
 

 

  

 

 
 

 

 

 

7/15/2022  

 

Senator Kim Hammer, Co-Chair 

Arkansas Legislative Council  

Administrative Rules Subcommittee 

Via Email 

 

Representative Les Eaves, Co-Chair 

Arkansas Legislative Council  

Administrative Rules Subcommittee 

Via Email 

 

Dear Co-Chairs, 

 

Please consider this as the Department of Corrections (DOC) quarterly report on new and revised directives issued in the 

second quarter of Calendar Year 2022. There were no new or revised adminstrative memorandas issued during the second 

quarter. Submitted along with this letter are copies of the following directives:  

 
 

Arkansas Department of Corrections  

                    Secretarial Directive Summary Beginning 

Page # 

SD 2022-03 Personnel Drug Testing (effective: 4/13/2022) 

This Secretarial Directive was created to replace existing division-specific drug testing procedures and 

establish a uniform process for Department personnel drug testing that is compliant with state and 

federal law.  The policy outlines testing procedures for drugs and alcohol, sample selection, reporting 

requirements, and training requirements for testing employees. It includes four attachments that serve 

as a receipt of policy acknowledgement, a testing advisory that summarizes the policy, a notification of 

a positive test, and a request form to be completed during a drug or alcohol test. 

Clean:1 

 

SD 2022-04 Employment (effective: 6/20/2022)  

This Secretarial Directive was revised to include OPM Policy #5 Employee Disclosure and #8 

Advertising a Job and Filling a Position as references. A provision was added pursuant to A.C.A. § 

12-26-105 stating that selection or removal of members of the Criminal Detention Facility Review 

Committee is not governed under this policy. Other changes included outlining procedures utilized in 

the Department’s hiring process such as candidate scoring, interviews, qualifications, and education, 

as well as procedures utilized during the duration of employment with the Department such as 

promotion, demotion, transfer. Additionally, revisions included redefining the numerous probationary 

periods and the creation the CLEST Certified Position Probationary Period Acknowledgement. 

Markup: 19 

Clean:  32 



 
SD 2022-05 Procurement, Purchasing, Disposition, and Contracting Guidelines  

(effective:  6/27/2022) 

This Secretarial Directive was revised to reflect changes to procurement procedures, threshold 

requirements necessitating approval by the Secretary and Board of Corrections, and to reflect state law 

regarding facility improvement codified as A.C.A § 12-27-111. Specifically, revisions were made to 

procedures for capital equipment procurement such as requiring Secretary approval for capital 

equipment procurements exceeding $10,000, notification to the Board via the Secretary or their 

designee for capital equipment procurements between $10,000 and $20,000, increasing the threshold 

for Board approval of capital equipment procurement to any value that exceeds $20,000, and requiring 

additional Board approval if there is a price variance in a capital equipment purchase in excess of 10% 

of the original approved price. Procurements for the Inmate Welfare Fund and Resident Services Cash 

Fund for facility maintenance do not require Board approval unless they exceed $20,000.  

Markup: 45 

Clean: 50 

SD 2022-06 Secondary Employment (effective: 6/28/2022) 

This Secretarial Directive was revised to reflect procedures outlined in OPM Policy #37-Concurrent 

Employment in addition to establishing new procedures for employees holding a secondary 

employment position while working their primary position with the Department. Statutory references 

were included to specify Parole Board members must seek secondary employment approval from the 

Chairman. Procedurally, the process for approval of secondary employment (both concurrent and 

outside employment) was outlined, the process for appealing a denial was outlined, and a provision was 

added to allow employees to work at their secondary employment position when on leave status with 

the Department. Additionally, the revised policy created requirements for supervisors to document their 

reasons for denying secondary employment requests and created a new notice form for supervisors to 

maintain knowledge of their employee’s secondary employment positions. 

 

Markup: 55 

Clean: 61 

 

 

 

SD 2022-07 Armory Inventory and Procedures (effective: 6/30/2022) 

Pursuant to A.C.A. § 12-28-108, this Secretarial Directive was created to establish procedures for the 

identification and auditing of all Department armories and their inventory. It requires each division 

director to conduct an audit annually of all their divisions armories and submit a copy of the audit to 

the Secretary and Board of Corrections’ Compliance Division. As is set out in statute, the policy notes 

that armory audits are exempt from disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act of 1967, A.C.A.  
§ 25-19-101 et. seq.  

Clean: 67 

 

 

                                                             Division of Correction 

                   Administrative Directive Summary Beginning 

Page # 

AD 2013-101 Office of Driver Services Testing (effective: 4/13/2022)     

Repealed by SD 2022-03 Personnel Drug Testing 

Markup: 69 

               

AD 2019-13 Employee and Applicant Drug Testing (effective: 4/13/2022) 

Repealed by SD 2022-03 Personnel Drug Testing 

Markup: 71 

 

AD 2022-09 Youthful Inmates (effective: 4/15/2022) 

This policy was updated to add that a juvenile who has received an adult sentence to the ADC shall not 

be transported to the ADC until the juvenile is sixteen years of age. 

Markup: 92 

Clean: 95 

AD 2022-10 Food Entering ADC Facilities as Gifts or for Inmate Special Events (effective: 

5/27/2022)  

The title of the policy was updated to reflect “gifts” entering ADC Facilities in addition to the special 

events already covered. The definition of a special event was added. Language relating to procedures 

for approval of food entering ADC facilities was updated (a written request must be submitted to and 

approved by the Warden at least five days prior to the date in which the food may be allowed into a 

Unit). The Arkansas Department of Health Food Service Establishment Regulations was listed as 

guidelines that must be followed for number of seasonal food packages. The Division name and logo 

was updated to reflect the transformed Department. 

Markup: 98 

Clean: 100 



 
AD 2022-11 Religious Activities (effective: 5/27/2022)  

This policy was updated to require Religious Services staff to maintain a printed copy of the Religious 

Services Manual in their office that is available to other unit staff upon request. The ADC website was 

listed as a location that the Administrator of Religious Services must keep a current Religious Services 

Manual.  With the availability of the Manual online, language was removed that required a copy of the 

manual to be kept in previously specified ADC staff offices and the Board of Corrections office. The 

Division name and logo was updated to reflect the transformed Department. 

Markup: 102 

Clean: 103 

AD 2022-12 Inmate Disciplinary Manual (effective: 8/1/2022, issued to staff and inmates on 

6/30/2022) 

This Administrative Directive was updated with several changes such as additions of new definitions, 

new language stating that this manual must be posted thirty days throughout ADC institutions in 

prominent locations prior to adoption of changes. All comments shall be considered prior to adoption 

and be kept as an electronic record. Changes were made to rule violations (added wording, removed 

wording, violation removed wholly, penalty class changes, etc.). A list of rule violations was added that 

specifies sanctions that may be imposed for each offense that occurs, such as “may be placed on Non-

Contact Visitation” and “restricted from Video Visitation for one year.” Changes approved by the Board 

of Corrections were added which state that inmates assigned to Restrictive Housing will remain Class 

IV and receive no good time for the duration of their stay in Restrictive Housing.    

Markup: 104 

Clean: 134 

AD 2022-13 Offender Separation (effective: 6/30/2022) 

The name of the policy was changed from Enemy Alert System to Offender Separation. This policy was 

updated to create additional procedural requirements for staff members upon awareness of an enemy 

situation between two or more inmates. Staff members are required to complete a 005 Incident Report 

Form, an Offender Separation Notification Form, and include these forms in the Incident Packet. A 

provision was included to allow further documentation to be submitted upon the Warden/Work Release 

Center Supervisor’s request regarding the Chief of Security’s decision about an Offender Separation. 

The provision also allows cases of offender separation to be referred to Internal Affairs if necessary. 

Offender separation lists are now required to be reviewed anytime an inmate’s classification is changed.     

Markup: 165  

Clean: 168 

 

 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

Lindsay Wallace 

Chief of Staff  

Department of Corrections 

 

Cc: Benny Magness, Chairman, Board of Corrections 

 Solomon Graves, Secretary, Department of Corrections 

 Dexter Payne, Director, Division of Correction 

 Jerry Bradshaw, Director, Division of Community Correction 

Christine Cryer, Chief Legal Counsel, Department of Corrections 

 File 

  

Enclosure 

 

Division of Community Correction 

Administrative Directive Summary 

The Arkansas Division of Community Correction did not issue any administrative directives between April 1, 2022, 

and June 30, 2022. 

AD 2019-12 Drug Free Workplace (effective: 4/15/2022)                                                             Markup: 171 

Repealed by SD 2022-03 Personnel Drug Testing 



SECRETARIAL DIRECTIVE

SUBJECT: Personnel Drug Testing 

NUMBER: 2022-03 SUPERSEDES: ADC AD 19-03 
ADC AD 13-101 
ACC AD 19-12  

APPLICABILITY: All Personnel of the Department of Corrections as defined herein. 

REFERENCE: A.C.A. §§ 5-64-101, 5-65-204, 11-14-106, 25-403-105, 25-43-108, 25-43-403, 
AR 202 Drug-Free Workplace, Arkansas Constitution Amendment 98, 49 C.F.R. § 40.3. 

PAGE: 1 of 14 

APPROVED:   Original Signature on File EFFECTIVE DATE:  _April 13, 2022 

I. POLICY

As the executive head of the Arkansas Department of Corrections (Department), it is the responsibility
of the Secretary of Corrections (Secretary) to administer the various rules, orders, or directives issued
by the Department. The purpose of this directive is to ensure the Department is compliant with the
federal Drug-Free Workplace Act of 1988 (41 U.S.C 81) and is committed to adhering to laws
regarding the possession and use of Prohibited Substances/ Drugs, providing a safe work
environment, fostering the well-being and health of its employees, and ensuring that no employees are
impaired by intoxicating substances while performing their duties.

The Department prohibits the manufacture, purchase, distribution, dispensing, possession, or use of
Prohibited Substances/Drugs by Personnel.  This prohibition covers the inhalation, injection, ingestion
and the presence of a specific Prohibited Substance/Drug or its metabolites in the body or bodily
fluids. Department Personnel shall not report to work while their ability to perform job duties is
impaired due to the use of alcohol or other drugs.

All Department Personnel, including support staff, are responsible for the good order and safety the
various Department owned and operated Entities and must be fully alert, capable of good judgment,
and physically able to respond as required. No Personnel, whether on or off duty, shall have any
involvement with Prohibited Substances/Drugs.
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II. DEFINITIONS 

A. Alcohol Test. Any standardized field or breathalyzer test accepted by the Department and as
specified in A.C.A. §§ 5-65-204, et. seq.

B. Applicant. An individual who is seeking employment with the Department.

C. Chain of Custody. Procedures to account for the integrity of each specimen by tracking its
handling and storage from the point of specimen collection to the final disposition of the
specimen, using a Department approved Chain of Custody form.

D. Central Drug Testing Coordinator (CDTC). An employee responsible for coordination and
administration of Drug Testing and Alcohol Testing for the Department, to include training of
Local Drug Testing Coordinators (LDTC), procurement and inventory of supplies, uniformity and
retention of documentation, and testimony in administrative and legal proceedings.

E. Confirmation Test. A retest of the sample using current scientifically accepted confirmation
technology. Confirmation Tests will be conducted when the results of the first test are
inconclusive, when adulteration is suspected, to test for drugs not covered in the screening test if
the CDTC suspects Personnel may be under the influence of other controlled substances, and/or
for the verification of a Positive Test Result from an On-Site Test.

F. Controlled Substance. Also referred to as prohibited drugs or substances, defined as any drug,
substance, or immediate precursor in Schedules I through VI as defined in A.C.A. § 5-64-101. See
Definition T. “Prohibited Substances/Drugs.”

G. Critical Incident. For the purpose of this directive, an incident involving on-duty staff and causing,
or having the potential to cause, substantial property damage, physical injury, or death.

H. Critical Need Position. Personnel in a position or job classification that is required to be staffed by
the Department twenty-four (24) hours a day and seven (7) days a week.

I. Decision-Making Supervisor. An individual over the daily operations and decision-making
processes of any Department owned or operated Entity including the Secretary, Chief of Staff,
Division Directors, Deputy Directors, Superintendents, Wardens, Center Supervisors, Area
Managers, Assistant Area Managers, or Administrators, or their designee.

J. Direct Observation. Visualization by testing staff of the urine stream leaving the body and entering
the test cup. 

K. Documented Drug or Alcohol Abuse History. Any reported history of drug abuse or alcohol abuse
for which the individual must maintain recovery as a condition of employment.

L. Drug Test. Any number of standardized and generally accepted tests for the presence of mind-
altering drugs or substances meeting or exceeding the United States Department of Transportation
(USDOT) Standards; administered for the purpose of determining the presence or absence of a
prohibited drug or the metabolites of a prohibited drug in a person’s bodily fluids. These tests may
test for, but are not limited to, the following drugs: amphetamine, methamphetamine, opiates,
oxycodone, benzodiazepines, barbiturates, cocaine, and marijuana. Tests may be varied in response
to available intelligence and testing procedures. Criteria for a Positive Test Result are pre-
established by the manufacturer or laboratory, balancing the risk of false negatives and false
positives.

M. Entity. Any office, unit, center, or facility operated by the Department to include programs, farm
and industry facilities, construction sites, administrative offices, area offices, jails, work release
centers, pre-release centers, and private prisons operated on behalf of the Department

N. Indirect Observation. Presence in the immediate area when a urine sample is being provided,
balancing the need for privacy with prudent measures for prevention of adulteration or
substitution of samples.
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O. Local Drug Testing Coordinator (LDTC). An individual at each entity who has been designated by 
the warden, manager, center supervisor, or administrator.  This individual will be trained by the 
CDTC to coordinate specimen collection, On-Site and off-site testing, train staff in collection and 
testing and be responsible for local documentation of Drug Testing and Alcohol Testing. LDTC’s 
are identified in the files of the CDTC, and all training is documented in that file. 

P.    Medical Review Officer (MRO). A licensed physician who is responsible for evaluating, 
interpreting, and providing results of Drug Tests and Alcohol Tests. 

Q. On-Site Test. A Drug or Alcohol Test administered by the LDTC or CDTC or their designee at 
any Department Entity. On-Site Tests may be sent out for Confirmation Testing if they are 
inconclusive, for verification, or for other purposes as outlined in this policy. 

R. Personnel. For the purpose of this directive, Personnel are defined as individuals applying for 
employment with the Department (new applicants), individuals hired into employment either full 
or part-time within the Department, or any agent of the Department including supervisory and 
support staff, interns, volunteers, and contracted employees, excluding any appointees of the 
Governor. 

S.    Policy Testing. Drug Testing for current employees as required by Department policy at regular 
intervals determined by the CDTC. 

T. Positive Test Result. A Positive Test Result on a Drug Test or Alcohol Test is defined as the 
presence of a prohibited substances in a sample provided by the Personnel being tested. Positive 
Test Results may be produced through an On-Site test and/or Confirmation Test. 

U. Prohibited Substances/Drug. Alcohol, illicit drug, and/or controlled substance use without a valid 
prescription, misused prescription or over the counter (OTC) drugs, synthetic cannabinoids such 
as K2 or spice, or any kind of cannabidiol (CBD) product including but not limited to oils, edibles, 
creams, lotions, and vaporizers. The use of marijuana in any form, including legal use with a 
medicinal marijuana card, is included as a prohibited substance for all Personnel.  

V. Proper Use of Prescription Medications. For purposes of this policy, “prescription” or “prescribed 
drugs” means a written order for a pharmaceutical drug for use by a particular person given by a 
practitioner in the course of professional practice, including controlled substances, prescribed in 
accordance with the regulations promulgated by the director of the United States Drug 
Enforcement Administration (DEA) pursuant to the federal drug abuse control laws. A medicinal 
marijuana card, regardless of any reason Personnel may possess one, is not covered under this 
policy and is considered a prohibited substance for all Personnel. See Definition U. “Prohibited 
Substances/Drug.”  

W. Random Testing. Unannounced testing of Personnel determined by the CDTC or a Decision-
Making Supervisor which may range from the testing of an individual employee or a representative 
sample of the staff within an Entity in which each of those to be sampled has an equal chance of 
being selected. 

X. Reasonable Suspicion. This may include, but is not limited to, a pattern of one or more of the 
following: observed decrease in the level of work performance, misconduct, excessive absenteeism 
and tardiness, complaints from supervisors or colleagues about poor work performance, excessive 
use of sick leave, negligent accidents, poor traffic safety record, reports of drug involvement from 
reliable sources, or other documented acts of omission or commission often associated with drug 
or alcohol abuse. 
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Y. Safety-Sensitive Position. Involves job duties where impairment may present a clear and present
risk to co-workers or other persons and include any position where a momentary lapse in attention
could result in injury or death to another person.  It also refers to jobs that would be particularly
dangerous if performed under the influence of drugs or alcohol.  Safety-sensitive position duties
include, but are not limited to the following activities: carrying a firearm, performing life-
threatening procedures, working with confidential information, working on criminal investigations,
driving a vehicle, operating heavy equipment as part of normal duties, using justified physical force
against persons to maintain order or security in accordance with Use of Force policies, and
working with known or potentially hazardous or flammable materials, controlled substances, food,
or medicine.

Z. Suspicion Testing. Testing based on a previous positive test, adulterated test, or a reasonable
suspicion that has been documented on official forms, such as 005 Incident Report or a
memorandum to or from the Decision-Making Supervisor.

AA. Testing Employee. Any employee authorized by the Decision-Making Supervisor who is trained by 
the CDTC and/or LDTC, and registered with the CDTC to conduct On-Site Testing and 
laboratory-based testing. 

BB. Under the Influence. For purposes of this policy, under the influence refers to any amount of 
Prohibited Substance/Drug above threshold for a positive drug test, any prescription or OTC 
medication demonstrably impairing alertness, judgment or behavior to the degree that proper and 
efficient job performance is jeopardized, and/or a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.02% or 
higher. 

III. GUIDELINES 

A. General

1. All Department Personnel are designated as Safety-Sensitive Positions.

2. This Secretarial Directive is the guiding document for Personnel Drug Testing. It may be
supplemented by Drug Test instructions from the manufacturer and annual training. Any error
in the administration of a Drug Test or failure to obtain a Confirmation Test in a timely
manner will be reported to the CDTC immediately. The CDTC will consult with the
appropriate authorities to determine whether an error is sufficient to invalidate the test.

3. Each Department Entity, including the Secretary’s office, shall designate a LDTC to
coordinate and administer Drug Tests or Alcohol Tests.

4. All Personnel are subject to Drug Testing. Drug Tests may include urine, sweat, saliva, or hair
samples. Drug tests may be conducted On-Site and sent for a Confirmation Test. Any positive
Drug Test for Prohibited Substances or refusal to submit to a Drug Test or Alcohol Test will
result in an assumption of a Positive Test Result and any offer of employment being
withdrawn. Any Positive Test Results will be documented by Human Resources. The Entity’s
Human Resources manager may check with Central Human Resources for the previous test
results of any Applicant or Personnel. Previous Positive Test Results may preclude the
processing of an individual’s employment application.

5. Personnel must notify their immediate supervisor, and the LDTC or CDTC of any prescribed
medications they take that may produce a Positive Test Result on a Drug Test prior to the
administration of a Drug Test or Alcohol Test. This notification must be documented on the
Personnel’s Drug Testing Request Form (Attachment 3).  Personnel will be required to
produce a current medication list for the last six (6) months from their pharmacist to confirm
and verify proper prescription usage.
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6. A Positive Test Result that is not due to confirmed prescription drug usage will result in the
termination of employment as stated in the Secretarial Directive on Employee Conduct
Standards and Discipline. A Positive Test Result for any non-prescription prohibited substance
use will also result in any offer of employment to an Applicant being withdrawn.

7. Medical marijuana usage, as defined in Amendment 93 of the Arkansas Constitution, prohibits
Personnel in a Safety-Sensitive Position from the use of medical marijuana even if they are
qualifying patient under the amendment and/or hold a registry identification card. Department
Personnel are prohibited from the use or possession of a medicinal marijuana card pursuant to
this policy and state law.

8. All Personnel must be advised of the existence of this Secretarial Directive.

a. All Personnel must be directed to sign the “Personnel Drug Testing Advisory Receipt”
form (Attachment 1) indicating that they have been made aware of the provisions of this
Secretarial Directive and that they agree to support a drug-free workplace.

b. Personnel’s consent, indicated by signing this form (Attachment 1), permits a release of
personal information relating to a Drug Test or Alcohol Test.

c. All Personnel may review this Secretarial Directive on the Departments intranet (DOC
Connect) and on the Department’s public website.

9. Random Testing of Department Personnel may be conducted as authorized by a Decision-
Making Supervisor.

10. Any supervisor suspecting that their Personnel is impaired by Prohibited Substance(s) must
contact their Decision-Making Supervisor or designee to schedule a Drug Test or Alcohol
Test.

11. Supervisors shall document any referral for Drug Testing or Alcohol Testing. The rights and
privacy of Personnel will be safeguarded to the maximum extent possible. Revealing the results
of Drug Tests or Alcohol Tests to those not directly involved in testing procedures will be
considered cause for disciplinary action according to the provisions of the policies governing
employee conduct.

12. Any employee may refuse a Drug Test or Alcohol Test. If this occurs, they are to immediately
be relieved of duty and placed on unpaid administrative leave pending disciplinary action.
Notification of the refusal of testing will be made to the employee’s Human Resources
manager and Division Director. For purposes of employee discipline, refusal of testing will be
considered the equivalent to a Positive Test Result and that individual will be subject to
disciplinary actions pursuant to the Secretarial Directive on Employee Conduct Standards and
Discipline.

13. Any Applicant, volunteer, or intern may refuse a Drug Test or Alcohol Test. If this occurs, any
offer of employment is to be withdrawn and the processing of an application will be stopped.
If a volunteer refuses a Drug Test or Alcohol Test,  the volunteer agreement will be voided. If
an intern refuses Drug Testing or Alcohol Testing, their internship will be terminated. The
Applicant, volunteer, or intern will not be eligible to reapply for one year and the refusal of a
test may be considered in future applications.

14. Any Personnel may come forward and admit an alcohol or other drug problem to their
supervisor and request referral to the Employee Assistance Program (EAP). This must be
done at least 24 hours prior to any random or suspicion drug testing.

a. This action will not prevent Drug Testing from occurring, nor will admitting an alcohol
or other drug problem mitigate the seriousness of a rule violation. However, admission
may be taken into consideration when considering the appropriate level of disciplinary
action.
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b. Any employee freely admitting a problem will be Drug Tested or Alcohol Tested
immediately.

c. As a condition to enrollment in the EAP, if any employee with documented substance
abuse is currently registered with HR or the CDTC as a drug or alcohol-free individual,
they may continue to work for the Department so long as they can continuously provide
a negative test result for Drug Tests or Alcohol Tests. Employees with documented
substance abuse will be tested regularly at their own expense as part of the EAP.

d. If a Drug Test returns a Positive Test Result, the employee will be immediately relieved
of duty.

e. At the discretion of the Entity’s Decision-Making Supervisor, employees may be allowed
to take accrued vacation, holidays, or compensatory time until they are cleared by the
EAP to return to work.

f. Employees enrolled in a treatment program that is certified by the Arkansas Department
of Human Services may request sick leave to complete their treatment program.

g. If any of these options are not available or contradicted by other Department policy or
rule violations, Personnel may be allowed the choice of being placed on leave without
pay or resigning. If resignation is chosen, the termination report must reflect drug or
alcohol abuse as the reason.

15. Services directly provided by the EAP, other than Drug Testing, are free. However, referrals to
other programs may be made, and the individual will be responsible for payment required by
outside programs.

16. Any Personnel found to be in violation of this policy will be subject to discipline according to
procedures outlined in the Secretarial Directive on Employee Conduct Standards and
Discipline.

17. Personnel terminated or resigning for being Under the Influence while on duty or for use of
Prohibited Substances/Drugs may not apply for rehire until at least one (1) year after their
termination. Rehire is not a right nor is it guaranteed regardless of any drug/alcohol treatment
received in the interim. The recommendations of the EAP or other drug/alcohol treatment
provider certified through the Arkansas Department of Health must be provided and may be
considered in a rehire application.

18. Any Personnel who have been disciplined and/or referred to the EAP for substance abuse
problems may be subject to Policy Testing as a condition of continued employment.

19. All persons, vehicles, and belongings of any Personnel on state property are subject to search,
ion scanning, and examination by drug sniffing dogs. Any individual found to be in possession
of Prohibited Substances/Drugs will be detained and turned over to the proper authorities and
may face disciplinary action up to termination.

B. Conditions of Testing

1. Pre-employment testing

a. All Applicants will be advised of the requirements for Drug Testing by the Human 
Resources manager or other appropriate official.

b. All new hires must be tested as a part of pre-employment screening and will not be 
allowed to begin work until after being Drug Tested. The test must be negative and 
neither adulterated nor tampered with. A new hire may begin their duties with a Positive 
Test Result only if the Positive Test Result is determined to be due to current prescribed 
medications after confirmation testing and review by the MRO.
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c. All applicants holding a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) will have a report from the
Office of Driver Services retrieved. This report will be maintained as a part of the
Personnel’s employee record.

d. Refusal to test submit to a Drug Test and/or a Positive Test Result will result in the offer
of employment being withdrawn.

2. Random Testing

a. Any Decision-Making Supervisor may order the unannounced drug testing of a sample of, 
or the entire population of any section of Department Personnel under their supervision. 
Sampling will be conducted randomly so that every member of the employee group has an 
equal chance of being tested.

b. A minimum of 5% of Personnel in each Entity will be tested quarterly. Sentencing 
Commission and Jail Standards will be included with Personnel at Department 
Headquarters; Compliance, Industry, Warehouse, Internal Affairs, and K9 will be included 
with Personnel at Central Office; and Internal Auditors, Think Legacy, Classification, 
SOCNA, and Inmate Banking will be included with Personnel at Administration Annex 
East for quarterly testing purposes.

c. Personnel on initial hire probation, or those for whom such tests have been made a 
condition of continued employment, may be tested as often as requested by their 
applicable LDTC, CDTC, or Decision-Making Supervisor.

3. Critical Incident Testing

a. Personnel involved in a Critical Incident will be referred for Drug Testing and Alcohol 
Testing.

b. Testing shall be performed as soon as possible by trained agency staff or hospital staff.

4. Policy Testing

a. Any Personnel that is designated as a Testing Employee is to be tested at least quarterly. 
Any Testing Employee may be selected for their facility or office’s Random Testing Cycle 
in addition to the mandatory quarterly testing specifically for Testing Employees, which 
may result in being tested two (2) times during that cycle.

b. All Personnel enrolled in the EAP for drug or substance abuse problems, a substance 
abuse treatment program, or a program of recovery are to be tested at least quarterly.

c. Any Personnel whose duties require them to hold a CDL must be tested by a Arkansas 
Department of Transportation (ARDOT) testing contractor for CDL Drug Testing. This 
ARDOT testing is required in addition to drug testing procedures described in this policy.

d. Personnel in a Critical Need Position may be tested at the frequency designated by their 
Division Director or the Secretary.

e. Personnel on initial hire probation, or those for whom such tests have been made a 
condition of continued employment, may be tested as often as requested by their 
applicable LDTC, CDTC, or Decision-Making Supervisor.

f. Employees returning from any absence from duty of six (6) months duration or more will 
be required to submit to a Drug Test and/or Alcohol Test.

g. All new, rehired, and reassigned Personnel who will be issued a firearm must be tested for 
both drugs and alcohol prior to being issued a firearm. These individuals will be tested at 
least twice each calendar year. The tests must be at least six (6) months apart and may 
include a Random Test.
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h. All employees are subject to Suspicion Testing provided there is Reasonable Suspicion or 

reliable information that would lead a reasonable person to believe that the employee had 
been using and Under the Influence of drugs or alcohol. Additionally, any previous 
Positive Test Result is considered grounds for Suspicion Testing. A written report 
documenting any observed behavior or information must be provided with all Suspicion 
Testing. 

i. It is the responsibility of an entity’s Decision-Making Supervisor to ensure that the 
LDTC under their supervision is Drug Tested and Alcohol Tested at unannounced 
intervals, at least quarterly. Such testing should be documented in the monthly report.  
For administrative offices, the appropriate Division Director or Secretary are responsible 
for ensuring Random Testing of the LDTC is performed in their areas of supervision. 

IV. TESTING PROCEDURES 

A. Preparation for Testing 

1. The LDTC or the Testing Employee must check the number and expiration dates of any on-
site Drug Test(s) to be used. If the plastic envelope in which the Drug Test is packaged has 
been compromised, the Drug Test should not be used. If this appears to be a manufacturing 
defect, the Drug Test should be returned to the CDTC. 

2. Prior to conducting an Alcohol Test, the breath alcohol analyzer machine must be checked 
according to the manufacturer’s instructions and the date of the next calibration check 
documented. 

3. The LDTC or Testing Employee must obtain Chain of Custody documentation  prior to 
testing. If a sample is to be sent out for laboratory confirmation, a sealable plastic bag must be 
obtained in addition to the Chain of Custody documentation. 

4. The LDTC or Testing Employee must carefully check the identification badge of the 
individual being tested to ensure their information correctly matches the data on their forms. 

5. Upon reaching the testing site, Personnel reporting for testing must empty their pockets. 
Personal property must be examined by the testing employee in a direct and clear view of 
Personnel being tested. Then, the Testing Employee may conduct a pat search. After a pat 
search and examination of their belongings, personal property can be retrieved by the 
employee being tested. If any illegal items, prescribed or OTC medications, nose or eye-drops, 
and any other chemical substance subject to being used to adulterate a specimen are found, 
they must be secured in a clear plastic sealable bag and held by the Testing Employee until the 
specimen has been collected and sealed. 

6. Personnel being tested must remove anything from inside their mouth and keep their hands 
away from their mouth, out of their pockets, and visible to the Testing Employee. 

B. Specimen Collection and Testing: Alcohol 

1. The Testing Employee must observe the Personnel being tested for twenty (20) minutes 
before administering any breath or saliva test. The Personnel being tested cannot have 
anything to eat or drink during this observation period including, but not limited to, chewing 
gum, mints, candy, etc. There must be a witness, selected by the LDTC, that is present at all 
times during Alcohol Testing. 

2. The Testing Employee must remove the mouthpiece from its protective covering and insert it 
into the breath alcohol analyzer in the presence of the individual being tested and witness. The 
Personnel being tested will be instructed to blow into the mouthpiece until the equipment 
indicates that an adequate sample has been obtained. 
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3. The reading from the breath alcohol analyzer must be shown to the tested Personnel who
must read aloud the result displayed. The breath alcohol analyzer must then be shown to the
witness who also must read the number aloud. The reading from the machine must be
documented on the “Drug Testing Request Form” (Attachment 4). The “Drug Testing
Request Form” must be signed by Personnel being tested, the witness, and the Testing
Employee.

4. If there is a Positive Test Result, the “Notification of a Positive Test” (Attachment 3)
document must be given to the tested Personnel in the presence of a witness. Additionally, the
document must be signed by the witness and Testing Employee in the presence of the tested
Personnel.

a. If Personnel accept the test result, they must sign the document acknowledging they
accept the Positive Test Result.

b. If Personnel do not accept the test result, they may request confirmation of their results,
and will be asked to provide a urine sample. The specimen must be sealed with evidence
tape and sent to the laboratory for confirmation testing. If a urine sample is to be
collected, it must be conducted by a Testing Employee designated by the LDTC based
on the demographic information of the Personnel being tested.

5. No person suspected of or found to be Under the Influence of alcohol should be allowed to
operate a motor vehicle. The Decision-Making Supervisor or their designee must arrange for
the individual that is Under the Influence to be driven home. If the person Under the
Influence of alcohol refuses assistance, local law enforcement will be notified with a
description of the car and license plate.

C. Specimen Collection and Testing: Illegal Drugs

1. Any Personnel reporting for Drug Testing must be under continuous observation by the
Testing Employee or their designee until testing procedures are completed to avoid
substitution or adulteration of specimens. The Testing Employee for Direct Observation drug
tests will be determined by the LDTC based on the Personnel demographic information.
Additionally, there must be a witness to the administration of the test designated by the LDTC.

2. The Testing Employee must conduct an initial check of the location where collection of the
specimen is to occur. Cleansers or any other foreign material that could be used to contaminate
the sample must be removed or secured.

3. The Testing Employee shall obtain a collection cup, show the Personnel being tested the test
expiration date, and that the plastic envelope is intact. The envelope must not be opened until
it is time to obtain the specimen.

4. Personnel being tested must remove any bulky outer clothing. Their hands and fingernails
must be inspected. If a foreign substance is noted under their fingernails during the inspection,
the employee must then be asked to thoroughly wash their hands in clear water only and scrub
underneath their fingernails. Hands should be dried thoroughly with a clean paper towel that
must be discarded immediately.

5. The Testing Employee must enter the restroom with the Personnel being tested. If the
restroom is too small to accommodate two (2) people, the testing employee may stand outside
with the door slightly propped open to provide a view of the washbasin. Direct Observation is
not required unless there is Reasonable Suspicion that the Personnel being tested may attempt
to contaminate the sample. Any male Personnel that is being tested should be asked to stand
away from toilets or urinals containing liquid.
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6. The envelope containing the On-Site Drug Test must be opened by the Testing Employee in 
the presence of the Personnel being tested. Prior to handing the specimen cup to the 
Personnel being tested, the Testing Employee shall provide instructions to fill the cup to a 
depth of a minimum of two (2) fingers width to half-full. 

7. Should the Personnel being tested be unable to produce a specimen, they will be asked to 
remain seated in an office or other place where they can be observed by the Testing Employee 
or witness. If the package containing the specimen cup has already been opened, it must 
remain in personnel’s sight but out of their reach until they are ready to provide a specimen. 
They may be given either two (2) glasses of water, a soft drink, or a cup of coffee. They will be 
given two (2) hours to sit and wait. If the Personnel being tested does not produce a specimen 
within two (2) hours, they may be considered to have refused the test. Personnel may be 
offered hair analysis test in place of urinalysis at the discretion of the appropriate Division 
Director or Deputy Director An extension of time to complete the test may be allowed at the 
discretion of the Testing Employee if the Personnel being tested can give a plausible 
explanation for their inability to provide a sample. If they cite a medical reason for difficulty in 
producing a urine sample, a hair sample may be taken instead. 

8. When the sample has been collected, the Personnel being tested must hand the cup to the 
Testing Employee who will secure the lid. The Testing Employee then will return the 
collection cup to the Personnel being tested who, under the supervision of the Testing 
Employee, must carry the cup to the location where an On-Site Test is to be read or where the 
laboratory test is to be secured for shipping. 

9. Any specimen producing a Positive Test Result will be sent to the lab for confirmation. Upon 
receiving a Positive Test Result, the Testing Employee must show the Personnel being tested a 
computer-generated label with their name, AASIS number, and the last four (4) digits of their 
social security number. The Testing Employee must then place the label on the collection cup. 
The temperature strip will then be read. The On-Site Drug Test must be conducted according 
to the instructions of the manufacturer and this policy. The collection cup and the Drug Test 
are to be left in the sight but out of reach of the Personnel being tested until all test procedures 
have been concluded or the sample is packaged for sending to the laboratory. The cup must be 
sealed with the computer-generated label and placed and sealed in the plastic shipping bag in 
the presence of the Personnel being tested. 

10. If the On-Site Drug Test fails to produce a result, it should be reactivated and checked to 
make sure that the manufacturer’s instructions have been followed. If the Drug Test still does 
not produce a result, the sample cup must be sealed with evidence tape and forwarded to the 
laboratory for independent analysis. 

11. If any On-Site Test yields a Positive Test Result, the witness will be asked to read the test in 
the presence of the Personnel being tested. In the presence of the witness, the Personnel being 
tested must be asked to list any medications recently taken that might account for the Positive 
Test Result.  

12. If a sample requires laboratory confirmation, the Testing Employee must record the tracking 
number from the shipping label on the positive Drug Testing Request Form (Attachment 4) 
for the applicable Personnel. 

13. If the Personnel being tested is an employee, they will be called in by the LDTC or Decision-
Making Supervisor or their designee when the laboratory results are received. A “Notification 
of a Positive Test” form (Attachment 3) must be completed once the results are delivered to 
the personnel. The employee will be provided with a copy of the laboratory results. 
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a. While waiting for confirmation results to be returned from the laboratory, the LDTC 
must notify the Personnel’s supervisor that preliminary results are positive. The 
Personnel must be placed on administrative leave pending confirmation. In addition, the 
LDTC or the Personnel’s supervisor must immediately notify the appropriate Human 
Resources Administrator.  

b. Personnel may, at their own expense, choose to get an independent Confirmation Test 
of the results. They must use a  laboratory that is approved by the Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) or the College of American 
Pathologists (CAP) other than the lab that is regularly used by the Department. If 
Personnel chooses this option, they must pay the lab charges plus shipping and handling 
via a money order to their LDTC or human resources manager within 24 hours of 
notification.  

D.  Action Upon a Positive Test 

1. Personal information related to any individual yielding a Positive Test Result on an On-Site 
Test should not be revealed except to those directly involved in the Drug Testing of that 
person, their Decision-Making Supervisor, Human Resources Administrator, CDTC, Division 
Director, the Chief of Staff, Chief Legal Counsel, or the Secretary. Personnel are not to be 
considered guilty of any wrongdoing unless they accept the Positive Test Result, willingly 
admit to the drug use, willingly admit to being Under the Influence of Prohibited Substance(s) 
while on duty, or the test is confirmed. 

2. Certain medications may produce a Positive Test Result. If a Positive Test Result is due to the 
proper use of a prescribed medication, Personnel will have twenty-four (24) hours from the 
notification of their Positive Test Result to provide a current prescription list dating back six 
(6) months from their pharmacist. Personnel who provide their medication list may not be 
penalized, unless the drugs are at a level that impairs work performance, the individual has 
failed to notify their supervisor that they are taking medication that may cause them to work at 
an impaired state, they are taking a prescribed medication that produce a Positive Test Result 
on a Drug Test, and/or they are not taking the medication as prescribed. 

3. For Personnel who hold a CDL, positive results, as defined by the Procedures for 
Transportation Workplace Drug and Alcohol Testing Programs 49 C.F.R. § 40.3, as in effect 
on June 1, 2021 are to be reported by the Personnel’s Human Resources manager to the Office 
of Driver Services within three (3) business days. This includes any refusal to comply, 
adulterated specimen, diluted specimen, or substituted specimen. 

4. Any Personnel who yields a Positive Test Result of an On-Site Test will be escorted to the 
office of their Decision-Making Supervisor. The Testing Employee must notify the CDTC. 

a. The Personnel’s Decision-Making Supervisor must notify the appropriate Deputy or 
Assistant Director  and local Human Resources manager that the On-Site Test produced 
a Positive Test Result.  If the testing is not of Personnel that is assigned to a unit or 
center, the appropriate Decision-Making Supervisor or their designee will notify the 
Personnel’s Human Resources manager.  

b. An employee testing positive shall be placed on administrative leave immediately 
pending disciplinary action if Prohibited Substances/Drugs are involved or if a 
Reasonable Suspicion, as determined by their Decision-Making Supervisor, exists that 
chronic or episodic drug/alcohol use is likely to continue impairing the employee’s 
ability to perform job requirements. 
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c. If an employee wishes to be paid while they are on administrative leave, they may take 

annual leave or other forms of leave as allowed in the Secretarial Directive on Employee 
Work Schedules and Leave. If the Confirmation Test comes back negative, the leave 
taken will be restored to the employee’s account, or the employee will be reimbursed for 
any leave without pay (LWOP). 

d. Personnel may request an independent Confirmation Test of a specimen producing a 
Positive Test Result from a laboratory of their choice that is independent of the one 
used by the Department and is approved by the SAMHSA or CAP. The specimen sent 
for independent confirmation must be the original specimen that was collected by a 
Department appointed Testing Employee. It must be sent to the lab of the Personnel’s 
lab pursuant to procedures outlined in this directive. Personnel requesting independent 
Confirmation Testing must bear the costs associated with such testing and must notify 
the LDTC or their Human Resources manager of the laboratory of their choosing and 
provide payment by the end of the next business day via a money order that is payable 
to the Arkansas Department of Corrections. If notification and payment is not provided 
by the end of the next business day, Personnel forfeit the opportunity to seek 
independent confirmation testing.  

e. Pending laboratory results or termination of employment with the Department, 
Personnel may request or agree to referral to the EAP. Personnel is to be advised that 
accepting referral to the EAP does not minimize the seriousness of the conduct 
violation, nor does it stand in the place of disciplinary action. This action may be used in 
the consideration of eligibility for rehire. 

5. Confirmation of an On-Site Drug Test or results of a laboratory test should be returned to the 
LDTC electronically. A copy of the report should be sent certified mail or physically given to 
the Personnel that was tested. The Personnel’s supervisor must be provided a copy of the 
results and will take action pursuant to the Secretarial Directive on Employee Conduct 
Standards and Discipline. 

E. Post-Incident Testing  

1. It is Personnel’s responsibility to contact their supervisor or Human Resources Administrator for 
instructions on how to be tested within two (2) hours after any of the following incidents (in 
addition to this, CDL licensed employees must follow guidance in the “CDL Drivers” section): 

a. Work-related accident with injury involving a personal or state vehicle. 

b. Damage to state property, including state vehicles, as a result of a vehicular accident or 
incident. 

c. Moving traffic violation in conjunction with an accident involving a state vehicle or 
while on state business in a personal vehicle. 

d. Work-related incident involving another employee that results in injury or death.     

e. The intentional or accidental discharge of a firearm while on duty, other than range 
practice or training, whether or not an injury or death occurs. 

f. The supervisor of involved Personnel may consult with the appropriate Deputy Director 
to determine if Drug Testing or Alcohol Testing is required for work-related incidents 
or accidents that do not involve a vehicle but result in the injury, damage, or loss of state 
property. 
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g. When it is determined by their supervisor that Personnel’s actions or performance could 

have contributed to a serious accident or serious incident.  In these situations, the 
supervisor may consult with the appropriate Deputy Director to determine if testing is 
required.  

2. CDL Drivers 

a. Following an incident involving a commercial motor vehicle, drug and Alcohol Testing must 
be conducted for each CDL driver if injuries or loss of human life were involved or the 
driver received a citation for a moving traffic violation in conjunction with an accident.  

b. A CDL driver is subject to post-incident testing and must consult with their supervisor or 
Human Resources Administrator to receive testing instructions as soon as possible if testing 
is not conducted by law enforcement officials immediately following the accident. The driver 
may be deemed to have refused to submit to Drug Testing or Alcohol Testing if they do not 
consult with their supervisor for testing instructions.  It is the joint responsibility of the 
Personnel and their supervisor to ensure that they are tested within two (2) hours after the 
incident.  

c. Supervisors must provide CDL drivers with necessary post-accident information, 
procedures, and instructions prior to the driver operating a commercial motor vehicle, to 
assist the employee in complying with these requirements.  

V. SAMPLE SELECTION, DOCUMENTATION, AND CHAIN OF CUSTODY 

A. Sample for Random Testing 

1. Random Testing samples should be drawn at unpredictable intervals at each unit and center 
at least once a month. The CDTC, in consultation with the Decision-Making Supervisor of 
the unit or center, will determine the number of Personnel to be tested monthly. At least 5% 
of unit and center Personnel must be tested quarterly.  

2. Random Testing samples and the number of Personnel to be tested quarterly for 
Department entities not including units and centers (i.e., administrative offices, field offices) 
will be determined by the appropriate Division Director or the Secretary. At least 5% of 
Personnel must be tested quarterly. 

3. All Department Personnel are subject to Random Testing at any time and not exempt from 
random testing solely because they have been previously tested in a cycle. Any Personnel 
may be selected for Random Testing in addition to their mandatory quarterly testing. (See 
“Policy Testing” under Section III. “Guidelines”, subsection B. “Conditions of Testing”). 

B. Notification of a Positive Test 

1. The “Notification of a Positive Test” document (Attachment 3) is to be completed by the 
Testing Employee at the time the On-Site Test is read and/or the results are received from any 
laboratory analysis. 

2. Confirmation Testing processes must be explained to the Personnel being tested by the 
Testing Employee. The “Notification of a Positive Test” document (Attachment 3) must be 
completed after the confirmation processes are explained and signed or initialed where 
required by both the Personnel being tested and the Testing Employee . 

3. The completed “Notification of a Positive Test” document (Attachment 3) must be taken to 
the Personnel’s Decision-Making Supervisor, appropriate Division Director, or Secretary by 
the Testing Employee.  
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C. Monthly Report

1. The LDTC is responsible for reporting to the CDTC the number and results of all Personnel
Drug Tests or Alcohol Tests conducted each month, by the fifth day of each succeeding
month.

2. Monthly reports will be summarized quarterly by the CDTC and reported to the appropriate
Division Director and the Secretary.

VI. PROGRAM MANAGEMENT AND TRAINING

A. The LDTC will maintain a current list of all individuals within the Department trained and
approved as Testing Employees. A copy of this list must accompany the monthly report to the
CDTC.

B. The LDTC will observe a Drug Test conducted by each Testing Employee at least quarterly and to
document this supervision in the employee’s training file.

C. The CDTC will schedule annual Department-wide training, and provide training as requested by
any Decision-Making Supervisor or LDTC. All training conducted should be documented in a
training file as well as in the Personnel file of the individual(s) participating in the training.

D. Questions that arise about procedures or policy are to be referred to the CDTC or up Personnel’s
chain of command. Any legal questions about Drug Testing or Alcohol Testing should be referred
to Department’s Legal Division.

VII. ATTACHMENTS

Attachment 1. Drug Testing Advisory Receipt
Attachment 2. Personnel Drug Testing Advisory
Attachment 3. Notification of a Positive Test
Attachment 4. Drug Testing Request Form
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PERSONNEL DRUG TESTING ADVISORY RECEIPT 

 
I have received the document titled “Personnel Drug Testing Advisory.” I recognize that this is not a complete description of 
the drug-testing program, and that I am entitled to review the Secretarial Directive on Personnel Drug Testing, which is 
available to me via the DOC Connect home page and the public Department website.  In addition, a copy of the policy may be 
requested from a Human Resources Manager, Drug Testing Coordinator, or the Central Human Resources Office. 

I understand that as Department personnel, I am expected to support the concept of a Drug-Free Workplace. I agree to 
submit to testing as required in the Secretarial Directive on Personnel Drug Testing. 

Should I be involved in a critical incident as described in the Secretarial Directive on Personnel Drug Testing, my signature 
below authorizes medical staff treating me to test for the presence of alcohol and other drugs, and to release the results of such 
tests to the appropriate Department personnel. 

 
 
 
 
               
 PRINTED  NAME              POSITION    ASSIGNED ENTITY 

 
 
 
 
 
               
      SIGNATURE              DATE      AASIS NUMBER 

 
 

 
 

COPY:  CENTRAL PERSONNEL FILE AND SUPERVISOR’S FILE | EMPLOYEE (if requested) 

 

Attachment 1 
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PERSONNEL DRUG TESTING ADVISORY 
This Secretarial Directive on Personnel Drug Testing supersedes all previous Division Employee Drug Testing Administrative 
Directives. The following is an advisory list of some of the highlights of this Directive that support AR 202, Drug-Free Workplace. A 
complete copy of the Secretarial Directive on Personnel Drug Testing is available on DOC Connect intranet, the public Department 
website, through personnel’s Human Resources Manager, Central Human Resources Administrator, or the Central Drug Testing 
Coordinator’s office. Questions about this policy should be directed up the personnel’s chain of command or to the Central Drug 
Testing Coordinator. 

• All Department personnel is subject to random testing as outlined in this Directive. Groups, up to the whole staff of a 
Division entity, may be tested at the Secretary, Division Director, or entity’s Decision-Making Supervisors request. 
Personnel are also subject to continued testing pursuant to this Secretarial Directive. Additionally, applicants for 
employment, interns, and volunteers issued Department identification are subject to the provisions outlined in this policy 
and are considered Department personnel. 

• Any personnel may be subject to testing if there is reasonable suspicion of the use of prohibited substances, drugs, and/or a 
level of alcohol use that may impair work performance. Personnel involved in critical incidents, accidents posing danger to 
persons and/or property or causing damage to persons and/or property are subject to Drug/Alcohol Testing following such 
incidents. 

• Personnel must notify their supervisors of the use of any legal drugs, such as legally prescribed medications, being taken 
that may impair their ability to carry out job functions prior to assuming their posts or produce a positive result on a drug 
test. Staff who have an alcohol or drug problem may seek help through their supervisor or human resources manager. 
Disciplinary action will not be taken based solely on the admission of an alcohol or drug problem, provided the admission 
is made more than one (1) day before a scheduled drug  screening. 

• Drug testing is primarily conducted by urinalysis. However, it may be conducted by hair or sweat analysis on a limited 
and/or as needed basis. Urine samples are provided under indirect observation to allow for privacy while preserving the 
integrity of the test. Direct observation will only be conducted if there is reason to suspect adulteration or substitution. 
Adulteration tests will be conducted on all samples. 

