Summary of Substantive Changes

These are amendments to rules for an equipment-distribution program administered by Arkansas
Rehabilitation Services. This program, known as the Telecommunications Access Program or
TAP, provides phone-related equipment to eligible applicants with disabilities. The current TAP
rules have been in place since in 2007. Since that time, statutes affecting TAP have been enacted,
such as the Transformation and Efficiencies Act of 2019 and Act 263 of 2021, which changed end-
of-year accounting procedures for TAP staff.
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Rules for the ARS Telecommunications Access Program Rules

1) Program Title. The telecommunication equipment distribution shall hereinafter be referred-to
known as the Telecommunications Access Program_or TAP. This program established by under
Act 501 of 1995, and Act 530 of 2001, Act 173 of 2011. and Act 263 of 2021.

2) Definitions.

a) Adaptive telecommunication equipment is any item. piece of equipment. or product system that
is modified or customized to provide individuals with disabilities access to telecommunication

network.

b) Adjusted gross income is the amount claimed by an applicant as adjusted gross income on the

most recent Arkansas-State state or federal income tax return. er-ether-appropriate-documentation
as-speeifted-byFAP personnel: Adjusted gross income may also be determined by reference to

an applicant’s wages. SSI/SSDI benefits. or retirement benefits.

¢) Telecommunications service is the electronic transmission. convevance. or routing of voice,
data. audio. video. or anv other information or signals to a point or between or among points.

d) Maintenance is general care for adaptive telecommunication equipment. to include the supply
of batteries. cables. bulbs. and other items required for operation of the equipment: protection of
the equipment from the elements: and cleaning the equipment.

Maintenance does not include repairs or modifications. Individuals are prohibited from repairing
or modifving equipment during the initial two-vear period after the equipment is distributed.

3) Applieant Eligibility for TAP.



Applicants must satisty the following criteria in order to be determined eligible:

a) Residency in Arkansas:

b) Disability that impairs effective access to telecommunications services. including individuals
who are:

(i) Deaf or hard of hearing:

(i1) Deaf-Blind:

(iii) Blind or vision impaired:

(iv) Speech-impaired:

(v) Cognitivelv impaired: or

(vi) Mobility-impaired.

(c) Certification that the applicant:

(i) Has at least one qualifving disability: and

(ii) Would substantially benefit. in terms of access to telecommunications service. from the
use of adaptive telecommunications equipment.

Certification may be supplied by a medical professional. home-health provider. audiologist. speech
pathologist. occupational or phvsical therapist. social worker. special-education teacher. or
vocational-rehabilitation counselor. TAP staff will maintain a list of approved certifiers.

(d) Proof of active telecommunications service. at the time of application or within 30 days of
submitting the application. This includes a landline. wireless service. voice over Internet. or other
telecommunications service. Depending on the information provided in the application. TAP staff
will consult with the individual as to acceptable documentation for this requirement.

(e) Adjusted Gross Income not to exceed $50.000.00 per vear. Adjusted Gross Income for
applicants under the age of 18 will be determined bv the income of the applicant’s parent or
guardian. Otherwise eligible applicants with Adjusted Gross Incomes exceeding $50.000.00 per
vear will be charged one third (1/3) of the cost to TAP for anv equipment distributed under the

program.

f) Agreement to follow all rules and related conditions for TAP. evidenced bv the individual’s
signature on the TAP application.

(¢) Eligibility determinations will remain in effect for three (3) years. After three (3) years. an
individual must re-applv in order to be considered for further participation in TAP.
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4) Adaptive telecommunication equipment previded.

a) Adaptive telecommunication equipment shall be provided in sufficient scope to meet the needs
of eligible individuals. Equipment and services shall be procured in a cost-effective manner. using
the rules applicable to Arkansas Rehabilitation Services (ARS) as a state public procurement unit.

b) TAP staff shall maintain a list of adaptive telecommunication equipment and services available
through the program. TAP staff will update the list to ensure the availability of equipment that
meet the needs of eligible individuals.

