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ADMINISTRATIVE RULES SUBCOMMITTEE 

OF THE  

ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 

 

Wednesday, February 19, 2020 

9:00 a.m. 

Room A, MAC 

Little Rock, Arkansas 

 

_____________________ 

 

 

A. Call to Order. 

 

B. Reports of the Executive Subcommittee. 

 

C. Reports on Administrative Directives Pursuant to Act 1258 of 2015, for the quarter 

ending December 31, 2019. 

 

 1. Department of Corrections 

 

 2. Parole Board 

 

D. Rules Filed Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 10-3-309. 

  

1. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, ARKANSAS ECONOMIC 

DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION (AEDC) 

 

 a. SUBJECT:  Arkansas Rural Connect Broadband Grant Program 

 

DESCRIPTION:  The proposed rule sets out the rules and requirements 

for eligible areas and internet service providers (ISPs) to participate in the 

Arkansas Rural Connect Broadband Grant Program (hereafter, the “ARC 

Program”). 

 

The ARC Program is a State grant-based program intending to implement 

the State Broadband Plan.  The ARC Program is to be implemented and 

developed by the State Broadband Manager. 

 

As explained in the proposed rule, the rule is issued by the Director of the 

Arkansas Economic Development Commission (AEDC).  Pursuant to Ark. 

Code Ann. § 15-4-209(a)(1), AEDC is authorized to administer grants to 

assist with the economic development in the State.  On August 9, 2019, 

Governor Asa Hutchinson authorized a transfer of funding for the 

implementation and administration of the ARC Program to AEDC.  Due to 

this transfer, AEDC is authorized to administer the ARC grant and thereby 
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authorized to establish administrative rules under Ark. Code Ann. § 15-4-

209(b)(5) “as a service offered by AEDC.” 

 

This proposed rule modifies an earlier proposed rule which limited 

participation in the program to incorporated municipalities.  The newly 

proposed rule no longer has this restriction and establishes eligibility 

criteria that an area: (1) have less than 80% served with broadband 

coverage, (2) have at least 500 people in the project footprint, and (3) have 

at least 200 people unserved with broadband coverage.  The newly 

proposed rule also provides that county judges may now apply on behalf 

of unincorporated communities or entire counties, and there is a $3,000 

cap per household and an overall project cap of $2 million or 20% of the 

ARC funding round budget extends eligibility.  In addition, as summarized 

in the earlier-filed rule, this proposed rule: 

 

 Sets out grant application process, timelines, and requirements for 

eligible areas and ISP partners in the ARC Program; 

 Provides extensive deployment and quarterly progress reporting for 

eligible areas and ISPs for review and monitoring by the Arkansas 

State Broadband Office (ASBO); 

 Provides a fair and transparent process and standards for review and 

approval of applications of Requests for Applications (RFAs) for 

participation in the ARC Program; 

 Sets out detailed eligibility criteria and procedures for the application 

submittal process, application review and approval process, and ASBO 

project monitoring of the program, including penalties to incentivize 

substantial completion and participation in the program; 

 Requires disclosure reports to the ASBO for applying and participating 

areas pertaining to project connectivity goals, engineering planning, 

costs, conflicts of interest, financial statements, and other items for 

adequate ASBO regulation, monitoring, and implementation of this 

program. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on January 9, 2020.  

The public comment period expired on January 9, 2020.  The Office of 

Broadband Manager (OBM) provided the following summary of 

comments that it received and its responses thereto: 

 

A total of four comments were received during the thirty-day comment 

period.  Two were received by e-mail during the public comment period, 

one was submitted at the public hearing, and one was provided in a face-

to-face meeting with the Broadband Manager and later submitted by e-

mail at the Broadband Manager’s request.  The four public comments 

received during the second thirty-day public comment period are 

summarized below, with OBM’s responses: 
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Commenter:  Elizabeth Bowles 

1.  Companies that have been financially vetted by federal agencies and 

awarded funds can bypass baseline requirements.  RESPONSE:  While 

this might save time at the application stage, it would be complex to 

implement.  It may be worth revisiting it in the future, but we worry that it 

might prove too difficult to establish and fix in rule the range of federal 

programs whose financial vetting processes should be accepted as 

sufficient warrants for the state to deem a company grant eligible.  That 

said, ARC grant applicants are encouraged to submit documentation 

related to their financial vetting by and receipt of funds from federal 

agencies, to facilitate our own decisions regarding financial eligibility. 

 

2.  The language pertaining to early project closure “is vague in that it 

implies that should the service become obsolete or unnecessary, the 

municipality could…elect at its discretion to penalize the ISP.”  

RESPONSE:  We do not agree that the language of the rules ever implied 

that ISPs could be penalized because a municipality, at its own discretion, 

might deem an ARC grant-funded broadband service obsolete or 

unnecessary. 

 

3.  ARC rules should be technology neutral, as they are now, and not 

feature a preference for fiber to the home or gigabit speeds, as some 

advocate.  RESPONSE:  As recommended, the ARC rules remain 

technology neutral and make no explicit preference for fiber technology or 

gigabit speeds, though local public officials may have such preferences 

and act on them through project rankings, as explained below. 

 

Commenter:  CenturyLink 

1.  Some terms, such as “Census-Designated Place,” “project closure,” 

“ISP,” and “town” would benefit from clearer definition, greater 

consistency of usage, and/or appropriate internal references linking 

disparate passages in which these are mentioned. 

2.  The rules were praised for including a well-defined maximum grant per 

household connected, providing alternatives to submitting financial 

statements, and giving the ASBO discretion to make adjustments to 

complement federal programs. 

3.  The requirement that applicants demonstrate the financial sustainability 

of projects after deployment be removed, since it impinges on internal 

business judgments and forces disclosure of confidential information. 

4.  Instead of targeting November 2022 as the completion date for 

deployments, the deployment deadline should be a specified time interval, 

e.g., 24 months, after awards are announced. 

 

RESPONSE:  In response, the OBM made several minor language 

adjustments to address (1), but did not accept recommendations (3) and 

(4). 
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More substantively, concerning (3), the provision requiring scrutiny of 

projects’ financial sustainability reflects the OBM’s desire to drive lasting 

expansion of broadband coverage, rather than temporary expansions that 

wont’s outlast a transient subsidy.  However, CenturyLink’s concerns are 

noted, and the OBM will remain on the alert for evidence that ARC 

requirements demonstrating financial sustainability are excessively 

burdensome. 

 

Concerning (4), we expect that the release of an RFA and the opening of 

an application window will proceed expeditiously and not leave applicants 

unduly in doubt about the length of time that will be available for 

deployment after grant awards are announced.  However, if further rounds 

of ARC funding are made available after a significant lapse of time, it will 

be essential to adjust the deployment deadline, and a sliding deadline that 

depends on the date when grant awards are announced may be an 

appropriate solution. 

 

Commenter:  John Duncan 

Citizen John Duncan wrote that Hot Springs Village should be allowed to 

participate in the grant, because it is larger than many towns.  

RESPONSE:  Though received during the second thirty-day public 

comment period, this comment seems to be a response to a previous 

version of the rules.  The current ARC rules would not preclude Hot 

Springs Village from participating on the basis of its lack of incorporated 

status. 

 

Commenter:  Julie Mullenix 

Julie Mullenix’s comments, on behalf of the Arkansas Rural Broadband 

Association, during the January 9, 2020, public hearing are summarized 

below.  The OBM appreciates Ms. Mullenix’s comments and responds as 

follows: 

 

1.  ARC grant program should provide higher score to networks that 

deploy fiber to homes than those with fixed wireless.  RESPONSE:  

While the ARC rules do not favor fiber explicitly and directly, they can 

favor fiber indirectly by giving local public officials the power to 

influence project selection by ranking projects in order of preference.  To 

the extent that fiber projects are feasible within the budget constraints of 

the program, local public officials are encouraged to take into account the 

superior performance that some broadband technologies can plausibly 

claim to offer, now and perhaps even more in the future if bandwidth 

demand continues to escalate, and rank projects accordingly.  Inasmuch as 

local public officials accept the case for the superiority of fiber, and rank 

fiber projects ahead of fixed wireless projects, and find ARC grants to be 

sufficient, perhaps in conjunction with private co-investment, to fund 



5 

 

them, fiber projects may be able to out-compete fixed wireless projects 

even if the latter are cheaper.  The ARC rules are designed not to prejudge 

the merits of different technologies, but rather to reveal provider costs and 

local preference through the competitive grant making process and arrive 

at the best solution. 

 

2.  ARC grant program should not exempt companies with a five-year 

track record from getting Professional Engineer (PE) stamp.  

RESPONSE:  The OBM learned through its consultations with various 

ISPs, especially in the cable TV industry, that for many well-established 

providers it is not common practice to get a PE stamp before making 

major investments in new capacity.  Moreover, the OBM itself intends to 

engage a technical review team with engineers on staff, which will 

perform a technical vetting of projects, reducing the need for a PE stamp.  

The PE stamp requirement is retained as an extra safeguard for smaller, 

less experienced companies as a compromise, but it does not seem 

necessary for well-established providers. 

 

3.  ARC Grant Program should implement a testing requirement for its 

ISPs.  This, according to Mullenix, would prevent companies from under 

sizing middle-mile and backbone transport facilities or distribution 

systems to cut expenses.  RESPONSE:  The OBM appreciates the 

recommendations with respect to testing requirements, but does not think 

a rule change is needed in order to implement something along these lines.  

We would draw attention to section 11(C) of the rules, which state, with 

respect to how the completion of project deployment shall be verified, that 

“the responsible public officials shall collect, or cause to be collected, with 

the advice of the [Arkansas State Broadband Office, i.e., OBM] as needed, 

information sufficient to affirm that the project appears to be complete and 

broadband service has been made available to at least 95% of project 

footprint residents, [after which] the ASBO shall review this information 

as well as evidence from its own desk research, and if the evidence is 

sufficient, shall announce that the project has completed the main 

deployment phase, and authorize the release of any remaining disbursable 

grant funds.”  The OBM could, at its discretion, advise local public 

officials to conduct speed and latency tests as described by the Arkansas 

Rural Broadband Association, and assist them to do so.  While there might 

arguably be benefits specifying this in detail beforehand, broadband 

mapping is an area where best practices and best available data sources 

seem likely to evolve rapidly in the near future, so it seems wiser to wait 

on providing detailed guidance. 

 

4.  ARC grant program needs protection that providers will pay back funds 

if they fail to meet deployment and service requirements during the ten-

year grant period.  RESPONSE:  A letter of credit from grant awardees 

might give the state a bit more protection from ISPs defaulting on 
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penalties owed for non-compliance than the current rules provide.  

However, considerable safeguards against abuse of taxpayer money are 

already in place in the rules, including requirements for applicant ISPs to 

submit financial statements or alternative documentation, requirements for 

applicants to demonstrate the financial sustainability of projects, a need to 

persuade local public officials that applicant ISPs are worthy partners, 

arrangements to pay out grant funds only as reimbursement for verified 

deployment-related expenses, and withholding of 20% of grant funds until 

deployment is verified to be complete.  The risk that providers will cease 

to provide a valued and needed broadband service after deployment is 

complete is relatively small in any case, since we will only approve 

projects for which the anticipated revenues from operation exceed the 

anticipated costs.  Requiring a letter of credit would disproportionately 

burden and might even exclude less highly capitalized companies which, 

however, might be desirable partners for the state because of their 

technology and cost structure.  If, in future, a letter of credit may be 

warranted, we will make the needed changes.  But at the present time, we 

deem that existing safeguards are sufficient and an additional letter of 

credit is not needed. 

 

5.  ARC grant program should allow a period for providers to contest grant 

awards and verify their services.  RESPONSE:  The OBM recognizes the 

importance of protecting providers from being overbuilt using state 

broadband grant funds.  But the rules deal with this problem in a different 

way, namely, by asking all the ISPs in the state to submit maps of their 

coverage areas before the grant application window opens, so that we can 

make served areas ineligible.  At the present time, we deem that to allow 

grant awards also to be contested ex post would impose undue risk on 

grant applicants and discourage participation, and that the provisions 

already in the rules sufficiently address the underlying problem.  The 

assumption can be revisited in future as the results of ARC funding rounds 

are observed. 

 

6.  ARC grant program should require each ISP to follow FCC 

requirements for annual broadband performance obligations and service 

rates.  RESPONSE:  FCC requirements with respect to broadband 

performance and pricing are complex, and the OBM does not have 

sufficient expertise in this area to assess their applicability to ARC grant 

awardees and then monitor their compliance with them.  Also, since FCC 

rules may change over the duration of an ARC grant project, to impose 

such requirements on ARC grant awardees would create new risks for 

them, since the FCC might raise standards in a way that grant awardees 

could not comply with, without substantial new investments.  The ARC 

program has set its own goals for service quality rather than outsourcing 

this to the FCC. 
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Suba Desikan, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, asked 

the following questions and received the following responses: 

 

QUESTION 1: Section 6 (AB) of the rules appears to contemplate a 

January 1, 2030 full project closure date.  Section 8(C)(2) appears to 

require an earlier November 2022 date of completion of project closure, 

deployment and establishment of service availability.  Could you please 

clarify?  RESPONSE:    In the version of the rules that was posted online, 

section 8(C)2 erroneously contained the word “closure” where it should 

have said “completion.” This has been corrected in the latest version. 

“Closure” is now consistently used to mean the date when the awardee 

ISP’s service obligations will cease and the state will cease to monitor the 

project. Completion of deployment occurs when the ISP verifies that 95% 

of locations have been connected. 

 

QUESTION 2:  Section 8(C)(5) outlines penalties that ISPs must pay if 

broadband service ceases to meet standards earlier than January 1, 2030. 

(a)  Some standards are contemplated in (h).  Could there be additional 

standards which individual communities establish with ISPs?  

RESPONSE:  No, not that Arkansas Rural Connect would enforce. 

(b)  Could these standards be different for each project?  (i.e., 25/3 for 

project A; 100/100 for project B)  RESPONSE:  No, not that Arkansas 

Rural Connect would enforce. 