• Blood Alcohol Testing is primarily performed with a machine that detects alcohol on the breath. Confirmation will be 
sought through urinalysis. Blood alcohol of 0.02% or higher while on duty will be considered to be “Under the Influence” 
and subject the employee to suspension or termination pursuant to the Secretarial Directive on Employee Conduct 
Standards and Discipline. 

• Confirmation of Positive Drug Tests is routinely performed. Confirmation is obtained through gas chromatography/mass 
spectrometry. Any employee may request confirmation through a laboratory outside the Department following the initial 
Department used laboratory confirmation. An independent lab may be used provided the lab is a CAP or SAMHSA 
approved laboratory.  Confirmation expenses are to be paid by the personnel being tested. 

• Involvement with and the use of Prohibited Substances/Drugs is considered a terminable offense. Staff terminated for their 
association with illegal drugs will not be eligible for rehire for one (1) year. Documentation of treatment in an Arkansas 
Department of Health approved program will be requested and may be considered in any instance of rehire of personnel 
after termination for prohibited substance/drug abuse. 

• Results of Drug/Alcohol Tests are to be kept as confidential as possible, consistent with the needs of the Department.  

• The person and property of any individual on state property is subject to search, examination by drug sniffing dogs, or ion 
scanning for the presence of Prohibited Substances/Drugs. Any person in possession of Prohibited Substances/Drugs on 
Department owned property may be subject to arrest. 

• Testing is conducted by trained staff using accredited methods and pursuant to procedures outlined in the Secretarial 

Directive on Personnel Drug Testing. 
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A 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
NOTIFICATION OF A POSITIVE TEST 

 
 
                                                              /     /                                                          
PERSONNEL NAME (Printed or Typed) AASIS NUMBER         DATE OF TEST              FACILITY/OFFICE   
 

You are hereby advised of a positive result on your drug/alcohol test. 
If the test is an alcohol test, you have the right to accept the result shown to you, or to request confirmation by urinalysis. 

If the test is a drug test, you have the right to accept or reject the result shown to you. If the test is an on-site test, the results will be 
confirmed by an independent laboratory at the expense of the Department of Corrections. If the test was conducted by a laboratory, it is 
considered confirmed. 

 
• I accept the result shown to me    (initial) 

• I do not accept the result shown to me    (initial) 
Note:  If you do not accept, please provide a brief explanation as to why you decline the results shown to you. If you indicate a 
prescribed medication may have caused a positive result, you have 24 hours to provide your prescription list covering the last six 
(6) months from your pharmacy. 
______________________________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 
 
 
You have the right to request confirmation of the results of an alcohol or drug test at a Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration (SAMHSA) or College of American Pathologists (CAP) approved laboratory, other than the one used by the Department, 
provided you are willing to pay the cost of confirmation plus shipping and handling. These costs must be provided to your human 
resources manager or LDTC via money order payable to the Arkansas Department of Corrections by the end of the next business day. If 
payment for independent confirmation is not received by the end of the next business day, the right to independent confirmation is thus 
forfeited.  
 

• I request independent confirmation by                              .             
          Name of approved laboratory   Personnel Initial 

 
 

 
 
I have been advised that, if my position has grievance rights, I may grieve any disciplinary action that may follow a positive test by contacting 
the EEOC Grievance Coordinator at (501) 682-3380 within five (5) working days. 
 
 
 
 
               

(PERSONNEL SIGNATURE)      (WITNESSED BY) 

 
 

 
Note: Your signature indicates only that you have been notified, not that you are admitting to alcohol or drug use, unless you initial that you accept the results 
shown. 
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DRUG TESTING REQUEST FORM 
COPIES: HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER | CDTC | PERSONNEL 

 

NAME   AASIS NUMBER FACILITY/ OFFICE SHIPPING LABEL TRACKING NUMBER 

 

REASON FOR TEST 
 

                 [ 
 

] 
 

01 RANDOM 
 

[ 
 

] 
 

02 SUSPICION 
 

[ 
 

] 
 

03 RETEST 
 

[ 
 

] 
 

04 VIOLENCE  

                     [ ] 05 ACCIDENT  [ ] 06 POLICY  [ ] 07 APPLICANT [ ] 08 CONTRABAND  

                  [ ] 09 OTHER          
 

 

LIST ALL CURRENT MEDICATIONS 
 

 

VERIFIED  [    ] NO    [    ] YES BY  

 
 

PRINTED NAME 

 
COLLECTED BY: 

AASIS # SIGNATURE DATE/ TIME 

 

TEST RUN BY: 
   

 

WITNESSED BY: 
   

 

RECEIVED BY: 
   

 

RECEIVED BY: 
   

 

DRUGS TESTED FOR TEST RESULTS OR READINGS TO BE CONFIRMED 

[ ] AMPHETAMINE [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] METHAMPHETAMINE [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] COCAINE [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] MARIJUANA [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] OPIATES / Mop [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] BENZODIAZEPINES [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] BARB [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] Oxy [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] METHADONE [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] PPX [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] K-2 [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] ALCOHOL [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

I HEREBY ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THE SPECIMEN WAS KEPT WHERE I COULD SEE IT FROM THE TIME I PROVIDED IT UNTIL THE RESULTS 
OF THE TEST WERE SHOWN TO ME. I [ ] DO [ ] DO NOT ACCEPT THE RESULTS OF THE TEST.  

________________    _________________    ________ 
  

              SIGNATURE OF PERSON TESTED                       WITNESS OF SIGNATURE OR REFUSAL TO SIGN               DATE   TIME 

 

REACTION OF PERSON TESTED [ 
[ 

] 
] 

01 COOPERATIVE [   ] 02 DELAYED OR SLOW 
04 REFUSED [   ] 05 ADULTERATED 

  [   ] 03 ARGUMENTATIVE 
[   ] 06 UNABLE TO COMPLY 

ACTION TAKEN ON 
RESULTS OF TEST 

 

[ 
 

] 
 

01 FURTHER ANALYSIS REQUESTED  
 

[ 
 

] 
 

02 PLACED ON SUSPICION TESTING 

(CHECK ALL THAT APPLY) [ ] 03 ACTION PENDING  [ ] 04 NO ACTION REQUIRED  

COMMENTS:       
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SECRETARIAL DIRECTIVE 
SUBJECT: Employment 

NUMBER: 2022-04 SUPERSEDES: 2021-16 

APPLICABILITY: All Department of Corrections Employees, excluding commissioners of the Parole 
Board, Correctional School Employees, Directors, commissioners of the Arkansas 
Sentencing Commission, and members of the Criminal Detention Facility Review Board 

REFERENCE:  A.C.A. §§ 12-26-105, 12-27-123, 16-90-802, 16-93-201, 21-3-302, 21-5-208, 25-43-105, 
25-43-108, and 25-43-403; OPM Policy #5 Employee Disclosure and OPM Policy # 8
Advertising a Job and Filling a Position 

PAGE: 1 of 10 

ISSUED BY: Original signature on file EFFECTIVE DATE: 6/20/2022 

I. POLICY:

As the executive head of the Arkansas Department of Corrections (Department), it is the responsibility of
the Secretary of Corrections (Secretary) to administer the various rules, orders, or directives issued by the
Department. All employees of the Department are under the direct supervision of the Secretary, except
those excluded by this policy. This directive is intended to ensure that the Department will, as an Equal
Opportunity Employer, implement fair and consistent employment policies.

II. DEFINITIONS: 

A. At Will Employment. All Employees are “at will” under Arkansas Law. The employer or the Employee
may terminate the employment relationship at any time. Termination may be for any reason or no 
reason. Advance notice is not required to terminate the employment relationship. 

B. Class or Classification. A group of positions sufficiently similar as to duties performed, scope of
discretion and responsibility, minimum requirements of training, skills, experience, and of skill that the 
same title, scale of compensation, and same test of fitness (if applicable) have been or may be applied. 

C. Conditional Offer of Employment. An offer of employment based upon an applicant meeting certain
job-related requirements prior to hire and/or during the Probationary Period. 

D. Conviction. A Conviction may include, but is not limited to a guilty plea, plea of nolo contendere, 
negotiated plea, or finding of guilt by a judge or jury. For the purposes of this policy, an adverse ruling 
in a civil case is not considered a Conviction.

E. Demotion.  A change in duty assignment of an Employee from a position in one classification to a 
position of a lower salary and grade requiring fewer qualifications, such as lower skill requirements, less
job-related experience, and a lower level of responsibility.
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Deleted: 8F. Employee. A person appointed or employed in a position with the Department for which they are 
compensated on a part-time or full-time basis, and which has a class title and pay grade in A.C.A. § 21-
5-208.

G. Essential Job Functions. The fundamental duties of a job or position. The documented responsibilities
or tasks a person holding the job absolutely must be able to perform.

H. Hiring Official. Administrators, Heads of Sections, Area Managers, Center Supervisors, Wardens,
Superintendents, or higher who are authorized to make a final selection of applicants for positions
available within the Department.

I. Law Enforcement Officer (LEO). Any Employee designated by a Division Director or the Secretary 
who has met or is in the process of meeting Commission of Law Enforcement Standards and Training 
(CLEST) certification.

J. New Hire. Employees entering state service with the Department for the first time.

K. Probationary Period. A time during which the Department may evaluate an Employee’s suitability in
terms of knowledge, skill, ability, character, interest, and conduct to determine whether employment
should be continued. A Department Employee that promotes or Transfers to another job classification
will have a six (6) month Probationary Period in the new position unless otherwise specified. Specific
Probationary Periods include:

1. Initial Probation.  A period of (1) one-year probation which begins upon initial hire with the
Department. 

2. Disciplinary Probation. A period of six (6) to twelve (12) months of increased scrutiny due to
a violation of the Department’s Code of Ethics or Conduct policy. 

3. Certification Probation. A Department Employee that demotes, promotes, is appointed, or
hired into a new position subject to CLEST training standards will be required to serve a one 
(1) year Probationary Period (i.e., hired as a probation/parole officer) as outlined in the 
provisions in this policy. Employees transferring or promoting from one CLEST position to 
a different CLEST position are only subject to the six (6) month Probationary Period and do 
not fall under the provisions for the Certification Probation.   

a. This probationary period does not prohibit transfer or promotion and is not
considered an Initial Probation period or Disciplinary Probation period. This 
probation period does not exclude an Employee from having grievance rights. An 
Employee may be on Transfer probation or Promotion probation while on 
Certification Probation which may prevent their ability for Transfer or Promotion.   

b. Employees moving from non-CLEST certified status to CLEST certified status will 
have a one (1) year Certification Probation period and will be required to complete a 
CLEST Certified Position Probationary Period Acknowledgement (Attachment #3). 

L. Promotion. A change in duty assignment of an Employee from a position in one classification to
another position with a higher salary or grade requiring higher qualifications, such as greater skill, more
experience, or involving a higher level of responsibility.

M. Rehire. Employee returning to state service with the Department after a break in employment of two
(2) or more pay periods.

N. Resignation. An act or instance of renouncing or giving up a position.

O. Transfer. Employees transferring between state agencies, institutions, or laterally within the divisions
of the Department without a break in service.

P. Veteran. For purposes of this policy, Veteran means a person honorably discharged from a tour of
active duty, other than active duty for training only, with the US Armed Forces; or any person who has
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Deleted: 8served honorably in the National Guard or a reserve component of the US Armed Forces for a period 
of at least six (6) years, whether the person has retired or been discharged or not. 

Q. Waiver. A request to have Promotion limitations by a current Employee who is applying for a lateral 
or promotional position within the Department. 

III.  PROCEDURES 

A. Exclusions 

1. The provisions of this Directive do not govern the selection or removal of members of the Parole 
Board. The selection or removal of Parole Board Members is governed by A.C.A. § 16-93-201. 

2. The Employees of the Correctional School are governed by the personnel policies set by the Board 
of Corrections (when convened as the Board of Education for the Arkansas Correctional School 
District). 

3. The provisions of this Directive do not govern the selection or removal of the Director or members 
of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission (ASC). The selection or removal of the Director or 
members of the ASC is governed by A.C.A. § 16-90-802.   

4. The provisions of this Directive do not govern the selection or removal of members of the Criminal 
Detention Review Committee (CDRC). The selection or removal of the CDRC members is 
governed by A.C.A. § 12-26-105.   

B. Position Vacancies 

1. The Hiring Official or their designee must create a job requisition in SuccessFactors before 
beginning the process of filling any vacant position.  

2. Except as provided below, positions must be advertised according to procedures established by the 
Office of Personnel Management (OPM). 

a. Positions graded at or above GS13, IT08, MP03, or SE01 are not required to be advertised.  The 
Secretary, Division Directors, or their designee has the authority and discretion to appoint or 
transfer individuals into these classifications.   

b. Emergency Hires. A position designated as an emergency hire must have OPM approval before 
the position can be filled. An emergency hire is only permitted when the delay of advertising a 
vacancy would have an immediate effect on the public welfare, health, and safety.  

c. Any other position authorized by the Governor. 

3. A request for advertisement of a position that requires additional actions (newspapers or websites) 
must be submitted to and coordinated by the Central Human Resources Office. 

C. Applications, Minimum Qualifications, and Pre-Interview Scoring 

1. Applications.  

a. Applications will be submitted/reviewed by the Central Human Resources Office. 

b. Applications must be submitted via the ARCareers website at arcareers.arkansas.gov. 

c. In the case of positions advertised on social media or other platforms in addition to the 
ARCareers website, no application information may be solicited or accepted via the external 
platform. The platform is only to be used as a mechanism to direct potential applicants to the 
ARCareers job listing. 

 

 

2. Minimum Qualifications. 
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Deleted: 8a. After the job posting closes, the Central Human Resources Office will review applications and 
create a list of applicants who meet minimum qualifications.  

b. Applicants who meet minimum qualifications will move on to Pre-Interview Scoring. Those 
applicants who do not meet minimum qualifications will be notified by Central Human Resources 
that they did not meet minimum qualifications for the position, and the reason(s) why. 

3. Pre-Interview Scoring. After notifying those applicants who do not meet minimum qualifications, 
Central Human Resources Office will examine applications and provide a Pre-Interview Score for 
each applicant. The Pre-Interview analysis will be scored as follows. 

a. Education. The applicant must meet minimum requirements for the job classification or must 
be approved as a qualified applicant per state requirements. All degrees, diplomas, or transcripts 
received must be from an institution accredited by the applicable Arkansas Department of 
Education or an accrediting body recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. The chart 
below details the appropriate number of based on the minimum requirements and the 
applicant’s educational level. 

i. A maximum of ten (10) points may be awarded for an applicant for completion of related 
education above and beyond the minimum educational requirements for the position. 

ii.  Applicants may be awarded Pre-Interview Score points based on their application without 
submitting a copy of the diploma or degree showing the award of the educational level, but 
a copy is required to be submitted prior to hiring. 

 

 

 

b. Experience.  An applicant’s experience for the job is awarded one-quarter (0.25) points for each 
month of related experience exceeding the minimum requirements, up to a maximum of ten (10) 
points. Work credit will only be given for paid positions (including those under the 
MyARInternship program), internships under an accredited higher education program relative to 
the experience, or educational qualifications for the position. 

c. Veteran’s Preference. Pursuant to A.C.A. § 21-3-302, an applicant may qualify for Veteran’s 
Preference points.   

i. The Department provides Veteran’s Preference to an individual who: 

a) Indicates on the employment application that they are: 

1.   A Veteran. 

2. A disabled Veteran 

3. The spouse of a disabled Veteran 

4. The surviving spouse of a deceased Veteran who is unmarried at the time of 
application for employment and remains unmarried until the decision to hire is 
made 

Minimum Required 
Education 

HS Diploma/ 
GED 

Associates 
Degree 

Bachelors 
Degree 

Masters 
Degree  

JD, PhD, MD, or  
Terminal Degree 

High School 
Diploma/GED 

0 pts 2.5 pts 5 pts 7.5 pts 10 pts 

Associate 

Degree 
N/A 0 pts 2.5 pts 5 pts 7.5 pts 

Bachelors Degree N/A N/A 0 pts 2.5 pts  5 pts 

Masters Degree  N/A N/A N/A 0 pts  2.5 pts  

JD, PhD, MD, or  
Terminal Degree  

N/A N/A N/A N/A           0 pts   
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Deleted: 8b) A resident of Arkansas 

c) Meets minimum qualifications for the position to which the individual applied. 

ii. Veterans Preference will be scored as either five (5) or ten (10) points. 

a)  Ten (10) points will be awarded if: 

1. The applicant establishes the existence of a service-connected disability. 

2. The Veteran is over fifty-five (55) years of age, disabled, and entitled to a pension 
or compensation under existing laws. 

3. The applicant is the spouse of a Veteran with a service-related disability whose 
disability disqualifies them for selection. 

b) Five (5) points will be awarded if the applicant establishes qualifications for Veteran’s 
preference but does not meet the criteria for being awarded ten (10) points. 

iii. An applicant may voluntarily submit official proof of their status as a Veteran, disabled 
Veteran, spouse, or a surviving spouse of a deceased Veteran to receive Veteran’s preference 
points.  

D. Total Pre-Interview Score. Central Human Resources Office will add Veteran’s Preference Points to 
Education points (total max points allowed) and Experience points to get a Pre-Interview Score.   

E. Selecting Applicants for Interview 

1. After creating a list of applicants who meet minimum qualifications and evaluating those applicants 
using the Pre-Interview Scoring qualification, Central Human Resources Office will provide the 
Hiring Official with a list of qualified applicants and their Pre-Interview Score.  

2. All applicants who indicate Veteran’s status shall be interviewed if they meet minimum 
qualifications for the position.  

3.  The Hiring Official will select which applicants to interview.  

a. The Hiring Official may decline to interview an applicant with a documented history of two (2) 
or more “no show”, no cancellation, and no follow up contact for previous interview 
appointments.  

b. An applicant may not be selected for an interview (excluding veterans) unless each applicant 
with the same or higher Pre-Interview Score is selected for interview. For example, to interview 
an applicant with a Pre-Interview Score of seven (7), the Hiring Official must offer an interview 
to all applicants with a Pre-Interview Score of seven (7) through ten (10).  

c. If an applicant is rehired after a previous “no rehire” recommendation, they must serve a 
mandatory one (1) year probationary term beginning at the latest rehire date before they are 
eligible for promotion.   

d. Staff on probation (excluding probation for disciplinary reasons) are required to request  a waiver 
prior to applying for a position. 
i. The request for a waiver shall be routed through the Central Human Resources 

Administrator (CHRA). 
ii. The waiver will be forwarded to the appropriate Division Director, the Secretary, or their 

designee and may be approved or denied at their discretion. 
iii. A waiver decision not received by the closing date of the job advertisement shall be 

considered a denial. 
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Deleted: 8
F. Interviews 

1. Interview Committee 

a. The Hiring Official selects the interview committee.   

b. The interview committee must consist of two (2) or more current Employees from the 
Department. 

c. Employees serving on the interview committee must be the same or higher grade as the 
advertised grade and familiar with the knowledge, skills, and abilities of the position being filled. 

d. The Hiring Official may elect to bypass the committee for non-exempt positions, except for 
entry level Parole/Probation Officer. 

e. The Hiring Official may serve on the interview committee but is not required to do so. 

2. Interview Questions 

a.  The Hiring Official, in consultation with the CHRA or their designee, must create interview 
questions based on the knowledge, skills, and abilities (KSA) of the job, as designated by the 
official job duties and specifications.  

i. There must be at least one question for each KSA. 

ii. The Hiring Official must rank each question in order of importance. 

b.  The interview committee, or Hiring Official if a committee is bypassed, will use the interview 
questions to interview each applicant. 

i. All applicants should be asked the same questions, and all applicants should be asked every 
interview question. 

ii. Each member of the interview committee will score each question for each applicant. 

3. Interview Score 

a. Total interview scores will be calculated by Unit Human Resources, Local Human Resources, or 
Central Human Resources based upon the assigned Hiring Official. 

i. The applicable Human Resources Office will average the scores of interview committee 
members for each interview question. 

ii. Each averaged score will be weighted based on the priority assigned by the Hiring Official, 
resulting in a weighted interview score. 

b. An applicant will not be considered for the position without a weighted interview score of at 
least seventy percent (70%). 

G. Selecting an Applicant 

1. The Education Pre-Interview Score, Experience Pre-Interview Score, and Veteran’s Preference 
Pre-Interview Score will be added to the Interview Score to determine the highest scoring 
applicants. 

2. A Hiring Official may elect to grant a second interview to the three (3) highest scoring applicants 
if the Hiring Official did not participate in the initial interviews.   

 

3. The Hiring Official will select which applicant to offer the position to.  If the Hiring Official does 
not select the highest scoring applicant, they must submit written justification for selecting an 
applicant other than the highest scoring applicant. This justification must state in clear and 
unambiguous terms why the selected applicant was chosen over the highest scoring applicant. The 
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Deleted: 1
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Deleted: 8CHRA will review and approve or deny the justification. If approved, the justification will become 
a part of the applicant’s interview packet.  

H. Pre-Employment Screening and Offer of Employment 

1. Upon notification that an applicant has been selected, Human Resources will contact the selected 
applicant with a Conditional Offer of Employment and begin pre-employment screening. 

2. Pre-employment screening shall include, but is not limited to the following components: 

a. Comprehensive criminal background checks run against law enforcement indexes, including but 
not limited to: 

i. National Crime Information Center (NCIC) record review 

ii. Arkansas Crime Information Center (ACIC) record review 

iii. JusticeXchange review 

iv. Court Connect review 

b. Maltreatment Registry Checks 

c. Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA), and 

d. Division of Driver Services Traffic Violation Report (when applicable) 

i. If the NCIC/ACIC report reveals ten (10) or more points assessed against an applicant’s 
driver’s license or reveals that a license is suspended or not valid, the applicant is not eligible 
for hire if the position they applied for requires a driver’s license or requires driving on state 
business.   

ii. An applicant is not eligible for hire into a position that requires driving on state business if 
they have had a DWI within the last three (3) years that appears on their Traffic Violation 
Record (TVR) which is maintained by DFA Office of Driver Services.   

e. At least two (2) employment reference checks, unless waived by the Central Human Resources 
Administrator or their designee 

f.  Drug test screening 

g. A physical assessment (for law enforcement and correctional officers only) 

h. A tuberculosis skin test for any Employee (excluding ACC field services staff) in contact with 
residents/offenders, regardless of location (e.g., administrative offices) 

i. An assessment of the ability to perform Essential Job Functions 

j. If an applicant previously worked for a law enforcement agency, references are required from 
all the respective agencies 

3. If results from the pre-employment screening are satisfactory, Central Human Resources Office 
will make a final offer of employment to the selected applicant 

4. If the final offer of employment is accepted by the selected applicant, all other applicants will be 
notified of the decision by Central Human Resources Office 

 

 

 

I. Special Considerations for Current or Former Employees of the Department 

1. Promotion.  
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Deleted: 1

Deleted: 16

Deleted: 8a. Employees of the Department may apply for a Promotion from their current position provided 
a vacancy has been advertised. A completed state application must be received during the 
advertisement period. 

b. The applicant will be considered with all other qualified applicants in the interview process.  

c. Approved Promotions should occur within two (2) weeks following the Employee’s acceptance 
of the final offer of employment and notice to their supervisor unless alternative arrangements 
are authorized by the Hiring Official and the Employee’s current supervisor.  

d. If an employee is promoting from a non-CLEST position to a CLEST certified position, they 
must complete a CLEST Certified Position Probationary Period Acknowledgement form 
(Attachment #3) to certify their understanding of the mandatory one (1) year probationary 
period associated with the promotion.  

2. Transfer. 

a. Administrative Transfer. The Secretary or appropriate Division Director may Transfer an 
Employee to another location or another classification (at the same grade) when the Transfer is 
in the best interest of the Department. 

b. Voluntary Transfer. An Employee of the Department may request a voluntary Transfer from a 
position classification at one location to the same position classification at another location 
provided there is an open advertisement for that position at the desired location. 

i. It is the applicant’s responsibility to apply for the open position via the ARCareers website.  

ii. It is the applicant’s responsibility to attach a completed Employee Request for Transfer form 
(Attachment #1) to the application in ARCareers signed by releasing and receiving official.  

iii. The Hiring Official has the option of selecting a Transfer applicant in lieu of interviewing for 
the vacant position.  

iv. Employees who are currently on Disciplinary Probation are not eligible to Transfer.  

v. A request must be submitted to an Employee’s Human Resources (HR) Representative at 
the Unit or Local office for review and approval or denial.   

a) The Unit or Local HR Representative must forward the request the appropriate Deputy 
Director, Assistant Director, Administrator, or the Chief of Staff for review.   

b) Once a determination is made, the request must be forwarded to the CHRA or their 
designee.  

vi. Approved Transfers should occur within two (2) weeks following the Employee’s acceptance 
of the final offer of employment and notice to his or her supervisor unless alternative 
arrangements are authorized by the Hiring Official and the Employee’s current supervisor. 
The delay or denial of a transfer between Divisions is at the discretion of the Secretary or 
their designee.  

3. Demotion. 

a. Administrative Demotion. Employees may be demoted to a lower-graded position classification 
in accordance with provisions of the Department Employee Conduct Standards and Discipline 
Secretarial Directive. All Demotions must be approved by the Secretary, Division Director, or 
their designee. The Employee will not be eligible to be promoted for twelve (12) months from 
the effective date of the Demotion.  

b. Voluntary Demotion. Employees of the Department may request a voluntary Demotion from 
their current position classification at one location to a lower graded position classification at 
the same or at another location, provided a vacancy has been advertised. The Employee will 

Deleted: OC

Deleted:  

Deleted:  

Deleted: his/her

Deleted: t

Deleted: t

Deleted: OC

Deleted: t

Deleted: OC

Deleted: t

Deleted: F

Deleted: a

Deleted: t

Deleted: d

Deleted: p

Deleted: t

Deleted: your

Deleted: /

Deleted: l

Deleted: local/unit

Deleted: /

Deleted: /

Deleted: /

Deleted:  at the Deputy or Assistant Deputy level

Deleted: submitted

Deleted: ,

Deleted: . An appropriate Deputy or Assistant 
Director may deny an employee’s request for a transfer.¶
Approved Transfers should occur within two (2) weeks 
following the Employee’s acceptance of the final offer of 
employment and notice to his or her supervisor unless 
alternative arrangements are authorized by the Hiring 
Official and the Employee’s current supervisor.¶
If the transfer request is approved at the unit/office, the 
Unit/Local HR Manager will forward the request to the 
appropriate Deputy or Assistant Director for review, 
approval or denial, before the request is sent to the 
CHRA. …

Deleted: An appropriate Deputy or Assistant Director 
may deny an employee’s request for a transfer. ¶

Deleted: OC

Deleted: OC 

Deleted:  

026



SD 2022-04  Employment    Page 9 of 10 
 
 

Deleted: 1

Deleted: 16

Deleted: 8not be eligible to be promoted for twelve (12) months from the effective date of the 
Demotion.   

i. The twelve (12) month timeline remains in effect even if the employee is no longer 
employed with the Department. For example, an employee voluntarily demotes from a 
GS06 to a GS05 on 2/1/2022. The employee subsequently accepts employment with an 
outside entity on 5/1/2022.  On 9/1/2022, the former employee applies for a GS07 
position within the DOC. The former employee is ineligible to be hired in the GS07 
position until 2/1/2023. 

ii. A completed state application via the ARCareers website must be received during the 
advertisement period.  

iii. The applicant will be considered with all other qualified applicants during the hiring process.  

iv. Approved Demotions should occur within two (2) weeks following the Employee’s 
acceptance of the final offer of employment and notice to his or her supervisor unless 
alternative arrangements are authorized by the Hiring Official and the Employee’s current 
supervisor.  

v. A request for demotion must be submitted to your HR Representative at the Unit or Local 
office for review and approval or denial.  

a) The Unit or Local HR Representative must forward the request for demotion to the 
appropriate Deputy Director, Assistant Director, Administrator, or the Chief of Staff for 
review.  

b) Once a determination is made, the request must be forwarded to the CHRA or their 
designee. 

vi. Only the appropriate Deputy or Assistant Director or the Chief of Staff has the authority to 
approve or deny a voluntary demotion from their respective Division.  

c. Change in Pay. When an Employee is voluntarily or administratively demoted to a classification 
one or more grades below the classification within their current pay grid, a base salary decrease 
of 10% will be required. Demotions may result in a change in pay greater than 10% if the 
maximum allowed salary for the position an Employee is demoted to is greater than 10% of 
their current salary. 

d. A completed Demotion Acknowledgement Form (Attachment #2) must be filled out by the 
employee demoting positions and retained by their local Human Resources Office.  

4. Rehire. 

a. The Central Human Resources Office will review Rehire applications and related previous work 
history to determine the reason(s) the Employee terminated employment with the Department.  

b. Applications from persons not recommended for Rehire will not be considered for at least 
twelve (12) months from their date of termination; however, the HR Administrator may approve 
Rehire after six (6) months upon request of the Hiring Official if termination was unrelated to 
either lying or making false statements, contraband, or inappropriate relationships with 
offenders, unless the Employee left pending an investigation. Applications from persons 
convicted of certain felonies, who committed violations of policy, or displayed certain 
unacceptable behaviors shall not be considered.  

i. Although a criminal Conviction does not automatically disqualify an applicant for rehire, 
discretionary approval based on the nature of the offense and job duties is required from 
the Secretary, Chief of Staff, or the appropriate Division Director. 
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Deleted: 1

Deleted: 16

Deleted: 8c. Potential Rehire Applicants for security positions will only be considered for employment at the 
last unit of assignment if less than one (1) year from termination date, however if the termination 
date is one (1) year or longer, the applicant may be considered for employment at other 
units/facilities.  

d. A rehired Employee that was not recommended for Rehire will not be eligible to apply for a 
Promotion for one (1) year from the Rehire date. 

e. Any deviation from Rehire restrictions must be approved by the Secretary or Chief of Staff. 

5. Fiscal and IT Positions. Incumbent Employees who promote or demote to a position in areas that 
involve fiscal, or IT duties must have a background check completed and submitted prior to 
transfer, Promotion, or Demotion. These background checks will be updated at least every five (5) 
years. Although a criminal Conviction does not automatically disqualify an applicant, discretionary 
approval based on the nature of the offense and job duties is required from the Secretary, Chief 
of Staff, or the appropriate Division Director.  

 
6. Staff shall not be permitted to submit leave to start another job in lieu of a two (2) week notice.  

 
IV. PROCEDURES MANUAL AND REQUIRED FORMS 

Central Human Resources shall develop standard operating procedures and required forms to guide the 
employment process. The forms will be placed on the Department intranet site (DOC Connect) and 
are also available upon request from Central Human Resources. 

V. ATTACHMENTS 

Attachment 1. Employee Request for Transfer Form  
Attachment 2. Demotion Acknowledgement Form 
Attachment 3. CLEST Certified Position Probationary Period Acknowledgement Form 
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Employee Request for Demotion or Transfer  

Demotion □    Transfer □  

Complete the following information and forward to your Administrator, Warden, or Area Manager. 

Name:    Date: _____________ Current Job Title:      
 
Location: ______________ Grade:  Requesting Job Title:  _______________    
 
Location: ______________Grade: If position is currently being advertised, list position #:   
 
Reason for Request:            
 
Are you requesting to leave from one facility or office to another? If requesting to move to a different facility, 
is there anyone you know serving a sentence at the requested facility? 
 
Yes: ___    No: ___ N/A: ____ Name: ____________________ Relationship:      
  
______________________________________                     __________________________ 
                 Employee Signature                                                                    Date   
 
 
Approved □ Denied □  Reason:          
             
   
___________________________________                         _________________ 
Current Administrator/Warden/Area Manager                                Date  
 
Release Date: __________________________ 
 
 
Approved □ Denied □   Reason:      
      
 
___________________________________                            ________________ 
Requested Administrator/Warden/Area Manager                                  Date                                                
 
 
 
__________________________________ ___________________        
Division Director or Assistant/Deputy Director  Date                    

 
_______________________________ ___________________        
Human Resources Administrator Date

Department of Corrections    
      SHARED SERVICES 
         Human Resources 
  

2403 East Harding Ave. 
Pine Bluff, AR  71601 
Phone: (870) 850-8510 

Fax: (870) 850-8550 
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 DEMOTION ACKNOWLEDGEMENT FORM 

 
I, _____________________________________________, understand and agree to the following 
       (Printed Employee Name) 
 
conditions with my demotion from ____________________________________________ to  
       (Current Position Title) 
 
______________________________________________________. 
    (New Position Title) 
 
 
(Initial each line) 
 
__________     My salary will decrease by 10 % according to the state law and policy set forth by the Office of 

Personnel Management.  I understand my salary cannot exceed the max salary for the assigned 
pay grade.  

 
__________       I understand that I will also lose any incentive pay (Hazard Duty, Max, Geographic, Certification) 

associated with the current position when going to the new position.   
 
__________   I will not be eligible to promote for twelve (12) months following the effective date of the 

demotion as stated in the Department’s Employment policy. 
 
Write a brief statement detailing why you want to demote. 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 
I fully understand what I am signing, and I do so freely and willingly. 
 
 

             _____________________________        
Employee Signature                                                                                      Date    
 

Retain Copy at Unit/Office  

Department of Corrections    
      SHARED SERVICES 
         Human Resources 
   

2403 East Harding Ave. 
Pine Bluff, AR  71601 
Phone: (870) 850-8510 

Fax: (870) 850-8550 
 

Deleted: Date

Deleted: paragraph
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 CLEST CERTIFIED POSITION 

PROBATIONARY PERIOD ACKNOWLEDGEMENT 

 

 

This acknowledgement confirms your understanding of the one (1) year certification probationary 
period for appointment from a non-CLEST certified status to a CLEST certified status. This 
probationary period is not punitive and does not prohibit promotions or transfers.   

 

I understand that the one (1) year certification probationary period starts at the time of my 
appointment to a CLEST certified position. I understand that this probationary period is not a 
disciplinary or initial probation period and does not prevent my ability to be promoted or 
transferred.  

 

 

 

2403 East Harding Ave. 
Pine Bluff, AR  71601 
Phone: (870) 850-8510 

Fax: (870) 850-8550 
 

Department of Corrections     
      SHARED SERVICES 
         Human Resources 
 

NAME AASIS # DATE 
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SECRETARIAL DIRECTIVE 
SUBJECT: Employment  
 
NUMBER: 2022-04                                                SUPERSEDES: 2021-05 
         
APPLICABILITY: All Department of Corrections Employees, excluding commissioners of the Parole 

Board, Correctional School Employees, Directors, commissioners of the Arkansas 
Sentencing Commission, and members of the Criminal Detention Facility Review Board 

 

REFERENCE:  A.C.A. §§ 12-26-105, 12-27-123, 16-90-802, 16-93-201, 21-3-302, 21-5-208, 25-43-105,  
 25-43-108, and 25-43-403; OPM Policy #5 Employee Disclosure and OPM Policy # 8 

Advertising a Job and Filling a Position 
    
                                   PAGE: 1 of 10 
 
ISSUED BY: Original signature on file                 EFFECTIVE DATE: 6/20/2022    

I. POLICY: 

As the executive head of the Arkansas Department of Corrections (Department), it is the responsibility of 
the Secretary of Corrections (Secretary) to administer the various rules, orders, or directives issued by the 
Department. All employees of the Department are under the direct supervision of the Secretary, except 
those excluded by this policy. This directive is intended to ensure that the Department will, as an Equal 
Opportunity Employer, implement fair and consistent employment policies.   

 

II. DEFINITIONS: 

A. At Will Employment. All Employees are “at will” under Arkansas Law. The employer or the Employee 

may terminate the employment relationship at any time. Termination may be for any reason or no 

reason. Advance notice is not required to terminate the employment relationship. 

B. Class or Classification. A group of positions sufficiently similar as to duties performed, scope of 
discretion and responsibility, minimum requirements of training, skills, experience, and of skill that the 
same title, scale of compensation, and same test of fitness (if applicable) have been or may be applied. 

C. Conditional Offer of Employment. An offer of employment based upon an applicant meeting certain 
job-related requirements prior to hire and/or during the Probationary Period. 

D. Conviction. A Conviction may include, but is not limited to a guilty plea, plea of nolo contendere, 
negotiated plea, or finding of guilt by a judge or jury. For the purposes of this policy, an adverse ruling 
in a civil case is not considered a Conviction.  

E. Demotion.  A change in duty assignment of an Employee from a position in one classification to a 
position of a lower salary and grade requiring fewer qualifications, such as lower skill requirements, less 
job-related experience, and a lower level of responsibility.  
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F. Employee. A person appointed or employed in a position with the Department for which they are 

compensated on a part-time or full-time basis, and which has a class title and pay grade in A.C.A. § 21-
5-208. 

G. Essential Job Functions. The fundamental duties of a job or position. The documented responsibilities 

or tasks a person holding the job absolutely must be able to perform.  

H. Hiring Official. Administrators, Heads of Sections, Area Managers, Center Supervisors, Wardens, 
Superintendents, or higher who are authorized to make a final selection of applicants for positions 
available within the Department.   

I. Law Enforcement Officer (LEO). Any Employee designated by a Division Director or the Secretary 

who has met or is in the process of meeting Commission of Law Enforcement Standards and Training 

(CLEST) certification.  

J. New Hire. Employees entering state service with the Department for the first time. 

K. Probationary Period. A time during which the Department may evaluate an Employee’s suitability in 

terms of knowledge, skill, ability, character, interest, and conduct to determine whether employment 

should be continued. A Department Employee that promotes or Transfers to another job classification 

will have a six (6) month Probationary Period in the new position unless otherwise specified. Specific 

Probationary Periods include: 

1. Initial Probation.  A period of (1) one-year probation which begins upon initial hire with the 

Department. 

2. Disciplinary Probation. A period of six (6) to twelve (12) months of increased scrutiny due to 

a violation of the Department’s Code of Ethics or Conduct policy.   

3. Certification Probation. A Department Employee that demotes, promotes, is appointed, or 

hired into a new position subject to CLEST training standards will be required to serve a one 

(1) year Probationary Period (i.e., hired as a probation/parole officer) as outlined in the 

provisions in this policy. Employees transferring or promoting from one CLEST position to 

a different CLEST position are only subject to the six (6) month Probationary Period and do 

not fall under the provisions for the Certification Probation.   

a. This probationary period does not prohibit transfer or promotion and is not 

considered an Initial Probation period or Disciplinary Probation period. This 

probation period does not exclude an Employee from having grievance rights. An 

Employee may be on Transfer probation or Promotion probation while on 

Certification Probation which may prevent their ability for Transfer or Promotion.   

b. Employees moving from non-CLEST certified status to CLEST certified status will 

have a one (1) year Certification Probation period and will be required to complete a 

CLEST Certified Position Probationary Period Acknowledgement (Attachment #3). 

L. Promotion. A change in duty assignment of an Employee from a position in one classification to 
another position with a higher salary or grade requiring higher qualifications, such as greater skill, more 
experience, or involving a higher level of responsibility.  

M. Rehire. Employee returning to state service with the Department after a break in employment of two 
(2) or more pay periods. 

N. Resignation. An act or instance of renouncing or giving up a position.  

O. Transfer. Employees transferring between state agencies, institutions, or laterally within the divisions 
of the Department without a break in service.  

P. Veteran. For purposes of this policy, Veteran means a person honorably discharged from a tour of 
active duty, other than active duty for training only, with the US Armed Forces; or any person who has 
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served honorably in the National Guard or a reserve component of the US Armed Forces for a period 
of at least six (6) years, whether the person has retired or been discharged or not. 

Q. Waiver. A request to have Promotion limitations by a current Employee who is applying for a lateral 
or promotional position within the Department. 

III.  PROCEDURES 

A. Exclusions 

1. The provisions of this Directive do not govern the selection or removal of members of the Parole 
Board. The selection or removal of Parole Board Members is governed by A.C.A. § 16-93-201. 

2. The Employees of the Correctional School are governed by the personnel policies set by the Board 
of Corrections (when convened as the Board of Education for the Arkansas Correctional School 
District). 

3. The provisions of this Directive do not govern the selection or removal of the Director or members 
of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission (ASC). The selection or removal of the Director or 
members of the ASC is governed by A.C.A. § 16-90-802.   

4. The provisions of this Directive do not govern the selection or removal of members of the Criminal 
Detention Facility Review Committee (CDFRC). The selection or removal of the CDFRC members 
is governed by A.C.A. § 12-26-105.   

B. Position Vacancies 

1. The Hiring Official or their designee must create a job requisition in SuccessFactors before 
beginning the process of filling any vacant position.  

2. Except as provided below, positions must be advertised according to procedures established by the 
Office of Personnel Management (OPM). 

a. Positions graded at or above GS13, IT08, MP03, or SE01 are not required to be advertised.  The 
Secretary, Division Directors, or their designee has the authority and discretion to appoint or 
transfer individuals into these classifications.   

b. Emergency Hires. A position designated as an emergency hire must have OPM approval before 
the position can be filled. An emergency hire is only permitted when the delay of advertising a 
vacancy would have an immediate effect on the public welfare, health, and safety.  

c. Any other position authorized by the Governor. 

3. A request for advertisement of a position that requires additional actions (newspapers or websites) 
must be submitted to and coordinated by the Central Human Resources Office. 

C. Applications, Minimum Qualifications, and Pre-Interview Scoring 

1. Applications.  

a. Applications will be submitted/reviewed by the Central Human Resources Office. 

b. Applications must be submitted via the ARCareers website at arcareers.arkansas.gov. 

c. In the case of positions advertised on social media or other platforms in addition to the 
ARCareers website, no application information may be solicited or accepted via the external 
platform. The platform is only to be used as a mechanism to direct potential applicants to the 
ARCareers job listing. 

 

 

2. Minimum Qualifications. 
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a. After the job posting closes, the Central Human Resources Office will review applications and 

create a list of applicants who meet minimum qualifications.  

b. Applicants who meet minimum qualifications will move on to Pre-Interview Scoring. Those 
applicants who do not meet minimum qualifications will be notified by Central Human Resources 
that they did not meet minimum qualifications for the position, and the reason(s) why. 

3. Pre-Interview Scoring. After notifying those applicants who do not meet minimum qualifications, 
Central Human Resources Office will examine applications and provide a Pre-Interview Score for 
each applicant. The Pre-Interview analysis will be scored as follows. 

a. Education. The applicant must meet minimum requirements for the job classification or must 
be approved as a qualified applicant per state requirements. All degrees, diplomas, or transcripts 
received must be from an institution accredited by the applicable Arkansas Department of 
Education or an accrediting body recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. The chart 
below details the appropriate number of based on the minimum requirements and the 
applicant’s educational level. 

i. A maximum of ten (10) points may be awarded for an applicant for completion of related 
education above and beyond the minimum educational requirements for the position. 

ii.  Applicants may be awarded Pre-Interview Score points based on their application without 
submitting a copy of the diploma or degree showing the award of the educational level, but 
a copy is required to be submitted prior to hiring. 

 

 

 

b. Experience.  An applicant’s experience for the job is awarded one-quarter (0.25) points for each 
month of related experience exceeding the minimum requirements, up to a maximum of ten (10) 
points. Work credit will only be given for paid positions (including those under the 
MyARInternship program), internships under an accredited higher education program relative to 
the experience, or educational qualifications for the position. 

c. Veteran’s Preference. Pursuant to A.C.A. § 21-3-302, an applicant may qualify for Veteran’s 
Preference points.   

i. The Department provides Veteran’s Preference to an individual who: 

a) Indicates on the employment application that they are: 

1.   A Veteran. 

2. A disabled Veteran 

3. The spouse of a disabled Veteran 

4. The surviving spouse of a deceased Veteran who is unmarried at the time of 
application for employment and remains unmarried until the decision to hire is 
made 

Minimum Required 
Education 

HS Diploma/ 
GED 

Associates 
Degree 

Bachelors 
Degree 

Masters 
Degree  

JD, PhD, MD, or  
Terminal Degree 

High School 
Diploma/GED 

0 pts 2.5 pts 5 pts 7.5 pts 10 pts 

Associate 

Degree 
N/A 0 pts 2.5 pts 5 pts 7.5 pts 

Bachelors Degree N/A N/A 0 pts 2.5 pts  5 pts 

Masters Degree  N/A N/A N/A 0 pts  2.5 pts  

JD, PhD, MD, or  
Terminal Degree  

N/A N/A N/A N/A           0 pts   
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b) A resident of Arkansas 

c) Meets minimum qualifications for the position to which the individual applied. 

ii. Veterans Preference will be scored as either five (5) or ten (10) points. 

a)  Ten (10) points will be awarded if: 

1. The applicant establishes the existence of a service-connected disability. 

2. The Veteran is over fifty-five (55) years of age, disabled, and entitled to a pension 
or compensation under existing laws. 

3. The applicant is the spouse of a Veteran with a service-related disability whose 
disability disqualifies them for selection. 

b) Five (5) points will be awarded if the applicant establishes qualifications for Veteran’s 
preference but does not meet the criteria for being awarded ten (10) points. 

iii. An applicant may voluntarily submit official proof of their status as a Veteran, disabled 
Veteran, spouse, or a surviving spouse of a deceased Veteran to receive Veteran’s preference 

points.  

D. Total Pre-Interview Score. Central Human Resources Office will add Veteran’s Preference Points to 
Education points (total max points allowed) and Experience points to get a Pre-Interview Score.   

E. Selecting Applicants for Interview 

1. After creating a list of applicants who meet minimum qualifications and evaluating those applicants 
using the Pre-Interview Scoring qualification, Central Human Resources Office will provide the 
Hiring Official with a list of qualified applicants and their Pre-Interview Score.  

2. All applicants who indicate Veteran’s status shall be interviewed if they meet minimum 
qualifications for the position.  

3.  The Hiring Official will select which applicants to interview.  

a. The Hiring Official may decline to interview an applicant with a documented history of two (2) 
or more “no show”, no cancellation, and no follow up contact for previous interview 
appointments.  

b. An applicant may not be selected for an interview (excluding veterans) unless each applicant 
with the same or higher Pre-Interview Score is selected for interview. For example, to interview 
an applicant with a Pre-Interview Score of seven (7), the Hiring Official must offer an interview 
to all applicants with a Pre-Interview Score of seven (7) through ten (10).  

c. If an applicant is rehired after a previous “no rehire” recommendation, they must serve a 

mandatory one (1) year probationary term beginning at the latest rehire date before they are 

eligible for promotion.   

d. Staff on probation (excluding probation for disciplinary reasons) are required to request  a waiver 

prior to applying for a position. 

i. The request for a waiver shall be routed through the Central Human Resources 

Administrator (CHRA). 
ii. The waiver will be forwarded to the appropriate Division Director, the Secretary, or their 

designee and may be approved or denied at their discretion. 
iii. A waiver decision not received by the closing date of the job advertisement shall be 

considered a denial. 
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F. Interviews 

1. Interview Committee 

a. The Hiring Official selects the interview committee.   

b. The interview committee must consist of two (2) or more current Employees from the 
Department. 

c. Employees serving on the interview committee must be the same or higher grade as the 
advertised grade and familiar with the knowledge, skills, and abilities of the position being filled. 

d. The Hiring Official may elect to bypass the committee for non-exempt positions, except for 
entry level Parole/Probation Officer. 

e. The Hiring Official may serve on the interview committee but is not required to do so. 

2. Interview Questions 

a.  The Hiring Official, in consultation with the CHRA or their designee, must create interview 
questions based on the knowledge, skills, and abilities (KSA) of the job, as designated by the 
official job duties and specifications.  

i. There must be at least one question for each KSA. 

ii. The Hiring Official must rank each question in order of importance. 

b.  The interview committee, or Hiring Official if a committee is bypassed, will use the interview 
questions to interview each applicant. 

i. All applicants should be asked the same questions, and all applicants should be asked every 
interview question. 

ii. Each member of the interview committee will score each question for each applicant. 

3. Interview Score 

a. Total interview scores will be calculated by Unit Human Resources, Local Human Resources, or 
Central Human Resources based upon the assigned Hiring Official. 

i. The applicable Human Resources Office will average the scores of interview committee 
members for each interview question. 

ii. Each averaged score will be weighted based on the priority assigned by the Hiring Official, 
resulting in a weighted interview score. 

b. An applicant will not be considered for the position without a weighted interview score of at 
least seventy percent (70%). 

G. Selecting an Applicant 

1. The Education Pre-Interview Score, Experience Pre-Interview Score, and Veteran’s Preference 
Pre-Interview Score will be added to the Interview Score to determine the highest scoring 
applicants. 

2. A Hiring Official may elect to grant a second interview to the three (3) highest scoring applicants 
if the Hiring Official did not participate in the initial interviews.   

