RULE 2 — PHARMACISTS

02-00: GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR PHARMACISTS

02-00-0001 CHANGES IN EMPLOYMENT

Whenever any licensed pharmacist shall change his place of employment for any reason, it shall be the duty of the former and current employer and said licensed pharmacist to notify the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy in writing of such change within five days after such change of employment. Notification must be made by letter, fax, email or through the Board website and must contain the new place of employment of the licensed pharmacist and their license number. (10/9/80, amended 10/14/81, 11/13/2006, and 8/31/2011).

02-00-0002—REPLACEMENT OF PHARMACIST'S CERTIFICATE

Any licensed pharmacist whose certificate has been lost or destroyed may procure a duplicate from the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy by filing an affidavit that said certificate has been lost or destroyed and by paying a fee as defined in regulation rule 01-00-0007. (10/9/80 amended 8/23/96).

02-00-0003—PRACTICE AFTER INACTIVITY WHEN RECIPROCATING OR REINSTATING A LICENSE

- (a) To be reinstated and immediately practice without supervision, the pharmacist's license shall not have lapsed more than two calendar years.
- (b) To be reciprocated and immediately practice without supervision, the pharmacist shall have practiced the profession of pharmacy, as defined by law, at least forty (40) hours per year in the previous two calendar years or be granted a waiver by the Board.
- (c) If the pharmacist must practice under supervision, the pharmacist must:
 - (1) Prior to resuming the unsupervised practice of pharmacy, practice 40 hours under direct pharmacist supervision of an Arkansas licensed pharmacist for each year or part of year out of practice. This time under supervision shall not exceed 240 hours.
 - (2) Cause the supervising pharmacist to document in writing to the Board, that the pharmacist has completed the designated number of hours of supervised practice.
 - (3) Meet with a Board representative in a practice situation so that the Board representative can, by observation, questioning, and other methods, ensure that the pharmacist is able to competently practice pharmacy. (10/12/93, Revised 11/30/2010)

02-00-0004 ARMED FORCES CERTIFICATES

Any person serving in the armed forces within the State of Arkansas, who is a licensed pharmacist in another state, may obtain a temporary permit to practice pharmacy in the State of Arkansas by furnishing certified proof of his registration from the Board of Pharmacy in his state of original registration, and the payment of a fee as defined in Regulation 01–00–0007. This permit shall entitle the holder thereof to practice in any store where an Arkansas licensed pharmacist is on duty a minimum of forty (40) hours per week. The permit must be renewed at each succeeding meeting of the Board. (10/09/80 amended 8/23/96).

02-01: INTERNSHIP/CLERKSHIP

02-01-0001—INTERNSHIP REQUIRED

Hereafter no extern, intern, or student of a pharmacy school shall be granted authority from this Board to practice pharmacy in Arkansas and serve any internship period in Arkansas unless he is licensed with the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy and undergoes a criminal background check pursuant to Regulation Rule 11 and conducted by the Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Applications for an intern's license, and for criminal background checks, will be furnished by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy. The applicant will be responsible for the payment of applicable fees for state and federal criminal background check pursuant to written instructions provided by the Board, and for applicable fees for an intern's license to the Board. (Amended 6/23/96, 11/15/2003 and 03/01/2004).

02-01-0002—BOARD OF PHARMACY REGULATES INTERNSHIP PROGRAM

The Board of Pharmacy is charged with regulating the internship program in Arkansas Code §17-92-307. The Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy recognizes that in order to properly fulfill its obligation to the profession of pharmacy and general welfare and protection of the public health that it must implement and supervise an internship program in the State of Arkansas.

From time to time, as is required to establish a viable internship program, the Board will establish, publish, and disseminate criteria establishing requirements and standards necessary for qualifications for licensure under Arkansas Code §17-92-305, and §17-92-307.

Hereafter, every applicant for licensure by examination in Arkansas must have 2,000 hours of acceptable internship training obtained after beginning the professional college curriculum. Required hours may be obtained in a training program as part of school curriculum under Arkansas Board of Pharmacy approved conditions. (Amended 5/31/14)

02-01-0003—DEFINITIONS

- (a) "Licensed intern" means a person licensed by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy, as a licensed intern, and who is a student accepted by, and enrolled as a student in a College of Pharmacy approved by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy, or who is a graduate of a foreign college of pharmacy and has successfully completed a transcript verification program and who, due to circumstances beyond his/her control, has not been able to successfully complete a college of pharmacy equivalency exam program, equivalent to graduation from a Board of Pharmacy approved College of Pharmacy as set forth in regulation rule 02-02-0001 (A); provided, however, the graduate may qualify as a licensed intern, under this exception to the required college of pharmacy equivalency exam program set forth in regulation rule 02-02-0001 (A) only until the first offering of said equivalency.
 - (1) "Extern" means an intern prior to graduation or a graduate who has taken and failed the Board exam.
 - (2) "Graduate intern" means an intern who has graduated or completed requirements for examination as set forth in 02-02-0001 (a) and completed the-practical experience or training required under Arkansas Board of Pharmacy approved conditions.
- (b) "Graduation" means certification from a Board-approved College of Pharmacy that the student has fulfilled all requirements for graduation or has completed all foreign pharmacist requirements as set forth in regulation rule 02-02-0001 (a).

- (c) "Supervision" means a licensed pharmacist and/or certified preceptor supervises the practical experience of a licensed intern with both personal and physical supervision, and actually gives instruction to the intern obtaining the experience during the entire period of such experience.
- (d) "Class A pharmacy" means a pharmacy which has a pharmacy permit with a pharmacist on duty at least forty (40) hours per week, and no unsatisfactory deficiency and no more than three non-compliant deficiencies noted on its last Board inspection. (Amended 10/00, 11/13/2006, 7/5/2007, 11/1/2007, and 8/31/2011.)

02-01-0004—REQUIREMENTS FOR INTERNSHIP TRAINING

- (a) Any extern or intern receiving internship training practice or experience in the State of Arkansas must be licensed as an intern with the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy. No credit for internship training will be allowed prior to licensure as an intern. The intern license application can be obtained from the office of the Board of Pharmacy. The intern license fee is specified in regulation regulation of 10-00-0007(a)10.
- (b) An applicant for an intern license shall submit an application on a form provided by the Board and shall have the following qualifications:
 - (1) Be of good moral character and temperate habits, and
 - (2) Be enrolled as a student in a college of pharmacy accredited by ACPE and approved by the Board, or be a graduate of a foreign college of pharmacy who has obtained Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) Certification from NABP.
- (c) All students enrolled in any college of pharmacy shall be licensed as interns by the Board prior to any participation in the practice of Pharmacy as defined in §17-92-101, §17-92-301, and §17-92-307 in Arkansas.
- (d) The intern license remains valid as long as the intern maintains active student status in a Board-approved College of Pharmacy, and for six (6) months after graduation from a College of Pharmacy, or completion of foreign pharmacist requirements as set forth in regulation rule 02-02-0001 (a). At this time, the intern license becomes void.
- (e) An intern may not practice pharmacy as a graduate intern until they have met all criteria for graduate intern status.
- (f) The licensed intern's certificate must be displayed in the drugstore or pharmacy in which the intern is being trained. Licensed interns shall not be left in sole charge of the prescription department at any time. Violation of this regulationrule may result in a cancellation of any and all internship hours toward licensure that may be accrued by the pharmacy intern, and suspension, revocation or other penalties of the Pharmacist in Charge, the supervising pharmacist and/or the pharmacy permit.
- (g) For graduates of a foreign college of pharmacy, the first 500 hours of pharmacy practice as a pharmacy intern, for each pharmacy setting where an intern practices pharmacy, the intern shall complete and file with the Board of Pharmacy office, prior to any practice, a "Training Plan" that is signed by the pharmacist in charge for that particular work situation. Prior to completion of the first 500 hours of practical experience, the pharmacy intern may only work under the direct supervision of a certified preceptor. Hours of practical experience include only those hours worked under the direct supervision of a preceptor and may not exceed 40 hours per week. The pharmacist in charge must approve and verify, by signing the affidavit of experience, that the intern has earned their hours of practical experience under the direct supervision of a certified preceptor. Training plans shall expire on May 31 of each year. At no time may a preceptor supervise more than one licensed intern. Interns must file affidavits of

- experience prior to the expiration date of their training plan to get credit for these hours with the Board of Pharmacy.
- (h) An intern may practice pharmacy in any Class A pharmacy under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist provided:
 - 1. The intern notifies the Board of Pharmacy in writing of his or her employment as a pharmacy intern within five days of starting to work in any pharmacy, and
 - 2. The intern notifies the Board of any change in his or her employment for any reason within five days of the change.
 - 3. Notification is made in writing by letter, fax, email or through the Board website and must contain the name of the intern, the name and address of the pharmacy, and the date of hire or date of change in employment. It is the intern's responsibility to verify that the notification has been received and processed by the Arkansas Board of Pharmacy.
 - 4. At no time may a supervising pharmacist or preceptor supervise more than one intern outside of an assigned educational rotation sponsored by a college of pharmacy.
- (i) Participation in a School or College of Pharmacy curriculum extern or clerkship program, approved by the Board of Pharmacy, will be credited week for week as training.
- (j) The Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy will not approve applicants for the NAPLEX until the applicant has provided proof of graduation from a college of pharmacy approved by the Board or proof of completion of foreign pharmacist requirements as set forth in regulation rule 02-01-0004(b)(3).
- (k) A graduate intern may practice pharmacy in the State of Arkansas under the supervision of a pharmacist in a Class A pharmacy and will not count in the pharmacist or preceptor to intern ratio. A graduate intern must sit for the NAPLEX within 6 months of the date of graduation. If a graduate intern sits for the NAPLEX and does not make a passing grade, the graduate intern will be reduced to intern status and will once again count in the pharmacist to intern ratio.
- (l) After presenting satisfactory proof of either
 - (1) graduation and receipt of the first professional undergraduate degree from an ACPE accredited college of pharmacy approved by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy; or (2) Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) Certification from NABP and submitting an affidavit of 2,000 hours of practical experience or training under Arkansas Board of Pharmacy approved conditions, the intern may be designated as a candidate suitable for full licensure if other conditions have been met.
- (m) If the pharmacy intern is suspected to have, or evidence exists that a pharmacy intern may have violated any law or regulation rule regarding the practice of pharmacy, legend drugs or controlled substances, the preceptor shall notify the Board in writing, within ten days or immediately, if any danger to the public health or safety may exist. Any other pharmacist, whether or not practicing in the same pharmacy, who has such knowledge or suspicion, shall notify the Board in a like manner.
- (n)
- (1) The Board may revoke, suspend, or refuse to issue a license, or impose other appropriate penalties pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 17-92-315 against an intern for any of the acts or offenses set forth in Ark. Code Ann. § 17-92-311.
- (2) The provisions of Board Regulation Rule 02-04-0001 et seq. regarding unprofessional or dishonorable conduct shall be applicable to interns, and all references therein to "pharmacist" shall be construed as "intern" for purposes of this subsection.
- (3) The procedures set for in Ark. Code Ann. § 19-92-313 and Board regulation rules applicable

to disciplinary proceedings against pharmacists shall be applicable to any proceeding against an intern in this subsection.

(Revised 6/22/84, 4/07/89, 6/20/91, 4/10/92, 10/2004, 11/13/2006, 11/1/2007, 7/10/2009, and 8/31/2011)

02-01-0005—RULES APPLYING TO PRECEPTORS WHO TRAIN INTERNS

The Arkansas internship-training program requires that a pharmacist, who has been duly certified by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy, may serve as preceptor for an intern or extern. A pharmacist must meet the following requirements to be certified as a preceptor by the State Board of Pharmacy:

- (a) Be an Arkansas pharmacist, licensed for more than one year and actively engaged in the practice of Pharmacy for the year immediately preceding the application for certification as a preceptor.
- (b) Be a pharmacist employed in a pharmacy which currently holds a Class A rating indicated by the Inspection Sheet for pharmacies as outlined by the State Board of Pharmacy.
- (c) For the initial application as preceptor, the applicant must satisfactorily complete a test on requirements and responsibilities of a preceptor as developed and administered by the Board of Pharmacy or its representatives.
- (d) Have a pharmacy library (latest edition), which meets or exceeds the requirements of the "Inspection Sheet" for pharmacies.
- (e) At least one preceptor from the internship site shall be a member of an appropriate national pharmaceutical organization. Preceptors shall be a member of at least one professional state organization.
- (f) Must not have been convicted of any violation of Arkansas Code §17-92-311, unless the Board officially grants exception.
- (g) Must have attended at least one professional meeting during each licensure biennium.
- (h) Must agree to give immediate personal and direct physical supervision to the intern. A preceptor cannot supervise more than one intern at any specified time.
- (i) Preceptors must renew their certification every two years by application and payment of fees specified in regulation rule 01-00-0007.

(Revised 11/13/2006 and 11/1/2007)

02-01-0006—PENALTY FOR VIOLATION

Violation of any of the rules and requirements set forth in this section may cause the preceptor to lose his or her certification, and may also cause the intern to lose internship training credit. (10/09/80, Revised 2/17/8 2/12/86, 2/10/87, 6/20/91, 8/23/96 and 11/1/2007).

02-01-0007—ACCREDITED PHARMACY DEGREE PROGRAM

An accredited pharmacy degree program shall be any program which meets at least the minimum standards established for a recognized Doctor of Pharmacy program by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education.

At the October Board meeting each year, the Board of Pharmacy shall adopt a specific list (by name) of approved colleges. Until the list is revised, the existing list shall remain valid. (6/25/83, Revised 11/13/2006)

02-02: EXAMINATION

02-02-0001—REQUISITES FOR EXAMINATION

Before being approved to take the NAPLEX examination for licensure in Arkansas, each applicant must meet the following requirements:

- (a) Satisfactory proof of graduation and receipt of the first professional undergraduate degree from a college of pharmacy approved by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy; or Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) Certification from NABP with 2,000 hours of practical experience or training under Arkansas Board of Pharmacy approved conditions.
- (b) Applicants may request a blank application from the Board of Pharmacy, which must be completed and returned to the Board of Pharmacy office together with the fee as defined in regulation rule 01-00-0007. The application must be received no later than the date designated by the Board for receipt of applications.
- (c) Each application must be accompanied by a recent 3" X 2" picture and a physical description stating age, height, weight, color of hair, eyes, and complexion of the applicant.
- (d) Each applicant must undergo a state and federal criminal background check pursuant to Regulation Rule 11, to be conducted by the Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The Board will furnish the forms and instructions to applicants for the criminal background check. The applicant is responsible for the payment of fees for criminal background checks pursuant to written instructions provided by the Board.
- (e)
- (1) The examination will be held at a site and at a time or during a time period designated by NABP or their contracted testing vendor.
- (2) Upon the receipt by the Board of Pharmacy of (1) certification of the requirements as defined in section (a) of this regulation rule, and (2) an application for licensure by examination; such applicant may practice pharmacy as a graduate intern, pursuant to regulation rule § 02-01-0002, in the State of Arkansas temporarily until the occurrence of the first of the following events:
 - (A) failure to take the exam at the designated time for the individual applicant; provided, however, the Board may grant a similar temporary privilege to practice pharmacy as a graduate intern subject to the same terms and conditions herein in the event the applicant is reasonably unable, due to circumstances beyond the applicant's control, to take the examination at the first designated time for the individual applicant;
 - (B) failure to receive a passing grade on the examination at the first designated time for the individual applicant;
 - (C)
- i. the expiration of 6 calendar months following the applicant's graduation date from a college of pharmacy approved by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy; or
- ii. reaching the intern license expiration date on December 31 of the second calendar year following issuance for foreign pharmacy graduates. Foreign pharmacy graduates may request an extension for the expiration of their intern permit while making progress towards the 2000 practice hours required for examination. Foreign pharmacy graduates must attain 500 initial practice hours in order to practice as a graduate intern.

- (3) The granting of status as a graduate intern shall in no way entitle the recipient thereof to any rights of tenure of permanent license and is conferred gratuitously at the discretion of the Board.
- (e) The test or tests shall be graded and reported, and a reported score of 75 or above is considered passing.
- (f) No person except members of the Board of Pharmacy or their authorized representatives will be permitted to enter the testing site during the course of examination.
- (g) The applicant must make a score of 70% or more on the jurisprudence exam prior to making application for licensure as a pharmacist in the state of Arkansas. (10/09/80, Revised 1/14/81, 6/22/84, 6/13/85, 6/20/91, 2/11/97, 11/15/2003, 03/01/2004, 11/13/2006,11/1/2007, and 8/31/2011)

02-02-0002—SCORE TRANSFER

The Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy participates in the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy Score Transfer Program. The Score Transfer Program requires the applicant, or test candidate, to submit a NAPLEX Score Transfer Form before the administration date of NAPLEX and fulfill other state requirements for licensure in the state to which the scores are transferred for licensure by examination in that state.

If a candidate takes NAPLEX in another participating state, properly transfers the score to Arkansas, and completes other requirements for licensure including but not limited to criminal background checks pursuant to RegulationRule 11, Arkansas will license the applicant by the examination process within twelve (12) months of receipt of the score transfer.

The Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy will provide information related to states participating, NAPLEX fees, and Arkansas fees. (6/20/91, Revised 11/15/2003 and 11/30/2010)

02-03: RECIPROCITY

02-03-0001—REQUIREMENTS FOR RECIPROCITY

No temporary license shall be granted to a reciprocity applicant until the preliminary application has been received and approved by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy and the applicant has submitted the application to the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy office, paid the reciprocity fee, undergone a criminal background check pursuant to RegulationRule 11, supplied a copy of the applicant's birth certificate, submitted proof of required continuing education, and supplied a current photograph of the applicant. The temporary license shall expire at the next meeting of the Board of Pharmacy after the issuance of the temporary license , or when the results of the criminal background check have been received, whichever is later. However, the temporary license will automatically expire 180 days from the date of issue and the holder of the temporary license must cease practicing pharmacy in the State of Arkansas until reciprocity has been granted by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy.

Before issuing a temporary license, the Board Member must personally talk to the applicant and ascertain that he/she has passed the Arkansas Jurisprudence Exam.

A pharmacist is not eligible for an Arkansas license by reciprocity until he or she has been licensed six months in his/her state of original licensure by examination. Any practice in Arkansas within this six month period, must be as an intern and under the requirements set out in this criteria (unless consideration is made by the Board of Pharmacy and an exception is approved). The application for reciprocity will become null and void if it has not been completed within one year of the date of receipt in the Board of Pharmacy office. (10/09/80, Revised 4/07/89 and 4/10/92, 2/10/97, and 11/15/2003)

02-04: DEFINING UNPROFESSIONAL OR DISHONORABLE CONDUCT:

02-04-0001—Preamble

In defining "unprofessional conduct," the definitions of professional conduct and a pharmacist's duty should be determined. Professional conduct may be defined as complying with all the laws and regulation rules that apply to a given professional activity.

