# **Rules of the Residential Contractors Committee**

**RECEIVED** 

APR 04 2022

BUREAU OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH

# Rule Changes - Act 135 - Uniform Service Licensing

### MARK UP COPY

#### 224-25-5-2 LICENSE EXPIRATION & RENEWAL

(a) Expiration. All licenses to engage in the business of contracting in the State of Arkansas shall expire at midnight of the date of its expiration. However, a license held by an active duty service person, or their spouse, who is on deployment outside the State of Arkansas shall not expire until 180 days following their return to the State.

# **224-25-5-5 INACTIVE STATUS**

A holder of a license may choose to become inactive in the State of Arkansas at the time of any renewal. A license holder who is inactive may not bid on any contract, pull any permit, nor perform any work for which a license is required. A license holder who elects inactive status must pay all renewal fees, but is not required to submit financial information to the Committee. A license holder who is on inactive status may reactivate its license by making a request to the Committee and providing all necessary information required to renew as an active license holder. A license holder may remain on inactive status for a period of time not to exceed six (6) consecutive years. Active duty service people who hold license are allowed additional time in inactive status if deployed outside the State of Arkansas. However, they must request additional time within 180 days of returning to the State.

# 224-25-5-15 UNIFORM SERVICE MEMBERS, UNIFORMED SERVICE VETERANS AND THEIR SPOUSES

- (a) All applications submitted by Uniformed Service Members, Uniformed Service Veterans, and their spouses shall be expedited.
- (b) A ninety (90) day temporary license shall be issued upon the receipt of an application and application fee submitted by a Uniform Service Member, a Uniformed Service Veteran or their spouse if the applicant holds in good standing a license from another jurisdiction with a similar scope of practice. The temporary license may be extended as necessary upon the showing of good cause by the applicant.
- (c) Any applicant who is a Uniform Service Member, a Uniformed Service Veteran or their spouse and the applicant holds in good standing a license from another jurisdiction with a similar scope of practice shall not be required to demonstrate experience or be required to take the examination required by Ark. Code. Ann. § 17-25-509.
- (d) A license or registration held by a Uniform Service Member or their spouse who is on deployment outside the State of Arkansas shall not expire until 180 days following their return to the State.

(e) A license or registration held in inactive status by a Uniform Service Member or their spouse who is on deployment outside the State of Arkansas shall not expire until 180 days following their return to the State.

# Rule Changes - Act 135 - Uniform Service Licensing

# Clean Copy

#### 224-25-5-2 LICENSE EXPIRATION & RENEWAL

(a) Expiration. All licenses to engage in the business of contracting in the State of Arkansas shall expire at midnight of the date of its expiration.

## **224-25-5-5 INACTIVE STATUS**

A holder of a license may choose to become inactive in the State of Arkansas at the time of any renewal. A license holder who is inactive may not bid on any contract, pull any permit, nor perform any work for which a license is required. A license holder who elects inactive status must pay all renewal fees, but is not required to submit financial information to the Committee. A license holder who is on inactive status may reactivate its license by making a request to the Committee and providing all necessary information required to renew as an active license holder.

# 224-25-5-15 UNIFORM SERVICE MEMBERS, UNIFORMED SERVICE VETERANS AND THEIR SPOUSES

- (a) All applications submitted by Uniformed Service Members, Uniformed Service Veterans, and their spouses shall be expedited.
- (b) A ninety (90) day temporary license shall be issued upon the receipt of an application and application fee submitted by a Uniform Service Member, a Uniformed Service Veteran or their spouse if the applicant holds in good standing a license from another jurisdiction with a similar scope of practice. The temporary license may be extended as necessary upon the showing of good cause by the applicant.
- (c) Any applicant who is a Uniform Service Member, a Uniformed Service Veteran or their spouse and the applicant holds in good standing a license from another jurisdiction with a similar scope of practice shall not be required to demonstrate experience or be required to take the examination required by Ark. Code. Ann. § 17-25-509.
- (d) A license or registration held by a Uniform Service Member or their spouse who is on deployment outside the State of Arkansas shall not expire until 180 days following their return to the State.
- (e) A license or registration held in inactive status by a Uniform Service Member or their spouse who is on deployment outside the State of Arkansas shall not expire until 180 days following their return to the State.