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9.4 QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE OR REGISTRY. Each applicant for licensure
or registry shall make application to the Board upon a form and in such manner as the
Board may require. Each applicant shall:

9.4.1. Verify that he or she is over the age of 21 years;

9.4.32.
9.4.43.
9.4.43.1
9.4.43.2.
9.4.43.3.
9.4.54.
9.4.65.

9.5 REVIEW OF APPLICATION
9.5.3. The Board shall grant a license to an applicant who fulffills the Arkansas

requirements for licensure and is a person:who hold a Federal Form 1-766 United States

Citizenship and Immigration Services-issued Employment Authorization Document,

known popularly as a “work permit.”

10 APPRENTICES
10.2 APPRENTICE APPLICATION. Apprentice dispensing opticians shall be approved
by the Board upon receipt of a properly completed application, a current photograph of
himself/herself approximately one inch by one inch (1°x1”) and the payment of a sixty
dollar ($60.00) fee to the Board.

10.2.1. The Board shall waive the initial apprentice application fee if the

applicant: (1)is receiving assistance through the Arkansas Medicaid Program; the
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program; the Special Supplemental Nutrition

Program for Women, Infants. and Children; the Temporary Assistance for Needy

Families Program; or the Lifeline Assistance Program; (2) was approved for

unemployment within the last twelve (12) months; or (3) has an income that does not

exceed two hundred percent (200%) of the federal poverty income guidelines.

10.10 The Board shall grant a license to an applicant who:
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10.10.1 Completes an apprenticeship as defined by Ark. Code Ann. §17-6-101 et

seq.
10.10.2. Passes the National Optician Practical Examination with a score

required for licensure, if deemed to be necessary by the Board and required of all
applicants;

10.10.3. Pays any fees deemed necessary by the Board:

10.10.4. Does not have a disqualifying criminal record as determined by the

Board under state law; and
10.10.5. Completes all other requirements for licensure unrelated to training and

education.

10.11. Should the Board deny an application under subsection 10.10, the Board shall
provide the applicant with a written denial detailing the reason for the denial including
whether the Board determined the applicant’s apprenticeship program does not
correspond to the profession or level of license for which the applicant applied.
10.12. An apprenticeship under subsection 10.10.is not required to exceed the number
of hours required by the Board for licensure, ‘e)gcep‘t as otherwise required by federal

law.

16. WAIVER REQUEST

A. If an individual has been convicted of an offense listed in A.C.A. § 17-2 3-102(a) or
(), exseptthosepermencrtl-disqualiffing-olfonscafounddnsubsceticnie); the Board
may waive disqualification of a potential applicant or revocation of a license based on

the conviction if-a request for.a waiver is made by:

20. REFURNING-MILITARY-VETERAN UNIFORMED SERVICE MEMBER
LICENSURE
A. As used in this subsection, “returning-military-veteran-uniformed service veteran”

means a former member of the United States Armed-Ferses Uniformed Services who
was discharged from-active-duty under circumstances other than dishonorable.

B. The Board shall grant automatic licensure to an individual who helds-a-substantially
eguivalenticense-in-another U-S—jurisdistion is the holder in good standing of a license
with a similar scope of practice issued by another state, territory, or district of the U.S.
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and is:
1. An-active-duty-military A uniformed service member stationed in the State of
Arkansas;
2. A
discharge-from-active-duty A uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes
residency in the State of Arkansas; or
3. The spouse of a person urderB-(1)-or(2)}-above:

a. A person under B (1) or (2) above;

b. A uniformed service member who is assianed a tour of duty that excludes the

uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member
and the spouse relocates to this state; or

c. A uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or

illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state.

C. The Board shall grant such automatic licensure upon receipt of all the below:

1. Payment of the initial licensure fee;

2. Evidence that the individual holds a substanrtially-equivalent license with a similar
scope of practice in another state; and

3. Evidence that the applicant is a qualified applicant under Section B.

D. The expiration date of a license for a deployed uniform service member or spouse

will be extended for one hundred and eighty (180) days following the date of the

uniformed service member’s return from deployment.

E. A full exemption from continuing education requirements will be allowed for a
deploved uniform service member or spouse until one hundred and eighty (180) days

following the date of the uniformed service member’s return from deployment.
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1. STATEMENT OF ORGANIZATION AND OPERATIONS

1.1.

PURSUANT TO THE OPHTHALMIC DISPENSERS ACT originally adopted in 1981
and codified at Ark. Code Ann. § 17-89-101 et seq. the Arkansas Board of Dispensing
Opticians promulgates and adopts the following rules of ophthalmic dispensing.

2. (0) (0) UIDANCE

2.1.

2.2

2.3.

THE BOARD MAKES AVAILABLE A LIST OF PERSONS holding certain
responsibilities for handling FOIA request, licensing questions, and complaints against
licensees so that the public may obtain information about the Board or make submissions
or request. The names, mailing addresses, telephone numbers, and electronic addresses
can be obtained by contacting the Board’s office.

THE BOARD MAINTAINS A LIST OF OFFICIAL FORMS used by the Board and a
list of all formal, written statement of policy and written interpretative memoranda, and
orders, decisions and opinions resulting from adjudications, which may be obtained from
the Board’s office.

COPIES of all forms used by the Board, written statements of policy and written
interpretive memoranda, and all ordersis‘sued'by the Board, excluding materials related

to written and practical testing, may be obtained from the Board’s office.

3. GENERAL ORGANIZATION

3.1

3.2.

DESCRIPTION OF ORGANIZATION. The officers of the Board of Dispensing
Opticians shall be a Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Secretary-Treasurer. The Board shall
elect officers from its:membership. at its first regular meeting of the year, and each
officer shall serve for a term of one year or until his successor is elected and duly
qualified. If a vacancy occurs, the Board shall elect a successor to complete the balance
of the unexpired term of office.

MEETINGS OF THE BOARD. Regular meetings of the Board shall be held at least
twice each year at a time and place determined by the Board. Other meetings of the
Board shall be called by the Chairman or upon the written request of two Board
members. The Secretary-Treasurer shall give timely notice of the time and place of such
meetings to each member. Correspondence shall be directed to the Board’s office, whose

address may be obtained through the Governor’s office. All meetings will be conducted



3.3.

3.4.

3.5.

3.6.

3.7.

3.8

3.9.

in conformity with the Arkansas Freedom of Information Act and in accordance with
Robert’s Rules of Order except where such rules conflict with these rules

QUORUM. Five members of the Board shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of
business. All official action of the Board must be approved by the majority vote of the
members present and voting except where a two-thirds (%) or three-fourths (%) majority
vote is required by these rules.

AGENDA. The Secretary-Treasurer will prepare the agenda for regular and special
meetings. The agenda will be distributed to Board members and made available to the
public in advance of the meeting. The agenda should state with specificity the items that
will be considered at the meeting or hearing. The order of the agenda items is tended to
be flexible and may be adjusted to meet the needs of the Board. The agenda may be
amended by appropriate motion.

AMENDMENT TO RULES. All requirements of the Arkansas Administrative
Procedures Act shall be complied with prior to the final adoption of an amendment to
these Rules.

FISCAL YEAR OF THE BOARD. The fiscal year of the Board shall be from July 1 to
June 30.

BOOK OF LICENSURE AND BOOK OF REGISTRY. The Secretary-Treasurer of the
Board shall maintain an annually updated Book of Licensure and a Book of Registry of
all opticians licensed or registered to engage in the business of ophthalmic dispensing in
Arkansas. In addition, a listing of all apprenticed-dispensing opticians together with the
licensed or registered dispensing opticians by whom they are employed shall be
maintained.

ANNUAL REPORT. The Secretary-Treasurer shall prepare and present an annual
report of administration, licensure, registry, and investigation to the Arkansas State
Board of Optometry and to the Ophthalmology Section of the Arkansas Medical Society,
as well as a copy of the books of Licensure and Registry listed in Section 3.7 of these
rules.

FINANCIAL AFFAIRS. The current rules of the Arkansas Department of Finance and
Administration shall be followed in the financial affairs of the Board.



3.10. COMPENSATION. Board members shall be compensated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann.

§ 25-16-903.

ULE G AUTHORITY

4.1.

4.2.

4.3.

44.

4.5.

AUTHORITY. The Board has been authorized by the Legislature to promulgate rules.
Ark. Code Ann. § 17-89-203 (a) (6). The Board follows the procedural requirement of
the Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act, in particular Ark. Code Ann. §25-15-203
and §25-15-204. Additionally, the Board is required to abide by the provisions of Ark.
Code Ann. §10-3-309.

INITIATION OF RULE-MAKING. The process of adopting a new'rule or amending or
repealing an existing rule (hereinafter referred to “rule-making”) may be initiated by
request of the Board that the staff submit proposed drafts. Additionally, staff of the
Board my request permission of the Board to initiate rule-making. Third persons outside
the Board may petition for the issuarice, amendment, ot repeal of any rule.

PETITION TO INITIATE RULE-MAKING.

4.3._ 1. Third parties may initiate rule-making to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule by filing a
petition with the Board to initiate rule-making. The petition must contain the name,
address, and telephone number of the petitioner, the specific rule or action
requested, the reasons for the rule or action requested, and facts showing that the
petitioner is regulated by the Board or has a substantial interest in the rule or action
requested.

4.3.2. The petition to.initiate rule-making shall be filed with the Secretary-Treasurer.
4.3.3. Within thirty (30).days after submission of the petition, the Board will either deny
the petition, stating its reason in writing, or will initiate rule-making. A special

meeting will be called if necessary to meet this time frame.
PRE-FILING WITH THE BUREAU OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH. Thirty (30)
days before the public-comment period ends, the Board will file with the Bureau of

Legislative Research the text of the proposed rule or amendment as well as a financial

impact statement and a Bureau of Legislative Research questionnaire as provided by

Ark. Code Ann. §10-3-3009.

PUBLIC INPUT.



4.5.1. Before finalizing language of a proposed new rule or an amendment to, or repeal
of, an existing rule, the Board will receive public input through written comments
and/or oral submissions. The Board will designate in its public notice the format
and timing of public comment.

4.5.2. Any public hearing will provide affected persons and other members of the public
a reasonable opportunity for presentation of evidence, arguments, and oral
statements within reasonable conditions and limitations imposed by the Board to
avoid duplication, irrelevant comments, unnecessary delay, or disruption of the
proceedings.

4.5.3. The Board Chairman, any member of the Board, or any person designated by the
Board may preside at the public hearing. The Board must ensure that the Board
personnel responsible for preparing the proposed rule changes to be available to
explain the proposal and to respond to questions or comments regarding the
proposed rule.

4.5.4. The Board must preserve the comments made at the public hearing by a certified
court reporter or by recording instruments.

4.5.5. Any person may submit written statement within the specified period of time. All
timely, written statements will be considered by the Board and be made a part of the
rule-making record.

4.6. NOTICE OF RULE-MAKING. The Board will give notice of proposed rule-making to
be published pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §25-15-204. The notice will set any written
comment period and will specify the time, date, and place of any public hearing.

4.7. THE DECISION TO ADOPT A RULE.

4.7.1. The Board will not finalize language of the rule or decide whether to adopt a rule
until the period of public comment has expired.

4.7.2. Before acting on a proposed rule, the Board will consider all of the written
submissions and/or oral submissions received in the rule-making proceedings or any
memorandum summarizing such oral submissions, and any regulatory analysis or
fiscal impact statement issued in the rule-making proceedings.

4.7.3. The Board may use its own experience, specialized knowledge, and judgment in

the adoption of a rule.



4.8. VARIANCE BETWEEN ADOPTED RULE AND PUBLISHED NOTICE OF
PROPOSED RULE.
4.8.1. The Board may not adopt a rule that differs from the rule proposed in the
published notice of the intended rule-making on which the rule is based unless:

48.1.1.  The final rule is in character with the original scheme and was a logical
outgrowth of the notice and comments stemming from the proposed rule, or

4.8.1.2. The notice fairly apprised interested persons of the subject and the issues
that would be considered so that those persons had an opportunity to comment.