A pharmacist's duty means the practicing pharmacist has a general duty to qualify himself by attaining and maintaining an acceptable level of professional competence and by using such skill and precaution in the preparation, compounding, dispensing, labeling and distribution of drugs and medical devices whether on prescription or not, so as to prevent injury or death to all who are exposed to his or her professional services; and if the pharmacist is an owner, operator, or director of a pharmacy, he has an additional duty to employ only qualified persons and such other duties as are incidental to the operation of a mercantile business establishment.

02-04-0002—Definition

Unprofessional or dishonorable conduct by a pharmacist shall mean, among other things, but not limited to:

- (a) Violation of any provision of the pharmacy act.
- (b) Violation of the Board of Pharmacy regulation rule s.
- (c) Violation of the Food, Drug and Cosmetic act.
- (d) Violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act.
- (e) Failure of a pharmacist to conduct himself or herself professionally in conformity with all applicable federal, state, and municipal laws and regulation rules in his or her relationship with the public, other health care professions, and fellow pharmacists.
- (f) Failure to keep his or her pharmacy and/or area of professional practice clean, orderly, maintained and secured for the proper performance of his professional duties.
- (g) Acquiring prescription stock from unlicensed sources or buying or selling legend drugs in violation of local, state, or federal law.
- (h) Personal participation in the sale of alcoholic beverages while "on duty" as a pharmacist. (Exempts pharmacies selling alcoholic beverages before 6/85.)
- (i) Failure to hold to the strictest confidences all knowledge concerning patrons, their prescriptions, and other confidence entrusted or acquired by him; divulging in the interest of the patron, only by proper release forms, or where required for proper compliance with legal authority.
- (j) Participation in a plan or agreement, which compromises the quality or extent of professional services or facilities, at the expense of the public health and welfare.

- (k) Participation in any plan, agreement, or arrangement which eliminates or detrimentally affects the traditional relationship of physician, patient, pharmacist, and the patient's freedom of choice of professional services.
- (l) The distribution, promotion, or advertising of premiums, rebates, coupons, amounts off, etc., on prescription drugs unless the offer is given to all patients purchasing prescriptions in the same time period. Senior Citizen discounts shall not be considered a violation of this section.
- (m) The solicitation of prescription business by providing prescribers with prescription blanks with the name of any licensed pharmacy or pharmacy printed thereon.
- (n) Violation of <u>regulationrule</u>s and procedures governing payment to pharmacies for pharmaceutical services for eligible public assistance recipients and/or other third party payment programs.
- (o) The provision of medication carts, printing and maintenance of the data base to produce the doctor's order sheet or medication administration record, consultation and related services by provider pharmacists to long-term care facilities free of charge or obviously below cost.
- (p) Falsifying contracts or agreements for legend drug purchases or violation of such contracts.
- (q) Providing invalid or insufficient checks in payment for licenses or renewals.
- (r) Receiving more than three (3) non-compliant deficiencies on two consecutive Board of Pharmacy inspections. The inspection is based on the Board of Pharmacy inspection form, which is available on request.
- (s) Dishonorable conduct shall include, without limitation, conduct involving moral turpitude, fraud, or dishonesty, or otherwise demonstrating lack of good moral character, whether or not said conduct involves the practice of pharmacy. (10/09/80, Revised 4/07/89, 6/07/90, 4/10/92 and 6/12/03)

02-05: BOARD ACTIONS

02-05-0001—EMERGENCY SUSPENSION

The Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act § 25-15-211 (c) states:

"If the agency finds that public health, safety, or welfare imperatively requires emergency action and incorporates a finding to that effect in its order, summary suspension of a license may be ordered pending proceedings for revocation or other action, which proceedings shall be promptly instituted and determined."

Where the Executive Director of the Board of Pharmacy believes that the above condition exists, he shall call an emergency meeting with proper notifications of involved parties and media. Proper notifications shall be consistent with the Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act. This emergency meeting may be via a conference telephone call to a quorum of Board members.

The Executive Director of the Board of Pharmacy shall introduce evidence why he/she thinks an emergency exists and that a violation of the Pharmacy licensing law or regulation has occurred. The Board shall determine whether the license should be summarily suspended. A hearing shall be scheduled promptly for which notice shall be given pursuant to § 17-92-313. If immediate action is requested, this hearing shall be within 14 days from the final Board decision. (10/12/88)

02-06: CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR PHARMACISTS

02-06-0001—ESTABLISHING AN ARKANSAS TRIPARTITE COMMITTEE ON CONTINUING PHARMACY EDUCATION

- (a) The Arkansas Tripartite Committee on Continuing Pharmacy Education, hereinafter referred to as the Committee, is established to maintain professional competence through continuing education. The Committee shall consist of the Executive Director of the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy, the Dean(s) of the colleges of pharmacy approved by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy that are located within the state of Arkansas, and the Executive Vice President of the Arkansas Pharmacists Association or the designated representatives of these individuals.
- (b) The general areas of responsibility for the Committee shall be following:
 - (1) Plan and coordinate continuing education opportunities.
 - (2) Promote research in continuing pharmacy education.
 - (3) Develop information and record systems, pertaining to the participation of pharmacists licensed in the state of Arkansas, in continuing education.
 - (4) Make recommendations to the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy concerning Continuing Education Regulation Rules.
- (c) The Committee will meet periodically to review and recommend changes in the criteria by which the continuing education will be approved and to accomplish the above responsibilities.
- (d) The Executive Director of the Board of Pharmacy will carry out approval of continuing education according to the guidelines below.
- (e) The Executive Director of the Board of Pharmacy will act as Chairman of the Committee. (Revised 7/5/2007)

02-06-0002—ACCREDITATION GUIDELINES

- (a) Guidelines
 - (1) The Continuing Education Unit (CEU) shall be the basis for accreditation of offerings within the state. One-tenth (0.1) CEU is defined as one (1) contact hour.
 - (2) The Board of Pharmacy will accredit intrastate and interstate continuing education offerings that have been reviewed by an appropriate national agency.
 - (3) Continuing education programs shall be accredited for the total length of the program.
 - (4) Credit shall not be allowed for:
 - (A) "Banquet" meetings with no educational program.
 - (B) Unstructured demonstrations.
 - (C) Unstructured question and answer sessions.
 - (5) Credit (hour for hour) shall be allowed for:
 - (A) Speakers.
 - (B) Panels.
 - (C) Structured discussions, workshops, and demonstrations.
 - (D) Structured questions and answers sessions.
 - (6) Keynote speakers and topics will be accredited on an individual basis.
 - (7) The Committee reserves the right for members or designees to review programs in operation.
- (b) Accreditation Mechanism
 - (1) Members of the Committee shall be responsible for reviewing and recommending changes in the criteria for the accreditation of continuing education offerings.

- (2) In the temporary absence of a designated Committee member, a designated representative may review and offer recommendations for establishing and reviewing the criteria for the accreditation of continuing education offerings.
- (3) The Executive Director of the Board of Pharmacy shall review all programs within seven (7) days of receipt of request for accreditation.
- (4) All requests for accreditation must be received, in writing, in the Board of Pharmacy office at least seven (7) days before the offering is to occur.
- (c) Requirements for Accreditation
 - (1) The organization shall have completed the appropriate program requirements specified in section (d).
 - (2) The organization shall have the proper personnel to plan and produce educational programs.
 - (3) The organization and personnel presenting the offering shall be qualified in the area of the presentation.
 - (4) The organization shall provide the proper administrative facilities, provide the proper physical facilities, and have the financial resources for the production of educational programs.
- (d) Program Criteria for Accreditation
 - (1) The program criteria shall be appropriate to meet the needs of the pharmacist.
 - (2) Beginning and ending times for each section of "live" programs must be indicated.
 - (3) A description of the program content shall accompany the request for accreditation and must be evaluated prior to its presentation.
 - (4) The program description, which is presented for accreditation, shall have a statement of objectives and goals.
 - (5) The program outline shall indicate how performance and effectiveness by the pharmacist will be measured.
 - (A) Live programs in themselves shall be acceptable for accreditation.
 - (B) Audiovisual and correspondence programs shall require a live moderator or testing procedure.
 - (6) The program shall allow the pharmacist a method to evaluate the presentation.
 - (7) The program shall demonstrate a quality educational process.
 - (A) Appropriate handout materials will be used with live presentations and correspondence courses.
 - (B) Appropriate audiovisual materials will be used with audiovisual presentations and correspondence courses when necessary.
 - (8) The program administrator shall present accreditation certificates to pharmacists, who satisfy requirements of the program. The application for approval shall specifically state how the accreditation certificates will be presented to participants.
 - (9) The Executive Director of the Board of Pharmacy must approve changes in the date, starting time, or duration, of the program being presented, if said changes are made after initial accreditation.
 - (10) Changes in speakers are acceptable if the quality of the program being presented is not diminished.
 - (11) The Executive Director of the Board of Pharmacy must receive any changes in topics to be presented at least seven (7) days before the program is to be presented.

- (12) The organization presenting a continuing education program must provide reasonable notification to potential participants of any changes in date, time, or duration of the program; changes in speakers; or changes in topics to be presented.
- (13) The program administrator shall require all participating pharmacists to sign in and out to show attendance during the entire CE session unit in order to be eligible for credit.
- (14) The program administrator must keep a record of all attendees receiving credit for four (4) years for verification by the Board.
- (e) Programs sponsored and conducted by local pharmacists' associations, will be accredited provided that the programs meet the criteria outlined in (c) and (d) of these guidelines in addition to the following procedures.
 - (1) The program shall be structured and shall be offered to all pharmacists who are members of the local association.
 - (2) Each program shall be a minimum of one hour in length.
 - (3) The local pharmacists' association shall provide a method of registration and verification of attendance as outlined in (d).
- (f) Failure to follow the guidelines and requirements of regulation <u>rule</u> 02-06-0002 will disqualify the program administrator or other entity requesting CE accreditation from being eligible for approval of future program requests.

(Revised 11/30/2010)

02-06-0003—IMPLEMENTATION OF PHARMACY CONTINUING EDUCATION

- (a) The Board of Pharmacy adopts the accreditation guidelines set out by the Arkansas Tripartite Committee on Continuing Pharmacy Education for establishment of acceptable continuing education.
- (b) Beginning with the 2002-2003 biennium—for licensure in the 2004-2005 biennium, and in all future two year periods through the 2008-2009 biennium, the requirements for continuing education will be as follows:
 - (1) 30 hours of continuing education each biennium, as approved by the Arkansas Tripartite Committee on Continuing Pharmacy Education.
 - (2) A minimum of twelve (12) continuing education hours of the thirty (30) required hours, must be live contact hours, as defined by the Committee. The live hours must be concerning drug therapy or patient care.
- (c) Beginning with the 2010-2011 biennium for licensure in the 2012-2013 biennium, and in all future two year periods, the requirements for continuing education will be as follows:
 - (1) 30 hours of continuing education each biennium, as approved by the Arkansas Tripartite Committee on Continuing Pharmacy Education.
 - (2) A minimum of twelve (12) continuing education hours of the thirty (30) required hours, must be live contact hours, as defined by the Committee.
 - (3) A minimum of twelve (12) continuing education hours of the thirty (30) required hours, must be accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.
- (d) The Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy will accept continuing education credits, approved by State Boards of Pharmacy in other states, toward licensure as a pharmacist in Arkansas provided that there is a reciprocal arrangement and that the requirements of this section are met.
- (e) Pharmacists are required to retain certificates of participation in continuing education for a period of four years and to certify completion of the required continuing education on a form furnished by the Board of Pharmacy with the license renewal forms. The pharmacist must

- present certificates of participation to any representative of the Board of Pharmacy if requested to do so.
- (f) Pharmacists who wish to retain their license, but do not want to meet the continuing education requirements, may go on inactive pharmacist status for an indefinite period. To reestablish active status and return to practice in Arkansas, a pharmacist must acquire half of the continuing education hours missed plus the continuing education hours for the current licensure period up to 60 hours. If the pharmacist has been on inactive status with regard to continuing education for two (2) calendar years or more and has not been actively practicing pharmacy in another state, said pharmacist shall also comply with all requirements in regulation rule 02-00-0003.
- (g) Certifications awarded by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties during any biennium, will satisfy continuing education requirements for that biennium, subject to approval by the Arkansas Tripartite Committee on Continuing Pharmacy Education.
- (h) Completion of post-graduate health professional course work may satisfy continuing education requirements subject to approval by the Arkansas Tripartite Committee on Continuing Pharmacy Education.

(4/07/89, Amended: 04/30/93, 6/98, 8/2001, 7/10/2009 and 11/30/2010)

Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law. Act 820 of the Regular Session

1 2	State of Arkansas 92nd General Assembly	As Engrossed: \$3/28/19 A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2019		SENATE BILL 564
4	Regular Session, 2017		SEIVITE BILL 301
5	By: Senators Irvin, T. Garner, J.	Hendren, D. Wallace	
6	By: Representative Bentley	,	
7			
8		For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT TO AM	END THE LAW CONCERNING THE OCCUPA	TIONAL
10	LICENSURE OF	ACTIVE DUTY SERVICE MEMBERS, RET	URNING
11	MILITARY VET	ERANS, AND THEIR SPOUSES; TO PROV	IDE
12	AUTOMATIC LI	CENSURE; TO REQUIRE REVIEW AND AP	PROVAL
13	OF RULES SUB	MITTED BY OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING	
14	ENTITIES; AN	ID FOR OTHER PURPOSES.	
15			
16			
17		Subtitle	
18	TO AMEN	ND THE LAW CONCERNING THE	
19	OCCUPAT	TIONAL LICENSURE OF ACTIVE DUTY	
20	SERVICE	E MEMBERS, RETURNING MILITARY	
21	VETERAN	NS, AND THEIR SPOUSES; TO PROVIDE	
22	AUTOMAT	TIC LICENSURE; TO REQUIRE REVIEW	
23	AND API	PROVAL OF RULES SUBMITTED.	
24			
25			
26	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GEN	ERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARK	ANSAS:
27			
28	SECTION 1. DO NOT	CODIFY. <u>Legislative Intent.</u>	
29	The General Assemb	ly finds that:	
30	(1) The cur	rent law regarding the issuance o	f licenses,
31	certificates, and permit	s required to enable the holder t	o lawfully engage in
32	a profession, trade, or	employment in this state continue	s to constitute a
33	hardship on active duty	service members, returning milita	ry veterans, and
34	their spouses;		
35	(2) Acts 20	17, No. 248, amended the law to r	equire that all
36	state boards and commiss	ions promulgate rules to expedite	the process and

1 procedures for full licensure, certification, or permitting for active duty 2 service members, returning military veterans, and their spouses; (3) State boards and commissions required to promulgate rules by 3 4 Acts 2017, No. 248, have failed to do so in accordance with the law; and 5 (4) Automatic licensure is necessary to remedy these hardships 6 and allow active duty service members, returning military veterans, and their 7 spouses to engage in their chosen professions. 8 9 Section 2. Arkansas Code § 17-1-106 is amended to read as follows: 10 17-1-106. Licensure, certification, or permitting of Automatic 11 licensure for active duty service members, returning military veterans, and 12 spouses - Definition Definitions. 13 (a) As used in this section;: 14 (1) "Automatic licensure" means the granting of occupational licensure without an individual's having met occupational licensure 15 requirements provided under this title or by the rules of the occupational 16 17 licensing entity; 18 (2) "Occupational licensing entity" means an office, board, 19 commission, department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government 20 having authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise 21 authorize an individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession; 22 (3) "Occupational licensure" means a license, certificate, 23 registration, permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule that is required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or 24 25 profession; and 26 (4) "returning Returning military veteran" means a former member 27 of the United States Armed Forces who was discharged from active duty under 28 circumstances other than dishonorable. 29 (b)(1) A-state board or commission that issues licenses, certificates, or permits required to enable the holder to lawfully engage in a profession, 30 31 trade, or employment in this state An occupational licensing entity shall allow grant the following individuals to secure employment with a temporary 32 license, certificate, or permit while completing the application process for 33 34 full licensure or certification or permitting automatic licensure to engage 35 in an occupation or profession if the to an individual who is the holder in 36 good standing of a substantially equivalent license, certificate, or permit

1 occupational license issued by another state, territory, or district of the 2 United States and is: 3 (1)(A) An active duty military service member stationed in the 4 State of Arkansas; 5 (2)(B) A returning military veteran applying for licensure 6 within one (1) year of his or her discharge from active duty; or 7 (3)(C) The spouse of a person under subdivisions (b)(1) 8 (b)(1)(A) and (2) (b)(1)(B) of this section. 9 (2) However, an occupational licensing entity shall be required 10 to provide automatic licensure if the proposed rules are not approved as 11 required under subsection (d)(2) of this section. 12 (c) A state board or commission shall expedite the process and procedures for full licensure, certification, or permitting for the following 13 14 individuals: 15 (1) An active duty military service member stationed in the 16 State of Arkansas; 17 (2) A returning military veteran applying within one (1) year of 18 his or her discharge from active duty; or 19 (3) The spouse of a person under subdivisions (c)(1) and (2) of 20 this section. 21 (d) When considering an application for full licensure, 22 certification, or permitting for an active duty military service member stationed in the State of Arkansas or a returning military veteran applying 23 24 within one (1) year of his or her discharge from active duty, a state board 25 or commission: 26 (1) Shall consider whether or not the applicant's military 27 training and experience in the area of licensure, certification, or permitting is substantially similar to experience or education required for 28 29 licensure, certification, or permitting; and 30 (2) Shall accept the applicant's military training and experience in the area of licensure, certification, or permitting in lieu of 31 32 experience or education required for licensure, certification, or permitting 33 if the state board or commission determines the military training and 34 experience is a satisfactory substitute for the experience or education 35 required for licensure, certification, or permitting. 36 (e) A license, certificate, or permit required to enable the holder to