(c)  Where and when in the process would standards be established?  

RESPONSE:  They are established in the rules themselves, e.g., in 

section 4(6). 

(d)  How would this change if the FCC changes its definition of “high-

speed internet”?  RESPONSE:  It would not change. Arkansas Rural 

Connect’s performance standards will remain fixed. 

 

QUESTION 3:  Section 8(C)(5)(h) states that penalties can be triggered 

by sustained degradation of network performance due to intensive 

utilization.  Could you please describe some scenarios which would 

constitute sustained degradation of network performance due to intensive 

utilization?  RESPONSE:  If a network built with Arkansas Rural 

Connect funds were utilized very intensively, congestion might cause 

speeds originally meeting the 25/3 standard to fall below that standard. 

(a)  Specifically, would a situation where an area had an increase in 

utilization (either households, individuals or nature of utilization) resulting 

in decreased speeds, constitute a situation where an ISP may be subject to 

penalties?  RESPONSE:   Yes, that situation could trigger penalties 

within the period when grant obligations are in force. 

 

QUESTION 4:   In Section 9(G), what specific documents must the ISP 

send to the licensed Professional Engineer, and what must that engineer 

evaluate to determine whether plans are technically adequate?  
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RESPONSE:  That is up to the Professional Engineer to decide. The ISP 

should provide whatever documents the Professional Engineer deems 

necessary in order to confirm the sufficiency of the plans to deliver the 

promised network performance. 

 

QUESTION 5:  What is the rationale for obtaining the PE stamp after 

approval of the grant, rather than before submission?  RESPONSE:  

Getting a PE stamp is costly and may involve delays. To require it before 

submission would probably reduce ISP participation in Arkansas Rural 

Connect. By allowing the PE stamp to be obtained after the grant is 

awarded, using grant funds, we will encourage ISP participation while still 

getting a second opinion on projects originated by relatively new ISPs. 

 

QUESTION 6:  Could you please explain Section 10(C)? 

(a) Specifically, what type scenarios does the agency anticipate will occur 

and what type of case by case adjustments would be made pursuant to 

10(C)?  RESPONSE:  We do not know what the scenarios will be. But 

we want to remain flexible and let participants know that we are willing to 

make rule changes according to the APA should a proper scenario surface. 

(b) Would adjustments of this nature be made mid-project or prior to 

commencement of the project?  RESPONSE:  Both scenarios are 

possible. 

(c)  Could you please provide legal authorization for 10(C)?  

RESPONSE:  We will not make any material changes to the rules without 

following the APA guidelines.  

(d) Do you envision that 10(C) would allow the agency to change terms or 

definitions outlined in these rules without going through the promulgation 

process?  RESPONSE:  No. Section 10(C) is not an attempt to carve out 

an exception to the normal APA rule promulgation process. Rather, we are 

signaling to ISPs that if they see creative ways to use Arkansas Rural 

Connect jointly with federal programs, we want to find ways to make that 

work, within the due processes of state law. 

 

QUESTION 7:  Could you please define the term, “deployment?”  

RESPONSE:  The physical installation of facilities that make it possible 

to provide broadband service, and related legal and marketing work 

necessary to achieve effective utilization of such facilities. See Section 

11(D). 

 

QUESTION 8:  Section 11(F) states, “after the completion of deployment 

until project closure…” 

(a) When is deployment deemed complete?  RESPONSE:  When 95% of 

locations in the project footprint have access to broadband service. See 

Sections 11(D) and 6(F).  At present, we are working on an internal policy 

that will require a grant closeout and review from either a Professional 

Engineer certified in Arkansas or an engineer from UAMS Institute of 
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Digital Health and Innovation (IDHI). This review will confirm the build 

has been completed; that the design and installation conforms to all 

applicable federal, state, and local requirements and standard engineering 

practice; and that the installed infrastructure will provide the service levels 

stated in the application. 

(b)  What ISP activities are contemplated between deployment and 

closure?  RESPONSE:  Provision of broadband service on demand to 

residents of the project footprint. 

 

QUESTION 9:  What is the process for closing a project following 

deployment?  How and by whom is the closure date determined?  

RESPONSE:  For the process by which completion of deployment is 

certified, see the answer to question 8(a). The word “closure” is used in 

the rules to refer to the termination of grant obligations and project 

monitoring. This normally occurs on January 1, 2030, as stated in Section 

6(AB). Also see section 11(J). 

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency indicated that the proposed rules do 

not have a financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  Pursuant to Act 198 of 2019, sponsored 

by Senator Breanne Davis, after reasonable notice to the public, a 

government entity may, on its own or in partnership with a private entity, 

apply for funding under a program for grants or loans to be used for the 

construction, acquisition, or leasing of facilities, land or buildings used to 

deploy broadband services in unserved areas, as defined under the terms of 

the granting or lending program, and if the funding is awarded, then 

provide directly or indirectly, voice, data, broadband, video, or wireless 

telecommunications services to the public in the unserved area.  See Act 

198 of 2019 § 3, codified as Ark. Code Ann. § 23-17-409(b)(5). 

 

The Arkansas Economic Development Commission has authority to 

administer grants, loans, cooperative agreements, tax credits, guaranties 

and other incentives, memoranda of understanding, and conveyances to 

assist with economic development in the state.  See Ark. Code Ann. § 15-

4-209(a)(1).  Additionally, AEDC has authority to promulgate rules 

necessary to implement the programs and services offered by the 

commission.  See Ark. Code Ann. § 15-4-209(b)(5). 
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2. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION, DIVISION OF ELEMENTARY AND 

SECONDARY EDUCATION 

 

 a. SUBJECT:  DESE Rules Governing the Right to Read Act 

 

DESCRIPTION:  The Rules Governing the Right to Read Act are new 

rules and are promulgated to satisfy the requirements of Ark. Code Ann. 

§ 6-17-429, which requires the Arkansas Division of Elementary and 

Secondary Education to write rules to implement the Right to Read Act. 

 

Consistent with the Right to Read Act, Sections 3.00 and 4.00 of these 

rules require professional development in scientific reading instruction and 

require that all educators obtain either a proficiency or awareness 

credential in the knowledge and practices of scientific reading instruction 

by the beginning of the 2021-2022 school year. 

 

Sections 5.00 and 6.00 of the rules explain which educators must obtain a 

proficiency credential and which educators must obtain an awareness 

credential and outlines the process for completing the credentials. 

 

Section 7.00 outlines how the Division will identify an approved list of 

materials, resources, and curriculum programs for districts that are 

supported by the science of reading and based on instruction that is 

explicit, systematic, cumulative, and diagnostic.  Section 7.00 also outlines 

the process for obtaining approval of an alternative curriculum program. 

 

Section 8.00 of the rules contains the requirements for educator 

preparation programs to comply with the Right to Read Act. 

 

Section 9.00 of the rules explains the Division’s mechanisms for 

enforcement of the Right to Read Act. 

 

The following changes were made after the public comment period: 

 

 Section 2.03 is changed from “public school” to “public school district.” 

 Section 3.03 is changed to add accidentally omitted language from Ark. 

Code Ann. § 6-16-2914(b)(1)(B), as amended by Act 83 of 2019. 

 Section 5.02.2.1 is changed to remove the formal name of the exam and 

replace with “pass a stand alone reading assessment approved by the State 

Board of Education.” 

 Section 8.03 is changed to add accidentally omitted language from Ark. 

Code Ann. § 6-17-429(e), as amended by Act 83 of 2019. 

 Section 9.03 changed for clarity. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on October 24, 2019.  

The public comment period expired on November 1, 2019.  Due to the 
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belatedness in the issuance of a Commissioner’s Memo, a second public 

hearing was held on November 21, 2019, and the public comment period 

was extended until December 3, 2019.  The Division provided the 

following summary of the comments that it received and its responses 

thereto: 

 

Commenter Name:  Lucas Harder, Arkansas School Boards 

Association 

Comment (1):  Section 2.03:  As “public school” is never used in these 

Rules, I believe that this was intended to be “public school district” 

instead. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (2):  Section 4.03:  I would recommend changing “eFinance” to 

“the Statewide Information System” to more closely match the language in 

Section 10.01 of the Rules Governing Data Reporting. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  No change made. 

 

Comment (3):  Section 7.06.1.3:  There is a “the” missing from between 

“of” and “alternative.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (4):  Section 7.06.2:  As there is not a 7.07.1, I believe that this 

was intended to reference 7.06.1. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (5):  Section 7.06.3:  As there is not a 7.07.1, I believe that this 

was intended to reference 7.06.1. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (6):  Section 9.01:  There appears to be a “that” missing from 

between “district” and “violates.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (7):  Section 9.01.1:  I would recommend changing “eFinance” 

to “the Statewide Information System” to more closely match the language 

in Section 10.01 of the Rules Governing Data Reporting. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  No change made. 

 

Commenter Name:  Brandie Williams, Trumann School District 

(12/3/19) 
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Comment (1):  I have concerns about the rules not addressing the 

possibility of an exception being needed for teachers to complete their 

RISE proficiency or awareness by the 2021 date.  In our district, we are 

diligently monitoring this process to work to ensure all of our teachers are 

working towards these goals.  But currently, we have a teacher on a 

maternity leave who has missed some of the training.  We have 3 long 

term substitute teachers filling 2 special education and 1 general education 

positions.  We are working to fill these positions, but if/when we find 

these teachers, they will most likely be starting the process late in the 

timeline.  I feel that we must be realistic in providing some extensions for 

special circumstances. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  The Right to Read Act does 

not provide for an extension or exception.  No change made. 

 

Comment (2):  I also believe that only allowing 1 year to meet the 

proficiency or awareness goal after 2021 is unrealistic for many new 

teachers.  There is no exception in the rules for this need. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  The Right to Read Act does 

not provide for an extension or exception.  No change made. 

 

Comment (3):  My other concern is the lack of criteria established for 

approval of literacy curriculum(s) that align to the Science of Reading. 

Evaluating curriculums takes months (minimally), if not years to 

complete.  This is a massive task.  Not having established criteria for the 

review process and/or explicit criteria for those who will be evaluating the 

curriculums seems to compromise the results of this process. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  There are two phases of 

applications for vendors.  Both Phase I and Phase II applications describe 

the criteria, cite the research, and release the scoring rubrics.  No change 

made. 

 

Rebecca Miller-Rice, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, 

asked the following questions: 

 

(1) Throughout the rules, I noticed that “public school district” is solely 

referenced when the statutes on which the sections appear based refer to 

“public school district” and “open enrollment public charter school.”  I see 

a definition for “public school”; is this definition intended to cover the 

term “public school district” as well, so as to include open enrollment 

public charter schools?  RESPONSE:  Yes, rather than type “public 

school district and open enrollment public charter school” each time, we 

defined “public school” to include traditional, open-enrollment, and 

district conversion schools. 

 

(2) Section 3.02.1 – This section of the rules, which appears to be 

premised on Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-429(c)(1)(A), as amended by Act 83 
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of 2019, § 3, appears to limit only those teachers licensed at the 

elementary level in K-6 “teaching math, science, social studies, or English 

language arts” as being required to obtain professional development for 

one of the prescribed pathways to obtaining a proficiency credential.  The 

statute, however, appears to require such professional development for 

“teachers licensed at the elementary level in kindergarten through grade 

six.”  Is there a reason the Division is limiting the requirement for 

professional development to only those K-6 teachers teaching the subjects 

set forth in the rule rather than requiring it for all K-6 teachers licensed at 

the elementary level as set forth in the statute?  RESPONSE:  Yes.  K-6 

licensure only applies to math, science, social studies, and English 

language arts.  Those teaching K-6 PE, art, music, etc. will hold a K-12 

license in that particular area. 

 

(3) Section 3.03 – It appears that this section is premised on Ark. Code 

Ann. § 6-15-2914(b)(1)(B), as amended by Act 83, § 2.  Should the 

literacy plan also include a “curriculum program,” as well as the 

professional development program, as referenced in the statute?  

RESPONSE:  Yes, it should.  That was an accidental omission.  Section 

3.03 is changed to read “school-level improvement plan that shall include 

without limitation a curriculum program and a professional development 

plan that is…” 

 

(4) Section 4.01 – Along the same lines as question (2) above, is there a 

reason the Division is only requiring the demonstration of proficiency of 

elementary teachers in K-6 “teaching math, science, social studies, or 

English language arts,” special education teachers, ELL teachers in K-6, 

and reading specialists, when the statute on which the rule appears based, 

Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-429(d)(1)(A), provides that “[a]ll teachers 

employed in a teaching position that requires an elementary education (K-

6) license or special education (K-12) license” shall demonstrate 

proficiency?  RESPONSE:  Yes.  K-6 licensure only applies to math, 

science, social studies, and English language arts.  Those teaching K-6 PE, 

art, music, etc. will hold a K-12 license in that particular area. 

 

(5) Section 4.03 –  Is the reference to “eFinance” correct?  RESPONSE: 

Yes. 

 

(6) Section 4.04 – This section of the rules appears to require anyone who 

renews a license after December 31, 2021, to have an awareness 

credential; however, shouldn’t elementary educators (K-6), special 

education educators (K-12), and reading specialists (K-12) have a 

proficiency credential to renew?  RESPONSE:  To renew his or her 

license, the educator must at least have an awareness credential.  In order 

to teach in an elementary position or special education position, the 

educator must have a proficiency credential. 
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(7) Section 7.06.2 – Should the reference for the alternative curriculum 

program be to “7.06.1” rather than “7.07.1”?  RESPONSE:  Yes, the 

change has been made. 

 

(8) Section 7.06.3 – Along the same lines as question (7), should the 

reference to requests for approval be to “7.06.1” rather than “7.07.1”?  

RESPONSE:  Yes, the change has been made. 