4.8.2. In determining whether the final rule is in character with the ori_ginal scheme and
was a logical outgrowth of the notice and comments, and that the'notice of the
intended rule-making provided fair warning that the outcome of that rule-making
proceeding could be the rule in question, the Board must consider the following
factors:

4.82.1. The extent to which persons who will be affected by the rule should have
understood that the rule-making proceeding on which it is based could affect
their interest; and

4.8.2.2. The extent to which the subject matter of the rule or issues determined by
the rule are different from the subject matter or issued contained in the notice
of intended rule-making; .and

4.8.2.3. The extent to which the effects of the rule differ from the effects of the
‘proposed rule contained in the notice of intended rule-making.

4.9. CONCISE STATEMENT-.OF REASONS.

4.9.1. When requested by an interested person, either prior to the adoption of a rule or
within thirty (30) days after its adoption, the Board shall issue a concise statement
of the principal reasons for and against its adoption of the rule. Request for such a
statement must be in writing and be delivered to the Secretary-Treasurer. The
request should indicate whether the statement is sought for all or only a specified
part of arule. A request will be considered to have been submitted on the date on
which it is received by the Secretary-Treasurer.

4.9.2. The concise statement of reasons must contain:

4.9.2.1. The Board’s reasons for adopting the rule;



4.9.2.2. An indication of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the
text of the rule as finally adopted, with explanations for any such change; and
4.9.2.3. The principal reasons urged in the rule-making procedure for and against the
rule, and the Board’s reasons for overruling the arguments made against the
rule.
4.10. CONTENTS.
4.10.1. The Board shall cause its rules to be published and made available to interested
persons. The publication must include:
4.10.1.1. The text of the rule; and
4.10.1.2. A note containing the following;
4.10.1.2.1. The date(s) the Board adopted or amended the rule;
4.10.1.2.2. The effective date(s) of the rule;
4.10.1.2.3. Any findings required by any provisions of law as a prerequisite to
adoption for effectiveness of the rule; and
4.10.1.2.4. Citations to the entire specific statutory or other authority authorizing
the adoption of the rule;
4.10.1.3. The publication of the rule(s) must state the date of publication.
4.11. FORMAT. The published rules of the Board will be organized substantially in the
following format;
4.11.1. Statement of Organization and Operations
4.11.2. Information for Public Guidance
4.11.3. General Organization
4.11.4. Rule-making
4.11.5. Emergency Rule-making
4.11.6. Declaratory Orders
4.11.7. Adjudicative Hearings
4.11.8. Licensing
4.11.9. Et seq. Substantive rules and other rule of the Board
4.12. INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE. By reference in a rule, the Board may
incorporate all or any part of a code, standard, rule, or other matter if the Board finds

that copying the matter in the Board’s rule would be unduly cumbersome, expensive, or



otherwise inexpedient. The reference in the Board rule must fully and precisely identify
the incorporated matter by title, citation, date, and edition, if any; briefly indicate the
precise subject and general contents of the incorporated matter; and state that the rule
does not include any later amendments or editions of the incorporated matter. The
Board may incorporate such a matter by reference in a proposed or adopted rule only if
the Board makes copies of the incorporated matter readily available to the public. The
rules must state how and where copies of the incorporated matter may be obtained at
cost from this Board, and how and where copies may be obtained from an Board of the
United States, this state, another state, or the organization, -association, or persons
originally issuing that matter. The Board must retain permanently a‘copy of any

materials incorporated by reference in a rule of the Board.

4.13. FILING.

4.13.1. After the Board formally adopts a new rule or amends a current rule or repeals
and existing rule, and after'the rule change has been reviewed by the Legislative
Counsel, the staff will file final copies of the rule with the Secretary of State, the
Arkansas State Library, and the Bureau of Legislative Research, or as otherwise
provide by Ark. Code Ann. §25-15-204(d).

4.13.2. Proof of filing a copy of the rule, amendment, or repeal with the Secretary of
State, the Arkansas State Library, and the Bureau of Legislative Research will be

kept in a file maintained by the Secretary-Treasurer.

5. EMERGENCY RULE-MAKING
5.1. REQUEST FOR EMERGENCY RULE-MAKING. The proponent of a rule may

5.2,

request the Board to-adopt an emergency rule. In addition to the text of the proposed
rule or amendment to an existing rule and any other information required by Section 4.3
of these rules, the proponent will provide a written statement setting out the facts or
circumstances that would support a finding of imminent peril to the public health, safety,
or welfare.

FINDING OF AN EMERGENCY. Upon receipt of the written statement requesting an
emergency rule-making and documents or other evidence submitted in support of the
assertion that an emergency exists, the Board will make an independent judgment as to

whether the circumstances and facts constitute an imminent peril to the public health,



safety, or welfare requiring adoption of the rule upon fewer than 30 days notice. If the
Board determines that the circumstances warrant emergency rule-making, it will make a
written determination that sets out the reasons for the Board’s finding that an emergency
exists. Upon making this finding, the Board may proceed to adopt the rule without any
prior notice or hearing, or it may determine to provide an abbreviated notice and hearing.
5.3. EFFECTIVE DATE OF EMERGENCY RULE. The emergency rule will be effective
immediately upon filing, or at a stated time less than ten (10) days thereafter, if the
Board finds that this effective date is necessary because of imminent peril to the public
health, safety, or welfare. The Board will file with the rule its written findings justifying
the determination that emergency rule-making is appropriate and, if applicable, the basis
for the effective date of the emergency rule being less than ten days after the filing of the
rule pursuant to A.C.A. §25-15-204(e). The Board will take appropriate measures to
make emergency rules known to persons who may be affected by them.
6. DECLARATORY ORDERS
6.1. PURPOSE AND USE. A declaratory order is a means of resolving a controversy or
answering questions or doubts concerning the applicability of statutory provisions, rules,
or orders over which the Board has authority. A petition for declaratory order may be
used only to resolve questions or doubts as to how the statutes, rules or orders may apply
to the petitioner’s particular circumstances. A declaratory order is not the appropriate
means of determining the conduct of another person or for obtaining a policy statement
of general applicability from a Board. A petition or declaratory order must describe the
potential impact of statutes, rules or orders upon the petitioner’s interest.
6.2. THE PETITION. The process to obtain a declaratory order is begun by filing with the
Board a petition that provides the following information:
6.2.1. The caption shall read: Petition for Declaratory Order before the Arkansas Board
of Dispensing Opticians.
6.2.2. The name, address, telephone number and facsimile number of the petitioner.
6.2.3. The name, address, telephone number, and facsimile number of the attorney of the
petitioner.
6.2.4. The statutory provision(s), Board rule(s), or Board order(s) on which the

declaratory order is sought.



6.2.5. A description of whom the statute, rules, or orders may substantially affect the
petitioner and the petitioner’s particular set of circumstances, and the question or
issue on which petitioner seeks a declaratory order.

6.2.6. The signature of the petitioner or petitioner’s attorney.

6.2.7. The date.

6.2.8. A request for a formal hearing, if desired.

6.3. BOARD DISPOSITION.

6.3.1. The Board may hold a hearing to consider a petition for declaratory statement. If
a hearing is held, it shall be conducted in accordance with Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-
208 and §25-15-213, and the Board’s rules for adjudicatory hearing.

6.3.2. The Board may rely on the statements of fact set out in the petition without taking
any position with regard to the validity of the facts. Within ninety(90) days of the
filing of the petition, the Board will render a final order denying the petition or
issuing a declaratory order.

7. ADJUDICATIVE HEARINGS

7.1. SCOPE OF THIS CHAPTER. This chapter applies in all administrative adjudications
conducted by the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians. This procedure is developed
to provide a process by which the Board formulates orders (for example, an order
revoking a license to practice, or imposing civil penalties).

7.2. PRESIDING OFFICER. The Board shall preside at the hearing or may designate one or
more members of the Board or one or more examiners, referees, or hearing officers to
preside at a hearing.

7.3. APPEARANCES. Any party appearing in any Board proceeding has the right, at his or
her own expense, to be represented by counsel.

7.3.1. The respondent may appear on his or her own behalf.

7.3.2. Any attorney representing a party to an adjudicatory proceeding must file notice
of appearance as soon as possible.

7.3.3. Service on counsel of record is the equivalent of service on the party represented.

7.3.4. On written motion served on the party represented and all other parties of record,
the presiding officer may grant counsel of record leave to withdraw for good cause

shown.
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7.4. CONSOLIDATION. If there are separate matters that involve similar issues of law or
fact, or identical parties, the matters may be consolidated if it appears that consolidation
would promote the just, speedy, and inexpensive resolution of the proceedings, and
would not unduly prejudice the rights of a party.

7.5. NOTICE TO INTERESTED PARTIES.  Ifit appears that the determination of the
rights of parties in a proceeding will necessarily involve a determination of the
substantial interests of persons who are not parties, the presiding officer may enter an
order requiring that an absent person be notified of the proceeding and be given an
opportunity to be joined as a party of record.

7.6. SERVICE OF PAPERS. Unless the presiding officer otherwise orders, every pleading
and every other paper filed for the proceeding, except applications for witness subpoenas
and the subpoenas, shall be served on each party or the party’s representative at the last
address of record.

7.7. INITIATION & NOTICE OF HEARING. An administrative adjudication is initiated by
the issuance by the Board of a notice of hearing. The notice of hearing will be sent to
the respondent by U.S. Mail, return receipt requested, restricted delivery to the named
recipient or his agent. Notice shall be sufficient when it is so mailed to the respondent’s
latest address on file with the Board. Notice will be mailed at least 20 days before the
scheduled hearing. The notice will include:

7.7.1. A statement of the time, place, and nature of the hearing;

7.7.2. A statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is to be
held; and

7.7.3. A short and plain statement of the matters of fact and law asserted.

7.8. MOTIONS. All requests for relief will be by motion. Motions must be in writing or
made on the record during a hearing. A motion must fully state the action requested and
the grounds relied upon. The original written motion will be filed with the Board.
When time allows, the other parties may, within seven (7) days of the service of the
written motion, file a response in opposition. The presiding officer may conduct such
proceedings and enter such orders as are deemed necessary to address issues raised by
the motion. However, a presiding officer, other than the Board, will not enter a

dispositive order unless expressly authorized in writing to do so.
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7.9. ANSWER. A respondent may file an answer.

7.10. DISCOVERY. Upon written request, the Board will provide the information
designated in A.C.A §25-15-208 (a) (3). Such requests should be received by the Board
at least 10 days before the scheduled hearing.

7.1 CONTINUANCES

7.11.1. The Complaint Committee may grant a continuance of hearing for good cause
shown. Requests for continuances will be made in writing. The request must state
the grounds to be considered and be made as soon as practicable and, except in
cases of emergencies, no later than five (5) days prior to the date noticed for the
hearing. In determining whether to grant a continuance, the: Complaint Committee
may consider:

7.11.1.1. Prior continuances;

7.11.1.2. The interests of all parties;.

7.11.1.3. The likelihood of mformal settlements;

7.11.14. The existence of an emcrgéncy;

7.11.1.5. Any objection;

7.11.1.6. Any applicable time ‘requirement;

7.11.1.7. The existence of a conflict of the schedules of counsel, parties, or
witnesses;.

7.11.1.8. The time limits of the request; and

7.11.1:9. Other relevant factors.

7.11.2. The Complaint Committee may require documentation of any grounds for
continuance.

7.12. HEARING PROCEDURES

7.12.1. The presiding officer presides at the hearing and may rule on motions, require
briefs, and issue such orders as will ensure the orderly conduct of the proceedings;
provided, however, any presiding officer other than the Board shall not enter a
dispositive order or proposed decision unless expressly authorized in writing to do
So.

7.12.2. All objections must be made in a timely manner and stated on the record.

12



7.12.3. Parties have the right to participate or to be represented by counsel in all hearings
or pre-hearing conferences related to their case.