1	lawfully engage in a profession, trade, or employment in this state held by
2	an active duty military service member deployed outside the State of Arkansas
3	or his or her spouse shall not expire until one hundred eighty (180) days
4	following the active duty military service member's or spouse's return from
5	active deployment.
6	(f)(1) A state board or commission shall allow a full or partial
7	exemption from continuing education required as part of licensure,
8	certification, or permitting for a profession, trade, or employment in this
9	state for the following individuals:
10	(A) An active duty military service member deployed
11	outside of the State of Arkansas;
12	(B) A returning military veteran within one (1) year of
13	his or her discharge from active duty; or
14	(C) The spouse of a person under subdivisions (f)(1) and
15	(2) of this section.
16	(2) A state board or commission allowing a full or partial
17	exemption from continuing education required under subdivision (f)(1) of this
18	section may require evidence of completion of continuing education before
19	issuing the individual a subsequent license, certificate, or permit or
20	authorizing the renewal of a license, certificate, or permit.
21	(g) All state boards and commissions shall promulgate rules necessary
22	to carry out the provisions of this section.
23	An occupational licensing entity may submit proposed rules recommending
24	an expedited process and procedure for occupational licensure instead of
25	automatic licensure as provided under subsection (b) of this section to the
26	Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council.
27	(d) The Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the
28	Legislative Council shall:
29	(1) Review the proposed rules of an occupational licensing
30	entity as submitted for public comment and at least thirty (30) days before
31	the public comment period ends under the Arkansas Administrative Procedure
32	Act, § 25-15-201 et seq.; and
33	(2) Approve the proposed rules submitted under subsection (c)
34	based on:
35	(A) A determination of whether the expedited process and
36	procedure provide the least restrictive means of accomplishing occupational

1	licensure; and
2	(B) Any other criteria the Administrative Rules and
3	Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council determines necessary to
4	achieve the objectives of this section.
5	(e) The Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the
6	Legislative Council may:
7	(1) Establish a subcommittee to assist in the duties assigned
8	under this section;
9	(2) Assign information filed with the Administrative Rules and
10	Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council under this section to one
11	(1) or more subcommittee of the Legislative Council, including without
12	limitation a subcommittee created under subdivision (e)(1) of this section;
13	<u>or</u>
14	(3) Delegate its duties under this section to one (1) or more
15	subcommittees of the Legislative Council, subject to final review and
16	approval of the Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the
17	Legislative Council.
18	(f) An occupational licensing entity shall:
19	(1) Submit proposed rules authorized under subsection (c) of
20	this section to the Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the
21	Legislative Council for review and approval before the proposed rules are
22	promulgated under the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, § 25-15-201 et
23	seq.; and
24	(2) Provide to the House Committee on Aging, Children and Youth,
25	Legislative and Military Affairs an annual report stating the number of
26	automatic licenses and expedited occupational licenses granted under this
27	section to:
28	(A) Active duty military service members stationed in the
29	State of Arkansas;
30	(B) Returning military veterans applying within one (1)
31	year of his or her discharge from active duty; or
32	(C) The spouse of a person under subdivisions (f)(2)(A)
33	and (f)(2)(B) of this section.
34	
35	SECTION 3. TEMPORARY LANGUAGE. DO NOT CODIFY. An occupational
36	licensing entity proposing rules recommending an expedited process and

1	procedure for occupational licensure instead of automatic licensure as
2	provided under § 17-1-106(b) to the Administrative Rules and Regulations
3	Subcommittee of the Legislative Council shall complete the review and
4	approval process of the proposed rules required by § 17-1-106 within one (1)
5	year of the effective date of this act.
6	
7	
8	/s/Irvin
9	
10	
11	APPROVED: 4/9/19
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28 29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	
55	

Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law. Act 990 of the Regular Session

1 2	State of Arkansas As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 \bullet P2nd General Assembly \bullet \bullet B111
3	Regular Session, 2019 SENATE BILL 451
4	221112 2122 101
5	By: Senator J. Cooper
6	By: Representative Dalby
7	
8	For An Act To Be Entitled
9	AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAWS REGARDING CRIMINAL
10	BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS TO
11	OBTAIN CONSISTENCY REGARDING CRIMINAL BACKGROUND
12	CHECKS AND DISQUALIFYING OFFENSES FOR LICENSURE; AND
13	FOR OTHER PURPOSES.
14	
15	
16	Subtitle
17	TO AMEND THE LAWS REGARDING CRIMINAL
18	BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR PROFESSIONS AND
19	OCCUPATIONS TO OBTAIN CONSISTENCY
20	REGARDING CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS AND
21	DISQUALIFYING OFFENSES FOR LICENSURE.
22	
23	
24	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
25	
26	SECTION 1. DO NOT CODIFY. Legislative findings and intent.
27	(a) The General Assembly finds that:
28	(1) Arkansas is taking a leading role in the nationwide pursuit
29	of reforms to the system of occupational licensing;
30	(2) Arkansas became one (1) of eleven (11) states chosen to
31	participate in the Occupational Licensing Policy Learning Consortium, an
32	initiative funded by a grant from the United States Department of Labor and
33	supported in partnership with the National Conference of State Legislatures,
34	the Council of State Governments, and the National Governors Association;
35	(3) Governor Asa Hutchinson appointed seventeen (17) individuals
36	to the Red Tape Reduction Working Group to review and address occupational

1	licensing regulations that create unnecessary barriers to labor market entry
2	<u>and</u>
3	(4) The Red Tape Reduction Working Group issued a final report
4	to the Governor in the fall of 2018 with five (5) recommendations for
5	substantive legislative reform, which are to:
6	(A) Establish an expedited procedure for occupational
7	licensing entities to collectively submit administrative rules that are
8	responsive to new legislation;
9	(B) Extend Acts 2017, No. 781, to allow repeal of
10	subsections of rules;
11	(C) Establish provisions to allow certain agencies to
12	consider occupational relevance with regard to criminal background issues;
13	(D) Authorize occupational licensing entities to identify
14	types of individuals or entities that may be issued temporary or provisional
15	licenses; and
16	(E) Establish a systematic process for review of:
17	(i) New occupational licenses and occupational
18	licensing entities; and
19	(ii) Existing occupational licenses and occupational
20	licensing entities.
21	(b) It is the intent of the General Assembly to establish provisions
22	to allow certain agencies to consider occupational relevance with regard to
23	criminal background issues.
24	
25	SECTION 2. Arkansas Code Title 17 is amended to add an additional
26	chapter to read as follows:
27	CHAPTER 2
28	OCCUPATIONAL CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS
29	
30	17-2-101. Definitions.
31	As used in this subchapter:
32	(1) "Criminal record" means any type of felony or misdemeanor
33	<pre>conviction;</pre>
34	(2) "Licensing entity" means an office, board, commission,
35	department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government having
36	authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise authorize an

1	individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession; and
2	(3) "License" means a license, certificate, registration,
3	permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule that is
4	required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or
5	profession.
6	
7	17-2-102. Licensing restrictions based on criminal records.
8	(a) An individual is not eligible to receive or hold a license issued
9	by a licensing entity if that individual has pleaded guilty or nolo
10	contendere to or been found guilty of any of the following offenses by any
11	court in the State of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in
12	another state or of any similar offense by a federal court, unless the
13	conviction was lawfully sealed under the Comprehensive Criminal Record
14	Sealing Act of 2013, § 16-90-1401 et seq., or otherwise previously sealed,
15	pardoned or expunged under prior law:
16	(1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;
17	(2) Murder in the first degree and second degree as prohibited
18	in §§ 5-10-102 and 5-10-103;
19	(3) Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104;
20	(4) Negligent homicide as prohibited in § 5-10-105;
21	(5) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;
22	(6) False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-
23	<u>11-103;</u>
24	(7) Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-
25	<u>106;</u>
26	(8) Robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-102;
27	(9) Aggravated robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-103;
28	(10) Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201;
29	(11) Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204;
30	(12) Introduction of a controlled substance into the body of
31	another person as prohibited in § 5-13-210;
32	(13) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an
33	$\underline{\text{employee}}$ of a correctional facility as prohibited in § 5-13-211, if a Class Y
34	<pre>felony;</pre>
35	(14) Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited
36	<u>in § 5-13-301;</u>

1	(15) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;
2	(16) Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110;
3	(17) Sexual extortion as prohibited in § 5-14-113;
4	(18) Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third
5	degree, and fourth degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 - 5-14-127;
6	(19) Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;
7	(20) Offenses against the family as prohibited in §§ 5-26-303 -
8	<u>5-26-306</u> ;
9	(21) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the
10	first degree, as prohibited in § 5-27-201;
11	(22) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as
12	prohibited in § 5-27-205;
13	(23) Permitting the abuse of a minor as prohibited in § 5-27-
14	<u>221;</u>
15	(24) Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in
16	visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual
17	conduct, pandering or possessing visual or print medium depicting sexually
18	explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to use of a
19	child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting a sexual
20	performance by a child, as prohibited in $\S\S5-27-303-5-27-305$, $5-27-402$,
21	and 5-27-403;
22	(25) Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603;
23	(26) Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as
24	prohibited in § 5-27-605;
25	(27) Felony adult abuse as prohibited in § 5-28-103;
26	(28) Theft of property as prohibited in § 5-36-103;
27	(29) Theft by receiving as prohibited in § 5-36-106;
28	(30) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301;
29	(31) Burglary as prohibited in § 5-39-201;
30	(32) Felony violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act,
31	§§ $5-64-101 - 5-64-510$, as prohibited in the former § $5-64-401$, and §§ $5-64-401$
32	<u>419 - 5-64-442</u> ;
33	(33) Promotion of prostitution in the first degree as prohibited
34	<u>in § 5-70-104;</u>
35	(34) Stalking as prohibited in § 5-71-229;
36	(35) Criminal attempt criminal complicity criminal

1	solicitation, or criminal conspiracy, as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202,
2	5-3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this
3	subsection; and
4	(36) All other crimes referenced in this title.
5	(b)(l) If an individual has been convicted of a crime listed in
6	subsection (a) of this section, a licensing entity may waive disqualification
7	or revocation of a license based on the conviction if a request for a waiver
8	is made by:
9	(A) An affected applicant for a license; or
10	(B) The individual holding a license subject to
11	revocation.
12	(2) A basis upon which a waiver may be granted includes without
13	<u>limitation:</u>
14	(A) The age at which the offense was committed;
15	(B) The circumstances surrounding the offense;
16	(C) The length of time since the offense was committed;
17	(D) Subsequent work history since the offense was
18	<pre>committed;</pre>
19	(E) Employment references since the offense was committed;
20	(F) Character references since the offense was committed;
21	(G) Relevance of the offense to the occupational license;
22	<u>and</u>
23	(H) Other evidence demonstrating that licensure of the
24	applicant does not pose a threat to the health or safety of the public.
25	(c) If an individual has a valid criminal conviction for an offense
26	that could disqualify the individual from receiving a license, the
27	disqualification shall not be considered for more than five (5) years from
28	the date of conviction or incarceration or on which probation ends, whichever
29	date is the latest, if the individual:
30	(A) Was not convicted for committing a violent or sexual
31	offense; and
32	(B) Has not been convicted of any other offense during the five-
33	year disqualification period.
34	(d) A licensing entity shall not, as a basis upon which a license may
35	be granted or denied:
36	(1) Use vague or generic terms, including without limitation the

1	phrase "moral turpitude" and "good character"; or
2	(2) Consider arrests without a subsequent conviction.
3	(e) Due to the serious nature of the offenses, the following shall
4	result in permanent disqualification for licensure:
5	(1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;
6	(2) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and
7	murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103;
8	(3) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;
9	(4) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an
10	employee of a correctional facility as prohibited in § 5-13-211, if a Class Y
11	<pre>felony;</pre>
12	(5) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;
13	(6) Sexual extortion as prohibited in § 5-14-113;
14	(7) Sexual assault in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-14-
15	124 and sexual assault in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-14-125;
16	(8) Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;
17	(9) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the
18	first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201;
19	(10) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as
20	prohibited in § 5-27-205;
21	(11) Adult abuse that constitutes a felony as prohibited in § 5-
22	28-103; and
23	(12) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301.
24	(f) This chapter does not preclude a licensing entity from taking
25	emergency action against a licensee as authorized under § 25-15-211 for the
26	sake of public health, safety, or welfare.
27	(g) The permanent disqualification for an offense listed in subsection
28	(e) of this section does not apply to an individual who holds a valid license
29	on the effective date of this chapter.
30	(h) This section does not apply to licensure or certification:
31	(1) Of professions not governed by this title;
32	(2) Of polygraph examiners and voice stress analysis examiners
33	under § 17-39-101 et seq.; or
34	(3) Of private investigators and private security agencies under
35	the Private Security Agency, Private Investigator, and School Security
36	Licensing and Credentialing Act, § 17-40-101 et seq.

1	
2	17-2-103. Prelicensure criminal background checks.
3	(a)(l) An individual with a criminal record may petition a licensing
4	entity at any time for a determination of whether the criminal record of the
5	individual will disqualify the individual from licensure and whether or not
6	he or she could obtain a waiver under § 17-2-102(b).
7	(2) The petition shall include details on the criminal record of
8	the individual.
9	(b)(1) A licensing entity may require that the applicant undergo a
10	state and federal criminal background check as required by the licensing
11	entity for all applicants for a license.
12	(2) The petitioner under subsection (a) of this section shall be
13	responsible for payment for the state and federal criminal background check.
14	
15	17-2-104. Rules.
16	(a) A licensing entity shall adopt or amend rules necessary for the
17	implementation of this chapter.
18	(b)(1) When adopting or amending rules to implement this chapter, the
19	final rule shall be filed with the Secretary of State for adoption under §
20	<u>25-15-204(f):</u>
21	(A) On or before January 1, 2020; or
22	(B) If approval under § 10-3-309 has not occurred by
23	January 1, 2020, as soon as practicable after approval under § 10-3-309.
24	(2) A licensing entity shall file the proposed rule with the
25	Legislative Council under § 10-3-309(c) sufficiently in advance of January 1,
26	2020, so that the Legislative Council may consider the rule for approval
27	before January 1, 2020.
28	
29	SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 17-11-302(b), concerning application and
30	certificate of registration to become a registered abstracter, is amended to
31	read as follows:
32	(b) The application shall be in a form prepared by the board and
33	shall contain such information as may be necessary to assist the board in
34	registration and to determine if the applicant is of good moral character.
35	
36	SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 17-11-304(a), concerning issuance or

to the Arkansas Abstracters' Board.

- reapplication for a certificate of registration by the Arkansas Abstracters'
 Board, is amended to read as follows:
- 3 (a) If the applicant satisfactorily passes the examinations and is of
 4 good moral character, the applicant shall be certified as a registered
 5 abstracter, and the certificate provided for shall be issued to him or her.
 6 The privileges granted by the certificate shall continue unless revoked, as
 7 provided in this chapter, or unless the certificate is otherwise surrendered

8 9

- SECTION 5. Arkansas Code § 17-11-340(a), concerning the revocation of certificates authorized by the Arkansas Abstracters' Board, is amended to read as follows:
- 13 (a) The Arkansas Abstracters' Board is authorized, after a hearing as 14 provided in § 17-11-341, to cancel and revoke any certificate of registration 15 issued to any person under the provisions of this chapter:
 - (1) For a violation of any of the provisions of this chapter;
- 17 (2) Upon a conviction of the holder of such a certificate of a crime involving moral turpitude under § 17-1-102; or
 - (3) If the board finds the holder to be guilty of habitual carelessness or of fraudulent practices in the conduct of the business of abstracting.

2122

16

19

- SECTION 6. Arkansas Code § 17-11-341(a)(1), concerning the procedure of appeal for revocation of certificates authorized by the Arkansas Abstracters' Board, is amended to read as follows:
- 26 (a)(1) Upon a verified complaint being filed with the Arkansas 27 Abstracters' Board or upon the board's own motion filing a complaint charging 28 the holder of a certificate of registration with a violation of any of the 29 provisions of this chapter, or conviction of a crime involving moral turpitude, or with under § 17-2-102 or habitual carelessness or fraudulent 30 31 practices in the conduct of the business of abstracting, or charging the 32 holder of a certificate of authority with failure to furnish the bond or bonds, or other securities, required by § 17-11-324, or with failing to have 33 34 employed a registered abstracter as provided in § 17-11-301, or with a 35 violation of any of the provisions of this chapter, the board shall 36 immediately notify in writing by registered mail, with return receipt, the

1	holder of the certificate of the filing of the complaint and furnish the
2	holder with a copy of the complaint.
3	
4	SECTION 7. Arkansas Code § 17-12-301 is amended to read as follows:
5	17-12-301. Requirements generally — Definition.
6	(a) A certificate as a certified public accountant shall be granted by
7	the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy to any person of good moral
8	character:
9	(1) Who has met the education and experience requirements set
10	forth in this chapter and by the board; and
11	(2) Who has passed an examination in accounting and auditing and
12	such related subjects as the board shall determine to be appropriate.
13	(b)(1)(A) "Good moral character" as used in this section means lack of
14	a history of:
15	(i) Dishonest or felonious acts; or
16	(ii) Conduct involving fraud or moral turpitude.
17	(B) The board may refuse to grant a certificate on the
18	ground of failure to satisfy this requirement only if there is a substantial
19	connection between the lack of good moral character of the applicant and the
20	professional responsibilities of a licensee and if the finding by the board
21	of lack of good moral character is supported by clear and convincing
22	evidence.
23	(2) When an applicant is found to be unqualified for a
24	certificate because of a lack of good moral character, the board shall
25	furnish the applicant a:
26	(A) Statement containing the findings of the board;
27	(B) Complete record of the evidence upon which the
28	determination was based; and
29	(C) Notice of the applicant's right of appeal.
30	$\frac{(c)(1)(b)(1)}{(b)(1)}$ Any person who has received from the board a certificate
31	as a certified public accountant which is currently in full force and effect
32	shall be styled and known as a "certified public accountant" and may also use
33	the abbreviation "CPA".
34	(2) The board shall maintain a list of certified public
35	accountants.

(c) Any certified public accountant may also be known as a public

l accountant.

2

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

- SECTION 8. Arkansas Code § 17-12-303(d), concerning the criminal background check for initial licensure of accountants, is amended to read as follows:
- (d) Upon completion of the criminal background checks, the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall forward to the board all <u>releasable</u> information obtained concerning the <u>commission by the applicant of any offense listed in subsection (e) of this section</u>.

11

- 12 SECTION 9. Arkansas Code § 17-12-303(e), concerning the criminal 13 background check for initial licensure of accountants, is repealed.
- (e) Notwithstanding the provisions of § 17-12-301, a person convicted
 of a felony or crime involving moral turpitude or dishonesty in any state or
 federal court may not receive or hold a license as a certified public
 accountant or public accountant.

