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AGENCY 010.14

010.14-300 Child Labor Administrative Rules

SECTION100-GENERAL PROVISIONS
2100 010.14-300 Definitions

1. "Child" or "children" means any person under the age of eighteen{+8} seventeen (17
years, unless more narrowly defined within the context of a specific regulationrule.

2. "Department" means the Arkansas Department of Labor.

3. "Director" means the Director of the Arkansas Department of Labor.

4. "Division" means the Labor Standards Division of the Arkansas Department of Labor.

5. "Employ" includes to suffer or permit to work.

6. "FLSA" means the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 201 et seq.

7. "Non-School Days" means days that school is not in session in the district where a
child resides.

8. "Remunerative Occupation” means any occupation in which compensation for
services is made, anticipated, or required by contract or by the FLSA or Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-4-
201 et seq.

9. "School Vacation" means any period, other than a weekend, in which school is not in
session in the district where a child resides. This includes summer break, Christmas break, and
spring break.

2-161 010.14-301 Minimum Age Standards

{a) No child sixteen (16) vears of age shall be subject to these rules if:

{1} The child is a graduate of anv high school. vocational school or technical school:

{2} The child is married or is a parent.

{a)(b) No child under the age of fourteen (14) years shall be employed or permitted to
work in any remunerative occupation, except as follows:

(1) During school vacation, children under fourteen (14) years may be employed by
their parents or guardians in occupations owned or controlled by them;

(2)(A) A child under the age of fourteen (14) years may be employed or may enter
into contracts upon written approval of the parent or guardian of the minor to buy, sell, and
deliver and to collect for newspapers during the school term or during vacation, if the child is
attending school, as required by law, and does not engage in the employment or activity except at
times when his presence is not required at school.

(B) The provisions of Rule 2-30Ha}23A) 010.14-301(a)(2)(A) shall be applicable
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only where the provision is made by the employer or newspaper company contractor to provide
insurance or indemnity for injury to or death of the minor arising out of bodily injury caused by
an accident when the accident hazard arises while the minor is on the business of the employer or
performing the activities set out in the contract.

(C) The schedule of benefits under this program of insurance or indemnity shall
provide at least ten thousand dollars ($10,000) for accidental death of the minor, and the sum
shall be reasonably and equitably prorated for dismemberment of the minor. The insurance of
indemnity shall further provide blanket medical coverage for all hospital and medical expenses
up to five thousand dollars ($5,000) resulting from an accident. This hospital and medical
expense protection shall be excess insurance coverage or indemnity over and above any other
collectable insurance.

(3XA) A child under the age of fourteen (14) years may be employed or may enter
into contracts, upon written approval of the parent or guardian of the minor, to serve as and
perform the duties of a "batboy" or "batgirl", for a professional baseball club, during the school
term, or during vacation, if the child is attending school, as required by law, and does not engage
in the employment or activity except at times when his presence is not required at school.

(B) The provisions of 238Ha}3)}A) 010.14-301 (a}(3)(A) shall be applicable

only where the provision is made by the employer or professional baseball club to provide
insurance or indemnity for injury to or death of the minor arising out of bodily injury caused by
an accident when the accident hazard arises while the minor is on the business of the employer or
performing the activities set out in the contract,

(C) No child shall be employed or permitted to work pursuant to the provisions of
Rule Z30Ha333A) 010.14-301(a}(3)(A) for more than ten (10) hours in any day or after 11:00
p-m. on nights preceding school days or after 1:00 a.m. on nights preceding non-school days.

(4) A child under the age of fourteen (14) vears may be employed in the
entertainment industry provided such employment is in compliance with the provisions of Ark,
Code Ann. §§ 11-12-101 through -105 and Rules 2:4080-010.14-311 through 2495 010.14-316

herein.

tB¥c) No child under the age of sixteen (16) years shall be employed or permitted to
work in certain enumerated occupations prohibited by Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-6-105 and 107 or
determined to be hazardous by the Director. See Rules 2:300-throush2:363 010.14-306 through
010.14-309 herein.

fe)(d) No child under the age of sixteen (16) years shall be employed or permitted to
work without an employment certificate or entertainment work permit issued and maintained
pursuant to the provisions of Ark. Code Ann. §§11-6-109, and 11-12-104 and Rules 2:200-2.203
and 2:404 010.14-302: 101.14-305 and 010.14-312 herein, except:

(1) A child employed as a newspaper carrier pursuant to Rule 2:36Ha)2) 010.14-
301{a)(2); and
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(2) A child employed as a "batboy" or "batgirl" pursuant to Rule 230Ha333 010.14-
301(a)3).

td(e) No person under the age of twenty-one (21) years shall operate any taxicab or bus
service for hire, or otherwise, in a city of the first class or to drive a bus or taxicab, as an
employee, partner, or otherwise, for another. Ark. Code Ann. § 14-57-402.