7.12.4. Subject to terms and conditions prescribed by the Administrative Procedure Act,
parties have the right to introduce evidence on issues of material fact, cross-examine
witnesses as necessary for a full an true disclosure of the facts, present evidence in
rebuttal, and, upon request by the Board, may submit briefs and engage in oral
argument.

7.12.5. The presiding officer is charged with maintaining the decorum of the hearing and
may refuse to admit, or may expel, anyone whose conduct is disorderly.

7.13. ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS. The presiding officer will conduct the hearing in the
following manner:

7.13.1. The presiding officer will give an opening statement, briefly describing the nature
of the proceedings.

7.13.2. The parties are to be given the opportunity to present opening statements.

7.13.3. The parties will be allowed to present their cases in the sequence determined by
the presiding officer.

7.13.4. Each witness must be sworn or affirmed by the presiding officer, or the court
reporter, and be subject to examination and cross-examination as well as
questioning by the Board. The presiding officer may limit questioning in a manner
consistent with the law.

7.13.5. When all parties and witnesses have been heard, parties may be given the
opportunity to present final arguments.

7.14. EVIDENCE

7.14.1. The presiding officer shall rule on the admissibility of evidence and may, when
appropriate, take official notice of facts in accordance with all applicable
requirements of law.

7.14.2. Stipulation of facts is encouraged. The Board may make a decision based on
stipulated facts.

7.14.3. Evidence in the proceeding must be confined to the issues set forth in the hearing
notice, unless the parties waive their right to such notice or the presiding officer

determines that good cause justifies expansion of the issues. If the presiding officer
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decides to admit evidence outside the scope of the notice, over the objection of a
party who did not have actual notice of those issues, that party, upon timely request,
will receive a continuance sufficient to prepare for the additional issue and to permit
amendment of pleadings.

7.14.4. A party seeking admission of an exhibit must provide 12 copies of each exhibit at
the hearing. The presiding officer must provide the opposing parties with an
opportunity to examine the exhibit prior to the ruling on its admissibility. All
exhibits admitted into evidence must be appropriately marked and be made part of
the record.

7.14.5. Any party may object to specific evidence or may request-limits on the scope of
the examination or cross-examination. A brief statement of the grounds upon which
it is based shall accompany such an objection. The objection, the ruling on the
objection, and the reasons for the ruling will be noted in the record. The presiding
officer may rule on the objection at the time it is made-or may reserve the ruling
until the written decision.

7.14.6. Whenever evidence is ruled inadmissible, the party offering that evidence may
submit an offer of proof on the record. The party making the offer of proof for
excluded oral testimony will briefly summarize the testimony or, with permission of
the presiding-officer, present the testimony. If the excluded evidence consists of a
document or exhibit, it shall be marked as part of an offer of proof and inserted in
the record.

"7.14.7. Irrelevant, immaterial, and unduly repetitive evidence will be excluded. Any
other oral or documentary evidence, not privileged, may be received if it is of a type
commonly relied upon by reasonably prudent men and women in the conduct of
their affairs.

7.14.8. Reasonable inferences. The finder of fact may base its findings of fact upon
reasonable inferences derived from other evidence received.

7.15. DEFAULT. If a party fails to appear or participate in an administrative adjudication
after proper service of notice, the Board may proceed with the hearing and render a
decision in the absence of the party.

7.16. SUBPOENAS
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7.16.1. At the request of any party, the Board shall issue subpoenas for the attendance of
witnesses at the hearing. The requesting party shall specify whether the witness is
also requested to bring documents and reasonably identify said documents.

7.16.2. A subpoena may be served by any person specified by law to serve process or by
any person who is not a party and who is eighteen (18) years of age or older.
Delivering a copy to the person named in the subpoena shall make service. Proof of
service may be made by affidavit of the person making service. The party seeking
the subpoena shall have the burden of obtaining service of the process and shall be
charged with the responsibility of tendering appropriate mileage fees and witness
fees pursuant to Rule 45, Arkansas Rules of Civil Procedure. The witness must be
served at least two days prior to the hearing. For good cause, the Board may
authorize the subpoena to be served less than two days before the hearing.

7.16.3. Any motion to quash or limit the subpoena shall be filed with the Board and shall
state the grounds relied upon.

7.17. RECORDING THE PROCEEDINGS. The responsibility to record the testimony heard
at a hearing is borne by the Board. Upon the filing of a petition for judicial review, the
Board will provide a verbatim transcript of testimony taken before the Board.

7.18. FACTORS TO BE CONSIDERED IN IMPOSING SANCTIONS. In addition to any
other considerations permitted by Ark. Code Ann. § 17-89-101 et seq., if applicable, the
Board in imposing any sanction may consider the following:

7.18.1. The nature and degree of the misconduct for which the licensee is being
sanctioned.

7.18.2. The seriousness and circumstances surrounding this misconduct.

7.18.3. The loss or damage to clients or others.

7.18.4. The assurance that those who seek similar professional services in the future will
be protected from the type of misconduct found.

7.18.5. The profit to the licensee.

7.18.6. The avoidance of repetition.

7.18.7. Whether the conduct was deliberate, intentional, or negligent.

7.18.8. The deterrent effect on others.

7.18.9. The conduct of the individual during the course of the disciplinary proceeding.
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7.18.10. The professional’s prior disciplinary record, including warnings.

7.18.11. Matters offered by the professional in mitigation or extenuation, except that a
claim of disability or impairment resulting from the use of alcohol or drugs may not
be considered unless the professional demonstrates that he or she is successfully
pursuing in good faith a program of recovery.

7.19. FINAL ORDER. The Board will serve on the respondent a written order that reflects
the action taken by the Board. The order will include a recitation of facts found based
on testimony and other evidence presented and reasonable inferences derived from the
evidence pertinent to the issues of the case. It will also state conclusions of law and
directives or other disposition entered against or in favor of the respondent. The order
will be served personally or by mail on the réspondent. If counsel represents respondent,
service of the order on respondent’s counsel shall be deemed service on.the respondent.

8. DEFINITIONS

8.1. THE BOARD DEFINES the following major terms used in Ark. Code Ann. §17-89-101
et seq. within the Rules promulgated by the Board:

8.1.1. “Ophthalmic Dispensing” means the preparation of laboratory work orders,
verification, and dispensing of spectacle lenses, spectacles, eyeglasses, and/or parts
thereof to'the intended wearer thereof on a written prescription from a licensed
physician skilled in disease of the eye or licensed optometrist. It shall include; the
measuring, fitting, adapting, and adjusting of such spectacle lenses, spectacles,
eyeglasses, and/or parts thereof to the human face; the preparation and delivery of
work orders to laboratory technicians engaged in grinding lenses and fabrication of
eyewear; the verification of the quality of finished spectacle lenses, spectacle or
eyeglasses;.and the adjustment or repair of spectacle frames to the human face. The
prescribing, adapting, fitting, duplicating, dispensing, modifying, selling or
supplying of contact lenses for or to the human eye is specifically excluded.

8.1.2. “Licensed Dispensing Opticians” means any person licensed by the Arkansas
Board of Dispensing Opticians to engage in ophthalmic dispensing.

8.1.3. “Registered Dispensing Optician” means any person registered by the Arkansas
Board of Dispensing Opticians to engage in ophthalmic dispensing.
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8.1.4. “Apprentice Dispensing Optician” means an individual registered with the
Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians to work under the supervision of a licensed
or registered dispensing optician or a physician skilled in disease of the eye or
optometrist licensed by this State.

8.1.5. “Supervision” means the direct personal physical provision of direction and
control through personal inspection.

8.1.6. “Direct personal physical provision of direction and control” means in the optical
dispensary and immediately available to address through personal inspection the
actions of an apprentice or student optician.

8.1.7. The term “Board” as used in this Act means the Arkansas Board of Dispensing
Opticians.

8.1.8. The term “person” as used in this Act shall be interpreted to include individuals,
partnerships, firms, corporations, professional corporations, unincorporated
associations, or any of the foregoing.

8.1.9. A “full service optical laboratory” fabricates prescription lenses from unfinished
or semi-finished lenses.

8.1.10. “Side-by-side” operation means one in which a registered, licensed or
apprenticed dispensing optician directly or indirectly controls or attempts to control
the professional judgment, manner of practice or the practice of a licensed
optometrist or physician skilled in the disease of the eye. For the purpose of this
subsection, “controlling or attempting to control the professional judgment, manner
of practice, or the practice of a licensed optometrist or physician skilled in the
disease of the eye” may include or relate to but not be limited to:

8.1.10.1. Setting or attempting to influence the professional fees or office
hours of a licensed optometrist or physician skilled in disease of the
eye.

8.1.10.2. Termination or threatening to terminate any lease, agreement, or
other relationship in an effort to control, the professional judgment,
manner of practice, or practice of a licensed optometrist or physician
skilled in disease of the eye.

8.1.10.3. Defining the scope of or time limits for vision examinations.
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8.1.10.4. Where more than one optometrist or physician skilled in disease of
the eye is generally available, the repeated directing of persons seeking
vision care to a particular optometrist or physician skilled in disease of
the eye, group practitioner or professional association, for the purpose
of splitting fees, receive a kickback or rebate.

8.1.10.5. Distributing or causing to be distributed professional business
cards or like materials of a particular optometrist or physician skilled in
the disease of the eye, group, or professional association.

8.1.10.6. Advertising in any way that indicated vision examinations might
be scheduled or arranged through or by the dispensing optician’s office.

8.1.10.7. Advertising that indicated vision examinations can be secured
“nearby” or similar statements.

8.1.11. “Capping and Steering” is defined as the practice of a licensed, registered, or
apprenticed dispensing optician or their employees repeatedly referring prospective
customers to a specific optometrist.or physician skilled in the disease of the eye, for
the purpose of securing a-cirrent prescription for eye glasses.

9. LICENSURE. REGISTRY OR OFFICE PERMIT REQUIREMENTS AND

Wf“ j
9.1. GENERAL. All board action regarding licensure shall be governed by Ark. Code Ann.

§§ 17-89-101 et seq.-and, when applicable Atk. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-208 to 213.

9.2. REQUIREMENT TO KEEP CURRENT ADDRESSES ON FILE. All persons holding
a license issued by the board are required to provide the board with information so that
the board can remain in contact and provide notice of complaints and/or hearings. The
licensee is.required to provide is required to provide written notice to the board of any
charig‘e in business and/or residential address within 10 working days of the change.
Service of notices of hearing sent by mail will be addressed to the latest address on file
with the board.

9.3. LICENSURE OR REGISTRY REQUIREMENTS. Except as otherwise provided in
Ark. Code. Ann. §17-89-101 et seq., any person not licensed to practice medicine or
optometry in Arkansas who shall perform or purport to perform any act described in
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Section 8.1.1, Ophthalmic Dispensing definition, must be licensed or registered by the

Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians.

9.4, QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE OR REGISTRY. Each applicant for licensure
or registry shall make application to the Board upon a form and in such a manner as the
Board may require. Each applicant shall:

9.4.1. Verify that he or she is over the age of 21 years;

9.4.2. Be-ofgoodmeral-choracter;

9.4.3. Be a high school graduate or the equivalent thereof; and provide a certified
copy of the high school transcript or Graduate Equivalency Diploma (GED).

9.4.4. Submit written proof that he or she possesses the experience and/or
education requirements which are specified in Ark. Code. Ann §17-89-302
and §17-89-303.

9.44.1. Provide a certified copy of transcript from a nationally accredited
organization approved by this Board or;

9.4.4.2. Apprenticed Dispensing Opticians shall submit copies of all
Supervision Agreements and Quarterly Supervision Reports as written
proof that they have met the experience requirements, or

9.4.4.3. Applicants submitting experience for three (3) years’ dispensing
experience under the direct supervision of any Arkansas-licensed
optometrist or Arkansas-licensed physician skilled in disease of the eye
shall submit the Board approved Supervision Report forms attested to
by the optometrist or physician skilled in disease of the eye. Said
supervised period of time shall consist of no less than four thousand
eight hundred hours in the last five (5) years to qualify for the
examination.