18 19

20

21

2425

- SECTION 10. Arkansas Code § 17-12-601(a)(5) and (6), concerning the grounds for revocation or suspension of licensure of accountants, are amended to read as follows:
- 22 (5) Conviction of a felony under the law of any state or of the 23 United States § 17-2-102;
 - (6) Conviction of any crime an element of which is dishonesty, or fraud, or moral turpitude under the law of any state or of the United States:

27

26

- 28 SECTION 11. Arkansas Code § 17-12-601, concerning the grounds for 29 revocation or suspension of licensure of an accountant, is amended to add an 30 additional subsection to read as follows:
- 31 (c) In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the Arkansas
 32 State Board of Public Accountancy may refuse to issue a license to or
 33 reinstate a license of a person who has been convicted of a felony involving
 34 theft or fraud, regardless of the amount of time that has elapsed since the
 35 conviction.

```
1
           SECTION 12. Arkansas Code § 17-14-203(12)(C)(i), concerning the powers
 2
     and duties regarding criminal background checks of the Arkansas Appraiser
 3
     Licensing and Certification Board, is amended to read as follows:
 4
                             (i) During the five (5) years immediately preceding
 5
     the date of the application was convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo
 6
     contendere to, a crime that would call into question the applicant's fitness
 7
     for registration, licensure, or certification, including without limitation a
8
     crime involving:
9
                                   (a) Moral turpitude;
10
                                   \frac{(b)(1)}{(a)(1)} An act substantially related to
11
     the qualifications, functions, or duties of an appraiser.
12
                                         (2) A crime or act may be deemed
13
     substantially related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of an
14
     appraiser if, to a substantial degree, the crime or act evidences present or
15
     potential unfitness of a person applying for or holding a real property
16
     appraiser credential to perform the functions authorized by the credential;
17
                                   (c)(b) Taking, appropriating, or retaining the
18
     funds or property of another;
19
                                   (d)(c) Forging, counterfeiting, or altering an
20
     instrument affecting the rights or obligations of another;
21
                                   (e)(d) Evasion of a lawful debt or obligation,
22
     including without limitation a tax obligation;
23
                                   (f)(e) Trafficking in narcotics or controlled
24
     substances;
25
                                   (g)(f) Violation of a relation of trust or
26
     confidence;
27
                                   (h)(g) Theft of personal property or funds;
28
                                   (i)(h) An act of violence or threatened
29
     violence against persons or property; or
30
                                   (j)(i) A sexually related crime or act under §
31
     5-14-101 et seq.;
32
           SECTION 13. Arkansas Code § 17-14-206(a)(3), concerning complaints and
33
34
     disciplinary procedures of the Arkansas Appraiser Licensing and Certification
35
     Board for licensees, is repealed.
36
                 (3)(A) Conviction in any jurisdiction of any misdemeanor
```

1	involving moral turpitude or of any felony.
2	(B) A plea of nolo contendere or no contest shall be
3	considered a conviction for the purposes of this section;
4	
5	SECTION 14. Arkansas Code § 17-14-405(b)(3), concerning requirements
6	for registration under the Appraisal Management Company Registration Act, is
7	amended to read as follows:
8	(3)(A) The name, address, and contact information of any person
9	that owns ten percent (10%) or more of the appraisal management company.
10	(B) Any person owning more than ten percent (10%) of an
11	appraisal management company in this state shall+
12	(i) Be of good moral character, as determined by the
13	board; and
14	(ii) Submit submit to a state criminal background
15	check and a national fingerprint-based criminal background check performed by
16	the Federal Bureau of Investigation in compliance with federal law and
17	regulations;
18	
19	SECTION 15. Arkansas Code $\S 17-14-410(a)(3)$, concerning the
20	disciplinary authority, enforcement, and hearings under the Appraisal
21	Management Company Registration Act, is amended to read as follows:
22	(3) The person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been
23	found guilty of:
24	(A) A felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u> ; or
25	(B) Within the past ten (10) years:
26	(i) A misdemeanor involving mortgage lending or real
27	estate appraising; or
28	(ii) An offense involving breach of trust, moral
29	turpitude, or fraudulent or dishonest dealing;
30	
31	SECTION 16 . Arkansas Code § 17-15-102(3), concerning the definition of
32	"good moral character" related to architects, is repealed.
33	(3)(A) "Good moral character" means character that will enable a
34	person to discharge the fiduciary duties of an architect to his or her client
35	and to the public for the protection of health, safety, and welfare.
36	(B) Evidence of inability to discharge such duties

1 includes the commission of an offense justifying discipline under § 17-15-2 308: 3 4 SECTION 17. Arkansas Code § 17-15-304(b)(1), concerning examinations 5 to be a registered and licensed architect, is amended to read as follows: 6 (b)(1) To be qualified for admission to an examination to practice 7 architecture in the State of Arkansas, an applicant must shall be at least 8 twenty-one (21) years of age and of good moral character. 9 10 SECTION 18. Arkansas Code § 17-15-308(5), concerning grounds for 11 revocation of a license for an architect, is amended to read as follows: 12 The holder of the license or certificate of registration has 13 been guilty of a felony listed under § 17-2-102; 14 15 SECTION 19. Arkansas Code § 17-16-105(a)(8), concerning the 16 registration requirements for an athlete agent under the Uniform Athlete 17 Agents Act, is amended to read as follows: 18 (8) whether the applicant or any person named pursuant to 19 paragraph (7) has been convicted of a crime that, if committed in this State, 20 would be a crime involving moral turpitude or a felony listed under § 17-2-102, and identify the crime; 21 22 23 SECTION 20. Arkansas Code § 17-17-308(6), concerning the suspension or 24 revocation of a license of an auctioneer, is amended to read as follows: 25 (6) Being convicted of a criminal offense involving moral turpitude or a felony listed under § 17-2-102 in a court of competent 26 27 jurisdiction of this or any other jurisdiction; 28 29 SECTION 21. Arkansas Code § 17-19-203(3), concerning character 30 references for a professional bail bondsman license, is amended to read as 31 follows: 32 (3) Such other Provide other proof as the board may require that he or she is competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and of good 33 34 personal and business reputation and has not been convicted of a felony Θ

any offense involving moral turpitude listed under § 17-2-102.

1	SECTION 22. Arkansas Code § 17-19-210(b)(1), concerning the suspension
2	and penalties for a professional bail bondsman licensee, is amended to read
3	as follows:
4	(1) Violated any provision of or any obligation imposed by this
5	chapter or any lawful rule, regulation, or order of the board or has been
6	convicted of a felony or any offense involving moral turpitude listed under §
7	<u>17-2-102</u> ;
8	
9	SECTION 23. Arkansas Code § 17-20-302 is amended to read as follows:
10	17-20-302. Qualifications of applicants.
11	Any person shall be qualified to receive a certificate of registration
12	to practice as a registered barber who:
13	(1) Is qualified under this chapter;
14	(2) Is of good moral character and temperate habits;
15	$\frac{(3)}{(2)}$ Has passed a satisfactory examination conducted by the
16	State Board of Barber Examiners to determine his or her fitness to practice
17	barbering;
18	$\frac{(4)}{(3)}$ Is at least sixteen and one-half (16 ½) years of age; and
19	$\frac{(5)}{(4)}$ Has received training approved by the appropriate
20	licensing authorities.
21	
22	SECTION 24. Arkansas Code § 17-20-308(1)(A), concerning grounds for
23	disciplinary action of barbers, is amended to read as follows:
24	(1)(A) Conviction of a felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u> shown by a
25	certified copy of the record of the court of conviction.
26	
27	SECTION 25. Arkansas Code § 17-24-307(3), concerning the grounds for
28	revocation, suspension, or refusal of license issued by the State Board of
29	Collection Agencies, is repealed.
30	(3) Conviction of any crime involving moral turpitude;
31	
32	SECTION 26. Arkansas Code § 17-25-305(a), concerning the
33	qualifications for a contractors license, is amended to read as follows:
34	(a) The Contractors Licensing Board, in determining the qualifications
35	of any applicant for an original license or any renewal license, shall, among
36	other things, consider the following:

1 (1) Experience; 2 (2) Ability; 3 (3) Character; 4 (4)(3) The manner of performance of previous contracts; (5)(4) Financial condition; 5 6 (6)(5) Equipment; 7 (7)(6) Any other fact tending to show ability and willingness to 8 conserve the public health and safety; and 9 (8)(7) Default in complying with the provisions of this chapter 10 or any other another law of the state. 11 12 SECTION 27. Arkansas Code § 17-25-305, concerning the qualifications for a contractors license, is amended to add an additional subsection to read 13 14 as follows: 15 (c) In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the board may consider the following offenses when determining fitness for licensure or 16 17 registration of a contractor under this chapter: 18 (1) Conviction of a crime with an element of dishonesty or fraud 19 under the laws of this state, another state, or the United States; 20 (2) Conviction of voyeurism as prohibited in § 5-16-101 and § 5-21 16-102; 22 (3) Conviction under the Arkansas Hot Check Law, § 5-37-301 et 23 seq.; and 24 (4)(A) A crime or act that is substantially related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor. 25 26 (B) A crime or act may be deemed substantially related to 27 the qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor if, to a substantial degree, the crime or act evidences present or potential unfitness of a person 28 29 applying for or holding a contractors license or registration to perform the 30 functions authorized by the license or registration. 31 32 SECTION 28. Arkansas Code § 17-25-507, concerning the qualifications for a contractors license through the Residential Contractors Committee, is 33 34 amended to add an additional subsection to read as follows: 35 (c) In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the committee 36 may consider the following offenses when determining fitness for licensure or

1	registration of a contractor under this subchapter:
2	(1) Conviction of a crime with an element of dishonesty or fraud
3	under the laws of this state, another state, or the United States;
4	(2) Conviction of voyeurism as prohibited in § 5-16-101 and § 5-
5	<u>16-102;</u>
6	(3) Conviction under the Arkansas Hot Check Law, § 5-37-301 et
7	seq.; and
8	(4)(A) A crime or act that is substantially related to the
9	qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor.
10	(B) A crime or act may be deemed substantially related to
11	the qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor if, to a substantial
12	degree, the crime or act evidences present or potential unfitness of a person
13	applying for or holding a contractors license or registration to perform the
14	functions authorized by the license or registration.
15	
16	SECTION 29. Arkansas Code § 17-26-105(10), concerning grounds for
17	disciplinary action for cosmetology and other related occupations, is amended
18	to read as follows:
19	(10) Conviction under the laws of the United States or any state
20	or territory of the United States of a crime that $is:$
21	(A) Is a \underline{A} felony or misdemeanor listed under § 17-2-102,
22	as evidenced by a certified copy of a court record or by license application;
23	and
24	(B) Involves A misdemeanor involving dishonesty or is in
25	any way related to the practice or teaching of the cosmetology industry,
26	unless the applicant or licensee can demonstrate to the board's satisfaction
27	that the applicant or licensee has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant
28	the public trust;
29	
30	SECTION 30. Arkansas Code § 17-26-201(c), concerning the membership of
31	the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee, is amended to read as follows:
32	(c) The committee shall be composed of the following representatives
33	from within the cosmetology industry who are of good moral character and who
34	are at least twenty-five (25) years of age:
35	(1) One (1) member shall be a licensed cosmetologist actively
36	engaged in practicing the art of cosmetology for at least five (5) years at

- the time of appointment;
- 2 (2) One (1) member shall be a licensed nail technician;
- 3 (3) One (1) member shall be an owner of a licensed school of
- 4 cosmetology or shall be a director of cosmetology at a state-supported
- 5 school;
- 6 (4) One (1) member shall be a licensed aesthetician; and
- 7 (5) Three (3) members shall represent the cosmetology industry
- 8 at large or a related field.

9

- SECTION 31. Arkansas Code § 17-27-301(2), concerning qualifications
- 11 for a licensed professional counselor, is amended to read as follows:
- 12 (2) The applicant is highly regarded in personal character and
- 13 professional ethics;

14

- 15 SECTION 32. Arkansas Code § 17-27-303(2), concerning qualifications
- 16 for a licensed marriage and family therapist before January 1, 1998, is
- 17 amended to read as follows:
- 18 (2) The applicant is highly regarded in personal character and
- 19 professional ethics;

- 21 SECTION 33. Arkansas Code § 17-27-313 is amended to read as follows:
- 22 17-27-313. Criminal background checks.
- 23 (a) The Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling may require each
- 24 applicant for license renewal and each first-time applicant for a license
- 25 issued by the board to apply to the Identification Bureau of the Department
- 26 of Arkansas State Police for a state and national criminal background check,
- 27 to be conducted by the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas
- 28 State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
- 29 (b) The check shall conform to the applicable federal standards and
- 30 shall include the taking of fingerprints.
- 31 (c) The applicant shall sign a release of information to the board and
- 32 shall be responsible for the payment of any fee associated with the criminal
- 33 background check.
- 34 (d) Upon completion of the criminal background check, the
- 35 Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall
- 36 forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the

```
1
    applicant.
 2
          (e) No person shall be eligible to receive or hold a license issued by
 3
    the board if that person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been
 4
    found guilty of any of the following offenses by any court in the State of
 5
    Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in another state or of any
 6
    similar offense by a federal court:
 7
                (1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;
8
                 (2) Murder in the first degree and second degree as prohibited
9
    in §§ 5-10-102 and 5-10-103;
10
                 (3) Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104;
11
                 (4) Negligent homicide as prohibited in § 5-10-105;
12
                (5) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;
13
                (6) False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-
14
    <del>11-103</del>;
15
                 (7) Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-
16
    106;
17
                (8) Robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-102;
18
                 (9) Aggravated robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-103;
19
                (10) Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201;
20
                 (11) Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204;
21
                 (12) Introduction of controlled substance into body of another
    person as prohibited in § 5-13-210;
22
23
                 (13) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an
    employee of a correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony;
24
25
                 (14) Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited
26
    in § 5-13-301;
27
                 (15) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;
                 (16) Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110;
28
                 (17) Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113;
29
30
                 (18) Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third
    degree, and fourth degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 - 5-14-127;
31
32
                (19) Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;
33
                 (20) Offenses against the family as prohibited in §§ 5-26-303-
34
    5-26-306+
35
                (21) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the
36
    first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201;
```

```
1
                 (22) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as
 2
     prohibited in § 5-27-205;
                 (23) Permitting abuse of a minor as prohibited in § 5-27-221;
 3
 4
                 (24) Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in
 5
     visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual
 6
     conduct, pandering or possessing visual or print medium depicting sexually
 7
     explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to use of a
 8
     child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting a sexual
     performance by a child as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303 - 5-27-305, 5-27-402, and
9
10
     5-27-403:
11
                (25) Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603;
12
                 (26) Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as
13
     prohibited in § 5-27-605;
14
                (27) Felony adult abuse as prohibited in § 5-28-103;
15
                 (28) Theft of property as prohibited in § 5-36-103;
                 (29) Theft by receiving as prohibited in § 5-36-106;
16
17
                (30) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301;
18
                (31) Burglary as prohibited in § 5-39-201;
19
                (32) Felony violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act,
     § 5-64-101 et seq., as prohibited in the former § 5-64-401 and §§ 5-64-419
20
21
     5-64-442;
22
                 (33) Promotion of prostitution in the first degree as prohibited
23
     in § 5-70-104;
24
                 (34) Stalking as prohibited in § 5-71-229; and
25
                 (35) Criminal attempt, criminal complicity, criminal
26
     solicitation, or criminal conspiracy as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202, 5-
27
     3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this subsection.
28
           (f)(1)(e) The board may issue a six-month nonrenewable letter of
29
     provisional eligibility for licensure to a first-time applicant pending the
30
     results of the criminal background check.
31
                 (2) Upon receipt of information from the Identification Bureau
32
     of the Department of Arkansas State Police that the person holding such a
33
     letter of provisional licensure has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or
34
     been found guilty of any offense listed in subsection (e) of this section,
35
     the board shall immediately revoke the provisional license.
36
           (g)(1) The provisions of subsections (e) and (f) of this section may
```

1	be waived by the board upon the request of:
2	(A) An affected applicant for licensure; or
3	(B) The person holding a license subject to revocation.
4	(2) Circumstances for which a waiver may be granted shall
5	include, but not be limited to, the following:
6	(A) The age at which the crime was committed;
7	(B) The circumstances surrounding the crime;
8	(C) The length of time since the crime;
9	(D) Subsequent work history;
10	(E) Employment references;
11	(F) Character references; and
12	(C) Other evidence demonstrating that the applicant does
13	not pose a threat to the health or safety of children.
14	(f) For the purposes of this section, the board shall follow the
15	licensing restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102.
16	$\frac{(h)(1)(g)(1)}{(g)(1)}$ Any information received by the board from the
17	Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuant to
18	<u>under</u> this section shall not be available for examination except by:
19	(A) The affected applicant for licensure, or his or her
20	authorized representative; or
21	(B) The person whose license is subject to revocation, or
22	his or her authorized representative.
23	(2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the
24	custody of the Department of Arkansas State Police.
25	(i)(h) Any information made available to the affected applicant for
26	licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
27	information pertaining to that person only.
28	(j)(i) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established under this
29	section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this
30	background check.
31	(k)(j) The board shall adopt the necessary rules and regulations to
32	fully implement the provisions of this section.
33	
34	SECTION 34. Arkansas Code § 17-29-311(a)(1), concerning the sanctions
35	and prohibited conduct of embalmers and funeral directors, is amended to read
36	as follows:

1	(1) Conviction of a felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u> ;
2	
3	SECTION 35. Arkansas Code $\S 17-30-305(a)(2)(A)$, concerning the
4	administrative violations and penalties for an engineer, is amended to read
5	as follows:
6	(A) A felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u> ;
7	
8	SECTION 36. Arkansas Code § 17-31-303(c), concerning application for
9	registration with the Arkansas State Board of Registration for Foresters, is
10	repealed.
11	(c) A person shall not be eligible for registration as a forester who
12	is not of good character and reputation.
13	
14	SECTION 37. Arkansas Code § 17-31-309(b), concerning revocation of a
15	certificate for a registered forester, is amended to read as follows:
16	(b) (1) The board may revoke the certificate of any registered forester
17	who has been convicted of a felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u> or who is found
18	guilty by the board of any fraud, deceit, gross negligence,
19	misrepresentation, willful violation of contract, misconduct, or gross
20	incompetence.
21	(2) The board shall investigate such charges.
22	
23	SECTION 38. Arkansas Code § 17-32-304(a)(1), concerning the
24	qualifications for a geologist-in-training certificate, is repealed.
25	(1) Be of good ethical character;
26	
27	SECTION 39. Arkansas Code \S 17-32-311(a)(3), concerning the denial,
28	suspension, or revocation of a registration certificate of a geologist, is
29	amended to read as follows:
30	(3) Any felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102;</u>
31	
32	SECTION 40. Arkansas Code $\S 17-35-301(c)(2)$, concerning the
33	registration of interior designers, is amended to read as follows:
34	(2) Has not been convicted of an offense <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u>
35	that bears directly on the fitness of the applicant to be registered;
36	