SECHON200-EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATES
2200 010.14-302 General

(a) No child under sixteen (16) years shall be employed or permitted to work unless the
child first obtains an employment certificate issued by the Director. For children employed in

the entertainment industry, see Rules 2-400—throuph—2:405 010.14-311 through 010.14-316
herein.

(b) A child who resides in homes for dependent children may perform domestic activities
without being considered an employee. Such activities include personal care, maintenance of
living quarters, work around the residence or its farms and other activities normally performed
by children when living at home and under direct parental control.

{c} All children employed in interstate commerce or in the production of good for
interstate commerce, or employed in any enterprise engaged in interstate commerce or the
production of goods for interstate commerce, are subject to the child labor provisions of the
federal Fair Labor Standards Act, (FLSA) 29 US.C. §§ 201 et seq. Establishments or
individuals so covered by the FLSA are subject to all the rules this chapter relating to child labor,
including the issuance, maintenance, and revocation of employment certificates.

(d) An employment certificate is valid only for the employer specified on the certificate.
A new certificate must be obtained for each new employer. A certificate remains valid for a
child who terminates employment but then resumes work at the same place of employment.

(e) The provisions of rules 2200 threugh2-203 010.14-302 through 010.14-305 do not
apply to children employed or permitted to work as newspaper carriers pursuant to Rule
23604a)2y 010.14-301(a)(2) or as "batboys" or "batgirls" pursuant to Rule 2304Ha33y 010.14-

301(a)(3).

2201 010.14-303 Application ef for Employment Certificate

{a) Application for an employment certificate shall be made on a form provided and
approved by the Department.

(b) The applicant for an employment certificate must provide proof of age by means of
one of the following:

1
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(2) Record of Baptism or Confirmation;

(3) Bible record;

(4) Passport or Certificate of Arrival in the United States;
(5) Insurance policy at least one (1) year old;

(6) School records; or

(7) Any state driver's license or learner's permit.

(c) The application for an employment certificate will require submission of the

following information:

(1) Child's name, address, telephone number, sex, age and birthdate;

(2) Employer's name, address and telephone number;

(3) A signed statement from the employer verifying the intention to employ,
describing the work to be performed, and listing the daily and weekly hours of employment; and

(4) The signature of a parent or guardian consenting to the issuance of the
employment certificate.

2.202 010.14-304 Review, Issuance and Maintenance of Certificates

(a) The Labor Standards Division shall review each application for an employment
certificate and shall refuse to issue a certificate for cause.

(1) No certificate shall be issued where the proposed employment does not comply
with all statutory requirements and prohibitions, and all rules and—regwlations promulgated
thereunder.

(2) No certificate shall be issued to a youth or an establishment required to comply
with or subject to regulation of child labor under the FLSA if the proposed employment will be
in violation of the FLSA and all rules and-regalatiens promulgated thereunder.

(b} The Labor Standards Division shall issue each employment certificate in duplicate.
One copy shall be maintained by the Department for a period of three (3) years. One copy shall
be mailed or delivered to the employer.

(¢) No employer shall employ a child until the employer has received his copy of the
employment certificate. The employer shall maintain the certificate on record where it is readily
accessible to the Arkansas Department of Labor, the Arkansas Department of Education, and
local school officials. The employer shall maintain the certificate on record so long as the child
is employed thereunder and for a period of three (3) years after the employment terminates.

(d) If the Labor Standards Division refuses to issue or denies an employment certificate,
it shall notify the child and employer of the reason(s) for such a refusal in writing. The employer
or child may request an administrative hearing on such refusal or denial within fifteen (15) days
of receipt of such notice. Procedures for such administrative reviews shall conform to those for
hearings in contested cases involving civil money penalties pursuant to Rule 2:702 010.14-324.
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2:203010.14-305 Revocation

(a) The Labor Standards Division may revoke an employment certificate for cause. The
Division shall notify the child and the employer that the certificate is being revoked and shall
specify the reasons for the revocation.