9.4.5. Enclose the examination fee off two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) for the
National Practical Examination. Applicants for Licensure or Registry must
successfully complete the National Practical Examination with a score of
70% (Seventy) percent.

9.4.6. Enclose a current photograph approximately one inch by one inch (1” x
1) of the Applicant.
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9.5. REVIEW OF APPLICATION.

9.5.1. The application and supporting documentation will be reviewed by the Secretary-
Treasurer. Applicants will be notified by the Secretary Treasurer of the applicant’s
approval to test. Qualified applicants will be notified by the Secretary —Treasurer
of the procedure to take the National Practical Examination. Applicants who fail
to pass the National Practical Examination must submit a written request to re-take
the examination and submit the fee of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00).

9.5.2. Incomplete applications will be returned to the applicant.

9.5.3. The Board shall grant a license to an applicant who fulfills the Arkansas
requirements for licensure and is a person who hold a Federal Form 1I-766 United
States Citizenship and Immigration Services-issued Employment Authorization
Document. known popularly as a “work permit.”

9.6. DENIAL OF APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE.
9.6.1. If a preliminary determination is made that the application should be denied, the

Board will inform the application of the opportunity for a hearing on the
application.

9.6.2. The grounds or basis for the proposed denial of a license will be set for in
writing by the Board. Any hearing on the denial of a license will be conducted in
accordance with Ark. Code Ann. §25-15-208 and Ark. Code Ann. §25-15-213,
and unless otherwise provide by law, the applicant has the burden of establishing
entitlement to the license.

9.7. WRITTEN EXAMINATION FOR LICENSURE OR REGISTRY. The Board adopts the
National _Practical examination for Registry or Licensure. Examinations shall be
conducted pursuant to the guidelines established by the national testing service.

Applicants shall be examined in the areas of mechanical optics, occupational vision

requirements, the taking of facial measurements for proper frame sizing, ophthalmic lens

type, fitting and adjusting of glasses to the face, and any other areas deemed necessary by
the Board.

9.8. CERTIFICATES. Every Applicant successfully passing the examination of the Board
and satisfying the qualifications required under Ark. Code. Ann. § 17-89-304 and these
Board rules shall receive from the Board a “Certificate of Licensure”, or a “Certificate
of Registry” to provide ophthalmic dispensing services to the public as a registered or
licensed dispensing optician in Arkansas.

9.9. OFFICE PERMIT REQUIREMENTS. Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 17-89- 408 (a), it
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is unlawful for any person or legal entity to conduct an office or place of business in
this State, where ophthalmic dispensing services are offered or performed without an

office permit.

9.10. QUALIFICATIONS FOR OFFICE PERMIT. All Applicants for an office permit must
complete the Board approved application form and enclose an application fee of $60.00
each location where an office permit is being sought.

9.11. OFFICE PERMIT TO BE DISPLAYED. Each office permit obtained shall be
prominently displayed in each office or place of business in this State where ophthalmic
dispensing services are offered or performed.

10 APPRENTICES
10.1 USE OF APPRENTICES APPROVED. Except as limited in Section 10.9 of these
rules, licensed or registered dispensing opticians may utilize no more than three (3)
apprentice dispensing opticians to engage in ophthalmic dispensing under their direct
personal physical supervision and at the same location where the licensed or registered
optician dispenses.
10.2 APPRENTICE APPLICATION. Apprentice dispensing opticians shall be approved
by the Board upon receipt of a properly completed application, a current photograph
of himself/herself approximately one inch by one inch (1”x1”) and the payment of a
sixty dollar ($60.00) fee to the Board.

10.2.1 The Board shall waive the initial apprentice application fee if the applicant:

(1)is receiving assistance through the Arkansas Medicaid Program: the

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program: the Special Supplemental

Nutrition Program for Women. Infants. and Children: the Temporary

Assistance for Needv Families Program: or the Lifeline Assistance Program:

(2) was approved for unemployment within the last twelve (12) months: or (3)

has an income that does not exceed two hundred percent (200%) of the federal

poverty income guidelines.

10.3 APPRENTICE SUPERVISION. Apprentice dispensing opticians must submit with

their application request a Supervision Agreement in the form and format provided by
the Board and signed by the Licensed or Registered Dispensing Optician under whose
supervision they will work during their apprenticeship. Quarterly, and at the
termination of any supervision agreement, the apprenticed dispensing optician shall

submit a Supervision Report in the form and format provided by the Board attested to
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by the Supervising Licensed or Registered Dispensing Optician. Apprenticed
Licensed Opticians shall keep copies of all Supervision Agreements and Quarterly
Supervision Reports for submission with application to test for licensure.

10.4 TERMINATION OF SUPERVISION.

10.4.1 If a supervision agreement is terminated for any reason and the Apprenticed
dispensing opticians has not obtained the required supervision time for licensure
as a Registered Dispensing Optician, a new Supervision Agreement must be
submitted to the Board within ten (10) days.

10.4.2 Termination of the supervision agreement occurs when for any reason the
supervisor is no longer able to provide direct personal physical provisions of
direction and control to the supervisee.

10.4.3 The Apprentice and the Supervisor are responsible for notifying the Board in
writing of the termination of the supervision agreement.

10.5 FAILURE TO SUBMIT SUPERVISION AGREEMENT. Failure to submit a
Supervision Agreement in the time required shall result in immediate suspension of
the Apprentice license without hearing.

10.6 REINSTATEMENT -OF APPRENTICE LICENSE.  The Apprenticed optician license
shall be eligible for reinstatement for a petiod of 180 days upon the following
conditions.

10.6.1 Submission of a signed Supervision Agreement.

10.6.2 Payment of any-and all annual renewal fees and/or late payment penalties
accruing during the suspension.

10.6.3 Payment of a reinstatement fee of $60.00.

10.7 FAILURE TO REINSTATE SUSPENDED APPRENTICED LICENSE. Any
apprenticed dispensing optician license not reinstated within the prescribed time
period will be considered revoked without hearing. Any person for whom their
apprenticed dispensing optician license has been revoked for failure to reinstate shall
be required to reapply for licensure. Any hours of supervision earned prior to the re-
application process may be considered under the new apprentice license provided the
hours are earned within the previous five (5) years before applications for testing for
licensure is made.

10.8 APPRENTICED SUPERVISION REQUIREMENTS. Apprenticed dispensing
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opticians must obtain four thousand eight hundred (4800)* actual hours of supervision
to qualify as three (3) years of supervision. These hours must be submitted on the
Board approved form and certified by the Licensed or Registered dispensing optician
under whose supervision the apprentice is acting.

10.9 SUPERVISING APPRENTICED A Licensed or Registered Optician may not
supervise more than three (3) full time Apprenticed Dispensing Opticians

10.10 The Board shall grant a license to an applicant who:

10.10.1 Completes an apprenticeship as defined by Ark. Code Ann. §17-6-101 et seq.
10.10.2 Passes the National Optician Practical Examination with a score required for

licensure. if deemed to be necessary by the Board and required of all

applicants;
10.10.3 Pavs any fees deemed necessary by the Board:

10.10.4 Does not have a disqualifving criminal record as determined by the Board

under state law: and

10.10.5 Completes all other requirements for licensure unrelated to training and

education.
10.11 Should the Board denv an application under subsection 10.10. the Board shall provide
the applicant with a written denial detailing the reason for the denial including

whether the Board determined the applicant’s apprenticeship program does not

correspond to the profession or level of license for which the applicant applied.

10.12 An apprenticeship under subsection 10.10 is not required to exceed the number of

hours required by the Board for licensure. except as otherwise required bv federal

law.

2 Hours computed on a basis of 32 hours per week for a period of 50 weeks in a twelve month

period of time times 3 years.
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11

UAL RENEWAL

11.1

11.2

RENEWAL OF A LICENSE, REGISTRATION OR APPRENTICESHIP.
Application for renewal of Licensed, Registered or Apprenticed dispensing opticians
shall be received or postmarked no later than June 10th of each year. Each application
for renewal shall include a renewal fee in the amount of sixty dollars ($60.00) payable
to the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians. Each applicant shall submit a current
photograph of himself/herself approximately one inch by one inch (1”x 17).
Furthermore, each licensed or registered dispensing optician shall attest to his or her
compliance with all of the provisions of Ark. Code. Ann. § 17-89-101 et seq., and the
Arkansas Board of Dispensing Optician’s Rules on the annual licénsure and registry
renewal forms. Upon submission of the photograph and payment of such renewal fee
and in absence of a Board finding against renewal under these rules,.such person shall
have his Certificate of Licensure, Registry or Apprenticeship renewed for an
additional year commencing.on July 1 of that year.

CONTINUING EDUCATION. Pursuant to Ark. Code. Ann. §17-89-308, each
licensed, registered, or apprenticed optician registered under the provisions of Ark.
Code. Ann. §17-89-101 ef seq. applying for the renewal of his license, shall furnish to
the Arkansas State Board .Qf]jispensjng Opticians satisfactory evidence that he
successfully completed four (4) hours in-evén numbered years and five (5) hours
including one hour of jurisprudence in odd numbered years of continuing education
hours approved by either the Arkansas State Board of Dispensing Opticians or the
American Board of Opticianry in the year preceding the expiration date of the license
being renewed pursuant to Ark. Code. Ann. § 17-89-307. In order to obtain credit for
hours that are received, a licensed, registered or apprenticed optician must submit all
evidence establishing the approved hours completed to the Board on or before ninety
(90) days after the completion of the hours. Continuing education hours shall be
obtained in person with the presenter. The Board will not accept continuing education

hours obtained by correspondence. Continuing education hours through any form of
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113

11.4

11.5

11.6

11.7

11.8

live media broadcast must receive prior approval by the Board. The Board shall
recognize those schools which are accredited by an organization recognized by the
United State Department of Education or by the Council on Postsecondary
Accreditation.

DOCUMENTATION OF CONTINUING EDUCATION. Documentation of said
continuing education shall be a condition precedent for the renewal of licenses for
registered, licensed and apprentice opticians. Provided, however, the board shall
reinstate any license not renewed for failure to comply with this rule upon the
subsequent presentation of satisfactory evidence of said continuing education and
payment of all fees due on or before October 1 of each year.

EXCEPTION TO CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT. Provided,
however, that any optician who, because of illness or other unavoidable
circumstances, is unable to comply herewith may make application to the Board,
reasonably documenting the circumstances as to why he or she is unable to comply,
and the Board in its discretion may relieve the applicant from so complying for such
time and under such circumstances as the Board deems proper.

RENEWAL FEE FOR OPTICIAN. Upon receipt of the sixty dollars ($60.00)
renewal fee each licensed, registered, and apprenticed optician will be issued a photo
badge to wear at all times they are performing duties of a registered, licensed or
apprentice optician.

LOST OR DESTROYED BADGES. Replacement badges will be provided by the
Board for all lost or destroyed badges at a fee of ten dollars ($10.00).

FAILURE OF LICENSEE, REGISTRANT OR APPRENTICE TO PAY RENEWAL.
Any licensed, registered or apprentice dispensing optician who has not paid his or her

renewal fee in full by July 1 of that year shall be required to pay the following renewal
penalty.

July 1 —July 31 $25.00
August 1 — August 31 $50.00
September 1 — September 30 $75.00

FAILURE OF LICENSEE, REGISTRANT OR APPRENTICE TO PAY RENEWAL
BY SEPTEMBER 30. Any licensed, registered or apprenticed dispensing optician
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11.9

who fails to renew their license on or before September 30 of each year and continues

to provide ophthalmic dispensing services shall be deemed to have committed a
violation of Ark. Code Ann. §17-89-309 (a) and may result in action by the Board
pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. 17-89-309 (b).

INACTIVE STATUS.