35

36

1 SECTION 41. Arkansas Code § 17-35-305(5), concerning grounds of 2 revocation for a license of an interior designer, is amended to read as 3 4 (5) The holder of the registration has been guilty of a felony listed under § 17-2-102; 5 6 7 SECTION 42. Arkansas Code § 17-36-303(a), concerning examination for 8 licensure as a landscape architect, is amended to read as follows: 9 (a) An applicant for licensure shall: 10 (1) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age; and 11 (2) Be of good moral character; and 12 (3)(2) Pass an examination covering the matters confronting 13 landscape architects that is prepared by: 14 (A) The Arkansas State Board of Architects, Landscape 15 Architects, and Interior Designers; or 16 (B) Another entity as selected by the Arkansas State Board 17 of Architects, Landscape Architects, and Interior Designers. 18 19 SECTION 43. Arkansas Code § 17-36-306(5), concerning the grounds of 20 revocation for a landscape architect, is amended to read as follows: 21 (5) The holder of the license or certificate has been guilty of 22 a felony listed under § 17-2-102; 23 24 SECTION 44. Arkansas Code § 17-42-311(a), concerning violations of the 25 real estate license law, is amended to read as follows: 26 (a) The following acts, conduct, or practices are prohibited, and any 27 licensee found guilty shall be subject to disciplinary action as provided in § 17-42-312: 28 29 (1) Obtaining a license by means of fraud, misrepresentation, or 30 concealment; 31 (2) Violating any of the provisions of this chapter or any rules 32 or regulations adopted pursuant to under this chapter or any order issued 33 under this chapter;

a felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u> or crime involving moral turpitude violence,

fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness regardless of whether

(3) Being convicted of or pleading guilty or nolo contendere to

- 1 the imposition of sentence has been deferred or suspended;
 - (4) Making any substantial misrepresentation;
- 3 (5) Making, printing, publishing, distributing, or causing,
- 4 authorizing, or knowingly permitting the making, printing, publication, or
- 5 distribution of false statements, descriptions, or promises of such character
- 6 as to reasonably induce, persuade, or influence any person to act thereon;
- 7 (6) Failing within a reasonable time to account for or to remit
- 8 any moneys coming into his or her possession which belong to others;
- 9 (7) Committing any act involving moral turpitude violence,
- 10 fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness;
- 11 (8) Acting for more than one (1) party in a transaction without
- 12 the knowledge of all parties for whom he or she acts or accepting a
- 13 commission or valuable consideration for the performance of any of the acts
- 14 specified in this chapter from any person except the licensed principal
- 15 broker under whom he or she is licensed;
- 16 (9) Acting as a broker or salesperson while not licensed with a
- 17 principal broker, representing or attempting to represent a broker other than
- 18 the principal broker with whom he or she is affiliated without the express
- 19 knowledge and consent of the principal broker, or representing himself or
- 20 herself as a salesperson or having a contractual relationship similar to that
- 21 of a salesperson with anyone other than a licensed principal broker;
- 22 (10) Advertising in a false, misleading, or deceptive manner;
- 23 (11) Being unworthy or incompetent to act as a real estate
- 24 broker or salesperson in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the
- 25 public;

- 26 (12) Paying a commission or valuable consideration to any person
- 27 for acts or services performed in violation of this chapter, including paying
- 28 a commission or other valuable consideration to an unlicensed person for
- 29 participation in a real estate auction; and
- 30 (13) Any other conduct, whether of the same or a different
- 31 character from that specified in this section, which constitutes improper,
- 32 fraudulent, or dishonest dealing.
- 34 SECTION 45. Arkansas Code § 17-42-315(f), concerning the criminal background check for real estate licensees, is amended to read as follows:
- 36 (f) Except as provided in subsection (g) of this section, a person

- 1 shall not receive or hold a license issued by the commission if the person
- 2 has been convicted of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to a felony listed
- 3 under § 17-2-102 or a crime involving moral turpitude violence, fraud,
- 4 dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness.

7 8

- SECTION 46. Arkansas Code § 17-42-509(c)(3), concerning the issuance or denial of a license for an instructor of real estate education license, is amended to read as follows:
- 9 (3) The person or entity has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere 10 to or been found guilty of a felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u> or <u>a</u> misdemeanor 11 involving <u>violence</u>, fraud, misrepresentation, or dishonest or dishonorable 12 dealing in a court of competent jurisdiction; or

13

17

18

19

- SECTION 47. Arkansas Code § 17-42-515(3), concerning the violations that disqualify for a real estate educator license or licensee, is amended to read as follows:
 - (3) Committing an act, <u>a</u> felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u>, or <u>a</u> crime involving <u>moral turpitude violence</u>, fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness regardless of whether the imposition of the sentence has been deferred or suspended;

202122

23

2425

26

27

28

29

30

- SECTION 48. Arkansas Code § 17-43-303(a), concerning the application for examination for a sanitarian certificate of registration, is amended to read as follows:
- (a) The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians shall admit to examination any person who makes application to the Secretary of the Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians on forms prescribed and furnished by the board, and pays an application fee of twenty dollars (\$20.00) to defray the expense of examination, and submits evidence satisfactory to the board that he or she is of good moral character.

31

3435

- 32 SECTION 49. Arkansas Code § 17-43-307 is amended to read as follows: 33 17-43-307. Reciprocity.
 - The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians shall issue a certificate of registration without examination to any person who makes application on forms prescribed and furnished by the board, pays a registration fee of ten dollars

1 (\$10.00), and submits satisfactory proof that he or she: 2 (1) Is of good moral character; 3 $\frac{(2)}{(1)}$ Has had at least two (2) years' experience in the field 4 of environmental sanitation; and 5 (3)(2) Is registered as a sanitarian in a state in which the 6 qualifications for registration are not lower than the qualifications for 7 registration in this state at the time he or she applies for registration. 8 9 SECTION 50. Arkansas Code § 17-43-309(a), concerning the grounds for 10 suspension, revocation, or refusal to renew a sanitarian certificate of 11 registration, is amended to read as follows: 12 The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians may suspend, revoke, or 13 refuse to renew a certificate of registration upon proof that the applicant+ 14 (1) Is not of good character; or 15 (2) Is <u>is</u> guilty of fraud, deceit, gross negligence, 16 incompetency, or misconduct in relation to his or her duties as a sanitarian. 17 18 SECTION 51. Arkansas Code \S 17-47-302(a), concerning the eligibility 19 and application for registration as a professional soil classifier or soil 20 classifier-in-training, is amended to read as follows: 21 To be eligible for registration as a professional soil classifier 22 or certification as a soil classifier-in-training, an applicant must: 23 (1) Be of good character and reputation; and 24 (2) Submit shall submit a written application to the Arkansas 25 State Board of Registration for Professional Soil Classifiers containing such 26 information as the board may require, together with five (5) references, 27 three (3) of which shall be professional soil classifiers having personal 28 knowledge of his or her soil classifying experience or, in the case of an 29 application for certification as a soil classifier-in-training, three (3) 30 character references. 31 32 SECTION 52. Arkansas Code § 17-47-311 is amended to read as follows: 33 17-47-311. Disciplinary actions - Grounds. 34 The Arkansas State Board of Registration for Professional Soil 35 Classifiers shall have the power to suspend, refuse to renew, or revoke the 36 certificate of registration of, or reprimand, any registrant who is guilty

1 of:

- 2 (1) Fraud or deceit in obtaining a certificate of registration;
- 3 (2) Gross negligence, incompetence, or misconduct in the
- 4 practice of soil classifying;
- 5 (3) A felony listed under § 17-2-102 or crime involving moral
- 6 turpitude; or
- 7 (4) A violation of the code of ethics adopted and promulgated by
- 8 the board.

- 10 SECTION 53. Arkansas Code § 17-48-203(a), concerning the
- ll qualifications for certification as a surveyor, is amended to read as
- 12 follows:
- 13 (a) A person who shows to the satisfaction of the State Board of
- 14 Licensure for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors that he or
- 15 she is a person of good character and reputation and over twenty-one (21)
- 16 years of age shall be is eligible for licensure as a professional surveyor if
- 17 he or she qualifies under one (1) of the following provisions:
- 18 (1) A person holding a certificate of licensure to engage in the
- 19 practice of land surveying issued to him or her on the basis of a written
- 20 examination by proper authority of a state, territory, possession of the
- 21 United States, the District of Columbia, or any foreign country, based on
- 22 requirements and qualifications as shown on his or her application that in
- 23 the opinion of the board are equal to or higher than the requirements of this
- 24 chapter may be licensed at the discretion of the board;
- 25 (2)(A) A graduate from an approved engineering curriculum with
- 26 sufficient surveying courses or a surveying technology curriculum of two (2)
- 27 years or more approved by the board, followed by at least two (2) years of
- 28 land surveying that must be surveying experience of a character satisfactory
- 29 to the board, who has passed a written examination designed to show that he
- 30 or she is qualified to practice land surveying in this state, may be licensed
- 31 if he or she is otherwise qualified.
- 32 (B) Each year of teaching land surveying in an approved
- 33 engineering or surveying curriculum may be considered as equivalent to one
- 34 (1) year of land surveying experience; or
- 35 (3)(A) An applicant who cannot qualify under subdivision (a)(2)
- of this section and who has six (6) years or more of active experience in

- l and surveying of a character satisfactory to the board and who has passed a
- 2 written examination designed to show that he or she is qualified to practice
- 3 land surveying may be granted a certificate of licensure to practice land
- 4 surveying in this state if he or she is otherwise qualified.
- 5 (B) Each year of satisfactory work in an approved
- 6 engineering or engineering technology curriculum majoring in surveying may be
- 7 considered as one (1) year of experience in land surveying, but not exceeding
- 8 two (2) years.

- 10 SECTION 54. Arkansas Code § 17-48-203(c), concerning the
- ll qualifications for licensure as a surveyor intern, is amended to read as
- 12 follows:
- 13 (c) A person $\frac{1}{2}$ who shows to the satisfaction of the board that he or she
- 14 is a person of good character shall be eligible for licensure as a surveyor
- 15 intern if he or she qualifies under one (1) of the following provisions:
- 16 (1) A person holding a certificate of licensure as a surveyor
- 17 intern issued to him or her on the basis of a written examination by proper
- 18 authority of a state, territory, possession of the United States, the
- 19 District of Columbia, or any foreign country, based on requirements and
- 20 qualifications as shown on his or her application, which requirements and
- 21 qualifications, in the opinion of the board, are equal to or higher than the
- 22 requirements of this chapter, may be licensed as a surveyor intern at the
- 23 discretion of the board;
- 24 (2) A graduate from an approved engineering curriculum with
- 25 sufficient surveying courses, or a surveying technology curriculum of two (2)
- years or more, approved by the board, who has passed a written examination
- 27 designed to show that he or she is proficient in surveying fundamentals, may
- 28 be licensed if he or she is otherwise qualified; or
- 29 (3)(A) An applicant who cannot qualify under subdivision (c)(2)
- 30 of this section and who has four (4) years or more of active experience in
- 31 land surveying of a character satisfactory to the board and who has passed a
- 32 written examination designed to show that he or she is proficient in
- 33 surveying fundamentals may be licensed if he or she is otherwise qualified.
- 34 (B) Each year of satisfactory work in an approved
- 35 engineering or engineering technology curriculum majoring in surveying may be
- 36 considered as one (1) year of experience in land surveying, but not exceeding

1 two (2) years. 2 3 SECTION 55. Arkansas Code § 17-48-205(a)(2)(A), concerning the 4 administrative violations and penalties of a surveyor, is amended to read as 5 follows: 6 (A) A felony listed under § 17-2-102; 7 8 SECTION 56. Arkansas Code § 17-50-301(a)(2), concerning applicant 9 qualifications for registration as a certified water well driller or 10 certified pump installer, is repealed. 11 (2) Is of good moral character; 12 13 SECTION 57. Arkansas Code § 17-52-308(b)(3), concerning complaints 14 against and disciplinary procedures for a home inspector, is amended to read 15 as follows: 16 (3)(A) Conviction in any jurisdiction of a misdemeanor involving 17 moral turpitude or of any felony listed under § 17-2-102. 18 (B) A plea of nolo contendere or no contest is considered 19 a conviction for the purposes of this section; 20 21 SECTION 58. Arkansas Code § 17-52-315(a), concerning the application 22 for registration as a home inspector, is amended to read as follows: 23 (a) Any person applying for registration or renewal of registration as 24 a home inspector shall be of good moral character and shall submit to the 25 Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board: 26 An application under oath upon a form to be prescribed by 27 the board: 28 (2) A current certificate of insurance issued by an insurance 29 company licensed or surplus lines approved to do business in this state that 30 states that the applicant has procured general liability insurance in the 31 minimum amount of one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000) and, if applicable, 32 workers' compensation insurance; and 33 (3) The required registration or registration renewal fee with 34 the application.

36

1 application for licensure as a chiropractor, is amended to read as follows: 2 The applicant must submit proof satisfactory to the board of graduation from a chartered school or college of chiropractic as herein 3 4 described and file with his or her application the affidavits of at least two 5 (2) licensed and reputable doctors of chiropractic showing him or her to be 6 of good moral character. 7 8 SECTION 60. Arkansas Code § 17-81-305(a)(6), concerning the 9 qualifications of applicants for licensure as a chiropractor, is repealed. 10 (6) Be of good moral character; 11 12 SECTION 61. Arkansas Code § 17-81-318(e), concerning the criminal background check required for a chiropractor, is amended to read as follows: 13 14 (e) Except as provided in subsection (f) of this section, a person 15 shall not receive or hold a license issued by the board if the person has 16 been convicted of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any felony listed 17 under § 17-2-102 or a crime involving moral turpitude, fraud, dishonesty, 18 untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness, or is a registered sex offender or 19 required to register as a sex offender. 20 21 SECTION 62. Arkansas Code § 17-82-304(b), concerning the licensing 22 procedure for dentists, is amended to read as follows: 23 (b) An applicant: 24 (1) Must Shall: 25 (A) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age and of good 26 moral reputation and character; 27 Submit upon request such proof as required by the 28 board may require touching upon age, character, and fitness; and 29 (C) Have been graduated from an American Dental 30 Association-accredited college of dentistry with the degree of Doctor of 31 Dental Surgery or Doctor of Dental Medicine; or 32 (2) Must Shall: 33 (A) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age and of good 34 moral reputation and character;

America with the degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery, Doctor of Dental

(B) Have graduated from a college of dentistry in North

- 1 Medicine, or an equivalent degree approved by the board;
- 2 (C) Have passed an examination approved by the board and
- 3 authorized under § 17-82-303;
- 4 (D) Be a resident of the State of Arkansas and the United
- 5 States and be in compliance with federal laws of immigration; and
- 6 (E) Serve a period of at least one (1) year under a
- 7 provisional license issued by the board to foreign graduates and successfully
- 8 complete the monitoring requirements as ordered by the board at the time the
- 9 provisional license is issued.

12

11 SECTION 63. Arkansas Code § 17-82-306(b), concerning the licensing

procedures for dental hygienists, is amended to read as follows:

- 13 (b) An applicant must shall:
- 14 (1) Be of good moral reputation and character;
- 15 $\frac{(2)(1)}{(2)}$ Have graduated from a dental hygiene program which is
- 16 accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental
- 17 Accreditation and approved by the board for the training of dental
- 18 hygienists; and
- 19 (3)(2) Submit upon request such proof as required by the board
- 20 may require touching upon character and fitness.

21

- 22 SECTION 64. Arkansas Code § 17-82-308(b)(3), concerning the
- 23 credentials for dentists and dental hygienists licensed in other states, is
- 24 amended to read as follows:
- 25 (3) A certificate from the authority which issued the license,
- 26 setting forth the applicant's moral reputation and character, history with
- 27 the board, professional ability, and such other information or data as the
- 28 board may deem necessary or expedient.

- 30 SECTION 65. Arkansas Code § 17-82-316(c)(3), concerning the revocation
- 31 or suspension of a license for a dentist, dental hygienist, or dental
- 32 assistant, is amended to read as follows:
- 33 (3) The commission of any criminal operation; habitual
- 34 drunkenness for a period of three (3) months; insanity; adjudication of
- 35 insanity or mental incompetency if deemed detrimental to patients; conviction
- of an infamous crime or \underline{a} felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u>; addiction to

1 narcotics; immoral, dishonorable, or scandalous conduct; professional 2 incompetency; failure to maintain proper standards of sanitation or failure 3 otherwise to maintain adequate safeguards for the health and safety of 4 patients; or employment in the practice of the profession of any drug, 5 nostrum, unknown formula, or dangerous or unknown anesthetic not generally 6 used by the dental profession; 7 8 SECTION 66. Arkansas Code § 17-82-802 is amended to read as follows: 9 17-82-802. License eligibility. 10 A person shall not be eligible to receive or hold a license to practice 11 dentistry or another healthcare profession issued by the Arkansas State Board 12 of Dental Examiners if the person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere or 13 has been found guilty of either an infamous crime that would impact his or 14 her ability to practice dentistry or oral hygiene in the State of Arkansas or 15 a felony, regardless of whether the conviction has been sealed, expunged, or 16 pardoned <u>listed under</u> § 17-2-102. 17 18 SECTION 67. Arkansas Code § 17-83-307 is amended to read as follows: 19 17-83-307. Grounds for denial, revocation, or suspension. 20 The Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board may refuse to issue or renew a 21 license or may revoke or suspend a license issued under this chapter for any 22 of the following, but is not limited to: 23 (1) Violation of a provision of this chapter; 24 Engaging in unprofessional conduct or gross incompetence as 25 defined by the rules of the board or violating the standards of professional 26 responsibility adopted and published by the board; or 27 (3) Conviction in this or any other state of any crime that is a 28 felony in this state of a felony listed under § 17-2-102; or 29 (4) Conviction of a felony in a federal court.