 

3. The Hiring Official will select which applicant to offer the position to.  If the Hiring Official does 
not select the highest scoring applicant, they must submit written justification for selecting an 
applicant other than the highest scoring applicant. This justification must state in clear and 
unambiguous terms why the selected applicant was chosen over the highest scoring applicant. The 
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CHRA will review and approve or deny the justification. If approved, the justification will become 
a part of the applicant’s interview packet.  

H. Pre-Employment Screening and Offer of Employment 

1. Upon notification that an applicant has been selected, Human Resources will contact the selected 
applicant with a Conditional Offer of Employment and begin pre-employment screening. 

2. Pre-employment screening shall include, but is not limited to the following components: 

a. Comprehensive criminal background checks run against law enforcement indexes, including but 
not limited to: 

i. National Crime Information Center (NCIC) record review 

ii. Arkansas Crime Information Center (ACIC) record review 

iii. JusticeXchange review 

iv. Court Connect review 

b. Maltreatment Registry Checks 

c. Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA), and 

d. Division of Driver Services Traffic Violation Report (when applicable) 

i. If the NCIC/ACIC report reveals ten (10) or more points assessed against an applicant’s 
driver’s license or reveals that a license is suspended or not valid, the applicant is not eligible 
for hire if the position they applied for requires a driver’s license or requires driving on state 
business.   

ii. An applicant is not eligible for hire into a position that requires driving on state business if 
they have had a DWI within the last three (3) years that appears on their Traffic Violation 
Record (TVR) which is maintained by DFA Office of Driver Services.   

e. At least two (2) employment reference checks, unless waived by the Central Human Resources 
Administrator or their designee 

f.  Drug test screening 

g. A physical assessment (for law enforcement and correctional officers only) 

h. A tuberculosis skin test for any Employee (excluding ACC field services staff) in contact with 
residents/offenders, regardless of location (e.g., administrative offices) 

i. An assessment of the ability to perform Essential Job Functions 

j. If an applicant previously worked for a law enforcement agency, references are required from 
all the respective agencies 

3. If results from the pre-employment screening are satisfactory, Central Human Resources Office 
will make a final offer of employment to the selected applicant 

4. If the final offer of employment is accepted by the selected applicant, all other applicants will be 
notified of the decision by Central Human Resources Office 

 

 

 

I. Special Considerations for Current or Former Employees of the Department 

1. Promotion.  
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a. Employees of the Department may apply for a Promotion from their current position provided 

a vacancy has been advertised. A completed state application must be received during the 
advertisement period. 

b. The applicant will be considered with all other qualified applicants in the interview process.  

c. Approved Promotions should occur within two (2) weeks following the Employee’s acceptance 
of the final offer of employment and notice to their supervisor unless alternative arrangements 
are authorized by the Hiring Official and the Employee’s current supervisor.  

d. If an employee is promoting from a non-CLEST position to a CLEST certified position, they 
must complete a CLEST Certified Position Probationary Period Acknowledgement form 
(Attachment #3) to certify their understanding of the mandatory one (1) year probationary 
period associated with the promotion.  

2. Transfer. 

a. Administrative Transfer. The Secretary or appropriate Division Director may Transfer an 
Employee to another location or another classification (at the same grade) when the Transfer is 
in the best interest of the Department. 

b. Voluntary Transfer. An Employee of the Department may request a voluntary Transfer from a 
position classification at one location to the same position classification at another location 
provided there is an open advertisement for that position at the desired location. 

i. It is the applicant’s responsibility to apply for the open position via the ARCareers website.  

ii. It is the applicant’s responsibility to attach a completed Employee Request for Transfer form 
(Attachment #1) to the application in ARCareers signed by releasing and receiving official.  

iii. The Hiring Official has the option of selecting a Transfer applicant in lieu of interviewing for 
the vacant position.  

iv. Employees who are currently on Disciplinary Probation are not eligible to Transfer.  

v. A request must be submitted to an Employee’s Human Resources (HR) Representative at 
the Unit or Local office for review and approval or denial.   

a) The Unit or Local HR Representative must forward the request the appropriate Deputy 
Director, Assistant Director, Administrator, or the Chief of Staff for review.   

b) Once a determination is made, the request must be forwarded to the CHRA or their 
designee.  

vi. Approved Transfers should occur within two (2) weeks following the Employee’s acceptance 
of the final offer of employment and notice to his or her supervisor unless alternative 
arrangements are authorized by the Hiring Official and the Employee’s current supervisor. 
The delay or denial of a transfer between Divisions is at the discretion of the Secretary or 
their designee.  

3. Demotion. 

a. Administrative Demotion. Employees may be demoted to a lower-graded position classification 
in accordance with provisions of the Department Employee Conduct Standards and Discipline 
Secretarial Directive. All Demotions must be approved by the Secretary, Division Director, or 
their designee. The Employee will not be eligible to be promoted for twelve (12) months from 
the effective date of the Demotion.  

b. Voluntary Demotion. Employees of the Department may request a voluntary Demotion from 
their current position classification at one location to a lower graded position classification at 
the same or at another location, provided a vacancy has been advertised. The Employee will 
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not be eligible to be promoted for twelve (12) months from the effective date of the 
Demotion.   

i. The twelve (12) month timeline remains in effect even if the employee is no longer 
employed with the Department. For example, an employee voluntarily demotes from a 
GS06 to a GS05 on 2/1/2022. The employee subsequently accepts employment with an 
outside entity on 5/1/2022.  On 9/1/2022, the former employee applies for a GS07 
position within the DOC. The former employee is ineligible to be hired in the GS07 
position until 2/1/2023. 

ii. A completed state application via the ARCareers website must be received during the 

advertisement period.  

iii. The applicant will be considered with all other qualified applicants during the hiring process.  

iv. Approved Demotions should occur within two (2) weeks following the Employee’s 

acceptance of the final offer of employment and notice to his or her supervisor unless 

alternative arrangements are authorized by the Hiring Official and the Employee’s current 

supervisor.  

v. A request for demotion must be submitted to your HR Representative at the Unit or Local 

office for review and approval or denial.  

a) The Unit or Local HR Representative must forward the request for demotion to the 

appropriate Deputy Director, Assistant Director, Administrator, or the Chief of Staff for 

review.  

b) Once a determination is made, the request must be forwarded to the CHRA or their 

designee. 

vi. Only the appropriate Deputy or Assistant Director or the Chief of Staff has the authority to 

approve or deny a voluntary demotion from their respective Division.  

c. Change in Pay. When an Employee is voluntarily or administratively demoted to a classification 
one or more grades below the classification within their current pay grid, a base salary decrease 
of 10% will be required. Demotions may result in a change in pay greater than 10% if the 
maximum allowed salary for the position an Employee is demoted to is greater than 10% of 
their current salary. 

d. A completed Demotion Acknowledgement Form (Attachment #2) must be filled out by the 

employee demoting positions and retained by their local Human Resources Office.  

4. Rehire. 

a. The Central Human Resources Office will review Rehire applications and related previous work 
history to determine the reason(s) the Employee terminated employment with the Department.  

b. Applications from persons not recommended for Rehire will not be considered for at least 
twelve (12) months from their date of termination; however, the HR Administrator may approve 
Rehire after six (6) months upon request of the Hiring Official if termination was unrelated to 
either lying or making false statements, contraband, or inappropriate relationships with 
offenders, unless the Employee left pending an investigation. Applications from persons 
convicted of certain felonies, who committed violations of policy, or displayed certain 
unacceptable behaviors shall not be considered.  

i. Although a criminal Conviction does not automatically disqualify an applicant for rehire, 
discretionary approval based on the nature of the offense and job duties is required from 
the Secretary, Chief of Staff, or the appropriate Division Director. 

040



SD 2022-04  Employment    Page 10 of 10 
 

 
c. Potential Rehire Applicants for security positions will only be considered for employment at the 

last unit of assignment if less than one (1) year from termination date, however if the termination 
date is one (1) year or longer, the applicant may be considered for employment at other 
units/facilities.  

d. A rehired Employee that was not recommended for Rehire will not be eligible to apply for a 
Promotion for one (1) year from the Rehire date. 

e. Any deviation from Rehire restrictions must be approved by the Secretary or Chief of Staff. 

5. Fiscal and IT Positions. Incumbent Employees who promote or demote to a position in areas that 
involve fiscal, or IT duties must have a background check completed and submitted prior to 
transfer, Promotion, or Demotion. These background checks will be updated at least every five (5) 
years. Although a criminal Conviction does not automatically disqualify an applicant, discretionary 
approval based on the nature of the offense and job duties is required from the Secretary, Chief 
of Staff, or the appropriate Division Director.  

 
6. Staff shall not be permitted to submit leave to start another job in lieu of a two (2) week notice.  

 

IV. PROCEDURES MANUAL AND REQUIRED FORMS 

Central Human Resources shall develop standard operating procedures and required forms to guide the 
employment process. The forms will be placed on the Department intranet site (DOC Connect) and 
are also available upon request from Central Human Resources. 

V. ATTACHMENTS 

Attachment 1. Employee Request for Transfer Form  
Attachment 2. Demotion Acknowledgement Form 
Attachment 3. CLEST Certified Position Probationary Period Acknowledgement Form 
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Employee Request for Demotion or Transfer  

Demotion □    Transfer □  

Complete the following information and forward to your Administrator, Warden, or Area Manager. 

Name:    Date: _____________ Current Job Title:      
 
Location: ______________ Grade:  Requesting Job Title:  _______________    
 
Location: ______________Grade: If position is currently being advertised, list position #:   
 
Reason for Request:            
 
Are you requesting to leave from one facility or office to another? If requesting to move to a different facility, 
is there anyone you know serving a sentence at the requested facility? 
 
Yes: ___    No: ___ N/A: ____ Name: ____________________ Relationship:      
  
______________________________________                     __________________________ 
                 Employee Signature                                                                    Date   
 
 

Approved □ Denied □  Reason:          
             
   
___________________________________                         _________________ 
Current Administrator/Warden/Area Manager                                Date  
 
Release Date: __________________________ 
 
 

Approved □ Denied □   Reason:      
      
 
___________________________________                            ________________ 
Requested Administrator/Warden/Area Manager                                  Date                                                
 
 
 
__________________________________ ___________________        
Division Director or Assistant/Deputy Director  Date                    

 
_______________________________ ___________________        
Human Resources Administrator Date

Department of Corrections     
      SHARED SERVICES 
         Human Resources 
    

  

2403 East Harding Ave. 
Pine Bluff, AR  71601 
Phone: (870) 850-8510 

Fax: (870) 850-8550 
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 DEMOTION ACKNOWLEDGEMENT FORM 

 
I, _____________________________________________, understand and agree to the following 
       (Printed Employee Name) 
 
conditions with my demotion from ____________________________________________ to  
       (Current Position Title) 
 
______________________________________________________. 
    (New Position Title) 
 
 
(Initial each line) 
 
__________     My salary will decrease by 10 % according to the state law and policy set forth by the Office of 

Personnel Management.  I understand my salary cannot exceed the max salary for the assigned 
pay grade.  

 
__________       I understand that I will also lose any incentive pay (Hazard Duty, Max, Geographic, Certification) 

associated with the current position when going to the new position.   
 
__________   I will not be eligible to promote for twelve (12) months following the effective date of the 

demotion as stated in the Department’s Employment policy. 
 
Write a brief statement detailing why you want to demote. 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 
I fully understand what I am signing, and I do so freely and willingly. 
 
 

             _____________________________        
Employee Signature                                                                                      Date    
 

Retain Copy at Unit/Office  

Department of Corrections     
      SHARED SERVICES 
         Human Resources 
    

  

2403 East Harding Ave. 
Pine Bluff, AR  71601 
Phone: (870) 850-8510 

Fax: (870) 850-8550 
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 CLEST CERTIFIED POSITION 

PROBATIONARY PERIOD ACKNOWLEDGEMENT 

 

 

This acknowledgement confirms your understanding of the one (1) year certification probationary 

period for appointment from a non-CLEST certified status to a CLEST certified status. This 

probationary period is not punitive and does not prohibit promotions or transfers.   

 

I understand that the one (1) year certification probationary period starts at the time of my 

appointment to a CLEST certified position. I understand that this probationary period is not a 

disciplinary or initial probation period and does not prevent my ability to be promoted or 

transferred.  

 

 

 

2403 East Harding Ave. 
Pine Bluff, AR  71601 
Phone: (870) 850-8510 

Fax: (870) 850-8550 
 

Department of Corrections     
      SHARED SERVICES 
         Human Resources 
 
       2403 East Harding Ave. 
         Pine Bluff, AR  71601 
         Phone: (870) 850-8510 
         Fax: (870) 850-8550 

     

  

NAME AASIS # DATE 
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APPROVED: Original signature on file      EFFECTIVE 
DATE: 6/27/22      
I. POLICY: 

 As the executive head of the Arkansas Department of Corrections (Department), it is the responsibility 
of the Secretary of Corrections (Secretary) to administer the various rules, orders, or directives issued by 
the Department, in addition to administering the real and personal property, fixtures, contracts and 
assignable leases of the Department. The purpose of this directive is to ensure that procurement and 
contracting guidelines comply with all applicable state laws, and federal laws, and , administrative rules 
issued by the Board of Corrections (Board). This policy, and any substantive revision, must be approved 
by the Board prior to adoption.  

II. DEFINITIONS: 

A. Capital Equipment. Equipment with a value of $5,000 or more than can be moved from place to 
place. (ex. washer, dryer, oven, etc.). 

B. Commodities. Any tangible good or product that can be bought or sold. (ex. shoes, mattress, office 
supplies, cleaning supplies, etc.). 

C. Disposition. Disposal, sale, or transfer of surplus Commodities. 

D. Emergency Procurements. Acquisition of Commodities or services of which, if not immediately 
initiated, will endanger human life or health, Department property, or the functional capability of the 
Department. 

E. Natural Resources. Materials or substances that occur in nature and can be used for economic gain. 
(ex. trees, land, etc.). 

F. Procurement. Purchasing, buying, renting, leasing, contracting, or otherwise obtaining any 
Commodities or services. 
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G. Professional Services. Service that requires professional licensure. (ex. architectural services, dietetics, 
etc.). 

H. Sole Source Procurements. Acquisition of Commodities or services that by virtue of specifications, 
are available from a single source. 

I. Technical Services. Services that include a commodity. (ex. pest control service, waste disposal 
service, reentry housing, transitional housing, etc.).  

J. Vehicle. Applies to Vehicles that would require state licensure if they were to be used on state 
highways. All-terrain vehicles (ATVs) are not subject to requirements as specified in this policy. 

 

III.  ADMINISTRATION: 

A. The Chief Financial Officer (CFO) will maintain a Procurement Section as a Shared Service within 
the Department. The Procurement section will administer the Procurement and Disposition of all 
Commodities and Services as consistent with the provisions of this directive.  

B. The Procurement section will establish Procurement liaisons for each division and other operational 
areas within the Department. The liaisons will serve as the initial point of contact for any issue 
related to the Procurement or Disposition of Commodities and Services.  

B.  

 IV.  GUIDELINES: 

A.  Procurement of Commodities and Services 

1. Procedures for Procurement and receiving of Commodities and Services are governed by 
applicable state and laws, federal laws, and policies of agencies with the authority to administer 
these activities.  

2. Procurements within approved operating budgets for various divisions , which are not subject to 
other authorizations, do not impact other divisions, or are otherwise restricted by policy , will be 
authorized by the appropriate Division Director or their designee.   

3. Emergency Procurements must be approved by the appropriate Division Director or Chief of 
Staff (for Shared Services). 

4. SThe sole Ssource Procurementpurchase of equipment requires approval of the Secretary. Sole 
Ssource Procurementpurchase of equipment exceeding $50,000 also requires approval of the 
Board. 

5. In the event there is a farm equipment item available for purchase at auction, advanced approval 
for Sole Source Procurement must be obtained from the Office of State Procurement and the 
Board of Correction Farm Liaison prior to submitting a bid. If the bid is successful, details of the 
purchase will be provided in the following monthly report to the Board. 

6. Procurement of Capital Equipment items from all fund sources requires approval of the 
appropriate Division Director. However, the Division Director may delegate their approval 
authority for Procurement of specific Capital Equipment items or specific dollar amounts.  

a. Capital Equipment Procurement in excess of $10,000 must also be approved by the 
Secretary.  

5. Capital Equipment Procurements in excess of $20,000 must also be approved by the Board. 
The Board will receive notification only, from the Secretary or designee, of Capital 
Equipment Procurements between $10,000 and $20,000. 

b.  
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c. If there is a variance in price exceeding 10% of the original approved cost of a Capital 
Equipment item after the date the purchase request is approved and before the actual 
purchase, additional approval from the Board is required before the item can be purchased.  

6. Procurement of Capital Equipment items from all fund sources requires approval of the 
appropriate Division Director. However, the Division Director may delegate their approval 
authority for Procurement of specific Capital Equipment items or specific dollar amounts. 
Capital Equipment Procurement in excess of $10,000 must also be approved by the 
Secretary. Capital Equipment Procurements in excess of $25,000 must also be approved by 
the   Board.  

7. Offender Inmate Welfare Fund merchandise for resale may be procured by the Warden. Other 
Procurements from the Offender Inmate Welfare Fund require the following approvals: 

a. Procurements of $1,000 or less require prior approval of the applicable Warden and the 
Chief Financial Officer.  

b. Procurements of more than $1,000 but less than $10,000 also require the approval of the 
Director of Division of Correction or their designee. 

c. Procurements of $10,000 or more, unless exempted in the following section,  also require the 
approval of the Secretary and the Board. 

c.d. Procurements related to facility maintenance do not require Board approval unless 
they exceed $20,000. 

8. Procurements from the Paws in Prison Fund shall be limited to operational support of the 
program and require the following approvals: 

a. Procurements of $1,000 or less require prior approval of the Department Communications 
Director who supervises the program. 

b. Procurements of more than $1,000 but less than $10,000 require approval of the Director of 
the Division of Correction. 

c. Procurements of $10,000 or more also require approval of the Secretary and the Board. 

9. Procurements from the Resident Services Cash Fund of merchandise for resale and food items 
may be procured by the Center Supervisor. Other Procurements from the Resident Services Cash 
Fund require the following approvals: 

a. Purchases less than $10,000 require the approval of the Division Director and the Division 
Deputy Director of Residential Services.  

b. Purchases of $10,000 or moree, unless exempted in the following section, also require 
approval of the Secretary and the Board.  

b.c. Purchases related to facility maintenance do not require Board approval unless they 
exceed $20,000. 

10. Procurement of Commodities and Services required for authorized construction or renovation 
projects shall be approved by the Division Director or their designee.  

11. Procurement of Vehicles requires approval of the Department of Finance and Administration 
(DFA). Upon the recommendation of the Division Director, the Secretary must sign and approve 
the Vehicle request form which is forwarded to the DFA for final approval. DFA guidelines for 
Vehicle Procurement can be found in the latest version of the State of Arkansas Vehicle Use and 
Management Handbook.  

B. Prohibition. The utilization of Split Procurement to avoid the approval thresholds will be considered 
a violation of this Directive.   
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V.  Disposition of Commodities:DISPOSITION OF COMMODITIES: 

A. Disposition of Commodities and Natural Resources shall be governed by applicable state and federal 
laws, guidelines, and procedures.  

1. Sales of industry produced Commodities and services and farm produced Commodities are 
governed by applicable state and federal laws, guidelines, and procedures. 

2. The sale or Disposition of buildings, goods, land, and sales exceeding $50,000 require the 
approval of the Secretary and the Board. The demolition of any building requires the Division 
Director, Secretary, and the Board regardless of the building’s value. 

 

2.  

VI.  Leases LEASES:  

A. Leases of equipment, offices, storage space, land for agricultural operations, and buildings to house  
offenders shall be governed by applicable state and federal laws, procedures, and guidelines.  

B. Approvals 

1. Lease of offices, equipment, and storage space: 

a. Leases of office, storage space and equipment require approval of the Division Director. H; 
however, if a new lease will exceed $50,000 or an existing lease agreement will increase by 
more than 5% per year, the approval of the Secretary and the Board is also required.  

b. Lease of office space resulting in relocation of staff requires the approval of the Secretary 
and the Board. 

c. Lease of land or buildings for agricultural operations, or to house offenders requires the 
approval of the Division Director, the Secretary, and the Board.  

d. Leases over $10,000 per year requires approval of the appropriate Division Director.  

2. Lease of farm equipment:  

a. Pursuant to A.C.A. § 19-11-221, the Board shall on an annual basis or more frequently if 
deemed necessary, shall determine if it is in the best interest of the State to lease or purchase 
farm machinery and equipment.  If leasing is determined to be the better option, contracts 
for leased farm equipment and machinery may be awarded for an initial period of two (2) 
years with the option to renew for two (2) additional years. H; however, the total contract 
term shall not be more than 5 years.  

b. On an annual basis, the Division of Correction’s Agricultural Administrator will present an 
itemized list with the /cost of leased farm machinery and equipment to the Board for 
approval.   

VII.  Procurement PROCUREMENT OF LANDof Land, BUILDINGSuildings, 
Construction CONSTRUCTION, or OR Renovation Projects:RENOVATION PROJECTS: 

A. Procurement of land, buildings, construction, and renovation projects shall be governed by 
applicable state and federal laws, guidelines, and procedures.  In addition, the following approvals are 
required: 

1. Procurement of land, buildings, construction, and renovation projects under $50,000 requires 
approval of the appropriate Division Director.  

2. Procurement of land, buildings, construction, and renovation projects $50,000 and greater 
requires approval of the Secretary and the Board. 
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VIII.  ContractsCONTRACTS::  

A. Contracts for Commodities or Services shall be governed by applicable state and federal law, 
guidelines, policies, and procedures. Amendments that adjust the amount of fees or the percentages 
of the total amounts to be paid, the scope of services, or that increase the previously approved cost 
per offender per day contract bid rate require the same approvals as initially required. In addition, the 
following approvals are required: 

1. Professional and Consultant Services. Contracts for Professional and Consultant Services require 
approval of the Secretary. Contracts for $50,000 or greater, inclusive of amendments, further 
require approval of the Board. Board approval is only required for the Divisions of Correction 
and Community Correction, Shared Services, and the Correctional School District. 

1.2. Architectural and Engineering Services. Contracts for architectural and engineering services for 
new construction or facility improvements require Board and Secretarial selection and approval 
of a contractor pursuant to A.C.A § 12-27-111. Selection and approval may be based on approval 
of an interview committee. If used, interview committees will include a Board member or the 
designee of the Board, in addition to Division staff. Amendments that increase or decrease the 
percentage of the total contract amount to be paid to the contractor require approval of the 
Board and the Secretary.   

B. All contracts for medical, legal, and operation of private facilities require review by the Department’s 
Legal Division prior to consideration of the Board.  

1. Medical Services. The Secretary will submit all contracts for medical services which require 
Board selection and approval. Amendments that affect the scope of services, the previously 
approved per offender per day contract rate exceeding the contract bid rate, the method of 
calculation of compensation, and other adjustments to fees to be paid also require approval of 
the Board.  

2. Legal Services. The Secretary will submit contracts for outside legal services to the Board for 
approval. 

3. Private Facility Operation Services. The Secretary will submit contracts for the operation of 
residential, Community Correction, or prison facilities to the Board for approval of contractor.  
Amendments that affect the scope of services, the per offender per day contract rate exceeding 
the contract bid rate previously approved, the method of calculation of compensation, and other 
adjustments to fees to be paid also require approval of the Board. This requirement does not 
apply to the selection of transitional housing or reentry facilities.  

C. Should an emergency or time-sensitive situation necessitate immediate Procurement of Commodities 
or services that require approval of the Board as outlined herein, the Secretary’s Office will contact 
the Board Chairman or a designated Board liaison if the Chairman is unavailable for the Chairman’s 
Board’s emergency approval or to request a special meeting for full Board consideration and 
approval.   

IX.  ReportsREPORTS: 

                          The Secretary shall provide a monthly report to the Board listing new or renewed contracts 
of $10,000 or more pertaining to the Division of Correction, Division of Community Correction, or the 
Correctional School District. 
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I. POLICY: 

 As the executive head of the Arkansas Department of Corrections (Department), it is the responsibility 
of the Secretary of Corrections (Secretary) to administer the various rules, orders, or directives issued by 
the Department, in addition to administering the real and personal property, fixtures, contracts and 
assignable leases of the Department. The purpose of this directive is to ensure that procurement and 
contracting guidelines comply with all applicable state laws, federal laws, and administrative rules issued 
by the Board of Corrections (Board). This policy, and any substantive revision, must be approved by the 
Board prior to adoption.  

II. DEFINITIONS: 

A. Capital Equipment. Equipment with a value of $5,000 or more than can be moved from place to 
place (ex. washer, dryer, oven, etc.). 

B. Commodities. Any tangible good or product that can be bought or sold (ex. shoes, mattress, office 
supplies, cleaning supplies, etc.). 

C. Disposition. Disposal, sale, or transfer of surplus Commodities. 

D. Emergency Procurements. Acquisition of Commodities or services of which, if not immediately 
initiated, will endanger human life or health, Department property, or the functional capability of the 
Department. 

E. Natural Resources. Materials or substances that occur in nature and can be used for economic gain 
(ex. trees, land, etc.). 

F. Procurement. Purchasing, buying, renting, leasing, contracting, or otherwise obtaining any 
Commodities or services. 

G. Professional Services. Service that requires professional licensure (ex. architectural services, dietetics, 
etc.). 
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H. Sole Source Procurements. Acquisition of Commodities or services that by virtue of specifications, 
are available from a single source. 

I. Technical Services. Services that include a commodity (ex. pest control service, waste disposal 
service, reentry housing, transitional housing, etc.). 

J. Vehicle. Applies to Vehicles that would require state licensure if they were to be used on state 
highways. All-terrain vehicles (ATVs) are not subject to requirements as specified in this policy. 

 

III.  ADMINISTRATION: 

A. The Chief Financial Officer (CFO) will maintain a Procurement Section as a Shared Service within 
the Department. The Procurement section will administer the Procurement and Disposition of all 
Commodities and Services as consistent with the provisions of this directive.  

B. The Procurement section will establish Procurement liaisons for each division and other operational 
areas within the Department. The liaisons will serve as the initial point of contact for any issue 
related to the Procurement or Disposition of Commodities and Services.  

 IV.  GUIDELINES: 

A.  Procurement of Commodities and Services 

1. Procedures for Procurement and receiving of Commodities and Services are governed by 
applicable state laws, federal laws, and policies of agencies with the authority to administer these 
activities.  

2. Procurements within approved operating budgets for various divisions which are not subject to 
other authorizations, do not impact other divisions, or are otherwise restricted by policy will be 
authorized by the appropriate Division Director or their designee.   

3. Emergency Procurements must be approved by the appropriate Division Director or Chief of 
Staff (for Shared Services). 

4. Sole Source Procurement of equipment requires approval of the Secretary. Sole Source 
Procurement of equipment exceeding $50,000 also requires approval of the Board. 

5. In the event there is a farm equipment item available for purchase at auction, advanced approval 
for Sole Source Procurement must be obtained from the Office of State Procurement and the 
Board of Correction Farm Liaison prior to submitting a bid. If the bid is successful, details of the 
purchase will be provided in the following monthly report to the Board. 

6. Procurement of Capital Equipment items from all fund sources requires approval of the 
appropriate Division Director. However, the Division Director may delegate their approval 
authority for Procurement of specific Capital Equipment items or specific dollar amounts.  

a. Capital Equipment Procurement in excess of $10,000 must also be approved by the 
Secretary.  

b. Capital Equipment Procurements in excess of $20,000 must also be approved by the Board. 
The Board will receive notification only, from the Secretary or designee, of Capital 
Equipment Procurements between $10,000 and $20,000. 

c. If there is a variance in price exceeding 10% of the original approved cost of a Capital 
Equipment item after the date the purchase request is approved and before the actual 
purchase, additional approval from the Board is required before the item can be purchased.  

7. Inmate Welfare Fund merchandise for resale may be procured by the Warden. Other 
Procurements from the Inmate Welfare Fund require the following approvals: 
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a. Procurements of $1,000 or less require prior approval of the applicable Warden and the 
Chief Financial Officer.  

b. Procurements of more than $1,000 but less than $10,000 also require the approval of the 
Director of Division of Correction or their designee. 

c. Procurements of $10,000 or more, unless exempted in the following section, also require the 
approval of the Secretary and the Board. 

d. Procurements related to facility maintenance do not require Board approval unless they 
exceed $20,000. 

8. Procurements from the Paws in Prison Fund shall be limited to operational support of the 
program and require the following approvals: 

a. Procurements of $1,000 or less require prior approval of the Department Communications 
Director who supervises the program. 

b. Procurements of more than $1,000 but less than $10,000 require approval of the Director of 
the Division of Correction. 

c. Procurements of $10,000 or more require approval of the Secretary and the Board. 

9. Procurements from the Resident Services Cash Fund of merchandise for resale and food items 
may be procured by the Center Supervisor. Other Procurements from the Resident Services Cash 
Fund require the following approvals: 

a. Purchases less than $10,000 require the approval of the Division Director and the Division 
Deputy Director of Residential Services.  

b. Purchases of $10,000 or more, unless exempted in the following section, also require 
approval of the Secretary and the Board.  

c. Purchases related to facility maintenance do not require Board approval unless they exceed 
$20,000. 

10. Procurement of Commodities and Services required for authorized construction or renovation 
projects shall be approved by the Division Director or their designee.  

11. Procurement of Vehicles requires approval of the Department of Finance and Administration 
(DFA). Upon the recommendation of the Division Director, the Secretary must sign and approve 
the Vehicle request form which is forwarded to the DFA for final approval. DFA guidelines for 
Vehicle Procurement can be found in the latest version of the State of Arkansas Vehicle Use and 
Management Handbook.  

B. Prohibition. The utilization of Split Procurement to avoid the approval thresholds will be considered 
a violation of this Directive.   

V.  DISPOSITION OF COMMODITIES: 

A. Disposition of Commodities and Natural Resources shall be governed by applicable state and federal 
laws, guidelines, and procedures.  

1. Sales of industry produced Commodities and services and farm produced Commodities are 
governed by applicable state and federal laws, guidelines, and procedures. 

2. The sale or Disposition of buildings, goods, land, and sales exceeding $50,000 require the 
approval of the Secretary and the Board. The demolition of any building requires the Division 
Director, Secretary, and the Board regardless of the building’s value. 
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VI.  LEASES:  

A. Leases of equipment, offices, storage space, land for agricultural operations, and buildings to house 
offenders shall be governed by applicable state and federal laws, procedures, and guidelines.  

B. Approvals 

1. Lease of offices, equipment, and storage space: 

a. Leases of office, storage space and equipment require approval of the Division Director. 
However, if a new lease will exceed $50,000 or an existing lease agreement will increase by 
more than 5% per year, the approval of the Secretary and the Board is also required.  

b. Lease of office space resulting in relocation of staff requires the approval of the Secretary 
and the Board. 

c. Lease of land or buildings for agricultural operations, or to house offenders requires the 
approval of the Division Director, the Secretary, and the Board.  

d. Leases over $10,000 per year requires approval of the appropriate Division Director.  

2. Lease of farm equipment: 

a. Pursuant to A.C.A. § 19-11-221, the Board shall on an annual basis or more frequently if 
deemed necessary, shall determine if it is in the best interest of the State to lease or purchase 
farm machinery and equipment.  If leasing is determined to be the better option, contracts 
for leased farm equipment and machinery may be awarded for an initial period of two (2) 
years with the option to renew for two (2) additional years. However, the total contract term 
shall not be more than 5 years.  

b. On an annual basis, the Division of Correction’s Agricultural Administrator will present an 
itemized list with the cost of leased farm machinery and equipment to the Board for 
approval.   

VII.  PROCUREMENT OF LAND, BUILDINGS, CONSTRUCTION, OR 
RENOVATION PROJECTS: 

A. Procurement of land, buildings, construction, and renovation projects shall be governed by 
applicable state and federal laws, guidelines, and procedures.  In addition, the following approvals are 
required: 

1. Procurement of land, buildings, construction, and renovation projects under $50,000 requires 
approval of the appropriate Division Director.  

2. Procurement of land, buildings, construction, and renovation projects $50,000 and greater 
requires approval of the Secretary and the Board. 

VIII.  CONTRACTS: 

A. Contracts for Commodities or Services shall be governed by applicable state and federal law, 
guidelines, policies, and procedures. Amendments that adjust the amount of fees or the percentages 
of the total amounts to be paid, the scope of services, or that increase the previously approved cost 
per offender per day contract bid rate require the same approvals as initially required. In addition, the 
following approvals are required: 

1. Professional and Consultant Services. Contracts for Professional and Consultant Services require 
approval of the Secretary. Contracts for $50,000 or greater, inclusive of amendments, further 
require approval of the Board. Board approval is only required for the Divisions of Correction 
and Community Correction, Shared Services, and the Correctional School District. 
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2. Architectural and Engineering Services. Contracts for architectural and engineering services for 
new construction or facility improvements require Board and Secretarial selection and approval 
of a contractor pursuant to A.C.A § 12-27-111. Selection and approval may be based on approval 
of an interview committee. If used, interview committees will include a Board member or the 
designee of the Board, in addition to Division staff. Amendments that increase or decrease the 
percentage of the total contract amount to be paid to the contractor require approval of the 
Board and the Secretary.   

B. All contracts for medical, legal, and operation of private facilities require review by the Department’s 
Legal Division prior to consideration of the Board.  

1. Medical Services. The Secretary will submit all contracts for medical services which require 
Board selection and approval. Amendments that affect the scope of services, the previously 
approved per offender per day contract rate exceeding the contract bid rate, the method of 
calculation of compensation, and other adjustments to fees to be paid also require approval of 
the Board.  

2. Legal Services. The Secretary will submit contracts for outside legal services to the Board for 
approval. 

3. Private Facility Operation Services. The Secretary will submit contracts for the operation of 
residential, Community Correction, or prison facilities to the Board for approval of contractor.  
Amendments that affect the scope of services, the per offender per day contract rate exceeding 
the contract bid rate previously approved, the method of calculation of compensation, and other 
adjustments to fees to be paid also require approval of the Board. This requirement does not 
apply to the selection of transitional housing or reentry facilities.  

C. Should an emergency or time-sensitive situation necessitate immediate Procurement of Commodities 
or services that require approval of the Board as outlined herein, the Secretary’s Office will contact 
the Board Chairman or a designated Board liaison if the Chairman is unavailable for the Board’s 
emergency approval or to request a special meeting for full Board consideration and approval.   

IX.  REPORTS: 

The Secretary shall provide a monthly report to the Board listing new or renewed contracts of $10,000 or 
more pertaining to the Division of Correction, Division of Community Correction, or the Correctional 
School District. 
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APPROVED: Original signature on file                                                    EFFECTIVE DATE:   6/28/2022                      
 

I. POLICY 
As the executive head of the Arkansas Department of Corrections (Department), it is the responsibility 
of the Secretary of Corrections (Secretary) to administer the various rules, orders, or directives issued 
by the Department. As a Department employee, your primary work duties, obligations, and 
responsibilities are to the Department. When permission is granted, staff may engage in Secondary 
Employment within the guidelines established by this directive and state policies regarding Concurrent 
Employment. 
 

II. DEFINITIONS: 
A. Concurrent Employment. Any state-funded position a Department employee holds outside of 

their official job duties within their position at the Department of Corrections. This includes any 
teaching position held with a state-funded institution or entity. 

B. Outside Employment. Any non-state funded position an employee holds outside of their official 
job duties within their position at the Department provided the employee receives approval from 
their supervisor and Central Human Resources Administrator (CHRA) and the outside 
employment is not otherwise prohibited by law or Department policy.   

C. Secondary Employment. Any paid Concurrent Employment or Outside Employment position 
an employee holds outside of their official duties within their position at the Department.  
 

III. PROCEDURES: 
A. General Procedures 

1. Employees in certain positions are subject to be called in to work as necessary. For 
example, an employee may be called in when there is an emergency or staff shortage. In 
such instances, if an employee is called in while they are working at their approved 
Secondary Employment position, they are expected to leave that job and report to their 
Department position.   

2. Employees must receive approval from the specified chain of command as outlined in 
procedures in this directive prior to engaging in any Secondary Employment position.  
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Deleted: 0

Deleted: 2

Deleted: 63. Pursuant to A.C.A. § 16-93-201, members of the Parole Board may engage in Secondary 
Employment that has a limited time commitment with approval from the Chair of the 
Parole Board. Members must seek approval following the procedures outlined in this 
directive. 

4. Employees are responsible for notifying their supervisor of any changes in Secondary 
Employment. Employees must submit a Notice of Secondary Employment form 
(Attachment #2) to their supervisor annually or any time there is a change in their 
Secondary Employment position. 

5. The CHRA or their designee shall send an employee and their supervisor a notice that the 
Notice of Secondary Employment form (Attachment #2) must be completed no less than 
thirty (30) days prior to the annual anniversary of the date their Secondary Employment 
Request form (Attachment #1) was approved. If the Notice of Secondary Employment 
form (Attachment #2) is not received by Human Resources following the procedures 
outlined in this directive, any existing Secondary Employment approval will expire on its 
approval anniversary.  

6. The Notice of Secondary Employment form (Attachment #2) must be completed 
annually and submitted to an employee’s supervisor even if there is no change to their 
Outside or Concurrent Employment. Supervisors shall forward the completed Notice of 
Secondary Employment form (Attachment #2) to the CHRA or their designee. The 
CHRA or their designee will scan the completed form into Laserfiche to be retained for 
the employee’s record.  

7. Outside Employment denials may only be overridden by the Secretary, Division Director, 
or their designee. Employees may request additional review and consideration of a denial 
within five (5) business days of the notification of the CHRA’s decision. Requests for 
additional review must be submitted in writing to an employee’s supervisor. Supervisors 
must forward these requests to the CHRA. The CHRA or their designee will forward the 
request to the Secretary, the appropriate Division Director, or their designee along with 
the original Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment #1) and documentation 
citing reason(s) for denial.  

8. Concurrent Employment requests that are denied cannot be overridden or appealed. 
9. Staff are prohibited from reporting to work with their Secondary Employment position 

while in leave status with the Department for catastrophic, family, medical, workman’s 
compensation, or sick leave if the essential job functions for their secondary or concurrent 
employer require the employee to perform essential job functions that reflect those with 
their official role with the Department.  

a. For example, an employee whose responsibilities with the Department include 
physical labor could not use leave to work at their Secondary Employment 
position if their secondary employer also requires the employee to engage in 
physical labor as part of their assigned duties.  

10. Employees must notify their local or Central Human Resources and their supervisor of 
their intention to work at their Secondary Employment position prior to taking leave 
status with the Department.  
 

B. Outside Employment  
1. Department employees must obtain approval before working a Secondary Employment 

position by completing and submitting the Secondary Employment Request form 
(Attachment #1) to their supervisor.  
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Deleted: 0

Deleted: 2

Deleted: 62. Whether approved or denied by their supervisor, the employee’s completed Secondary 
Employment Request form (Attachment #1) will be forwarded to the CHRA for review.  

3. Supervisors must include documentation citing their reason(s) for their decision regarding  
an employee’s Outside Employment request and submit this documentation to the CHRA 
with the employee’s completed Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment #1). 

4. The completed Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment #1) will be approved 
or denied by the CHRA. The supervisor will be emailed the CHRA’s decision to be 
disseminated to the employee.    

5. The CHRA or their designee will scan the Human Resources Administrator’s decision 
along with the original request form and documentation citing reason(s) regarding an 
employee’s Outside Employment request into Laserfiche whether it is approved or denied 
to be retained for the employee’s record. 

6. Employees must promptly notify their supervisor about relevant changes in their Outside 
Employment position by completing a Notice of Secondary Employment Form 
(Attachment #2).  

7. Outside Employment cannot pose a conflict to employment with the Department, 
Department operations, negatively reflect the Department, or adversely affect one’s ability 
to perform duties for the Department. 

8. Staff are prohibited from using Department issued identification or equipment during 
Outside Employment. 
 

C. Concurrent State-Funded Employment 
1. In addition to following the rules of Outside Employment outlined in this policy, 

Employees must have prior approval from their supervisor, CHRA, appropriate Division 
Director, the Secretary, and the Office of Personnel Management (OPM) through the 
Department of Transformation and Shared Services prior to engaging in any Concurrent 
Employment. Employees may refer to OPM Policy #37 for additional information 
regarding Concurrent Employment. 

2. All Department employees who work a Concurrent Employment position are required to 
disclose each source of income that is greater than $500 earned in a calendar year from 
sources other than their regular salary from employment rendered for any agency to the 
Secretary of State’s Office on or before January 31st. 

3. Employees may work a Concurrent Employment position for the Department and an 
educational institution provided that the procedures outlined in this section are followed 
and a request is made by the Department or educational institution to the director of the 
Division of Higher Education. The combined salary payments cannot exceed the larger 
maximum salary of the grade. 

a. Department employees may temporarily teach at a state supported institution of 
higher education and be compensated in an amount that exceeds the larger 
maximum annual salary. For more information about Concurrent Employment 
with an institution of higher education, see §A.C.A. 6-63-307 or contact the 
Division of Higher education. 

4. A completed Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment #1) and the OPM 
Concurrent Employment Action form must be submitted by an employee to their 
supervisor to request Concurrent Employment approval. This form may be obtained from 
the Central Human Resources Office or online through the Transformation and Shared 
Services website at https://www.transform.ar.gov/personnel/resources/forms/ . 
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Deleted: 65. The employee’s supervisor will forward the completed Secondary Employment Request 
form (Attachment #1) and Concurrent Employment Action form with their decision and 
documentation citing the reason(s) for a supervisor’s decision to approve or deny 
Concurrent Employment to the CHRA for review. 

6. The completed Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment #1) and Concurrent 
Employment Action form will be reviewed and approved or denied by the CHRA. The 
supervisor will be emailed the CHRA’s decision to be disseminated to the employee.  

7. If Concurrent Employment is approved, the CHRA or their designee must forward the 
Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment #1) and the Concurrent Employment 
Action form to the Secretary for approval. 

8. Upon approval from the Secretary, the Concurrent Employment Action form will be 
forwarded to OPM requesting approval from the Secretary of the Department of 
Transformation and Shared Services.  

9. In addition to the Department’s approval, the Concurrent Employment Action form must 
be completed and approved by the secondary employer the employee is seeking Concurrent 
Employment with. 

10. The CHRA or their designee will scan the Secondary Employment Request form 
(Attachment #1) and the Concurrent Employment Action form into Laserfiche to retain 
for the employee’s record whether the request for Concurrent Employment is approved or 
denied. 
 

D. Supervisors Responsibilities  
1. Supervisors are required to be knowledgeable of this policy and related employment 

policies. They must provide this information upon request to any of their staff members 
and be available to answer questions their staff may have about Secondary Employment 

2. Supervisors must ensure that an employee’s secondary job does not conflict with their 
employment with the Department by maintaining knowledge of their subordinates 
Secondary Employment position through the completion of the Notice of Secondary 
Employment Form (Attachment #2). The form must be completed even if there are no 
changes to be noted.  

3. Supervisors have the discretion, consistent with the provisions outlined in this policy, to 
approve or deny an employee’s Secondary Employment request. Supervisors must provide 
documentation justifying their decision to be submitted to the Central Human Resources 
Office with the employee’s completed Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment 
#1). The CHRA will review the request and justification for final approval or denial. The 
supervisor must notify the employee of the final decision made by Human Resources.  

4. Supervisors will be contacted by the CHRA when an employee’s Secondary Employment 
Request (Attachment #1) or their Notice of Secondary Employment (Attachment #2) is 
due to expire prior to thirty (30) days before the annual anniversary. Supervisors must 
notify employees within thirty (30) days of the annual anniversary of their original 
Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment #1) and ensure they complete the 
Notice of Secondary Employment form (Attachment #2) prior to the anniversary of the 
original request to continue working an approved Secondary Employment position.  

 

IV. ATTACHMENTS 
Attachment 1. Secondary Employment Request Form 
Attachment 2. Notice of Secondary Employment Form 
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Arkansas Department of Corrections 
SECONDARY EMPLOYMENT REQUEST 

 
I ___________________________ request approval to hold a secondary job with the entity indicated below. 

(NAME) 
 

Employer Name  
Employer Phone  
Employer Address  
Summary of Duties  

   
Will compensation from this employment be paid from state funds? _______(Y/N) 

 
If YES, you must complete an OPM Concurrent Employment Action form in addition to the 
Secondary Employment request. The form can be found at:  

https://www.transform.ar.gov/personnel/resources/forms/ 
 

I have read and will comply with the Department of Corrections Secondary Employment policy.  I will update 
this form if there are relevant changes to my secondary employment. 
 
_________________________ ___________   ________________    _________________________ 
         Employee’s Signature                 Date        AASIS #                    Assigned Division  
 
Supervisors must submit this completed form and documentation citing reason(s) for approval or 
denial to the Human Resources Administrator at the Shared Services Office at Administration East 
Building, 2403 East Harding, Pine Bluff, AR, 71601. 
 
 
________________________    ____________ ____________________ 
        Supervisor’s Signature        Date         Date Sent to HR  
 
 
________________________     ___________   ____________________       
    HR Admin. Signature                Date      Date of Notification 
 

 

OPM Concurrent Employment form has been submitted to the Secretary of Corrections and OPM. 
Concurrent Employment has been approved by OPM.  The completed and approved OPM 
Concurrent Employment form has been filed in Laserfiche along with this form. 

Supervisor’s Decision (check one): 

 Approved   Denied 

HR Admin. Decision (check one): 
 Approved   Denied 

Scanned into Laserfiche 
Date  Initial  

CONCURRENT STATE EMPLOYMENT: Use this section when compensation from this employment will 
be paid from State Funds. 

  

Attachment 1 

Central HR Admin. Signature Date 
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Notice of Secondary Employment 
 
 
I __________________ hold a secondary employment position with _______________________________. 
      (PRINT NAME)         (ENTITY) 

 
 
Have any changes been made to your responsibilities with your secondary employment position? Y        N  
                 (Check One) 
 
If yes, please describe any changes below that have been made to your position with your secondary employer 
including, but not limited to, schedule changes, job functions, etc., that your supervisor at the Department 
must be aware of pursuant to the provisions outlined in the Secretarial Directive on Secondary Employment. 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
_________________________ ___________   ________________    _________________________ 
         Employee’s Signature                 Date        AASIS #                    Assigned Division  
 
 
________________________    ____________ 
       Supervisor’s Signature        Date 
 
 
 
 
_____________________________________        __________ 
    Human Resources Administrator Signature          Date       

Forwarded to HR Admin. 
Date  Initial   

Original Request Received by HR  
Date  Initial  

Scanned into Laserfiche 
Date  Initial  

Attachment 2 
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I. POLICY 

As the executive head of the Arkansas Department of Corrections (Department), it is the responsibility 
of the Secretary of Corrections (Secretary) to administer the various rules, orders, or directives issued 
by the Department. As a Department employee, your primary work duties, obligations, and 
responsibilities are to the Department. When permission is granted, staff may engage in Secondary 
Employment within the guidelines established by this directive and state policies regarding Concurrent 
Employment. 
 

II. DEFINITIONS: 
A. Concurrent Employment. Any state-funded position a Department employee holds outside of 

their official job duties within their position at the Department of Corrections. This includes any 
teaching position held with a state-funded institution or entity. 

B. Outside Employment. Any non-state funded position an employee holds outside of their official 
job duties within their position at the Department provided the employee receives approval from 
their supervisor and Central Human Resources Administrator (CHRA) and the outside 
employment is not otherwise prohibited by law or Department policy.   

C. Secondary Employment. Any paid Concurrent Employment or Outside Employment position 
an employee holds outside of their official duties within their position at the Department.  
 

III. PROCEDURES: 
A. General Procedures 

1. Employees in certain positions are subject to be called in to work as necessary. For 

example, an employee may be called in when there is an emergency or staff shortage. In 

such instances, if an employee is called in while they are working at their approved 

Secondary Employment position, they are expected to leave that job and report to their 

Department position.   

2. Employees must receive approval from the specified chain of command as outlined in 

procedures in this directive prior to engaging in any Secondary Employment position.  
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3. Pursuant to A.C.A. § 16-93-201, members of the Parole Board may engage in Secondary 

Employment that has a limited time commitment with approval from the Chair of the 

Parole Board. Members must seek approval following the procedures outlined in this 

directive. 

4. Employees are responsible for notifying their supervisor of any changes in Secondary 

Employment. Employees must submit a Notice of Secondary Employment form 

(Attachment #2) to their supervisor annually or any time there is a change in their 

Secondary Employment position. 

5. The CHRA or their designee shall send an employee and their supervisor a notice that the 

Notice of Secondary Employment form (Attachment #2) must be completed no less than 

thirty (30) days prior to the annual anniversary of the date their Secondary Employment 

Request form (Attachment #1) was approved. If the Notice of Secondary Employment 

form (Attachment #2) is not received by Human Resources following the procedures 

outlined in this directive, any existing Secondary Employment approval will expire on its 

approval anniversary.  