11.9.1

11.9.2

11.9.3

11.9.4

A licensed or registered dispensing optician who fails to renew their license
shall be placed on inactive status. The Board shall notify the licensed or
registered dispensing optician 15 days prior to placing an optician on inactive
status. The optician shall be notified of their inactive status and inability to
continue to provide ophthalmic dispensing services by regular first class mail at
the last address provided by the licensee. Mailing will constitute service.

A licensed or registered dispensing optician may request to.be placed upon
inactive status by providing a written statement to the Board.

The Board may approve:inactive status for a period 6f no longer than two (2)
years and shall notify the requesting licensed or registered dispensing optician
in writing of the approval.

Licensed or registered dispensing dpticians who are placed on inactive status for
failure to renew may return to active status within 2 years upon payment of all

renewal fees, late penalties and submission of Continuing Education hours.

‘Licensed orrégistered dispensing opticians who have been granted Board

approved inactive status shall only be required to pay the annual renewal fee to
reinstate their license or registration. Failure to return from inactive status after
two (2) years shall be considered voluntary surrender of the license by the

licensee without further notice.

11.10 RENEWAL FEE FOR OFFICE PERMIT. Each office permit must be renewed on or

before July 1 of each year. Application for renewal should be received or postmarked

no later than June 10® of each year. Such renewal shall include a completed renewal
form along with $60.00 renewal fee.

11.11FAILURE TO RENEW OFFICE PERMIT AND PAY RENEWAL FEE. Any office
which fails to renew its Office Permit and pay the renewal fee by July 1 shall be

considered delinquent and subject to the following penalty.
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July 1 —July 31 $25.00
August 1 — August 31 $50.00
September 1 — September 30 $75.00

11.12FAILURE TO RENEW OFFICE PERMIT BY SEPTEMBER 30. Any individual,

partnership, corporation or other business entity who fails to renew an office permit by
September 30 including the payment of the renewal fee and any appropriate penalty
and continues to provide ophthalmic dispensing services shall be deemed to have
committed a violation of Ark. Code Ann. § 17-89-408 (a) and may result in action by
the Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 9-89-408 (d).

12 BRANCH OFFICES

12.1

12.2

123

124

OPTICIAN PRESENT. All open optical businesses which are subject to the provision
of Ark. Code Ann. § 17-89-101 et seq. must have physically present within the place
of business at all times a licensed or registered dispensing optician.
BRANCH OFFICE LIMIT. No licensed or registered dispensing optician or person in
this state shall establish more than two ophthalmic dispensing branch offices in
addition to his principal office unless he shall first have secured a branch office permit
from the Board.
FACTORS FOR BOARD TO CONSIDER. The Board shall consider, but, not be
limited to, the following factors when ruling on an application for a permit for
additional branch offices:
12.3.1 The availability of qualified personnel to staff the proposed ophthalmic
dispensing office;
12.3.2 The established standards of service of the applicant;
12.3.3 The assurance of adequate supervision of the service provided by the
proposed branch office;
12.3.4 The applicant’s established record of compliance with the provisions of
Ark. Code. Ann. § 17-89-101 et seq. and the rules of the Arkansas
Board of Dispensing Opticians.
NAME OF OPTICIAN DISPLAYED. The name and Certificate of Registry or
Licensure of the supervising dispensing optician shall be prominently displayed at all

times in each ophthalmic dispensing office.
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13

14

CERTIFICATE OF OWNERSHIP

13.1

13.2

ANNUAL FILING OF CERTIFICATE OF OWNERSHIP. Each optical dispensary
in the State of Arkansas whose title does not contain the proper name of an Arkansas
optometrist or Arkansas physician skilled in the diseases of the eye, or a licensed or
registered dispensing optician holding a certificate of licensure or registry in the State
of Arkansas must file a certificate of ownership each year with the Arkansas Board of
Dispensing Opticians between June 1 and June 30. Each certificate of ownership must
give the name and address of the dispensary, the optometrist or physician skilled in
diseases of the eye, or licensed or registered dispensing optician or person who owns
or maintains legal responsibility of the dispensary.

FAILURE TO FILE CERTIFICATE OF QWNERSHIP. When the Board determines
that a violation of this requirement has occurred, the Board may undertake an
investigation to determine ownership. If ownership is determined to be an optometrist
or a physician skilled in diseases of the eye, the Board shall report the failure to file
the Certificate of Ownership to the appropriate governing board of the optometrist or
physician skilled in diseases.of the eye. If the ownership is determined to be a
licensed or registered optician, the Board-shall initiate a complaint for violation of the

rule of this Board and the law of the State of Arkansas.

COMPLAINTS
14.1 COMPOSITIONQF THE COMPLAINT COMMITTEE:

14.1.1 The Complaint Committee shall consist of the Secretary/Treasurer of the Board.

14.2 PROCEDURE FOR INITIATION OF COMPLAINTS:

14.2.1 Initiation. The formal investigation of a complaint against a licensed, registered,
apprentice or student optician may be initiated when the complaint is in writing
and filed with the board. The complaint must contain a brief statement setting
forth the allegations of fact and naming the optician against whom the
complaint is filed.

14.2.2 Prima Facie Determination. Upon receipt of a complaint, the Complaint
Committee shall review same to determine whether the complaint states a prima
facie violation of any provision of A.C.A §17-89-201 or Board rules. Should

the Complaint Committee determine that the complaint does not state a
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14.2.3

14.2.4

prima facie violation of the law or other Board Rules the Secretary/Treasurer
shall submit the complaint to the Board at the first available opportunity for the
Board’s determinations whether a prima facie case is stated in the complaint.
Should the Board determine the complaint fails state a prima facie violation;
the Board shall notify the complainant the complaint has been dismissed.
Board Initiation. The Board may initiate an investigation upon its own motion
when it has reason to believe a violation of A.C.A. § 17-89-201 et seq. or Board
rule may have occurred. Individual board members should utilize the written
complaint method for complaints against individual dispensing opticians.

Time Limit for Filing of Complaint. The Complaint committee may consider
complaints only if the complaint was filed within one (1) year from the time the
alleged complaint either occurred or was discovered. Any complaint not
received within this time limit shall not be considered and the complainant shall

be so notified.

14.3 PROCEDURE FOR INVESTIGATION OF COMPLAINTS

14.3.1

14.3.2

14.3.3

Notification of the Respondent. If the complaint appears to state a prima facie
violation of the law and/or other Board rules the Complaint Committee shall
notify the dispensing optician named in the complaint by certified or
registered mail of the complaint and request a written response to the
allegation/s.

Investigation. Upon receipt of the licensee’s response or upon the expiration of
the time period permitted for the licensee’s response, the Complaint Committee
may conduct any further inquiry or investigation which appears to be
appropriate based upon the circumstances of the individual case.

Investigative Officer. The Investigative Officer shall be a person designated by
the Chair of the Board. The Chair of the Board shall agree, or contract, to pay
compensation to, or reimburse the expenses of, any person serving as

investigative officer authorized by the Board.
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14.3.4 Investigative Report. Upon completion of the investigation, the investigative
officer shall provide a written report to the Complaint Committee the results of
the investigation. The Complaint Committee will recommend to the Board
whether to conduct a hearing, take other action or dismiss the complaint. The
report of the Complaint Committee shall be a summary of the results of the
investigation and shall be presented to the Board without naming the licensee.

144 ACTION BY BOARD. A majority vote of the board shall be required to support the
recommendation of the Complaint Committee.

14.4.1 If the board agrees with the determination of the Complaint Committee that the
case should be dismissed, the complainant and the respondent shall be so
notified.

144.1.1  Additional Evidence. If additional evidence of conduct contrary to the
laws, or Rules governing Dispensing Opticians is presented within sixty
(60) days after the matter has been closed with no action, the case may
be reopened and acted upon under regular procedures.

14.4.2 If the board determines that the complaint presents sufficient evidence of a
violation; it may-decide to resolve the matter through an informal meeting, an
offer of consent agreement or through aformal disciplinary hearing.

14.4.2.1 If the beard votes to hold a formal hearing, the board shall comply with
the requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act.

14422  The Board may offer-or the Respondent may request an informal hearing
ofa complaint before the Board consisting of a face to face meeting with
the Respondent to discuss the allegations of the complaint. Prior to an
informal hearing the Respondent must sign a consent statement agreeing
to the terms and conditions of an informal hearing.

14.4.2.3 If the Board determines that a consent agreement may be appropriate, the
Board shall authorize its Attorney to enter into negotiations for a consent
agreement subject to the Board’s final approval. The Board may

recommend terms for a consent agreement offer by the attorney to the
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respondent based only upon the anonymous report presented to the Board
by the Complaint Committee.

14.5 DISQUALIFICATION. During a formal disciplinary hearing, any members of the
Board who served on the Complaint Committee, was involved in the investigation or
who initiated the complaint shall be disqualified from participation in the hearing.

14.6 COUNTER COMPLAINTS. The Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians will not
accept formal complaints from a respondent against a complainant during the course
of an investigation of the initial complaint. Counter charges will only be considered
after the disposition of the initial complaint.

15  DENIAL, SUSPENSION, OR REVOCATION OF LICENSE. REGISTRATION OR
OFFICE PERMIT

15.1 SUSPENSION, REVOCATION, ANNULMENT OR WITHDRAWAL. Prior to the
entry of a final order to suspend, revoke, annul or withdraw a license, registration, or
office permit, or to impose other sanctions upon a licensee or permit holder, the board
will serve the licensee or permit-holder a notice of hearing in the manner set out in
Ark. Code Ann. §25-15-208 and Section 7.7 of these rules.

15.1.1 The board has the burden of proving the alleged facts and violations of law
stated in the notice.

15.2 VOLUNTARY SURRENDER OF LICENSE. The licensee, in lieu of formal
disciplinary proceedings, may offer to surrender his or her license, subject to the
Board’s determination to accept the proffered surrender, rather than conducting a
formal disciplinary proceeding.

15.3 BASIS OF SUSPENSION, REVOCATION OR DENIAL. The board shall revoke,
suspend or refuse to issue a license or registration of any dispensing optician or
apprenticeship for any violation of any provision of Ark. Code. Ann. §17-89-201 et
seq., as amended, or of any of these rules, including, but not limited to, the
following:

15.3.1 The applicant, licensee, registrant, apprentice or person obtaining a license,
registration, apprenticeship or office permit by means of fraud,

misrepresentation, or concealment of material facts;
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15.3.2 The applicant, licensee, registrant or apprentice engaging in conduct, including,
but not limited to, engaging in the advertising practice commonly known as
“bait and switch,” or establishing an ophthalmic dispensing business
immediately adjacent to the office of a licensed optometrist or physician skilled
in the disease of the eye in what is commonly known as a “side-by-side”
operation, or engaging in the referral procedure commonly known as “capping
and steering”;

15.3.3 Any licensed, registered or apprenticed dispensing optician, either directly or
indirectly, to participate in any manner in the division, assignment, rebate,
kickback, splitting or refunding of service fees or costs of completed eyeglasses
with a physician skilled in the disease of the eye or optometrist. Nothing in the
above is to be construed so as to interfere with the ownership, profit sharing
programs, pensions, or retirement programs-of any optometrist’s or
ophthalmologist’s office where the professional is incorporated.

15.3.4 Any licensed, registered or apprenticed dispensing optician or person
requesting, encouraging; or enticing a licensed optometrist or physician skilled
in disease of the eye to locate an office for the purpose of conducting his
professional practice adjacent to an Opticianry for the purpose of capping and
steering as-defined by these rules.

15.3.5 The applicant, licensee, registrant, apprentice or person being convicted of a
felony in any state or federal court, and not pardoned, if the acts for which the
person is convicted are found by the board to have a direct bearing on whether
he should be entrusted to serve the public in the capacity of a dispensing
optician.

