion. 

3. Claimant thereafter filed the instant motion for reconsideration, arguing that his 

claims are not time-barred. 

4. In analyzing a motion for reconsideration, Rule 7.1 of the Claims Commission 

Rules and Regulations states that motions for reconsideration “will only be entertained if they set 

forth new or additional evidence which was not [previously] available . . . .” 

5. The Claims Commission finds that the motion does not set forth new or additional 

evidence not previously available. Claimant’s property was seized in 2007, and Claimant did not 

file a claim until 2020. 
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6. As such, Claimant’s motion for reconsideration is DENIED, and the February 20, 

2020, Claims Commission order remains in effect. 

IT IS SO ORDERED. 

       
      _______________________________________ 

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 
 
Courtney Baird 
Dexter Booth 
Henry Kinslow, Co-Chair 
Paul Morris, Co-Chair 
Sylvester Smith 

 
      DATE: February 9, 2021 
 
 

Notice(s) which may apply to your claim 
 

(1) A party has forty (40) days from the date of this Order to file a Motion for Reconsideration or a Notice of Appeal 
with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1). If a Motion for Reconsideration is denied, that 
party then has twenty (20) days from the date of the denial of the Motion for Reconsideration to file a Notice of 
Appeal with the Claims Commission. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(1)(B)(ii). A decision of the Claims 
Commission may only be appealed to the General Assembly. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a)(3). 
 

(2) If a Claimant is awarded less than $15,000.00 by the Claims Commission at hearing, that claim is held forty (40) 
days from the date of disposition before payment will be processed. See Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-211(a). Note: This 
does not apply to agency admissions of liability and negotiated settlement agreements. 
 

(3) Awards or negotiated settlement agreements of $15,000.00 or more are referred to the General Assembly for approval 
and authorization to pay. Ark. Code Ann. § 19-10-215(b). 