- SECTION 68. Arkansas Code § 17-84-304(a)(3), concerning the qualifications for licensure and internship for hearing instrument dispensers, is amended to read as follows:
- 34 (3) Show to the satisfaction of the board that he or she:
- 35 (A) Is twenty (20) years of age or older; and
- 36 (B) Has an education equivalent of two (2) or more years

```
1
    of accredited college-level course work from a regionally accredited college
 2
    or university; and
 3
                       (C) Is of good moral character.
 4
 5
           SECTION 69. Arkansas Code § 17-84-308(a)(1), concerning the
6
     suspension, revocation, nonissuance, or nonrenewal of a hearing instrument
7
    dispenser license, is amended to read as follows:
8
                 (1) Being convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude. A
9
     record of a conviction, certified by the judge or the clerk of the court
    where the conviction occurred, shall be sufficient evidence to warrant
10
11
    suspension, revocation, or refusal to issue or renew listed under § 17-2-102;
12
13
           SECTION 70. Arkansas Code § 17-86-203(e)-(h), concerning the powers
14
     and duties of the State Board of Health regarding massage therapy licenses,
15
     are amended to read as follows:
16
           (e)(1) For purposes of this section, an applicant is not eligible to
17
    receive or hold a license issued by the Department of Health if the applicant
18
    has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been found guilty of a felony or
19
    Class A misdemeanor or any offense involving fraud, theft, dishonesty, sexual
20
    misconduct, sexual solicitation, lewd behavior, child abuse or molestation,
21
    statutory rape, sexual assault, human trafficking, or other violent crimes
22
    the board shall follow the licensing restrictions based on criminal records
23
    under § 17-2-102.
24
                 (2) A provision of this section may be waived by the Department
25
    of Health if:
26
                       (A) The conviction is for a Class A misdemeanor and:
27
                             (i) The completion of the applicant's sentence and
    probation or completion of the applicant's sentence or probation of the
28
    offense is at least three (3) years from the date of the application; and
29
30
                             (ii) The applicant has no criminal convictions
31
    during the three-year period; or
32
                       (B) The conviction is for a felony of any classification
33
    and:
34
                             (i) The completion of the applicant's sentence and
    probation or the completion of the applicant's sentence or probation of the
35
36
    offense is at least five (5) years from the date of the application; and
```

1	(11) The applicant has no efiminal convictions
2	during the five-year period.
3	(f) The Department of Health may permit an applicant to be licensed
4	regardless of having been convicted of an offense listed in this section,
5	upon making a determination that the applicant does not pose a risk of harm
6	to any person served by the Department of Health.
7	(g) In making a determination under subsection (f) of this section,
8	the Department of Health may consider the following factors:
9	(1) The nature and severity of the crime;
10	(2) The consequences of the crime;
11	(3) The number and frequency of crimes;
12	(4) The relationship between the crime and the health, safety,
13	and welfare of persons served by the Department of Health, such as:
14	(A) The age and vulnerability of victims of the crime;
15	(B) The harm suffered by the victim; and
16	(C) The similarity between the victim and persons served
17	by the Department of Health;
18	(5) The time elapsed without a repeat of the same or similar
19	event;
20	(6) Documentation of successful completion of training or
21	rehabilitation pertinent to the incident; and
22	(7) Any other information that bears on the applicant's ability
23	to care for others or other relevant information.
24	(h) If the Department of Health waives the provisions of subsection
25	(e) of this section, the Department of Health shall submit the reasons for
26	waiving this provision in writing, and the determination and reasons shall be
27	made available to the members of the Department of Health for review.
28	
29	SECTION 71. Arkansas Code \S 17-86-303(a)(1), concerning qualifications
30	for licensure as a massage therapist, is amended to read as follows:
31	(1) Furnish to the Department of Health satisfactory proof that
32	he or she is eighteen (18) years of age or older and of good moral character;
33	
34	SECTION 72. Arkansas Code § 17-86-311(a), concerning the disciplinary
35	actions and penalties for massage therapists, is amended to read as follows:
36	(a) The Massage Therapy Technical Advisory Committee may deny,

21

2425

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

- suspend, place on probation, or revoke a license upon any one (1) of the following grounds:
- 3 (1) Conviction of, finding of guilt, or entry of a plea of 4 guilty or nolo contendere to a felony, Class Λ misdemeanor, or prostitution Δ 5 felony listed under § 17-2-102;
 - (2) Malpractice or gross incompetency;
- 7 (3) The use in advertisements of untruthful or improbable 8 statements or flamboyant, exaggerated, or extravagant claims concerning the 9 licensee's professional excellence or abilities;
- 10 (4) Habitual drunkenness or habitual use of any illegal drugs;
- 11 (5) Serving alcoholic beverages at the clinic or school in a 12 room where massage therapy is being performed or in a massage therapy school;
- 13 (6) Moral turpitude or immoral or unprofessional Unprofessional 14 conduct;
- 15 (7) Failure to comply with the Department of Health's Massage 16 Therapy Code of Ethics or any valid regulation or order of the committee;
- 17 (8) Invasion of the field of practice of any profession for 18 which a license is required, the diagnosis of ailments, diseases, or injuries 19 of human beings, the performance of osseous adjustments, prescription of 20 medications, or other breaches of the scope of practice of massage therapy;
 - (9) Failure of any licensee to comply with this chapter; or
- 22 (10) Failure to have licensed personnel to perform massage 23 therapy techniques in his or her clinic or school.

SECTION 73. Arkansas Code § 17-87-301(a), concerning the qualifications for an applicant for licensure as a registered nurse, is amended to read as follows:

- (a) Qualifications. Before taking the examination or before the issuance of a license by endorsement, an applicant for a license to practice professional nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing written evidence, verified by oath, that the applicant:
 - (1) Is of good moral character;
- 33 (2)(1) Has completed an approved high school course of study or 34 the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency; 35 and
- 36 $\frac{(3)(2)}{(3)}$ Has completed the required approved professional nursing

1 education program. 2 3 SECTION 74. Arkansas Code § 17-87-304(a), concerning the 4 qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed practical nurse, 5 is amended to read as follows: 6 (a) Qualifications. An applicant for a license to practice practical 7 nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing evidence, 8 verified by oath, that the applicant: 9 (1) Is of good moral character; 10 (2)(1) Has completed an approved high school course of study or 11 the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency; 12 and 13 (3)(2) Has completed a prescribed curriculum in a state-approved 14 program for the preparation of practical nurses and holds a diploma or 15 certificate therefrom. However, the board may waive this requirement if the 16 board determines the applicant to be otherwise qualified. 17 18 SECTION 75. Arkansas Code § 17-87-305(a), concerning the 19 qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed psychiatric 20 technician nurse, is amended to read as follows: 21 (a) Qualifications. An applicant for a license to practice 22 psychiatric technician nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of 23 Nursing evidence, verified by oath, that the applicant: 24 (1) Is of good moral character; 25 (2)(1) Has completed an approved high school course of study or 26 the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency; 27 and 28 (3)(2) Has completed a prescribed curriculum in a state-approved 29 program for the preparation of psychiatric technician nurses and holds a 30 diploma or certificate therefrom. However, the board may waive this 31 requirement if the board determines the applicant to be otherwise qualified. 32

35

36

33 SECTION 76. Arkansas Code § 17-87-312(d)-(1), concerning criminal

34 background checks for nurses, are amended to read as follows:

Upon completion of the criminal background check, the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall

```
1
     forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the
 2
    applicant in the commission of any offense listed in subsection (e) of this
 3
    section.
 4
               For purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing
           (e)
    restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Except as provided
 5
 6
    in subdivision (1)(1) of this section, a person shall not be eligible to
 7
    receive or hold a license issued by the board if that person has pleaded
    guilty or nolo contendere to or has been found guilty of any of the following
8
9
    offenses by a court in the State of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a
10
    court in another state or of any similar offense by a federal court:
11
                 (1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;
12
                 (2) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and
    murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103;
13
14
                 (3) Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104;
15
                 (4) Negligent homicide as prohibited in § 5-10-105;
16
                 (5) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;
17
                (6) False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-
18
    <del>11-103;</del>
19
                (7) Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-
20
    106;
21
                 (8) Robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-102;
22
                 (9) Aggravated robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-103;
                 (10) Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201;
23
                 (11) Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204;
24
25
                 (12) Introduction of a controlled substance into the body of
26
    another person as prohibited in § 5-13-210;
27
                 (13) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an
    employee of a correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony;
28
                 (14) Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited
29
30
    in § 5-13-301;
31
                 (15) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;
32
                 (16) Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110;
33
                 (17) Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113;
                 (18) Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third
34
    degree, and fourth degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 - 5-14-127;
35
36
                 (19) Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;
```

```
1
                 (20) Felony offenses against the family as prohibited in §§ 5
 2
    26-303 - 5-26-306:
 3
                 (21) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the
 4
    first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201;
 5
                 (22) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as
6
    prohibited in § 5-27-205 and endangering the welfare of a minor in the second
7
    degree as prohibited in § 5-27-206;
8
                 (23) Permitting abuse of a minor as prohibited in § 5-27-221(a);
9
                 (24) Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in
10
    visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual
11
     conduct, pandering or possessing visual or print medium depicting sexually
12
    explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to use of a
13
    child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting a sexual
14
    performance by a child as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303 - 5-27-305, 5-27-402, and
15
    <del>5-27-403</del>;
16
                (25) Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603;
17
                (26) Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as
18
    prohibited in § 5-27-605;
19
                (27) Felony adult abuse as prohibited in § 5-28-103;
                 (28) Felony theft of property as prohibited in § 5-36-103;
20
                (29) Felony theft by receiving as prohibited in § 5-36-106;
21
22
                (30) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301;
23
                 (31) Burglary as prohibited in § 5-39-201;
                 (32) Felony violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act,
24
    § 5-64-101 et seq., as prohibited in the former § 5-64-401 and §§ 5-64-419
25
    5-64-442;
26
27
                 (33) Promotion of prostitution in the first degree as prohibited
    in § 5-70-104;
28
29
                 (34) Stalking as prohibited in § 5-71-229; and
30
                 (35) Criminal attempt, criminal complicity, criminal
    solicitation, or criminal conspiracy as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202, 5-
31
32
    3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this subsection.
           (f)(1) The board may issue a nonrenewable temporary permit for
33
34
    licensure to a first-time applicant pending the results of the criminal
35
    background check.
36
                       (B) (2) The permit shall be valid for no more than six (6)
```

1	months.
2	(2) Except as provided in subdivision (1)(1) of this section,
3	upon receipt of information from the Identification Bureau of the Department
4	of Arkansas State Police that the person holding the letter of provisional
5	licensure has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, or has been found guilty
6	of, any offense listed in subsection (e) of this section, the board shall
7	immediately revoke the provisional license.
8	(g)(1) The provisions of subsection (e) and subdivision (f)(2) of this
9	section may be waived by the board upon the request of:
10	(A) An affected applicant for licensure; or
11	(B) The person holding a license subject to revocation.
12	(2) Circumstances for which a waiver may be granted shall
13	include, but not be limited to, the following:
14	(A) The age at which the crime was committed;
15	(B) The circumstances surrounding the crime;
16	(C) The length of time since the crime;
17	(D) Subsequent work history;
18	(E) Employment references;
19	(F) Character references; and
20	(G) Other evidence demonstrating that the applicant does
21	not pose a threat to the health or safety of the public.
22	$\frac{h}{h}(1)$ (g)(1) Any information received by the board from the
23	Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuant to
24	<u>under</u> this section shall not be available for examination except by:
25	(A) The affected applicant for licensure or his or her
26	authorized representative; or
27	(B) The person whose license is subject to revocation or
28	his or her authorized representative.
29	(2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the
30	custody of the Department of Arkansas State Police.
31	(i)(h) Any information made available to the affected applicant for
32	licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
33	information pertaining to that person only.
34	(j)(i) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this
35	section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this
36	background check.

```
1
           (k)(j) The board shall adopt the necessary rules and regulations to
 2
     fully implement the provisions of this section.
 3
           (1)(1) For purposes of this section, an expunged record of a
 4
     conviction or a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to an offense listed in
 5
     subsection (e) of this section shall not be considered a conviction, guilty
 6
     plea, or nolo contendere plea to the offense unless the offense is also
 7
     listed in subdivision (1)(2) of this section.
 8
                 (2) Because of the serious nature of the offenses and the close
9
     relationship to the type of work that is to be performed, the following shall
10
     result in permanent disqualification:
11
                       (A) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;
12
                       (B) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102
13
     and murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103;
14
                       (C) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;
15
                       (D) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or
     an employee of a correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony;
16
17
                       (E) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;
18
                       (F) Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113;
19
                       (G) Sexual assault in the first degree as prohibited in §
20
     5-14-124 and sexual assault in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-14-125;
                       (H) Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;
21
22
                       (I) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in
     the first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201;
23
                       (J) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree
24
     as prohibited in § 5-27-205;
25
26
                       (K) Adult abuse that constitutes a felony as prohibited in
27
     § 5-28-103; and
28
                       (L) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301.
29
30
           SECTION 77. Arkansas Code § 17-87-707(a)(1), concerning disciplinary
31
     actions for nurses, is amended to read as follows:
32
                 (1) Has been found guilty of or pleads guilty or nolo contendere
33
     to:
34
                       (A) Fraud or deceit in procuring or attempting to procure
35
     a medication assistive person certificate; or
36
                       (B) Providing services as a medication assistive person
```

1	without a valid certificate; or
2	(C) Committing a crime of moral turpitude;
3	
4	SECTION 78. Arkansas Code § 17-88-302(2), concerning the
5	qualifications of an applicant for licensure as an occupational therapist, is
6	repealed.
7	(2) The applicant must be of good moral character;
8	
9	SECTION 79. Arkansas Code § 17-88-309(b)(4), concerning the denial,
10	revocation, or suspension of an occupational therapist license, is amended to
11	read as follows:
12	(4) Being convicted of a erime, other than minor offenses
13	defined as "minor misdemeanors", "violations", or "offenses", in any court if
14	the acts for which the applicant or licensee was convicted are found by the
15	board to have a direct bearing on whether he or she should be entrusted to
16	serve the public in the capacity of an occupational therapist or occupational
17	therapy assistant felony listed under § 17-2-102; and
18	
19	SECTION 80. Arkansas Code § 17-89-302(a), concerning the
20	qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed dispensing
21	optician, is amended to read as follows:
22	(a) Every applicant for examination as a licensed dispensing optician
23	shall present satisfactory evidence to the Arkansas Board of Dispensing
24	Opticians that he or she is over twenty-one (21) years of age, of good moral
25	character, a high school graduate or the equivalent thereof, and either:
26	(1) Is a graduate of a school of opticianry whose curriculum
27	consists of at least eighteen (18) months of didactic and practical
28	instruction which is accredited by a national accreditation organization and
29	approved by the board; or
30	(2)(A) Has been engaged in the providing of ophthalmic
31	dispensing services, as defined in this chapter, in the State of Arkansas for
32	a period of not less than five (5) years immediately before application.
33	(B) No more than three (3) years may consist of:
34	(i) Working in a qualified service optical
35	laboratory approved by the board; or
36	(ii) Providing ophthalmic dispensing services under

- 1 the direct supervision of an Arkansas-licensed or registered dispensing
- 2 optician, Arkansas-licensed optometrist, or Arkansas physician skilled in
- 3 diseases of the eye.

- SECTION 81. Arkansas Code § 17-89-303 is amended to read as follows:
- 6 17-89-303. Qualifications Registered dispensing opticians.

7 Every applicant for examination as a registered dispensing optician

- 8 shall present satisfactory evidence to the Arkansas Board of Dispensing
- 9 Opticians that he or she is over twenty-one (21) years of age, $\frac{1}{2}$
- 10 character, a high school graduate or the equivalent thereof, and either:
- 11 (1) Has a minimum of three (3) years' dispensing experience in
- 12 Arkansas under the direct supervision of an Arkansas-licensed optometrist or
- 13 Arkansas-licensed physician skilled in disease of the eye;
- 14 (2) Has a minimum of three (3) years' experience under the
- 15 direct supervision of a licensed or registered dispensing optician holding a
- 16 certificate of licensure or registry in the State of Arkansas, one (1) year
- 17 of which may be while working in a qualified full-service optical laboratory
- 18 approved by the board; or
- 19 (3) Is a graduate of an approved school of opticianry which has
- 20 been accredited by a national accreditation organization and is recognized by
- 21 the board.

- 23 SECTION 82. Arkansas Code § 17-89-305(b), concerning reciprocity for
- 24 dispensing opticians, is amended to read as follows:
- 25 (b) The certificate may be issued without a written or practical
- 26 examination upon payment of the fee prescribed in § 17-89-304(f) to the
- 27 Secretary-treasurer of the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians and upon
- 28 satisfactory proof that the applicant:
- 29 (1) Is qualified under the provisions of this chapter;
- 30 (2) Is of good moral character;
- 31 $\frac{(3)}{(2)}$ Has provided ophthalmic dispensing services to the public
- 32 as a dispensing optician in the state of licensure or registration for a
- 33 period of at least five (5) years for licensure or three (3) years for
- 34 registration immediately before his or her application for reciprocity to
- 35 this state; and
- 36 $\frac{(4)(3)}{(3)}$ Is licensed or registered in a state which grants like

1 reciprocal privileges to opticians who hold certificates of licensure or 2 registry issued by this state. 3 SECTION 83. Arkansas Code § 17-89-306(b), concerning an ophthalmic 4 5 dispensers from nonlicensing states seeking licensure as a dispensing 6 opticians in Arkansas, is amended to read as follows: 7 The applicant must shall: 8 (1) Be qualified under the provisions of this chapter; 9 (2) Be of good moral character; 10 (3)(2) Have been engaged in ophthalmic dispensing as described 11 in § 17-89-102(4) for a period of: 12 (A) Five (5) years for applicants for licensure, of which 13 no more than three (3) years may be while working in a qualified full-service 14 optical laboratory approved by the board; or 15 (B) Three (3) years for applicants for registry, of which 16 no more than one (1) year may be while working in a qualified full-service 17 laboratory approved by the board immediately before the date of application; 18 (4)(3) Successfully complete the written and practical 19 examination for licensure or registry prepared and conducted by the board; 20 and 21 (5)(4) Have paid the fee prescribed in § 17-89-304(f) to the 22 Secretary-treasurer of the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians. 23 24 SECTION 84. Arkansas Code § 17-89-309(a)(3), concerning grounds of 25 denial, suspension, or revocation of a licensure or registration of an 26 ophthalmic dispensers, is amended to read as follows: 27 (3) The applicant, licensee, or registrant being convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 in any state or federal court, and not 28 29 pardoned, if the acts for which the person is convicted are found by the 30 board to have a direct bearing on whether he or she should be entrusted to 31 serve the public in the capacity of a dispensing optician; 32

35

36

33 SECTION 85. Arkansas Code § 17-90-301(b), concerning examinations for licensure as an optometrist, is amended to read as follows: 34

(b) Every applicant for examination shall present satisfactory evidence that he or she is:

1 (1) Over At least twenty-one (21) years of age; 2 (2) A successful candidate having passed all parts of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry examination since January 1, 1997; 3 4 and 5 (3) Of good moral character; and 6 (4)(3) A graduate of a college of optometry that has been 7 accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education of the 8 American Optometric Association. 9 10 SECTION 86. Arkansas Code § 17-90-302(c)(3), concerning licensure by 11 endorsement for optometrists, is amended to read as follows: 12 (3) A certificate of good standing from each authority which 13 issued the license, setting forth the applicant's moral reputation and 14 character, history with the authority, professional ability, continuing 15 education compliance, and other information or data as the State Board of 16 Optometry may deem necessary or expedient; 17 18 SECTION 87. Arkansas Code § 17-90-305(a)(3), concerning the grounds 19 for denial, revocation, or suspension of an optometrist license, is amended to read as follows: 20 21 (3) Conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or the 22 conviction of a misdemeanor, if the misdemeanor conduct would denote an 23 impairment in the ability to practice optometry; 24 25 SECTION 88. Arkansas Code § 17-91-101(a), concerning the licensing requirements for an osteopathic physician, is amended to read as follows: 26 27 The Arkansas State Medical Board shall accept for licensure by 28 examination any person who: 29 (1) Is at least twenty-one (21) years of age; 30 (2) Is a citizen of the United States; 31 (3) Is of good moral character; 32 (4)(3) Has not been guilty of acts constituting unprofessional 33 conduct as defined in the Arkansas Medical Practices Act, § 17-95-201 et 34 seq., § 17-95-301 et seq., and § 17-95-401 et seq.; 35 (5)(4) Is a graduate of an osteopathic college of medicine whose 36 course of study has been recognized by the Department of Education of the

1 American Osteopathic Association; and 2 (6)(5) Has completed a one-year internship in a hospital 3 approved by the American Medical Association or the American Osteopathic 4 Association. 5 6 SECTION 89. Arkansas Code § 17-92-305(a), concerning qualification of 7 applicants for licensure as a pharmacist, is amended to read as follows: 8 (a) Each applicant for examination as a pharmacist shall: 9 (1) Shall be Be not less than twenty-one (21) years of age; and 10 (2) Shall be of good moral character and temperate habits; and 11 (3)(2) Shall have Have: 12 (A) Graduated and received the first professional 13 undergraduate degree from a pharmacy degree program which has been approved 14 by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy; or 15 (B) Graduated from a foreign college of pharmacy, 16 completed a transcript verification program, taken and passed a college of 17 pharmacy equivalency exam program, and completed a process of communication 18 ability testing as defined under board regulations so that it is assured that 19 the applicant meets standards necessary to protect public health and safety. 20 21 SECTION 90. Arkansas Code § 17-92-311(a)(3), concerning grounds for 22 revocation, suspension, or nonrewal of licensure or registration, is amended to read as follows: 23 24 The person has been found guilty or pleaded guilty or nolo (3) 25 contendere in a criminal proceeding, regardless of whether or not the 26 adjudication of guilt or sentence is withheld by a court of this state, 27 another state, or the United States Government for: 28 (A) Any felony listed under § 17-2-102; 29 (B) Any act involving moral turpitude, gross immorality, 30 or which is related to the qualifications, functions, and duties of a 31 licensee; or 32 (C) Any violation of the pharmacy or drug laws or rules of 33 this state, or of the pharmacy or drug statutes, rules, and regulations of 34 any other state or of the United States Government; 35

SECTION 91. Arkansas Code § 17-92-317(e), concerning criminal

- l background check requirements for an intern or pharmacist license or a
- 2 pharmacy technician registration, is amended to read as follows:
- 3 (e) Notwithstanding the provisions of § 17-1-103, no person shall be \underline{a}
- 4 person is not eligible to receive or hold an intern or pharmacist license or
- 5 pharmacy technician registration issued by the board if that person has
- 6 pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, or has been found guilty of, any of the
- 7 following offenses, regardless of whether an adjudication of guilt or
- 8 sentencing or imposition of sentence is withheld, by any court in the State
- 9 of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in another state or of any
- 10 similar offense by a federal court:
- 11 (1) Any felony listed under § 17-2-102;
- 12 (2) Any act involving moral turpitude, gross immorality,
- 13 dishonesty, or which is related to the qualifications, functions, and duties
- 14 of a person holding the license or registration; or
- 15 (3) Any violation of Arkansas pharmacy or drug law or
- 16 regulations, including, but not limited to, this chapter, the Uniform
- 17 Controlled Substances Act, § 5-64-101 et seq., and the Food, Drug, and
- 18 Cosmetic Act, § 20-56-201 et seq.

- 20 SECTION 92. Arkansas Code § 17-93-303(b), concerning qualification of
- 21 applicants for licensure as a physical therapist, is amended to read as
- 22 follows:
- 23 (b) Each physical therapist applicant shall:
- 24 (1) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age;
- 25 (2) Be of good moral character;
- 26 (3)(2) Have graduated from a school of physical therapy
- 27 accredited by a national accreditation agency approved by the board;
- 28 (4)(3) Have passed examinations selected and approved by the
- 29 board; and
- 30 $\frac{(5)(4)}{(5)}$ Submit fees as determined by the board.

- 32 SECTION 93. Arkansas Code § 17-93-304(b), concerning qualification of
- 33 applicants for licensure as a physical therapist assistant, is amended to
- 34 read as follows:
- 35 (b) Each physical therapist assistant applicant shall:
- 36 (1) Be at least eighteen (18) years of age;

1	(2) Be of good moral character;
2	(3)(2) Have graduated from a school of physical therapy
3	accredited by a national accreditation agency approved by the Arkansas State
4	Board of Physical Therapy;
5	(4)(3) Have passed examinations selected and approved by the
6	Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy; and
7	(5)(4) Submit fees as determined by the Arkansas State Board of
8	Physical Therapy.
9	
10	SECTION 94. Arkansas Code § 17-93-308(a)(4), concerning the
11	revocation, suspension, or denial of licensure for physical therapists, is
12	repealed.
13	(4) Has been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude;
14	
15	SECTION 95. Arkansas Code § 17-93-412(a)(1), concerning the
16	revocation. suspension, or denial of a license for an athletic trainer, is
17	amended to read as follows:
18	(1) Been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor involving moral
19	turpitude, the record of conviction being conclusive evidence of conviction
20	if the board determines after investigation that the person has not been
21	sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust listed under § 17-2-
22	<u>102</u> ;
23	
24	SECTION 96. Arkansas Code § 17-95-104(a)(2), concerning a hospital's
25	duty to report physician misconduct, is amended to read as follows:
26	(2) The hospital shall also report any other formal disciplinary
27	action concerning any such physician taken by the hospital upon
28	recommendation of the medical staff relating to professional ethics, medical
29	incompetence, moral turpitude, or drug or alcohol abuse.
30	
31	SECTION 97. Arkansas Code § 17-95-307 is amended to read as follows:
32	17-95-307. License eligibility.
33	$rac{A}{A}$ person shall be is not eligible to receive or hold a license to
34	practice medicine or another healthcare profession issued by the Arkansas
35	State Medical Board if the person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or
36	has been found guilty of either an infamous crime that would impact his or

1 her ability to practice medicine in the State of Arkansas or a felony listed 2 under § 17-2-102, regardless of whether the conviction has been sealed, 3 expunged, or pardoned. 4 5 SECTION 98. Arkansas Code § 17-95-403(b)(2), concerning qualification 6 of applicants for licensure as a physician, is amended to read as follows: 7 (2) Is of good moral character and has Has not been guilty of 8 acts constituting unprofessional conduct as defined in § 17-95-409; 9 10 SECTION 99. Arkansas Code § 17-95-408(d)(2), concerning annual 11 registration for licensure as a physician, is amended to read as follows: 12 If application for reinstatement is made, the board shall 13 consider the moral character and professional qualifications of the applicant 14 upon notice and hearing before ordering reinstatement. Unless such a showing 15 shall thereupon be made to the board as would entitle the applicant to the 16 issuance of an original license, reinstatement shall be denied. 17 18 SECTION 100. Arkansas Code § 17-95-409(a)(2)(A), concerning the 19 grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a physician license, is amended to read as follows: 20 21 (A)(i) Conviction of any crime involving moral turpitude 22 or conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102. 23 (ii) The judgment of any such conviction, unless 24 pending upon appeal, shall be conclusive evidence of unprofessional conduct; 25 26 SECTION 101. Arkansas Code § 17-95-903(b)(7), concerning 27 qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a graduate registered 28 physician, is repealed. 29 (7) Is of good moral character; and 30 31 SECTION 102. Arkansas Code § 17-95-910 is amended to read as follows: 32 17-95-910. Violation. 33 Following the exercise of due process, the Arkansas State Medical Board 34 may discipline a graduate registered physician who: 35 (1) Fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a 36 license;

Ţ	(2) Fraudulently or deceptively uses a license;
2	(3) Violates any provision of this subchapter or any rules
3	adopted by the board pertaining to this chapter;
4	(4) Is convicted of a felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u> ;
5	(5) Is a habitual user of intoxicants or drugs to the extent
6	that he or she is unable to safely perform as a graduate registered
7	physician; or
8	(6) Has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or has a mental
9	condition that renders him or her unable to safely perform as a graduate
10	registered physician ; or
11	(7) Has committed an act of moral turpitude.
12	
13	SECTION 103. Arkansas Code § 17-96-303(a), concerning qualifications
14	of an applicant for licensure as a podiatrist, is amended to read as follows:
15	(a) No person shall be entitled to <u>A person shall not</u> take any
16	examination for such registration unless that person shall furnish the
17	Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine with satisfactory proof that he or she:
18	(1) Is twenty-one (21) years of age or over; and
19	(2) Is of good moral character; and
20	$\frac{(3)}{(2)}$ Has received a license or certificate of graduation from
21	a legally incorporated, regularly established school of podiatric medicine
22	recognized by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the American
23	Podiatric Medical Association within the states, territories, districts, and
24	provinces of the United States or within any foreign country.
25	
26	SECTION 104. Arkansas Code § 17-96-308(c)(2)(C), concerning the
27	definition of "unprofessional and dishonest conduct" regarding podiatric
28	medicine licensure, is repealed.
29	(C) Being guilty of an offense involving moral turpitude;
30	
31	SECTION 105. Arkansas Code § 17-97-201(a)(5)(B), concerning the
32	membership of the Arkansas Psychology Board, is amended to read as follows:
33	(B) The Governor shall remove any member from the board if
34	he or she:
35	(i) Ceases to be qualified;
36	(ii) Fails to attend three (3) successive board

1 meetings without just cause as determined by the board; 2 (iii) Is found to be in violation of this chapter; 3 (iv) Pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found 4 guilty of a felony or an unlawful act involving moral turpitude listed under 5 § 17-2-102 by a court of competent jurisdiction; or 6 (v) Pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found 7 guilty of malfeasance, misfeasance, or nonfeasance in relation to his or her 8 board duties by a court of competent jurisdiction. 9 10 SECTION 106. Arkansas Code § 17-97-302(b)(1), concerning qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a psychologist, is amended to 11 12 read as follows: (b)(1) A candidate for a license shall furnish the board with 13 14 satisfactory evidence that he or she: 15 (A) Is of good moral character; 16 (B)(A) Has received a doctoral degree in psychology from 17 an accredited institution recognized by the board as maintaining satisfactory 18 standards at the time the degree was granted or, in lieu of a degree, a 19 doctoral degree in a closely allied field if it is the opinion of the board 20 that the training required therefor is substantially similar; 21 (C) (B) Has had at least two (2) years of experience in 22 psychology of a type considered by the board to be qualifying in nature with 23 at least one (1) of those years being postdoctoral work; 24 (D)(C) Is competent in psychology, as shown by passing 25 examinations, written or oral, or both, as the board deems necessary; 26 (E)(D) Is not considered by the board to be engaged in 27 unethical practice; 28 (F)(E) Has applied for a criminal background check and has 29 not been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any of the offenses listed in § 17-97-312(f); and 30 31 (G)(F) Has not failed an examination given by the board 32 within the preceding six (6) months. 33 SECTION 107. Arkansas Code § 17-97-303(b)(1), concerning 34 35 qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a psychological examiner, is 36 amended to read as follows:

I	(b)(l) A candidate for a license shall furnish the board with
2	satisfactory evidence that he or she:
3	(A) Is of good moral character;
4	(B)(A) Has a master's degree in psychology or a closely
5	related field from an accredited educational institution recognized by the
6	board as maintaining satisfactory standards;
7	$\frac{(G)}{(B)}$ Is competent as a psychological examiner as shown
8	by passing examinations, written or oral, or both, as the board deems
9	necessary;
10	$\frac{(D)}{(C)}$ Is not considered by the board to be engaged in
11	unethical practice;
12	$\frac{(E)}{(D)}$ Has applied for a criminal background check and has
13	not been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any of the
14	offenses listed in § 17-97-312(f); and
15	(F) (E) Has not failed an examination given by the board
16	within the preceding six (6) months.
17	
18	SECTION 108. Arkansas Code § 17-97-305(d)(1)(C), concerning the
19	qualifications for examination for a provisional license as a psychologist,
20	is repealed.
21	(C) Has good moral character;
22	
23	SECTION 109 . Arkansas Code § $17-97-305(d)(1)(F)$, concerning the
24	qualifications for a provisional license for psychologists and psychological
25	examiners, is amended to read as follows:
26	(F) Has not been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude
27	or a felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u> ;
28	
29	SECTION 110. Arkansas Code § 17-97-308(f)(2), concerning annual
30	registration for licensure as a psychologist, is amended to read as follows:
31	(2) If application for reinstatement is made, the board shall
32	consider the $\frac{moral\ character\ and}{character\ and}$ professional qualifications of the applicant
33	as in the case of an original application.
34	
35	SECTION 111. Arkansas Code § 17-97-312(d)-(m), concerning criminal
36	background checks for psychologists and psychological examiners, are amended

```
1
    to read as follows:
 2
           (d) Upon completion of the criminal background check, the
 3
     Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall
 4
     forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the
 5
     applicant in the commission of any offense listed in subsection (f) of this
 6
    section.
 7
           (e) At the conclusion of any background check required by this
8
     section, the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police
9
     shall promptly destroy the fingerprint card of the applicant.
10
           (f) For purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing
11
     restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Except as provided
12
    in subdivision (m)(1) of this section, no person shall be eligible to receive
    or hold a license issued by the board if that person has pleaded guilty or
13
14
    nolo contendere to or been found guilty of any of the following offenses by
    any court in the State of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in
15
16
    another state or of any similar offense by a federal court:
17
                (1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;
18
                (2) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and
19
    murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103;
20
                (3) Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104;
                (4) Negligent homicide as prohibited in § 5-10-105;
21
                (5) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;
22
23
                (6) False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-
24
    11-103;
25
                (7) Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-
26
    106;
27
                (8) Robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-102;
                (9) Aggravated robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-103;
28
                (10) Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201;
29
30
                (11) Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204;
31
                (12) Introduction of a controlled substance into the body of
32
    another person as prohibited in § 5-13-210;
33
                (13) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an
    employee of a correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony;
34
35
                (14) Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited
36
    in § 5-13-301;
```

```
1
                 (15) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;
 2
                (16) Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110;
 3
                 (17) Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113;
 4
                 (18) Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third
     degree, and fourth degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 - 5-14-127;
 5
 6
                 (19) Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;
 7
                 (20) Offenses against the family as prohibited in §§ 5-26-303-
8
     5-26-306+
9
                 (21) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the
10
     first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201;
11
                (22) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as
12
     prohibited in § 5-27-205;
13
                 (23) Permitting abuse of a minor as prohibited in § 5-27-221;
14
                 (24) Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in
15
     visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual
16
     conduct, pandering or possessing a visual or print medium depicting sexually
17
     explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to use of a
18
     child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting a sexual
19
     performance by a child as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303 - 5-27-305, 5-27-402, and
     5-27-403;
20
21
                 (25) Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603;
22
                (26) Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as
     prohibited in § 5-27-605;
23
24
                (27) Felony adult abuse as prohibited in § 5-28-103;
                (28) Theft of property as prohibited in § 5-36-103;
25
26
                (29) Theft by receiving as prohibited in § 5-36-106;
27
                 (30) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301;
28
                 (31) Burglary as prohibited in § 5-39-201;
                 (32) Felony violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act,
29
     § 5-64-101 et seq., as prohibited in the former § 5-64-401 and §§ 5-64-419 -
30
     5-64-442;
31
32
                 (33) Promotion of prostitution in the first degree as prohibited
33
     in § 5-70-104;
34
                 (34) Stalking as prohibited in § 5-71-229; and
35
                 (35) Criminal attempt, criminal complicity, criminal
36
     solicitation, or criminal conspiracy as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202, 5-
```

```
1
    3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this subsection.
 2
           (g)(1) The board may issue a six-month nonrenewable letter of
    provisional eligibility for licensure to a first-time applicant pending the
 3
 4
     results of the criminal background check.
 5
                 (2) Except as provided in subdivision (m)(1) of this section,
 6
    upon receipt of information from the Identification Bureau of the Department
 7
    of Arkansas State Police that the person holding a letter of provisional
8
    licensure has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been found guilty of
9
    any offense listed in subsection (f) of this section, the board shall
10
    immediately revoke the provisional license.
11
           (h)(1) The provisions of subsection (f) and subdivision (g)(2) of this
12
    section may be waived by the board upon the request of:
13
                       (A) An affected applicant for licensure; or
14
                       (B) The person holding a license subject to revocation.
15
                 (2) Circumstances for which a waiver may be granted shall
16
    include, but not be limited to, the following:
17
                       (A) The age at which the crime was committed;
18
                       (B) The circumstances surrounding the crime;
19
                       (C) The length of time since the crime;
20
                       (D) Subsequent work history;
21
                       (E) Employment references;
22
                       (F) Character references; and
23
                       (G) Other evidence demonstrating that the applicant does
    not pose a threat to the health or safety of children.
24
25
           \frac{(i)(1)}{(h)(1)} Any information received by the board from the
26
     Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuant to
27
    under this section shall not be available for examination except by the
     affected applicant for licensure or his or her authorized representative or
28
29
     the person whose license is subject to revocation or his or her authorized
30
     representative.
31
                 (2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the
32
     custody of the department.
33
           (j)(i) Any information made available to the affected applicant for
34
    licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
35
     information pertaining to that person only.
36
           (k)(j) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this
```

```
1
    section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this
 2
    background check.
          (1)(k) The board shall adopt the necessary rules and regulations to
 3
 4
     fully implement the provisions of this section.
 5
           (m)(1) For purposes of this section, an expunged record of a
6
    conviction or plea of guilty of or nolo contendere to an offense listed in
 7
    subsection (f) of this section shall not be considered a conviction, guilty
8
    plea, or nolo contendere plea to the offense unless the offense is also
9
     listed in subdivision (m)(2) of this section.
10
                 (2) Because of the serious nature of the offenses and the close
11
    relationship to the type of work that is to be performed, the following shall
12
    result in permanent disqualification:
13
                       (A) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;
14
                       (B) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102
15
    and murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103;
16
                       (C) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;
17
                       (D) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or
18
    an employee of a correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony;
19
                       (E) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;
20
                       (F) Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113:
21
                       (G) Sexual assault in the first degree as prohibited in §
22
    5-14-124 and sexual assault in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-14-125;
                       (H) Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;
23
                       (I) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in
24
    the first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201;
25
26
                       (J) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree
27
    as prohibited in § 5-27-205 and endangering the welfare of a minor in the
    second degree as prohibited in § 5-27-206;
28
29
                       (K) Adult abuse that constitutes a felony as prohibited in
30
    § 5-28-103; and
31
                       (L) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301.
32
33
           SECTION 112. Arkansas Code § 17-98-302(a), concerning admission to
34
     examination for licensure as a disease intervention specialist, is amended to
35
     read as follows:
36
           (a) The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists shall admit to
```