(b) If a certificate is revoked, the employer shall cease to employ the child and return the
certificate to the Department.

(c) The employer or child may obtain an administrative review of the revocation by
making a written request for a hearing in the same manner as provided in Rule 2.202¢d}010.14-
304(d) herein. Even if a request for a hearing is filed, the certificate must be returned and the
employment must cease pursuant to paragraph (b) of this Rule.

SECTION-300—- HAZARDOUS OCCUPATIONS
2300 010.14-306 Occupations

(a) Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-6-105 and 11-6-107 provide that children under sixteen (16)
years shall not be employed and shall not be permitted to work in certain enumerated
occupations found by the General Assembly to be hazardous, specifically:

(1) Adjusting any belt to any machinery;
(2) Sewing or lacing machine belts in any workshop or factory;
(3) Oiling, wiping, or cleaning machinery or assisting therein;
(4) Operating or assisting in operating any of the following machines:
(A) Circular or band saws;
(B) Wood shapers;
(C) Wood jointers;
(D} Planers;
(E) Sandpaper of wood polishing machinery;
(F) Wood turning or boring machinery;
(G) Picker machines or machines used in picking wool,;
(H) Carding machines;
(I) Job or cylinder printing presses operated by power other than foot power;
(J) Boring or drill presses;
(K) Stamping machines used in metal or in paper or leather manufacturing;
(L) Metal or paper cutting machines;
(M) Corner staying machines in paper box factories;
(N) Steam boilers;
(O) Dough brakes or cracker machinery of any description;
(P) Wire or iron straightening or drawing machinery;
(Q) Rolling mill machinery;
(R) Washing, grinding, or mixing machinery;
(S) Laundering machinery;
(5) In proximity to any hazardous or unguarded belt, machinery, or gearing;
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(6) Upon any railroad, whether steam, electric, or hydraulic; or,
(7) In any saloon, resort, or bar where intoxicating liquor of any kind is sold or
dispensed.

(b) The following occupations are determined by the Director to be sufficiently
dangerous to the life or limb or injurious to the health or morals of children under sixteen (16}
years to justify their exclusion therefrom:

(1) Manufacturing, mining, or processing occupations, including occupations
requiring the performance of any duties in work rooms or work places where goods are
manufactured, mined, or otherwise processed;

(2) Occupations which involve the operation or tending of hoisting apparatus or of
any power-driven machinery other than office machines;

(3) The operation of motor vehicles or service as helpers on such vehicles;
(4) Public messenger service;
(5) Occupations in connection with:

(A) Transportation of persons or property by rail, highway, air, water, pipeline, or
other means:
(B) Warehousing and storage;

(C) Communications and public utilities;

(D) Construction (including demolition and repair); except such office (including
ticket office) work, or sales work in connection with paragraphs (5)(A),(B),(C), and (D) of this
Rule 2:300{53-010.14-306(b), as does not involve the performance of any duties on trains, motor
vehicles, aircraft, vessels, or other media of transportation or at the actual site of construction
operations;

(6) Occupations in or about plants or establishments manufacturing or storing

explosives or articles containing explosive components except where such work is performed in
a "nonexplosive area” as defined in Rule 2:306(b}63C) 010.14-306(b)}(6)(C).

(A) The term "plant or establishment manufacturing or storing explosives or
articles containing explosive component” means the land with all the buildings and other
structures thereon used in connection with the manufacturing or processing or storing of
explosives or articles containing explosive components.

(B) The terms "explosives" and "articles containing explosive components” means
and include ammunition, black powder, blasting caps, fireworks, high explosives, primers,
smokeless powder, and all goods classified and defined as explosives by the Interstate
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-}948—(62—8%&—7%9—}8%—8-&8359— the federal Denartment of Transr-ortatlon reg ulatlons 49

C.F.R. Parts 171 to 180 as thev exist on the effective date of this Rule.