¢) Adaptive equipment may be distributed that does not appear on the list provided with an
individual’s application. but only if the alternate equipment is (1) comparablyv priced to equipment
appearing on the list. and (2) suited to meet the individual’s need for access to telecommunications

service.

d) Adaptive telecommunication equipment that attaches to an existing telephone. or replace an
existing telephone. will be given first priority. If first-priority equipment does not meet the




individual’s need for access to telecommunications service. equipment that does not directly attach
to or replace an existing telephone will be considered.

e) Eligible individuals may receive no more than two (2) items of equipment that provide direct
access to telecommunications service. Individuals may receive no more than four (4) items of
equipment that provide alerts to activity on a telecommunications network (e.¢.. an audible or
visual signaler-receiver).

) TAP staff may request that an individual demonstrate use of a particular item. in order to ensure
that the equipment best meets his or her need for access to telecommunications service.

5) Ownership and Options for Equipment Once Distributed.

a) Ownership.

(i) Adaptive telecommunications equipment distributed under TAP will remain the
property of ARS until two (2) vears have elapsed from the date that an eligible individual

takes delivery.

iii) Upon completion of the two-vear period. ownership of the equipment will transfer in
full to the individual. The equipment will be removed from the TAP inventory.

b) Exchanges. An eligible individual mav exchange equipment if it is not functionine as
anticipated with regard to the individual’s disability.

TAP staff will work with the individual to determine appropriate equipment to issue in exchange.
The equipment originally issued will be returned to the TAP inventory.

(c) Substitutions. An eligible individual may request substitute equipment without making an
exchange. so long as:

(A) The equipment was damaged or lost due to natural disaster. fire. vandalism. or theft.

(B) An insurance claim. police report. or fire report is submitted to TAP staff

(C) The request for substitute equipment is made within thirtv (30) davs of the damage or
loss.

Appropriate substitute equipment will be issued if the request is accepted. TAP staff mav seek
additional information from the individual.

d) Repairs.

(i) So long as an individual’s eligibility determination is current. ARS will be responsible
for repairs to equipment that result from normal wear and tear.




(i1) TAP staff will consult with the individual if repairs are requested. and mayv contact the
vendor that provided the equipment.

(iii) If non-wireless equipment is accepted for repair. TAP staff may issue a temporary
replacement. Anv equipment issued as a replacement will be soverned by these rules.

(iv) Decisions by TAP staff concerning whether ARS will be responsible for repairs are
final.

At all times. costs related to the maintenance are the sole responsibility of the individual.

e) Returns

(1) Equipment must be returned if one of the following occurs during the initial two-vear
period after the equipment is distributed:

(A) The individual ceases to be a resident of Arkansas.

(B) The individual dies. in which case the executor or administrator of the individual’s
estate will contact TAP to arrange for return. TAP staff reserve the option to transfer
equipment to another individual in lieu of a return. Such transfers will be evaluated on a
case-by-case basis. All individuals who receive transferred equipment must be eligible for

TAP and will be subject to these rules.

(C) The individual loses active telecommunications service for ninety (90) davs or more.

(D) The individual is suspended from participation in TAP (see section 6. below).

Returns must be made to TAP. or. if directed by TAP staff, to an authorized vendor. Returns must
be made within 30 days of the events described above. Equipment that is functioning or capable
of repair may be returned to TAP inventory.

(i1) An individual mayv choose to return equipment at any time. TAP staff will discuss
referral to other programs with the individual. as well as whether another application for
TAP would be beneficial.







7 6) Suspensions and Permanent Ineligibilitv.

a) An individual will be suspended from participation in TAP if, during the initial two-vear period
after the equipment is distributed:

(i) the individual sells. consigns. gifts. or otherwise officially transfers possession of the
equipment to a third party:

(ii) the individual damages or misuses the equipment in violation of the rules for TAP. or
in a manner that voids the warranty for the equipment.

b) Suspensions will last for three (3) vears.

¢) Any equipment distributed to an individual suspended from participation must be returned to
TAP staff within 30 davs of the date the suspension takes effect.

d) An individual will be permanently ineligible for participation in TAP if the individual:

(1) Receives a third suspension:

(i1) Commits an act of fraud or material misrepresentation at any point during the TAP
process. beginning with application. Equipment distributed to an individual determined to
have committed fraud must be returned to TAP staff within 30 days of that determination.

(e) ARS reserves the right to pursue civil or criminal action against individuals who are suspended
or determined permanently ineligible.




