Arkansas HOPE and SWIFT Courts

Judge Gary Arnold Saline County Circuit Judge

H.O.P.E. Court

- Honest Opportunity Probation with Enforcement
- Swift and Certain accountability with graduated sanctions
- Started in 2004 by Judge Steven Alm in Honolulu, Hawaii
- Arkansas H.O.P.E. pilot in Saline County under Judge Gary Arnold
- Arkansas is one of four national pilot programs other locations are:
 - Essex County, Massachusetts
 - Tarrant County, Texas
 - Clackamas County, Oregon

SWIFT Court

- The Public Safety Improvement Act of 2011 permitted the creation of 5 state HOPE Courts which are titled SWIFT Court
- Five SWIFT Courts in Arkansas
 - Seventh Judicial Circuit, Judge Chris Williams
 - Eighth North Judicial Circuit, Judge Randall Wright
 - > Tenth Judicial Circuit, Judge Don Glover
 - Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Judge Hamilton Singleton
 - Sixteenth Judicial Circuit, Judge John Dan Kemp

Who goes into HOPE?

- High-risk probationers
- Probationers who are not complying with their current probation
- Probationers who rank as high risk using the ORAS assessment tool

Why do we have HOPE?

- Reduce recidivism rates
- Reduction of incarceration
- More quick sanctioning for probationers who violate their probation
- Certain sanctions and accountability for probationers who are noncompliant with probation

Warning Hearings

- An initial warning hearing is given to the probationers by the Judge in less than one week from entry into the program.
- Judge outlines rules and examples for expected behavior in probation
- http://youtu.be/LvwqK2gn3S0

Probation Violations

- A violation of probation will lead to an immediate arrest in the HOPE office. If the offender has a violation outside of the office there is an immediate issuance of a warrant
- Once a probationer is jailed for violation they will have a sanction hearing in no more than 3-5 days from the date of their apprehension
- Example:
 - Probationer tests positive for benzodiazepines in office
 - > HOPE Officers apprehend probationer in office
 - Officers fill out and file appropriate paperwork
 - Officers contact Project Coordinator for sanction hearing date
 - Officers escort probationer to county jail
 - County jail will transport probationer for hearing

Sanction Hearing

- Probationers are provided a Public Defender
- Probationers may either admit to the violation or request a hearing
- Admittance or finding of violation by the Court will lead to a sanction
- Sanctions are progressive. First violations are usually 2-3 days in jail and progress depending upon the type of violation and how many previous violations they have received