 

(9) Section 8.01.1 – This section of the rules appears to be premised on 

Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-429(b)(1)(A)(i).  Is there a reason the Division has 

added the language “leading to Elementary (K-6) or Special Education (K-

12) licensure” to that in the statute?  RESPONSE:  Although Ark. Code 

Ann. 6-17-429(b)(1)(A)(i) says “a person who completes a state-approved 

educator preparation program,” Ark. Code Ann. 6-17-429(b)(1)(B) stated 

that a person who completes a state-approved educator preparation 

program “other than a teacher of elementary education program shall 

demonstrate an awareness of the best practices.”  Therefore, we interpret it 

to mean that only those seeking licensure in elementary licensure (K-6) 

must be proficient.  K-6 licensure only applies to math, science, social 

studies, and English language arts.  Those teaching K-6 PE, art, music, etc. 

will hold a K-12 license in that particular area.  Given that the law also 

requires K-12 special education educators to be proficient, we have 

included that too. 

 

(10) Section 8.01.2 – This section of the rules appears to be premised on 

Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-429(b)(1)(A)(ii).  Is there a reason the Division 

has added the language “Elementary (K-6) or Special Education (K-12)” 

to that in the statute?  RESPONSE:  See reasoning above in #9. 

 

(11) Section 8.02 – Should the reference be to a state-approved “educator” 

preparation program, as used in Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-429(b)(1)(B), 

rather than “education” preparation program?  RESPONSE:  Yes, the 

change has been made. 

 

(12) Section 8.02 – Is there a reason the language of the rule differs from 

that in Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-429(b)(1)(B) of “other than a teacher of 

elementary education program”?  RESPONSE: See reasoning above in 

#9. 

 

(13) Section 8.03 – If this section is premised on Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-

429(e), as amended by Act 83, § 4, should “[a] provider of a” also include 

“graduate program, or alternative preparation program,” as used in the 

statute?  RESPONSE:  Yes, the change has been made. 
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(14) Section 9.01.1 – Is the reference to “eFinance” correct?  

RESPONSE: Yes. 

 

(15) Section 9.03 – If the section is based on Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-

429(i)(2), as amended by Act 83, § 4, should noncompliance with Ark. 

Code Ann. § 6-17-429 also subject a provider to penalties?  RESPONSE: 

The language has been changed from “that does not comply with the 

requirements of these Rules” to “does not comply with the requirements of 

the Right to Read Act, codified in Ark. Code Ann. 6-17-429, or these 

Rules, or both,…” to clarify. 

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency states that the proposed rules have 

no financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  Pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated 

§ 6-17-429(j)(2), the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education 

shall promulgate rules to implement the statute, which concerns the Right 

to Read Act.  The proposed rule implements Act 83 of 2019, sponsored by 

Senator Jane English, which required school-level improvement, 

professional development, curriculum, and graduate studies plans to be in 

accordance with the science of reading, and Act 1063 of 2017, sponsored 

by Senator Joyce Elliott, which created the Right to Read Act. 

 

b. SUBJECT:  DESE Rules Governing Eye and Vision Screening, 

Sections 1.0, 2.0, and 11.0 

 

DESCRIPTION:  The Division of Elementary and Secondary Education 

proposes changes to Sections 1.0, 2.0, and 11.0 of the Rules Governing 

Eye and Vision Screening Report in Arkansas Public Schools.  The 

proposed rules incorporate Act 757 of 2019, § 38, which changes the 

frequency of reporting by the Commission on Eye and Vision Care of 

School-Age Children and the Division of Elementary and Secondary 

Education from “two (2) times per year” to “annually.”  See Section 11.0.  

Reporting is to the Governor, Legislative Council, and House/Senate 

Interim Committees on Public Health, Welfare, and Labor.  The following 

de-identified data are to be included in the report: number of students 

screened, number re-screened, number who did not receive an eye and 

vision screening, number referred for a comprehensive eye examination, 

and results of the comprehensive eye exam as either normal or treatment 

required. 

 

Sections 1.0 and 2.0 change “Arkansas Department of Education” to 

“Division of Elementary and Secondary Education” (which change will be 

made throughout the rules at a later date), and contain editorial changes. 
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Post-public comment changes were made to correct the applicable 

regulatory authority, changing it from § 6-15-1501 et seq. to § 6-18-1501 

et seq., and to change section “6.0” of the Rules to “11.0.”  Also, until the 

rules are updated throughout, “Department of Education” will not be 

changed to “Division of Elementary and Secondary Education,” as that 

change cannot be made when only three sections of the rules are being 

amended. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on November 18, 

2019.  The public comment period expired on December 3, 2019.  No 

comments were received from the public. 

 

Rebecca Miller-Rice, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, 

asked the following questions: 

 

(1) Section 2.00 – Should the reference to the authority for the rules be to 

Ark. Code Ann. § “6-18-1501 et seq.” rather than “6-15-1501,” which 

concerns “Comprehensive Plan for Consistency and Rigor in Course 

Work”?  RESPONSE:  Yes, you are correct that Section 2.00 should read 

6-18-1501 et seq. instead of 6-15-1501.  Comment considered.  Non-

substantive change made. 

 

(2) It looks like from the summary provided in your rule packet that 

changes will be made throughout the rule changing “Department of” to 

“Division of Elementary and Secondary.”  Is that correct?  If so, can you 

please send me a complete mark-up of the rules showing all changes?  

RESPONSE:  Current plans are to propose more in-depth revisions to 

these rules at a later date.  The current limited amendment is to ensure 

compliance with Act 517 of 2019; the limited amendment of Section 11 

was necessitated by the passage of Act 757 of 2019, § 38, which changed 

the frequency of reporting from twice per year to annually. 

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency states that the amended rules have 

no financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  Pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated 

§ 6-18-1504, the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education, in 

conjunction with the Arkansas Commission on Eye and Vision Care of 

School-Age Children, shall adopt rules that establish standards for training 

school nurses to perform eye and vision screenings.  The proposed 

changes to the rules include revisions made in light of Act 757 of 2019, 

sponsored by Representative Bruce Cozart, which amended and updated 

various provisions of the Arkansas Code concerning public education. 
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 c. SUBJECT:  DESE Rules Governing Public Charter Schools  

 

DESCRIPTION:  The Division of Elementary and Secondary Education 

proposes amendments to its Rules Governing Public Charter Schools.  The 

amendments include: 

 Title changed to reflect the change in name of the Division of 

Elementary and Secondary Education from the Arkansas Department of 

Education.  Throughout, changes are made to reflect the change in name 

of the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education from the 

Arkansas Department of Education.  Stylistic changes are also made 

throughout. 

 Sections 3.05 and 3.22 are changed to incorporate provisions of Act 933 

of 2017. 

 Sections 3.09 and 3.12 are added for clarity. 

 Sections 4.03.1, 4.03.3, and 6.24 are changed to incorporate provisions 

of Act 761 of 2019, and Sections 6.25, 9.01.9, and 9.01.10 are added for 

the same purpose. 

 Sections 4.06.2.2, 6.04.2.2, 6.04.2.3, 6.05.1.2.2, and 6.14.2.1 are 

changed to incorporate provisions of Act 930 of 2017 and Act 757 of 

2019. 

 Sections 5.06.3.1 through 5.06.3.3, as well as Sections 6.23.3.1 through 

6.23.3.3, were added to clarify the hearing procedure. 

 Section 5.08 was added to provide clarity on how a district conversion 

public charter school may voluntarily surrender its charter. 

 Sections 6.01.6.5, 6.07.1.14.2.1, 6.10, 6.17.2, 6.17.4.1, and 6.17.5 are 

changed to incorporate provisions of Act 933 of 2017. 

 Section 6.07.1.6.3 is changed to incorporate provisions of Act 990 of 

2017. 

 Section 6.11.2 is added to incorporate provisions of Act 641 of 2019. 

 Section 6.27 is added to incorporate provisions of Act 542 of 2017. 

 Section 7.00 is added to incorporate provisions of Act 742 of 2017. 

 Sections 8.01.2, 8.04.1, and 8.05.6 are added to ensure protection of 

public funds and property in the event of a revocation due to misuse, 

fraud, or theft of public funds. 

 Section 8.02.2 is added to incorporate provisions of Act 933 of 2017. 

 Sections 8.03.4.1 and 8.03.4.2 are added to clarify how property is 

redistributed upon revocation of an open-enrollment charter school. 

 Section 8.04.2 is added to incorporate provisions of Act 933 of 2017. 

 Sections 8.04.4 through 8.04.6 are added to clarify how a vendor may 

file a claim for payment after a charter is revoked and to incorporate 

provisions of Act 933 of 2017. 

 Section 9.02.1 is changed to incorporate provisions of Act 462 of 2017. 

 Section 11.01.8.2.1 is added to incorporate provisions of Act 960 of 

2019. 
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Changes made after the public comment period include: 

 Section 3.10 added to define “Commissioner” as the Commissioner of 

Elementary and Secondary Education and “Commissioner of Education” 

changed to “Commissioner” throughout. 

 “National School Lunch” changed to “Enhanced Student Achievement” 

throughout in accordance with Act 1083 of 2019. 

 Section 6.17.11 deleted in accordance with Act 542 of 2017. 

 Grammatical and stylistic changes made throughout. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on December 9, 2019.  

The public comment period expired on December 17, 2019.  The Division 

provided the following summary of the comments that it received and its 

responses thereto: 

 

Commenter Name: Lucas Harder, Arkansas School Boards 

Association 
Comment (1):  Section 3.00:  I recommend adding a definition for 

“Commissioner” so that all places in the existing Rule that refer to the 

“Commissioner of Education” can be shortened.  If added, all of my 

comments regarding the change to “Commissioner of Elementary and 

Secondary Education” from Act 910 can be ignored. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (2):  Section 3.146:  The citation to 10.03 should be changed to 

11.03. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (3):  In various sections: In accordance with Act 910, 

“Commissioner of Education” should be changed to “Commissioner of 

Elementary and Secondary Education.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Throughout “Commissioner 

of Education” is changed to “Commissioner.”  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (4):  Sections 4.05.2 and 4.06.1.2:  The word “Education” 

appears to be missing from between “Disabilities” and “Act.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (5):  Section 5.01.2.2:  The citation to 6-15-429 should be 

changed to 6-15-2915 or 2916. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Changed to Ark. Code Ann. 

§ 6-15-2915.  Non-substantive change made. 
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Comment (6):  Section 5.01.3.7:  I would recommend removing “and 

regulations” in accordance with Act 315. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (7):  Section 5.06.2:  There is a “the” missing from between 

“chair of” and “authorizing body.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (8):  Section 5.07.3:  There is an unnecessary “for” between 

“authorizer” and “regarding.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (9):  6.00 note:  The citation to 10.00 should be changed to 

11.00. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (10):  Section 6.01.6.5:  The “in” between “within” and “the” is 

unnecessary. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (11):  6.07.1.14.3.2:  There is a comma missing from between 

“1972” and “and.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (12):  Section 6.10:  The “regular session” needs to be 

pluralized. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (13):  6.10.2:  There is a comma missing after “limitation.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (14):  Section 6.13.4:  “Division of Legislative Audit” should 

be changed to “Arkansas Legislative Audit.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 
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Comment (15):  Various sections:  “National School Lunch” should be 

changed to “Enhanced Student Achievement.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (16):  Section 6.17.4.2:  I would recommend moving “as 

specified in State Board rules governing special needs funding” to the end 

of the subsection and add a “the” between “in” and “State.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  No change made. 

 

Comment (17):  Section 6.17.5:  There is an extra “for the” here. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (18):  Section 6.17.5.1:  There is a comma missing after 

“operation.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (19):  Section 6.17.11:  This subdivision through 6.17.11.5 

were repealed and replaced with the unused and underutilized facilities 

lease and purchase provisions of Act 542 of 2019, which is partially 

covered by the new subsection 6.27 of these rules. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (20):  Section 6.23.3.3:  The “not” here should be “to.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (21):  Section 6.24.3:  There is an unnecessary “for” between 

“authorizer” and“regarding.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (22):  Section 7.03.2:  I would recommend changing it to read 

“classified as in need.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (23):  Section 8.03.4.2:  I would recommend changing this to 

read “pursuant to the priorities set forth in.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Section changed for clarity.  

Non-substantive change made. 
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Comment (24):  Section 8.04.1:  There is a space missing from between 

the subsection numbers and “upon.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (25):  Section 8.04.4.3:  There is an unnecessary semicolon 

after “and.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (26):  Section 9.02.1:  There is a space missing from between 

the subsection numbers and “The.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (27):  Section 1011.01.1:  There is a space missing from 

between the subsection numbers and “Pursuant.”  There is a colon missing 

at the end of the subsection. 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Comment (28):  11.16.3.3:  The “not” here should be “to.” 

Division Response:  Comment considered.  Non-substantive change 

made. 

 

Rebecca Miller-Rice, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, 

asked the following questions: 

 

(1) Section 6.01.6.5 – Is there a stray “in” following “within”?  

RESPONSE:  Yes.  Non-substantive change made. 

 

(2) Section 6.04.2.2 – Are there two “in”s?  RESPONSE:  Yes. Non-

substantive change made. 

 

(3) Section 6.11.2 – Are there two sections 6.11.2 (and 6.11.2.1 and 

6.11.2.2), on pages 38 and 39?  RESPONSE:  The 6.11.2 on page 39 

should be 6.11.3 and the subsections should reflect that.  Non-substantive 

change made. 

 

(4) Section 6.27.1 – How were the criteria listed developed or decided 

upon?  RESPONSE:  We reviewed the criteria for preference in open-

enrollment charter school applications outlined in Ark. Code Ann. 6-23-

304, as well as the criteria for obtaining a license under Ark. Code Ann. 6-

23-101 et seq., and the codified legislative intent of the Arkansas Quality 

Charter Schools Act of 2013 from Ark. Code Ann. 6-23-102.  After 
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reviewing these sections, we tried to incorporate those priorities into the 

criteria in Section 6.27.1.  No change made. 