6. The Notice of Secondary Employment form (Attachment #2) must be completed 

annually and submitted to an employee’s supervisor even if there is no change to their 

Outside or Concurrent Employment. Supervisors shall forward the completed Notice of 

Secondary Employment form (Attachment #2) to the CHRA or their designee. The 

CHRA or their designee will scan the completed form into Laserfiche to be retained for 

the employee’s record.  

7. Outside Employment denials may only be overridden by the Secretary, Division Director, 

or their designee. Employees may request additional review and consideration of a denial 

within five (5) business days of the notification of the CHRA’s decision. Requests for 

additional review must be submitted in writing to an employee’s supervisor. Supervisors 

must forward these requests to the CHRA. The CHRA or their designee will forward the 

request to the Secretary, the appropriate Division Director, or their designee along with 

the original Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment #1) and documentation 

citing reason(s) for denial.  

8. Concurrent Employment requests that are denied cannot be overridden or appealed. 

9. Staff are prohibited from reporting to work with their Secondary Employment position 

while in leave status with the Department for catastrophic, family, medical, workman’s 

compensation, or sick leave if the essential job functions for their secondary or concurrent 

employer require the employee to perform essential job functions that reflect those with 

their official role with the Department.  

a. For example, an employee whose responsibilities with the Department include 

physical labor could not use leave to work at their Secondary Employment 

position if their secondary employer also requires the employee to engage in 

physical labor as part of their assigned duties.  

10. Employees must notify their local or Central Human Resources and their supervisor of 

their intention to work at their Secondary Employment position prior to taking leave 

status with the Department.  

 

B. Outside Employment  

1. Department employees must obtain approval before working a Secondary Employment 

position by completing and submitting the Secondary Employment Request form 

(Attachment #1) to their supervisor.  
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2. Whether approved or denied by their supervisor, the employee’s completed Secondary 

Employment Request form (Attachment #1) will be forwarded to the CHRA for review.  

3. Supervisors must include documentation citing their reason(s) for their decision regarding  

an employee’s Outside Employment request and submit this documentation to the CHRA 

with the employee’s completed Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment #1). 

4. The completed Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment #1) will be approved 

or denied by the CHRA. The supervisor will be emailed the CHRA’s decision to be 

disseminated to the employee.    

5. The CHRA or their designee will scan the Human Resources Administrator’s decision 

along with the original request form and documentation citing reason(s) regarding an 

employee’s Outside Employment request into Laserfiche whether it is approved or denied 

to be retained for the employee’s record. 

6. Employees must promptly notify their supervisor about relevant changes in their Outside 

Employment position by completing a Notice of Secondary Employment Form 

(Attachment #2).  

7. Outside Employment cannot pose a conflict to employment with the Department, 

Department operations, negatively reflect the Department, or adversely affect one’s ability 

to perform duties for the Department. 

8. Staff are prohibited from using Department issued identification or equipment during 

Outside Employment. 

 
C. Concurrent State-Funded Employment 

1. In addition to following the rules of Outside Employment outlined in this policy, 

Employees must have prior approval from their supervisor, CHRA, appropriate Division 

Director, the Secretary, and the Office of Personnel Management (OPM) through the 

Department of Transformation and Shared Services prior to engaging in any Concurrent 

Employment. Employees may refer to OPM Policy #37 for additional information 

regarding Concurrent Employment. 

2. All Department employees who work a Concurrent Employment position are required to 

disclose each source of income that is greater than $500 earned in a calendar year from 

sources other than their regular salary from employment rendered for any agency to the 

Secretary of State’s Office on or before January 31st. 

3. Employees may work a Concurrent Employment position for the Department and an 

educational institution provided that the procedures outlined in this section are followed 

and a request is made by the Department or educational institution to the director of the 

Division of Higher Education. The combined salary payments cannot exceed the larger 

maximum salary of the grade. 

a. Department employees may temporarily teach at a state supported institution of 

higher education and be compensated in an amount that exceeds the larger 

maximum annual salary. For more information about Concurrent Employment 

with an institution of higher education, see §A.C.A. 6-63-307 or contact the 

Division of Higher education. 

4. A completed Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment #1) and the OPM 

Concurrent Employment Action form must be submitted by an employee to their 

supervisor to request Concurrent Employment approval. This form may be obtained from 

the Central Human Resources Office or online through the Transformation and Shared 

Services website at https://www.transform.ar.gov/personnel/resources/forms/ . 
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5. The employee’s supervisor will forward the completed Secondary Employment Request 

form (Attachment #1) and Concurrent Employment Action form with their decision and 

documentation citing the reason(s) for a supervisor’s decision to approve or deny 

Concurrent Employment to the CHRA for review. 

6. The completed Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment #1) and Concurrent 

Employment Action form will be reviewed and approved or denied by the CHRA. The 

supervisor will be emailed the CHRA’s decision to be disseminated to the employee.  

7. If Concurrent Employment is approved, the CHRA or their designee must forward the 

Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment #1) and the Concurrent Employment 

Action form to the Secretary for approval. 

8. Upon approval from the Secretary, the Concurrent Employment Action form will be 

forwarded to OPM requesting approval from the Secretary of the Department of 

Transformation and Shared Services.  

9. In addition to the Department’s approval, the Concurrent Employment Action form must 

be completed and approved by the secondary employer the employee is seeking Concurrent 

Employment with. 

10. The CHRA or their designee will scan the Secondary Employment Request form 

(Attachment #1) and the Concurrent Employment Action form into Laserfiche to retain 

for the employee’s record whether the request for Concurrent Employment is approved or 

denied. 

 

D. Supervisors Responsibilities  

1. Supervisors are required to be knowledgeable of this policy and related employment 

policies. They must provide this information upon request to any of their staff members 

and be available to answer questions their staff may have about Secondary Employment 

2. Supervisors must ensure that an employee’s secondary job does not conflict with their 

employment with the Department by maintaining knowledge of their subordinates 

Secondary Employment position through the completion of the Notice of Secondary 

Employment Form (Attachment #2). The form must be completed even if there are no 

changes to be noted.  

3. Supervisors have the discretion, consistent with the provisions outlined in this policy, to 

approve or deny an employee’s Secondary Employment request. Supervisors must provide 

documentation justifying their decision to be submitted to the Central Human Resources 

Office with the employee’s completed Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment 

#1). The CHRA will review the request and justification for final approval or denial. The 

supervisor must notify the employee of the final decision made by Human Resources.  

4. Supervisors will be contacted by the CHRA when an employee’s Secondary Employment 

Request (Attachment #1) or their Notice of Secondary Employment (Attachment #2) is 

due to expire prior to thirty (30) days before the annual anniversary. Supervisors must 

notify employees within thirty (30) days of the annual anniversary of their original 

Secondary Employment Request form (Attachment #1) and ensure they complete the 

Notice of Secondary Employment form (Attachment #2) prior to the anniversary of the 

original request to continue working an approved Secondary Employment position.  

 

IV. ATTACHMENTS 

Attachment 1. Secondary Employment Request Form 

Attachment 2. Notice of Secondary Employment Form 
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2403 East Harding Ave. 
Pine Bluff, AR  71601 
Phone: (870) 850-8510 

Fax: (870) 850-8550 

Department of Corrections     
      SHARED SERVICES 
         Human Resources 

   

   

Arkansas Department of Corrections 
SECONDARY EMPLOYMENT REQUEST 

 
I ___________________________ request approval to hold a secondary job with the entity indicated below. 

(NAME) 
 

Employer Name  

Employer Phone  

Employer Address  

Summary of Duties  

   
Will compensation from this employment be paid from state funds? _______(Y/N) 

 
If YES, you must complete an OPM Concurrent Employment Action form in addition to the 
Secondary Employment request. The form can be found at:  

https://www.transform.ar.gov/personnel/resources/forms/ 
 

I have read and will comply with the Department of Corrections Secondary Employment policy.  I will update 
this form if there are relevant changes to my secondary employment. 
 
_________________________ ___________   ________________    _________________________ 
         Employee’s Signature                 Date        AASIS #                    Assigned Division  
 
Supervisors must submit this completed form and documentation citing reason(s) for approval or 
denial to the Human Resources Administrator at the Shared Services Office at Administration East 
Building, 2403 East Harding, Pine Bluff, AR, 71601. 
 
 
________________________    ____________ ____________________ 
        Supervisor’s Signature        Date         Date Sent to HR  
 
 
________________________     ___________   ____________________       
    HR Admin. Signature                Date      Date of Notification 
 

 

OPM Concurrent Employment form has been submitted to the Secretary of Corrections and OPM. 
Concurrent Employment has been approved by OPM.  The completed and approved OPM 
Concurrent Employment form has been filed in Laserfiche along with this form. 

Supervisor’s Decision (check one): 

 Approved   Denied 

HR Admin. Decision (check one): 

 Approved   Denied 

Scanned into Laserfiche 

Date  Initial  

CONCURRENT STATE EMPLOYMENT: Use this section when compensation from this employment will 

be paid from State Funds. 

HR Admin. Decision (check one): 

 Approved   Denied 

Scanned into Laserfiche 

Date  Initial  

 

  

Attachment 1 

Central HR Admin. Signature Date 
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2403 East Harding Ave. 
Pine Bluff, AR  71601 
Phone: (870) 850-8510 

Fax: (870) 850-8550 

Department of Corrections     
      SHARED SERVICES 
         Human Resources 

   

   

 
 

Notice of Secondary Employment 
 
 
I __________________ hold a secondary employment position with _______________________________. 
      (PRINT NAME)         (ENTITY) 

 
 
Have any changes been made to your responsibilities with your secondary employment position? Y        N  
                 (Check One) 
 
If yes, please describe any changes below that have been made to your position with your secondary employer 
including, but not limited to, schedule changes, job functions, etc., that your supervisor at the Department 
must be aware of pursuant to the provisions outlined in the Secretarial Directive on Secondary Employment. 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
_________________________ ___________   ________________    _________________________ 
         Employee’s Signature                 Date        AASIS #                    Assigned Division  
 
 
________________________    ____________ 
       Supervisor’s Signature        Date 
 
 
 
 
_____________________________________        __________ 
    Human Resources Administrator Signature          Date       

Forwarded to HR Admin. 

Date  Initial   

Original Request Received by HR  

Date  Initial  

Scanned into Laserfiche 

Date  Initial  

Attachment 2 
066



067



068



 

 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE 
 

 

SUBJECT: Office of Driver Services Testing and Reporting 
 
NUMBER: 13-101      SUPERSEDES:  07-25 
 
APPLICABILITY: Employees and Applicants for  

positions that are required to have a CDL   
 
REFERENCE:  AD 01-04 Employee Drug Testing PAGE 1 of 2 
      Act 637 of 2007 
 
APPROVED:  Original signed by Ray Hobbs  EFFECTIVE DATE:  11/22/2013 
__              
 
I. POLICY: 
 

It shall be the policy of the Arkansas Department of Correction to improve driver 
safety by following reporting procedures for certain alcohol or drug test results for 
an employee who holds a commercial driver’s license or an applicant applying for 
a position that requires a commercial driver’s license and by requiring the 
retrieval of a report from the Office of Driver Services.    

 
II. PROCEDURES: 
 

All employees (beginning January 1, 2008) who hold a Commercial Driver’s 
License (CDL) and applicants applying for a position that holds a CDL are required 
to be tested for drugs of abuse as outlined in the department’s policy concerning 
Employee Drug Testing.   
 
A. Positive results, as defined by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations 49 C.F.R. § 40.3, as in effect on January 21, 2007, are to be 
reported to the Office of Driver Services within three (3) business days. 

 
 

PO Box 8707 
Pine Bluff, AR 71611-8707 

Phone: 870-267-6999 
Fax:     870-267-6258 
www.state.ar.us/doc 
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This includes any refusal to comply, adulterated specimen, diluted 
specimen, or substituted specimen.  

 

USE OF DATABASE 
 

The database is designed to be used for agencies not only to report positive results 
but to retrieve information of those who have been reported as positive.  Penalties 
can be imposed for an employer who fails to check the database and for an 
employer who knowingly hires an employee with a positive record in the 
database.  
A. The department shall submit a request for information for each 

employee/applicant who is subject to drug and alcohol testing as defined 
by this policy. 

B. The employee/applicant will submit a signed authorization to be submitted 
with the request.  

C. The department will pay the nominal fee.   
 
D. The employee/applicant can obtain a copy through the database by 

submitting an authorization form and paying the fee.  
 

E. The employer is to maintain a copy of the report from the database for a 
minimum of three (3) years.  

 

REFERENCES 
 

Act 637 of 2007, “Commercial Driver Alcohol and Drug Testing Act.” 
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PO Box 8707 
Pine Bluff, AR 71611-8707 

Phone: 870-267-6299 
Fax: 870-267-6244 

www.adc.arkansas.gov 
 
 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE 
 

SUBJECT: Employee and Applicant Drug Testing 
 

NUMBER: 19-13 SUPERSEDES: 13-18 
 

APPLICABILITY: Employees, applicants, agents and volunteers of the Arkansas 
Department of Correction. 

 
REFERENCE:  AR 202: Drug-Free Workplace Page 1 of 22 

 
APPROVED:   Original signed by Wendy Kelley EFFECTIVE DATE: 5/9/2019 

 

I. POLICY: 
 

It is the policy of the Arkansas Department of Correction to provide a drug-free 
workplace and to ensure, to the maximum degree possible, that no employees are 
impaired in the performance of their public duties by intoxicating substances. 

 
II. EXPLANATION: 

 

All staff, including support staff, working in a correctional environment are 
responsible for the good order and safety of facilities and must be fully alert, 
capable of good judgment, and physically able to respond as required. No staff 
member, on or off duty, will have any involvement with illegal drugs. 

 
III. DEFINITIONS 

 

A. Adulteration Check: A field or laboratory test to indicate whether the 
specimen submitted matches certain parameters of human urine. 
Adulteration will be considered to have occurred if the creatinine level is 
below 20 milligrams per deciliter on laboratory analysis. 
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B. Alcohol Test: Any standardized field or breathalyzer test accepted by the 

Arkansas Department of Correction and as specified in A.C.A. §§ 5-65- 
204, et seq. 

 
C. Applicant: An individual who is seeking employment with the Arkansas 

Department of Correction. 
 

D. Confirmation: A retest of the sample using current scientifically accepted 
confirmation technology conducted on a positive specimen, or when the 
results of the first test are inconclusive, or when adulteration is suspected, 
or to test for drugs not covered in the screening test. 

 
E. Critical Incident: An incident involving on-duty staff and causing, or 

having the potential to cause, substantial property damage, physical injury 
or death. 

 
F. Direct Observation: Visualization of the urine stream leaving the body 

and entering the test cup. Indirect Observation: Presence in the immediate 
area balancing the need for privacy with prudent measures for prevention 
of adulteration or substitution of samples. 

 
G. Documented Drug or Alcohol Abuse History: Any reported history of 

drug abuse or alcohol abuse for which the individual must maintain 
recovery as a condition of employment. 

 
H. Drug Test: Any of a number of standardized and generally accepted tests 

for the presence of mind altering drugs or substances meeting or 
exceeding DOT Standards. Drug Tests may include urine, sweat, saliva or 
hair samples. Drug Tests may be conducted on-site and sent for 
confirmation. 

 
I. Drug Testing Coordinator: An individual at each unit appointed by the 

Warden to be responsible for coordination and administration of drug 
testing. 

 
J. His, Him, and He: Refers to both genders. 

 
K. Policy Testing: Tests required by unit or department policy. 

 
L. Positive test result for marijuana: a result that is at or above the 

concentration level established by the United States Department of 
Transportation or Arkansas laws regarding being under the influence, 
whichever is lower. 
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M. Random Testing: Unannounced testing of the staff, or of a representative 

sample of the staff of a facility or division, in which each of those to be 
sampled has an equal chance of being selected. 

 
N Reasonable Suspicion: This may include, but is not limited to, a pattern of 

one or more of the following: observed decrease in the level of work 
performance, misconduct, excessive absenteeism and tardiness, history of 
complaints from supervisors or colleagues about poor work performance, 
excessive use of sick leave, negligent accidents, poor traffic safety record, 
reports of drug involvement from reliable sources, or other documented 
acts of omission or commission often associated with drug or alcohol 
abuse. 

 
O. Safety Sensitive Position: any position involving a safety sensitive 

function, which shall include any position which requires any of the 
following activities: (a) carrying a firearm, (b) performing life-threatening 
procedures,(c ) working with confidential information or documents 
pertaining to criminal investigations, (d)working with hazardous or 
flammable materials, controlled substances, food, or medicine, or (e ) a 
position in which a lapse of attention could result in injury, illness, or 
death, including without limitation a position that includes the operating, 
repairing, maintaining, or monitoring of heavy equipment, machinery, 
aircraft, motorized watercraft, or motor vehicles as part of job duties. 

 
P. Staff/Employee: Any individual employed full or part-time by the 

Arkansas Department of Correction or agent thereof, including 
supervisory and support staff. 

 
Q. Suspicion Testing: Testing based on a previous positive or adulterated 

test, testing based on reasonable suspicion documented on official forms, 
such as 005 Incident Report, or a memorandum to the Warden. 

 
R. Testing Employee: Any employee authorized by the Warden and trained 

by the Central Drug Testing Coordinator, or by the Unit Drug Testing 
Coordinator, who is registered with the Central Drug Testing Coordinator 
to conduct on-site and laboratory-based testing. 

 
S. Under the Influence: Any amount of illegal drug above threshold for a 

positive Drug Test. Any prescription or over-the-counter (OTC) 
medication demonstrably impairing alertness, judgment or behavior to the 
degree that proper and efficient job performance is jeopardized. Blood 
Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.02% or higher. 

 
T. Unit: Any facility operated by the Arkansas Department of Correction to 

include programs, farm and industry, construction, central office, jails, 

073



AD 19-13 Employee and Applicant Drug Testing Page 4 of 21 
 

 
work release centers, pre-release centers, and private prisons operated on 
behalf of the Arkansas Department of Correction. 

 
U. Volunteer: Any individual who is provided an identification badge and is 

regularly admitted into secured areas of the Arkansas Department of 
Correction or any facility operated under contract for the Arkansas 
Department of Correction. 

 
V. Warden: Chief operating officer of a “unit” to include center supervisors 

and administrators of programs. 
 

IV. APPLICABILITY: 
 

A. All staff and applicants through all levels of the chain of command, 
including staff and applicants of private prisons operated for the Arkansas 
Department of Correction are subject to conditions of testing specified in 
this Administrative Directive. 

 
B. Volunteers who are provided identification badges and afforded 

unescorted movement within institutions of the Department of Correction. 
 

C. Contract staff whose regular duties are within facilities of the Department 
of Correction. 

 
D. Staff of the Arkansas Correctional School District and Riverside Vo-Tech 

employees. 
 

E. All staff positions and other positions in Subsections A, B, C, and D of 
this Section are designated as Safety Sensitive Positions as defined in 
Section III herein and as defined in Amendment 98 of the Arkansas 
Constitution. 

 
V. GUIDELINES: 

 

A. General: 
 

1. This Administrative Directive is to be the guiding document for 
drug testing. It may be supplemented by drug test instructions from 
the manufacturer, and annual training. Any lapses in 
implementation should be called to the attention of the Central 
Drug Testing Coordinator who will consult appropriate authorities 
to determine whether the lapse is sufficient to invalidate the test. 

 
2. Every unit shall designate a Unit Drug Testing Coordinator to 

coordinate and administer drug and alcohol tests. 
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3. All applicants shall be tested. Refusal to submit to a test will 

result in any offer of employment being withdrawn. Any positive 
test results will be documented by Human Resources. Unit Human 
Resources Manager may check with Central Human Resources for 
the previous test results of any applicant. Previous positive test 
results may preclude processing of an application. A positive test 
result for marijuana will result in any offer of employment being 
withdrawn for any Safety Sensitive Position. 

 
4. All current employees and every new employee shall be advised of 

the existence of this Administrative Directive. 
 

a. Each employee shall be asked to sign an acknowledgement 
(Attachment #1) indicating that he has been made aware 
of the provisions of this Administrative Directive, and that 
he agrees to support a drug-free workplace. 

 
b. This shall include signing a release of information for any 

physician conducting drug or alcohol testing following a 
critical incident. 

 
c. All employees may review this Administrative Directive on 

Spotlight or from Unit Human Resources Managers, Drug 
Testing Coordinators, or the Central Human Resources 
Office. 

 
5. Random testing may be conducted as authorized by the Warden. 

The Director, Chief Deputy Director, any Deputy Director, or 
Assistant Director may authorize testing of his staff. 

 
6. Any supervisor suspecting that a member of staff is impaired by 

drugs or alcohol is to contact the Warden or senior staff authorized 
by the Warden to arrange drug or alcohol testing. 

 
7. The supervisor shall document any referral for drug or alcohol 

testing. The rights and privacy of employees will be safeguarded to 
the maximum extent possible. Revealing the results of alcohol or 
drug tests to those not having a need to know will be considered 
cause for disciplinary action according to the provisions of the 
policies governing employee conduct. 

 
8. Any employee may refuse testing. If this occurs, the employee is to 

be relieved of duty and placed on unpaid administrative leave 
pending disciplinary action. Appropriate notifications will be made 
to the Unit Human Resources Manager, the Deputy or Assistant 
Director in that employee’s chain of command, and any other 
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individual designated by the Warden. For purposes of employee 
discipline, refusal of testing will be considered equivalent to a 
positive test and subject to disciplinary actions pursuant to the 
Employee Conduct Standards policy. 

 
9. The processing of an application will be stopped for any applicant 

who refuses testing. The Volunteer Agreement will be voided for 
any volunteer who refuses to be tested. In either case, the 
applicant or volunteer will not be eligible to reapply for one year. 

 
10. A testing employee of the same gender as the person being tested 

will accompany that person to a restroom for collection of a urine 
specimen for drug testing. A pat search may be conducted and/or 
the individual may be asked to secure bags, brief cases, coats and 
the like outside. 

 
11. Direct observation of collection of a urine specimen shall only 

occur if reasonable suspicion exists that the person providing the 
specimen is likely to attempt to substitute or adulterate it. 

 
12. Once a specimen is provided, chain of custody procedures must be 

followed until the on-site test is read and/or the specimen is sent to 
the lab. 

 
13. The employee/volunteer is entitled to see the readings or visual 

change of any test conducted on-site. The employee is entitled to 
receive written results of any laboratory or confirmation test 
performed. Notification of results should be done as soon as 
possible. 

 
14. On-site tests may be used on all applicants and staff. All positive 

on-site alcohol or drug test results will be confirmed by the 
laboratory. Lab drug screens may be done upon request, but will be 
limited due to cost. Positive and confirmed on-site alcohol and 
drug tests will result in discipline as provided in the Employee 
Conduct Standards Administrative Directive. A positive and 
confirmed test for marijuana for any employee in a Safety 
Sensitive Position will result in discipline as provided in the 
Employee Conduct Standards Administrative Directive. 

 
15. The employee has the right to request independent confirmation by 

a lab other than that used by the Department of Correction. The 
right of independent confirmation must be exercised within 24 
hours upon notification of the laboratory results. The employee 
must choose a College of American Psychologists (CAP) or 
Substance Abuse Mental Health Services Administration 
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(SAMHSA) approved laboratory, and will be responsible for the 
cost plus shipping and handling. 

 
16. Adulteration checks may be run on specimens. If adulteration or 

substitution of any sample is indicated by a creatinine level of less 
than 20 milligrams per deciliter, a hair sample may be taken, and 
the employee may be placed on suspicion testing. 

 
17. Any employee taking a prescribed or an over-the-counter 

medication that affects alertness, judgment or behavior in ways 
that are likely to impair job performance MUST notify his 
supervisor of that fact PRIOR to assuming his post. Failure to do 
so may result in disciplinary action up to and including suspension. 

 
18. Any employee may come forward and admit an alcohol or other 

drug problem to his supervisor and request referral to the 
Employee Assistance Program (EAP). This must be done at least 
24 hours prior to any random or suspicion testing. 

 
a. This action will not keep drug testing from occurring, nor 

will admitting an alcohol or other drug problem mitigate 
the seriousness of a rule infraction. 

 
b. An employee freely admitting a problem will be tested 

immediately. 
 

c. If the employee currently registers drug/alcohol-free, he 
may continue work but will be tested regularly at his own 
expense as part of the EAP. 

 
d. If the drug test is positive, the employee will be 

immediately relieved of duty. 
 

e. At the discretion of the supervisor, the employee may be 
allowed to take accrued vacation, holidays or compensatory 
time until he is cleared by the Employee Assistance 
Program to come back to work. 

 
f. Staff enrolled in a treatment program certified by the 

Bureau of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention may request 
sick leave. 

 
g. If these options are not available or contraindicated by 

other rule violations, the employee may be allowed the 
choice of being placed on leave without pay, or resigning. 
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If the employee resigns, the termination report must show 
drug/alcohol abuse as the reason. 

 
19. Services directly provided by the Employee Assistance Program, 

other than drug testing, are free. However, referrals to other 
programs may be made, and the employee will be responsible for 
payment required by outside programs. 

 
20. Employees found to be in violation of this AD will be disciplined 

according to procedures outlined in the AD on Employee Conduct 
Standards. 

 
21. Employees terminated or resigning for being under the influence 

while on duty or for use of illegal drugs may apply for rehire no 
sooner than twelve (12) months after termination. Rehire is not a 
right, regardless of any treatment received in the interim. The 
recommendations of the Employee Assistance Program or other 
provider certified through the Arkansas Department of Health must 
be provided, and may be considered, but do not guarantee rehire. 

 
22. The person, vehicle and belongings of any employee on state 

property are subject to search, ion scanning and examination by 
drug sniffing dogs. Employees found to be in possession of illegal 
drugs will be detained and turned over to the proper authorities. 

 
B. Conditions of Testing: 

 
1. Pre-employment testing: 

 
a. All applicants will be advised of the requirements for drug 

testing by the Human Resources Manager or other 
appropriate official. 

 
b. Refusal or a positive test will result in the offer of 

employment being withdrawn. 
 

2. Random testing: 
 

a. Any Warden may conduct unannounced drug testing of a 
sample of, or the entire population of any section of 
employees supervised. Sampling will be conducted by 
acceptable statistical means such that every member of the 
employee group has an equal chance of being tested. 

 
b. At a minimum, 5% of employees will be tested quarterly. 
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c. Employees on initial hire probation, or those for whom 

such tests have been made a condition of continued 
employment, may be tested as often as requested by the 
Warden/Drug Coordinator. 

 
3. Employees returning from any absence from duty of six months 

duration or more may be required to submit to a drug or alcohol 
test. 

 
4. Employees who have been previously disciplined and/or referred 

to the Employee Assistance Program for drug problems may be 
subject to unannounced testing as a condition of continued 
employment. 

 
5. All employees are subject to suspicion testing provided there are 

behavioral observations and/or reliable information that would lead 
a reasonable person to believe that the employee had been using 
illegal drugs or alcohol. Additionally, any previous positive test 
result is considered grounds for suspicion testing. A written report 
of the incident shall be prepared with all suspicion testing. 

 
6. Critical Incident Testing 

 
a. Employees involved in a critical incident will be referred 

for alcohol or drug testing. 
 

b. Testing shall be performed as soon as possible by trained 
agency staff or hospital personnel. 

 
7. Policy Testing 

 
a. All testing employees are to be tested at least quarterly. 

This is in addition to random testing. 
 

b. All employees involved in substance abuse treatment or a 
program of recovery are to be tested at least quarterly. 

 
c. Any member of staff whose job duties require him/her to 

hold a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) must be tested 
by a the Department of Transportation (DOT) testing 
contractor for CDL drug testing. This DOT testing is in 
addition to drug testing procedures described in this policy. 

 
d. Any employee in a critical position may be tested at the 

frequency prescribed by the Warden in unit policy. 
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VI. TESTING PROCEDURES: 

 

A. Preparation for Testing 
 

1. The Unit Drug Testing Coordinator or the testing employee should 
check the number and expiration dates of any on-site drug tests to 
be used. If the plastic envelope in which the drug test is packaged 
has been compromised, the drug test should not be used. If this 
appears to be a manufacturing defect, the drug test should be 
returned to the Central Drug Testing Coordinator. 

 
2. If a breath alcohol test is to be run, the machine should be checked 

according to the manufacturer’s instructions and the date next due 
calibration noted. 

 
3. If the sample is to be sent to the laboratory a new cup, chain of 

custody documentation and sealed plastic bag must be obtained for 
shipment. 

 
4. The Unit Drug Testing Coordinator or the testing employee must 

have the chain of custody form, prior to testing. 
 

5. The testing employee should carefully check the identification 
badge of the employee to ensure that it matches the data on the 
form. 

 
6. Upon reaching the testing site, the employee should be asked to 

empty his pockets. Personal property should be placed where it 
can be examined by the testing employee, but remains in clear 
view of staff being tested. Personal property should be handled by 
the testing employee as little as possible. The escorting employee 
or the testing employee should then pat search staff. Most personal 
property should then be retrieved by the employee being tested. 
Exceptions are drugs, prescribed or over-the-counter, nose or eye- 
drops, and any other chemical substance subject to being used to 
adulterate a specimen. These items may be secured, preferably in a 
clear plastic sealable bag, and held by the testing employee until 
the specimen has been collected and sealed. 

 
7. Employees selected for testing should be asked to immediately 

remove anything from their mouth and instructed to keep their 
hands away from their mouth and out of their pockets. 
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B. Specimen Collection and Testing: Alcohol 

 
1. The testing employee must observe the person being tested for 20 

minutes before administering any breath or saliva test. 
 

2. The testing employee should remove the mouthpiece from its 
protective covering, in the presence of the employee and a witness, 
and insert it into the breath alcohol analyzer. The employee is then 
instructed to blow into the mouthpiece until the equipment 
indicates that an adequate sample has been obtained. 

 
3. The reading from the machine is shown to the employee who is 

asked to state what he sees. The reading is shown to the witness 
who also reads the number aloud. The reading from the machine is 
then documented on a Drug Request Form. 

 
4. If the test is positive, the employee should be given, in the 

presence of a witness, the document Notification of a Positive Test 
(attachment 3). 

 
a. If the employee accepts the test results, he signs the 

Notification of a Positive Test so indicating. 
 

b. If the employee wishes confirmation of the results, he is 
asked to provide a urine sample. The urine sample will be 
confirmed with a field test kit in the presence of the 
employee, or sealed with evidence tape and sent to the 
laboratory. 

 
5. No staff person legally under the influence of alcohol should be 

allowed to operate a motor vehicle. The Warden may arrange for 
the staff person to be driven home. If the staff person insists on 
driving, law enforcement is to be notified, with a description of the 
car and license plate. 

 
C. Specimen Collection and Testing: Illegal Drugs 

 
1. Any staff selected for testing should be under continuous 

observation by the testing employee or another member of staff at 
all times. The testing employee must be of the same gender as the 
staff being tested. 

 
2. The testing employee should check the location where collection 

of the specimen is to occur. Cleansers or any other foreign material 
that could be used to contaminate the sample should be removed or 
secured. 
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3. The testing employee should obtain a collection cup; and should 
use an on-site test; and show the employee the expiration date and 
that the plastic envelope is intact. The envelope should not be 
opened until it is time to obtain the specimen. 

 
4. The employee should be asked to remove any bulky outer clothing. 

If a foreign substance is noted under his fingernails during 
shakedown, he should then be asked to thoroughly wash his hands 
in clear water only, with particular attention to his fingernails. 
Hands should be thoroughly dried and any paper towel material 
discarded. 

 
5. The testing employee should enter the restroom with the employee 

to be tested. If the restroom is too small to accommodate two 
persons, the testing employee may stand outside with the door 
slightly open to provide a view of the washbasin if possible. 
Direct observation is not required unless there is reasonable 
suspicion that the staff person may attempt to contaminate the 
sample. Male staff should be asked to stand away from toilets or 
urinals containing liquid. 

 
6. The envelope containing the on-site drug test is then opened. If a 

temperature strip is available and not already affixed to the 
collection cup, it should be placed on the cup. The testing 
employee then hands the on-site test or collection cup to the 
employee. In handing the collection cup to the employee, the 
testing employee instructs him to fill the cup to a depth of about 
two fingers to half-full. 

 
7. Should the employee be unable to produce a specimen, he is asked 

to be seated in an office or other place where he can be observed. 
If the package containing the on-site drug test has been opened, the 
drug test and collection cup should remain in his sight, but out of 
his reach until he is ready to provide a specimen. He may be given 
up to two glasses of water or a soft drink or cup of coffee. He is 
asked to remain until he can produce a specimen, or for at least two 
hours.  If he does not produce a specimen within two hours, he 
may be considered to have refused the test. At the discretion of the 
Warden, he may be offered hair analysis. Longer time may be 
allowed at the discretion of the testing employee if the employee 
can give a plausible explanation for his inability to provide a 
sample. If there is a medical reason for difficulty in producing a 
urine sample, a hair sample may be taken instead. 
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8. When the sample has been collected, the employee is asked to 

hand the cup to the testing employee who secures the lid. The 
testing employee then returns the collection cup to the employee 
who, under the supervision of the testing employee, carries the cup 
to the location where the on-site test is to be read, or the laboratory 
test is to be secured for shipping. 

 
9. The testing employee shows the staff person a label with their 

name and AASIS/social security number on it, and places it on the 
collection cup. The temperature strip, if available, is then read. 
The on-site drug test is conducted according to the instructions of 
the manufacturer. The collection cup and the drug test are to be 
left in the sight of the employee until all test procedures have been 
concluded or the sample is packaged for sending to the laboratory. 
The cup should be sealed with evidence tape or the computer- 
generated label in the presence of the employee, and then sealed in 
the plastic shipping bag. 

 
10. If the on-site drug test fails to validate, it should be reactivated and 

checked to make sure that the manufacturer’s instructions have 
been followed. If the drug test still does not validate, the sample 
cup should be sealed with evidence tape, and forwarded to the 
laboratory for independent analysis. 

 
11. If any test window of an on-site test reads positive, a witness is 

called and asked to also read the test. In the presence of the 
witness, the applicant, volunteer or employee should be asked to 
list any and all medications recently taken that might account for 
the positive result. 

 
12. If the person being tested is an employee, he is called in by the 

Unit Drug Testing Coordinator or the Warden when the laboratory 
results are received. A Notification of a Positive Test (attachment 
3) will be completed and the employee will be given a copy of the 
laboratory results. 

 
13. The employee may, at his own expense, choose to use an approved 

reference laboratory other than that regularly used by the 
Department of Correction. If he chooses this option, he must pay 
the lab charges plus shipping and handling within 24 hours of 
notification. 

 
14. When on-site drug test results on staff are awaiting confirmation, 

the Warden/Administrator should be advised that preliminary 
results are positive. The Warden or Administrator shall place the 
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employee on Administrative Leave pending confirmation and 
immediately notify the Human Resources Administrator. 

 
D. Action upon a Positive Test 

 
1. The identity of any employee-testing positive on an on-site test 

should not be revealed except to the Warden or Duty Warden of 
the employee and those directly involved in drug testing of that 
person. Staff are not considered guilty of any wrong doing until or 
unless they accept the test results, admit the drug use, or admit to 
being under the influence of alcohol while on duty, or the test is 
confirmed. 

 
2. Some tests are positive because of prescribed drugs. Any employee 

who is able to produce a prescription for such drugs within 24 
hours of notification will not be penalized, unless it appears the 
drugs are at a level that impairs work performance and the 
individual has failed to notify his supervisor that he/she is working 
in an impaired state. 

 
3. Any employee-testing positive on-site will be escorted to the 

Warden/Administrator or senior staff person on duty. The testing 
employee is to notify the Central Drug Testing Coordinator. 

 
a. The Warden/Administrator is to notify the Deputy or 

Assistant Director in the employee’s chain of command and 
the Human Resources Administrator. 

 
b. The employee shall be placed on Administrative Leave 

immediately pending disciplinary action if illegal drugs are 
involved or if a reasonable suspicion exists that chronic or 
episodic alcohol use is likely to continue impairing the 
employee’s ability to perform job requirements. 

 
c. If the employee wishes to be paid, he may take annual 

leave or other forms of leave as allowed in the personnel 
policy. If the confirmation comes back negative, the leave 
taken will be restored to the employee’s account, or the 
employee will be reimbursed for any Leave without Pay 
(LWOP). 

 
d. Pending laboratory results and/or termination of 

employment with the Department of Correction, the 
employee may request or agree to referral to the Employee 
Assistance Program. The employee is to be advised that 
accepting referral to the EAP does not minimize the 
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seriousness of the conduct violation, nor does it stand in the 
place of disciplinary action. It may or may not have a 
bearing on future eligibility for rehire. 

 
4. Confirmation of an on-site drug test or results of a laboratory test 

are returned to the Unit Drug Testing Coordinator electronically. 
A copy of the report should be sent registered mail or handed to 
the employee. The Warden/Administrator is to be provided a copy 
of the results and will take appropriate action, if this has not 
already been done. 

 
VII. DOCUMENTATION AND CHAIN OF CUSTODY: 

 

A. Sample for random testing 
 

1. A random testing sample should be drawn at unpredictable 
intervals at each unit, no less frequently than twice weekly. The 
Unit Drug Testing Coordinator, in consultation with the 
Warden/Administrator of the unit, will determine the number of 
staff to be tested, but not less than 5% quarterly. 

 
B. Notification of a Positive Test 

 
1. The Notification of a Positive Test is to be completed by the 

Testing Employee at the time the on-site test is read or the results 
are received from laboratory analysis. 

 
2. Confirmation processes are explained to the employee by the 

testing employee, and all appropriate spaces are signed or initialed. 
 

3. The Notification of a Positive Test is taken to the 
Warden/Administrator. 

 
C. Monthly Report 

 
1. The Unit Drug Testing Coordinator is responsible to report to the 

Central Drug testing coordinator the number and results of 
applicant and employee tests conducted each month, by the fifth 
day of each succeeding month. 

 
2. These quarterly reports are summarized quarterly by the Central 

Drug Testing Coordinator and reported to the Director. 
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VIII. PROGRAM MANAGEMENT AND TRAINING: 
 

A. It is the responsibility of the Warden/Administrator to ensure that the Unit 
Drug Testing Coordinator under his supervision is alcohol and drug tested 
at unannounced intervals, at least quarterly. Such testing should be 
documented in the monthly report. 

 
B. It is the responsibility of the Unit Drug Testing Coordinator to maintain a 

current list of all individuals on the unit trained and approved as testing 
employees. A copy of this list should accompany the monthly report to the 
Central Drug Testing Coordinator. 

 
C. It is the responsibility of the Unit Drug Testing Coordinator to observe the 

work of each testing employee at least quarterly, and to document this 
supervision in a unit training file. 

 
D. It is the responsibility of the Central Drug Testing Coordinator to schedule 

annual system-wide training, and to provide unit training as requested by 
the Warden/Administrator or the Unit Drug Testing Coordinator. All 
training conducted should be documented in a training file, as well as to 
the personnel file of the employee. 

 
E. Questions that arise about procedures, policy or the law are to be referred 

to the Central Drug Testing Coordinator, the Chief Deputy Director or to 
the appropriate Deputy/Assistant Director. 

086



 

Page 17 of 21 
 
 

EMPLOYEE DRUG TESTING ADVISORY RECEIPT 
 

I have received the document titled “Employee Drug Testing Advisory.” I recognize that this is 

not a complete description of the drug-testing program, and that I am entitled to review the AD, 

Employee Drug Testing, which is available to me through the Unit Human Resources Manager, 

Central Human Resources Administrator, or the Central Drug Testing Coordinator. 

 
I understand that as an employee of the Arkansas Department of Correction, I am expected to 

support the concept of a Drug Free Workplace. I agree to submit to testing as required in the AD, 

Employee Drug Testing. 

 
Should I be in a critical incident as described in the Administrative Directive, Employee Drug 

Testing, my signature below authorizes medical staff treating me to test for the presence of alcohol 

and other drugs, and to release the results of such tests to the Arkansas Department of Correction. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PRINT YOUR NAME POSITION UNIT OR SERVICE 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

SIGNATURE DATE SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 
 
 
 

COPY: CENTRAL PERSONNEL FILE 

UNIT OR SUPERVISOR’S FILE 

EMPLOYEE (if requested) 

087



 

 
EMPLOYEE DRUG TESTING ADVISORY 

Page 18 of 21 

 
 
 

This Administrative Directive, Employee Drug Testing, supersedes all previous Employee Drug testing 

Administrative Directives. The following is an advisory of some of the highlights of this Directive that supports AR 

202, Drug Free Workplace. A complete copy of the AD, Employee Drug Testing, is available through the Unit 

Human Resources Manager, Central Human Resources Administrator, or the Central Drug Testing Coordinator’s 

office. Questions should be directed to the Chief Deputy Director or the Central Drug Testing Coordinator. 

 
• All applicants for employment, and volunteers issued ADC identification, are subject to testing at the time of 

initial processing. 

• All staff who works inside secure facilities is subject to random testing. Groups, up to the whole staff of a unit, 
may be tested at the Warden’s request. 

• Any employee is subject to testing if there is reasonable suspicion of involvement with illegal drugs, or a level 
of alcohol use that may impair work performance. 

• Staff involved in incidents or accidents posing danger to persons or property are subject to drug/alcohol testing. 

• Staff in certain positions (e.g., holding a Commercial Driver’s License, providing substance abuse treatment to 
inmates) are subject to testing by policy. 

• Drug testing is usually done by urinalysis, but may be done by hair or sweat analysis. 

• Urine samples are provided under indirect observation allowing some privacy while preserving the integrity of 
the test, unless there is reason to suspect adulteration or substitution. Adulteration tests may be conducted. 

• Confirmation  of   positive  drug  screening  tests   is  done  routinely. Confirmation is done through gas 
chromatography/mass spectrometry. 

• Any employee may request confirmation through a laboratory outside ADC. An independent lab may be used 
provided the lab is a CAP or SAMHSA approved, and the expenses are paid by the employee. 

• Involvement with illegal drugs is considered a termination offense. Staff terminated for association with illegal 

drugs may not apply for rehire for one year. Documentation of treatment in an Arkansas Health Department 

approved program will be requested. 

• Staff must notify supervisors of any legal drugs being taken that may impair their ability to carry out job 
functions prior to assuming their posts. 

• Blood alcohol testing is usually done with a machine that detects alcohol on the breath. Confirmation may be 
done with a second machine or through urinalysis. 

• Blood alcohol of 0.02% or higher while on duty will be considered to be “under the influence” and subject the 

employee to suspension or termination. 
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• Outcome of drug/alcohol tests is kept as confidential as possible, consistent with the needs of the agency. 

• The person and property of any employee on state property is subject to search, examination by drug sniffing 

dogs, or ion scanning for the presence of illegal drugs. Any person bringing illegal drugs onto ADC property 

will be subject to arrest and prosecution. 

• Testing is conducted by trained staff using reliable methods. Procedures for conducting tests are spelled out in 
the AD, Employee Drug Testing. 

• Staff who have an alcohol or drug problem may seek help through their supervisor or Unit Human Resources 

Manager. Disciplinary action will not be taken on admission of an alcohol or drug problem, provided the 

admission is made more than a day before a scheduled drug screening. 
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NOTIFICATION OF A POSITIVE TEST 
 

  / /     

(EMPLOYEE’S NAME, PRINTED OR TYPED) (DATE OF TEST) UNIT 
 
 

You are hereby advised of a positive result on your drug/alcohol test. 
 
 

If the test is an alcohol test, you have the right to accept the result shown to you, or to request confirmation by urinalysis or to 

request confirmation by use of a second breath analyzer, if one is available. 

 
If the test is a drug test, you have the right to accept the result shown to you. If the test is an on-site test, the results will be 

confirmed by an independent laboratory at the expense of the Department of Correction. If the test was conducted by a 

laboratory, it has been confirmed. 

 
I accept the result shown to me  (initial) 

 
 

You have the right to request confirmation of the results of an alcohol or drug test at a SAMSHA or CAP approved laboratory, 

other than the one used by ADC, provided you are willing to pay the cost of confirmation plus shipping and handling. These 

costs must be paid by check or money order payable to the Arkansas Department of Correction within 24 hours. 

 
I request independent confirmation by 

 
 

   (initial) 
 

(Name of approved laboratory) 
 
 

I have also been advised that, if my position has grievance rights, I may grieve any disciplinary action that may follow a positive 

test by contacting the EEOC Grievance Coordinator at 

267-6451 within 5 working days. 
 
 
 

(EMPLOYEE’S SIGNATURE) (WITNESSED BY) 
 
 

Note: Your signature indicates only that you have been notified. Not that you are admitting an alcohol or drug use, unless you 

initial that you accept the results shown. 

 
COPIES:  HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER 

CENTRAL DRUG TESTING COORDINATOR 
EMPLOYEE 
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NAME ASSIS NUMBER UNIT 

 
REASON FOR TEST 

 
[ 

 
] 

 
01 RANDOM 

 
[ 

 
] 

 
02 SUSPICION 

 
[ 

 
] 

 
04 RETEST 

 
[ 

 
] 

 
05 WORK RELEASE 

 [ ] 06 FURLOUGH [ ] 07 VIOLENCE [ ] 08 ACCIDENT [ ] 09 PRE-REL 
 [ ] 10 OTHER          
 [ ] 11 POLICY [ ] 12 APPLICANT [ ] 13 CONTRABAND    

 

 
LIST ALL CURRENT MEDICATIONS 

 

 

VERIFIED  [    ] NO    [   ] YES BY 
 

 
 

PRINTED NAME 
 
COLLECTED BY 

ID SIGNATURE DATE / TIME 

 
TEST RUN BY: 

   

 
WITNESSED BY: 

   

 
RECEIVED BY: 

   

 
RECEIVED BY: 

   

 

DRUGS TESTED FOR TEST RESULTS OR READINGS TO BE CONFIRMED 

[ ] AMPHETAMINE [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] METHAMPHETAMINE [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] COCAINE [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] MARIJUANA [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] OPIATES / Mop [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] BENZODIAZEPINES [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] BARB [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] Oxy [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] METHADONE [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] PPX [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] K-2 [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] ALCOHOL [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

[ ] [ ] NEGATIVE [ ] POSITIVE [ ] INCONCLUSIVE [ ] YES [ ] NO 

I HEREBY ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THE SPECIMEN WAS KEPT WHERE I COULD SEE IT FROM THE TIME I PROVIDED IT UNTIL THE RESULTS OF THE TEST WERE 
SHOWN TO ME. I [ ] DO [ ] DO NOT ACCEPT THE RESULTS OF THE TEST. 

 
 

 
  

SIGNATURE OF PERSON TESTED WITNESS OF SIGNATURE OR REFUSAL DATE TIME 
 

REACTION OF PERSON TESTED [ 

[ 

] 

] 

01 COOPERATIVE [ ] 02 DELAYED OR SLOW 

04 REFUSED [ ] 05 ADULTERATED 

  [ ] 03 ARGUMENTATIVE 

[ ] 06 UNABLE TO COMPLY 
 
ACTION TAKEN ON 

 
[ 

 
] 

 
01 DISCIPLINARY WRITTEN 

 
[ 

 
] 

 
03 PLACED ON SUSPICION TESTING 

RESULTS OF TEST [ ] 05 REFERRED TO CLASS [ ] 06 SUSPEND FROM TREATMENT PROGRAM 

(CHECK ALL THAT APPLY) [ ] 07 FURTHER ANALYSIS REQUESTED [ ] 08 ACTION PENDING 
 [ ] 09 REMOVE FROM WORK RELEASE [ ] 10 NO ACTION REQUIRED 
OTHER       
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ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE 
 
SUBJECT:  Youthful Inmates    
 
NUMBER: 2022-09     SUPERSEDES: 2020-09 
 
APPLICABILITY:  All Employees   PAGE: 1 of 3 
 
REFERENCE:  AR 802 Classification of Offenders, §Ark Code Ann. 9-27-510  
 
APPROVED:                        EFFECTIVE DATE:   
 
I. POLICY:  
 
 The Arkansas Division of Correction (ADC) will ensure that youthful inmates are assigned to a 

specialized housing unit to provide the proper programs and the direct supervision necessary to 
ensure safety and security. To provide effective intervention programming for youthful inmates 
transitioning into the adult system within the ADC. The goal of the program is to provide a safe 
environment and programming designed to build strong character while providing an opportunity 
for each inmate to reach his or her full potential as a responsible law-abiding citizen and to reduce 
recidivism. 

 
II.  DEFINITIONS: 

1. Direct Staff Supervision. A method of inmate supervision designed to assure safety and  
security in which security staff are in the same room with, or within reasonable hearing 
distance of the inmate. 

2. Youthful Inmate.  Any inmate under the age of 18; however, a juvenile who has received an 
adult sentence to the ADC shall not be transported to the ADC until the juvenile is sixteen 
(16) years of age.             