15.3.6 The applicant, licensee, registrant, apprentice or person violating any
prohibitive provision under this chapter;

15.3.7 The applicant, licensee, registrant, apprentice or person engaging in any

fraudulent, misleading, or deceptive advertising?;

3 All advertising must conform to the provisions of Ark, Code. Ann. §§17-89~405 & 406. The following examples are provided to assist in

determining whether an advertisement is considered to be fraudulent, misleading or deceptive:
1. Advertisements which include prices of prescription glasses may be considered fraudulent, misleading or deceptive if they do not

meet the following standards:
(a) A statement of whether or not the quoted cost includes an examination by a licensed optometrist or physician skilled in the
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15.3.8 The applicant, licensee, registrant, apprentice or person failing to qualify for the
license, registration, apprenticeship or office permit;

15.3.9 The applicant, licensee, registrant, apprentice or person violating any other rule
promulgated by the board; or

15.3.10The applicant, licensee, registrant, apprentice or person using any narcotic drug,
psychoactive drug or alcohol which impairs his or her ability to perform the
work as an ophthalmic dispenser.

15.4 HEARING AND SANCTIONS. After due notice and hearing, a person licensed or
registered as an optician or apprentice or an applicant or person holding or seeking to
hold an office permit, found to have violated any provision of Ark. Code Anno. § 17-
89-101 et seq. also know as the Ophthalmic Dispensing Act and/or the Rules
promulgated by the Board of Dispensing Opticians may have any one ot more of the
following sanctions imposed upon him by the board:

15.4.1 Suspension, revocation or denial of the license, registration, apprenticeship or
office permit or the renewal thereof;

15.4.2 A penalty not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) for each violation;

15.4.3 Conditions or restrictions placed upon the person’s license, registration,
apprenticeship or practice; or

15.4.4 Such other requirements or penalties as may be appropriate to the circumstances
or the case, and which would achieve the desired disciplinary purposes, but
which would not impair the public welfare and morals.

15.5 FAILURE TO PAY PENALTY. Unless the penalty assessed under this section is paid
within fifteen (15) days following the date for an appeal from the order, the board
shall have the power to file suit in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County to obtain the
judgment for the amount of penalty not paid.

diseases of the eye.

(b) Ifthe advertised price is for a limited period of time, the advertisement shall state the expiration date of the offer.

{c) Any limits on a customer’s rights to purchase the advertised product shall be stated in the advertisement.

{d) If a reduced price is offered on a specific item or items, the regular retail price of the specific item or items must be included in
the advertisement.

(¢) Knowingly and repeatedly advertising a manufacturer’s discontinued item, whether or not prices are given, must so state the item
has been discontinued.

2. Any licensee or registrant who fails to satisfy the requirements of this section shall be deemed to have committed fraudulent,
misleading, or deceptive advertising.
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15.6 DUTY OF A SANCTIONED PROFESSIONAL. In every case in which a
professional shall, within thirty (30) days of the revocation, suspension, or surrender,
do the following;

15.6.1 Return his or her license and any license badge to the Board’s office;

15.6.2 Notify all clients to make arrangements for other professional services, calling
attention to any urgency in seeking the substitution of another licensed professional;
15.6.3 Deliver to all clients any papers or property to which they are entitled, or notify
the client of a suitable time and place where the papers or other property may be
obtained, calling attention to any urgency for obtaining the papers or other property;
15.6.4 Refund any part of the fees paid in advance that have not been ¢arned;

15.7 EMERGENCY ACTION. If the board finds that the public health, safety, or welfare
imperatively requires emergency action and incorporates that finding in its order, the
board can summarily suspend, limit, or restrict a license. The notice requirement in
Section 7.7 of these rules does not apply and must not be construed to prevent a
hearing at the earliest time practicable.

15.7.1 Emergency Order: An emergency adjudicative order must contact findings that
the public health, safety, and welfare imperatively required emergency action to
be taken by the board. The written order-must include notification of the date
on which the board proceedings are scheduled for completion.

15.7.2 Written Notice. The written emergency adjudicative order will be immediately
delivered to persons who are required to comply with the order. One or more of
the following procedures will be used:

15.7.2.1 Personal Delivery

15.7.2.2  Certified mail, return receipt requested, to the last address on file with the
board

15.7.2.3  First class mail to the last address on file with the Board;

15.7.2.4 Fax. Fax may be used as the sole method of delivery if the person
required to comply with the order has filed a written request that Board
orders be sent by fax and has provided a fax number for that purpose.

15.7.2.5 Oral Notice. Unless the written emergency order is served by personal
delivery on the same day that the order issues, the Board shall make
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reasonably immediate efforts to contact by telephone the persons who are
required to comply with the order.

15.7.3 Unless otherwise provided by law, within ten (10) days after emergency action
taken pursuant to Section 16.1 of these rules, the board must initiate a formal
suspension or revocation proceeding.

15.8 REINSTATEMENT AFTER SUSPENSION. An order suspending a license may
provide that a person desiring reinstatement may file with the Secretary-Treasurer a
verified petition requesting reinstatement.

15.8.1 The petition for reinstatement must set out the following:

15.8.1.1 That the individual has fully and promptly complied with the requirements
of Section 15.6 of these rules pertaining to the duty of a sanctioned
professional;

15.8.1.2  That the individual has refrained from practicing in this profession during
the period of suspension;

15.8.1.3 That the individual’s license fee is current or has been tendered to the
Board; and

15.8.1.4 That the individual has fully complied with any requirements imposed as
conditions for reinstatement.

15.8.2 Any knowing misstatement of fact may constitute grounds for denial or
revocation of reinstatement.

15.8.3 Failure to comply with the provisions of Sections 15.6.7 and 15.6.8 of these
Rules precludes consideration for reinstatement.

15.8.4 No individual will be reinstated unless the Board approves reinstatement by
majority vote.

15.9 RE-LICENSURE FOR REVOKED OR SURRENDERED LICENSE. No individual
who has had his or her license revoked or who has surrendered his or her license will be
licensed, except on petition made to the Board. The application for re-licensure is not
allowed until at least two (2) years after the revocation or surrender of license took effect.

15.9.1 The applicant bears the burden of proof that he is rehabilitated following the

revocation or surrender of his license, that he can engage in the conduct authorized by
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the license without undue risk to the public health, safety, and welfare, and that he is
otherwise qualified for the license pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §§ 17-89-101 et seq..
15.9.2 The Board may impose any appropriate conditions or limitations on a license to
protect the public health, safety, and welfare.

16.Waiver Request

A. If an individual has been conv1cted of an offense hsted in A.CA. § 17-23-102(a)_or (e),
af qualify £ a1 a-{e); the Board may
waive dlsquahficatlon ofa potentlal apphcant or revocation of a license based on the
conviction if a request for a waiver is made by:
1. An affected applicant for a license; or
2. An individual holding a license subject to revocation.

B. The Board may grant a waiver upon consideration of the following, without limitation:

The age at which the offense was committed,;

The circumstances surroundin‘g the offense;

The length of time since the offense was committed,

Subsequent work history since the offense was committed;

Employment references since the offense was committed;

Character referencés since the foen'se was committed;

Relevance of the offense to the occupational license; and

Other evidence demonstrating that licensure of the applicant does not pose a

threat to the health or saféety of the public,

C. A request for a'waiver, if made by an applicant, must be in writing and accompany the
completed application and fees.

D. The Board will respond with a decision in writing and will state the reasons for the
decision.

E. An appeal of a determination under this section will be subject to the Administrative
Procedures Act §25-15-201 et seq.

17 DISCLOSURE
17.9REQUIREMENTS TO PROVIDE INFORMATION TO THE BOARD. Every person

licensed or registered under the provisions Ark. Code. Ann §17-89-101 et seq., shall upon

PNV AW

request make available to the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians or its duly authorized
representative any information which the Board requires to verify compliance of the Licensee
or Registrant with all provisions of Ark. Code. Ann. § 17-89-101 et seq., and these Board

rules.
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18 OPHTHALMIC STANDARDS

a. BOARD TO PROVIDE OPHTHALMIC STANDARDS. The Board shall
provide a copy of the American National Standards Institute Z-80.1 Ophthalmic
Materials Standards to each person who is licensed or registered as a dispensing
optician in the State of Arkansas.

19 PROHIBITED PRACTICE

a. It shall be unlawful for any dispensing optician or person engaged in the business
of manufacturing, selling, or dispensing regular and/or safety ophthalmic
materials to fill or duplicate an ophthalmic prescription without having a written
prescription signed by the licensed optometrist or licensed physician skilled in
disease of the eye who conducted the examination from which the prescription
was prepared; or fail to comply with the written instructions when such
instructions are included on a written prescription signed by a licensed
optometrist or licensed physician skilled in disease of the eye. No change or
alteration from the prescription of the prescribing optometrist or physician shall
be made, except that changes may be made in tint or material of the lenses unless
such changes are specifically prohibited on the written prescription.

b. Nothing in these rules shall be construed to authorize or permit any licensed or
registered dispensing optician or any other person, except a licensed optometrist
or licensed physician skilled in disease of the eye, to undertake or hold himself
out as being able (1) to examine eyes by any objective or subjective method or
exercises eyes; (2) to undertake by any method or means the measurement of
the cornea of the human eye; or (3) to examine, prescribe, diagnose, treat, or
correct for visual deficiency. The prescribing, adapting, fitting, duplicating,
dispensing, modifying, selling, or supplying of contact lenses for or to the
human eye is specifically prohibited except when done by a licensed optometrist

or licensed physician skilled in disease of the eye.

20 Returning Military Veteran UNIFORMED SERVICE MEMBER Licensure

A. As used in this subsection, “returning-military-veteranuniformed service veteran”
means a former member of the United States Armed-Ferees Uniformed Services whe-
was discharged frem-aetive-duty under circumstances other than dishonorable.

B. The Board shall grant automatic licensure to an individual who helds-a-substantially
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equivalent license-in-another U-S—jurisdietion is the holder in good standing of a

license with a similar scope of practice issued by another state. territory. or district
of the U.S. and is:

1. An-aective-duty-military A uniformed service member stationed in the State of
Arkansas;

g
a
q

her-discharge-from-aetive-duty A uniformed service veteran who resides in or

establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; or

3. The spouse of a person vnderB-(1-or(2)-abeve

a. A person under B (1) or (2) above:

b. A uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes

the uniformed service membet’s spouse from accompanying the

uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this. state: or

¢. A uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her

injuries or illness-in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in

the state.

C. The Board shall grant such automatic licensure upon receipt of all the below:
1. Payment of the initial licensure fee;
2. Evidence that the individual holds a substantially-equivalent license with a_
similar scope of practice in another state; and

3. Evidence that the applicant is a qualified applicant under Section B.
D. The expiration date of a license for a deployed uniform service member or spouse will be

extended for one hundred and eighty (180) days following the date of the uniformed

service member’s return from deployment.

E. A full exemption from continuing education requirements will be allowed for a deploved

uniform service member or spouse until one hundred and eighty (180) davs following the

date of the uniformed service member’s return from deployment.

21 RECIPROCITY
a. RECIPROCITY. The Board will only consider a grant of reciprocity to an individual

from a state which grants reciprocity to Arkansas licensees. The Board shall require

that any person requesting reciprocity of the State of Arkansas shall meet the
requirements as set forth in Ark. Code. Ann. §17-89-305 and §17-89-306 and provide

written proof from the appropriate board or agency of reciprocity to Arkansas
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licensees from the state they are currently licensed.
22 SEVERABILITY
a. SEVERABILITY. These rules being for the regulation of the business of
ophthalmic dispensing and the protection of the public, the provisions hereby are
declared to be severable and the invalidity of any rule, clause, sentence,

paragraph or section hereof shall not affect the validity of the remainder thereof.
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 135 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: S1/19/21 51/26/21
93rd General Assembly 1
Regular Session, 2021 SENATE BILL 78

By: Senators Hill, D. Wallace, T. Garner, Irvin, J. Hendren, J. English, Flippo

By: Representatives Lynch, Cozart, Brown, Evans

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO ESTABLISH THE ARKANSAS OCCUPATIONAL
LICENSING OF UNIFORMED SERVICE MEMBERS, VETERANS, AND
SPOUSES ACT OF 2021; TO MODIFY THE AUTOMATIC
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS FOR UNIFORMED
SERVICES MEMBERS, RETURNING UNIFORMED SERVICES
VETERANS, AND THEIR SPOUSES; TO DECLARE AN EMERGENCY;
AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO ESTABLISH ARKANSAS OCCUPATIONAL
LICENSING OF UNIFORMED SERVICE MEMBERS,
VETERANS, AND SPOUSES ACT OF 2021; AND TO
DECLARE AN EMERGENCY.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 17-1-106 is repealed.