 

(5) Section 6.27.2 – Should the review also include the “educational 

needs” of the charter schools, as set forth in Ark. Code Ann. § 6-21-

816(b)(1)(C)?  RESPONSE: Section 6.27.1 sets out priority that takes 

into consideration both the comparative status and the educational need of 

the school.  The educational need will be captured by the priority criteria 

especially in 6.27.1.2 (student growth and achievement).  No change 

made. 

 

(6) Section 7.02.2 – Should the reference be to the “school’s agricultural 

studies plan,” as provided in Ark. Code Ann. § 6-23-108(b)(2)?  

RESPONSE:  Yes.  Change made to include the omitted word.  Non-

substantive change made. 

 

(7) Section 7.02.2.2 – Is there a reason that the language “and the state’s 

agricultural-based economy” as found in Ark. Code Ann. § 6-23-

108(b)(2)(B) was omitted from the rule?  RESPONSE:  The language 

was accidentally omitted.  Change made to add the omitted language.  

Non-substantive change made. 

 

(8) Section 8.02.2 – It appears that this section is premised upon Ark. 

Code Ann. § 6-23-105(e)(1)(A), which was also amended to include 

instances of transfer or assignment by Act 761 of 2019, §3.  Should these 

terms be included here?  RESPONSE:  Yes.  The words “transfer, or 

assignment” have been added.  Non-substantive change made. 

 

(9) Section 8.04.1 – On what authority does the Division rely for the 

Commissioner’s assertion of control over the funds, even if the charter is 

still in operation until the end of the school year?  RESPONSE:  Ark. 

Code Ann. 6-23-506 stated that upon dissolution of a charter, or non-

renewal or revocation, the net assets of the open-enrollment charter are 

deemed property of the state.  Typically if a school elects to non-renew, or 

the Charter Authorizer votes to non-renew, that decision is made in 

December/January and the school continues to operate until June.  The 

Division and the Commissioner have a responsibility to take all steps 

necessary to protect and recover any and all state assets.  This 

responsibility has been in the Charter Rules at Section 7.02.2 (now 

8.02.3).  In 2019, following the voluntary non-renewal of a school, the 

school was set to remain open until June 30, 2019.  Following the 

voluntary non-renewal, State funds were removed from the operating 

account, highlighting the importance of immediate action on the part of 

the Division to protect state funds.  No change made. 
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(10) Sections 9.03 through 9.06.3, 10.01 through 10.04.1.1 – Is there a 

reason the references to “department” have been changed to “authorizer” 

when Act 910 of 2019, §§ 1749-1751, appears to have changed the term to 

“division”?  RESPONSE:  Yes.  The Charter Authorizing Panel used to 

be limited to employees of the Department (now Division), which 

effectively made all CAP decisions, decisions of the Department.  In 2017, 

the law was changed to allow non-Department personnel to be appointed 

to the CAP.  Now, the CAP is comprised of a majority of non-Division 

members.  The CAP makes decisions to waive provisions of Title 6 and 

conducts the charter hearings.  It is more accurate to state “the authorizer” 

rather than “the Division.”  No change made. 

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency states that the amended rules have 

no financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  Pursuant to the Arkansas Quality Charter 

Schools Act of 2013, codified at Arkansas Code Annotated §§ 6-23-101 

through 6-23-1008, the State Board of Education is authorized and 

directed to establish rules for conversion public charter schools, authorized 

to promulgate rules for the creation of open-enrollment public charter 

schools, and may adopt rules for adult education public charter schools.  

See Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-23-206, 6-23-309, and 6-23-1008(a).  The State 

Board shall further adopt rules as necessary to administer Title 6, Chapter 

23, Subchapter 7 of the Arkansas Code, concerning the public charter 

school authorizer, including without limitation the procedure for hearings 

and administration of the public charter authorizing panel.  See Ark. Code 

Ann. § 6-23-702(a).  Additionally, the State Board may promulgate rules 

to implement Ark. Code Ann. § 6-23-105(e), concerning the actions to be 

taken immediately upon the revocation, transfer, or assignment of an 

open-enrollment charter by the authorizer.  See Ark. Code Ann. § 6-23-

105(e)(4). 

 

The proposed rules include revisions made in light of several acts, 

including: Act 641 of 2019, sponsored by Representative Jana Della Rosa, 

which allowed for extended learning opportunities through unstructured 

social time, required a certain amount of time for recess, and considered 

supervision during unstructured social time as instructional; Act 757 of 

2019, sponsored by Representative Bruce Cozart, which amended and 

updated various provisions of the Arkansas Code concerning public 

education; Act 761 of 2019, sponsored by Representative Grant Hodges, 

which allowed an authorizer to transfer and assign a public charter 

school’s charter under the Arkansas Quality Charter Schools Act of 2013; 

Act 960 of 2019, sponsored by Representative Mark Lowery, which 

amended the law concerning adult education public charter schools to 
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ensure that more than one (1) adult education public charter school may 

operate in this state; and Act 1083 of 2019, sponsored by Senator Alan 

Clark, which amended the name of national school lunch state categorical 

funding. 

 

Additional revisions were made as a result of Act 462 of 2017, sponsored 

by Senator Jim Hendren, which allowed individuals from outside of the 

Department of Education to serve on the public charter authorizing panel; 

Act 542 of 2017, sponsored by Senator Alan Clark, which granted public 

charter schools a right of access to unused or underutilized public school 

facilities; Act 742 of 2017, sponsored by Representative Mary Bentley, 

which concerned agricultural schools, allowed a public charter authorizer 

to designate a public charter school as a School for Agricultural Studies, 

and repealed the Kindergarten through Grade Twelve (K-12) Agriculture 

School Pilot Program; Act 933 of 2017, sponsored by Senator Alan Clark, 

which amended provisions of the Arkansas Code concerning the operation 

and funding of public charter schools; and Act 990 of 2017, sponsored by 

then-Representative Clarke Tucker, which concerned admissions policies 

of charter schools and aligned charter school admissions requirements for 

a student who has been expelled from another school district with 

admissions requirements for school districts. 

 

 

3. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION, DIVISION OF HIGHER EDUCATION 

 

 a. SUBJECT:  Arkansas Concurrent Challenge Scholarship Program 

 

DESCRIPTION:  The Division of Higher Education’s Arkansas 

Concurrent Challenge Scholarship Program rules are being proposed due 

to the creation of the program by Act 456 of 2019.  The Concurrent 

Challenge Scholarship program offers up to $125 per course to a high 

school junior or senior enrolled in an endorsed concurrent course or 

certificate program.  This award is available up to two courses per 

semester for each student for a maximum total per year of $500 per 

student.  The proposed new rules for the Arkansas Concurrent Challenge 

Scholarship Program address the student eligibility criteria, method for 

recipient selection, continuing eligibility requirements, and procedures for 

making payments to an approved institution of higher education, and other 

administrative procedures necessary for operation of the program.  

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  No public hearing was held.  The public 

comment period expired on January 14, 2020.  The Division received no 

public comments. 

 

Rebecca Miller-Rice, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, 

asked the following questions: 
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(1) Definitions 1.a. – Should “Scholarship” follow “Challenge”?  

RESPONSE:  Yes, updated. 

 

(2) Definitions 1.b. – Should “certificated program” be “certificate 

program”?  RESPONSE:  Yes, corrected. 

 

(3) Definitions of “Eligible Course” and “Certificate Program” – Is the 

numbering off?  RESPONSE:  Yes, updated and reformatted to be 

consistent. 

 

(4) Definitions 3.b. – It appears this section is premised on Ark. Code 

Ann. § 6-16-1202(2)(B).  Should the reference to § 6-16-1204 be “§ 6-16-

1204(b)” to track the statute?  RESPONSE:  Yes, updated. 

 

(5) Definitions 5 – It appears that this section is premised on Ark. Code 

Ann. § 6-15-2911(b), but should it also contain the actual definition of 

“student success plan” set forth in Ark. Code Ann. § 6-15-

2903(12)?  Also, is the “and” necessary at the end of 5.d?  RESPONSE:  

Yes, I updated to include the definition; fixed. 

 

(6) Eligibility 1.A. – Should there be an “or” following “[i]s an Arkansas 

resident” to track Ark. Code Ann. § 6-85-403(a)(1), as amended by Act 

456 of 2019, § 1?  RESPONSE:  Yes, corrected. 

 

(7) Eligibility 2.C. – Instead of “subchapter,” should the reference be to 

“program” or “rules” or something of that nature?  RESPONSE:  I like 

that reference better.  Updated. 

 

(8) Institutional Responsibilities 4 – I noticed a parenthesis turned 

backwards in the first line, and in the fourth line, the number “10” seems 

to be repeated rather than “ten.”  RESPONSE:  Yes. Corrected both. 

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency states that the proposed rules have 

a financial impact.  The agency reports that the additional cost of the state 

rule for the current fiscal year is $2,000,000 excess lottery proceeds and 

$5,000,000 excess lottery proceeds for the next fiscal year.  The agency 

estimates that the total cost by fiscal year to state, county, and municipal 

government to implement the rule is $2,000,000 for the current fiscal year 

and $5,000,000 for the next fiscal year, explaining that this is a new 

scholarship program that will begin in the Spring of 2020 for high school 

students enrolling in endorsed concurrent courses or certificate programs 

and that the scholarship is funded through remaining prior year net lottery 

proceeds. 
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LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The proposed rules implement Act 456 

of 2019, sponsored by Senator James Sturch, which created the Arkansas 

Concurrent Challenge Scholarship and provided for an additional use of 

excess lottery proceeds to fund scholarships for certain students who are 

enrolled in endorsed concurrent enrollment courses or certificate 

programs.  Pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-85-406, the Division 

of Higher Education shall promulgate rules to implement the Arkansas 

Concurrent Challenge Scholarship Program, codified at Ark. Code Ann. 

§§ 6-85-401 through 6-85-406. 

 

 

4. DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION, ARKANSAS 

RACING COMMISSION 

 

 a. SUBJECT:  Rule 1050(a) Definition of “Objection” 

 

DESCRIPTION:   This proposed amendment attempts to clarify the rules 

on objections for issues that do not occur during a race.  It extends the 

time period for protests and objections by changing the time period for a 

protest or objection from “two hours prior to” a race to 24 hours after a 

race or prior to post time of the next live racing date. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on this rule on 

December 19, 2019.  The public comment period expired December 18, 

2019.  The agency indicated that it received no public comments. 

 

This rule was filed on an emergency basis and was reviewed and approved 

by the Executive Subcommittee on January 16, 2020.   

 

The proposed effective date for permanent promulgation is pending 

legislative review and approval.  

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency indicated that this rule will have no 

financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The Arkansas Racing Commission 

exercises “sole jurisdiction over the business and the sport of horse racing 

in this state where the racing is permitted for any stake, purse, or 

reward[.]”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(a).  As part of its duties, the 

Commission is empowered to grant franchises, approve race dates, issue 

licenses, establish and collect license fees, hear matters before the 

commission, and “[t]ake such other action, not inconsistent with law, as it 

may deem necessary or desirable to supervise and regulate, and to 

effectively control in the public interest, horse racing in the State of 

Arkansas.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(a)(1)–(7).  The 
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Commission has “full, complete, and sole power and authority to . . . 

promulgate rules.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(b)(1)(E).  It also 

has the authority to “carry[] out its functions, powers, and duties” by 

making and amending “all necessary or desirable rules not inconsistent 

with law.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(d). 

 

 b. SUBJECT:  Rule 2169(a) Jockey Mount Fees 

 

DESCRIPTION:   This amendment raises mount fees as agreed by the 

Jockeys’ Guild and the owners’ association.  It changes the standard fees 

that apply if there is no specific contract between the owner and jockey to 

amounts agreed to by the Jockeys’ Guild and the owners for 2020. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on this rule on 

December 19, 2019.  The public comment period expired December 18, 

2019.  The agency indicated that it received no public comments. 

 

This rule was filed on an emergency basis and was reviewed and approved 

by the Executive Subcommittee on January 16, 2020.   

 

The proposed effective date for permanent promulgation is pending 

legislative review and approval.  

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency indicated that this rule will have a 

financial impact.  It will impact individual horse owners because jockey 

mount fees will increase for losing mounts if the owner and jockey do not 

have a specific contract or agreement prior to the race.  The agency did not 

identify any financial impact to state, county, or municipal government.  

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The Arkansas Racing Commission 

exercises “sole jurisdiction over the business and the sport of horse racing 

in this state where the racing is permitted for any stake, purse, or 

reward[.]”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(a).  The Commission has 

“full, complete, and sole power and authority to . . . promulgate rules.”  

See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(b)(1)(E).  It also has the authority to 

“carry[] out its functions, powers, and duties” by making and amending 

“all necessary or desirable rules not inconsistent with law.”  See Ark. Code 

Ann. § 23-110-204(d).  Per the agency, the changes to this rule have been 

agreed upon by the Jockeys’ Guild and the owners’ association. 

 

 c. SUBJECT:  Rule 2212(b) Entries 

 

DESCRIPTION:   This amendment changes the rule regarding coupling 

of entries for horses with the same owner or trainer.  It requires the trainer 

to declare a preference for entry when multiple horses with common ties 

enter a race. 
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PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on this rule on 

December 19, 2019.  The public comment period expired December 18, 

2019.  The agency indicated that it received no public comments. 

 

This rule was filed on an emergency basis and was reviewed and approved 

by the Executive Subcommittee on January 16, 2020.   

 

The proposed effective date for permanent promulgation is pending 

legislative review and approval.  

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  Per the agency, this rule has no financial 

impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The Arkansas Racing Commission 

exercises “sole jurisdiction over the business and the sport of horse racing 

in this state where the racing is permitted for any stake, purse, or 

reward[.]”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(a).  As part of its duties, the 

Commission is empowered to grant franchises, approve race dates, issue 

licenses, establish and collect license fees, hear matters before the 

commission, and “[t]ake such other action, not inconsistent with law, as it 

may deem necessary or desirable to supervise and regulate, and to 

effectively control in the public interest, horse racing in the State of 

Arkansas.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(a)(1)–(7).  The 

Commission has “full, complete, and sole power and authority to . . . 

promulgate rules.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(b)(1)(E).  It also 

has the authority to “carry[] out its functions, powers, and duties” by 

making and amending “all necessary or desirable rules not inconsistent 

with law.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(d). 