3. Youthful Inmate Housing. A housing unit where youthful inmates will not have sight, sound, 
or physical contact with any adult inmate through the use of a shared dayroom, or other 
common space, shower area, or sleeping quarters, and which provides for direct staff 
supervision of youthful inmates.  

   III. PROCEDURE: 

   A.  Intake Procedure. The intake process for male and female youthful inmates will occur at the   
units specified by the Division for male and female intake, respectively.  

B.  Housing. All youthful inmates will be housed at the designated unit in a housing area that 
provides sight and sound separation from physical contact with any other inmates over the age 
of 18 through the use of a shared dayroom, shower area, toilet area, or 
sleeping quarters. Youthful inmates must be directly supervised when not in their assigned 
housing area.  
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1.  Youthful inmates will be able to attend all unit activities, receive all unit services, 
and participate in jobs and programs as deemed appropriate by the Unit 
Classification Committee.  

2.  Youthful inmates shall be allowed daily opportunity for large-muscle exercise, any 
legally required special education services, programming, and work opportunities, to 
the extent possible. 

3.  Youthful inmates will not be placed in isolation solely for the purpose of complying 
with separation from adult inmates.   

4.  If a youthful inmate’s behavior becomes unmanageable and all efforts to deescalate 
that behavior have failed, and there is a direct threat to the safe and secure 
operations of the housing unit, the inmate, staff, or other inmates, the Duty Warden 
must be notified.    

5.  Youthful Inmates may be placed on punitive status or sanction within their housing 
area not limited to, but due to the following:  

a.  A physical or sexual assault has been committed by the youthful inmate; 

b. Conduct of the youthful inmate poses a direct threat to the safety of another 
person or clear threat to the safe and secure operation of the unit; or 

c. The youthful inmate escapes or attempts to escape from the facility.   

 The Warden or designee will provide a written authorization for every twenty-four 
(24) hour period during which the youth inmate remains in punitive status after the 
initial twenty-four (24) hour placement. 

C. Classification 

The Warden/Deputy Warden of any ADC facility that houses youthful inmates shall appoint an 
officer (generally the Classification Officer) to provide for a classification plan for each youthful 
inmate including a determination of level of risk and program needs developmentally appropriate for 
adolescents. Classification plans for a youthful inmate shall include consideration of the physical, 
mental, social, and educational maturity of the youthful inmate.   

D. Programming 

Adequate program space shall be provided to meet the physical, social, and emotional needs of each 
youthful inmate, including daily exercise. Allowance shall be made for personal interactions and 
group-oriented activities.  

E. Staff Training 

Staff who work with youthful inmates shall receive training in the developmental, safety, and other 
specific needs of youthful inmates. Staff positions specifically assigned to youthful inmate housing 
or which are responsible for programming for youthful inmates shall have functional job 
descriptions and qualifications which require the training designated for working with youthful 
inmates and such staff shall complete such training before being assigned to work with youthful 
inmates. The training should include the following subjects: 

1. Adolescent Development 

2. Educational Programming 

3. Cultural Awareness 

4. Crisis Prevention and Intervention 

Formatted: Indent: Left:  0.38"

Deleted: ¶

Deleted: ¶

Deleted: ¶

Deleted: ¶

Deleted:   

Deleted: ¶

Deleted:   ¶

Deleted: ¶
            youthful inmate;¶
¶

Deleted: ¶

Deleted: ¶

Deleted: ¶
¶
¶
¶
¶
¶
¶

Deleted: 

Deleted: ¶

Deleted: ivision of 

Deleted: orrection

Deleted:  appoint an officer (generally the Classification 
Officer) to provide for a classification plan for each youthful 
inmate including a determination of level of risk and 
program needs developmentally appropriate for adolescents. 
Classification plans for a youthful inmate shall include 
consideration of the physical, mental, social, and educational 
maturity of the youthful inmate. ¶

Deleted: 

Deleted: ¶
   

Formatted: Indent: Left:  0.13", Tab stops: Not at  0.81"

Deleted: ¶
¶

Deleted: 

Formatted: Indent: Hanging:  0.06", Tab stops: Not at 
0.5"

Deleted:     

Deleted: ¶

Formatted: Indent: Left:  0.13", Tab stops: Not at  0.5"

Deleted: ¶

Formatted: Space After:  6 pt

Formatted ... [2]

093



AD 2022-09  Youthful Inmates   Page 3 of 3 

 

Deleted: 0-09
 

5. Legal Issues 

6. Housing and Physical Plant 

7. Policies and Procedures 

8. Management/Programming for Sex Offenders 

9. Substance-Abuse Services 

10. Cognitive-Behavioral Interventions (including anger management, social skills 
training, problem solving, and resisting peer pressure) 

11. Suicide Prevention 

12. Nutrition 

13. Mental-Health Issues 

14. Gender-Specific Issues 

15. Case-Management Planning and Implementation 
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ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE 
 
SUBJECT:  Youthful Inmates    
 
NUMBER: 2022-09     SUPERSEDES: 2020-09 
 
APPLICABILITY:  All Employees   PAGE: 1 of 3 
 
REFERENCE:  AR 802 Classification of Offenders, §Ark Code Ann. 9-27-510  
 
APPROVED:  Original signed by Dexter Payne  EFFECTIVE DATE: 4/14/2022  
 
I. POLICY:  
 
 The Arkansas Division of Correction (ADC) will ensure that youthful inmates are assigned to a 

specialized housing unit to provide the proper programs and the direct supervision necessary to 
ensure safety and security. To provide effective intervention programming for youthful inmates 
transitioning into the adult system within the ADC. The goal of the program is to provide a safe 
environment and programming designed to build strong character while providing an opportunity 
for each inmate to reach his or her full potential as a responsible law-abiding citizen and to reduce 
recidivism. 

 
II.  DEFINITIONS: 

1. Direct Staff Supervision. A method of inmate supervision designed to assure safety and  
security in which security staff are in the same room with, or within reasonable hearing 
distance of the inmate. 

2. Youthful Inmate.  Any inmate under the age of 18; however, a juvenile who has received an 
adult sentence to the ADC shall not be transported to the ADC until the juvenile is sixteen 
(16) years of age.             

3. Youthful Inmate Housing. A housing unit where youthful inmates will not have sight, sound, 
or physical contact with any adult inmate through the use of a shared dayroom, or other 
common space, shower area, or sleeping quarters, and which provides for direct staff 
supervision of youthful inmates.  

   III. PROCEDURE: 

   A.  Intake Procedure. The intake process for male and female youthful inmates will occur at the   
units specified by the Division for male and female intake, respectively.  

B.  Housing. All youthful inmates will be housed at the designated unit in a housing area that 
provides sight and sound separation from physical contact with any other inmates over the age 
of 18 through the use of a shared dayroom, shower area, toilet area, or 
sleeping quarters. Youthful inmates must be directly supervised when not in their assigned 
housing area.  
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1.  Youthful inmates will be able to attend all unit activities, receive all unit services, 
and participate in jobs and programs as deemed appropriate by the Unit 
Classification Committee.  

2.  Youthful inmates shall be allowed daily opportunity for large-muscle exercise, any 
legally required special education services, programming, and work opportunities, to 
the extent possible. 

3.  Youthful inmates will not be placed in isolation solely for the purpose of complying 
with separation from adult inmates.   

4.  If a youthful inmate’s behavior becomes unmanageable and all efforts to deescalate 
that behavior have failed, and there is a direct threat to the safe and secure 
operations of the housing unit, the inmate, staff, or other inmates, the Duty Warden 
must be notified.    

5.  Youthful Inmates may be placed on punitive status or sanction within their housing 
area not limited to, but due to the following:  

a.  A physical or sexual assault has been committed by the youthful inmate; 

b. Conduct of the youthful inmate poses a direct threat to the safety of another 
person or clear threat to the safe and secure operation of the unit; or 

c. The youthful inmate escapes or attempts to escape from the facility.   

 The Warden or designee will provide a written authorization for every twenty-four 
(24) hour period during which the youth inmate remains in punitive status after the 
initial twenty-four (24) hour placement. 

C. Classification 

The Warden/Deputy Warden of any ADC facility that houses youthful inmates shall appoint an 
officer (generally the Classification Officer) to provide for a classification plan for each youthful 
inmate including a determination of level of risk and program needs developmentally appropriate for 
adolescents. Classification plans for a youthful inmate shall include consideration of the physical, 
mental, social, and educational maturity of the youthful inmate.   

D. Programming 

Adequate program space shall be provided to meet the physical, social, and emotional needs of each 
youthful inmate, including daily exercise. Allowance shall be made for personal interactions and 
group-oriented activities.  

E. Staff Training 

Staff who work with youthful inmates shall receive training in the developmental, safety, and other 
specific needs of youthful inmates. Staff positions specifically assigned to youthful inmate housing 
or which are responsible for programming for youthful inmates shall have functional job 
descriptions and qualifications which require the training designated for working with youthful 
inmates and such staff shall complete such training before being assigned to work with youthful 
inmates. The training should include the following subjects: 

1. Adolescent Development 

2. Educational Programming 

3. Cultural Awareness 

4. Crisis Prevention and Intervention 
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5. Legal Issues 

6. Housing and Physical Plant 

7. Policies and Procedures 

8. Management/Programming for Sex Offenders 

9. Substance-Abuse Services 

10. Cognitive-Behavioral Interventions (including anger management, social skills 
training, problem solving, and resisting peer pressure) 

11. Suicide Prevention 

12. Nutrition 

13. Mental-Health Issues 

14. Gender-Specific Issues 

15. Case-Management Planning and Implementation 
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ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE 
 
SUBJECT: Food Entering ADC Facilities as Gifts or for Inmate Special Events  
 
NUMBER: 2022-     SUPERSEDES: 13-62  
 
APPLICABILITY: Wardens, Chaplains, individuals or groups organizing special events, or 

providing food as gifts to inmates  
 
REFERENCE: AR 883 Chaplaincy Services PAGE: 1 of 2 
 
APPROVED:        EFFECTIVE DATE:   
 
I. POLICY: 
 

It is the policy of the Arkansas Division of Correction (ADC) to allow certain food items to be 
brought or sent into its facilities for special occasions or events, or as gifts to individual inmates 
providing prior approval is obtained from the Warden. Appropriate efforts will be made to 
ensure that the food items are safe and free of contraband. Food for religious feasts such as 
Christmas, Passover or Eid feasts may be allowed. Food for other special events such as 
Revivals or Kairos Retreats, bringing children in for parenting workshops, program graduation 
ceremonies, and the like may also be allowed in accordance with this directive. Food items 
may be procured by the family for delivery to individual inmates through approved vendors, 
or through the commissary system, and only on those occasions approved by the Director. 

 
II. DEFINITIONS: 

A. Special Event.  Any activity not held in the normal course or day to day operations of a 
facility or program.  
 

III. PROCEDURE: 

A. A written request must be submitted to the Warden at least five (5) days prior to the 
date in which the food may be allowed into a Unit. 

B. The Warden must approve the request prior to any food being allowed into a Unit. 

C.  Food allowed to be brought in may be of seven (7) types: 

1. Prepared for sale and in its original packaging (e.g. cookies, bread, sandwich meats (if 
properly chilled), packages of salad, etc.); 

2. Commercially prepared, that may be defrosted and heated off-site but must be in its 
original container, or if it must be removed from its container for reheating, must be 
accompanied by a sales slip showing its origin; 
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3. Prepared on-site, or prepared off-site and delivered on-site, by a caterer who has the 
necessary Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) certifications; 

4. Purchased as take-out from an establishment that is engaged in this type of business 
(e.g. McDonalds, Pizza Hut, Taco Bell); 

5. Prepared off-site in a kitchen inspected by the ADH. Prior to this food being allowed 
in, documentation of ADH inspection must be on file with the Administrator of 
Religious Services; 

6. Whole fruit in its peeling or packaged for sale (e.g. dates); and 

7. Food packages ordered through approved vendors or procured through the 
commissary for delivery to individual inmates during certain months as approved by 
the Director. 

D. Food may be repackaged for serving with proper sanitation gear (e.g. gloves, proper 
containers, napkins, etc.) once it has approval of security staff inside the facility. 

E.  Unacceptable foods include, but are not limited to, the following:  

1. Mixed, peeled or cut-up fruit unless brought on-site in sealed commercial containers 
(e.g. dates); 

2. Hard candy; 

3. Sugar, either bulk or in individual packets; 

4. Homemade ice cream, custards, or puddings, even if made on-site from commercially 
available ingredients; 

5. Drinks not brought to the facility in commercially sealed containers (e.g. fruit juices) 
or mixed on site from sealed packages of drink mix (e.g. Kool-Aid or Lemonade);   

6. Any food for which the “expiration” or “best if consumed by” date has passed; and 

7. Any food that requires special handling (heating or cooling) that is not being 
maintained at the proper temperature. 

F.  Quantities and consumption of food items are subject to restriction. 

1. Food items brought in for special events must be consumed at the events.  Any food 
item taken out of the event area without prior authorization of the Warden will be 
considered contraband. 

2. Any food items not consumed at the event must be removed by the event sponsors or 
disposed of as kitchen waste. 

3. The Warden may allow certain food items to be taken to inmates on lockdown, except 
on punitive isolation, but amounts will be limited to those consistent with health and 
sanitation procedures. 

4. Inmates receiving seasonal food packages will be limited to a number of packages 
(depending on size) consistent with Arkansas Department of Health Food Service 
Establishment Regulations and storage space in inmate property box. 

G. The Warden or designee is responsible for notifying any groups or individuals asking for 
permission to sponsor special events or send food packages to inmates of this policy. 
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ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE 
 
SUBJECT: Food Entering ADC Facilities as Gifts or for Inmate Special Events  
 
NUMBER: 2022-10     SUPERSEDES: 13-62  
 
APPLICABILITY: Wardens, Chaplains, individuals, or groups organizing special events, or 

providing food as gifts to inmates  
 
REFERENCE: AR 883 Chaplaincy Services PAGE: 1 of 2 
 
APPROVED:  Original signed by Dexter Payne EFFECTIVE DATE:  5/27/2022 
 
I. POLICY: 
 

It is the policy of the Arkansas Division of Correction (ADC) to allow certain food items to be 
brought or sent into its facilities for special occasions or events, or as gifts to individual inmates 
providing prior approval is obtained from the Warden. Appropriate efforts will be made to 
ensure that the food items are safe and free of contraband. Food for religious feasts such as 
Christmas, Passover or Eid feasts may be allowed. Food for other special events such as 
Revivals or Kairos Retreats, bringing children in for parenting workshops, program graduation 
ceremonies, and the like may also be allowed in accordance with this directive. Food items 
may be procured by the family for delivery to individual inmates through approved vendors, 
or through the commissary system, and only on those occasions approved by the Director. 

 
II. DEFINITIONS: 

A. Special Event.  Any activity not held in the normal course or day to day operations of a 
facility or program.  
 

III. PROCEDURE: 
A. A written request must be submitted to the Warden at least five (5) days prior to the 

date in which the food may be allowed into a Unit. 
B. The Warden must approve the request prior to any food being allowed into a Unit. 
C.  Food allowed to be brought in may be of seven (7) types: 

1. Prepared for sale and in its original packaging (e.g. cookies, bread, sandwich meats (if 
properly chilled), packages of salad, etc.); 

2. Commercially prepared, that may be defrosted and heated off-site but must be in its 
original container, or if it must be removed from its container for reheating, must be 
accompanied by a sales slip showing its origin; 
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3. Prepared on-site, or prepared off-site and delivered on-site, by a caterer who has the 
necessary Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) certifications; 

4. Purchased as take-out from an establishment that is engaged in this type of business 
(e.g. McDonalds, Pizza Hut, Taco Bell); 

5. Prepared off-site in a kitchen inspected by the ADH. Prior to this food being allowed 
in, documentation of ADH inspection must be on file with the Administrator of 
Religious Services; 

6. Whole fruit in its peeling or packaged for sale (e.g. dates); and 
7. Food packages ordered through approved vendors or procured through the 

commissary for delivery to individual inmates during certain months as approved by 
the Director. 

D. Food may be repackaged for serving with proper sanitation gear (e.g. gloves, proper 
containers, napkins, etc.) once it has approval of security staff inside the facility. 

E.  Unacceptable foods include, but are not limited to, the following:  
1. Mixed, peeled or cut-up fruit unless brought on-site in sealed commercial containers 

(e.g. dates); 
2. Hard Candy; 
3. Sugar, either bulk or in individual packets; 
4. Homemade ice cream, custards, or puddings, even if made on-site from commercially 

available ingredients; 
5. Drinks not brought to the facility in commercially sealed containers (e.g. fruit juices) 

or mixed on site from sealed packages of drink mix (e.g. Kool-Aid or Lemonade);   
6. Any food for which the “expiration” or “best if consumed by” date has passed; and 
7. Any food that requires special handling (heating or cooling) that is not being 

maintained at the proper temperature. 
F.  Quantities and consumption of food items are subject to restriction. 

1. Food items brought in for special events must be consumed at the events.  Any food 
item taken out of the event area without prior authorization of the Warden will be 
considered contraband. 

2. Any food items not consumed at the event must be removed by the event sponsors or 
disposed of as kitchen waste. 

3. The Warden may allow certain food items to be taken to inmates on lockdown, except 
on punitive isolation, but amounts will be limited to those consistent with health and 
sanitation procedures. 

4. Inmates receiving seasonal food packages will be limited to a number of packages 
(depending on size) consistent with Arkansas Department of Health Food Service 
Establishment Regulations and storage space in inmate property box. 

G. The Warden or designee is responsible for notifying any groups or individuals asking for 
permission to sponsor special events or send food packages to inmates of this policy. 
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ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE 
 

SUBJECT: Religious Activities 
 
NUMBER: 2022-       SUPERSEDES: 13-76 
 
APPLICABILITY: All staff and inmates  
 
REFERENCE:  JAR 883 Chaplaincy Services   PAGE: 1 of 1 
 
APPROVED:                                                     EFFECTIVE DATE:   
 
I. POLICY: 

   It is the policy of the Arkansas Division of Correction (ADC) to publish directives regarding religious 
services and activities in the Policy and Procedure, Religious Services Manual.   

 
II. PROCEDURE: 

A. In consultation with Wardens and religious authorities of diverse religions, denominations and 
sects, the Administrator of Religious Services shall establish a Policy and Procedure, Religious 
Services Manual and referred to hereinafter as Religious Services Manual shall cover such issues 
as religious observances, diets, education, counseling, services, and activities such as inmate 
marriages as are conducted within the ADC.    

B. The Religious Services Manual will be reviewed annually by the Administrator of Religious 
Services and any revision(s) are subject to approval by the Director.   

C.  The Director shall sign attesting that the annual review has been completed and that the Manual 
stands as policy of the ADC.   

D. The Administrator of Religious Services is responsible for ensuring that, at a minimum, current 
policy is available in the following locations: 

 1.  The ADC Website; 
 2.  All inmate law libraries; and 
 3.  Such other locations as requested by the Director or members of the Management Team.   

E. Religious Services staff at each unit shall ensure that a complete,  up to date, printed copy of the   
Religious Services Manual is kept in their office at all times and available to other unit staff upon 
request. 

H. When signed by the Director, the Religious Services Manual will have the effect of an 
Administrative Directive.   
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ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE 
 

SUBJECT: Religious Activities 
 
NUMBER: 2022-11       SUPERSEDES: 13-76 
 
APPLICABILITY: All staff and inmates  
 
REFERENCE:  JAR 883 Chaplaincy Services   PAGE: 1 of 1 
 
APPROVED:  Original Signed by Dexter Payne   EFFECTIVE DATE: 5/27/2022  
 
I. POLICY: 
   It is the policy of the Arkansas Division of Correction (ADC) to publish directives regarding religious 

services and activities in the Policy and Procedure, Religious Services Manual.   
 

II. PROCEDURE: 
A. In consultation with Wardens and religious authorities of diverse religions, denominations and 

sects, the Administrator of Religious Services shall establish a Policy and Procedure, Religious 
Services Manual and referred to hereinafter as Religious Services Manual shall cover such issues 
as religious observances, diets, education, counseling, services, and activities such as inmate 
marriages as are conducted within the ADC.    

B. The Religious Services Manual will be reviewed annually by the Administrator of Religious 
Services and any revision(s) are subject to approval by the Director.   

C.  The Director shall sign attesting that the annual review has been completed and that the Manual 
stands as policy of the ADC.   

D. The Administrator of Religious Services is responsible for ensuring that, at a minimum, current 
policy is available in the following locations: 

 1.  The ADC Website; 
 2.  All inmate law libraries; and 
 3.  Such other locations as requested by the Director or members of the Management Team.   

E. Religious Services staff at each unit shall ensure that a complete, up to date, printed copy of the   
Religious Services Manual is kept in their office at all times and available to other unit staff upon 
request. 

F. When signed by the Director, the Religious Services Manual will have the effect of an 
Administrative Directive.   
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ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE 
 
SUBJECT: Inmate Disciplinary Manual 
 
NUMBER: 2022-                          SUPERSEDES: 18-34 
 
APPLICABILITY: Inmates and Staff             PAGE: 1 of 23         
 
REFERENCE:  AR 831 Disciplinary Rules and Regulations; AR 834 Procedure for Handling 
Alleged Disciplinary Infractions of Mentally Disordered Inmates; SD Prison Rape Elimination Act  
    

     
APPROVED:            EFFECTIVE DATE:    

I. POLICY: 

To ensure that Institutional Rules and Regulations are enforced through an unbiased and prudent 
fact finder and to provide appropriate due process throughout the disciplinary process. The 
behavior of offenders committed to the custody of the Arkansas Division of Correction (ADC) shall 
be controlled in an impartial and consistent manner. Prior to the adoption of any changes to this 
policy, the proposed changes shall be posted in prominent locations (employee bulletin boards, 
inmate bulletin boards and electronic distribution) throughout ADC institutions at least thirty (30) 
days prior to the adoption of the changes. Inmates in Restrictive Housing will be provided a copy of 
the proposed changes by the Unit Disciplinary Officer. All comments shall be considered prior to 
adoption and shall be kept as part of the appropriate policy file documentation.  

 
II. PURPOSE:   

The ADC shall establish and designate authority to Major and Minor Disciplinary Officers who shall 
hear and adjudicate all reports of infractions of institutional rules and regulations. When inmate 
behavior requires discipline, the following procedures shall be followed to ensure that no 
unnecessary disciplinaries are written and that: 

A. There is no bias in favor of the charging officer; 

B. There is no presumption of guilt; 

C. There is a reliable method of determining whether an infraction has in fact occurred;  

D. Blatant forms of partiality which can result from prior knowledge, involvement, bias, or 
personal interest in a particular case are minimized; and 

E. Sanctions are imposed to discourage further Rule Violations with the use of Restrictive 
Housing only when the presence of the inmate in the general population poses a direct threat 
to the safety of persons or a clear threat to the safe and secure operations of the facility.  
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III.  DEFINITIONS: 

A. Assault. A willful attempt or threat(s) to inflict injury upon the person of another. 

B. Battery. The actual use of physical force upon the person of another. 

C. Business Day. Monday through Friday, excluding legal State recognized holidays. 

D. Counsel Substitute. Staff appointed by the Warden to assist eligible inmates through the 
disciplinary process including the appeal process if necessary.   

E. Disciplinary Appeal. Process an inmate must follow if he or she does not agree with the verdict 
of their disciplinary hearing using the Major Disciplinary Appeal Form 831-4 (Attachment 4). 

F. Disciplinary Hearing Administrator (DHA). The Internal Affairs Administrator is the DHA and 
is responsible for ensuring that Disciplinary Hearing Officers are trained. The DHA will review 
the hearings conducted by these hearing officers regularly.  

G. Disciplinary Hearing Officer (DHO). The DHO conducts Major Disciplinary Court Hearings 
on Major Disciplinaries. 

H. Disciplinary Report (DR). The factual basis for the charge of Rule Violation(s) and the rule(s) 
violated. 

I. Extension. To extend the time period to allow for further investigation or additional 
information. If an Extension is needed, Extension form, F-831-5 must be completed. 

J. Indecent Exposure. Public exposure of one’s genitals for gratification or pleasure. 

K. Introduction. Introduction shall be established through investigation that the charged inmate 
assisted in the article being brought on ADC property, moved about on ADC property, or 
stored in any manner on ADC property.  

L. Masturbation. Manipulating one’s genitals to arouse or gratify a sexual desire; does not require 
exposure. 

M. Minor Disciplinary Officer (MDO). The MDO is designated by the Warden to conduct 
hearings on minor disciplinary charges referred to as Minor Disciplinary Court. 

N. Modified. If the major disciplinary is modified, the sanctions will be adjusted or changed to 
reflect the decision of the person modifying the infractions. A written explanation will be 
provided to the inmate; and a copy will be saved in the inmate’s electronic file. 

O. PREA Charge. Any Rule Violation that is connected to the Prison Rape Elimination Act 
(PREA) and requires a response directed by the Department’s PREA Policy. The outcome for a 
PREA violation may direct a precaution to be entered into eOMIS indicating predator or victim 
identifications. This would include violations of: 

1. Sexual misconduct;  
2. Rape or forced sexual act; 
3. Masturbation in the presence of another; 
4. Sexual threats;  
5. Sexual harassment;  
6. Demanding sexual acts in trade; and 
7. Aiding or abetting in any of the above. 

      P.  Punitive Housing. A separate housing used for inmates, who have been found guilty of a 
disciplinary violation. 

Q.  Restitution. To reimburse or pay back for loss or damages. 
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R.  Restrictive Housing. A placement that requires an inmate to be confined to a cell for at least 
twenty-two (22) hours per day. 

S.  Reversed. If the disciplinary is reversed, it is voided, and privileges are restored back to what 
they were before the major disciplinary infractions/sanctions were entered. The disciplinary will 
remain in the inmate’s electronic file as a record.  

T.  Rule Violation. The details of the incident(s) or event(s) that describe the charge(s) in the DR. 

U. Serving Officer/Notifying Officer. The Officer who serves charges on the inmate(s), may 
appoint a Counsel Substitute and receives the inmate’s list of Witnesses regarding the charge(s) 
and provides the inmate with a copy of the DHO’s report.   

V. Staff. Any employee of the ADC, the Correctional School System, and any employee or 
contractor providing services within an ADC facility through contract or agreement with the  
ADC.  

W. Video Confercing System. Telecommunication in the form of video conference.  

X.  Warden. For the purpose of this policy, means Warden or Work Release Center Supervisor. 

Y.  Witness. Employees, inmates, or free world person(s) who have first-hand knowledge of an 
infraction, event or incident.   

IV. GENERAL RULES FOR MAJOR DISCIPLINARIES: 

A. Reasonable effort should be made to first counsel the inmate about his/her behavior to prevent 
the filing of unnecessary disciplinaries. 

 B. Each Major Disciplinary Court Hearing shall consist of one (1) DHO, who shall have singular 
authority for determining guilt or innocence and assessment of appropriate punishment. 

 C. The DHO(s) are located at the Randall L. Williams Correctional Facility and will conduct 
hearings at all units. 

 D. The Serving Officer/Notifying Officer who serves the DR shall have the authority to appoint a 
Staff Counsel Substitute at the time the DR is served. 

 E. Disciplinary action(s) shall be determined by a schedule of punishments that are based on the 
seriousness of the Rule Violation(s) as outlined in this policy. 

 F.  The appeal process shall be directed to the Warden, then to the DHA and then to the Director. 

V.   TRAINING: 

A. The DHA will be responsible for maintaining an instructional folder containing information on 
the proper procedures for holding Major Disciplinary Court Hearings and Minor Disciplinary 
Court Hearings, serving disciplinaries, rules and regulations of each unit, plus other pertinent 
information which could be helpful in implementing these policies and procedures. The folders 
will be available for training and review. The DHA is responsible for training all DHOs. 

B. DHOs will be required to review and be knowledgeable on all policies and procedures, 
including but not limited to: 

1. The use of the electronic Offender Management Information System (eOMIS) for 
processing disciplinary records; 

2. Inmate Handbook; 

3. Employee Handbook;  
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4. Applicable state and federal laws; 

5. Secretarial Directives (SD); 

6. Administrative Rules of the ADC; 

7. Administrative Directives (AD); and 

8. Unit Operating Procedures. 

C. Each Warden will designate Serving Officer/Notifying Officer(s) and ensure they are trained 
on ADC policies including the Inmate Disciplinary Manual and procedures for serving 
disciplinaries.  

D. Each Warden will designate one (1) or more MDO’s and ensure that such officers are trained 
on ADC policies including the Inmate Disciplinary Manual and procedures for conducting 
Minor Disciplinary Court.   

VI. BEHAVIOR RULES AND REGULATIONS: 

    The following rules and regulations shall govern inmate behavior at all units. Note that some rule 
numbers are not in order as categories were combined, but historical information will be maintained; 
numbers reserved for historical purposes are not listed in this policy. The “bold” words below 
indicate what should display on the ADC website for major Rule Violations; in some instances it will 
be the category listed (e.g. POSSESSION/MANUFACTURE OF CONTRABAND). 

 
Group Disruption Category           Penalty Class 

 
 1-1. Banding together for any reason which disrupts unit operations which          A 
  may include taking over any part of the unit or property of the ADC, 
         seizing one (1) or more persons as hostages, or interrupting operations. 

Rule Violation may result in loss of all good time. 

 1-6. Direct involvement in writing, circulating or signing a petition, letter, or        B 
  similar declaration that poses a threat to the security of the facility. 

1-7. Any Rule Violation set forth above that is found to be related to              A    
 recruitment or participation in a security threat group, or is 

motivated by racial, religious, or gender discrimination. 
Rule Violation may result in the loss of all good time. 
   

Individual Disruptive Behavior Category 

 2-2. Under the influence of and/or any use of illicit drugs, alcohol,            A 
                        intoxicating chemicals or any medication in an unauthorized 
  manner (e.g. includes but are not limited to, slurred speech, incoherent                 
             speech, redness of the eyes, vomiting, cannot stand on his/her own, etc.). 

          2-3. Monetary Misconduct. Entering into unauthorized contractual            A 
  agreements, failure to turn in all checks or monies received, obtaining 
  money through fraud or misrepresentation (examples include, but are 
  not limited to, buying articles on a payment plan, failure to turn in tips 

received on work release, or misleading someone to obtain money). 

2-4. Employment Misconduct. Work Release inmates who quit a job            B 
without prior approval, get fired for misconduct, tardiness, or shirking 
duties, or fail to notify ADC staff when too ill to work. 
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 2-5. Unauthorized use of mail or telephone.                B 
  Includes passing unauthorized messages, three-way communication(s), 

calling on another’s phone code, posing as another person, and telephone 
communications with unauthorized persons. 

 2-11. Tattooing, piercing, and self-mutilation intended to change oneself              B  
  or another’s appearance; this does not include attempts to commit 
  suicide or injure oneself unless solely for manipulation. See AR 834  

Procedure for Handling Alleged Disciplinary Infractions of 
Mentally Disordered Inmates. 

 2-12. Failure to keep one's person or quarters                       C  
  in accordance with regulations, or failure to wear ADC-issued ID, 
   or clothing according to center/unit policy.  

 2-13. Breaking into, or causing disruption of an inmate line or              B 
  interfering with operations.  

 2-15. Tampering with, or blocking, any lock or locking device.              A 

 2-16. Refusal to submit to substance abuse testing                                            A 
or submitting a diluted sample. 

  2-17.    Creating unnecessary noise, including disruptive or aggressive  C   
                        play in areas other than designated recreation areas. 

2-20. Unauthorized communication, contact, or conduct with     B 
a visitor or any member of the public or staff.  

 2-21. Running from, avoiding, or otherwise resisting apprehension.  A 

2-22. Interfering with the taking of count.                 A 

 3-3. Unexcused absence from work/school assignment    B 
  or other program activity. 

3-5. Out of place of assignment.       B 

5-5. Provoking or agitating a fight.      B 

11-1. Insolence to a Staff member.                 A 

12-2. Refusal of job assignment including participating in a treatment  B 
program, or class assignment, or violating program rules that 
results in dismissal from a program. 

12-3. Failure or refusing to obey verbal and/or written order(s) of staff.   B 

12-4     Refusing a direct verbal order to leave or enter any area of the institution   A                      
or ADC property including, but not limited to, a cell, barracks, chow hall,        
transportation vehicle, or hallway.       

12-5 Failure or refusal to leave Restrictive Housing and return to population A 

13-2. Lying to a staff member, including omissions, and providing  B 
 misinformation.  

 13-3. Malingering, feigning an illness (see page 17 for further explanation). B 
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  BATTERY CATEGORY 

 4-4. Battery on Staff. Use of physical force upon Staff (examples include,  A 
  but are not limited to, Staff, volunteers, vendors and/or contractors). 

 4-5. Aggravated Battery. Use of a weapon, or injury resulting in victim  A 
having to go to the Emergency Room, in Battery upon another person. 
This Rule Violation will result in loss of all good time and the loss for 
one (1) calendar year of the privilege to purchase or possess any item 
which was used as a weapon. 

4-8.  Battery. Use of physical force upon an inmate.    A 

 4-17.    Throwing or attempting to throw substances known or unknown,  A 
  toward or upon another person. Rule Violation may result in loss of  

all good time. 
 
ASSAULT CATEGORY 

 5-3. Assault. Any willful attempt or threat(s) to inflict injury upon another,        A 
  directly or indirectly, verbally or in writing.   

 5-4. Making sexual threat(s) to another person, directly or indirectly, verbally A  
  or in writing.  
 
THEFT, DESTRUCTION OF PROPERTY OR EXTORTION CATEGORY 

6-1. Demanding/receiving money or favors or anything of value in return A  
 for an offer/promise of protection from others, or to keep information                                                    

secret. 

 7-1. Unauthorized use of state property/supplies.    B 

 7-4. Theft or possession of stolen property.     A 

 8-4. Destruction or intentional misplacement of property of another  A 
             or the ADC. Restitution may be ordered based on replacement cost, 

or the value of lost, intentionally misplaced, or destroyed property. 

 8-6. Adulteration of any food(s) or drink(s) with intent to harm   A 
  others. Rule Violation may result in the loss of all good time. 

8-7. Setting a fire or destruction or tampering with fire detection  A 
  or suppression device. 
  
POSSESSION/MANUFACTURE OF CONTRABAND CATEGORY 

 9-1. Possession/Introduction of any firearm, ammunition, weapon,  A 
fireworks, explosive, unauthorized combustible substance, or 
unauthorized tool. Rule Violation may result in loss of all good time. 

    9-3. Possession/Introduction/manufacture of any drug, narcotic   A 
intoxicant, tobacco, chemical, or drug paraphernalia not prescribed 
by medical staff. 

 9-4. Possession or movement of money or currency, unless   A 
  specifically authorized. 

 9-5. Possession/Introduction of clothing or property not issued to   C 
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  inmate nor authorized by the center/unit. 

 9-9. Counterfeiting, forging, or unauthorized possession/introduction             A 
  of any document, article of identification, money, security, or official paper. 

 9-14. Possession/Introduction/use of unauthorized electronic device(s):   A 
  Examples include, but are not limited to, flash drive, MP player, Tablet,  

DVD player, etc.  
 
Rule violation will result in the loss of all good time and will result in the  
loss of the Inmate Telephone System privileges for one (1) year.  
Possession of a cell phone is a crime which may result in criminal  
prosecution for a felony.  

 
9-15 Possession/Introduction/Use of a cell phone or any cell phone component: A                 

Examples include, but are not limited to, sim cards, charger, battery, etc.  
or an unauthorized messaging device.  
 
Rule violation will result in the loss of all good time and will result in the  
loss of the Inmate Telephone System privileges for one (1) year.  
Possession of a cell phone is a crime which may result in criminal  
prosecution for a felony.  
 

9-16.    Use of internet or social media.      A 

 9-17. Preparing, conducting, or participating in a gambling operation.   B  
      
SEXUAL ACTIVITY CATEGORY 

 10-1. Engaging in non-abusive sexual activity with another consenting person. A             

10-2. Making sexual proposals to another person. (PREA)    A 

 10-3. Indecent Exposure and/or Masturbation; may result in a referral for  A 
criminal prosecution (examples include, but are not limited to, verbal 
and/or non-verbal gestures). 

 10-4. Bestiality.         A 

  10-5. Masturbation in the presence of another inmate.    A  

 10-7.  Demanding sexual contact in trade or for protection from physical  A 
harm or mental anguish, or other victimization. 

  4-10.    Rape or forced sexual act with/on an inmate. Rule Violation may              A 
  result in the loss of all good time. (PREA) Rape is a crime and may  

result in criminal prosecution for a Class Y Felony. If convicted,  
may result in a life sentence.  

4-19. Rape or forced sexual act on staff, volunteer, contractor or other  A 
individual not incarcerated at the time of the incident. Rule Violation 
may result in the loss of all good time. Rape is a crime and may  
result in criminal prosecution for a Class Y Felony. If convicted,  
may result in a life sentence.  
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TRAFFICKING AND TRADING CATEGORY 

 15-2. Asking, coercing, or offering inducement to anyone to violate ADC               A  
policy or procedure, inmate rules and regulations, center/unit operating 
procedures, this also includes extortion. 

 15-3. The purchase or exchange of unauthorized articles or authorized articles B 
             obtained through unauthorized channels.   

ESCAPE CATEGORY 

 16-1. Escape from custody of the ADC; May result in the loss of all good time  A 
  and/or result in referral for criminal prosecution.                 

16-2. Failure to return from any approved activity or furlough at the  A 
  designated time. 

 16-3. Attempted escape, including leaving a Work Release job Site or work  A 
detail, while in the custody of the ADC. This includes but is not limited to, 
written notes regarding escape, phone call recordings advising escape plans,  
and verbal threats to escape, etc. 
 

B. Determination of Charges   

Only one (1) Rule Violation may be charged for a given behavior. The violation cited should be that 
which most accurately categorizes the behavior. However, a DR may cover an incident which is made 
up of a sequence of several distinct behaviors, each of which is a rule violation. 

1. Example of several Rule Violations in one (1) sequence:   

An inmate stays in the barracks, missing work call (Rule 3-3, Unexcused absence from work); a 
correctional officer finds him/her in the barracks and gives him/her a direct order to join his/her 
work detail which the inmate refuses (Rule 12-3, Failure to obey an order); and the inmate stands 
up and threatens to punch the officer if the officer doesn't leave him/her alone (Rule 5-3, Assault).   

2. Example of several Rule Violations for a given behavior that should result in one (1) rule charge, 
the one that most accurately categorizes the behavior: 

While exposing himself, an inmate is masturbating at his cell door with all his clothes off while 
watching an officer in front of the dayroom of inmates (Rule 10-3, Indecent Exposure, and Rule 
10-5, Masturbation in the presence of another inmate; this should result in one (1) charge of 10-3).   

VII. MAJOR DISCIPLINARY COURT: 

A. Establishment of Court 

The Major Disciplinary Court Hearing shall be composed of a single DHO who will be directed in 
the performance of those duties by the DHA. 

B.  Responsibilities of the Major Disciplinary Hearing Officer 

1. The Major DHO is charged with the responsibility of ensuring that all rules promulgated by the 
ADC regarding major disciplinary hearings are followed. 

2. In all major disciplinary proceedings, the DHO shall fully explain the charges and inform the 
inmate of the possible consequences if found guilty. The DHO shall further ensure that there is no 
undue air of hostility in the proceedings and that the proceedings and deliberations are not 
conducted in a perfunctory manner. The DHO will be vigilant in averting any racial, religious or 
gender discrimination during the proceedings or in the assessment of punishment.  Any such signs 
of discrimination will be immediately reported to the Warden, DHA and the Director. 
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3. The DHO shall hear all of the facts of the case and shall have singular authority for deciding guilt 
or innocence and the punishment assessed, except as outlined in the AD on Evaluations for 
Disciplinary Court Proceedings for Seriously Mentally Ill and Mentally Deficient Inmates regarding 
punishment, and AR 834, Procedure for Handling Alleged Disciplinary Infractions of Mentally 
Disordered Inmates. 

4. Regarding guilty pleas, the DHO must ensure that the inmate understands the charge to which 
he/she is pleading guilty. Guilty pleas will be monitored to determine whether the inmate offers any 
supporting evidence indicating innocence of the charge as written. 

5. Responsibilities of the DHO regarding Counsel Substitutes are enumerated under Section VII (J) (1). 

C.  Responsibilities of the Building or Field Chief Security Officer (CSO) 

1. Prior to the Major Disciplinary Court Hearing, the CSO will review all disciplinaries and may do one 
(1) of the following: 

a. Forward the disciplinary to the DHO with his or her initials on the report; 
b. Reduce it to a Minor Disciplinary; 
c. Dismiss the charges and file the DR as a matter of record; or 
d. Convert the Minor Disciplinary to a Major Disciplinary. 

Regarding provision (b) and (c) above, the CSO will consult with the charging person on any 
decision which results in dismissal or reduction. In the event the CSO dismisses the DR(s), a 
copy of the dismissed disciplinary shall be forwarded to the Deputy Warden for filing as a matter 
of record. Copies of these reports are not to be included in the inmate's permanent jacket. 
Reasons for such dismissals should be documented on the face of the DR(s). 

2. The CSO may set reasonable limitations on the number of inmate Witnesses. The CSO will 
document the reason(s) for the limitation on the Major Disciplinary Form (F-831-1) under 
"Witness Statements." In the event that a limit (usually five) is placed upon inmate Witness 
statements, the same limit must be applied to statements taken from Staff. 

3. May exclude any Witness(es) who were not present at the time of the incident and inquire from 
the offender what testimony from that Witness would reveal.   
 

      D.   General Considerations 

1. The Major Disciplinary Form (F-831-1) will be completed for Major Disciplinary Reports against 
an inmate and will include specific details of the rule infraction alleged against the inmate. At a 
minimum, the details shall include who, what, when, where, how, and why the charge is brought.  
The charging person should be the Staff with the most knowledge of the event. Once the DR is 
written, the charging person may seek assistance from others for purposes of correcting any 
mistakes in grammar or punctuation; however, the actual content of the DR must not be 
changed.   

2. The Major Disciplinary Form (F-831-1) must be signed by the charging person, affirming that the 
information in the report is true and correct. Any relevant supporting documents (such as 
incident reports) should be attached to the major disciplinary form. The completed form with any 
attachments should be forwarded immediately to the CSO. This process will be completed 
electronically in the eOMIS when that system is available. 

3. Any Witness(es) to the infraction shall prepare statement(s) to be attached to the charging 
person's report of the incident. Witnesses include any inmates, employees, and/or free world 
persons who have firsthand knowledge of the infraction. Witnesses who appear to testify before 
the Disciplinary Court will have their statements recorded. If written Witness statements are 
submitted to the Disciplinary Court, those will be reviewed by the DHO and documented in 
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eOMIS.  In the event a Witness requested by an inmate is denied, that request may be submitted 
to the inmate in writing. 

4. It will be the responsibility of the DHO to thoroughly review all available documents concerning 
the Major Disciplinary Reports. He/she will determine whether or not additional information is 
necessary and may grant an Extension of time pursuant to these guidelines if necessary. 

E. Hearings 

1. The Major Disciplinary Court Hearing shall meet or be held by Video Conference as often as 
necessary at a convenient place and time between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m., in order 
to administer the institutional disciplinary functions as expeditiously as possible. It is 
recommended that hearings be held at least weekly. The court should avoid convening on 
weekends and holidays to minimize interference with inmate visitation; however, if security or 
administrative necessity as determined by the Warden dictates, then the hearings may be held on 
a weekend or holiday. Any weekend or holiday hearings will be limited to business as necessary to 
alleviate the concerns expressed by the Warden. 

2. A charged inmate must be given at least twenty-four (24) hours prior notice of a disciplinary 
proceeding. The inmate may call Witnesses by giving the Serving Officer/Notifying Officer the 
names of the individuals he/she wishes to call. The manner in which the Witnesses’ statements 
are presented to the court shall be within the discretion of the DHO. 

3. No disciplinary will be heard after seven (7) Business Days from the date it was written except 
pursuant to an authorized Extension.  

For example, an inmate receiving a disciplinary on Tuesday at 9:00 a.m. or 10:00 p.m. should be 
tried no later than 6:00 p.m. the following Thursday assuming there were no holidays.           
Note: The day the disciplinary is written is not to be counted in calculating the seven (7) 
Business Days. 

4. Upon convening to consider cases of inmate violations of rules and regulations, the DHO shall 
cause the inmate to appear before him/her for their Major Discipinary Court Hearing, unless the 
inmate waives in writing or through behavior ( e.g., acts absurd at hearing, walks out before 
hearing is over). In the event that an inmate wishes to waive his/her appearance, a waiver form 
will be completed and a copy provided to the charged inmate and must be reviewed by the 
Warden or designee. If the inmate waives his/her right to appear and is found guilty, he/she 
cannot appeal the decision.   

5. Once the inmate is present before the DHO for the Major Disciplinary Court Hearing, the 
recorder will be turned on, the reading noted, the time and date entered, and the charged inmate 
identified by name and ADC number. 

6. The DHO will identify himself/herself in the presence of the inmate and inform the inmate that 
this is, in fact, a Major Disciplinary Court Hearing. 

7. The DHO will scrutinize the DR to determine whether all time limits and procedural 
requirements have been met. 

8. It must be determined whether all allowed Witness statements requested by the inmate and all 
other items of physical or documentary evidence are present before the court. The court may 
summon any additional Witnesses it deems necessary. Witness statements may be taken in 
writing, orally in person, or by telephone. 

All written Witness statements, whether taken prior to the hearing or obtained at the request of 
the court, will be reviewed and a copy included in the disciplinary record.  The choice of how the 
Witness statement will be taken is left to the discretion of the DHO. If more information or 
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clarification is needed from the charging person or other Witnesses, such information may be 
obtained through the means described above (written, oral, telephone). In the event that such 
testimony is obtained with the Witness appearing before the court, the charged inmate is not to 
be allowed in the room during testimony and the inmate does not have a right to cross-examine 
Witnesses. The inmate will receive a statement of fact(s) from the DHO if provided by the 
charging officer. The DHO may grant an Extension to the inmate if the Witness is not readily 
available to provide additional testimony. 

9. The inmate should be informed that he/she has been charged with a specific offense, the possible 
consequences of a finding of guilt including possible loss of privileges, loss of Good Time, loss of 
Class Status, assignment to Restrictive Housing, additional duty, change in assignment/unit, 
Restitution, or any combination. 

10. The inmate should then be asked whether the nature of the proceeding and the possible 
consequences are understood. If it appears that the inmate does not understand, the policy 
regarding Counsel Substitutes (see Section VII-J and 1) must be followed. 

 11. The Rule Violation(s) and the charging person's report will then be read to the inmate. 

                              12.  The inmate will be asked to enter a plea of guilty or not guilty. Guilty pleas must be explored to 
determine whether the inmate is certain of the charge being admitted. Any refusal to enter a plea 
shall be construed as a plea of not guilty. 

13.  The inmate must be afforded an opportunity to speak on his/her own behalf and submit any 
documentary evidence excluding Witness statements. All documentary evidence presented will 
become a part of the disciplinary packet. All Witness statements are to be gathered by ADC 
employees after the inmate has submitted a Witness list to the serving officer. Inmates will not 
be allowed to gather and submit Witness statements on their own. 

14.  After the inmate has made a statement and/or presented a defense, the recorder will be muted 
and Witness statements will be reviewed and documented.   

15.  The DHO must carefully weigh all evidence with special emphasis upon individual pieces of 
"primary evidence." Rumor or suspicion about an inmate's behavior shall not be taken into 
account. 

16.  After the DHO has weighed all of the evidence, a decision shall be made regarding guilt or 
innocence. 

                            17.  In the event that the inmate is found guilty, punishment must be imposed within the guidelines 
established by this policy. 

                         18. The Video Conferencing System will then be un-muted. The inmate must then be informed as to 
the finding of guilt or innocence on each particular Rule Violation and must be informed of the 
punishment, if any, imposed. 

19.  The inmate must be informed of his or her right to appeal and to obtain Staff assistance in the 
fashioning of an appeal if needed. 

20.  The inmate will receive an oral statement detailing the reason for the finding of guilt or 
innocence at the time the DHO informs the inmate of the verdict. The DHO will reduce these 
reasons to writing prior to the conclusion of that Business Day and the Serving 
Officer/Notifying Officer will provide a typed copy or ISSR 100 (electronic generated 
disciplinary hearing results form) generated by eOMIS to the inmate within twenty-four (24) 
hours.   

                                    If the inmate refuses to sign, two (2) employees must Witness the refusal. It is sufficient to 
indicate that the inmate signed (or refused to sign) the original copy.  
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21. When the DHO has completed his or her work for the day, the DHO shall complete the 
disciplinary court report.   

22. Once the DHO's report has been completed, the disciplinary action shall not be altered in any 
way except as provided herein.  

