Summary of DCCECE Rule Revision/PromngatiBri"'

Child Care Licensing SR

The Division is proposing changes to the Minimum Licensing Requirements for Chite Care’ '/~
Centers, Minimum Licensing Requirements for Child Care Family Home, Minimum Licensing®/
Requirements for Out of School Time Facilities, and Minimum Licensing Requirements for
Registered Child Care Family Homes, to define, simplify and clarify the intent of current
regulations and to increase the overall quality of care for the children of Arkansas.

The following recommended changes are the result of recent legislation:
Minimum Licensing Requirements for Child Care Centers

In order to come into compliance with Act 23 of 2015 regarding the requirements for insurance
the following standards have been added:

Regulation

101.5 To exemnpt state institutions, political subdivisions, or other entities entitled
immunity for liability under 21-9-301 to have general liability insurance coverage
to be licensed.

1301.6 To exempt state institutions, political subdivisions, or other entities entitled

immunity for liability under 21-9-301 to have commerical insurance coverage in
order to transport

In order to come into compliance with Act 572 of 2017 regarding the requirements for FBI
Background Checks the following standards have been revised which will require additional
staff to have FBI Background Checks:

110.1b To require all direct care staff to submit an FBI Background Check within 10
business days of their hire/start date in order to bring these requirements into
compliance with the Federal Block Grant Requirements

110.1¢ To require all administrative persons who have direct cantact with children to
submit an FBI Background Check within 10 business days of their hire/start date
in order to bring these requirements into compliance with the Federal Block
Grant Requirements

110.1d To require all therapist, volunteers or other persons who have supervisory
control, disciplinary control over children or who may be left alone with children
to submit an FBI Background Check within 10 business days of their hire/start
date in order to bring these requirements into compliance with the Federal Block
Grant Requirements

The following proposed changes are necessary to explain or clarify existing

standards and provide child care providers with ciarifications for the standards:



Reguiation

102.6

306.3

401.5

To clarify possible consequences of falsification of any documents and /or
submission of false information to the Child Care Licensing Unit or any division of
DHS

To add a review of the Minimum Licensing Requirements for Child Care Centers
to new staff orientation

Staff shall plan and provide experiences that meet children’s needs and
stimulate learning in the following developmental area: physical,
sacial/emotional, creative/aesthetic, cognitive/intellectual and {anguage, found
in Arkansas’ Early Learning Standards

Minimum Licensing Requirements for Child Care Family Home

In order to come into compliance with Act 572 of 2017 regarding the requirements for FBI
Background Checks the following standards have been revised which will require additional
staff to have FBI Background Checks:

109.1b

109.1c

305

To require each staff person to submit an FBI Background Check within 10
business days.

To require all therapist, volunteers or other persons who have supervisory
control, disciplinary control over children or who have routine contact with
children to submit an FBI Background Check within 10 business days of their
hire/start date.

Sections 305.1, 305.2, 305.3 and 305.4 are being added to define those
individuals who would be considered volunteers and the qualifications and
responsibilites required of them including background checks. In addition,
Section 305 will ensure the definition of volunteers is outlined and defined in
the same manner as it is in the Minimum Licensing Requirements for Child Care
Facilities, Minimum Licensing Requirements for Registered Family Homes and
Minimum Licensing Requirements for Out of School Time Programs.

The following proposed changes are necessary to explain or clarify existing

standards and provide child care providers with clarifications for the standards:

Regulation

201.2

401.2

To clarify possible consequences of falsification of any documents and/or
submission of false information to the Child Care Licensing Unit or any division of

Staff shall plan and provide experiences that meet children’s needs and
stimulate learning in the following developmental area: physical,
social/emotional, creative/aesthetic, cognitive/intellectual and language, found
in Arkansas’ Early Learning Standards.



Minimum Licensing Requirements for Registered Child Care Family Home

In order to come into compliance with Act 572 of 2017 regarding the requirements for FBI
Background Checks the following standards have been revised which will require additional
staff to have FBI Background Checks:

109.1b

109.1c

303

To require each staff person to submit an FBI Background Check within 10
business days.

To require all therapist, volunteers or other persons who have supervisory
control, disciplinary control over children or who have routine contact with
children to submit an FBI Background Check within 10 business days of their
hire/start date.

Sections 303.1, 303.2, 303.3 and 303.4 are being added to define those
individuals who would be considered volunteers and the qualifications and
responsibilites required of them including background checks. In addition,
Section 303 will ensure the definition of volunteers is outlined and defined in
the same manner as it is in the Minimum Licensing Requirements for Child Care
Facilities, Minimum Licensing Requirements for Child Care Family Homes and
Minimum Licensing Requirements for Out of School Time Programs.

The following proposed changes are necessary to explain or clarify existing

standards and provide child care providers with clarifications for the standards:

Regulation

201.3

401.2

To clarify possible consequences of falsification of any documents and/or
submission of false information to the Child Care Licensing Unit or any division of

Staff shail plan and provide experiences that meet children’s needs and
stimulate learning in the following developmental area: physical,
social/emotional, creative/aesthetic, cognitive/intellectual and language, found
in Arkansas’ Early Learning Standards.

Minimum Licensing Requirements for Out of School Time

In order to come into compliance with Act 23 of 2015 regarding the requirements for insurance
the following standards have been added.

Regulation

101.4

1301.6

To exempt state institutions, political subdivisions, or other entities entitled

immunity for liability under 21-9-301 to have general liability insurance coverage
to be licensed.

To exempt state institutions, political subdivisions, or other entities entitled
immunity for liability under 21-9-301 to have commerical insurance coverage in
order to transport.



In order to come into compliance with Act 572 of 2017 regarding the requirements for FBI
Background Checks the following standards have been revised which will require additional
staff to have FBI Background Checks:

110.1b

110.1¢c

110.1d

To require all direct care staff to submit an FBI Background Check within 10
business days of their hire/start date in order to bring these requirements into
compliance with the Federal Block Grant Requirements

To require ail administrative persons who have direct contact with children to
submit an FBI Background Check within 10 business days of their hire/start date
in order to bring these requirements into compliance with the Federal Block
Grant Requirements

To require all therapist, volunteers or other persons who have supervisory
control, disciplinary control over children or who may be left alone with children
to submit an FBI Background Check within 10 business days of their hire/start
date in order to bring these requirements into compliance with the Federal Block
Grant Requirements

The following proposed changes are necessary to explain or clarify existing

standards and provide child care providers with clarifications for the standards.

Regulation

102.6

1101.7

To explain, or clarify possible consequences of falsification of any documents
and /or submission of false information to the Child Care Licensing Unit or any
division of DHS

To correct a typographical error which left off the end of a sentence

This draft is a working document All mformatlon
contained herein is sugject to change and ma¥ differ
substantially from the final document. The information
contained in this document should not be considered the
positions or views of the agency or governor.