 

 d. SUBJECT:  Rule 2224(c) Entries 

 

DESCRIPTION:   This amendment permits the use of new technology 

for identifying horses using microchips and digital tattoos in compliance 

with national Thoroughbred Racing Protective Bureau (TRPB) protocols. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on this rule on 

December 19, 2019.  The public comment period expired December 18, 

2019.  The agency indicated that it received no public comments. 

 

This rule was filed on an emergency basis and was reviewed and approved 

by the Executive Subcommittee on January 16, 2020.   

 

The proposed effective date for permanent promulgation is pending 

legislative review and approval.  
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FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency stated that this rule has no financial 

impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The Arkansas Racing Commission 

exercises “sole jurisdiction over the business and the sport of horse racing 

in this state where the racing is permitted for any stake, purse, or 

reward[.]”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(a).  As part of its duties, the 

Commission is empowered to grant franchises, approve race dates, issue 

licenses, establish and collect license fees, hear matters before the 

commission, and “[t]ake such other action, not inconsistent with law, as it 

may deem necessary or desirable to supervise and regulate, and to 

effectively control in the public interest, horse racing in the State of 

Arkansas.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(a)(1)–(7).  The 

Commission has “full, complete, and sole power and authority to . . . 

promulgate rules.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(b)(1)(E).  It also 

has the authority to “carry[] out its functions, powers, and duties” by 

making and amending “all necessary or desirable rules not inconsistent 

with law.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(d). 

 

e. SUBJECT:  Rule 2359 Protests 

 

DESCRIPTION:   This proposed rule amends the procedure for protests 

and objections for issues not occurring during the running of a race.  It 

extends the protest period to 24 hours after a race becomes official or prior 

to post time of the next live racing date.  

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on this rule on 

December 19, 2019.  The public comment period expired December 18, 

2019.  The agency indicated that it received no public comments. 

 

This rule was filed on an emergency basis and was reviewed and approved 

by the Executive Subcommittee on January 16, 2020.   

 

The proposed effective date for permanent promulgation is pending 

legislative review and approval.  

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency indicated that this rule will have no 

financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The Arkansas Racing Commission 

exercises “sole jurisdiction over the business and the sport of horse racing 

in this state where the racing is permitted for any stake, purse, or 

reward[.]”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(a).  As part of its duties, the 

Commission is empowered to grant franchises, approve race dates, issue 

licenses, establish and collect license fees, hear matters before the 

commission, and “[t]ake such other action, not inconsistent with law, as it 
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may deem necessary or desirable to supervise and regulate, and to 

effectively control in the public interest, horse racing in the State of 

Arkansas.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(a)(1)–(7).  The 

Commission has “full, complete, and sole power and authority to . . . 

promulgate rules.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(b)(1)(E).  It also 

has the authority to “carry[] out its functions, powers, and duties” by 

making and amending “all necessary or desirable rules not inconsistent 

with law.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(d). 

 

f. SUBJECT:  Rule 2426-A Claiming 

 

DESCRIPTION:   This proposed rule would change the time period from 

ninety (90) days since the horse’s last official start to sixty (60) days when 

the owner requests a horse be ineligible to be claimed. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on this rule on 

December 19, 2019.  The public comment period expired December 18, 

2019.  The agency indicated that it received no public comments. 

 

This rule was filed on an emergency basis and was reviewed and approved 

by the Executive Subcommittee on January 16, 2020.   

 

The proposed effective date for permanent promulgation is pending 

legislative review and approval.  

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency indicated that this rule will have no 

financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The Arkansas Racing Commission 

exercises “sole jurisdiction over the business and the sport of horse racing 

in this state where the racing is permitted for any stake, purse, or 

reward[.]”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(a).  As part of its duties, the 

Commission is empowered to grant franchises, approve race dates, issue 

licenses, establish and collect license fees, hear matters before the 

commission, and “[t]ake such other action, not inconsistent with law, as it 

may deem necessary or desirable to supervise and regulate, and to 

effectively control in the public interest, horse racing in the State of 

Arkansas.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(a)(1)–(7).  The 

Commission has “full, complete, and sole power and authority to . . . 

promulgate rules.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(b)(1)(E).  It also 

has the authority to “carry[] out its functions, powers, and duties” by 

making and amending “all necessary or desirable rules not inconsistent 

with law.”  See Ark. Code Ann. § 23-110-204(d). 
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5. DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, CENTER FOR HEALTH PROTECTION 

 

a. SUBJECT:  Rules Pertaining to Arkansas Prescription Drug 

Monitoring Program 

 

DESCRIPTION:   The agency provided the following summary of the 

amendments to the Rules Pertaining to the Arkansas Prescription Drug 

Monitoring Program (PDMP): 

 Removed the word “regulation” on pages 1 and 3 to comply with Act 

315 of 2019.  

 Updated the PDMP’s new branch as the Department of Health’s 

Substance Misuse and Injury Prevention Branch on page 1. 

 Corrected the Table of Contents to include Section XIII. 

 Inserted language allowing access by the Arkansas Medicaid 

Prescription Drug Program, as per Act 46 of 2017. 

 Inserted language for mandatory usage of the Arkansas PDMP by 

prescribers, as mandated by Act 820 of 2017. 

 Added two new members to the Arkansas Prescription Drug Monitoring 

Advisory Committee, as mandated by Act 820 of 2017. 

 Inserted language allowing access by the Arkansas Office of Medicaid 

Inspector General, as mandated by Act 141 of 2019. 

 Inserted language for development of prescribing criteria for controlled 

substances and reports to be generated to prescribers, dispensers, and 

licensing boards based upon this criteria, as mandated by Act 820 of 2017. 

 Inserted language for implementation of real-time reporting by the 

Arkansas PDMP if funding and technology are available, as per Act 820 

of 2017. 

 Inserted additional language regarding information provided for 

research, as mandated by Act 688 of 2017. 

 Inserted language regarding providing information to insurance carriers 

for the purpose of verifying prescriber or dispenser registration with the 

Arkansas PDMP, as mandated by Act 688 of 2017. 

 Added language allowing for the exchange of data between the Arkansas 

PDMP and federal prescription drug monitoring programs, as mandated by 

Act 605 of 2019. 

 Inserted language regarding the penalty for failure to use the PDMP, as 

mandated by Act 820 of 2017. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was held on this rule on 

September 24, 2019.  The public comment period expired on September 

24, 2019. 

 

The agency provided the following summary of the comments it received 

at the public hearing:  
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COMMENTER’S NAME: Rodney Baker 

COMMENT #1:  Mr. Baker asked if the date of January 1, 2019 in 

Section VII(a)(1)(D) was an accurate date for the rule update.  

RESPONSE:  As mandated in Act 820 of 2017, “On or before January 1, 

2019, the department shall contract with a vendor to make the Prescription 

Drug Monitoring Program interactive and to provide same-day reporting 

in real-time, if funding and technology are available.” 

 

COMMENT #2:  Mr. Baker questioned how a veterinarian is to query a 

patient in the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program web portal, 

specifically if the vet is mandated to query to animal patient or the human 

owner.  RESPONSE:  To comply with the mandatory use law enacted by 

Act 820 of 2017, the veterinarian is to search the web portal using the 

animal’s name as the first name, the owner’s last name, and the animal’s 

date of birth.  Searching in this manner will report only prescriptions filled 

under the animal’s name and not human patient information. 

 

COMMENT #3:  In Section IV(d)(2)(C)(ii)(a), the language mentions 

“palliative care.”  Mr. Baker asked if a definition of “palliative care” could 

be added to the rules.  On 9/27/2019 at 11:02 AM, Mr. Baker followed up 

via email on a suggested definition for “palliative care.”  “Palliative care” 

means an interdisciplinary approach to specialized medical and nursing 

care for patients with chronic conditions.  It focuses on providing relief 

from the symptoms, pain, physical stress, and mental stress at any stage of 

illness.  The goal is to improve quality of life for both the patient and their 

family.   

 

RESPONSE:  After reviewing Mr. Baker’s suggestion on a definition and 

internal research on definitions for “palliative care” in current statute, the 

program suggests the addition of the definitions below:  

 

“Hospice” or “hospice care” means an autonomous, centrally 

administered, medically directed, coordinated program providing a 

continuum of home, outpatient, and home-like inpatient care for the 

terminally ill patient and family, employing an interdisciplinary team to 

assist in providing palliative and supportive care to meet the special needs 

arising out of the physical, emotional, spiritual, social and economic 

stresses which are experienced during the final stages of illness and during 

dying and bereavement, with such care being available 24 hours a day, 7 

days a week and provided on the basis of need regardless of ability to pay. 

 

“Palliative care” means patient-centered and family-centered medical care 

offered throughout the continuum of an illness that optimizes quality of 

life by anticipating, preventing, and treating the suffering caused by a 

serious illness to address physical, emotional, social, and spiritual needs 



33 

 

and facilitate patient autonomy, access to information, and choice, 

including without limitation:  

 

 (A) Discussion of the patient’s goals for treatment; 

(B) Discussions of treatment options appropriate to the patient, 

including hospice care, if needed; and 

 (C) Comprehensive pain and symptom management. 

 

COMMENT #4:  Mr. Baker pointed out the word “regulation” was found 

throughout the markup rules and commented that this needed to be 

changed to “rule.”  RESPONSE:  The program will remove the word 

“regulation” when referencing the Arkansas Code throughout the rules as 

mandated by Act 315 of 2019.  

 

COMMENT #5:  Mr. Baker pointed out that the information in Section 

VII(a)(2)(A) and the information in Section VII(a)(2)(B) was redundant.  

RESPONSE:  The language in Section VII(a)(2)(A) – (B) is from past 

language and will not be edited.  

 

Lacey Johnson, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, 

asked the following question and received the following response from the 

agency:  

 

QUESTION: In § IV(d)(2)(D) and again in § VII(a)(1)(A)(i), the 

proposed rules reference the Director of the Department of 

Health.  However, Act 910 of 2019 replaced “Director” with “Secretary” 

in the statutes that these sections are based on.  Did the Department 

intentionally maintain the old language, or was this an oversight?  

RESPONSE:  Oversight. Thank you! 

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency indicated that this rule does not 

have a financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The State Board of Health has authority 

to promulgate rules implementing the Prescription Drug Monitoring 

Program Act.  See Ark. Code Ann. § 20-7-613.  These rule amendments 

implement provisions of various 2017 and 2019 acts that amended the 

Prescription Drug Monitoring Program Act.  

 

Act 46 of 2017, sponsored by Representative Justin Boyd, amended the 

Prescription Drug Monitoring Program Act to allow access to the 

Arkansas Medicaid Prescription Drug Program.  Act 688 of 2017, 

sponsored by Senator Missy Irvin, allowed insurance carriers to obtain 

practitioner and dispenser information maintained by the Prescription 
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Drug Monitoring Program and allowed prescriber data to be used for 

research purposes.  Act 820 of 2017, sponsored by then-Senator Jeremy 

Hutchinson, amended the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program to 

mandate that prescribers check the information in the Program when 

prescribing certain medications.  

 

Act 141 of 2019, sponsored by Representative Boyd, amended the 

Prescription Drug Monitoring Program to allow access to the Office of 

Medicaid Inspector General.  Act 605 of 2019, also sponsored by 

Representative Boyd, amended the law regarding information exchange 

with other prescription drug monitoring programs to authorize information 

exchange with federal prescription drug monitoring programs.  

 

 

6. DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, HEALTH FACILITY SERVICES 

 

  a. SUBJECT:  Rules for Perfusionists in Arkansas  

 

DESCRIPTION:  The Department of Health is updating these rules as 

follows:  

 

 Eliminate the word “regulations” throughout the document as required 

by Act 315 of 2019; 

 Add military licensing requirements and a definition of “returning 

military veteran” as per Act 820 of 2019; 

 Add “in good standing” to reciprocity rules as per Act 1011 of 2019; 

 Add criminal history background disqualifications as per Act 990 of 

2019; 

 Add a severability clause for continuity with other Department of 

Health. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  The agency held a public hearing on this rule on 

January 15, 2020.  The public comment period expired January 15, 2020.  

The agency indicated that it received no public comments. 

 

Lacey Johnson, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, 

asked the following questions, provided the following comment, and 

received the following responses: 

 

COMMENT #1:  The word “her” (as in “his or her”) is missing from 

§ 4(C)(1)(b).  RESPONSE:  Changed.  

 

COMMENT #2: The proposed rules require an applicant to submit 

evidence that he or she holds ABCP certification.  The relevant Act 

requires that the applicant hold a “substantially similar” license in another 

state.  How do these two things compare? Do most other states use ABCP 
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certification?  RESPONSE: Perfusionists operate heart-lung bypass 

equipment during open-heart surgeries.  Board certification is a common 

method for states to assure that licensees are current in knowledge and 

practice skills.  

 

Review of American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion’s Annual 

Report 2018: 

The following states currently require the ABCP to supply certification 

information for licensure: Arkansas; Connecticut; Georgia; Illinois; 

Louisiana; Maryland; Massachusetts; Missouri; Nebraska; Nevada; New 

Jersey; New York; North Carolina; Oklahoma; Pennsylvania; Tennessee; 

Texas; and Wisconsin. 

 

COMMENT #3: Does the phrase “or its successor” in the first sentence 

of § 4(F) modify “the ABCP” or “a current certification”?  I assume it 

modifies “the ABCP,” but I wanted to double-check as the sentence 

structure seems slightly odd.  RESPONSE: Modifies “the ABCP”.      

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency indicated that this rule has no 

financial impact.  

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The State Board of Health has authority 

to promulgate rules that it deems necessary to carry out the Perfusionist 

Licensure Act.  Ark. Code Ann. § 17-104-103.  The Department of Health 

is authorized to issue and renew perfusionist licenses and collect licensure 

fees.  Ark. Code Ann. § 17-104-104(4)(5).  These proposed amendments 

implement Acts 426, 820, 990, and 1011 of 2019.   