F. Disciplinary Actions 
1. Upon determining that an inmate is guilty of violating institutional rule(s), the DHO may apply 

any or all of the sanctions from the penalty class of the most serious rule violated. Additional 
sanctions may be applied from the penalty class corresponding to the additional rule(s) violated. 
However, sanctions defined in terms of days (e.g, loss of good time, loss of privileges, and extra 
duty) may not be applied to more than one Punitive Housing per disciplinary action. The 
punishment rendered should not be more than the DHO finds necessary to discourage repeated 
rule violations in the future. Punitive Isolation and Loss of Good Time above 365 days should 
only occur when there has been a Battery, threat of bodily harm or threat to the secure operation 
of the unit, possession of a cell phone and possession of a weapon.  

2. Any or all sanctions may be suspended for up to six (6) months.   

3.  DHOs may not amend an inmate’s level in the Varner Super Maximum (VSM) Program, but 
those actions can be considered by the Classification Committee when reviewing that inmate.   

4.   Inmates who violate the following rules may be placed on Non-Contact Visitation and  restricted 
from Video Visitation for one (1) year for each offense. Any subsequent disciplinary for another 
violation following the initial violation will cause the one (1) year restriction period to start over 
from the date of conviction of the new violation.  

a. Under the influence of and/or use of an illegal drug, alcohol, intoxicating chemical or any 
medication in an unauthorized manner.   

b. Refusal to submit to substance abuse testing.  

c. Possession or Introduction of any drug, narcotic, intoxicating chemical, or drug 
paraphernalia not prescribed by medical Staff. 

d. Possession or movement of money or currency, unless specifically authorized. 

e. Possession of clothing or property not issued or authorized by the Center/Unit. 

f. Correspondence/conduct with a visitor in violation of regulations. 

g. Possession/Introduction/use of a cell phone or unauthorized messaging device. 

h. Possession/Introduction/use of unauthorized electronic devices or parts of one, such as a 
charger or sim card. 

i. Indecent Exposure 

j. Social media 

5.   All inmates assigned to Restrictive Housing will remain a Class IV inmate and will not receive 
any good time for the duration of their confinement in Restrictive Housing.  

G. Range of Allowable Sanctions 

 1. Penalty Class "A"* 

a. Punitive Housing up to thirty (30) days. Inmates serving a punitive disciplinary sentence 
shall not earn meritorious good time. 
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b. Loss of earned good time up to 365 days (loss of all earned good time is allowable for 
offenses listed that include the statement “may result in loss of all good time”). 

c. If the use of the Inmate Telephone System is involved, it shall result in the loss of 
telephone privileges for one (1) year.   

d. Loss of designated privileges, up to sixty (60) days, or the loss of a commissary item(s) up 
to three hundred sixty five (365) days if such commissary item(s) were used in the 
commission of the disciplinary infraction.    

e. Restitution based on replacement cost or the value of lost,  intentionally misplaced, or 
destroyed property. 

f. Reduction of up to three (3) steps in class. 

g. Extra duty up to two (2) hours per day for up to thirty (30) days. 

h. Possession/Introduction/use of a cell phone will result in the loss of Inmate Telephone 
System privileges for one (1) year.  

i. For PREA related violations, referral to the Classification Committee for consideration of 
precautions based on the findings of the investigation and outcome of the Disciplinary 
Hearing. The Classification Committee will consider PREA status in housing and job 
assignments and potential placement in programming based on the outcome.  

j. An inmate found guilty of escape or attempted escape, felonious battery, homicide or 
attempted homicide, possession/manufacture of contraband, throwing or attempting to 
throw substances, and third or subsequent guilty verdict for Indecent Exposure and/or 
Masturbation that carries a Class A penalty will not be eligible for class promotion and/or 
reclassification for one (1) year unless the Warden recommends to the Classification 
Committee that the inmate be considered for promotion and/or reclassification.  

   2. Penalty Class "B"* 

a. Punitive Isolation up to fifteen (15) days. Inmates serving a punitive disciplinary sentence 
shall not earn meritorious good time. 

b. Loss of earned good time up to one hundred fifty (150) days. 

c. Loss of designated privileges up to forty-five (45) days. 

d. Restitution based on replacement cost or the value of lost, intentionally misplaced or 
destroyed property. 

e. Extra duty up to two (2) hours per day for up to fifteen (15) days. 

f. Formal reprimand and/or warning. 

g. Reduction of up to two (2) steps in class. 

    3. Penalty Class “C”* 

a.   Punitive Isolation up to ten (10) days. Inmates serving a punitive disciplinary sentence shall  
not earn meritorious good time. 

       b.   Loss of earned credits up to sixty (60) days.  

 c.    Loss of designated privileges up to thirty (30) days. 

 d.  Restitution based on replacement cost or the value of lost, intentionally misplaced or 
destroyed property. 

               e.   Extra duty up to two (2) hours per day for up to ten (10) days. 
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               f.   Formal reprimand/warning. 

g.  Reduction of one (1) step in class. 

Note: Loss of all earned good time is allowable for offenses listed that include the 
statement “may result in loss of all good time”. 

*In addition to any other punishment authorized under this AD, the use of any commissary item 
in connection with the violation of any of these rules may result in the loss of the privilege to 
acquire that type of item for up to twelve (12) months.  

 
H. Major Disciplinary Appeal Process 

1. At the time of notification of the verdict in a disciplinary proceeding, the inmate will be notified 
that he/she has the right to appeal any decision of, or disciplinary action taken by, the DHO, 
directly to the Warden of the unit/center involved. This notification will be documented by having 
the inmate sign the front of the disciplinary indicating that he/she understands the right to appeal. 
If the inmate waives his/her right to appear before the Major Disciplinary and is found guilty, 
he/she cannot appeal the decision. In the event the inmate is illiterate, the DHO shall, at the 
request of the inmate, direct the inmate's Counsel Substitute (Section VII (J) (1) to assist him/her in 
writing the letter of appeal. 

2. The appeal must be written within the space provided on the Appeal Form. All grounds for appeal 
should be briefly stated and include the reasons why the conviction or punishment should be 
Reversed or Modified. This statement will be considered at all levels of appeal and may not be re-
written at each stage. If the inmate fails to receive responses in the time frame set forth below, 
he/she may appeal to the next level. 

a. The appeal shall be submitted in writing and must be submitted within fifteen (15) Business 
Days after a copy of the DHO's report is given to the inmate and shall set forth in detail the 
grounds for any appeal. The Warden has thirty (30) business days from receipt of the appeal 
to respond, except that if the inmate is serving punitive time as a result of the disciplinary, 
the Warden should answer the appeal within ten (10) Business Days.   

b. If the Warden upholds the original decision of the DHO’s verdict and the inmate is not 
satisfied with the response, he/she has fifteen (15) Business Days from receipt of the 
Warden’s decision, to appeal to the DHA, who has thirty (30) Business Days to respond.   

c. If the DHA upholds the decision of the original verdict, and the inmate disagrees with the 
response, he/she has fifteen (15) Business Days from receipt of the DHA’s decision, to 
appeal to the Director. The Director has (30) Business Days to respond. The written appeal 
must set forth in detail the grounds for such an appeal. The Director’s decision is final.   

d. During any stage of the appeal, the reviewer may affirm the action of the DHO or alter it as 
he/she deems just and proper; except at no point in the appeal process shall the penalty be 
increased.   

3. In cases where a DR is written by a Warden, the inmate may bypass the appeal to the Warden and 
appeal to the DHA. 

 I. Extensions 

   1. Limited Extensions of time may be granted by the respective Warden in the following 
circumstances: 

a. The charged inmate has escaped;  

b. The inmate is out to court, hospital or otherwise off the unit/center; 
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c. The case requires more extensive investigation; 

d. An emergency situation exists at the unit/center; or  

e. Volume of disciplinaries scheduled for hearing is excessive and more time is needed to 
ensure a fair determination in each case. 

2. The DHO may grant an Extension if additional information or investigation is needed in order to 
arrive at a fair decision. 

3. In the event that an Extension is granted, a copy of the Disciplinary Extension Form shall be 
forwarded to the charged inmate. An Extension may be granted for a period of up to five (5) 
additional Business Days. If a greater length of time is needed, then the Extension must be 
renewed and will not exceed five (5) Business Days per Extension. Any Extension over thirty (30) 
days must be approved by the Director. The Warden may give an indefinite Extension while the 
inmate is absent from the Unit/Center. 

                             4. Regarding escapes, the time limit will not begin to run until the inmate is returned to the unit 
where the disciplinary hearing will be held. The Warden should check the appropriate box on the 
Disciplinary Extension Form and enter the time and date when the inmate was returned to the 
unit/center. The time and date entered will serve as the starting point for the time limit. 

                  J. Special Cases 

1. Counsel Substitutes 

a. The following inmates shall be entitled to a Counsel Substitute in disciplinary proceedings: 

i. Those inmates designated by the CSO, or the investigating officer. 

ii. Those inmates who the DHO believes are illiterate, or incompetent, including any 
inmate with an IQ of sixty (60) or below, or a reading level below fourth (4th) grade 
(records of School District and/or Mental Health will be checked).   

iii. Inmates facing disciplinary proceedings where the issues involved are so complex 
that he/she is not likely to understand the nature of the charges. 

iv. Any inmate not able to understand and speak the English language. 

v. Inmates assigned a Mental Health Classification of 3 or 4 if recommended on 
Form 834. 

b. Counsel Substitutes shall consist of Staff members as designated by the Warden. These 
individuals will be on notice that they are the Counsel Substitutes and should be prepared 
to be of service at the Major Disciplinary Court Hearings. The Warden shall prepare a list 
of approved Counsel Substitutes who shall be immediately available to the investigating 
officer, the CSO, and the DHO on request. When it is determined that an inmate is in 
need of a Counsel Substitute by the Serving Officer/Notifying Officer,  who serves the 
disciplinary, and/or the CSO, the Counsel Substitute should be notified in advance so 
that he/she can be on notice of which inmate is involved and the nature of the 
disciplinary. When the Counsel Substitute determination is made by the DHO at the 
hearing, he/she shall immediately recess or postpone the disciplinary hearing so the 
Counsel Substitute may have an opportunity to meet with the accused inmate prior to the 
entering of a plea. The DHO should then proceed with the next disciplinary, having 
noted the starting and stopping place on the recording prior to the recess and further 
noting the starting and stopping place on the recording when the disciplinary hearing is 
reconvened with the Counsel Substitute present.   
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c. Counsel Substitutes have no voice in the decision making of the court. When the Counsel 
Substitute performs the required duties for an inmate in a disciplinary hearing, the 
Counsel Substitute shall not remain in the disciplinary hearing room during deliberation. 

d. All inmates have the right to refuse a Counsel Substitute. Any refusal is a waiver of the 
Counsel Substitute, and the refusal by the inmate must be noted on the recording and the 
disciplinary form, and the disciplinary should proceed without any Counsel Substitute. 

e. In the event that a Counsel Substitute requires more time to prepare the necessary 
information for a fair determination of the disciplinary, the DHO may grant an Extension 
of time for further investigation. 

f. Once the DHO has made a decision and advised the inmate of the appeal procedure, the 
Counsel Substitute will be responsible for aiding the inmate in the appeal process. The 
responsibility of the Counsel Substitute to the inmate shall be restricted to the 
presentation of evidence on the inmate's behalf at the disciplinary hearing and any 
subsequent proceedings, and providing an adequate explanation of the charges and 
consequences to the inmate both before and after the hearing. 

2. Use of Confidential Information and Confidential Informants 

a. If the charging person does not have firsthand knowledge of the event, the charge may 
be brought based upon information received from a confidential informant(s); however, 
no disciplinary shall be based solely upon information received from a confidential 
informant(s). There must be corroborating evidence that supports the information 
received from the confidential informant(s) for the disciplinary to proceed. 

 b. The charged inmate has no right to confront and cross-examine an informant against 
him/her or to know the informant's identity or statement. It is mandatory that any time 
confidential informant information is provided; the DHO shall ensure that the 
confidential information does not become known to other inmates. This information 
shall be marked confidential and entered into eOMIS. 

c. In cases where a disciplinary is written primarily upon information from a confidential 
informant, the record must contain the informant's signed statement in language that is 
factual rather than subjectively conclusive and must establish that the confidential 
informant had personal knowledge of the matter. 

d. In cases where the charging person is able to verify information obtained from a 
confidential informant, and the charging person has obtained independent corroborating 
evidence of the event, it is not necessary to provide the confidential informant's name 
and statement to the DHO. 

e.    In the event that the DHO uses as evidence an investigative report which is classified as 
confidential, the DHO is responsible for ensuring that the confidential report is safely 
returned to the DHA without becoming known to inmates or unauthorized Staff. When 
describing the report under "Evidence Relied Upon," it is sufficient to use the phrase 
"Confidential Report," and state the conclusion of the report without detailing any of the 
specifics contained in the report. 

3.  Contraband and Other Physical Evidence  

 If physical evidence is involved in or crucial to the determination to be made by the DHO such as 
weapons or contraband, then photographs and/or written reports of that evidence will be presented 
to and considered by the DHO. Following the hearing, any contraband may be disposed of pursuant 
to the Inmate Property Control AD, but must be described in great detail under "Evidence Relied 
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Upon." Photographs and written reports should be entered into eOMIS and made a part of the 
inmate's permanent file. 

4.  Malingering 

a. Certain DRs may require testimony from healthcare Staff such as when the inmate's 
defense is that he/she was too ill to abide by an institutional rule. Whenever a charged 
inmate's defense is illness, unit healthcare Staff must be contacted to determine whether 
the inmate was examined for a complaint of illness and whether, in the opinion of the 
person(s) who examined the inmate, the inmate was feigning illness or not sufficiently ill 
to justify a lay-in. 

b. A statement from healthcare Staff will be obtained either in writing or by telephone. If 
written, the statement will be attached to the DR, noted under “Evidence Relied Upon” 
and made a part of the inmate's permanent file.  If by telephone, the statement should be 
recorded and, if necessary, repeated for the recording device, and quoted on the 
Disciplinary Hearing Action Form (F-831-3) and, when available, in eOMIS under 
"Evidence Relied Upon." If the proper entry is not made under "Evidence Relied Upon," 
indicating the source and content of the testimony from healthcare Staff, the disciplinary 
action will be deemed invalid and expunged from the inmate's records. 

c. Where an inmate’s defense for failure to work is illness and healthcare staff reports that 
the inmate did not report to medical or submit a sick call on the date of the infraction, the 
defense shall be found without merit as it is the responsibility of the inmate to go to the 
healthcare Staff for treatment of an illness. If the inmate did solicit treatment from 
medical Staff, but was cleared to report to work, the healthcare report should be entered 
under "Evidence Relied Upon" and considered in conjunction with any other evidence 
available to the court.  If healthcare Staff reports that the inmate was in fact too ill to 
perform his/her designated work task, the inmate shall be found not guilty. 

d. When an inmate is already performing his/her work assignment, and complains of illness, 
the inmate should be sent or escorted to medical.  If the inmate receives a "lay-in," then 
there should be no DR. If the inmate is cleared by medical and is ordered to go to work 
but refuses, a DR may be written.  If the inmate is sent back to work and returns to work, 
he should only be given a DR when the officer has concrete evidence that the entire 
episode was contrived to harass Staff or to temporarily avoid work. In such case, the 
healthcare Staff must be contacted to determine whether, in the opinion of the person(s) 
who examined the inmate, the inmate was feigning illness. If any illness was determined 
to be present, even though not sufficient to warrant a lay-in, the inmate should be found 
not guilty when the inmate returned to work after being seen by medical Staff.  

e. Upon contacting the healthcare Staff for information, the name and statement of the 
person contacted must be entered under "Evidence Relied Upon." 

5. Damaging Property 

a. Any inmate who is found guilty of destroying, damaging, or intentionally misplacing 
property may be ordered to make Restitution in the amount of the replacement costs or 
the value of the property, depending upon individual circumstances as found by the 
DHO. 

b. The DHO shall levy against the institutional account of the inmate for the reasonable 
value of the property intentionally destroyed, misplaced, or the reasonable value to repair 
intentionally damaged property after making inquiry to determine such values.  The levy 
against the inmate account shall continue until the obligation is fully paid. 
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c. In cases where the DHO finds destruction or damage was caused by negligence as 
opposed to willfulness, the DHO should determine whether the inmate knew or should 
have known that the behavior in question would likely cause damage or destruction of the 
property, whether the inmate acted in direct contravention of written or verbal orders, or 
any other circumstances which reflect upon the appropriateness of levying against the 
inmate account.   

d. The reasoning supporting any decision to order restitution for damaged property must be 
fully detailed under "Reasons for Punishment" on the Disciplinary Hearing Action Form 
(F-831-3) and electronically when available in eOMIS. 

e. The DHO shall not, under any circumstances, order Restitution between inmates, or 
between inmates and Staff. Restitution shall only be used as a tool to discourage the 
destruction or damage of property by causing inmates to take fiscal responsibility for such 
destruction, damage, or intentional misplacement.  

K. Specific Prohibitions 

1. No DHO shall conduct hearings when that officer is the charging person or has firsthand 
knowledge of a particular disciplinary episode. 

2. No Staff shall communicate to a DHO, by way of suggestion or order, the finding or punishment 
that the DHO should find. An exception is Mental Health Staff completing a written 834 Form 
(Mental Health Form).   

3. A DHO should make his/her decision based solely upon the evidence presented to them in 
disciplinary court and is not to be influenced by Staff or a supervisor about an inmate’s guilt or 
innocence. 

4. If the DHO is instructed as to making a finding on a disciplinary or on the punishment to assess, 
he/she shall disqualify himself/herself from hearing that disciplinary and will report the 
communication to the DHA.  

5. Any DHO who believes that he/she is unable to render an objective decision in a particular case 
should request disqualification from that case.  In the case of the DHA, the request will be made to 
the Director. 

6. When the use of indecent or vulgar language is used by an inmate in the grievance process or there 
is a malicious use of the grievance procedure, disciplinary action may be filed against the inmate. 
Under such circumstances, the CSO or Deputy Warden, or their designee, will determine if a DR is 
warranted.  If so, only the CSO or Deputy Warden, or their designee, may write and submit the 
report for processing.  Under no circumstances shall the employee, who may be the subject of a 
grievance, write and submit a DR against the inmate submitting the grievance. 

7. PREA Considerations. Inmates involved in sexual contact with Staff of the ADC, OR any 
employees, volunteers, contractors and vendors of another law enforcement/correctional agency 
that have taken temporary custody of an ADC inmate for the purposes of transport, holding for 
court, contractual bed space, or other requirements, cannot be charged with a Rule Violation for 
this conduct. Under the Guidelines of the PREA, inmates cannot consent to such contact and are 
considered victims of a crime. In order to bring charges for sexual contact with any employee or 
other above categorized individual, the investigation must show that forcible rape or forced sexual 
contact occurred by the inmate towards the employee or agent. This does not include visitors or 
citizens not acting in some official capacity such as co-workers at a work release site.  
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L. Records 
 
1.    Not Guilty Verdicts. DRs which result in a finding of not guilty shall not be made a part of the 

inmate's permanent file although such finding will be documented in eOMIS.   

2.   Expungements. DRs which indicate a finding of guilt and which are Reversed by the Warden, 
DHA, or Director are to be expunged from the inmate's permanent file, but will remain a part of 
the offender’s electronic record, and will be forwarded to the Deputy Warden for filing as a matter 
of record. Such reversals shall also restore good time or class status which may have been reduced 
by the DHO. 

3.   Suspended Sentence. Inmates who are found guilty of Rule Violations and assessed punishment 
may receive a suspended imposition of the sentence.  In such cases, the DR will become a part of 
the inmate's permanent file. If the inmate is found guilty of another Rule Violation during the 
period of a previously imposed suspended sentence, the suspended punishment must be revoked 
and imposed and additional punishment pursuant to the subsequent disciplinary episode may also 
be imposed. The punishment may be made consecutive. 

4.    Guilty Verdicts. All disciplinary hearing report forms which render a verdict of guilty shall be 
transmitted and entered into eOMIS by the DHO. The Unit Records Supervisor shall make 
whatever changes are required regarding statutory good time, meritorious good time, parole 
interview date, and institutional status as part of the inmate's permanent file. 

   M. Major Disciplinary Forms 

The Major Disciplinary Forms consist of six (6) separate forms. The Major Disciplinary Form (F-831-1), 
the Disciplinary Hearing Action Form (F-831-2), and the Disciplinary Hearing Action Form (F-831-3) 
must be completed entirely pursuant to every Major Disciplinary Hearing, regardless of the verdict. Data 
related to each form should be entered and maintained electronically when available in eOMIS.  The 
ISSR 100 electronic printed form shall contain all data found in F-831-1, F-831-2, and F-831-3  after 
data entry. 

1. The Major Disciplinary Form (F-831-1) 

a. The charging person is responsible for providing the DHO with accurate reports of Rule 
Violations. All information pertaining to the charge(s) must be detailed by the charging person. 
The charging person must sign an affirmation regarding the accuracy of the charges. 

b. The Serving Officer/Notifying Officer must indicate his/her name and the time and date the 
inmate was notified of the impending major disciplinary action. The inmate may call Witnesses 
at the time of notification by informing the notification officer of those individuals he/she 
wishes to call as Witnesses. The Serving Officer/Notifying Officer should then list the 
Witnesses called and instruct the inmate to sign the form under "Witness Statements." If the 
inmate refuses to sign, such refusal should be noted with the initials of the Serving 
Officer/Notifying Officer. 

c. The CSO (Building or Field Majors or their designees) must review each DR prior to a hearing 
for screening purposes. After indicating the appropriate decision, the CSO must initial and date 
the form under "C.S.O. Review." 

d. There must be an indication of whether an Extension was granted and, if so, whether the 
Extension form was completed. 

e. The DHO is reminded of the policy on Counsel Substitutes. When assigned, it should be so 
indicated and the name of the Counsel Substitute entered. When not assigned, the appropriate 
space should be marked.  
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f. A copy of the Major Disciplinary Form (F-831-1 or ISSR 100) shall be forwarded to the inmate. 

2. The Disciplinary Action Form (F-831-2) 

a. The DHO must ensure that all information at the top of the Disciplinary Action Form (F-831-
2) is correct. Care should be taken to note the time when the hearing starts and stops. If the 
inmate refuses to attend, there is a reminder that the waiver form must be completed. In all 
cases, the inmate's plea will be entered accurately. 

b. Statements made by inmates in their defense or otherwise should be entered in as great detail as 
possible under "Inmate's Statement."   

c. Under "Questions," the DHO should indicate the general line of questioning pursued. The 
DHO should probe for any and all additional information which could aid in reaching a fair 
determination of fact. 

d. The DHO must indicate the verdict reached and, if applicable, the punishment assessed, and 
shall indicate the class that the inmate may be placed in. 

e. Under "Factual Basis for Decision," the DHO must give a short statement of the facts as the 
DHO perceives them after reviewing all of the evidence. This section should not be confused 
with "Evidence Relied Upon" or "Reasons for Punishment." This should include a summary of 
the reasons for finding the inmate guilty or not guilty. In fulfilling this function, it is not 
sufficient to adopt and copy the exact wording of the DR. 

f. The inmate must be given a copy of the Disciplinary Action form. 

3.  The Disciplinary Action Form (F-831-3) 

a. Under "Evidence Relied Upon," the DHO must include a list of the individual pieces of 
evidence that were relied upon in reaching a disposition. Shorthand phrases such as "Officer's 
Statement" will not be sufficient to perform this function. The evidence must not only be 
described, but must be explained. The content of any evidence relied upon should be given. 
Thus, if a charging person's report is to be relied upon, the DHO should so state and then 
proceed to explain exactly what it was in the person's report that the DHO relied upon. In cases 
where weapons or contraband are involved, a notation should be made in the proper slot 
indicating the form in which it was observed and further describing the item with particularity. 

b. In any case where the DHO makes a finding of guilty notwithstanding the fact that there was 
some evidence which purported to exonerate the inmate, the DHO must include a statement 
indicating the reason why such evidence was discounted. 

c. Under "Reasons for Assessment of Punishment," the DHO must state why he/she felt the 
particular disciplinary warranted the punishment assessed. 

It is not sufficient to state, "nature and seriousness of offense and past history." It is important 
that the DHO keep in mind that the purpose served is that of providing an independent 
reviewing authority with an adequate basis from which to determine why a particular inmate 
received the particular punishment imposed. Special care should be given to document reasons 
for differences in punishments given to different inmates in the same incident. Factors to be 
weighed in assessing the punishment should include, but not be limited to: 

1. The seriousness of the offense and the extent to which the offense threatened 
institutional security; 

2. The number of major disciplinaries received by the inmate for similar offenses, the 
overall institutional record of the inmate; 
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3. The attitude of the inmate including his/her willingness to cooperate fully with the 
DHO; 

4. Personal factors which may have influenced the inmate to behave poorly (e.g., death in 
the family); 

5. Inmate's willingness or lack thereof to return to work and perform as expected; any 
hostility which the inmate may have exhibited toward the DHO; 

6. Any remorse the inmate may show regarding his/her behavior; any effect a 
contemplated punishment may or may not have in impressing upon the inmate the need 
for behavior modification; 

7. Any effect a contemplated punishment may have in terms of rewarding the inmate with 
a second chance if the DHO believes behavior will improve as a result thereof;  

8. The class status of the inmate should be kept in mind when assessing the punishment 
(punitive time may not be necessary for a Class I inmate if the DHO feels that a class 
reduction would sufficiently impress upon the inmate the prohibition against the 
particular behavior). 

As mentioned, the above are suggested factors to take into consideration when 
assessing punishment and are by no means exhaustive. The DHO should stay alert to 
any mitigating or aggravating circumstances associated with a particular disciplinary 
episode. The DHO must initial the "Reason for Punishment" in the appropriate space. 

d. The DHO must credit the inmate with any time spent in Restrictive Housing as a result of the 
behavior which is the subject of the disciplinary against any assessed Punitive Isolation sanction. 
For example, an inmate assigned to Punitive Housing when the behavior occurred does not get 
any credit; but an inmate who is assigned to Restrictive Housing from general population as a 
result of the behavior that result in the disciplinary being written will be given credit for the 
number of days in Restrictive Housing at the time the sanctions are issued. This credit does not 
extend the number of days of Punitive Housing that may be assessed. (Nor does the lack of 
Punitive Housing days determine whether an inmate may be assigned to Restrictive Housing 
pursuant to that policy.) 

e. A reminder is included regarding the proper procedures for informants and alleged malingers. 

f. The inmate, having been informed of the right to appeal, is instructed to sign the form indicating 
that he/she understands the right to appeal. If a Counsel Substitute has been assigned, he/she 
should also sign. If an inmate refuses to sign, the DHO should indicate by initialing the slot 
reserved for the inmate's signature. 

g. The DHO must sign and date the disciplinary form. 

h.  The inmate must be provided a copy of Disciplinary Action Form (F-831-3). 

4. The Major Disciplinary Appeal Form (F-831-4) 

a. The Major Disciplinary Appeal Form is self-explanatory. The inmate is to check yes beside 
“Punitive Housing” if the appeal is in reference to a finding of guilty on a particular disciplinary 
episode which resulted in the imposition of Punitive Housing as a disciplinary measure. This is 
designed to aid the inmate who has been sentenced to a relatively lengthy isolation period and 
who may have a valid appeal pertaining to guilt and/or punishment. The Warden should 
prioritize these appeals. 
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b. Inmates serving short periods of punitive time should not be discouraged from utilizing the 
procedure, as their appeals will be expedited by the procedure. Inmates not serving punitive 
time are not permitted to mark yes beside "Punitive Appeal". 

Appeal Forms will be available with carbon copies, and the original shall be submitted for the appeal. 
The copies remain with the inmate and will be submitted if the original is not returned within the 
policy’s timeframes. 

5. The Disciplinary Extension Form (F-831-5) 

The Disciplinary Extension Form enumerates six (6) legitimate reasons for  granting an Extension. If 
the DHO or Warden grants the Extension, a copy of the signed Form F-831-5 must be forwarded to  
the inmate.  

6. The Waiver of Disciplinary Hearing Form (F-831-6) 

Physical force shall not be used to secure the presence of the inmate before the DHO. All inmates shall 
be afforded the opportunity to be present before the DHO unless they waive that right in writing or 
through behavior.  In the event an inmate refuses to appear, the "Waiver of Disciplinary Hearing Form" 
must be filled out. The inmate will not be subjected to any further DRs as a result of availing 
himself/herself of the waiver procedure. 
 

VIII. MINOR DISCIPLINE: 

A. Minor Discipline should be used as a tool to discourage less serious misconduct. The purpose of 
Minor DRs (Form F-831-7 and Electronic Form ISSR 102) is to sufficiently impress upon the inmate 
the need for behavior modification without burdening the inmate with the stigma that attaches to 
Major DRs. The Rule Violations for which an inmate may receive a Minor DR are identical to those 
violations for which a Major DR may be written. Minor DRs are within the discretion of the charging 
person.   

B. Due Process. Due process considerations inherent in the major disciplinary process shall not apply to 
minor disciplinaries; however, the inmate shall be allowed to be present and to make a statement on 
his/her behalf. 

C.  Minor Disciplinaries 

1. Each Unit Warden shall establish and designate a MDO to hear and dispose of any and all minor 
infractions of institutional rules and regulations. 

2. The MDO at each unit shall be nominated by the CSO of the Building or Field and approved by 
the Warden. The charging officer cannot serve as the MDO on any charges he/she initiated or 
witnessed.   

3. An officer must have attained the rank of Lieutenant with at least three (3) years of experience as a 
correctional officer to serve as a MDO.  

4. The MDO will hear charges as often as necessary and at a place and a time convenient to 
expeditiously administer the institutional minor disciplinary functions. These hearings will be 
conducted within seven (7) Business Days of the incident.   

5. Upon hearing the charges against the inmate, the inmate's defense and testimony, the MDO shall 
render his/her decision as to guilt or innocence and the appropriate action to be taken. 

6. The MDO, upon determining that an inmate is guilty of a minor violation of institutional rules and 
regulations, may take any or all of the following actions: 

a. Warn, reprimand, or excuse the inmate. 
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b. Revoke privileges for up to twenty (20) days. 

c. Assign extra duty (extra duty will be useful work that is not intended as harassment). No 
inmate shall be worked past his/her regular bedtime nor will be allowed to do any extra 
duty assessed  by the MDO in lieu of his/her regular work assignment. Extra duties must 
not exceed two (2) hours per day and a maximum of ten (10) days. 

7. At no time shall an inmate be put in Restrictive Housing by the decision of the MDO. Good Time 
and Class Status shall not be reduced by the MDO. 

8. Disciplinary action should be taken by the MDO as soon as possible after the discovery of the 
violation. Any minor disciplinary action which has not been heard after seven (7) Business Days shall 
be dismissed. 

9. The Minor Disciplinary Form (F-831-7) shall be filled out in its entirety for each infraction and 
entered electronically when available in eOMIS. 

10. Minor DRs will not be made a part of the inmate's permanent file, but will be recorded in the 
Offender’s electronic record. After the MDO has completed his/her daily functions, the minor DR 
shall be forwarded to the CSO for separate filing as a matter of record. 

11. Once the MDO has disposed of a minor disciplinary, the decision shall not be changed or altered in 
any manner by the MDO. 

12. Findings of the MDO may be appealed to the CSO. The CSO may affirm, reverse or modify the 
decision of the MDO. The CSO’s decision is final. The CSO may not uphold a sanction that imposes 
Punitive Isolation, or a reduction of Good Time or Class Status of an inmate.  

13. The CSO must submit to the Warden a monthly report of the minor disciplinary actions. The 
Warden must maintain a file of these reports and have them available for review by the DHA. The 
Warden and DHA must ensure that each inmate is treated fairly and equitably.   

IX.   SANCTIONS: 

        Any employee who violates this policy will be subject to disciplinary action which may include termination. 

X.  ATTACHMENTS: 

1. Major Disciplinary F-831-1 

2. Disciplinary Hearing Action F-831-2 

3. Disciplinary Hearing Action F-831-3 

4. Major Disciplinary Appeal Form 

5. Disciplinary Extension Form 

6. Waiver Of Disciplinary Hearing 

7. Minor Disciplinary Report 
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F-831-1  ARKANSAS DIVISION OF CORRECTION AR 831 
 
   __________________________Unit                  
                                                                                                                  
                                               MAJOR DISCIPLINARY                                  
                                      
     
Inmate____________________________ADC #_______Assignment_____________ 
Class___________is being charged by____________________Title______________ 
with Rule Violation(s)___________________Time & Date______________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
NOTICE OF CHARGES 
 
 
 
 
(I affirm that the information in this report is true to the best of my knowledge) 
_______________________________________________________________  
                      Signature of Charging Officer 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
NOTIFICATION: Officer ______________________Date & Time Notified_____________ 
 
      _______________________________ 
       Inmate's Signature 
Witness: YES ___ NO ____ 
 
List of Witness: 
 
 
 
 
C.S.O. REVIEW: Reduce____ Dismiss____ To Disc. Court____Initial_____Date___________ 
EXTENSION:  No____ Yes____ ; Has Extension form been completed? ____________________ 
Presentation by Counsel Substitute is required when it is determined that the inmate is illiterate or 
incompetent or that the issues are extraordinarily complex. 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
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F-831-2  ARKANSAS DIVISION OF CORRECTION    AR 831 
           
    _______________________UNIT 
    
    DISCIPLINARY HEARING ACTION 
 
Inmate _____________________ ADC #________ Rule Violation(s)___________________ 
Date of Alleged Offense(s)____________ Time of Alleged Offense(s)____________________     
Hearing Date__________________Time:  Start__________ End  ______________ 
Recorder________________ Tape #_____ Side_______ Meter:  From ______To_______ 
Plea:__________________________________ Attendance Waived:  Yes___________ 
Has waiver form been completed? ______ 
 
Inmate's Statement: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
________________________________ 
Signature of Inmate 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
Court Questions: 
 
 
 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
Verdict:__________________________________Punishment:_____________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
Factual Basis for Decision: (This is a short synopsis of the facts as the DHO  perceives them after 
reviewing all of the evidence.) 
 
DHO 's Initials_____________
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F-831-3                   ARKANSAS DIVISION OF CORRECTION   AR 831 
 
    ________________________UNIT 
 
            DISCIPLINARY HEARING ACTION 
 
Inmate______________________________   ADC #________  Date ______________ 
Evidence Relied Upon: 
1. 
2. 
3. 
4. 
5. 
6. 
7. If relevant, contraband observed:  Actual Item _______Photo _____Receipt_______ 
    Describe:____________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________ 
Reasons Why Information Purporting to Exonerate Inmate Was Discounted: 
 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
Reasons for Assessment of Punishment: 
 
 
                                                    DHO 's Initials____________ 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
The DHO is reminded that if an informant provided firsthand information in the case, then that 
informant's name and written statement must only be presented to the Disciplinary Court.  This 
information will be retained with the Disciplinary tape by the DHO Administrator, also, if an 
inmate claimed to have been sick, the opinion of the infirmary examiner must be obtained. 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
I have read this report and understand that I may appeal to the Warden about any decision made 
in this matter within fifteen (15) days by completing the "Disciplinary Appeal" form. 
Inmate's Signature________________ Counsel Substitute_____________________ 
___________________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________________ 
DHO - I affirm that the information is true to the best of my knowledge. 
DHO ___________________________________  ____________________ 
 Signature          Date
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F-831-4               
Major Disciplinary Appeal Form 
 
Inmate Name  _________________________________ADC#__________________________ 
 
Unit/Center  _________________________________Punitive Housing_____ Yes   _____ No 
  
Disciplinary (date) __________________ by (charging officer) _________________________                        
                        
  
_____  Appeal to Warden/Deputy Warden.  Note, if you do not agree with the decision of the 
 Date DHO, you have 15 Business Days from receipt of disciplinary action to appeal to the 

Warden/Deputy Warden.   
  Warden’s Decision: Affirm_____ Reverse______ Modify______ Reject _______ 
  (See attached if Modified or Rejected.) 
  Signature:  ________________________________Date___________ 
 
_____  Appeal to Disciplinary Hearing Administrator (DHA).  Note, if you do not agree with the 
 Date response of the Warden/Deputy Warden, you may appeal to the Disciplinary Hearing 

Administrator within 15 Business Days of receipt of the Warden/Deputy Warden’s 
response. 

  DHA’s Decision:  Affirm_____ Reverse______ Modify______ Reject _______ 
  (See attached if Modified or Rejected) 
  Signature:  ________________________________Date___________ 
 
 _____ Appeal to Director.  Note, if you do not agree with the Disciplinary Hearing 
  Date  Administrator’s response, you may appeal to the Director within 15 Business Days of 

receipt of the Disciplinary Hearing Administrator’s decision.   
  Director’s Decision:  Affirm_____ Reverse______ Modify______ Reject _______ 
  (See attached if Modified or Rejected.) 
  Signature:  ________________________________Date___________ 
 
Notice to Inmate:  This form is to be used for all appeal levels and responses.  Briefly state 
reasons why conviction or punishment should be Reversed or Modified.  This information 
will be considered at all three levels of appeal.  Only information that is contained within 
this space on this form will be considered: 
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F-831-5                   ARKANSAS DIVISION OF CORRECTION        AR 831 
                                           _______________________________Unit 
                                    DISCIPLINARY EXTENSION FORM  
 
TO: 
FROM: 
 
RE: Disciplinary Dated _________at _________For Rule Violation(s)_______________ 
 
DATE: 
This is to inform you I am extending your Disciplinary Hearing for a period of _____*additional working 
days for the following reasons: 
 ( ) Inmate is out to court/hospital, or otherwise off the Unit/Center. 
            ( ) Awaiting the decision of the prosecuting attorney regarding the filing of a  
                felony charge. 
            ( ) The case requires more extensive investigation.  The following is needed: 
      _______________________________________________________ 
                 _______________________________________________________ 
                 _______________________________________________________ 
            ( ) Volume of Disciplinaries scheduled for hearing is excessive and more time is  
                 needed to ensure a fair determination in each case. 
            ( ) Emergency situation exists at the unit. 
 
 Retroactive Extension: 
   ( ) Escaped inmate, not in custody.                Returned to Unit   _________  __________ 
                                                                                                                 Date       Time 
     ____________________________________                             __________ __________ 
     Signature   Warden/Deputy Warden, DHO          Date       Time 
 
Copy delivered to inmate by: __________________________on__________________ ___________ 
                                                             Signature                                         Date  Time 
cc:  File 
 
*An Extension may be granted up to five (5) Business Days.  If greater length of time is needed, 
then the Extension must be renewed and will not exceed five (5) days per Extension.  The 
Director must approve any Extension over thirty (30) days total. 
 
____________________________________ ____________  ____________________  
       Director's Signature                                             Date           Length of Extension 
 
This Extension will expire on _____________ at ______________ 
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F-831-6                         Arkansas Division of Correction            AR 831 
                                               _____________________Unit                 
                                 WAIVER OF DISCIPLINARY HEARING 
 
Date of Disciplinary__________________________________________________ 
Time:_____________________________________________________________ 
Rule Violation(s)_____________________________________________________ 
 
I, Inmate ______________________________________________, ADC #______, 
waive my right to a hearing. 
 
I agree to this of my own free will, without coercion from any employee of the Arkansas Division 
of Correction. 
 
Signed:______________________________  ADC #______________________ 
 
Officer Witness:_______________________   Date:_______________Time_________ 
 
Note:  If the inmate refuses to attend the hearing and refuses to sign, complete section below. 
 
__________________________________________________________________ 
 
Inmate_________________________________________, ADC #______________, 
refused to attend the hearing and refuses to sign the waiver form. 
 
Date:_________________________________  Time:_________________________ 
 
Signature of Officer Witnessing refusal:_____________________________________ 
 
Reviewed by Warden/Deputy Warden or designee:  ___________________________ 
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F-831-7                                  Arkansas Division of Correction               AR 831 
                                                _______________________Unit                    
                                               MINOR DISCIPLINARY REPORT 
 
 
Date_________________  Time ________ Reporting Officer_____________________ 
Name of Inmate: _________________________Number ________Job______________ 
 
CHARGE OR OFFENSE: 
 
 
 
 
 
DISPOSITION (Check One) 
 
Extra Duty                            ____________________________________________ 
       (Describe Briefly) 
 
Loss of Privilege         ____________________________________________ 
                                                                                    (Describe Briefly) 
 
Warning & Reprimand          ____________________________________________ 
       (Describe Briefly) 
 
Not Guilty 
 
               __________________________________ 
     Disciplinary Hearing Officer 
 
Hearing Date/Time_______________________________________________________ 
 
Date Penalty Served _______________________Shift Supervisor___________________ 
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ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE 
 
SUBJECT: Inmate Disciplinary Manual 
 
NUMBER: 2022-12                          SUPERSEDES: 18-34 
 
APPLICABILITY: Inmates and Staff             PAGE: 1 of 24         
 
REFERENCE:  AR 831 Disciplinary Rules and Regulations; AR 834 Procedure for Handling 
Alleged Disciplinary Infractions of Mentally Disordered Inmates; SD Prison Rape Elimination Act  
    

     
APPROVED: Original Signature on file      EFFECTIVE DATE: 8/1/2022   

I. POLICY: 

To ensure that Institutional Rules and Regulations are enforced through an unbiased and prudent 
fact finder and to provide appropriate due process throughout the disciplinary process. The 
behavior of offenders committed to the custody of the Arkansas Division of Correction (ADC) shall 
be controlled in an impartial and consistent manner. Prior to the adoption of any changes to this 
policy, the proposed changes shall be posted in prominent locations (employee bulletin boards, 
inmate bulletin boards and electronic distribution) throughout ADC institutions at least thirty (30) 
days prior to the adoption of the changes. Inmates in Restrictive Housing will be provided a copy of 
the proposed changes by the Unit Disciplinary Officer. All comments shall be considered prior to 
adoption and shall be kept as part of the appropriate policy file documentation.  

 
II. PURPOSE:   

The ADC shall establish and designate authority to Major and Minor Disciplinary Officers who shall 
hear and adjudicate all reports of infractions of institutional rules and regulations. When inmate 
behavior requires discipline, the following procedures shall be followed to ensure that no 
unnecessary disciplinaries are written and that: 

A. There is no bias in favor of the charging officer; 

B. There is no presumption of guilt; 

C. There is a reliable method of determining whether an infraction has in fact occurred;  

D. Blatant forms of partiality which can result from prior knowledge, involvement, bias, or 
personal interest in a particular case are minimized; and 

E. Sanctions are imposed to discourage further Rule Violations with the use of Restrictive 
Housing only when the presence of the inmate in the general population poses a direct threat 
to the safety of persons or a clear threat to the safe and secure operations of the facility. 

 
WWW.DOC.ARKANSAS.GOV 
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III.  DEFINITIONS:   

A. Assault. A willful attempt or threat(s) to inflict injury upon the person of another. 

B. Battery. The actual use of physical force upon the person of another. 

C. Business Day. Monday through Friday, excluding legal State recognized holidays. 

D. Counsel Substitute. Staff appointed by the Warden to assist eligible inmates through the 
disciplinary process including the appeal process if necessary.   

E. Disciplinary Appeal. The process an inmate must follow if he or she does not agree with the 
verdict of their disciplinary hearing by using the Major Disciplinary Appeal Form 831-4 
(Attachment 4). 

F. Disciplinary Hearing Administrator (DHA). The Internal Affairs Administrator is the DHA and 
is responsible for ensuring that Disciplinary Hearing Officers are trained. The DHA will review 
the hearings conducted by these hearing officers regularly.  

G. Disciplinary Hearing Officer (DHO). The DHO conducts Major Disciplinary Court Hearings 
on Major Disciplinaries. 

H. Disciplinary Report (DR). The factual basis for the charge of Rule Violation(s) and the rule(s) 
violated. 

I. Disciplinary Extension. To extend the time period to allow for further investigation or 
additional information before holding a disciplinary hearing. If an Extension is needed, 
Extension form, F-831-5 must be completed. 

J. Indecent Exposure. Public exposure of one’s genitals for gratification or pleasure. 

K. Introduction. Introduction shall be established through investigation that the charged inmate 
assisted in the article being brought on ADC property, moved about on ADC property, or 
stored in any manner on ADC property.  

L. Masturbation. Manipulating one’s genitals to arouse or gratify a sexual desire; does not require 
exposure. 

M. Minor Disciplinary Officer (MDO). The MDO is designated by the Warden to conduct 
hearings on minor disciplinary charges referred to as Minor Disciplinary Court. 

N. Modified. If the major disciplinary is Modified, the sanctions will be adjusted or changed to 
reflect the decision of the person modifying the infractions. A written explanation will be 
provided to the inmate; and a copy will be saved in the inmate’s electronic file. 

O. PREA Charge. Any Rule Violation that is connected to the Prison Rape Elimination Act 
(PREA) and requires a response directed by the Department’s PREA Policy. The outcome for a 
PREA violation may direct a precaution to be entered into the electronic offender file 
indicating predator or victim identifications. This would include violations of: 

1. Sexual misconduct;  
2. Rape or forced sexual act; 
3. Masturbation in the presence of another; 
4. Sexual threats;  
5. Sexual harassment;  
6. Demanding sexual acts in trade; and 
7. Aiding or abetting in any of the above. 
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      P.  Punitive Housing. A separate housing used for inmates, who have been found guilty of a rule 
violation as a result of a disciplinary hearing. 

Q.  Restitution. To reimburse or pay back for loss or damages. 

R.  Restrictive Housing. A placement that requires an inmate to be confined to a cell for at least 
twenty-two (22) hours per day. 

S.  Reversed. If the disciplinary is reversed, it is voided, and privileges are restored back to what 
they were before the major disciplinary infractions/sanctions were entered. The disciplinary will 
remain in the inmate’s electronic file as a record.  

T.  Rule Violation. The details of the wrongdoing contained in the DR.. 

U. Serving Officer/Notifying Officer. The Officer who serves charges on the inmate(s), may 
appoint a Counsel Substitute and receives the inmate’s list of Witnesses regarding the charge(s) 
and provides the inmate with a copy of the DHO’s report.   

V. Staff. Any employee of the ADC, the Correctional School System, and any employee or 
contractor providing services within an ADC facility through contract or agreement with the  
ADC.  

W.  Video Confercing System. Telecommunication in the form of video conference.  

X.  Warden. For the purpose of this policy, means Warden or Work Release Center Supervisor. 

Y.  Witness. Employees, inmates, or free world person(s) who have first-hand knowledge of an 
infraction, event or incident.   

IV. GENERAL RULES FOR MAJOR DISCIPLINARIES: 

A. Reasonable effort should be made to first counsel the inmate about his/her behavior to prevent 
the filing of unnecessary disciplinaries. 

 B. Each Major Disciplinary Court Hearing shall consist of one (1) DHO, who shall have singular 
authority for determining guilt or innocence and assessment of appropriate punishment. 

 C. The DHO(s) are located at the Randall L. Williams Correctional Facility and will conduct 
hearings at all units. 

 D. The Serving Officer/Notifying Officer who serves the DR shall have the authority to appoint a 
Staff Counsel Substitute at the time the DR is served. 

 E. Disciplinary action(s) shall be determined by a schedule of punishments that are based on the 
seriousness of the Rule Violation(s) as outlined in this policy. 

 F.  The appeal process shall be directed to the Warden, then to the DHA and then to the Director. 

V.   TRAINING: 

A. The DHA will be responsible for maintaining an instructional folder containing information on 
the proper procedures for holding Major Disciplinary Court Hearings and Minor Disciplinary 
Court Hearings, serving disciplinaries, rules and regulations of each unit, plus other pertinent 
information which could be helpful in implementing these policies and procedures. The folders 
will be available for training and review. The DHA is responsible for training all DHOs. 

B. DHOs will be required to review and be knowledgeable on all policies and procedures, 
including but not limited to: 
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1. The use of the electronic offender filing system for processing disciplinary records; 

2. Inmate Handbook; 

3. Employee Handbook;  

4. Applicable state and federal laws; 

5. Secretarial Directives (SD); 

6. Administrative Rules (AR) of the ADC; 

7. Administrative Directives (AD); and 

8. Unit Operating Procedures. 

C. Each Warden will designate Serving Officer/Notifying Officer(s) and ensure they are trained 
on ADC policies including the Inmate Disciplinary Manual and procedures for serving 
disciplinaries.  

D. Each Warden will designate one (1) or more MDO’s and ensure that such officers are trained 
on ADC policies including the Inmate Disciplinary Manual and procedures for conducting 
Minor Disciplinary Court.   

VI. BEHAVIOR RULES AND REGULATIONS: 

    The following rules and regulations shall govern inmate behavior at all units. Note that some rule 
numbers are not in order as categories were combined, but historical information will be maintained; 
numbers reserved for historical purposes are not listed in this policy. The “bold” words below 
indicate what should display on the ADC website for major Rule Violations; in some instances it will 
be the category listed (e.g. POSSESSION/MANUFACTURE OF CONTRABAND). 