NURRTAMD SEP——



O 00 N Y T B W e

W W W W W W W N D NN R DN DD DN +H F e e
A UL W N O~ O W oN N W N~ O W 0N Oy - O

As Engrossed:

S1/19/21 S1/26/21

SB78
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As Engrossed: S1/19/21 S1/26/21 SB78
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SECTION 2. Arkansas Code Title 17, Chapter 1, is amended to add an

additional chapter to read as follows:

Chapter 4 — Arkansas Occupational Licensing of Uniformed Service Members,

Veterans, and Spouses Act of 2021
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As Engrossed: S1/19/21 S1/26/21 SB78

17-4-101. Title.

This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the "Arkansas

Occupational Licensing of Uniformed Service Members, Veterans, and Spouses

Act of 2021",

17-4-102. Legislative findings and intent.

(a) The General Assembly finds that:

(1) Arkansas sets the bar as a national leader in addressing

employment barriers faced by uniformed service members, uniformed service

veterans, and their spouses in attaining occupational licensure;

(2) Arkansas is one (1) of only four (4) states to successfully

address eight (8) or more of the ten (10) issues affecting uniformed service

families identified by the United States Department of Defense;

(3) Of the United States Department of Defense’s ten (10) issues

in fiscal vear 2020, four (4) of the issues concern occupational licemnsure of

spouses of uniformed service members;

(4) Annually, fourteen and a half percent (14.5%) of spouses of

uniformed service members move across state lines as opposed to one and one-

tenth percent (l.1%) of civilians;

(5) States can continue to improve the attainment of

occupational licensure and to eliminate barriers impeding employment of

spouses of uniformed service members following a move across state lines;

(6) Acts 2019, No. 820, established provisions for the granting

of automatic occupational licensure or expedited occupational licensure to

active-duty service members, recently separated veterans, and their spouses

who hold occupational licensure in good standing in another jurisdiction; and

(7) Additional steps need to be taken to clarify, simplify, and

elevate the occupational licensure process for uniformed service members,

uniformed service veterans, and their spouses.

(b) It is the intent of the General Assembly to address occupational

licensure barriers that impede the launch and sustainability of civilian

occupational careers and employment faced by uniformed service members,

uniformed service veterans, and their spouses due to frequent uniformed

service assignment by:

(1) Providing:
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As Engrossed: S1/19/21 S1/26/21 SB78

(A) Automatic occupational licensure or expedited

occupational licensure to current license holders to expedite their entry

into the workforce of this state;

(B) Temporary or provisional licensure to initdial

licensure candidates while expediting full licensurej;

(C) Legislative oversight of rulemaking by occupational

licensing entities to ensure removal of occupational licensure barriers faced

by uniformed service members, uniformed service veterans, and their spouses:

and

(D) Guidance to assure effective rulemaking and clear

license application instructions to uniformed service members, uniformed

service veterans, and their spouses:

(2) Recognizing uniformed service education, training,

experience, and credentials of uniformed service members and uniformed

service veterans applying for initial occupational licensure; and

(3) Extending licensure expiration and any continuing education

required for occupational licensure renewal when a uniformed service member

is deployed.

17-4-103. Definitions.

As used in this chapter:

(1) “Automatic occupational licensure” means the granting of

occupational licensure without an individual’s having met occupational

licensure requirements provided under this title or by the rules of the

relevant occupational licensing entitys

(2) “Occupational licensing entity” means an office, board,

commission, department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government

having authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise

authorize an individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession,

not including occupations or professions within the judicial branch of

povernment or occupations or professions subject to the superintending

control of the Supreme Court;

(3) “Occupational licensure” means a license, certificate,

registration, permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule

that is required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or

profession;
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As Engrossed: S1/19/21 S1/26/21 SB78

(4) "Uniformed service member" means:

(A) An active or reserve component member of the United

States Air Force, United States Army, United States Coast Guard, United

States Marine Corps, United States Navy, United States Space Force, or

National Guard;:

(B) An active component member of the National Oceanic and

Atmospheric Administration Commissioned Officer Corps; or

(C) An active or reserve component member of the United

States Commissioned Corps of the Public Health Service: and

(5) "Uniformed service veteran" means a former member of the

United States uniformed services discharged under conditions other than

dishonorable.

17-4-104. Applicability.

Unless otherwise stated in this chapter, this chapter applies to:

(1) A uniformed service member stationed in the State of

Arkansas;

(2) A uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes

residency in the State of Arkansas; and

(3) The spouse of:

(A) A person listed in subdivision (1) or (2) of this

section;

(B) A uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of

duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from accompanying

the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and

(C) A uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs

to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse

establishes residency in the state.

17-4-105. Automatic occupational licensure.

An occupational licensing entity shall grant automatic occupational

licensure to engage in an occupation or profession to an individual who is:

(1) Listed in § 17-4-1043 and

(2) The holder in pgood standing of occupational licensure with

similar scope of practice issued by another state, territory, or district of

the United States.
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As Engrossed: S1/19/21 S1/26/21 SB78

17-4-106. Expedited occupational licensure.

(a)(l) An occupational licensing entity may submit proposed rules

recommending an expedited process for the attainment of occupational

licensure instead of automatic occupational licensure as provided under § 17-

4-105 to the Administrative Rules Subcommittee of the Legislative Council.

(2) The proposed rules described in subdivision (a)(1l) of this

section shall include temporary or provisional occupational licensure

provisions with a term of ninety (90) days or more.

(3) The occupational licensing entity shall provide automatic

occupational licensure if the proposed expedited occupational licensure rules

are not approved as required by § 17-4-109.

(b)(1l) An occupational licensing entity shall expedite the process for

initial occupational licensure for an individual who is listed in § 17-4-104.

(2) An occupational licensing entity shall provide the applicant

under subdivision (b)(l) of this section with a temporary or provisional

license upon receipt of required documentation or the successful completion

of any examination required by the relevant occupational licensing entity to

enable the applicant to secure employment in his or her occupation or

profession.

17-4-107. Acceptance of uniformed service education, training,

experience, or service-issued credential.

An occupational licensing entity shall accept relevant and applicable

uniformed service education, training, or service-issued credential toward

occupational licensure qualifications or requirements when considering an

application for initial licensure of an individual who is:

(1) A uniformed service member; or

(2) A uniformed service veteran who makes an application within

one (1) vear of his or her discharge from uniformed service.

17-4-108. Extension of license expiration and continuing education

requirements.

(a) An occupational licensing entity shall extend the expiration date

of an occupational licensure for a deploved uniformed service member or his

or her spouse for one hundred eightv (180) dayvs following the date of the

7 01-26-2021 09:31:35 JMB127
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uniformed service member’s return from deployment.

(b)(l) An occupational licensing entity shall allow a full or partial

exemption from a continuing education requirement that is required as a

component of occupational licensure for an individual who is listed imn

subsection (a) of this section until one hundred eighty (180) days following

the date of the uniformed service member’s return from deployment.

(2) An occupational licensing entity that allows full or partial

exemption from continuing education requirements may require evidence of

completion of continuing education before granting a subsequent occupational

licensure or authorizing the renewal of an occupational licensure.

17-4-109. Legislative oversight of rules.

(a) The Administrative Rules Subcommittee of the Legislative Council
shall:

(1) Review the proposed rules of an occupational licensing

entity as submitted for public comment at least thirty (30) days before the

public comment period ends under the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, §

25-15-201 et seq.3; and

(2) Approve the proposed rules submitted under § 17-4-106 based

(A) A determination of whether the expedited process

provides the least restrictive means of attaining occupational licensure; and

(B) Any other criteria the Administrative Rules

Subcommittee of the Legislative Council determines necessary to achieve the

objectives of this section.

(b) The Administrative Rules Subcommittee of the Legislative Council

may:

(1) Establish a further subcommittee to assist in the duties

assigned to the Administrative Rules Subcommittee of the Legislative Council

under this sectiong

(2) Assign information filed with the Administrative Rules

Subcommittee of the Legislative Council under this section to ome (1) or more

subcommittees of the Legislative Council, including without limitation a

subcommittee created under subdivision (b)(1l) of this sectionj; or

(3) Delegate the duties of the Administrative Rules Subcommittee

of the Legislative Council under this section to onme (1) or more

8 01-26-2021 09:31:35 JMB127



W 0 N Oy W

W W W W W W WD NN N N NNRNNE = - e e e e o e
O\Ln-l-\wNI—O\DOO\IO\kn-waD—'O\DOO\IO\M-L\wND—‘O

As Engrossed: S1/19/21 S1/26/21 SB78

subcommittees of the Legislative Council, which hall be subject to the final

review and approval of the Administrative Rules Subcommittee of the

Legislative Council.

17-4-110. Responsibilities of occupational licensing entities.

An occupational licensing entity shall:

(1) Submit proposed rules authorized under § 17-4-106 to the

Administrative Rules Subcommittee of the Legislative Council for review and

approval before the proposed rules are promulgated under the Arkansas

Administrative Procedure Act, § 25-15-201 et seq.;

(2) If the proposed rules are not approved as required under §

17-4-109, provide automatic occupational licensure to an individual listed in

§ 17-4-104;

(3) Post prominently on the occupational licensing entity’s

website a link entitled "Military Member Licensure" that directlv leads to

information applicable to an individual listed in § 17-4-104; and

(4) Provide to the House Committee on Aging, Children and Youth,

Legislative and Military Affairs an annual report stating the number of

individuals granted automatic occupational licensure and expedited

occupational licensure under this chapter.

SECTION 3. EMERGENCY CLAUSE. It is found and determined by the

General Assembly of the State of Arkansas that current laws and

administrative rules regarding the issuance of occupational licenses,

certificates, and permits are barriers and create a hardship for uniformed

service members, uniformed service veterans, and their spouses; that

additional expedited processes, automatic licensure, and extended expiration

dates of occupational licenses, certificates, and permits is needed to ensure

that uniformed service members, uniformed service veterans, and their spouses

may practice their chosen occupation or profession in the State of Arkansas;

and that this act is immediately necessary to remove barriers and hardships

in obtaining occupational licenses, certificates, and permits for uniformed

service members, uniformed service veterans, and their spouses. Therefore, an

emergency is declared to exist, and this act being immediately necessary for

the preservation of the public peace, health, and safety shall become

effective on:

9 01-26-2021 09:31:35 JMB127
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(1) The date of its approval by the Governor;

(2) If the bill is neither approved nor vetoed by the Governor,

the expiration of the period of time during which the Governor may veto the

bill; or

(3) If the bill is vetoed by the Governor and the veto is

overridden, the date the last house overrides the veto.

/s/Hill

APPROVED: 2/23/21

10 01-26-2021 09:31:35 JMB127
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 725 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed:  S$3/10/21
93rd General Assembly 1
Regular Session, 2021 SENATE BILL 153

By: Senators Gilmore, B. Ballinger, Beckham, Bledsoe, B. Davis, Flippo, T. Garner, K. Hammer, Hester,
B. Johnson, D. Sullivan, C. Tucker, D. Wallace
By: Representatives Ray, Beaty Jr., M. Berry, Boyd, Brooks, Brown, Furman, Haak, McCollum,

Underwood, Wardlaw

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO CREATE THE WORKFORCE EXPANSION ACT OF 2021;
AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO CREATE THE WORKFORCE EXPANSION ACT OF
2021.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
SECTION 1. Arkansas Code Title 4, Chapter 25, Subchapter 1, is amended

to add an additional section to read as follows:

4-25-110. Fee waiver for certain individuals.