 

Act 426, sponsored by Representative Bruce Cozart, created the Red Tape 

Reduction Expedited Temporary and Provisional Licensure Act and 

authorized occupational licensing entities to grant expedited temporary 

and provisional licensing for certain individuals.  The Act required 

occupational licensing entities to promulgate rules adopting “the least 

restrictive requirements” for occupational licensure for certain individuals.  

See Act 426, § 3(b).  

 

Act 820, sponsored by Senator Missy Irvin, amended the law concerning 

the occupational licensure of active duty service members, returning 

military veterans, and their spouses to provide for automatic licensure.  

The Act required occupational licensing agencies, including the 

Department of Health, to grant automatic occupational licensure to certain 

individuals.  See Act 820, § 2(b). 
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Act 990, sponsored by Senator John Cooper, amended the laws regarding 

criminal background checks for professions and occupations to obtain 

consistency regarding criminal background checks and disqualifying 

offenses for licensure.  The Act required licensing entities to promulgate 

rules to implement the Act.  See Act 990, § 2. 

 

Act 1011, sponsored by Representative Jim Dotson, amended the law 

concerning licensing, registration, and certification for certain professions 

and established a system of endorsement, recognition, and reciprocity for 

licensing, registration, and certification for certain professions.  

 

 

7. DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES, DIVISION OF 

DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES SERVICES (DDS) 

 

a. SUBJECT:  Autism Waiver and the Autism Waiver Medicaid 

Provider Manual 

 

DESCRIPTION:   The Autism Waiver and the Autism Waiver Medicaid 

Provider Manual are amended to: 

 Update language to reflect Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), current 

program, and service names; 

 Update requirements for providers and consultants under Enrollment 

Criteria; 

 Pursuant to Acts 2019, No. 874, § 15, expand capacity to provide 

intensive early intervention treatment for 30 additional children diagnosed 

with ASD; 

 Increase the unduplicated number to account for the increased slots; 

 Update benefit limits; 

 Combine Plan Implementation and Monitoring service with Individual 

Assessment services to create one service description:  Individual 

Assessment/Plan Development/Team Training/Monitoring; 

 Change scope of coverage’s maximum age to “through seven (7) years”; 

 Recognize that evidence-based practices are from updated National 

Autism Center’s National Standards Project; 

 Reflect that the Division of Developmental Disabilities Services took 

over the administration of the Autism Waiver and is now the operating 

agency. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT: A public hearing was held on this rule on January 

7, 2020.  The public comment period expired January 10, 2020.  The 

agency provided the following summary of the public comments it 

received and its responses to those comments: 

 

Commenter’s Name: Brittany Hale, M.Ed., BCBA 
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COMMENT #1: I, Brittany Hale, M.Ed., BCBA am writing to comment 

on the proposed Arkansas Autism Waiver policy update for March 1st 

2020. Please consider the following comments for the revision of the 

Arkansas Autism Waiver Medicaid Provider Manual.  RESPONSE: 

Thank you for your comment. 

 

COMMENT #2: [Section 210.00 Program Coverage: 211.00 Scope]  The 

description of where services should be rendered is inaccurate and should 

state “When providing services to children under the Autism Waiver, only 

natural and community settings that provide inclusive opportunities for the 

child with ASD will be utilized. Such settings include the home, parks, 

grocery stores, library, restaurants, ball parks or other settings that are not 

segregated.”  RESPONSE: Thank you for your comment. The second 

sentence of the second paragraph of Section 211.000 of the Autism 

Waiver Medicaid Manual will be amended in its entirety to read: “The 

setting will primarily be the child’s home; but other community locations, 

identified by the parent (such as the park, grocery store, church, etc.) may 

be selected based on the skills and behaviors of the child that need to be 

targeted.” 

 

COMMENT #3: [Section 220.000: 220.100 Intensive ASD Intervention 

Provider] A. 2. - The list of Evidence-Based Practices is incomplete, as it 

only lists the 2nd Edition, leaving all Evidence-Based Practices approved 

in the 1st Edition out of the policy. Referencing the National Autism 

Center’s National Standards Project would be effective in providing the 

listing that is regularly updated to reflect the most current established, 

emerging and not established treatment practices.  RESPONSE: Thank 

you for your comment. The third and fourth sentences of Section 

220.100(A)(2) will be combined to read “The evidence-based practices 

that will be utilized in the program are those recognized in the National 

Autism Center’s National Standards Project, which include, but are not 

limited to: . . . .” 

 

COMMENT #4: [Section 220.000: 220.100 Intensive ASD Intervention 

Provider] C.– Per proposed policy, the removal of the consultant role 

found in the redacted Section C, removes the ongoing oversight of the 

treatment team, ongoing family training, their ability to address strategies 

with staff, monthly on site monitoring of the treatment of fidelity of 

programming, and their ability to modify the treatment plan to best meet 

the needs of the child. 

 

The role of the consultant is defined in the 1915(c) document on page 66, 

“This service also includes the oversight of implementation of evidence-

based intervention strategies by the lead therapist, the line therapist and 

the family; ongoing education of family members and key staff regarding 

treatment; monthly on-site (in-home and community settings) monitoring 
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of treatment effectiveness and implementation fidelity; modification of the 

ITP, as necessary; and modification of assessment information, as 

necessary. Monitoring under this service is for the purpose of modifying 

the ITP and is conducted monthly by the Consultant.” 

 

RESPONSE: Thank you for your comment. A Section 220.100(A)(3) of 

the Proposed Autism Waiver Provider Manual will be added which reads, 

“Monitoring services will be performed by the Consultant on at least a 

monthly basis. Monitoring responsibilities will include the oversight of the 

implementation of evidence-based intervention strategies by the lead 

therapist, the line therapist and the family; educating family members and 

key staff regarding treatment; on-site reviewing of treatment effectiveness 

and implementation fidelity; use data collected to determine the clinical 

progress of the child and the need for adjustments to the ITP, as necessary; 

and modifying assessment information, as necessary.” Additionally, the 

title of 220.100 will be changed to “Autism Waiver Services” and Section 

220.300 will be deleted and be moved to create Section 220.100(E) since 

Consultative Clinical and Therapeutic Services are one of the five services 

offered under the Autism Waiver. 

 

Commenter’s Name: Renee Holmes, RN, Director of Autism Services, 

Partners for Inclusive Communities 

 

COMMENT #1: Thank you for the opportunity to address items listed in 

the AUTISM 1-19 document. Please see the items below that I would like 

to address as inconsistent with the language and scope of the 1915(c) 

Home and Community Based Waiver Application.  RESPONSE: Thank 

you for your comment. 

 

COMMENT #2: [202.100 C- Per proposed policy, “This criterion also 

applies to any non-profit organization formed as a collaborative 

organization.”] The language in the 1915(c) document removed the non-

profit status in 2017. This can be first found in the 1915(c) on page 67, 

“Includes any organization formed as a collaborative organization made 

up of a group of licensed/certified providers, as described above.”  

RESPONSE: Thank you for your comment. Section 202.100 of the 

Autism Waiver Medicaid Manual will be amended by removing Section 

202.100(B), and removing in its entirety the paragraph in Section 202.100 

that begins with “This criterion also applies…” and ends with “…the 

organization to participate in the program.” Additionally, Page 67 of the 

Autism Waiver Application in the “Other Standard” section will be 

amended to remove the first sentence “Must have a minimum of three 

years’ experience providing services to individuals with ASD.” Page 70 of 

the Autism Waiver Application in the “Other Standard” section will be 

amended to remove the first sentence “The organization must have a 

minimum of three (3) years’ experience providing services to individuals 
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with ASD.” Finally, Page 72 of the Autism Waiver Application in the 

“Other Standard” section will be amended to remove the first sentence 

“Must have a minimum of two (2) years’ experience providing services to 

children with ASD.” 

 

COMMENT #3: [210.00 Scope- Per proposed policy, “When providing 

services to children under the Autism Waiver, only natural home and 

community settings that provide inclusive opportunities for the child with 

ASD will be utilized. Such settings include the home, schools or daycares, 

parks, etc.”] The locations in the 1915(c) are listed on page 89, “The 

settings include locations such as the child’s home, church, places where 

the family shops, restaurants, ball parks, etc., all of which meet the new 

settings definition. There are no segregated settings utilized in this 

program.”  Parental presence and participation is a requirement through 

the autism waiver.  This is noted in several instances in the 1915(c) 

document, as an example from page 94, “Since the parent/guardian will be 

present and actively involved in treatment provided through the Autism 

Waiver,” the parent is required to remain at any natural community 

location with the child.  RESPONSE: Thank you for your comment. The 

second sentence of the second paragraph of Section 211.000 of the Autism 

Waiver Medicaid Manual will be amended in its entirety to read: “The 

setting will primarily be the child’s home; but other community locations, 

identified by the parent (such as the park, grocery store, church, etc.) may 

be selected based on the skills and behaviors of the child that need to be 

targeted.” 

 

COMMENT #4: [220.100 Intensive ASD Intervention Provider- Per 

proposed policy, “A Consultant, hired by the Division of Developmental 

Disabilities Services (DDS) or its contracted vendor, community-based 

organization, performs this service.”] A consultant in the autism waiver 

program is not hired by the Division of Developmental Disabilities or its 

contracted vendor. They are hired by the community-based billing 

organization. The proposed policy language does not reflect the wording 

of the 1915(c) document that can be found on page 66, “A Consultant, 

hired by the Arkansas Autism Partnership (AAP) provider, community-

based organization.”  RESPONSE: Thank you for your comment. Section 

220.100 will be amended by deleting the introductory paragraph starting 

with “A Consultant, hired by…” and ending with “…which includes the 

following components:”, and inserting an introductory paragraph at the top 

of Section 220.100(A) above Section 220.100(A)(1) which reads, “A 

Consultant hired by the ASD Intensive Intervention community provider 

performs this service, which include the following components:”. 

Additionally, the first sentence of Page 66 of the Autism Waiver 

Application will be amended to read “A Consultant hired by the ASD 

Intensive Intervention community provider performs this service, which 

include the following components: . . . .” 
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COMMENT #5: [220.100 A. 2.] The list of Evidence Based Practices is 

incomplete, as it only lists the 2nd Edition, leaving all Evidence Based 

Practices approved in the 1st Edition out of the policy. Referencing the 

National Autism Center’s National Standards Project would be effective in 

providing the listing that is regularly updated to reflect the most current 

established, emerging and not established treatment practices. 

RESPONSE: Thank you for your comment. The third and fourth 

sentences of Section 220.100(A)(2) will be combined to read “The 

evidence-based practices that will be utilized in the program are those 

recognized in the National Autism Center’s National Standards Project, 

which include, but are not limited to: . . . .” 

 

COMMENT #6: [220.100 C.] Per proposed policy, the removal of the 

consultant role found in the redacted Section C, removes the ongoing 

oversight of the treatment team, ongoing family training, their ability to 

address strategies with staff, monthly on site monitoring of the treatment 

of fidelity of programming, and their ability to modify the treatment plan 

to best meet the needs of the child. The role of the consultant is defined in 

the 1915(c) document on page 66, “This service also includes the 

oversight of implementation of evidence-based intervention strategies by 

the Lead therapist, the Line therapist and the family; ongoing education of 

family members and key staff regarding treatment; monthly on-site (in-

home and community settings) monitoring of treatment effectiveness and 

implementation fidelity; modification of the ITP, as necessary; and 

modification of assessment information, as necessary. Monitoring under 

this service is for the purpose of modifying the ITP and is conducted 

monthly by the Consultant.” RESPONSE: Thank you for your comment. 

A Section 220.100(A)(3) of the Proposed Autism Waiver Provider Manual 

will be added which reads, “Monitoring services will be performed by the 

Consultant on at least a monthly basis. Monitoring responsibilities will 

include the oversight of the implementation of evidence-based 

intervention strategies by the lead therapist, the line therapist and the 

family; educating family members and key staff regarding treatment; on-

site reviewing of treatment effectiveness and implementation fidelity; use 

data collected to determine the clinical progress of the child and the need 

for adjustments to the ITP, as necessary; and modifying assessment 

information, as necessary.” Additionally, the title of 220.100 will be 

changed to “Autism Waiver Services” and Section 220.300 will be deleted 

and be moved to create Section 220.100(E) since Consultative Clinical 

and Therapeutic Services are one of the five services offered under the 

Autism Waiver. 

 

COMMENT #7: [230.20 Autism Waiver Procedure Codes] Requesting 

verification that the procedure codes utilized for the Autism Waiver 

services will be intensive early intervention codes. The Autism Waiver is 
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an intensive early intervention program and not an Applied Behavior 

Analysis service. This is defined on page 5 of the 1915(c) document in the 

Brief Waiver Description, “The Autism Waiver provides intensive one-on-

one treatment for children ages 18 months through 7 years with a 

diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The therapy services are 

habilitative in nature and are not available to children through the AR 

Medicaid State Plan. These services are designed to maintain Medicaid 

eligible participants at home in order to preclude or postpone 

institutionalization. Specifically, these services are offered to children with 

ASD who meet the institutional level of care criteria, are the appropriate 

age, and whose parent's agree to actively participate in the treatment plan.  

RESPONSE: Thank you for your comment. Section 230.200 “Autism 

Waiver Procedure Codes” will remain a section in the Autism Waiver 

Medicaid Manual, but that Section will include only the sentence “Click 

here to view the Autism Waiver procedure codes.”, which will have a 

hidden hyperlink to the a webpage containing the Autism Waiver 

procedure codes. 

 

COMMENT #8: The services offered through the Autism Waiver 

program are 1) Individual Assessment/Plan Development/Team Training/ 

Monitoring; 2) Therapeutic Aides and Behavioral Reinforcers; 3) Lead 

Therapy; 4) Line Therapy; and 5) Consultative Clinical and Therapeutic 

Services. The first four services are provided by Intensive Intervention 

providers. Consultative Clinical and Therapeutic Services are provided by 

Clinical Services Specialists working with a four-year university program. 