9 7) Appeals of Certain Determinations.

The following mav be appealed to the ARS Commissioner:

a) Suspension of an individual.

b) Determination that an individual is permanently ineligible.

Appeals must be made by sending a written request to: Arkansas Rehabilitation Services —
Commissioner’s Office. P.O. Box 3781. Little Rock. AR 72203:

8) Miscellaneous.

a) Eligible individuals must notify TAP staff of anv permanent change of address within Arkansas.
TAP staff must also be notified if an individual’s telephone number changes. Such notifications
should be given in writing within ten (10) calendar days of the change.

b) Except to the extent disclosure may be required under the Arkansas Freedom of Information
Act or other law. materials submitted by applicants and eligible individuals will be kept
confidential.

c) At the close of each state fiscal vear. TAP staff will perform the accounting:




(i) The TAP surcharge revenues collected during the fiscal vear just ended will be
determined.

(ii) The TAP expenditures during the fiscal vear just ended will be determined. The amount
of expenditures will be multiplied by three (3).

(1ii) If three times the amount of expenditures is greater than the amount of surcharve
revenues. no further action will be taken.

(iv) If three times the amount of expenditures is equal to. or less than. the amount of
surcharge revenues, ARS will petition the Arkansas Public Service Commission to cease

collection of the surcharge.

(v) ARS will not petition to reinstate the surcharge until one-half (1/2) of the surplus has
been exhausted. Surplus is defined as the TAP surcharge revenues determined in

subsection (i).
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 263 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas ]
93rd General Assembly A Blll

Regular Session, 2021 HOUSE BILL 1201

By: Representative J. Mayberry
By: Senators K. Hammer, J. English

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO MODIFY THE PROCEDURE FOR COLLECTION OF
SURCHARGES TO FUND THE TELECOMMUNICATIONS EQUIPMENT
FUND; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO MODIFY THE PROCEDURE FOR COLLECTION OF
SURCHARGES TO FUND THE TELECOMMUNICATIONS
EQUIPMENT FUND.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 23-17-119 is amended to read as follows:
23-17-119. Surcharges to provide telecommunications for deaf and hard
of hearing impaired — Definitions.
(a) As used in this section:
(1) *“Commercial mobile radio service” means the same as defined
at § 12-10-303; and
(2) *“Prepaid wireless telephone telecommunications service”

means the same as defined at § 1210 303 a telecommunication service that

provides the right to utilize a mobile wireless service as well as other

nontelecommunications services, including without limitation the download of

a digital product delivered electronically and content and ancillary

services, that is paid for in advance and sold in predetermined units or

dollars of which the number declines with use in a known amount.

(b) (1) To fund the equipment distribution program established by § 20-

79-401 et seq., the Arkansas Public Service Commission may impose a surcharge
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of up to:

(A) Two-hundredths of a dollar ($0.02) per subject access
line per month; and

(B) Two-hundredths of a dollar ($0.02) per working subject
telephone number per month.

(2) Surcharges imposed by the commission under subdivisions

(b)(1)(A) and (B) of this section shall:

(A) Be identical; and

(B) Not apply to prepaid wireless telephone

telecommunications service.

(c) The surcharges levied under this section shall be collected by the
local exchange carriers and commercial mobile radio service providers from
their customers and remitted to the Department of Finance and Administration
for deposit as special revenues into the State Treasury to the credit of the
Telecommunications Equipment Fund for the equipment distribution program

under § 20-79-401 et seq.

(d)(1l) If—revenuves—collected under this seetion exceed the costs of

and—§-20-79-401 et seq-ythenthe eollection of the-surcharge shall cease

i At the close of the

fiscal year, a determination shall be made as to whether or not the amount of

revenues collected under this section is equal to or exceeds three (3) times

the annual expenditures of the equipment distribution program.

(2)(A) If the amount of revenues collected under this section is

determined to be at least three (3) times the annual expenditures of the

equipment distribution program under subdivision (d)(l) of this section, then

a petition to cease collection of the surcharge shall be filed with the

commission.

(B) A petition to reinstate collection of the surcharge

shall not be filed until one-half (1/2) of the surplus has been exhausted.

APPROVED: 3/4/21

2 01/15/2021 08:24:14 AM ANS109