(a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the initial filing fees,

permit fees, and licensing fees associated with the formation of a business

in this state shall be waived for applicants who meet the requirements in the

Workforce Expansion Act of 2021, § 17-4-101 et seq.

(b) Appropriate state entities shall:

(1) Publish notice of the fee waiver on:

(A) The website maintained by the appropriate state

entity; and
(B) Any relevant forms that an applicant is required to

complete; and

(2) Promulgate any necessary rules to implement this section.

NN P—
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SECTION 2, Arkansas Code Title 17, is amended to add an additional
chapter to read as follows:

Chapter 4 — Workforce Expansion Act of 2021

17-4-101. Title.

This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the "Workforce

Expansion Act of 2021".

17-4-102. Legislative findings — Purpose.

(a) The General Assembly finds that:

(1) Entrepreneurs and workers must pay various fees in order to

work in a government-regulated profession or occupation or to start a small

business in Arkansas;

(2) Families trving to break the cycle of government dependency

should not have to pay the state to earn a living; and

(3) Arkansas should waive initial fees associated with

occupational and professional regulations and the formation of a business for

low-income individuals.

(b) It is the purpose of this chapter to increase access to

professional and occupational licenses that would otherwise be cost

prohibitive for certain individuals.

17-4-103. Definitions.

As used in this chapter:

(1) "License" means a license, certificate, registration,

permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule that is

required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or

profession; and

(2)(A) "Licensing entity" means an office, board, commission,

department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government having

authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise authorize an

individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession,

(B) "Licensing entity" does not include a political

subdivision of the state or any other local or regionmal governmental entity,

including without limitation a city of the first class, a city of the second

class, an incorporated town, or a county.
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17-4-104. Fee waiver.

(a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a licensing entity shall

not require an initial fee for individuals who are seeking to receive a

license in this state if the applicant:

(1) 1Is receiving assistance through the Arkansas Medicaid

Program, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, the Special

Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children, the

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program, or the Lifeline Assistance

Program;
(2) Was approved for unemployment within the last twelve (12)

months; or
(3) Has an income that does not exceed two hundred percent

(200%) of the federal poverty income guidelines.

(b) The waiver of the initial fee does not include fees for:

(1) A criminal background check;

(2) An examination or a test; or

(3) A medical or drug test.

(c) The Department of Human Services and the Division of Workforce

Services shall collaborate with a licensing entity concerning verification of

eligibility for public benefits for applicants, which may include obtaining a

signed consent form from the applicant.

17-4-105. Licensing entity duties.

A licensing entity shall:

(1) Publish notice of the fee waiver on:

(A) The website maintained by the licensing entity:; and

(B) Any relevant forms that an applicant is required to

complete; and

(2) Promulgate any necessary rules to implement this chapter.

SECTION 3. EFFECTIVE DATE.
SECTIONS 1 and 2 of this act shall be effective on and after January 1,

2022,

/s/Gilmore
APPROVED: 4/15/21
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 746 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas .
93rd General Assembly A B 111

Regular Session, 2021 HOUSE BILL 1735

By: Representative Penzo

By: Senator Hester

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AUTHORIZE OCCUPATIONAL OR PROFESSIONAL
LICENSURE FOR CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS; AND FOR OTHER
PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AUTHORIZE OCCUPATIONAL OR PROFESSIONAL
LICENSURE FOR CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
SECTION 1. Arkansas Code Title 17, Chapter 1, Subchapter 1, is amended

to add an additional section to read as follows:

17-1-109. Licensing of certain individuals — Definitions.

(a) As used in this section:

(1) "Occupational or professional license" means a license,

certificate, registration, permit, or other form of authorization required by

law or rule for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or

profession; and

(2) "Occupational or professional licensing entity" means an

office, board, commission, department, council, bureau, or other agency of

state government having authority to license, certify, register, permit, or

otherwise authorize an individual to engage in a particular occupation or

profession.

(b) An occupational or professional licensing entity shall grant an

occupational or professional license under this section to an individual who

fulfills the requirements to practice an occupation or profession in this

AR ——
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state and is a person who holds a Federal Form I-766 United States

Citizenship and Immigration Services-issued Employment Authorization

Document, known popularly as a "work permit".

(c) This section is a state law within the meaning of subsection (d)

of 8 U.S5.C. § 1621, as existing on January 1, 2021.

SECTION 2. DO NOT CODIFY. Rules implementing this act.

(a) All occupational or professional licensing entities shall

promulgate rules necessary to implement this act.

(b)(l) When adopting the initial rules to implement this act, the

final rule shall be filed with the Secretary of State for adoption under §
25-15-204(£f):

(A) On or before January 1, 2022: or

(B) If approval under § 10-3-309 has not occurred by

January 1, 2022, as soon as practicable after approval under § 10-3-309.

(2) An occupational or professional licensing entity shall file

the proposed rule with the Legislative Council under § 10-3-309(c)

sufficiently in advance of January 1, 2022, so that the Legislative Council

may consider the rule for approval before January 1, 2022,

APPROVED: 4/19/21
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 748 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas

93rd General Assembly A Bill

Regular Session, 2021 HOUSE BILL 1796

By: Representative Cozart
By: Senator Hill

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND OCCUPATIONAL CRIMINAL BACKGROUND
CHECKS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND OCCUPATIONAL CRIMINAL
BACKGROUND CHECKS.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 17-3-102(b)(l), concerning licensing
restrictions based on criminal records, is amended to read as follows:
(b)(1) If an individual has been convicted of a crime listed in

subsection (a) or subsection (e) of this section, a licensing entity may

waive disqualification or revocation of a license based on the conviction if
a request for a waiver is made by:

(A) An affected applicant for a license; or

(B) The individual holding a license subject to

revocation.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 17-3-102(e), concerning licensing
restrictions based on criminal records, is amended to read as follows:
(e) Due to the serious nature of the offenses, the following shall

result in permament disqualification for licensure, regardless of the date of

conviction or the date on which probation or incarceration ends unless a

waiver is granted under subsection (b) of this section:

(1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;

AUNEATA R —
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(2) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and
murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103;

(3) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;

(4) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an
employee of a correctional facility as prohibited in § 5-13-211, if a Class Y
felony;

(5) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;

(6) Sexual extortion as prohibited in § 5-14-113;

(7) Sexual assault in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-14-
124 and sexual assault in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-14-125;

(8) 1Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;

(9) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the
first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201;

(10) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as
prohibited in § 5-27-205;

(11) Adult abuse that constitutes a felony as prohibited in § 5-
28-103; and

(12) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301.

SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 17-3-102(g), concerning licensing
restrictions based on criminal records, is amended to read as follows:
(g) The permanent disqualification for an offense listed in subsection

(a) or subsection (e) of this section does not apply to an individual who

holds a valid license on July 24, 2019.

APPROVED: 4/19/21

2 03/18/2021 9:37:36 AM JMBO51
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 811 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas

93rd General Assembly A B ill

Regular Session, 2021 HOUSE BILL 1875

By: Representative Bryant
By: Senator Hester

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO CREATE THE EARN AND LEARN ACT; TO ALLOW
INDIVIDUALS TO WORK AND EARN A PAYCHECK WHILE ALSO
FULFILLING LICENSING REQUIREMENTS AND GAINING THE
SKILLS TO FILL THE NEEDS OF AN EXPANDING WORKFORCE;
AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO CREATE THE EARN AND LEARN ACT; AND TO
ALLOW INDIVIDUALS TO WORK AND EARN A
PAYCHECK WHILE ALSO FULFILLING LICENSING
REQUIREMENTS AND GAINING THE SKILLS TO
FILL THE NEEDS OF AN EXPANDING WORKFORCE.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code Title 17 is amended to add an additiomal
chapter to read as follows:
CHAPTER 4
EARN AND LEARN ACT

17-4-101. Title.

This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the "Earn and Learn

Act".

17-4-102. Legislative findings — Purpose.

(a) The General Assembly finds that:

IMWARTNN S P——
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(1) Apprenticeships prioritize on-the-job training and provide

workers the opportunity to earn a paycheck while working towards industry-

recognized credentials;

(2) Apprenticeships allow employers to build a skilled workforce

according to industry standards; and

(3) Occupational licensing prevents the citizens of this state

from taking full advantage of apprenticeships because many apprenticeship-

friendly jobs require a license to legally work in this state.

(b) It is the purpose of this chapter to allow individuals to work and

earn a paycheck while also fulfilling licensing requirements and gaining the

skills to fill the needs of an expanding workforce.

17-4-103. Definitions.

As used in this chapter:

(1) "Apprenticeship" means a program that meets the federal

guidelines set out in 29 C.F.R. Part 29, as existing on March 1, 2021, and

existing programs currently implementing work requirements as approved by the

United States Office of Apprenticeship as meeting the requirements of an

apprenticeship;

(2) "License" means a license, certificate, registration,

permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule that is

required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or

profession; and

(3) "Licensing entity" means an office, board, commission,

department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government having

authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise authorize an

individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession.

17-4-104. Treatment of apprenticeships regarding licenses.

(a) A licensing entity shall grant a license to an applicant who:

(1) Completes an apprenticeship in the licensed occupation or

profession;
(2) Passes an examination, if deemed to be necessary by the

licensing entityg

(3) Pays any fees deemed necessary by the licensing entity:

(4) Does not have a disqualifving criminal record as determined

2 04/05/2021 4:58:31 PM JMB449
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by the licensing entity under state law; and

(5) Completes all other requirements for licensure unrelated to

training and education.

(b) If a licensing entity denies a license to an applicant under this

chapter, the licensing entity shall:

(1) Provide the applicant with a denial in writing: and

(2) Explain the reason for the denial in the written decision,

such as whether the licensing entitv determined that the applicant’s

apprenticeship program does not correspond to the profession or occupation or

level of license for which the applicant applied.

(c)(1l) A licensing entity shall establish a passing score for

examinations that does not exceed the passing score required under the

standard licensing processes.

(2) If the licensing entity does not require an examination for

the standard licensing process for a profession or occupation, an applicant

who completes an apprenticeship for the profession or occupation is not

required to pass an examination.

(d)(1) A licensing entity shall establish a licensing fee that does

not exceed the licensing fee required under the standard licensing processes.

(2) If the licensing entitv does not require a fee for the

standard licensing process for a profession or occupation, an applicant who

completes an apprenticeship in the profession or occupation is not required

to pay a fee.

(e) FExcept as otherwise required by federal law, an apprenticeship for

a profession or occupation is not required to exceed the number of hours

required by the licensing entity for the profession or occupation.

17-4-105. Construction.

This chapter does not apply to:

(1) A licensing entity that does not license individual workers

for which there is an apprenticeship program established under 29 C.F.R. Part

29, as existing on March 1, 2021

(2) A license that requires the educational equivalent of a

bachelor’s degree or higher; or

{(3) A license issued by the State Board of Barber Examiners or

the Department of Health regarding cosmetology.
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SECTION 2. DO NOT CODIFY. Rules.

(a) All licensing entities as reguired under this act shall promulgate

rules necessary to implement this act.

(b)(1l) When adopting the initial rules to implement this act, the

final rule shall be filed with the Secretary of State for adoption under §

25-15-204(f):

(A) On or before January 1, 2022; or

(B) If approval under § 10-3-309 has not occurred by

January 1, 2022, as soon as practicable after approval under § 10-3-309.

(2) A licensing entity shall file the proposed rule with the

Legislative Council under § 10-3-309(c) sufficiently in advance of January 1,

2022, so that the Legislative Council may consider the rule for approval

before January 1, 2022.

SECTION 3. EFFECTIVE DATE.
This act is effective on and after January 1, 2022.

APPROVED: 4/21/21
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