The goal is to design a system for delivery of intensive one-on-one 

interventions for young children that 1) utilize proven strategies and 

interventions that are positive, respectful and safe; 2) include and 

empower parents/guardians to participate; 3) prepare children with 

functional skills in natural environments; 4) include independent checks 

and balances; and 5) provide services in the most effective and cost 

efficient way.” I appreciate your time and consideration of the above 

comments.  RESPONSE: Thank you for your comment. 

 

Commenter’s Name: Leigh Ann VanGorder, Partners for Inclusive 

Communities, Regional Waiver Coordinator-Western AR 

 

COMMENT #1: 202.100 C- Per proposed policy, “This criterion also 

applies to any non-profit organization formed as a collaborative 

organization.”  Good Evening, I would like to address and submit items 

that I feel are inconsistent with the language and scope of the Arkansas 

Autism Waiver program.  Currently the programs that serve Arkansas 

Autism Waiver are both for profit and non -profit organizations. They 

must meet criteria as a collaborative organization utilizing licensed and 

certified personnel. I believe both types of organizations can be effective 

providers of the Arkansas Autism Waiver program provided they hire and 
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utilize the appropriately licensed and trained staff required in the current 

Medicaid manual.  RESPONSE: Thank you for your comment. Section 

202.100 of the Autism Waiver Medicaid Manual will be amended by 

removing Section 202.100(B), and removing in its entirety the paragraph 

in Section 202.100 that begins with “This criterion also applies…” and 

ends with “…the organization to participate in the program.” Additionally, 

Page 67 of the Autism Waiver Application in the “Other Standard” section 

will be amended to remove the first sentence “Must have a minimum of 

three years’ experience providing services to individuals with ASD.”  

Page 70 of the Autism Waiver Application in the “Other Standard” section 

will be amended to remove the first sentence “The organization must have 

a minimum of three (3) years’ experience providing services to individuals 

with ASD.”  Finally, Page 72 of the Autism Waiver Application in the 

“Other Standard” section will be amended to remove the first sentence 

“Must have a minimum of two (2) years’ experience providing services to 

children with ASD.” 

 

COMMENT #2: 210.00 Scope- Per proposed policy, “When providing 

services to children under the Autism Waiver, only natural home and 

community settings that provide inclusive opportunities for the child with 

ASD will be utilized. Such settings include the home, schools or daycares, 

parks, etc.” The locations in the 1915(c) are listed on page 89, “The 

settings include locations such as the child’s home, church, places where 

the family shops, restaurants, ball parks, etc., all of which meet the new 

settings definition. There are no segregated settings utilized in this 

program.” 

 

I have worked in the roles of provider liaison, line therapist, lead therapist 

and consultant for the Autism Waiver program since the program was 

started. I have seen the positive impact that the program has with children 

and their families. This is the only program funding ABA that requires 

services to be provided in the home or community setting. Home and 

community setting are where children and parents have the most 

difficulty, partially because it is where they spend, they majority of their 

time and some skills that they learn in a “school setting” do not generalize 

to a home or community environment. This program also requires parents 

to participate in a minimum of 14 hours per week of programming in 

addition to the programming the child receives from the team of line, lead 

and consultant therapist. Having a parent participate 14 hours per week 

would be next to impossible for a working or a two working parent home 

if services were offered in a clinic setting. The current wrap around 

approach is what makes such a functional impact in the children’s lives. 

The therapist is there in the home or natural environment when the melt 

downs happen and not only guide the child but coach the parent on how to 

handle a behavior or dangerous situation when it is happening. The parents 

learn valuable life changing skills and are coached in how to reinforce 
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their children’s behaviors they want to improve and how not to reinforce 

inadvertently ones they want to extinguish.  

 

I have also worked in a large EIDT program for over 23 years. I have the 

unique experience of working in both settings. I strongly believe this 

program gives a child more bang for their buck so to speak in the natural 

environment and community setting than I believe providing ABA in a 

school setting would. 

 

RESPONSE: Thank you for your comment. The second sentence of the 

second paragraph of Section 211.000 of the Autism Waiver Medicaid 

Manual will be amended in its entirety to read: “The setting will primarily 

be the child’s home; but other community locations, identified by the 

parent (such as the park, grocery store, church, etc.) may be selected based 

on the skills and behaviors of the child that need to be targeted.” 

 

COMMENT #3: 220.100 Intensive ASD Intervention Provider- Per 

proposed policy, “A Consultant, hired by the Division of Developmental 

Disabilities Services (DDS) or its contracted vendor, community-based 

organization, performs this service.”  Providers hire all employees of this 

program. They are not hired by DDS or the contracted vendor. The 

provider must follow all regulations for staffing requirements in 

experience, training and background checks.  RESPONSE: Thank you for 

your comment. Section 220.100 will be amended by deleting the 

introductory paragraph starting with “A Consultant, hired by…” and 

ending with “…which includes the following components:” and inserting 

an introductory paragraph at the top of Section 220.100(A) above Section 

220.100(A)(1) which reads, “A Consultant hired by the ASD Intensive 

Intervention community provider performs this service, which include the 

following components: . . . .” Additionally, the first sentence of Page 66 of 

the Autism Waiver Application will be amended to read “A Consultant 

hired by the ASD Intensive Intervention community provider performs 

this service, which include the following components: . . . .” 

 

COMMENT #4: 220.100 A. 2.- The list of Evidence Based Practices is 

incomplete, as it only lists the 2nd Edition, leaving all Evidence Based 

Practices approved in the 1st Edition out of the policy.  Referencing the 

National Autism Center’s National Standards Project would be effective in 

providing the listing that is regularly updated to reflect the most current 

established, emerging and not established treatment practices.  

RESPONSE: Thank you for your comment. The third and fourth 

sentences of Section 220.100(A)(2) will be combined to read “The 

evidence-based practices that will be utilized in the program are those 

recognized in the National Autism Center’s National Standards Project, 

which include, but are not limited to: . . . .” 
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COMMENT #5: 220.100 C.- Per proposed policy, the removal of the 

consultant role found in the redacted Section C, removes the ongoing 

oversight of the treatment team, ongoing family training, their ability to 

address strategies with staff, monthly on site monitoring of the treatment 

of fidelity of programming, and their ability to modify the treatment plan 

to best meet the needs of the child. 

 

The role of the consultant is an important role for the integrity and 

functionality of the team. The consultant is the person that completes the 

evaluation and writes the intervention strategies that are used by the team 

individualized for the child’s specific needs. Training the lead, line and 

parents how to implement the evidence-based strategies is an additional 

important function of the consultant. Removing this role would eliminate 

the ability to train staff and family members and monitor the effectiveness 

of the programming. 

 

RESPONSE: Thank you for your comment. A Section 220.100(A)(3) of 

the Proposed Autism Waiver Provider Manual will be added which reads, 

“Monitoring services will be performed by the Consultant on at least a 

monthly basis. Monitoring responsibilities will include the oversight of the 

implementation of evidence-based intervention strategies by the lead 

therapist, the line therapist and the family; educating family members and 

key staff regarding treatment; on-site reviewing of treatment effectiveness 

and implementation fidelity; use data collected to determine the clinical 

progress of the child and the need for adjustments to the ITP, as necessary; 

and modifying assessment information, as necessary.” Additionally, the 

title of 220.100 will be changed to “Autism Waiver Services” and Section 

220.300 will be deleted and be moved to create Section 220.100(E) since 

Consultative Clinical and Therapeutic Services are one of the five services 

offered under the Autism Waiver. 

 

COMMENT #6: 230.20 Autism Waiver Procedure Codes- Requesting 

verification that the procedure codes utilized for the Autism Waiver 

services will be intensive early intervention codes.  The Autism Waiver is 

an intensive early intervention program and not an Applied Behavior 

Analysis service. Applied Behavior Analysis utilizes scientifically based 

techniques to provide intensive one on one treatment. I have copied and 

included the brief waiver description from 1915 (c) below for reference.  

 

“The Autism Waiver provides intensive one-on-one treatment for children 

ages 18 months through 7 years with a diagnosis of autism spectrum 

disorder (ASD). The therapy services are habilitative in nature and are not 

available to children through the AR Medicaid State Plan. These services 

are designed to maintain Medicaid eligible participants at home in order to 

preclude or postpone institutionalization. Specifically, these services are 

offered to children with ASD who meet the institutional level of care 
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criteria, are the appropriate age, and whose parent's agree to actively 

participate in the treatment plan. The services offered through the Autism 

Waiver program are 1)Individual Assessment/Plan Development/Team 

Training/ Monitoring; 2)Therapeutic Aides and Behavioral Reinforcers; 

3)Lead Therapy; 4)Line Therapy; and 5) Consultative Clinical and 

Therapeutic Services. The first four services are provided by Intensive 

Intervention providers. Consultative Clinical and Therapeutic Services are 

provided by Clinical Services Specialists working with a four-year 

university program. The goal is to design a system for delivery of 

intensive one-on-one interventions for young children that 1) utilize 

proven strategies and interventions that are positive, respectful and safe; 2) 

include and empower parents/guardians to participate; 3) prepare children 

with functional skills in natural environments; 4) include independent 

checks and balances; and 5) provide services in the most effective and cost 

efficient way.” 

 

RESPONSE: Thank you for your comment. Section 230.200 “Autism 

Waiver Procedure Codes” will remain a section in the Autism Waiver 

Medicaid Manual, but that Section will include only the sentence “Click 

here to view the Autism Waiver procedure codes[,]” which will have a 

hidden hyperlink to the a webpage containing the Autism Waiver 

procedure codes. 

 

Lacey Johnson, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, 

asked the following questions and received the following answers:  

 

QUESTION #1:  Has the proposed waiver been approved by CMS? If 

not, do you have any idea what the timeline on that approval might be?  

ANSWER:  It has not been approved by CMS.  Once any changes based 

on public comment have been made, the proposed waiver will be 

submitted to CMS for approval.   CMS would then have a 90 day “clock” 

to review and approve.  We can ask for retrospective approval in the same 

quarter that we submitted the waiver for certain amendments, like adding 

slots.  

 

QUESTION #2: Pages 67 and 70 of the waiver application indicate that 

Intensive Intervention Providers must have a minimum of three years’ 

experience providing services to individuals with ASD.  However, page 72 

of the waiver and § 202.100(B) of the proposed rules only require two 

years of experience.  Is there a reason for this discrepancy? Why did DHS 

decide to reduce the amount of experience ASD Intervention Providers 

must have from three years to two?  ANSWER: The waiver and manual 

will be amended so that the years’ experience requirement will be 

removed from the Intensive Intervention provider type (i.e. at the 

organization level) and will apply only to the individual based on the 

particular service that is being provided (i.e. Individual 
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Assessment/Treatment Development/Monitoring, Lead Therapy 

Intervention, or Line Therapy Intervention). 

 

QUESTION #3: Is there specific authority behind the independence 

requirement in § 202.500(B)?  ANSWER: All home and community 

based waivers require independent case management functions (called 

conflict free case management).  One of the four pillars of conflict free 

case management is independent service monitoring. Because the 

consultant acts as a monitor of the treatment plan and services being 

provided to the beneficiary, DDS felt that the conflict free requirement 

should apply to them.  

 

QUESTION #4: Ark. Code Ann. § 20-77-124 states that “intensive early 

intervention treatment” occurs “in the home of the child.”  Why do the 

rule amendments expand this definition to include other settings, such as 

schools and parks?  ANSWER: The proposed waiver, on page 66, states, 

“The location will be primarily the child’s home but other community 

locations, identified by the parent, such as the park, grocery store, church, 

etc. might be included.”  Section 211.000 will be amended to reflect the 

language as it appears in the proposed waiver.  

 

QUESTION #5: The benefit limits in § 220.200 are now presented in 

“hours” rather than “units.”  Why has this language changed?  ANSWER:  

The units are still included in the service description boxes that tell the 

procedure codes and modifiers to be billed; however, procedure codes and 

units are subject to change by CMS and NCCI without any input from the 

state, so the state chose not to include the units in the descriptions, only 

the total amount of time that the service can be received.   

 

QUESTION #6: Why has the maximum benefit limit for line therapy 

decreased?  ANSWER: This was part of the change that was approved by 

CMS in 2017; this change must happen to be consistent with our current 

Waiver.  

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The agency indicated that this rule has a 

financial impact. 

 

According to the agency, the purpose of this rule is to implement a federal 

rule or regulation.  The total cost to implement that federal rule or 

regulation is $782,340 for the current fiscal year ($234,702 in general 

revenue and $547,638 in federal funds) and $1,587,466 for the next fiscal 

year ($476,240 in general revenue and $1,111,226 in federal funds).   
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The total estimated cost by fiscal year to state, county, and municipal 

government to implement the amended rule is $234,702 for the current 

fiscal year and $476,240 for the next fiscal year.  The agency indicated 

that this 1915(c) waiver has a 70/30 federal-state match and that the state 

will incur 30% of the costs while the federal government will incur 70%. 

 

The agency indicated that there is a new or increased cost or obligation of 

at least $100,000 per year to a private individual, private business, state 

government, county government, municipal government, or to two (2) or 

more of those entities combined.  It provided the following written 

findings:  

 

(1) a statement of the rule’s basis and purpose 

Acts 2019, No. 874, § 15 provides that DDS “shall budget, allocate, and 

expend up to one million dollars ($1,000,000) for the elimination of the 

Autism Waiver Services Program waiting list.”  No additional funding 

was provided for this purpose.  Therefore, DDS is expanding the number 

of Waiver slots to include all children on the waitlist.  

 

(2) the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule, 

including a statement of whether a rule is required by statute 

DDS will eliminate the Waitlist for Autism Waiver services by increasing 

the slots.  

