RULE 28 <u>EDUCATIONAL</u> <u>ACADEMIC</u> LICENSE TO PRACTICE MEDICINE IN THE STATE OF ARKANSAS

Pursuant to Act 497 of the 85th General Assembly of the Regular Session of 2005 and amended by Act 701 of 2019, the Arkansas State Medical Board is empowered to issue an <u>educational</u> <u>academic</u> license to applicants who meet the following requirements:

- 1. Be 21 years of age.
- 2. Be of good moral character.
- 3. Submit a completed application to the Board.

RECEIVED

BUREAU OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH

- 4. Submit a \$400.00 application fee and a \$100.00 licensure-processing fee.
- 5. Be serving as a faculty member in the State of Arkansas or be affiliated with and under the supervision of a faculty member licensed by the Board at an academic medical program accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or the American Osteopathic Association operated in the State of Arkansas and established by and under the control of a medical school located in the State of Arkansas and accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education or approved by the Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board to seek accreditation by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education.
- 6. The educational academic license to practice medicine in the State of Arkansas shall authorize the practice of medicine only within the clinical and educational academic programs in the State of Arkansas that are established and administered by a medical school located in the State of Arkansas and accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education or approved by the Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board to seek accreditation by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education.
- 7. Appear personally before the Arkansas State Medical Board together with the sponsoring supervising faculty member physician.
- 8. Present to the Board such information as to what department he or she will be practicing medicine and who will be his/her supervisor.
- 9. Said <u>educational academic license</u> will authorize the licensee to practice medicine only within the clinical and <u>educational academic</u> programs established and administered by the accredited medical school.
- 10. The Arkansas State Medical Board shall issue each <u>Said educational academic</u> license will be valid for a period of one (1) year from the date of issuance.

<u>11.</u> At the end of one (1) year, the <u>The educational academic</u> license issued to a licensee will <u>shall lapse and if the physician desires to continue the practice of medicine under the academic license shall:</u>

- 1. Submit a completed application to the Arkansas State Medical Board providing such information as the Board requests.
- 2. Pay a renewal fee of \$220.00.
- 3. If requested, appear in person before the Board, together with the supervising faculty physician of the clinical or educational academic program wherein the applicant will be practicing medicine in the State of Arkansas.

12. At the end of the second year of practice with an academic license, the physician is eligible for an active, unrestricted license to practice medicine in the state.

13. A physician who obtains an academic license to practice medicine in the State of Arkansas shall comply with the Arkansas Medical Practices Act, § 17-95-201 et seq., § 17-95-301 et seq., and § 17-95-401 et seq., and all rules of the Arkansas State Medical Board.

History: Adopted August 4, 2005; Amended June 5, 2014; Amended August 3, 2017, Effective October 4, 2017.