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Pursuant to Act 360 of 2021, the Arkansas State Crime Laboratory adopts and promulgates
the following rules for the Arkansas State Crime Laboratory [ASCL) Forensic Pathologist

Student Loan Forgiveness Program.

A. Definitions

1. "Pathologist” means a person that has completed all of the requirements to be
employed as a forensic pathologist in the State of Arkansas.

2. “Student Loan” means monev borrowed from a Student Loan Creditor for

financial assistance in obtaining a license as a Pathologist.

3. “Student Loan Creditor” means a financial lending institution that lends money
for the purpose of paying for college expenses.

4. “Program” means the Arkansas State Crime Lab Student Loan Forgiveness
Program established pursuant to Act 360 of 2021.

B. Eligibility Requirements

1. A Pathologist is eligible for a payment of up to twenty-five thousand dollars
($25,000) toward their outstanding Student Loan balance following the
successful completion of two years of consecutive employment with the

Arkansas State Crime Lab (ASCL).

a. The maximum allowable under the Program is one hundred thousand
dollars ($100,000) per Pathologist.

b. Successful completion of one year of employment does not entitle a
Pathologist to receive a payment, including partial payments, for their
student loan.

2. All of the following requirements will be met prior to the ASCL making a
payment on a Student Loan.

a. Completion of twenty-four (24) months of employment with the ASCL, to
include satisfactory completion of a one (1) year probationary employment

period;
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b.

6F

i. I ne (1) vear probation: eriod is not required for licants
that have n emplo for more than two (2) vears and have alr

received one payment under the Program.
Proof that the Pathologist's Student Loan has an outstanding, unpaid,

balance; an

An executed employment contract with the ASCL.

C. Applications for the Program

1. Applications for the Program will be submitted within thirty (30) days following
he completion of two (2) consecutive years of employment.

2. Completed applications will include all of the following documents:

S

C

a.

b.

A completed application form on the form approved by the ASCL:

A statement on the Student Loan Creditor’s letterhead that includes the

total outstanding balance of the Student Loan;

i. The statement will include the Student Loan Creditor’s name, contact
information, address wher ments should be sent, and an ia
instructions for remitting payment on behalf of the Pathologist.

The Pathologist’s executed employment contract;

A letter from the Chief Medical Examiner at the ASCL stating that the
Pathologist has successfully completed a one (1) vear probationary period:
and

i. The letter from the Chief Medical Examiner is not required for

applicants that have been employed more than two (2) years and have

already receiv e ment under the Program.

Any other documents required by the ASCL Director.

| application packets will be forwarded to the ASCL Director, or their

esignee, for review and approval.

4. The ASCL Director’s decision to reward or deny an application is final.

5. The ASCL Director will provide notice to the applicant when an application is

approved or denied.
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When an application is denied, the ASCL Director will provide the applicant
with a reason for denial.

b. An applicant whose application has been denied for failure to submit a
completed appllcagg n packet will be given ten (10) days flgm ;hg date Qf

nial to sub he required documents. Document fter
ays m b denied at the di ionoftheASCLDirector.
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 360 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas .
93rd General Assembly A Blll

Regular Session, 2021 HOUSE BILL 1224

By: Representative Tosh

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO ESTABLISH THE STATE CRIME LABORATORY
STUDENT LOAN FORGIVENESS PROGRAM; AND FOR OTHER
PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO ESTABLISH THE STATE CRIME LABORATORY
STUDENT LOAN FORGIVENESS PROGRAM.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
SECTION 1. Arkansas Code Title 12, Chapter 12, Subchapter 3, is

amended to add an additional section to read as follows:

12-12-327. State Crime Laboratory Student Loan Forgiveness Program.

(a) There is established the State Crime Laboratory Student Loan

Forgiveness Program to assist pathologists employed by the State Crime

Laboratory with the repayment of the pathologists’® student loans.

(b) (1) The program described under this section shall be administered

by the laboratory.

(2) The State Crime Laboratory Board shall promulgate rules for

determining a pathologist’s eligibility for student loan forgiveness under

the program that shall include the following requirements:

(A) Satisfactory completion of any probationary employment

period;
(B) Proof of a student loan that remains unpaid, including

the name and address of the student loan creditor; and

(C) An executed employment contract with the laboratory in

which the pathologist agrees to:
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(i) Work for the laboratory for a term that equals

twenty-four (24) months for each year that the program makes a payment on the

pathologist’s student loanj; and

(ii) Reimburse the program if the pathologist

resigns or is terminated for cause before the term of the employment contract

terminates.

(3) The amount of the payment to be made directly to the

pathologist’s student loan creditor shall not exceed:

(A) Twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) per twenty-four

months; or

(B) One hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) per

pathologist.
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