 

(3) a description of the factual evidence that 

 (a) justifies the agency’s need for the proposed rule; and 

(b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant 

statutory objectives and justify the rule’s costs 

As of the time Act 874 was passed, there were approximately 30 children 

on the Autism Waiver waitlist.  By increasing the number of slots, DDS 

will be able to serve all children on the waitlist, as mandated by Act 874.  

Evidence suggests that children served through the Autism Waiver will 

need less intensive services later in life.  

 

(4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons 

why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved 

by the proposed rule 

Because we were mandated to eliminate the waitlist, there is no less costly 

alternative. 

 

(5) A list of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a 

result of public comment and the reasons why the alternatives do not 

adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule 

N/A 
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(6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the 

problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule and, if 

existing rules have created or contributed to the problem, an explanation 

of why amendment or repeal of the rule creating or contributing to the 

problem is not a sufficient response 

CMS requires the state to state a number of “slots” or individuals that will 

be served by a home and community-based waiver, such as the Autism 

Waiver.  To increase the number of children served, therefore, DDS must 

increase the number of slots through the public comment and 

promulgation process. 

 

(7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years 

to determine whether, based upon the evidence, there remains a need for 

the rule including, without limitation, whether:  

 (a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives; 

 (b) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and 

(c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while 

continuing to achieve the statutory objectives 

CMS requires DDS to renew the Autism Waiver every five years, so this 

Waiver is continuously being reviewed to ensure that it is meeting CMS 

requirements and meeting the needs of Arkansas families.  

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  The Department of Human Services has 

the responsibility to administer assigned forms of public assistance.  See 

Ark. Code Ann. § 20-76-201(1).  It is specifically authorized to maintain 

an indigent medical care program.  Ark. Code Ann. § 20-77-107(a)(1).  

The Department is also required to “seek a Medicaid waiver from the 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to provide intensive early 

intervention treatment to any eligible child who has been diagnosed with 

an autism spectrum disorder.”  Ark. Code Ann. § 20-77-124(b)(1).  This 

responsibility applies “only as funding becomes available for that 

purpose.”  Ark. Code Ann. § 20-77-124(c)(1).   

 

The Department has the authority to make rules that are needed or 

desirable to carry out its public assistance duties.  Ark. Code Ann. § 20-

76-201(12).  The Department and its divisions have the authority to 

promulgate rules as necessary to conform programs they administer to 

federal law and receive federal funding. Ark. Code Ann. § 25-10-129(b). 

 

Portions of this rule implement Act 874 of 2019, which made an 

appropriation for personal services and operating expenses for the 

Division of Developmental Disabilities Services for the fiscal year ending 

June 30, 2020.  The Act required the Division to “budget, allocate, and 

expend up to one million dollars ($1,000,000) for the elimination of the 

Autism Waiver Services Program waiting list.”  Act 874, § 15 (2019).   
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8. DEPARTMENT OF PARKS, HERITAGE AND TOURISM, DIVISION OF 

HERITAGE 

 

a. SUBJECT:  Rules Governing the Addition of “Criterion E” and the 

Addition of the “Arkansas Heritage Site” Designation to the Arkansas 

State Register of Historic Places Program 

 

DESCRIPTION:   These proposed rules will provide eligibility for 

historic geographic areas within Arkansas (e.g., Washington, Arkansas, 

“Birthplace of the Bowie Knife”) to be included in the state’s historic 

register through the addition of “Criterion E” to the existing rules.  Like 

existing state rules criteria A-D, “Criterion E” mirrors the rules for a 

listing in the national historic register and is otherwise necessary for the 

inclusion of historic geographic areas in the state’s historic register.  This 

proposed “Criterion E” would be an addition to the existing rules. 

 

These proposed rules also establish eligibility for historic sites and 

geographic areas to be designated as an “Arkansas Heritage Site.”  Said 

designation was first created with the passage of Act 818 of 2019.  

Accordingly, there are no existing rules on point.  These proposed rules on 

point will be new rules. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was not held in this matter.  

The public comment period expired on January 15, 2020.  The Division of 

Heritage indicated that it received no public comments. 

 

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The Division of Heritage states that this rule 

has a financial impact.  Specifically, it is anticipated that the 

implementation of the rule by the Arkansas Department of Transportation 

and by the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism can be 

accomplished with existing staff and existing resources.  However, the 

costs to the Arkansas Department of Transportation and to the Arkansas 

Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism for creating and erecting a 

sign as required under Ark. Code Ann. § 1-4-139(d) are not known, but 

are not anticipated to be material.  No costs are anticipated to accrue to 

any private individual, entity or businesses. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  Act 818 of 2019, which was sponsored 

by Senator Larry Teague, designates Washington, Arkansas as the 

birthplace of the Bowie Knife.  Additionally, the Arkansas Department of 

Transportation, in consultation with the Department of Parks and Tourism 

and the University of Arkansas Community College at Hope-Texarkana, 

shall designate a sign that displays the words and any logo for the 
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“Birthplace of the Bowie Knife, Arkansas Heritage Site.”  See Ark. Code 

Ann. § 1-4-139(d)(1).  The Department of Arkansas Heritage shall 

promulgate rules necessary to implement this section.  See Ark. Code. 

Ann. § 1-4-139(e)(1). 

 

 

9. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY, CRIME VICTIMS 

REPARATIONS BOARD 

 

  a. SUBJECT:  Crime Victims Reparations Board Rules 

 

DESCRIPTION:   Changes made to state law as a result of the 2019 

session of the General Assembly are addressed in the proposed rule 

changes.  Specific rule change proposals are as follows: 

 

Act 315 of 2019 requires that all agencies discontinue the use of the word 

“Regulation” (and Specifications) and refer to all agency rules as “rules.”  

Accordingly, all references to “regulations” have been removed. 

 

Act 910 of 2019 (the “Transformation Bill”) created the “Department of 

Public Safety” and moved the Crime Victims Reparations Board under the 

direction of the Secretary of the Department of Public Safety.  Throughout 

the rule changes, the Secretary and/or Department of Public Safety has 

been substituted for the Office of Arkansas Attorney General. 

 

Rule 1.  Title and Operative Date of the Act 

-  Removes reference to regulations. 

 

Rule 2.  Definitions 

-  Proposed language change at 2.3(D) includes an additional person to be 

included in the term victim.  The language is necessary to be consistent 

with statutory changes that were approved by Act 548 of 2001 to Ark. 

Code Ann. § 16-90-703. 

-  Proposed language change to 2.9 – allowable expense changes the 

maximum compensation for funeral expenses from $5,000 to $7,500.  The 

language change is necessary to make the dollar amount for funeral 

expenses consistent with Rule 10 which was approved in 2004.  Also 

removes reference to regulations. 

 

Rule 4.  Membership and Officers of the Board 

-  Proposed language change restructures the make-up of the Board.  The 

language change is necessary to be consistent with statutory changes that 

were approved by Act 773 of 1995 to Ark. Code Ann. § 16-90-705. 

 

Rule 6. Powers and Duties of the Board 

-  Proposed language change to 6.4 removes reference to regulations. 
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-  Proposed language change to 6.15 changes the language from Office of 

the Attorney General to Department of Public Safety. 

 

Rule 7.  Meetings of the Board 

-  Proposed language at 7.1 reflects the current meeting schedule of the 

Board.  Proposed language specifically lists the months in which the 

Board will meet to hear appeal claims.  Language was part of an 

emergency rule effective 10/24/94. 

-  Proposed language at 7.4 reflects the current practice of the Board in 

regards to a quorum and acting with consent decrees.  Language was part 

of an emergency rule effective 10/20/94. 

-  Proposed language at 7.7 removes restrictions of voting by proxies.  

Language was part of an emergency rule effective 10/20/94. 

 

Rule 8.  Eligibility Criteria for Compensation 

-  Proposed language change at 8.12 removes reference to regulations. 

 

Rule 10.  Maximum Compensation Amounts and Methods of Payments 

-  Proposed language change to 10.5 removes reference to regulations. 

 

Rule 15. Board Staff 

-  Proposed language changes the language from Office of the Attorney 

General to Department of Public Safety. 

 

Rule 17.  Amendment to Rules and Regulations 

- Proposed language change removes reference to regulations. 

 

Rule 20.  Conflict of Interest 

-  Proposed language defines conflict of interest for the administrative 

staff of the Board.  This language is necessary as the staff reviews all 

claims submitted to the Board and the language provides a procedure for 

addressing conflicts of interest. 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT:  A public hearing was not held in this matter.  

The public comment period expired on December 23, 2019.  The Crime 

Victim’s Reparations Board indicated that it received no public comments. 

 

Suba Desikan, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, asked 

the following questions and received the following answers thereto: 

 

QUESTION 1:  In Rule 2, the term ‘victim’ is expanded to include the 

“minor child, whether by blood, adoption, or marriage, of an eligible 

victim.”  This language mirrors Ark. Code Ann. § 16-90-703(11)(B)(i) for 

the most part.  However, the words ‘minor’ and ‘eligible,’ which are 

absent from the statute, are added to the rule.  Could you please explain 

the reason for the differences?  RESPONSE:  The phrases “minor” and 
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“eligible” have been in the board rules since at least 2011. The language 

from the previous rules was copied as closely as possible in order to be 

consistent with the language the board has been operating under for the 

extended period of time. 

 

QUESTION 2: In Rule 2, expenses for funeral, cremation and burial are 

allowed not in excess of $7,500.  In the summary, you indicated that 

number was being changed to be consistent with Rule 10.  “Allowable 

expense,” pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 16-90-703(1)(B), includes a 

“reasonable and necessary amount for expenses related to funeral, 

cremation, or burial.”  Could you please provide any additional statutory 

authority for the Board to set the amount at $7,500 and also explain the 

reason why that amount was chosen?  RESPONSE:  There is no statutory 

authority that sets the specific amount, only the caps on the overall 

amounts the board can award. The $7,500 amount was set by a rule 

change in 2004. The amount before 2004 was $5,000. Rule 10 was 

changed in 2004 but the board missed changing the amount in Rule 2, so 

you had a rule that allowed for $7,500 and a definition that only allowed 

for $5,000. 

 

QUESTION 3:  Rule 7.1 appears to indicate that all meetings, including 

those which are not specifically stated but may be called by the 

Chairperson, will commence at 9:30 a.m.  Was this the Board’s intention?  

RESPONSE: I will confirm with the board at its next meeting that it 

intends to have its meeting time set by rule. The board has had some 

scheduling issues with board members in the past so they may have 

chosen a definite time for member scheduling purposes. 

 

QUESTION 4:  Could you please provide statutory authority for Rule 

7.4?  RESPONSE:  16-90-706(2)(B) discusses the panel of 3. The 

language was contained in the 1999 version of the board’s rules which was 

the last complete copy of the rules that were on file with the State Library 

and which were the basis for several of the changes throughout the rules. 

Some language was simply added back from the 1999 rules. 

 

QUESTION 5:  Could you please explain why the board eliminated 

provision 7.7 regarding proxy voting?  RESPONSE: The removal was 

based on the 1999 rules. 

 

QUESTION 6:  In Question 2 of the BLR Questionnaire, you mentioned 

that this proposed rule included “necessary changes as a result of the Act 

781 of 2017 rule review.”  Could you please identify the changes that were 

made due to this Act?  RESPONSE:  Most of the changes that were made 

were a result of the Act 781 rule review. For example, Rule 7 had changes 

that the board had “enacted” over the years but were never promulgated. 

All of these discrepancies have been corrected in this rule change. 
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The proposed effective date of the rule is pending legislative review and 

approval. 

 

FINANCIAL IMPACT:  The Board indicated that the amended rules do 

not have a financial impact. 

 

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION:  Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 16-90-

706(b), the Crime Victim’s Reparation Board may regulate its own 

procedure except as otherwise provided in this subchapter, adopt rules to 

implement the provisions of this subchapter, and define any term not 

defined in this subchapter.  The Board is proposing changes to its rules 

based in part on the following Acts of the 2019 Regular Session: 

 

Act 315 of 2019, sponsored by Representative Jim Dotson, provided for 

the uniform use of the term “rule” for an agency statement of general 

applicability and future effect that implements, interprets, or prescribes 

law or policy, or describes the organization, procedure, or practice of an 

agency.  See Act 315 of 2019. 

 

Act 910 of 2019, sponsored by Representative Andy Davis, created the 

Department of Public Safety as a cabinet-level department.  See Ark. Code 

Ann. § 25-43-1401.  The administrative functions of the Crime Victims 

Reparations Board were transferred to the Department of Public Safety by 

a cabinet-level transfer.  See Ark. Code Ann. § 25-43-1402(a)(8). 

 

 

E. Agency Updates on Delinquent Rulemaking under Act 517 of 2019. 

 

1. Department of Agriculture, Arkansas Bureau of Standards (Act 501) 

 

2. Department of Agriculture, Veterinary Medical Examining Board (Act 169) 

 

3. Department of Commerce, State Insurance Department (Acts 500, 698, 823) 

 

4. Department of Commerce, Office of Skills Development (Act 179) 

 

5. Department of Corrections, Arkansas Correctional School (Act 1088) 

 

6. Department of Education, Division of Elementary and Secondary Education 

(Acts 536, 640, 843) 

 

7. Department of Education, Division of Higher Education (Acts 456, 549) 

 

8. Department of Energy and Environment, Pollution Control and Ecology 

Commission (Act 1067) 
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9. Department of Finance and Administration, Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Division (Act 691) 

 

10. Department of Finance and Administration, Director (Act 822) 

 

11. Department of Health (Acts 216, 708, 811) 

 

12. Department of Health, Division of Health Related Boards and Commissions, 

State Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Act 645) 

 

13. Department of Health, Division of Health Related Boards and Commissions, 

State Board of Nursing (Act 837) 

 

14. Department of Health, Division of Health Related Boards and Commissions, 

Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine (112) 

 

15. Highway Commission (Act 468) 

 

16. Department of Parks, Heritage, and Tourism, Division of Heritage (Act 818) 

 

17. Department of Transformation and Shared Services, Office of State 

Procurement (Act 422) 

 

F. Adjournment. 