 
Group Disruption Category           Penalty Class 

 
 1-1. Banding together for any reason which disrupts unit operations which          A 
  may include taking over any part of the unit or property of the ADC, 
         seizing one (1) or more persons as hostages, or interrupting operations. 

Rule Violation may result in loss of all good time. 

 1-6. Direct involvement in writing, circulating or signing a petition, letter, or        B 
  similar declaration that poses a threat to the security of the facility. 

1-7. Any Rule Violation set forth above that is found to be related to              A    
 recruitment or participation in a security threat group, or is 

motivated by racial, religious, or gender discrimination. 
Rule Violation may result in the loss of all good time. 

   
Individual Disruptive Behavior Category 

 2-2. Under the influence of and/or any use of illicit drugs, alcohol,            A 
                        intoxicating chemicals or any medication in an unauthorized 
  manner (e.g. includes but are not limited to, slurred speech, incoherent                 
             speech, redness of the eyes, vomiting, cannot stand on his/her own, etc.). 

          2-3. Monetary Misconduct. Entering into unauthorized contractual            A 
  agreements, failure to turn in all checks or monies received, obtaining 
  money through fraud or misrepresentation (examples include, but are 
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  not limited to, buying articles on a payment plan, failure to turn in tips 
received on work release, or misleading someone to obtain money). 

2-4. Employment Misconduct. Work Release inmates who quit a job            B 
without prior approval, get fired for misconduct, tardiness, or shirking 
duties, or fail to notify ADC staff when too ill to work. 

 2-5. Unauthorized use of mail or telephone.                B 
  Includes passing unauthorized messages, three-way communication(s), 

calling on another’s phone code, posing as another person, and telephone 
communications with unauthorized persons. 

 2-11. Tattooing, piercing, and self-mutilation intended to change oneself              B  
  or another’s appearance; this does not include attempts to commit 
  suicide or injure oneself unless solely for manipulation. See AR 834  

Procedure for Handling Alleged Disciplinary Infractions of 
Mentally Disordered Inmates. 

 2-12. Failure to keep one's person or quarters                       C  
  in accordance with regulations, or failure to wear ADC-issued ID, 
   or clothing according to center/unit policy.  

 2-13. Breaking into, or causing disruption of an inmate line or              B 
  interfering with operations.  

 2-15. Tampering with, or blocking, any lock or locking device.              A 

 2-16. Refusal to submit to substance abuse testing                                            A 
or submitting a diluted sample. 

  2-17.    Creating unnecessary noise, including disruptive or aggressive  C   
                        play in areas other than designated recreation areas. 

2-20. Unauthorized communication, contact, or conduct with     B 
a visitor or any member of the public or staff.  

 2-21. Running from, avoiding, or otherwise resisting apprehension.  A 

2-22. Interfering with the taking of count.                 A 

 3-3. Unexcused absence from work/school assignment    B 
  or other program activity. 

3-5. Out of place of assignment.       B 

5-5. Provoking or agitating a fight.      B 

11-1. Insolence to a Staff member.                 A 

12-2. Refusal of job assignment including participating in a treatment  B 
program, or class assignment, or violating program rules that 
results in dismissal from a program. 

12-3. Failure or refusing to obey verbal and/or written order(s) of staff.   B 

12-4     Refusing a direct verbal order to leave or enter any area of the institution   A                      
or ADC property including, but not limited to, a cell, barracks, chow hall,        
transportation vehicle, hallway or work site.       
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12-5 Failure or refusal to leave Restrictive Housing and return to population A 

13-2. Lying to a staff member, including omissions, and providing  B 
 misinformation.  

 13-3. Malingering, feigning an illness (see page 17 for further explanation). B 
  
  BATTERY CATEGORY 

 4-4. Battery on Staff. Use of physical force upon Staff (examples include,  A 
  but are not limited to, Staff, volunteers, vendors and/or contractors). 

 4-5. Aggravated Battery. Use of a weapon, or injury resulting in victim(s) A 
having to go to the Emergency Room and/or hospital, in Battery upon             
another person.This Rule Violation will result in loss of all good time and        
the loss for one (1) calendar year of the privilege to purchase                                             
or possess any item which was used as a weapon. 

4-8.  Battery. Use of physical force upon an inmate.    A 

 4-17.    Throwing or attempting to throw substances known or unknown,  A 
  toward or upon another person. Rule Violation may result in loss of  

all good time. 
 
ASSAULT CATEGORY 

 5-3. Assault. Any willful attempt or threat(s) to inflict injury upon another,        A 
  directly or indirectly, verbally or in writing.   

 5-4. Making sexual threat(s) to another person, directly or indirectly, verbally A  
  or in writing.  
 
THEFT, DESTRUCTION OF PROPERTY OR EXTORTION CATEGORY 

6-1. Demanding/receiving money or favors or anything of value in return A  
 for an offer/promise of protection from others, or to keep information                                                    

secret. 

 7-1. Unauthorized use of state property/supplies.    B 

 7-4. Theft or possession of stolen property.     A 

 8-4. Destruction or intentional misplacement of property of another  A 
             or the ADC. Restitution may be ordered based on replacement cost, 

or the value of lost, intentionally misplaced, or destroyed property. 

 8-6. Adulteration of any food(s) or drink(s) with intent to harm   A 
  others. Rule Violation may result in the loss of all good time. 

8-7. Setting a fire or destruction or tampering with fire detection  A 
  or suppression device. 
  
POSSESSION/MANUFACTURE OF CONTRABAND CATEGORY 

 9-1. Possession/Introduction of any firearm, ammunition, weapon,  A 
fireworks, explosive, unauthorized combustible substance, or 
unauthorized tool. Rule Violation may result in loss of all good time. 
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    9-3. Possession/Introduction/manufacture of any drug, narcotic   A 
intoxicant, tobacco, chemical, or drug paraphernalia not prescribed 
by medical staff. 

 9-4. Possession or movement of money or currency, unless   A 
  specifically authorized. 

 9-5. Possession/Introduction of clothing or property not issued to   C 
  inmate nor authorized by the center/unit. 

 9-9. Counterfeiting, forging, or unauthorized possession/introduction             A 
  of any document, article of identification, money, security, or official paper. 

 9-14. Possession/Introduction/use of unauthorized electronic device(s):   A 
  Examples include, but are not limited to, flash drive, MP player, Tablet,  

DVD player, etc.  
 
Rule violation will result in the loss of all good time and will result in the  
loss of the Inmate Telephone System privileges for one (1) year.  
Possession of a cell phone is a crime which may result in criminal  
prosecution for a felony.  

 
9-15 Possession/Introduction/Use of a cell phone or any cell phone component: A                 

Examples include, but are not limited to, sim cards, charger, battery, etc.  
or an unauthorized messaging device.  
 
Rule violation will result in the loss of all good time and will result in the  
loss of the Inmate Telephone System privileges for one (1) year.  
Possession of a cell phone is a crime which may result in criminal  
prosecution for a felony.  
 

9-16.    Use of internet or social media.      A 

 9-17. Preparing, conducting, or participating in a gambling operation.   B 
     
SEXUAL ACTIVITY CATEGORY 

 10-1. Engaging in non-abusive sexual activity with another consenting person. A             

10-2. Making sexual proposals to another person. (PREA)    A 

 10-3. Indecent Exposure and/or Masturbation; may result in a referral for  A 
criminal prosecution (examples include, but are not limited to, verbal 
and/or non-verbal gestures). 

 10-4. Bestiality.         A 

  10-5. Masturbation in the presence of another inmate.    A  

 10-7.  Demanding sexual contact in trade or for protection from physical  A 
harm or mental anguish, or other victimization. 

  4-10.    Rape or forced sexual act with/on an inmate. Rule Violation may              A 
  result in the loss of all good time. (PREA) Rape is a crime and may  

result in criminal prosecution for a Class Y Felony. If convicted,  
may result in a life sentence.  
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4-19. Rape or forced sexual act on staff, volunteer, contractor or other  A 
individual not incarcerated at the time of the incident. Rule Violation 
may result in the loss of all good time. Rape is a crime and may  
result in criminal prosecution for a Class Y Felony. If convicted,  
may result in a life sentence.  

TRAFFICKING AND TRADING CATEGORY 

 15-2. Asking, coercing, or offering inducement to anyone to violate ADC               A  
policy or procedure, inmate rules and regulations, center/unit operating 
procedures, this also includes extortion. 

 15-3. The purchase or exchange of unauthorized articles or authorized articles B 
             obtained through unauthorized channels.   

ESCAPE CATEGORY 

 16-1. Escape from custody of the ADC; May result in the loss of all good time  A 
  and/or result in referral for criminal prosecution.                 

16-2. Failure to return from any approved activity or furlough at the  A 
  designated time. 

 16-3. Attempted escape, including leaving a Work Release job Site or work  A 
detail, while in the custody of the ADC. This includes but is not limited to, 
written notes regarding escape, phone call recordings advising escape plans,  
and verbal threats to escape, etc. 
 

B. Determination of Charges   

Only one (1) Rule Violation may be charged for a given behavior. The violation cited should be that 
which most accurately categorizes the behavior. However, a DR may cover an incident which is made 
up of a sequence of several distinct behaviors, each of which is a rule violation. 

1. Example of several Rule Violations in one (1) sequence:   

An inmate stays in the barracks, missing work call (Rule 3-3, Unexcused absence from work); a 
correctional officer finds him/her in the barracks and gives him/her a direct order to join his/her 
work detail which the inmate refuses (Rule 12-3, Failure to obey an order); and the inmate stands 
up and threatens to punch the officer if the officer doesn't leave him/her alone (Rule 5-3, Assault).   

2. Example of several Rule Violations for a given behavior that should result in one (1) rule charge, 
the one that most accurately categorizes the behavior: 

While exposing himself, an inmate is masturbating at his cell door with all his clothes off while 
watching an officer in front of the dayroom of inmates (Rule 10-3, Indecent Exposure, and Rule 
10-5, Masturbation in the presence of another inmate; this should result in one (1) charge of 10-3).   

VII. MAJOR DISCIPLINARY COURT: 

A. Establishment of Court 

The Major Disciplinary Court Hearing shall be composed of a single DHO who will be directed in 
the performance of those duties by the DHA. 
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B.  Responsibilities of the Major Disciplinary Hearing Officer 

1. The Major DHO is charged with the responsibility of ensuring that all rules promulgated by the 
ADC regarding major disciplinary hearings are followed. 

2. In all major disciplinary proceedings, the DHO shall fully explain the charges and inform the 
inmate of the possible consequences if found guilty. The DHO shall further ensure that there is no 
undue air of hostility in the proceedings and that the proceedings and deliberations are not 
conducted in a perfunctory manner. The DHO will be vigilant in averting any racial, religious or 
gender discrimination during the proceedings or in the assessment of punishment.  Any such signs 
of discrimination will be immediately reported to the Warden, DHA and the Director. 

3. The DHO shall hear all of the facts of the case and shall have singular authority for deciding guilt 
or innocence and the punishment assessed, except as outlined in the AD on Evaluations for 
Disciplinary Court Proceedings for Seriously Mentally Ill and Mentally Deficient Inmates regarding 
punishment, and AR 834, Procedure for Handling Alleged Disciplinary Infractions of Mentally 
Disordered Inmates. 

4. Regarding guilty pleas, the DHO must ensure that the inmate understands the charge to which 
he/she is pleading guilty. Guilty pleas will be monitored to determine whether the inmate offers any 
supporting evidence indicating innocence of the charge as written. 

5. Responsibilities of the DHO regarding Counsel Substitutes are enumerated under Section VII (J) (1). 

C.  Responsibilities of the Building or Field Chief Security Officer (CSO) 

1. Prior to the Major Disciplinary Court Hearing, the CSO will review all disciplinaries and may do one 
(1) of the following: 

a. Forward the disciplinary to the DHO with his or her initials on the report; 
b. Reduce it to a Minor Disciplinary; 
c. Dismiss the charges and file the DR as a matter of record; or 
d. Convert the Minor Disciplinary to a Major Disciplinary. 

Regarding provision (b) and (c) above, the CSO will consult with the charging person on any 
decision which results in dismissal or reduction. In the event the CSO dismisses the DR(s), a 
copy of the dismissed disciplinary shall be scanned into the electronic offender file. Reasons for 
such dismissals should be documented on the face of the DR(s). The CSO will notify the Warden 
or designee for final review of the dismissed disciplinary in the electronic offender file. Copies of 
these reports are not to be included in the inmate's permanent file.  

2. The CSO may set reasonable limitations on the number of inmate Witnesses. The CSO will 
document the reason(s) for the limitation on the Major Disciplinary Form (F-831-1) under 
"Witness Statements." In the event that a limit (usually five) is placed upon inmate Witness 
statements, the same limit must be applied to statements taken from Staff. 

3. May exclude any Witness(es) who were not present at the time of the incident and inquire from 
the offender what testimony from that Witness would reveal.   

      D.   General Considerations 

1. The Major Disciplinary Form (F-831-1) will be completed for Major Disciplinary Reports against 
an inmate and will include specific details of the rule infraction alleged against the inmate. At a 
minimum, the details shall include who, what, when, where, how, and why the charge is brought.  
The charging person should be the Staff with the most knowledge of the event. Once the DR is 
written, the charging person may seek assistance from others for purposes of correcting any 
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mistakes in grammar or punctuation; however, the actual content of the DR must not be 
changed.   

2. The Major Disciplinary Form (F-831-1) must be signed by the charging person, affirming that the 
information in the report is true and correct. Any relevant supporting documents (such as 
incident reports) should be attached to the major disciplinary form. The completed form with any 
attachments should be forwarded immediately to the CSO. This process will be completed 
electronically in the the electronic offender file when that system is available. 

3. Any Witness(es) to the infraction shall prepare statement(s) to be attached to the charging 
person's report of the incident. Witnesses include any inmates, employees, and/or free world 
persons who have firsthand knowledge of the infraction. Witnesses who appear to testify before 
the Disciplinary Court will have their statements recorded. If written Witness statements are 
submitted to the Disciplinary Court, those will be reviewed by the DHO and documented in the 
electronic offender file.  In the event a Witness requested by an inmate is denied, that request 
may be submitted to the inmate in writing. 

4. It will be the responsibility of the DHO to thoroughly review all available documents concerning 
the Major Disciplinary Reports. He/she will determine whether or not additional information is 
necessary and may grant an Extension of time pursuant to these guidelines if necessary. 

E. Hearings 

1. The Major Disciplinary Court Hearing shall meet or be held by Video Conference as often as 
necessary at a convenient place and time between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m., in order 
to administer the institutional disciplinary functions as expeditiously as possible. It is 
recommended that hearings be held at least weekly. The court should avoid convening on 
weekends and holidays to minimize interference with inmate visitation; however, if security or 
administrative necessity as determined by the Warden dictates, then the hearings may be held on 
a weekend or holiday. Any weekend or holiday hearings will be limited to business as necessary to 
alleviate the concerns expressed by the Warden. 

2. A charged inmate must be given at least twenty-four (24) hours prior notice of a disciplinary 
proceeding. The inmate may call Witnesses by giving the Serving Officer/Notifying Officer the 
names of the individuals he/she wishes to call. The manner in which the Witnesses’ statements 
are presented to the court shall be within the discretion of the DHO. 

3. No disciplinary will be heard after seven (7) Business Days from the date it was written except 
pursuant to an authorized Extension.  

For example, an inmate receiving a disciplinary on Tuesday at 9:00 a.m. or 10:00 p.m. should be 
tried no later than 6:00 p.m. the following Thursday assuming there were no holidays.           
Note: The day the disciplinary is written is not to be counted in calculating the seven (7) 
Business Days. 

4. Upon convening to consider cases of inmate violations of rules and regulations, the DHO shall 
call the inmate to appear before him/her for their Major Discipinary Court Hearing, unless the 
inmate waives in writing or through behavior ( e.g., acts absurd at hearing, walks out before 
hearing is over). In the event that an inmate wishes to waive his/her appearance, a waiver form 
will be completed and a copy provided to the charged inmate and must be reviewed by the 
Deputy Warden. If the inmate waives his/her right to appear and is found guilty, he/she cannot 
appeal the decision.   
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5. Once the inmate is present before the DHO for the Major Disciplinary Court Hearing, the 
recorder will be turned on, the reading noted, the time and date entered, and the charged inmate 
identified by name and ADC number. 

6. The DHO will identify himself/herself in the presence of the inmate and inform the inmate that 
this is, in fact, a Major Disciplinary Court Hearing. 

7. The DHO will scrutinize the DR to determine whether all time limits and procedural 
requirements have been met. 

8. It must be determined whether all allowed Witness statements requested by the inmate and all 
other items of physical or documentary evidence are present before the court. The court may 
summon any additional Witnesses it deems necessary. Witness statements may be taken in 
writing, orally in person, or by telephone. 

All written Witness statements, whether taken prior to the hearing or obtained at the request of 
the court, will be reviewed and a copy included in the disciplinary record.  The choice of how the 
Witness statement will be taken is left to the discretion of the DHO. If more information or 
clarification is needed from the charging person or other Witnesses, such information may be 
obtained through the means described above (written, oral, or telephone). In the event that such 
testimony is obtained with the Witness appearing before the court, the charged inmate is not to 
be allowed in the room during testimony and the inmate does not have a right to cross-examine 
Witnesses. The inmate will receive a statement of fact(s) from the DHO if provided by the 
charging officer. The DHO may grant an Extension to the inmate if the Witness is not readily 
available to provide additional testimony. 

9. The inmate should be informed that he/she has been charged with a specific offense, the possible 
consequences of a finding of guilt including possible loss of privileges, loss of Good Time, loss of 
Class Status, assignment to Restrictive Housing, additional duty, change in assignment/unit, 
Restitution, or any combination. 

10. The inmate should then be asked whether the nature of the proceeding and the possible 
consequences are understood. If it appears that the inmate does not understand, the policy 
regarding Counsel Substitutes (see Section VII-J and 1) must be followed. 

 11. The Rule Violation(s) and the charging person's report will then be read to the inmate. 

                              12.  The inmate will be asked to enter a plea of guilty or not guilty. Guilty pleas must be explored to 
determine whether the inmate is certain of the charge being admitted. Any refusal to enter a plea 
shall be construed as a plea of not guilty. 

13.  The inmate must be afforded an opportunity to speak on his/her own behalf and submit any 
documentary evidence excluding Witness statements. All documentary evidence presented will 
become a part of the disciplinary packet. All Witness statements are to be gathered by ADC 
employees after the inmate has submitted a Witness list to the serving officer. Inmates will not 
be allowed to gather and submit Witness statements on their own. 

14.  After the inmate has made a statement and/or presented a defense, the recorder will be muted 
and Witness statements will be reviewed and documented.   

15.  The DHO must carefully weigh all evidence with special emphasis upon individual pieces of 
"primary evidence." Rumor or suspicion about an inmate's behavior shall not be taken into 
account. 

16.  After the DHO has weighed all of the evidence, a decision shall be made regarding guilt or 
innocence. 
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                            17.  In the event that the inmate is found guilty, punishment must be imposed within the guidelines 
established by this policy. 

                         18. The Video Conferencing System will then be un-muted. The inmate must then be informed as to 
the finding of guilt or innocence on each particular Rule Violation and must be informed of the 
punishment, if any, imposed. 

19.  The inmate must be informed of his or her right to appeal and to obtain Staff assistance in the 
fashioning of an appeal if needed. 

20.  The inmate will receive an oral statement detailing the reason for the finding of guilt or 
innocence at the time the DHO informs the inmate of the verdict. The DHO will reduce these 
reasons to writing prior to the conclusion of that Business Day and the Serving 
Officer/Notifying Officer will provide a typed copy or ISSR 100 (electronic generated 
disciplinary hearing results form) generated by the electronic offender file to the inmate within 
twenty-four (24) hours.   

                                    If the inmate refuses to sign, one (1) employee must Witness the refusal. It is sufficient to 
indicate that the inmate signed (or refused to sign) the original copy.  

21. When the DHO has completed his or her work for the day, the DHO shall complete the 
disciplinary court report.   

22. Once the DHO's report has been completed, the disciplinary action shall not be altered in any 
way except as provided herein.  

F. Disciplinary Actions 

1. Upon determining that an inmate is guilty of violating institutional rule(s), the DHO may apply 
any or all of the sanctions from the penalty class of the most serious rule violated. Additional 
sanctions may be applied from the penalty class corresponding to the additional rule(s) violated. 
However, sanctions defined in terms of days (e.g, loss of good time, loss of privileges, and extra 
duty) may not be applied to more than one Punitive Housing per disciplinary action. The 
punishment rendered should not be more than the DHO finds necessary to discourage repeated 
rule violations in the future.  

2. Any or all sanctions may be suspended for up to six (6) months.   

3.  DHOs may not amend an inmate’s level in the Varner Super Maximum (VSM) Program, but 
those actions can be considered by the Classification Committee when reviewing that inmate.   

4.   Inmates who violate the following rules may be placed on Non-Contact Visitation and  restricted 
from Video Visitation for one (1) year for each offense. Any subsequent disciplinary for another 
violation following the initial violation will cause the one (1) year restriction period to start over 
from the date of conviction of the new violation.  

a. Under the influence of and/or use of an illegal drug, alcohol, intoxicating chemical or any 
medication in an unauthorized manner.   

b. Refusal to submit to substance abuse testing.  

c. Possession or Introduction of any drug, narcotic, intoxicating chemical, or drug 
paraphernalia not prescribed by medical Staff. 

d. Possession or movement of money or currency, unless specifically authorized. 

e. Possession of clothing or property not issued or authorized by the Center/Unit. 
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f. Correspondence/conduct with a visitor in violation of regulations. 

g. Possession/Introduction/use of a cell phone or unauthorized messaging device. 

h. Possession/Introduction/use of unauthorized electronic devices or parts of one, such as a 
charger or sim card. 

i. Indecent Exposure 

j. Social media 

5.   All inmates assigned to Restrictive Housing will remain a Class IV inmate and will not receive 
any good time for the duration of their confinement in Restrictive Housing.  

G. Range of Allowable Sanctions 

 1. Penalty Class "A"* 

a. Punitive Housing up to thirty (30) days. Inmates serving a punitive disciplinary sentence 
shall not earn meritorious good time. 

b. Loss of earned good time up to 365 days (loss of all earned good time is allowable for 
offenses listed that include the statement “may result in loss of all good time”). 

c. If the use of the Inmate Telephone System is involved, it shall result in the loss of 
telephone privileges for one (1) year.   

d. Loss of designated privileges, up to sixty (60) days, or the loss of a commissary item(s) up 
to three hundred sixty five (365) days if such commissary item(s) were used in the 
commission of the disciplinary infraction.    

e. Restitution based on replacement cost or the value of lost,  intentionally misplaced, or 
destroyed property. 

f. Reduction of up to three (3) steps in class. 

g. Extra duty up to two (2) hours per day for up to thirty (30) days. 

h. Possession/Introduction/use of a cell phone will result in the loss of Inmate Telephone 
System privileges for one (1) year.  

i. For PREA related violations, referral to the Classification Committee for consideration of 
precautions based on the findings of the investigation and outcome of the Disciplinary 
Hearing. The Classification Committee will consider PREA status in housing and job 
assignments and potential placement in programming based on the outcome.  

j. An inmate found guilty of escape or attempted escape, felonious battery, homicide or 
attempted homicide, possession/manufacture of contraband, throwing or attempting to 
throw substances, and third or subsequent guilty verdict for Indecent Exposure and/or 
Masturbation that carries a Class A penalty will not be eligible for class promotion and/or 
reclassification for one (1) year unless the Warden recommends to the Classification 
Committee that the inmate be considered for promotion and/or reclassification.  

   2. Penalty Class "B"* 

a. Punitive Isolation up to fifteen (15) days. Inmates serving a punitive disciplinary sentence 
shall not earn meritorious good time. 

b. Loss of earned good time up to one hundred fifty (150) days. 
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c. Loss of designated privileges up to forty-five (45) days. 

d. Restitution based on replacement cost or the value of lost, intentionally misplaced or 
destroyed property. 

e. Extra duty up to two (2) hours per day for up to fifteen (15) days. 

f. Formal reprimand and/or warning. 

g. Reduction of up to two (2) steps in class. 

    3. Penalty Class “C”* 

a.   Punitive Isolation up to ten (10) days. Inmates serving a punitive disciplinary sentence shall  
not earn meritorious good time. 

       b.   Loss of earned credits up to sixty (60) days.  

 c.    Loss of designated privileges up to thirty (30) days. 

 d.  Restitution based on replacement cost or the value of lost, intentionally misplaced or 
destroyed property. 

               e.   Extra duty up to two (2) hours per day for up to ten (10) days. 

               f.   Formal reprimand/warning. 

g.  Reduction of one (1) step in class. 

Note: Loss of all earned good time is allowable for offenses listed that include the 
statement “may result in loss of all good time”. 

*In addition to any other punishment authorized under this AD, the use of any commissary item 
in connection with the violation of any of these rules may result in the loss of the privilege to 
acquire that type of item for up to twelve (12) months.  

 
H. Major Disciplinary Appeal Process 

1. At the time of notification of the verdict in a disciplinary proceeding, the inmate will be notified 
that he/she has the right to appeal any decision of, or disciplinary action taken by, the DHO, 
directly to the Warden of the unit/center involved. This notification will be documented by having 
the inmate sign the front of the disciplinary indicating that he/she understands the right to appeal. 
If the inmate waives his/her right to appear before the Major Disciplinary and is found guilty, 
he/she cannot appeal the decision. In the event the inmate is illiterate, the DHO shall, at the 
request of the inmate, direct the inmate's Counsel Substitute (Section VII (J) (1) to assist him/her in 
writing the letter of appeal. 

2. The appeal must be written within the space provided on the Appeal Form. All grounds for appeal 
should be briefly stated and include the reasons why the conviction or punishment should be 
Reversed or Modified. This statement will be considered at all levels of appeal and may not be re-
written at each stage. If the inmate fails to receive responses in the time frame set forth below, 
he/she may appeal to the next level. 

a. The appeal shall be submitted in writing and must be submitted within fifteen (15) Business 
Days after a copy of the DHO's report is given to the inmate and shall set forth in detail the 
grounds for any appeal. The Warden has thirty (30) business days from receipt of the appeal 
to respond, except that if the inmate is serving punitive time as a result of the disciplinary, 
the Warden should answer the appeal within ten (10) Business Days.   
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b. If the Warden upholds the original decision of the DHO’s verdict and the inmate is not 
satisfied with the response, he/she has fifteen (15) Business Days from receipt of the 
Warden’s decision, to appeal to the DHA, who has thirty (30) Business Days to respond.   

c. If the DHA upholds the decision of the original verdict, and the inmate disagrees with the 
response, he/she has fifteen (15) Business Days from receipt of the DHA’s decision, to 
appeal to the Director. The Director has (30) Business Days to respond. The written appeal 
must set forth in detail the grounds for such an appeal. The Director’s decision is final.   

d. During any stage of the appeal, the reviewer may affirm the action of the DHO or modify it 
as he/she deems just and proper; except at no point in the appeal process shall the penalty 
be increased.   

3. In cases where a DR is written by a Warden, the inmate may bypass the appeal to the Warden and 
appeal to the DHA. 

 I. Disciplinary Extensions 

   1. Limited Disciplinary Extensions of time may be granted by the respective Warden in the following 
circumstances: 

a. The charged inmate has escaped;  

b. The inmate is out to court, hospital or otherwise off the unit/center; 

c. The case requires more extensive investigation; 

d. The inmate is on Treatment Precautions;  

e. The inmate is on Quarantine;  

f. An emergency situation exists at the unit/center; or  

g. Volume of disciplinaries scheduled for hearing is excessive and more time is needed to 
ensure a fair determination in each case. 

2. The DHO may grant an Disciplinary Extension if additional information or investigation is 
needed in order to arrive at a fair decision. 

3. In the event that an Disciplinary Extension is granted, a copy of the Disciplinary Extension Form 
shall be forwarded to the charged inmate. A Disciplinary Extension may be granted for a period 
of up to five (5) additional Business Days. If a greater length of time is needed, then the 
Disciplinary Extension must be renewed and will not exceed five (5) Business Days per 
Disciplinary Extension. Any Disciplinary Extension over thirty (30) days must be approved by 
the Director. The Warden may give an indefinite Disciplinary Extension while the inmate is 
absent from the Unit/Center. 

                             4. Regarding escapes, the time limit will not begin to run until the inmate is returned to the unit 
where the disciplinary hearing will be held. The Warden should check the appropriate box on the 
Disciplinary Extension Form and enter the time and date when the inmate was returned to the 
unit/center. The time and date entered will serve as the starting point for the time limit. 

                  J. Special Cases 

1. Counsel Substitutes 

a. The following inmates shall be entitled to a Counsel Substitute in disciplinary proceedings: 

i. Those inmates designated by the CSO, or the investigating officer. 
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ii. Those inmates who the DHO believes are illiterate, or incompetent, including any 
inmate with an IQ of sixty (60) or below, or a reading level below fourth (4th) grade 
(records of School District and/or Mental Health will be checked).   

iii. Inmates facing disciplinary proceedings where the issues involved are so complex 
that he/she is not likely to understand the nature of the charges. 

iv. Any inmate not able to understand and speak the English language. 

v. Inmates assigned a Mental Health Classification of 3 or 4 if recommended on 
Form 834. 

b. Counsel Substitutes shall consist of Staff members as designated by the Warden. These 
individuals will be on notice that they are the Counsel Substitutes and should be prepared 
to be of service at the Major Disciplinary Court Hearings. The Warden shall prepare a list 
of approved Counsel Substitutes who shall be immediately available to the investigating 
officer, the CSO, and the DHO on request. When it is determined that an inmate is in 
need of a Counsel Substitute by the Serving Officer/Notifying Officer,  who serves the 
disciplinary, and/or the CSO, the Counsel Substitute should be notified in advance so 
that he/she can be on notice of which inmate is involved and the nature of the 
disciplinary. When the Counsel Substitute determination is made by the DHO at the 
hearing, he/she shall immediately recess or postpone the disciplinary hearing so the 
Counsel Substitute may have an opportunity to meet with the accused inmate prior to the 
entering of a plea. The DHO should then proceed with the next disciplinary, having 
noted the starting and stopping place on the recording prior to the recess and further 
noting the starting and stopping place on the recording when the disciplinary hearing is 
reconvened with the Counsel Substitute present.   

c. Counsel Substitutes have no voice in the decision making of the court. When the Counsel 
Substitute performs the required duties for an inmate in a disciplinary hearing, the 
Counsel Substitute shall not remain in the disciplinary hearing room during deliberation. 

d. All inmates have the right to refuse a Counsel Substitute. Any refusal is a waiver of the 
Counsel Substitute, and the refusal by the inmate must be noted on the recording and the 
disciplinary form, and the disciplinary should proceed without any Counsel Substitute. 

e. In the event that a Counsel Substitute requires more time to prepare the necessary 
information for a fair determination of the disciplinary, the DHO may grant an 
Disciplinary Extension of time for further investigation. 

f. Once the DHO has made a decision and advised the inmate of the appeal procedure, the 
Counsel Substitute will be responsible for aiding the inmate in the appeal process. The 
responsibility of the Counsel Substitute to the inmate shall be restricted to the 
presentation of evidence on the inmate's behalf at the disciplinary hearing and any 
subsequent proceedings, and providing an adequate explanation of the charges and 
consequences to the inmate both before and after the hearing. 

2. Use of Confidential Information and Confidential Informants 

a. If the charging person does not have firsthand knowledge of the event, the charge may 
be brought based upon information received from a confidential informant(s); however, 
no disciplinary shall be based solely upon information received from a confidential 
informant(s). There must be corroborating evidence that supports the information 
received from the confidential informant(s) for the disciplinary to proceed. 
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 b. The charged inmate has no right to confront and cross-examine an informant against 
him/her or to know the informant's identity or statement. It is mandatory that any time 
confidential informant information is provided; the DHO shall ensure that the 
confidential information does not become known to other inmates. This information 
shall be marked confidential and entered into the electronic offender file. 

c. In cases where a disciplinary is written primarily upon information from a confidential 
informant, the record must contain the informant's signed statement in language that is 
factual rather than subjectively conclusive and must establish that the confidential 
informant had personal knowledge of the matter. 

d. In cases where the charging person is able to verify information obtained from a 
confidential informant, and the charging person has obtained independent corroborating 
evidence of the event, it is not necessary to provide the confidential informant's name 
and statement to the DHO. 

e.    In the event that the DHO uses as evidence an investigative report which is classified as 
confidential, the DHO is responsible for ensuring that the confidential report is safely 
returned to the DHA without becoming known to inmates or unauthorized Staff. When 
describing the report under "Evidence Relied Upon," it is sufficient to use the phrase 
"Confidential Report," and state the conclusion of the report without detailing any of the 
specifics contained in the report. 

3.  Contraband and Other Physical Evidence  

 If physical evidence is involved in or crucial to the determination to be made by the DHO such as 
weapons or contraband, then photographs and/or written reports of that evidence will be presented 
to and considered by the DHO. Following the hearing, any contraband may be disposed of pursuant 
to the Inmate Property Control AD, but must be described in great detail under "Evidence Relied 
Upon." Photographs and written reports should be entered into the electronic offender file and made 
a part of the inmate's permanent file. 

4.  Malingering 

a. Certain DRs may require testimony from healthcare Staff such as when the inmate's 
defense is that he/she was too ill to abide by an institutional rule. Whenever a charged 
inmate's defense is illness, unit healthcare Staff must be contacted to determine whether 
the inmate was examined for a complaint of illness and whether, in the opinion of the 
person(s) who examined the inmate, the inmate was feigning illness or not sufficiently ill 
to justify a lay-in. 

b. A statement from healthcare Staff will be obtained either in writing or by telephone. If 
written, the statement will be attached to the DR, noted under “Evidence Relied Upon” 
and made a part of the inmate's permanent file.  If by telephone, the statement should be 
recorded and, if necessary, repeated for the recording device, and quoted on the 
Disciplinary Hearing Action Form (F-831-3) and, when available, in the electronic 
offender file under "Evidence Relied Upon." If the proper entry is not made under 
"Evidence Relied Upon," indicating the source and content of the testimony from 
healthcare Staff, the disciplinary action will be deemed invalid and expunged from the 
inmate's records. 

c. Where an inmate’s defense for failure to work is illness and healthcare staff reports that 
the inmate did not report to medical or submit a sick call on the date of the infraction, the 
defense shall be found without merit as it is the responsibility of the inmate to go to the 
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healthcare Staff for treatment of an illness. If the inmate did solicit treatment from 
medical Staff, but was cleared to report to work, the healthcare report should be entered 
under "Evidence Relied Upon" and considered in conjunction with any other evidence 
available to the court.  If healthcare Staff reports that the inmate was in fact too ill to 
perform his/her designated work task, the inmate shall be found not guilty. 

d. When an inmate is already performing his/her work assignment, and complains of illness, 
the inmate should be sent or escorted to medical.  If the inmate receives a "lay-in," then 
there should be no DR. If the inmate is cleared by medical and is ordered to go to work 
but refuses, a DR may be written.  If the inmate is sent back to work and returns to work, 
he should only be given a DR when the officer has concrete evidence that the entire 
episode was contrived to harass Staff or to temporarily avoid work. In such case, the 
healthcare Staff must be contacted to determine whether, in the opinion of the person(s) 
who examined the inmate, the inmate was feigning illness. If any illness was determined 
to be present, even though not sufficient to warrant a lay-in, the inmate should be found 
not guilty when the inmate returned to work after being seen by medical Staff.  

e. Upon contacting the healthcare Staff for information, the name and statement of the 
person contacted must be entered under "Evidence Relied Upon." 

5. Damaging Property 

a. Any inmate who is found guilty of destroying, damaging, or intentionally misplacing 
property may be ordered to make Restitution in the amount of the replacement costs or 
the value of the property, depending upon individual circumstances as found by the 
DHO. 

b. The DHO shall levy against the institutional account of the inmate for the reasonable 
value of the property intentionally destroyed, misplaced, or the reasonable value to repair 
intentionally damaged property after making inquiry to determine such values.  The levy 
against the inmate account shall continue until the obligation is fully paid. 

c. In cases where the DHO finds destruction or damage was caused by negligence as 
opposed to willfulness, the DHO should determine whether the inmate knew or should 
have known that the behavior in question would likely cause damage or destruction of the 
property, whether the inmate acted in direct contravention of written or verbal orders, or 
any other circumstances which reflect upon the appropriateness of levying against the 
inmate account.   

d. The reasoning supporting any decision to order restitution for damaged property must be 
fully detailed under "Reasons for Punishment" on the Disciplinary Hearing Action Form 
(F-831-3) and electronically when available in the electronic offender file. 

e. The DHO shall not, under any circumstances, order Restitution between inmates, or 
between inmates and Staff. Restitution shall only be used as a tool to discourage the 
destruction or damage of property by causing inmates to take fiscal responsibility for such 
destruction, damage, or intentional misplacement.  

K. Specific Prohibitions 

1. No DHO shall conduct hearings when that officer is the charging person or has firsthand 
knowledge of a particular disciplinary episode. 
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2. No Staff shall communicate to a DHO, by way of suggestion or order, the finding or punishment 
that the DHO should find. An exception is Mental Health Staff completing a written 834 Form 
(Mental Health Form).   

3. A DHO should make his/her decision based solely upon the evidence presented to them in 
disciplinary court and is not to be influenced by Staff or a supervisor about an inmate’s guilt or 
innocence. 

4. If the DHO is instructed as to making a finding on a disciplinary or on the punishment to assess, 
he/she shall disqualify himself/herself from hearing that disciplinary and will report the 
communication to the DHA.  

5. Any DHO who believes that he/she is unable to render an objective decision in a particular case 
should request disqualification from that case.  In the case of the DHA, the request will be made to 
the Director. 

6. When the use of indecent or vulgar language is used by an inmate in the grievance process or there 
is a malicious use of the grievance procedure, disciplinary action may be filed against the inmate. 
Under such circumstances, the CSO or Warden, or their designee, will determine if a DR is 
warranted.  If so, only the CSO or Warden, or their designee, may write and submit the report for 
processing.  Under no circumstances shall the employee, who may be the subject of a grievance, 
write and submit a DR against the inmate submitting the grievance. 

7. PREA Considerations. Inmates involved in sexual contact with ADC Staff, or any employees, 
volunteers, contractors and vendors of another law enforcement/correctional agency that have 
taken temporary custody of an ADC inmate for the purposes of transport, holding for court, 
contractual bed space, or other requirements, cannot be charged with a Rule Violation for this 
conduct. Under the Guidelines of the PREA, inmates cannot consent to such contact and are 
considered victims of a crime. In order to bring charges for sexual contact with any employee or 
other above categorized individual, the investigation must show that forcible rape or forced sexual 
contact occurred by the inmate towards the employee or agent. This does not include visitors or 
citizens not acting in some official capacity such as co-workers at a work release site.  

L. Records 
 
1.    Not Guilty Verdicts. DRs which result in a finding of not guilty shall not be made a part of the 

inmate's permanent file although such finding will be documented in the electronic offender file.   

2.   Expungements. DRs which indicate a finding of guilt and which are Reversed by the Warden, 
DHA, or Director are to be expunged from the inmate's permanent file, but will remain a part of 
the offender’s electronic record, and will be forwarded to the Warden or designee for filing as a 
matter of record. Such reversals shall also restore good time or class status which may have been 
reduced by the DHO. 

3.   Suspended Sentence. Inmates who are found guilty of Rule Violations and assessed punishment 
may receive a suspended imposition of the sentence.  In such cases, the DR will become a part of 
the inmate's permanent file. If the inmate is found guilty of another Rule Violation during the 
period of a previously imposed suspended sentence, the suspended punishment must be revoked 
and imposed and additional punishment pursuant to the subsequent disciplinary episode may also 
be imposed. The punishment may be made consecutive. 

4.    Guilty Verdicts. All disciplinary hearing report forms which render a verdict of guilty shall be 
transmitted and entered into the electronic offender file by the DHO. The Unit Records Supervisor 
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shall make whatever changes are required regarding statutory good time, meritorious good time, 
parole interview date, and institutional status as part of the inmate's permanent file. 

   M. Major Disciplinary Forms 

The Major Disciplinary Forms consist of six (6) separate forms. The Major Disciplinary Form (F-831-1), 
the Disciplinary Hearing Action Form (F-831-2), and the Disciplinary Hearing Action Form (F-831-3) 
must be completed entirely pursuant to every Major Disciplinary Hearing, regardless of the verdict. Data 
related to each form should be entered and maintained electronically when available in the electronic 
offender file. The ISSR 100 electronic printed form shall contain all data found in F-831-1, F-831-2, and 
F-831-3 after data entry. 

1. The Major Disciplinary Form (F-831-1) 

a. The charging person is responsible for providing the DHO with accurate reports of Rule 
Violations. All information pertaining to the charge(s) must be detailed by the charging person. 
The charging person must sign an affirmation regarding the accuracy of the charges. 

b. The Serving Officer/Notifying Officer must indicate his/her name and the time and date the 
inmate was notified of the impending major disciplinary action. The inmate may call Witnesses 
at the time of notification by informing the notification officer of those individuals he/she 
wishes to call as Witnesses. The Serving Officer/Notifying Officer should then list the 
Witnesses called and instruct the inmate to sign the form under "Witness Statements." If the 
inmate refuses to sign, such refusal should be noted with the initials of the Serving 
Officer/Notifying Officer. 

c. The CSO (Building or Field Majors or their designees) must review each DR prior to a hearing 
for screening purposes. After indicating the appropriate decision, the CSO must initial and date 
the form under "C.S.O. Review." 

d. There must be an indication of whether an Extension was granted and, if so, whether the 
Extension Form was completed. 

e. The DHO is reminded of the policy on Counsel Substitutes. When assigned, it should be so 
indicated and the name of the Counsel Substitute entered. When not assigned, the appropriate 
space should be marked.  

f. A copy of the Major Disciplinary Form (F-831-1 or ISSR 100) shall be forwarded to the inmate. 

2. The Disciplinary Action Form (F-831-2) 

a. The DHO must ensure that all information at the top of the Disciplinary Action Form (F-831-
2) is correct. Care should be taken to note the time when the hearing starts and stops. If the 
inmate refuses to attend, there is a reminder that the waiver form must be completed. In all 
cases, the inmate's plea will be entered accurately. 

b. Statements made by inmates in their defense or otherwise should be entered in as great detail as 
possible under "Inmate's Statement."   

c. Under "Questions," the DHO should indicate the general line of questioning pursued. The 
DHO should probe for any and all additional information which could aid in reaching a fair 
determination of fact. 

d. The DHO must indicate the verdict reached and, if applicable, the punishment assessed, and 
shall indicate the class that the inmate may be placed in. 

153



AD 2022-12  Inmate Disciplinary Manual     Page 21 of 24 

e. Under "Factual Basis for Decision," the DHO must give a short statement of the facts as the 
DHO perceives them after reviewing all of the evidence. This section should not be confused 
with "Evidence Relied Upon" or "Reasons for Punishment." This should include a summary of 
the reasons for finding the inmate guilty or not guilty. In fulfilling this function, it is not 
sufficient to adopt and copy the exact wording of the DR. 

f. The inmate must be given a copy of the Disciplinary Action form. 

3.  The Disciplinary Action Form (F-831-3) 

a. Under "Evidence Relied Upon," the DHO must include a list of the individual pieces of 
evidence that were relied upon in reaching a disposition. Shorthand phrases such as "Officer's 
Statement" will not be sufficient to perform this function. The evidence must not only be 
described, but must be explained. The content of any evidence relied upon should be given. 
Thus, if a charging person's report is to be relied upon, the DHO should so state and then 
proceed to explain exactly what it was in the person's report that the DHO relied upon. In cases 
where weapons or contraband are involved, a notation should be made in the proper slot 
indicating the form in which it was observed and further describing the item with particularity. 

b. In any case where the DHO makes a finding of guilty notwithstanding the fact that there was 
some evidence which purported to exonerate the inmate, the DHO must include a statement 
indicating the reason why such evidence was discounted. 

c. Under "Reasons for Assessment of Punishment," the DHO must state why he/she felt the 
particular disciplinary warranted the punishment assessed. 

It is not sufficient to state, "nature and seriousness of offense and past history." It is important 
that the DHO keep in mind that the purpose served is that of providing an independent 
reviewing authority with an adequate basis from which to determine why a particular inmate 
received the particular punishment imposed. Special care should be given to document reasons 
for differences in punishments given to different inmates in the same incident. Factors to be 
weighed in assessing the punishment should include, but not be limited to: 

1. The seriousness of the offense and the extent to which the offense threatened 
institutional security; 

2. The number of major disciplinaries received by the inmate for similar offenses, the 
overall institutional record of the inmate; 

3. The attitude of the inmate including his/her willingness to cooperate fully with the 
DHO; 

4. Personal factors which may have influenced the inmate to behave poorly (e.g., death in 
the family); 

5. Inmate's willingness or lack thereof to return to work and perform as expected; any 
hostility which the inmate may have exhibited toward the DHO; 

6. Any remorse the inmate may show regarding his/her behavior; any effect a 
contemplated punishment may or may not have in impressing upon the inmate the need 
for behavior modification; 

7. Any effect a contemplated punishment may have in terms of rewarding the inmate with 
a second chance if the DHO believes behavior will improve as a result thereof;  

8. The class status of the inmate should be kept in mind when assessing the punishment 
(punitive time may not be necessary for a Class I inmate if the DHO feels that a class 
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reduction would sufficiently impress upon the inmate the prohibition against the 
particular behavior). 

As mentioned, the above are suggested factors to take into consideration when 
assessing punishment and are by no means exhaustive. The DHO should stay alert to 
any mitigating or aggravating circumstances associated with a particular disciplinary 
episode. The DHO must initial the "Reason for Punishment" in the appropriate space. 

d. The DHO must credit the inmate with any time spent in Restrictive Housing as a result of the 
behavior which is the subject of the disciplinary against any assessed Punitive Isolation sanction. 
For example, an inmate assigned to Punitive Housing when the behavior occurred does not get 
any credit; but an inmate who is assigned to Restrictive Housing from general population as a 
result of the behavior that result in the disciplinary being written will be given credit for the 
number of days in Restrictive Housing at the time the sanctions are issued. This credit does not 
extend the number of days of Punitive Housing that may be assessed. (Nor does the lack of 
Punitive Housing days determine whether an inmate may be assigned to Restrictive Housing 
pursuant to that policy.) 

e. A reminder is included regarding the proper procedures for informants and alleged malingers. 

f. The inmate, having been informed of the right to appeal, is instructed to sign the form indicating 
that he/she understands the right to appeal. If a Counsel Substitute has been assigned, he/she 
should also sign. If an inmate refuses to sign, the DHO should indicate by initialing the slot 
reserved for the inmate's signature. 

g. The DHO must sign and date the disciplinary form. 

h.  The inmate must be provided a copy of Disciplinary Action Form (F-831-3). 

4. The Major Disciplinary Appeal Form (F-831-4) 

a. The Major Disciplinary Appeal Form is self-explanatory. The inmate is to check yes beside 
“Punitive Housing” if the appeal is in reference to a finding of guilty on a particular disciplinary 
episode which resulted in the imposition of Punitive Housing as a disciplinary measure. This is 
designed to aid the inmate who has been sentenced to a relatively lengthy isolation period and 
who may have a valid appeal pertaining to guilt and/or punishment. The Warden should 
prioritize these appeals. 

b. Inmates serving short periods of punitive time should not be discouraged from utilizing the 
procedure, as their appeals will be expedited by the procedure. Inmates not serving punitive 
time are not permitted to mark yes beside "Punitive Appeal". 

Appeal Forms will be available with carbon copies, and the original shall be submitted for the appeal. 
The copies remain with the inmate and will be submitted if the original is not returned within the 
policy’s timeframes. 

5. The Disciplinary Extension Form (F-831-5) 

The Disciplinary Extension Form enumerates six (6) legitimate reasons for  granting an Extension. If 
the DHO or Warden grants the Extension, a copy of the signed Form F-831-5 must be forwarded to  
the inmate.  

6. The Waiver of Disciplinary Hearing Form (F-831-6) 

Physical force shall not be used to secure the presence of the inmate before the DHO. All inmates shall 
be afforded the opportunity to be present before the DHO unless they waive that right in writing or 
through behavior.  In the event an inmate refuses to appear, the "Waiver of Disciplinary Hearing Form" 
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must be filled out. The inmate will not be subjected to any further DRs as a result of availing 
himself/herself of the waiver procedure. 
 

VIII. MINOR DISCIPLINE: 

A. Minor Discipline should be used as a tool to discourage less serious misconduct. The purpose of 
Minor DRs (Form F-831-7 and Electronic Form ISSR 102) is to sufficiently impress upon the inmate 
the need for behavior modification without burdening the inmate with the stigma that attaches to 
Major DRs. The Rule Violations for which an inmate may receive a Minor DR are identical to those 
violations for which a Major DR may be written. Minor DRs are within the discretion of the charging 
person.   