1 examination any person who makes application to the Secretary of the State 2 Board of Disease Intervention Specialists on forms prescribed and furnished by the board, pays an application fee set by the board to defray the expense 3 4 of examination, and submits satisfactory proof to the board that he or she: 5 (1) Is a person of good moral character; 6 (2)(1) Meets the minimum educational requirements; 7 (3)(2) Meets the minimum specialized training requirements, as 8 determined by the board; 9 (4)(3) Has had two (2) years of field experience in human 10 immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention; and 11 (5)(4) Is actively engaged in the field of human 12 immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention at the time 13 he or she makes application. 14 15 SECTION 113. Arkansas Code § 17-98-303 is amended to read as follows: 17-98-303. Issuance of certificate without examination. 16 17 The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists shall issue a 18 certificate of registration without examination to any person who makes 19 application on forms prescribed and furnished by the board, pays a 20 registration fee set by the board, and submits satisfactory proof that he or 21 she: 22 (1) Is of good moral character; 23 $\frac{(2)}{(1)}$ Has had at least two (2) years' experience in the field of human immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention; 24 25 and 26 $\frac{(3)}{(2)}$ Is registered as a disease intervention specialist in a 27 state in which the qualifications for registration are not lower than the 28 qualifications for registration in this state at the time he or she applies 29 for registration. 30 31 SECTION 114. Arkansas Code §§ 17-98-305 and 17-98-306 are amended to 32 read as follows: 17-98-305. Application for reinstatement. 33 34 (a) A former registered disease intervention specialist whose 35 certificate has expired or has been suspended or revoked may make application

for reinstatement by paying a renewal fee and submitting satisfactory proof

36

1 to the State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists that he or she has 2 complied with the continuing education requirements. 3 The board shall consider the moral character and professional 4 qualifications of the applicant as in the case of an original application. 5 6 17-98-306. Refusal to renew - Suspension or revocation. 7 The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists may refuse to renew 8 or may suspend or revoke a certificate upon proof that the applicant+ 9 (1) Is not of good character; or 10 (2) Is is guilty of fraud, deceit, gross negligence, 11 incompetency, or misconduct relative to his or her duties as a disease 12 intervention specialist. 13 14 SECTION 115. Arkansas Code § 17-99-302(b), concerning qualifications 15 of an applicant for licensure as a respiratory care practitioner, is amended 16 to read as follows: 17 (b) Each applicant must shall: 18 (1) Be at least eighteen (18) years of age; 19 (2) Be of good moral character; 20 (3)(2) Have been awarded a high school diploma or its 21 equivalent; 22 (4)(3) Have satisfactorily completed training in a respiratory 23 care program which has been approved by the Arkansas State Respiratory Care 24 Examining Committee, to include adequate instruction in basic medical 25 science, clinical science, and respiratory care theory and procedures; and 26 (5)(4) Have passed an examination approved by the Arkansas State 27 Medical Board and the committee, unless exempted by other provisions of this 28 chapter. 29 30 SECTION 116. Arkansas Code § 17-99-307(3), concerning the grounds for 31 denial, suspension, or revocation of a respiratory care practitioner license, 32 is repealed. 33 (3) Has been convicted of any crime involving moral turpitude; 34 35 SECTION 117. Arkansas Code § 17-100-302(b), concerning qualifications 36 of an applicant for licensure as a speech-language pathologist or

- 1 audiologist, is amended to read as follows:
- 2 (b) To be eligible for licensure by the board as a speech-language 3 pathologist or audiologist, a person shall:

(1) Be of good moral character;

- 5 (2)(1) Possess at least a master's degree in the area of speech-6 language pathology or a master's degree in audiology obtained on or before 7 December 30, 2006, or a doctoral degree obtained after January 1, 2007, from
- 8 an educational institution recognized by the board;
- 9 $\frac{(3)}{(2)}$ Submit evidence of the completion of the educational,
- 10 clinical experience, and employment requirements, which shall be based on
- 11 appropriate national standards and prescribed by the rules adopted under this
- 12 chapter; and

4

15

19

20

21

13 $\frac{(4)(3)}{(3)}$ Pass an examination approved by the board before the board approves a license.

SECTION 118. Arkansas Code § 17-100-302(d), concerning qualifications of an applicant for provisional licensure as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist, is amended to read as follows:

- (d) To be eligible for provisional licensure by the board as a speechlanguage pathologist or audiologist, a person shall:
- (1) Be of good moral character;
- 22 (2)(1) Possess at least a master's degree in the area of speech-23 language pathology or audiology, as the case may be, from an educational 24 institution recognized by the board;
- 25 (3)(2) Be in the process of completing the postgraduate professional experience requirement; and
- 27 (4)(3) Pass an examination approved by the board.

28 29

30

31

32

33

34

35 36

- SECTION 119. Arkansas Code § 17-100-307(a)(3), concerning the grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license, or other disciplinary action for speech-language pathologists and audiologists, is amended to read as follows:
- (3)(A) Being convicted of a felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u> in any court of the <u>United States</u> if the acts for which the licensee or applicant is convicted are found by the board to have a direct bearing on whether he or she should be entrusted to serve the public in the capacity of

a speech language pathologist or audiologist.

1

2 (B) A plea or verdict of guilty made to a charge of a 3 felony or of any offense involving moral turpitude is a conviction within the 4 meaning of this section. 5 (C)(B) At the direction of the board, and after due notice 6 and an administrative hearing in accordance with the provisions of applicable 7 Arkansas laws, the license of the person so convicted shall be suspended or 8 revoked or the board shall decline to issue a license when: 9 (i) The time for appeal has elapsed; 10 The judgment of conviction has been affirmed on 11 appeal; or 12 (iii) An order granting probation has been made 13 suspending the imposition of sentence, without regard to a subsequent order 14 under the provisions of state law allowing the withdrawal of a guilty plea 15 and the substitution of a not guilty plea, or the setting aside of a guilty 16 verdict, or the dismissal of the acquisition, information, or indictment; 17 18 SECTION 120. Arkansas Code § 17-101-305(a)(4)(A), concerning the 19 grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a veterinarian license, is 20 amended to read as follows: 21 (4)(A) Conviction of a felony or other crime involving moral 22 turpitude listed under § 17-2-102. 23 SECTION 121. Arkansas Code § 17-102-304(a)(3), concerning 24 25 qualifications of an applicant for provisional licensure as an acupuncturist, 26 is amended to read as follows: 27 (3) Before any applicant shall be eligible for an examination, 28 the applicant shall furnish satisfactory proof to the board that he or she: 29 (A) Is of good moral character by filing with his or her 30 application the affidavits of at least two (2) reputable acupuncturists who 31 attest to his or her character: 32 (B)(A) Has successfully completed not fewer than sixty 33 (60) semester credit hours of college education, to include a minimum of thirty (30) semester credit hours in the field of science; and 34 35 (C)(B) Has completed a program in acupuncture and related 36 techniques and has received a certificate or diploma from an institute

1 approved by the board as described in this section. The training received in 2 the program shall be for a period of no fewer than four (4) academic years 3 and shall include a minimum of eight hundred (800) hours of supervised 4 clinical practice. 5 6 SECTION 122. Arkansas Code § 17-102-304(c)(4), concerning 7 qualifications of an applicant for provisional licensure as an acupuncturist, 8 is amended to read as follows: 9 (4) Not have been convicted of a felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u>; 10 and 11 12 SECTION 123. Arkansas Code § 17-103-305(b), concerning the grounds for 13 renewal, revocation, or suspension of a social worker license, is amended to 14 read as follows: 15 The board shall refuse to issue or shall revoke the license of a 16 person who has been found guilty of a felony, any crime involving moral 17 turpitude, listed under § 17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence, 18 dishonesty, fraud, deceit, breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable 19 unless the person requests and the board grants a waiver under § 17-103-20 307(f). 21 22 SECTION 124. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(a)(1)(D), concerning 23 qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed social worker, is 24 repealed. 25 (D) Has good moral character; 26 27 SECTION 125. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(a)(1)(G), concerning 28 qualifications for a Licensed Social Worker license, is amended to read as 29 follows: 30 (G) Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been 31 found guilty of a felony, any crime involving moral turpitude, listed under § 32 17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit, breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable; 33

34

35 SECTION 126. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(b)(1)(G), concerning the 36 qualifications for a Licensed Master Social Worker license, is amended to

```
1
     read as follows:
 2
                       (G) Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been
 3
     found guilty of a felony, any crime involving moral turpitude, listed under §
     17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit,
 4
 5
     breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable;
 6
 7
           SECTION 127. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(c)(1)(H), concerning the
8
     qualifications for a Licensed Certified Social Worker license, is amended to
9
     read as follows:
10
                 (H) Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been found
     guilty of a felony, any crime involving moral turpitude, listed under § 17-2-
11
12
     102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit, breach
13
     of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable;
14
15
           SECTION 128. Arkansas Code § 17-103-307(d)-(k), concerning criminal
16
     background check requirements for social workers, are amended to read as
17
     follows:
18
           (d)
                Upon completion of the criminal background check, the
19
     Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall
20
     forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the
21
     applicant in the commission of any offense listed in subsection (e) of this
22
     section.
23
           (e) For purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing
     restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Except as provided
24
     in subdivision (k)(1) of this section, a person is not eligible to receive or
25
26
     hold a license issued by the board if that person has pleaded guilty or nolo
27
     contendere to or been found guilty of a felony, any crime involving moral
     turpitude, or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit,
28
29
     breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable, including without
30
     limitation:
31
                 (1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;
32
                 (2) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and
     murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103;
33
                 (3) Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104;
34
                 (4) Negligent homicide as prohibited in § 5-10-105;
35
36
                 (5) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;
```

```
1
                 (6) False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-
 2
     11-103:
 3
                 (7) Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-
 4
     106;
 5
                 (8) Robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-102;
 6
                 (9) Aggravated robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-103;
 7
                 (10) Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201;
 8
                 (11) Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204;
9
                 (12) Introduction of a controlled substance into the body of
     another person as prohibited in § 5-13-210;
10
11
                 (13) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an
12
     employee of a correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony;
13
                 (14) Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited
14
     in § 5-13-301;
15
                 (15) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;
16
                 (16) Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110;
17
                 (17) Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113;
18
                 (18) Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third
19
     degree, and fourth degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 - 5-14-127;
20
                 (19) Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;
21
                 (20) Offenses against the family as prohibited in §§ 5-26-303-
22
     5-26-306+
23
                 (21) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the
     first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201:
24
25
                 (22) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as
26
     prohibited in § 5-27-205;
27
                 (23) Permitting abuse of a minor as prohibited in § 5-27-221(a);
28
                 (24) Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in
     visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual
29
30
     conduct, pandering or possessing a visual or print medium depicting sexually
     explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to use of a
31
32
     child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting a sexual
33
     performance by a child as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303 - 5-27-305, 5-27-402, and
     <del>5-27-403</del>;
34
35
                 (25) Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603;
                 (26) Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as
36
```

```
1
    prohibited in § 5-27-605;
 2
                 (27) Felony adult abuse as prohibited in § 5-28-103;
 3
                 (28) Theft of property as prohibited in § 5-36-103;
                 (29) Theft by receiving as prohibited in § 5-36-106;
 4
 5
                 (30) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301;
 6
                 (31) Burglary as prohibited in § 5-39-201;
 7
                 (32) Felony violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act,
     § 5-64-101 et seq., as prohibited in the former § 5-64-401 and §§ 5-64-419 -
8
9
     5-64-442;
10
                 (33) Promotion of prostitution in the first degree as prohibited
11
     in § 5-70-104;
12
                 (34) Stalking as prohibited in § 5-71-229; and
13
                 (35) Criminal attempt, criminal complicity, criminal
14
     solicitation, or criminal conspiracy as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202, 5-
15
     3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this subsection.
16
           (f)(1) The provisions of subsection (e) of this section may be waived
17
     by the board upon the request of:
18
                       (A) An affected applicant for licensure; or
19
                       (B) The person holding a license subject to revocation.
20
                 (2) Circumstances for which a waiver may be granted include, but
     are not limited to, the following:
21
22
                       (A) The applicant's age at the time the crime was
23
     committed;
                       (B) The circumstances surrounding the crime;
24
25
                       (C) The length of time since the crime;
26
                       (D) Subsequent work history;
27
                       (E) Employment references:
28
                       (F) Character references; and
29
                       (G) Other evidence demonstrating that the applicant does
     not pose a threat to the health or safety of children or endangered adults.
30
31
           \frac{(g)(1)}{(f)}(f) Information received by the board from the Identification
     Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police under this section shall
32
     not be available for examination except by the affected applicant for
33
34
     licensure or his or her authorized representative or the person whose license
35
     is subject to revocation or his or her authorized representative.
36
                 (2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the
```

1 custody of the department. 2 (h)(g) Information made available to the affected applicant for 3 licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be 4 information pertaining to that person only. 5 (i)(h) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this 6 section do not extend to any document created for purposes other than the 7 criminal background check. 8 (j)(i) The board shall adopt the necessary rules to fully implement 9 the provisions of this section. 10 (k)(1) As used in this section, an expunged record of a conviction or 11 plea of guilty or nolo contendere to an offense listed in subsection (e) of 12 this section shall not be a felony, any crime involving moral turpitude, or a criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit, breach of 13 14 elient trust, or abuse of the vulnerable unless the offense is also listed in 15 subdivision (k)(2) of this section. 16 (2) Because of the serious nature of the offenses and the close 17 relationship to the type of work that is to be performed, a conviction, 18 guilty plea, or nolo contendere plea to any of the following offenses shall 19 result in permanent disqualification for licensure: (A) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101; 20 21 (B) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103; 22 23 (C) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102; 24 (D) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an employee of a correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony; 25 26 (E) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103; 27 (F) Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113; (G) Sexual assault in the first degree as prohibited in § 28 5-14-124 and sexual assault in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-14-125; 29 30 (H) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201; 31 32 (I) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree 33 as prohibited in § 5-27-205 and endangering the welfare of a minor in the 34 second degree as prohibited in § 5-27-206; 35 (J) Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use 36 in visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual

1 conduct, or pandering or possessing a visual or print medium depicting 2 sexually explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to 3 use of a child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting 4 a sexual performance by a child, as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303 - 5-27-305, 5-27-402, and 5-27-403; 5 6 (K) Adult abuse that constitutes a felony as prohibited in 7 § 5-28-103; and (L) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301. 8 9 SECTION 129. Arkansas Code § 17-104-312(3)(F), concerning violations 10 11 of the Perfusionist Licensure Act, is amended to read as follows: 12 (F) A plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or a finding of guilt of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or any offense substantially 13 14 related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of a perfusionist, in 15 which event the record shall be conclusive evidence; or 16 17 SECTION 130. Arkansas Code § 17-105-102(b)(6), concerning 18 qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a physician assistant, is 19 repealed. 20 (6) Is of good moral character; 21 22 SECTION 131. Arkansas Code § 17-105-113 is amended to read as follows: 23 17-105-113. Violation. 24 Following the exercise of due process, the Arkansas State Medical Board 25 may discipline any physician assistant who: 26 Fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a (1) 27 license: 28 (2) Fraudulently or deceptively uses a license; 29 (3) Violates any provision of this chapter or any regulations 30 adopted by the board pertaining to this chapter; 31 Is convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102; (4) 32 Is a habitual user of intoxicants or drugs to such an extent 33 that he or she is unable to safely perform as a physician assistant; 34 Has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or has a mental 35 condition that renders him or her unable to safely perform as a physician 36 assistant; or

1	(7) Has committed an act of moral turpitude; or
2	$\frac{(8)}{(7)}$ Represents himself or herself as a physician.
3	
4	SECTION 132 . Arkansas Code § $17-106-107(a)(2)$, concerning the
5	licensing requirements for healthcare professionals who use radioactive
6	materials or medical equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation on
7	human beings for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes, is amended to read as
8	follows:
9	(2) Submit satisfactory evidence verified by oath or affirmation
10	that the applicant:
11	(A) Is qualified to administer radioactive materials or
12	operate medical equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation upon human
13	beings;
14	(B) Is of good moral character;
15	(C)(B) Is at least eighteen (18) years of age at the time
16	of application; and
17	(D)(C) Has been awarded a high school diploma or has
18	passed the General Educational Development Test or the equivalent.
19	
20	SECTION 133. Arkansas Code § 17-106-110(a)(2), concerning discipline
21	for healthcare professionals who use radioactive materials or medical
22	equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation on human beings for
23	diagnostic or therapeutic purposes, is amended to read as follows:
24	(2) Has been convicted of a felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u> in a
25	court of competent jurisdiction either within or outside of this state unless
26	the conviction has been reversed and the holder of the license has been
27	discharged or acquitted or if the holder has been pardoned with full
28	restoration of civil rights, in which case the license shall be restored;
29	
30	SECTION 134 . Arkansas Code § 17-107-310(1), concerning disciplinary
31	action for orthotists, prosthetists, and pedorthists, is amended to read as
32	follows:
33	(1) Has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or has been found
34	guilty of a felony <u>listed under § 17-2-102</u> ;
35	

36

1	/s/J. Cooper	
2		
3		
4	APPROVED	: 4/15/19
5		
6		
7		
8		
9		
10		
11		
12		
13		
14		
15		
16		
17		
18		
19		
20		
21		
22		
23		
24		
25		
26		
27		
28		
29		
30		
31		
32		
33		
34		
35		
36		