B. Due process considerations inherent in the major disciplinary process shall not apply to minor 
disciplinaries; however, the inmate shall be allowed to be present and to make a statement on his/her 
behalf. 

C.  Minor Disciplinaries 

1. Each Unit Warden shall establish and designate a MDO to hear and dispose of any and all minor 
infractions of institutional rules and regulations. 

2. The MDO at each unit shall be nominated by the CSO of the Building or Field and approved by 
the Warden. The charging officer cannot serve as the MDO on any charges he/she initiated or 
witnessed.   

3. An officer must have attained the rank of Lieutenant with at least three (3) years of experience as a 
correctional officer to serve as a MDO.  

4. The MDO will hear charges as often as necessary and at a place and a time convenient to 
expeditiously administer the institutional minor disciplinary functions. These hearings will be 
conducted within seven (7) Business Days of the incident.   

5. Upon hearing the charges against the inmate, the inmate's defense and testimony, the MDO shall 
render his/her decision as to guilt or innocence and the appropriate action to be taken. 

6. The MDO, upon determining that an inmate is guilty of a minor violation of institutional rules and 
regulations, may take any or all of the following actions: 

a. Warn, reprimand, or excuse the inmate. 

b. Revoke privileges for up to twenty (20) days. 

c. Assign extra duty (extra duty will be useful work that is not intended as harassment). No 
inmate shall be worked past his/her regular bedtime nor will be allowed to do any extra 
duty assessed  by the MDO in lieu of his/her regular work assignment. Extra duties must 
not exceed two (2) hours per day and a maximum of ten (10) days. 

7. At no time shall an inmate be put in Restrictive Housing by the decision of the MDO. Good Time 
and Class Status shall not be reduced by the MDO. 

8. Disciplinary action should be taken by the MDO as soon as possible after the discovery of the 
violation. Any minor disciplinary action which has not been heard after seven (7) Business Days shall 
be dismissed. 

9. The Minor Disciplinary Form (F-831-7) shall be filled out in its entirety for each infraction and 
entered electronically when available in the electronic offender file. 
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10. Minor DRs will not be made a part of the inmate's permanent file, but will be recorded in the 
Offender’s electronic record. After the MDO has completed his/her daily functions, the minor DR 
shall be forwarded to the CSO for separate filing as a matter of record. 

11. Once the MDO has disposed of a minor disciplinary, the decision shall not be changed or altered in 
any manner by the MDO. 

12. Findings of the MDO may be appealed to the CSO. The CSO may affirm, reverse or modify the 
decision of the MDO. The CSO’s decision is final. The CSO may not uphold a sanction that imposes 
Punitive Isolation, or a reduction of Good Time or Class Status of an inmate.  

13. The CSO must submit to the Warden a monthly report of the minor disciplinary actions. The 
Warden must maintain a file of these reports and have them available for review by the DHA. The 
Warden and DHA must ensure that each inmate is treated fairly and equitably.   

IX.   SANCTIONS: 

        Any employee who violates this policy will be subject to disciplinary action which may include termination. 

X.  ATTACHMENTS: 

1. Major Disciplinary F-831-1 

2. Disciplinary Hearing Action F-831-2 

3. Disciplinary Hearing Action F-831-3 

4. Major Disciplinary Appeal Form 

5. Disciplinary Extension Form 

6. Waiver Of Disciplinary Hearing 

7. Minor Disciplinary Report 
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F-831-1  ARKANSAS DIVISION OF CORRECTION AR 831 
 
   __________________________Unit                  
                                                                                                                  
                                               MAJOR DISCIPLINARY                                  
                                      
     
Inmate____________________________ADC #_______Assignment_____________ 
Class___________is being charged by____________________Title______________ 
with Rule Violation(s)___________________Time & Date______________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
NOTICE OF CHARGES 
 
 
 
 
(I affirm that the information in this report is true to the best of my knowledge) 
_______________________________________________________________  
                      Signature of Charging Officer 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
NOTIFICATION: Officer ______________________Date & Time Notified_____________ 
 
      _______________________________ 
       Inmate's Signature 
Witness: YES ___ NO ____ 
 
List of Witness: 
 
 
 
 
C.S.O. REVIEW: Reduce____ Dismiss____ To Disc. Court____Initial_____Date___________ 
EXTENSION:  No____ Yes____ ; Has Extension form been completed? ____________________ 
Presentation by Counsel Substitute is required when it is determined that the inmate is illiterate or 
incompetent or that the issues are extraordinarily complex. 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
COUNSEL SUBSTITUTE Assigned (Name) __________________________________ 
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F-831-2  ARKANSAS DIVISION OF CORRECTION    AR 831 
           
    _______________________UNIT 
    
    DISCIPLINARY HEARING ACTION 
 
Inmate _____________________ ADC #________ Rule Violation(s)___________________ 
Date of Alleged Offense(s)____________ Time of Alleged Offense(s)____________________     
Hearing Date__________________Time:  Start__________ End  ______________ 
Recorder________________ Tape #_____ Side_______ Meter:  From ______To_______ 
Plea:__________________________________ Attendance Waived:  Yes___________ 
Has waiver form been completed? ______ 
 
Inmate's Statement: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
________________________________ 
Signature of Inmate 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
Court Questions: 
 
 
 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
Verdict:__________________________________Punishment:_____________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
Factual Basis for Decision: (This is a short synopsis of the facts as the DHO  perceives them after 
reviewing all of the evidence.) 
 
DHO 's Initials_____________
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F-831-3                   ARKANSAS DIVISION OF CORRECTION   AR 831 
 
    ________________________UNIT 
 
            DISCIPLINARY HEARING ACTION 
 
Inmate______________________________   ADC #________  Date ______________ 
Evidence Relied Upon: 
1. 
2. 
3. 
4. 
5. 
6. 
7. If relevant, contraband observed:  Actual Item _______Photo _____Receipt_______ 
    Describe:____________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________ 
Reasons Why Information Purporting to Exonerate Inmate Was Discounted: 
 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
Reasons for Assessment of Punishment: 
 
 
                                                    DHO 's Initials____________ 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
The DHO is reminded that if an informant provided firsthand information in the case, then that 
informant's name and written statement must only be presented to the Disciplinary Court.  This 
information will be retained with the Disciplinary tape by the DHO Administrator, also, if an 
inmate claimed to have been sick, the opinion of the infirmary examiner must be obtained. 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
I have read this report and understand that I may appeal to the Warden about any decision made 
in this matter within fifteen (15) days by completing the "Disciplinary Appeal" form. 
Inmate's Signature________________ Counsel Substitute_____________________ 
___________________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________________ 
DHO - I affirm that the information is true to the best of my knowledge. 
DHO ___________________________________  ____________________ 
 Signature          Date

160



 
 
 

                                                      
 
F-831-4               
Major Disciplinary Appeal Form 
 
Inmate Name  _________________________________ADC#__________________________ 
 
Unit/Center  _________________________________Punitive Housing_____ Yes   _____ No 
  
Disciplinary (date) __________________ by (charging officer) _________________________                        
                        
  
_____  Appeal to Warden/Deputy Warden.  Note, if you do not agree with the decision of the 
 Date DHO, you have 15 Business Days from receipt of disciplinary action to appeal to the 

Warden/Deputy Warden.   
  Warden’s Decision: Affirm_____ Reverse______ Modify______ Reject _______ 
  (See attached if Modified or Rejected.) 
  Signature:  ________________________________Date___________ 
 
_____  Appeal to Disciplinary Hearing Administrator (DHA).  Note, if you do not agree with the 
 Date response of the Warden/Deputy Warden, you may appeal to the Disciplinary Hearing 

Administrator within 15 Business Days of receipt of the Warden/Deputy Warden’s 
response. 

  DHA’s Decision:  Affirm_____ Reverse______ Modify______ Reject _______ 
  (See attached if Modified or Rejected) 
  Signature:  ________________________________Date___________ 
 
 _____ Appeal to Director.  Note, if you do not agree with the Disciplinary Hearing 
  Date  Administrator’s response, you may appeal to the Director within 15 Business Days of 

receipt of the Disciplinary Hearing Administrator’s decision.   
  Director’s Decision:  Affirm_____ Reverse______ Modify______ Reject _______ 
  (See attached if Modified or Rejected.) 
  Signature:  ________________________________Date___________ 
 
Notice to Inmate:  This form is to be used for all appeal levels and responses.  Briefly state 
reasons why conviction or punishment should be Reversed or Modified.  This information 
will be considered at all three levels of appeal.  Only information that is contained within 
this space on this form will be considered: 
 
Inmate's Signature:_____________________________________Date:_____________
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F-831-5                   ARKANSAS DIVISION OF CORRECTION        AR 831 
                                           _______________________________Unit 
                                    DISCIPLINARY EXTENSION FORM  
 
TO: 
FROM: 
 
RE: Disciplinary Dated _________at _________For Rule Violation(s)_______________ 
 
DATE: 
This is to inform you I am extending your Disciplinary Hearing for a period of _____*additional working 
days for the following reasons: 
 ( ) Inmate is out to court/hospital, or otherwise off the Unit/Center. 
            ( ) Awaiting the decision of the prosecuting attorney regarding the filing of a  
                felony charge. 
            ( ) The case requires more extensive investigation.  The following is needed: 
      _______________________________________________________ 
                 _______________________________________________________ 
                 _______________________________________________________ 
            ( ) Volume of Disciplinaries scheduled for hearing is excessive and more time is  
                 needed to ensure a fair determination in each case. 
            ( ) Emergency situation exists at the unit. 
 
 Retroactive Extension: 
   ( ) Escaped inmate, not in custody.                Returned to Unit   _________  __________ 
                                                                                                                 Date       Time 
     ____________________________________                             __________ __________ 
     Signature   Warden/Deputy Warden, DHO          Date       Time 
 
Copy delivered to inmate by: __________________________on__________________ ___________ 
                                                             Signature                                         Date  Time 
cc:  File 
 
*An Extension may be granted up to five (5) Business Days.  If greater length of time is needed, 
then the Extension must be renewed and will not exceed five (5) days per Extension.  The 
Director must approve any Extension over thirty (30) days total. 
 
____________________________________ ____________  ____________________  
       Director's Signature                                             Date           Length of Extension 
 
This Extension will expire on _____________ at ______________ 
                                                           Date                        Time 
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F-831-6                         Arkansas Division of Correction            AR 831 
                                               _____________________Unit                 
                                 WAIVER OF DISCIPLINARY HEARING 
 
Date of Disciplinary__________________________________________________ 
Time:_____________________________________________________________ 
Rule Violation(s)_____________________________________________________ 
 
I, Inmate ______________________________________________, ADC #______, 
waive my right to a hearing. 
 
I agree to this of my own free will, without coercion from any employee of the Arkansas Division 
of Correction. 
 
Signed:______________________________  ADC #______________________ 
 
 
Note:  If the inmate refuses to attend the hearing and refuses to sign, complete section below. 
_____________________________________________________________________________  
 
Inmate_________________________________________, ADC #______________, 
refused to attend the hearing and refuses to sign the waiver form. 
 
Date:_________________________________  Time:_________________________ 
 
Signature of Officer Witnessing refusal:_____________________________________ 
 
Reviewed by Deputy Warden: ____________________________________________  
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F-831-7                                  Arkansas Division of Correction               AR 831 
                                                _______________________Unit                    
                                               MINOR DISCIPLINARY REPORT 
 
 
Date_________________  Time ________ Reporting Officer_____________________ 
Name of Inmate: _________________________Number ________Job______________ 
 
CHARGE OR OFFENSE: 
 
 
 
 
 
DISPOSITION (Check One) 
 
Extra Duty                            ____________________________________________ 
       (Describe Briefly) 
 
Loss of Privilege         ____________________________________________ 
                                                                                    (Describe Briefly) 
 
Warning & Reprimand          ____________________________________________ 
       (Describe Briefly) 
 
Not Guilty 
 
               __________________________________ 
     Disciplinary Hearing Officer 
 
Hearing Date/Time_______________________________________________________ 
 
Date Penalty Served _______________________Shift Supervisor___________________ 
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ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE 

 
SUBJECT: Offender Separation 
 
NUMBER: 2022-      SUPERSEDES: 13-49 
 
APPLICABILITY: All Inmates and Staff   Page: 1 of 2 
 
REFERENCE: AR 802 Classification of Offenders  
 
APPROVED:         EFFECTIVE DATE:    
  
I. POLICY: 

 It is the policy of the Arkansas Division of Correction (ADC) to provide a system to identify 
those inmates who are known enemies so that appropriate security precautions can be taken. 
This directive applies to inmates who identify other inmate(s) as an enemy or to inmates 
between whom there have been serious problems/altercations that are documented by staff.   

 
II. PROCEDURES: 

 A. Placement of Offender Separation Alerts 

                  1. When any unit staff become aware of an enemy situation between two (2) or more 
inmates, they must report it to their immediate supervisor and complete an Offender 
Separation Notification Form (Attachment) immediately and a 005 Incident Report form 
and then forward it immediately to the Chief of Security.  The form must include the 
specific reasons for the Offender Separation. The Offender Separation Notification 
Form will be a part of the incident packet.  

                2. The Chief of Security will review/investigate the situation and determine whether an 
Offender Separation is warranted.  

a. If the Chief of Security does not feel an Offender Separation is warranted, the 
reasons for disapproval must be noted and forwarded to the Warden/Work Release 
Center Supervisor for review.  

b. If the Chief of Security approves the Offender Separation, it will be forwarded to 
the Warden/Work Release Center Supervisor for his or her review.   

                    3. The Warden/Work Release Center Supervisor may concur with the Chief of Security’s 
decision or return the Offender Separation Notification Form for further 
consideration/documentation. If the Warden/Work Release Center Supervisor requests 
further documentation, the Chief Security Officer will gather additional information and 
submit it to the Warden/Work Release Center Supervisor. If further investigation is 
necessary, the case will be referred to the Internal Affairs Division.   
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Deleted: Enemy Alert System

Deleted: 3                    4.  Once the Warden/Work Release Center Supervisor has reviewed the form, it will be 
forwarded to the Unit Records Supervisor’s Office. 

                    5.  If an Offender Separation is warranted, after the 005 form and the Incident Packet is 
complete and approved by the Chief of Security, records personnel will be responsible 
for entering the Offender Separation in the electronic offender record for each inmate.  
The data entry must include the inmate’s name, ADC number, and date the Offender 
Separation was issued. 

              B.  Removal of Offender Separation 

1.  Offender Separation shall be removed following an investigation/review by the Chief 
of Security and signed affidavits which state that the conditions that led to the alert no 
longer exist, have been submitted by all inmates involved. 

2. Offender Separation should be reviewed anytime an inmate goes before the 
classification committee and a change occurs in the inmate’s living or work assignment. 
Consideration may be given to the type of housing involved and/or the supervision 
provided. 

 
III. ATTACHMENT: 

      Offender Separation Notification Form 
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          Attachment 

Offender Separation Notification Form 

I recommend that Inmate _______________________________, ADC #___________, and the 
following inmate(s) be placed on each other’s offender separation list (attach additional names if 
necessary): 
 
 Inmate ________________________________________, ADC #________________ 
 Inmate ________________________________________, ADC #________________ 
 Inmate ________________________________________, ADC #________________ 
 Inmate ________________________________________, ADC #________________ 
 
This action is a result of: _______________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
The above listed inmates should not be housed, attend recreation functions, or work together 
without proper supervision. 
 
___________________________________________  ____________________ 
Employee’s Signature       Date 
              
    Review by Chief of Security 

Action Recommended:            Approve □           Disapprove □ 
Reasons: ___________________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________  _____________________ 
Chief of Security’s Signature      Date 
              
   Review by Warden/Work Release Center Supervisor 

Concur □ Date: ____________     Return for further consideration □ Date: ____________ 
 
Comments:  ________________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________  
 
___________________________________________  ____________________ 
Warden/Work Release Center Supervisor’s Signature    Date 

Arkansas Division of Correction 
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ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE 

 
SUBJECT: Offender Separation 
 
NUMBER: 2022-13     SUPERSEDES: 13-49 
 
APPLICABILITY: All Inmates and Staff   Page: 1 of 2 
 
REFERENCE: AR 802 Classification of Offenders  
 
APPROVED:  Original Signature on file   EFFECTIVE DATE: 6/30/2022   
  
I. POLICY: 

 It is the policy of the Arkansas Division of Correction (ADC) to provide a system to identify 
those inmates who are known enemies so that appropriate security precautions can be taken. 
This directive applies to inmates who identify other inmate(s) as an enemy or to inmates 
between whom there have been serious problems/altercations that are documented by staff.   

 
II. PROCEDURES: 

 A. Placement of Offender Separation Alerts 
                  1. When any unit staff become aware of an enemy situation between two (2) or more 

inmates, they must report it to their immediate supervisor and complete an Offender 
Separation Notification Form (Attachment) immediately and a 005 Incident Report form 
and then forward it immediately to the Chief of Security.  The form must include the 
specific reasons for the Offender Separation. The Offender Separation Notification 
Form will be a part of the incident packet.  

                2. The Chief of Security will review/investigate the situation and determine whether an 
Offender Separation is warranted.  

a. If the Chief of Security does not feel an Offender Separation is warranted, the 
reasons for disapproval must be noted and forwarded to the Warden/Work Release 
Center Supervisor for review.  

b. If the Chief of Security approves the Offender Separation, it will be forwarded to 
the Warden/Work Release Center Supervisor for his or her review.   

                    3. The Warden/Work Release Center Supervisor may concur with the Chief of Security’s 
decision or return the Offender Separation Notification Form for further 
consideration/documentation. If the Warden/Work Release Center Supervisor requests 
further documentation, the Chief Security Officer will gather additional information and 
submit it to the Warden/Work Release Center Supervisor. If further investigation is 
necessary, the case will be referred to the Internal Affairs Division.   
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                    4.  Once the Warden/Work Release Center Supervisor has reviewed the form, it will be 
forwarded to the Unit Records Supervisor’s Office. 

                    5.  If an Offender Separation is warranted, after the 005 form and the Incident Packet is 
complete and approved by the Chief of Security, records personnel will be responsible 
for entering the Offender Separation in the electronic offender record for each inmate.  
The data entry must include the inmate’s name, ADC number, and date the Offender 
Separation was issued. 

              B.  Removal of Offender Separation 
1.  Offender Separation shall be removed following an investigation/review by the Chief 

of Security and signed affidavits which state that the conditions that led to the alert no 
longer exist, have been submitted by all inmates involved. 

2. Offender Separation should be reviewed anytime an inmate goes before the 
classification committee and a change occurs in the inmate’s living or work assignment. 
Consideration may be given to the type of housing involved and/or the supervision 
provided. 

 
III. ATTACHMENT: 
      Offender Separation Notification Form 
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          Attachment 
Offender Separation Notification Form 

I recommend that Inmate _______________________________, ADC #___________, and the 
following inmate(s) be placed on each other’s offender separation list (attach additional names if 
necessary): 
 
 Inmate ________________________________________, ADC #________________ 
 Inmate ________________________________________, ADC #________________ 
 Inmate ________________________________________, ADC #________________ 
 Inmate ________________________________________, ADC #________________ 
 
This action is a result of: _______________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
The above listed inmates should not be housed, attend recreation functions, or work together 
without proper supervision. 
 
___________________________________________  ____________________ 
Employee’s Signature       Date 
              
    Review by Chief of Security 
Action Recommended:            Approve □           Disapprove □ 
Reasons: ___________________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________  _____________________ 
Chief of Security’s Signature      Date 
              
   Review by Warden/Work Release Center Supervisor 
Concur □ Date: ____________     Return for further consideration □ Date: ____________ 
 
Comments:  ________________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________  
 
___________________________________________  ____________________ 
Warden/Work Release Center Supervisor’s Signature    Date 

Arkansas Division of Correction 
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ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE: 19-12 Drug-Free Work Place 
 

TO: Arkansas Community Correction Employees 

FROM: Kevin Murphy, Director 

SUPERSEDES: AD 13-08 
 

APPROVED:  Signature on File  EFFECTIVE: June 25, 2019 
 
 

I. APPLICABILITY. This directive applies to Arkansas Community Correction (ACC) 
employees, extra help, interns, volunteers, applicants who have received a conditional offer of 
employment, and contractors (“collectively referred to as workers”), unless the contractor 
operates a drug-testing program acceptable to ACC. 

 
II. POLICY. It is ACC’s intent to comply with the Drug-Free Workplace Acts of 1988. ACC is 

committed to adhering to laws regarding possession and use of prohibited drugs, providing a safe 
work environment, fostering the well-being and health of workers, and ensuring that no 
employees are impaired in the performance of their public duties by intoxicating substances. 
ACC prohibits the unlawful manufacture, purchase, distribution, dispensing, possession, or use 
of prohibited drugs by employees, extra help, interns, volunteers, and contractors. All covered 
workers must refrain from reporting to work while their ability to perform job duties is impaired 
due to the use of alcohol or other drugs. (4-ACRS-7C-02; 4-APPFS-3C-01) 

 
III. OVERVIEW. 

 
This policy sets standards and procedures for the ACC drug-testing program to ensure testing is 
fair and impartial, and to provide appropriate procedural safeguards to protect the reliability and 
confidentiality of test results. The ACC drug-testing program will aid worker and public safety, 
advance workplace security, and promote public trust in the ACC. 

 
IV. DEFINITIONS. 

 
A. Chain of Custody. Procedures to account for the integrity of each specimen by tracking its 

handling and storage from point of specimen collection to final disposition of the specimen, 
using an agency approved chain of custody form. 
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B. Confirmatory Test. A second analytical procedure performed to identify the presence of a 
specific drug or metabolite. The confirmatory test is independent of the screening test and 
uses a different technique and chemical principle in order to ensure reliability and accuracy. 

 
C. Controlled Substance. A drug, substance, or immediate precursor in Schedules I. through 

VI, as defined in Ark. Code Ann. §5-64-101. 
 

D. Documented Drug or Alcohol Abuse History. Any reported history of drug abuse or 
alcohol abuse for which the individual must maintain recovery as a condition of employment; 
criminal history records; or internal drug testing records. 

 
E. Drug Testing Coordinator (DTC). The ACC employee designated to conduct employee 

drug testing activity. 
 

F. Medical Review Officer (MRO). A licensed physician who is responsible for evaluating, 
interpreting, and providing results of drug and alcohol tests. 

 
G. Urine Test Observation. For urine specimen collection, there are two types of observation, 

direct and indirect. Direct Observation is visualization of the urine stream leaving the body 
and entering the test cup. Indirect Observation means presence in the immediate area 
balancing the need for privacy with prudent measures for preventing adulteration or 
substitution of samples. 

 
H. Prohibited Drug. Alcohol, illicit drug, misused prescription or over-the-counter drug, K2 

(recipe name JWH-018) substances present in the employee’s system while the employee is 
on duty (including breaks). 

 
I. Random Testing. Workers are selected without plan or purpose and are tested on an 

unannounced basis. The selection mechanism results in an equal probability that any worker 
from a group of workers will be selected. The methodology used prevents supervisor or 
worker discretion to waive or influence the selection of any person. 

 
V. SUBSTANCE/DRUG PROHIBITIONS, PRESCRIPTIONS AND MEDICAL 

MARIJUANA. 
 

A. Substance/Drug Prohibitions. Workers are prohibited from using and possessing 
prohibited substances/drugs in violation of state law, federal law and ACC policy unless a 
stated exception in this policy applies. This prohibition covers the inhalation, injection, 
ingestion and the presence of a specific prohibited substance/drug or its metabolites in the 
body or body fluids. 

 
Prohibited substances/drugs include alcohol, illicit drugs, controlled substance use without a 
valid prescription, misused prescription or over-the-counter drugs, synthetic cannabinoids 
such as K2 and Spice. Medical marijuana usage under the Arkansas Medical Marijuana 
Amendment is subject to Act 593 of 2017, which prohibits an employee in a safety-sensitive 
position from using medical marijuana even if the employee is a qualifying patient under the 
Amendment and/or holds a registry identification card. Employees in non-safety sensitive 
positions are subject to the provisions of the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment and 
Act 593 of 2017. 
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B. Proper Use of Prescription Medications. For purposes of this policy, “prescription” or 
“prescribed drugs” means a written or oral order for a pharmaceutical drug for use by a 
particular person given by a practitioner in the course of professional practice, including 
controlled substances, prescribed in accordance with the regulations promulgated by the 
director of the United States Drug Enforcement Administration pursuant to the federal drug 
abuse control laws. This definition does not include a recommendation for use of medical 
marijuana, as the use of marijuana by a worker is prohibited during working hours, including 
any lunch or other breaks. 

 
Some tests are positive because of prescribed drugs. ACC supports accepted medical 
practices with the assumption that prescription medications will be taken as directed, by those 
for whom it was prescribed, for the problem diagnosed. Failure to comply with specific 
medical directions may leave a person without a valid explanation of the presence of a 
controlled substance in case of a positive drug test. The presence of prescribed drugs in the 
employee’s system, in an amount exceeding prescription direction, will be considered a 
positive test resulting from abuse of prescription medication. Any employee who is 
prescribed medication at a level that impairs work performance must notify their supervisor 
immediately prior to assignment of duty. 

 
C. Medication That Causes Impairment. An employee taking a prescribed or an over-the- 

counter medication that affects alertness, judgment, or behavior in ways that are likely to 
impair job performance MUST notify their supervisor of that fact PRIOR to assuming their 
post. Failure to do so may result in disciplinary action up to and including termination. 

 
D. Safety-Sensitive Positions. Safety-sensitive positions involve job duties where impairment 

may present a clear and present risk to co-workers or other persons, and include any position 
where a momentary lapse in attention could result in injury or death to another person. A 
safety-sensitive position includes, but is not limited to, a position in which a drug or alcohol 
impairment constitutes an immediate and direct threat to public health and safety, such as a 
position that requires an employee to: (i) carry a firearm; (ii) perform life-threatening 
procedures; (iii) work with confidential information or criminal investigations; (iv) work with 
controlled substances; (v) maintain a commercial driver’s license; (vi) drive a vehicle or 
operate heavy equipment as part of normal duties; (vii) be prepared to use justified physical 
force against persons to maintain order or security. 

 
Workers in ACC safety-sensitive positions must NOT use medical marijuana, even if they 
have a valid medical marijuana card. ACC safety-sensitive positions include the following: 

 
• all workers assigned to Residential Centers (including the transport team), 
• workers who are certified law enforcement officers or hold law enforcement 

positions, 
• workers in Parole/Probation Treatment positions, 
• workers who perform drug testing, and 
• workers whose job duties require regular supervision of offenders including but not 

limited to Career Placement and Planning Specialists; and 
• workers who have access to confidential offender information in eOMIS. 
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VI. TESTING PROCEDURES, CONFIRMATION AND DOCUMENTATION. 
 

The ACC Human Resources Administrator must appoint a Central Drug Test Coordinator and 
ensure testing requirements in this policy are fulfilled. Every Community Correction Center and 
Parole/Probation area will designate a Drug Testing Coordinator (DTC) to coordinate and 
administer drug and alcohol tests. It is the responsibility of the Central Drug Testing 
Coordinator to schedule annual system-wide training, and to provide training as requested by the 
Center Supervisors, Area Managers, or the Unit Drug Testing Coordinator. All training 
conducted should be documented in Relias. Questions that arise about procedures, policy or the 
law are to be referred to the Central Drug Testing Coordinator, the Chief Deputy Director or the 
appropriate Deputy Director. Workers who will be tested must show photo identification when 
requested by the DTC. Specimens will be collected in a manner reasonably calculated to address 
privacy considerations, while preventing the substitution, contamination, and adulteration of 
specimens. Chain of custody procedures must be followed to preclude the possibility of 
erroneous identification of test results. 

 
A. Test Conditions and Whom to Test. Testing must not be used in a discriminatory manner 

nor used to harass, punish or discipline. Specimen collection procedures will include 
minimizing the number of persons handling specimens and using the chain of custody form 
to precisely record sample transfers from one person to another. A “screening test” is a 
preliminary test used to eliminate “negative” specimens from further consideration. 
Specimens that test “positive” on the screen are subject to a confirmation test. Employee 
Drug Testing will be as follows: 

 
1. Conditional Employees. Test all applicants/newly-hired employees, including rehires, 

who receive conditional offers of employment. The Central Drug Testing Coordinator 
(DTC) must check the Office of Driver Services records for hires into positions requiring 
CDL’s to determine and report prior positive substance abuse. 

 
2. Volunteers and Contractors. Aspects of this policy apply to volunteers and contractors 

such as testing methods and consequences of positive tests or refusal to test. Refer to the 
Volunteer Services directive for additional guidance on volunteers and contractor 
personnel. 

 
3. Commercial Driver’s Licensed (CDL) Workers. CDL workers must adhere to the United 

States Department of Transportation (DOT) and the Arkansas Office of Driver Services 
requirements. All CDL workers will be selected for alcohol and drug testing on an 
irregular basis, at least twice per year. Selection for a random test may count toward these 
tests, however more than two tests per year may be given.  The Central DTC  must 
report to the Office of Driver Services within 3 business days the results of an alcohol 
screening test performed on CDL licensed workers if the results of the screening test are 
positive or the CDL employee refuses to provide a specimen for the testing. 
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4. Post Incident Testing. 
 

a. Parole/Probation Area Managers and Center Supervisors must keep a supply of non- 
expired test cups; and ensure these are used for testing employees post-incident. 
When an employee is tested, negative results must be documented and the report sent 
to the Central DTC. If positive, the chain of custody process must be used and the 
sample must be sent to a lab, and where appropriate an MRO, as described elsewhere 
in this policy. Results must be provided to the Central DTC. An Area Manager, 
Center Supervisor or above can approve use of a medical facility in place of an ACC- 
administered screening test when appropriate. 

 
b. It is the worker’s responsibility to contact his/her supervisor, the DTC, or the HRA 

to get testing instructions and present himself or herself to be tested within 2 hours 
after one of the following incidents (in addition to this, CDL licensed employees must 
follow guidance in the “CDL Drivers” paragraph): 

 
(1) Work related accident with injury involving a personal or state vehicle; 
(2) Moving traffic violation in conjunction with an accident involving a state vehicle 

or while on state business in a personal vehicle; 
(3) Work related incident involving a worker that results in injury or death; 

 
(4) The intentional or accidental discharge of a firearm while on duty, other than 

range practice or training, whether or not injury or death occurs; 
(5) Work related incident or accident (other than vehicle) resulting in damage or 

property loss. In these situations, the supervisor may consult with the deputy 
director to determine whether testing is required; and 

(6) When a worker’s actions or performance could have contributed to a serious 
accident or serious incident. In these situations, the supervisor may consult with 
the deputy director to determine whether testing is required. 

 
Note, Refer to the Reporting and Investigating Incidents, Hazards and Maltreatment 
policy for additional requirements. 

 
c. CDL Drivers. Following an incident involving a commercial motor vehicle, testing 

for alcohol, marijuana and controlled substances must be made for each surviving 
ACC CDL driver, if injuries or loss of human life were involved or the driver received 
a citation for a moving traffic violation in conjunction with an accident. 

 
A CDL driver is subject to post accident testing and must actively seek such testing or 
the driver may be deemed to have refused to submit to testing for alcohol and drugs. 
It is the worker’s and supervisor’s joint responsibility to ensure the worker is tested 
within the prescribed period.  When testing is not conducted by law enforcement 
after an accident, the worker must immediately contact his or her supervisor, the 
DTC, or the HRA for testing instructions. Supervisors must provide CDL drivers 
with necessary post-accident information, procedures, and instructions prior to the 
driver operating a commercial motor vehicle, to assist the worker in complying with 
these requirements. 
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(1) Alcohol Testing.  Post-accident alcohol testing of CDL drivers must be 
conducted within two (2) hours of the accident or the immediate supervisor must 
provide written justification to the Central DTC for not having the test promptly 
administered. If the alcohol test is not administered within eight (8) hours 
following the accident, cease attempts to administer an alcohol test and prepare a 
written justification stating the reasons the test was not promptly administered. 
This justification will be submitted in an envelope marked confidential to the 
Central DTC who will report this information to the appropriate Deputy Director 
and maintain the documentation. Documentation must be forwarded to the 
Arkansas Office of Driver Services and Federal Highway Administration 
(FHWA) as required or requested. 

 
(2) Controlled Substance Testing. This policy requires post-accident controlled 

substance testing to be conducted within 2 hours following an accident; however, 
if testing is not done in this time, testing must still be done and must be 
completed within 32 hours to meet federal requirements. If not, the supervisor 
must provide written justification to the Central DTC for not having the test 
administered. Such justification must be submitted in an envelope marked 
confidential to the Central DTC who will report this information to the 
appropriate Deputy Director who will maintain the documentation. Such 
documentation will be forwarded to the FHWA upon request and in accordance 
with the law. 

 
(3) Other Acceptable Post Accident Test. Other test results are acceptable when 

they meet all of the following criteria: 
• conducted by Federal, State or local officials having independent authority for 

the test and 
• conducted in conformance with applicable Federal, State or local 

requirements and 
• test results are provided to the DTC/Central DTC, and 
• the test method is a breath, blood, or saliva test to determine the use of 

alcohol or a saliva or urine test for determining the use of controlled 
substances. 

 
5. Reasonable Suspicion. Reasonable suspicion exists when there is a degree of certainty 

based on facts and reasonable inferences drawn from that cause one to believe that a 
person has violated the law or policy or is under the influence of alcohol or drugs. 
Reasonable suspicion testing must be conducted as soon as the facts and circumstances 
leading to suspicion of prohibited drug or alcohol use are gathered. The supervisor will 
coordinate with the Central DTC or HRA for testing instructions and completion of a 
Reasonable Suspicion Affidavit. This testing activity must be reported to the appropriate 
deputy director. Regardless of the test result, the reason for such testing must be 
submitted to the Central DTC as soon as possible but no later than 72 hours following 
testing. Reasonable suspicion testing does not require certainty but “hunches” are not 
sufficient to meet this standard. Some circumstances that may support reasonable 
suspicion include the following: 
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a. observation of possession or use of a prohibited drug or paraphernalia or 
manifestations of being under the influence of a prohibited drug or alcohol, or other 
such observations; 

b. abnormal conduct or erratic behavior while at work; 
c. excessive absenteeism or frequent absences on Mondays, Fridays, payday or the day 

after; 
d. frequent worker’s compensation claims; 
e. frequent tardiness; 
f. deterioration in work performance; 
g. a report of prohibited drug use provided by a reliable and credible source; 
h. evidence or suspicion of or tampering with the drug test; 
i. evidence that a worker is involved in the possession, sale, solicitation, manufacturing 

or transfer of prohibited drugs; 
j. evidence that a worker is being treated for substance abuse. 

 
A person is reasonably perceived to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs if they 
display symptoms of the current use of alcohol or drugs, including the following: 

 
a. symptoms of the worker’s speech, walking, standing, physical dexterity, agility, 

coordination, actions, movement, demeanor, appearance, clothing, odor, or other 
irrational or unusual behavior that are inconsistent with the usual conduct of the 
worker; 

b. negligence or carelessness in operating equipment, machinery, or production or 
manufacturing processes; 

c. disregard for safety; or 
d. other symptoms causing a reasonable suspicion that the current use of alcohol or 

drugs may negatively impact the performance of the job duties or tasks or constitute a 
threat to health or safety. 

 
6. Follow-Up Testing. Follow-up testing, for a period not to exceed 2 years as determined 

by the immediate supervisor, may be conducted as a condition of employment or 
continued employment where a worker is drug-free but has a documented drug history. 
This category of testing is in addition to random testing and will be conducted on an 
irregular basis by the supervisor or DTC. 

 
7. Random Testing. Random drug tests will only be conducted of workers in safety- 

sensitive positions. Any Center Supervisor or Area Manager may conduct unannounced 
drug testing of a sample of, or the entire population of (excluding non-safety sensitive 
positions) any section of employees supervised. Sampling will be conducted by 
acceptable statistical means such that every member of the employee group has an equal 
chance of being tested. A random testing sample should be drawn at unpredictable 
intervals at each Center and Area. The Drug Testing Coordinator, in consultation with 
the Center Supervisor and/or Area Manager, will determine the number of staff to be 
tested, but not less than 5% quarterly. 
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8. After Hours Testing. When reasonable suspicion testing after normal work hours is 
necessary, the worker’s supervisor will provide a testing packet and authorization form 
and will ensure the worker is tested. Contact the DTC for instructions. 

 
9. Nothing in this policy should be construed to require the delay of necessary medical 

attention or to prohibit leaving the scene of an accident for the period necessary for an 
employee to obtain required emergency medical care or assistance following an accident. 

 
B. Testing for Prohibited Substances. 

 
1. ACC requires substance abuse testing of urine, saliva, and/or breath for prohibited 

substances, including but not limited to, cocaine, marijuana metabolites, K2, opiates, 
phencyclidines (PCP), amphetamines, and alcohol. A contractor, local sheriff, or other 
trained police agency with evidentiary breathalyzer trained personnel, may be asked to 
conduct a breathalyzer test to confirm a positive alcohol test. Initial substance abuse 
screening tests are typically conducted by the Central DTC or their designee. Positive 
specimens or challenged results must be submitted for confirmatory testing to a 
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) approved lab. 
Urine specimen collection will be by indirect observation unless there is reason to believe 
the specimen may be altered or substituted, in which case direct observation must be 
used. Workers must show photo identification when requested by the DTC. Chain of 
custody procedures must be followed to avoid errors in test results. A Medical Review 
Officer (MRO) will review positive lab results, scrutinizing for possible alternate 
explanations and conducting necessary medical interviews with the employee and his/her 
physician concerning the legitimacy of the presence of drugs in the employee’s system. 
An MRO is a licensed physician who is responsible for evaluating, interpreting and 
providing results of drug and alcohol tests. 

 
2. When there is a work related incident involving a worker that results in serious injury or 

death, follow guidance in the “Post Incident Testing” guidance above. In other 
situations, the DTC must perform the following when conducting a post-accident or 
incident drug screening test: 

 
a. Notify the immediate supervisor, Deputy Director, and HRA as soon as practical. Do 

not delay the screening test to make these notifications. 
b. Use the testing materials provided by ACC. 
c. Conduct only one test. 
d. Seal the specimen in the presence of the tested person. 
e. Require the tested person to initial and date the seal. 
f. Ensure the “Drug Testing Chain-of-Custody,” Form 760 is complete and secured 

with the specimen. 
g. For positive test results, contact the HRA or Central DTC for confirmation 

instructions. Provide copies of all documentation to the HRA, regardless of the 
results. 

 
3. All new, rehired, and reassigned ACC employees who will be issued a firearm must be 

tested for both drugs and alcohol prior to being issued a firearm. 
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4. All workers will be grouped for test scheduling. Workers will be randomly chosen for 
periodic testing using an acceptable statistical selection system. No worker will be given 
advance notice of an impending test. If a worker is on duty, there are very few reasons, if 
any, why they should not be tested. On the testing day, the DTC will notify the 
supervisors of workers to be tested. Workers will report to the collection site for testing 
as soon as possible but not later than two hours from receiving notice of the requirement 
to test. Testing schedules for CDL and workers identified for follow-up will be managed 
by the DTC on a random but individual basis in a similar manner as described above. 

 
Testing of workers for other reasons will not excuse them from random testing when 
selected. 

 
C. Failure or Inability to Produce Specimen. A worker must remain at the test site until a 

sample is produced or the end of the workday, whichever comes first. If the worker is unable 
to produce a sample on the day requested, the worker must contact his/her supervisor for 
further instructions. The Central DTC will also contact the appropriate Deputy Director. 

 
D. Adulteration/Attempted Adulteration of Sample. If it is determined that a worker 

adulterated or attempted to adulterate a specimen collected for substance abuse testing the 
worker is subject to the same discipline as a worker who has a confirmed positive test. 

 
E. Validating Test Results. Following specimen testing, positive results will be forwarded to 

the MRO. The MRO may also be provided results of a screening saliva test along with 
confirmatory evidentiary breath results for review. The MRO will confidentially contact the 
worker. If the worker cannot be reached at the number provided, the MRO will call the 
Central DTC for assistance. The MRO may question the worker concerning use of 
prescription drugs and medical treatments which may have impacted the positive test result. 
Prescriptions and/or treatments reported by the tested worker may be verified by the MRO 
with the pharmacy or doctor as appropriate. Workers are responsible to provide the MRO 
medical information which may explain a positive test result. Workers are also responsible to 
cooperate fully with the verification process. Failure to cooperate will result in a “reported 
positive” test result. If the worker cannot be contacted within three (3) work days the MRO 
will report a positive test result.  Where there is a legitimate medical explanation for a 
positive test, the result will be reported by the MRO as a negative test result. The MRO will 
maintain confidentiality throughout all phases of his or her involvement and will discuss a 
worker’s medical information only with the worker and other medical officials as necessary to 
verify information provided. The MRO will provide the Central DTC with a positive or 
negative test result and information on adulterants or possible attempted dilution. For CDL 
employees, the MRO must report within 3 business days to the Office of Driver Services 
valid positive drug test results for any of the following drugs: marijuana metabolites; K2; 
cocaine metabolites; amphetamines; meth (methamphetamines), opiate metabolites; or 
phencyclidine (PCP); or the submission of an adulterated, diluted, or substituted specimen on 
a performed test. The Central Drug Test Coordinator must report any refusal to provide a 
specimen to the Office of Driver Services. 
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F. Consequences of Positive Test or Refusal to Test. A refusal to test for a prohibited 
substance will be treated as a positive test result. A confirmed positive test result or refusal to 
test by an applicant or employee will result in withdrawal of the conditional offer of 
employment or termination of employment. Services of volunteers, interns, and extra help 
will have their work with ACC terminated and entry on ACC premises denied for a 
confirmed positive test result. A confirmed positive test result or refusal to test by a contract 
worker will result in denied access to ACC premises. 

 
G. Confidentiality. Every worker is responsible to respect the privacy of coworkers and to 

maintain strict confidentiality regarding drug or alcohol test results. This means only those 
persons managing the drug testing program and those in the worker’s chain of supervision 
with a need to know may be informed or granted access to an individual’s test results. The 
Central DTC will report quarterly unidentifiable aggregate test results for use by management. 
Results of individual substance abuse tests may be released to the following: 

 
1. The worker; 
2. The worker’s supervisory chain; 
3. Pursuant to a court order; 
4. Medical personnel (for the purpose of meeting medical emergencies of the 

worker or medical review); 
5. ACC Human Resource medical employee file; 
6. Law enforcement agencies, Office of Driver Services and FHWA, to an employer and/or 

the IAA for CDL drivers; 
7. Human Resources Administrator and DTC; 
8. MRO (Medical Review Officer) 
9. SAMHSA certified lab (for positive screens) 
10. Other parties upon the written consent of the worker. 

 
VII. SUBSTANCE ABUSE ASSISTANCE. 

 
A. Employee Requests for Assistance. An employee may come forward at least twenty-four 

(24) hours prior to gaining knowledge of or being notified of a scheduled test and admit an 
alcohol or drug problem to his or her supervisor and request referral to the Employee 
Assistance Program (EAP). Alternatively, the employee may choose to enroll, at his or her 
own expense, in a licensed drug treatment program. The employee admitting use must be 
tested immediately. The supervisor will note the time and date of the employee request and 
report this information to the Central DTC. Based upon the testing result, one of the 
following will occur: 

 
1. If the test is positive, the supervisor will require the employee to go on leave without pay 

status or use any accrued annual, holiday, or compensatory leave. The supervisor will 
contact the Central DTC to place the employee in follow-up testing as part of the 
treatment program with the results provided confidentially to his or her supervisor. The 
employee’s job position will be held available for the employee for no more than 30 
calendar days. The employee may return to work within the 30 days following negative 
test results reported to the supervisor. On return to work, the employee will be subject to 
all conditions for testing, post-accident, reasonable suspicion, follow-up and random 
testing. Any subsequent confirmed positive test will result in immediate termination of 
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employment. The employee must successfully complete the treatment program and have 
the results reported to his or her supervisor within 10 business days of completing the 
program. 

 
2. If the test is negative, the employee may be allowed to continue at work, enter into drug 

treatment through EAP and/or a licensed treatment program, and be subject to drug 
testing at his or her own expense through the treatment program. Drug test results will 
be provided confidentially to the employee’s supervisor. The supervisor will 
confidentially report the results to the Central DTC. The employee will continue to be 
subject to all conditions for testing. Any subsequent confirmed positive test will result in 
immediate termination of employment. 

 
B. Unreported Employee Treatment.  If a supervisor learns of any employee’s enrollment in  

a substance abuse treatment program that has not been reported to him/her by the employee, 
such knowledge may be used as a basis for reasonable suspicion testing. If confirmed 
positive, employment must be terminated. If negative, the procedures in sub-paragraph 
VII.A.2 above are applicable. 

 
C. Treatment Program Completion. Evidence of successful completion of a substance abuse 

treatment program does not guarantee employment. 
 

D. Notice of Drug-Free Workplace. Advertisements for vacant positions will identify ACC as 
a Drug-Free Workplace. Job Vacancy Announcements will state that applicants offered 
conditional employment will be drug tested. Workers will be provided access to this 
administrative directive and will sign a statement indicating his or her reading and 
understanding of the contents, which will be maintained in the employee’s personnel file. 

 
E. Hiring Applicants with a Documented Drug/Alcohol Abuse History. ACC will not 

discriminate against applicants for employment because of a past history of substance abuse. 
Individuals who have failed a pre-employment drug test may reapply after a period of one 
year but must present themselves drug and alcohol-free. Such applicants, if employed, are 
subject to follow-up testing for two years as described above. Applicants for positions that 
require CDL’s who have a history of a positive drug and/or alcohol tests must have 
completed a treatment program or and educational program prescribed by a substance abuse 
counselor and who has been eligible to assume the duties of the position by the employer as 
provided under federal statute. 

 
VIII. REPORTING. When there is reasonable suspicion of illegal activity contact the supervisor and 

Chief or appropriate Deputy Director and the Director. Also, follow applicable ACC guidance 
for reporting and investigating accidents and incidents. 

 
Pursuant to the “Code of Ethics and Rules of Conduct” policy, workers (employees and agents) 
taking prescription drugs must notify their immediate supervisor of any physical or 
pharmacological condition that causes physical or cognitive impairment that could affect their 
ability to perform the essential functions of their duties safely; see the rule for details. 
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The Drug Testing Coordinator will immediately notify the Center Supervisor/Area Manager and 
the Central Drug Testing Coordinator of any positive employee drug test. The Area 
Manager/Center Supervisor will notify the Deputy or Assistant Director in the employee’s chain 
of command and the Human Resources Administrator. 

 
Pursuant to the “Weapons and Security Equipment” administrative directive, employees who are 
authorized to carry a firearm and/or less than-lethal weapons must notify their immediate 
supervisor of any physical, psychological or pharmacological conditions causing physical or 
emotional impairment that could affect their ability to perform the essential functions of their 
duties or carry/use a firearm or less-than-lethal weapon safely; see the policy for details. 

 
IX. APPEAL/GRIEVANCE. Positive test results are not a matter for appeal or grievance unless 

discrimination or improper application of this directive is claimed as the reason for a positive test 
result. 

 
X. ATTACHMENTS. 

 
Form 760 “Drug Testing Chain of Custody Form” 
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DRUG TESTING CHAIN OF CUSTODY FORM 

Donor Name – Print (Last, First, MI):      

Donor Social Security Number:      

Reason for Test: Pre-Employment  Random 
 

 Reasonable Suspicion/Cause  Post Incident/Accident 

Tests to be Performed: Drug Test  Alcohol 

Collection Site Address:          
Area/Center  City 

Should the results of the test for the specimen identified by this form be confirmed positive, the 
Medical Review Officer will contact you to ask questions regarding prescriptions and over-the- 
counter medications you may have taken. 
I certify that I provided my specimen to the collector, I have not adulterated it in any manner, 
and the information on this form and on the label affixed is correct. 

Signature of Donor   Date   

Daytime Phone Number with Area Code Evening Phone Number with Area Code 

I certify that the specimen was given to me by the donor above. 

Signature of DTC   Date  Print DTC’s Name 
Negative Positive        

   Date   
I do do not accept the results. If I chose to contest the above results, I acknowledge that I am 
responsible for a $65 deposit for each confirmation. If the confirmation by a Medical Review Officer returns positive, 
the $65 deposit will be forfeited and I may face appropriate disciplinary action up to and including termination of 
employment. 
_   _      
Donor/Employee Signature Witness Date 
 

I certify that the specimen was given to me by the collector above. 

Signature of Sample Receiver  Date  Print Sample Receiver’s Name 
     

I certify that the specimen was given to me by the person above. 

Signature of Sample Receiver  Date  Print Sample Receiver’s Name 
     

I certify that the specimen was given to me by the person above. 

Signature of Sample Receiver  Date  Print Sample Receiver’s Name 
    (Rev 6/25/2019) ACC Form 760 
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