(C) The term "nonexplosive area"” shall mean an area which meets all the following
criteria;

(i) None of the work performed in the area involves the handling or use of
explosives;

(ii) The area is separated from the explosives area by a distance not less than
that prescribed in the American Table of Distances for the protection of inhabited buildings;

(iii) The area is separated from the explosives area by a fence or is otherwise
focated so that it constitutes a definite designated area; and

(iv) Satisfactory controls have been established to prevent employees under 16
years of age within the area from entering any area in or about the plant which does not meet

criteria of 2.300(BYEHE)G)  threush(v) 010.14-306(b)(6)(C)) through (iv);

(7) Occupations in logging and in the operation of any sawmill, lath mill, shingle
mill, or cooperage stock mill; and

(8) Occupations in or about slaughtering and meat packing establishments, or
rendering plants and

(9) Occupations in proximity to pin-setting machinery or gearing in bowling alleys.

30+ 010.14-307 Occupations in Retail, Food Service, and Gasoline Service
Establishments,

esta-bhshmenies—The fOHOWlnL_OCCu_patIOHS are nermlss1ble for the emnlo ument of chﬂdren age 14

and 15 vears, provided there is compliance with employment certificate requirements (Rule
010.14-302 through 010.14-305), and hour restrictions (Rule 010.14-317).

(1) Office and clerical work, including the operation of office machines;

(2) Cashiering, selling, modeling, art work, work in advertising departments, window
trimming, and comparative shopping;

(3) Price marking and tagging by hand or by machine, assembling orders, packing
and shelving;

(4) Bagging and carrying out customers' orders;
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(5) Errand and delivery work by foot, bicycle, and public transportation;

(6) Clean up work, including the use of vacuum cleaners and floor waxers, and
maintenance of grounds, but not including the use of power-driven mowers, or cutters;

(7) Kitchen work and other work involved in preparing and serving food and
beverages, including the operation of machines and devices used in the performance of such
work, such as but not limited to dishwashers, toasters, dumbwaiters, popcorn poppers, milk
shake blenders, and coffee grinders (See Rule 010.14-307(b)(5) for the prohibition on cooking
and baking);

(8) Work in connection with cars and trucks if confined to the following: Dispensing
gasoline and oil; courtesy service; car cleaning, washing and polishing; and other occupations
permitted by this Rule 2:368+#3} 010.14-307(a), but not including work involving the use of pits,
racks, or lifting apparatus, or involving the inflation of any tire mounted on a rim equipped with
a removable retaining ring.

(9) Cleaning vegetables and fruits, and wrapping, sealing, labeling, w:ighing, pricing
and stocking goods when performed in areas physically separate from those where the work
described in paragraph (b)(7) of this Rule is performed;

(b) Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall not be construed to permit the application of this Rule
to any of the following occupations in retail, food service, and gasoline service establishments:

(1) All occupations listed in Rule 2388 010.14-306 except occupations involving
processing, operation of machines and work in rooms where processing the manufacturing take
place which are permitted by paragraph (a) of this Rule;

(2) Work performed in or about boiler or engine rooms;

(3) Work in connection with maintenance or repair of the establishment, machines or
equipment;

(4) Outside window washing that involves working from window sills, and all work
requiring the use of ladders, scaffolds, or their substitutes:

(5) Cooking (except at soda fountains, lunch counters, snack bars, or cafeteria service
counters) and baking;

(6) Occupations which involve operating, setting up, adjusting, cleaning, oiling, or
repairing power-driven food slicers and grinders, food choppers, and cutters, and bakery-type

mixers,

(7) Work in freezers and meat coolers and all work in the preparation of meats for
sale except as described in paragraph (a)(9) of this Rule;

9
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(8) Loading and unloading goods to and from trucks, railroad cars, or conveyors;
(9) All occupations in warehouses except office and clerical work.
(c) This Regulation2-30+ Rule (10.14-307, shail not prohibit the employment of a child

below the age of sixteen (16) by his parent or guardian in an occupation owned or controlled by
such parent or guardian.

2:302 010.14-308 Occupations in Agriculture

(a) The following occupations in agriculture are particularly hazardous for the
employment of children below the age of 16:

(1) Operating a tractor of over 20 PTO horsepower, or connecting or disconnecting
an implement or any of its parts to or from such a tractor.

(2) Operating or assisting to operate (including starting, stopping, adjusting, feeding,
or any other activity involving physical contact associated with the operation) any of the
following machines:

(i) Corn picker, cotton picker, grain combine, hay mower, forage harvester,
hay baler, potato digger, or mobile pea viner;

(ii) Feed grinder, crop dryer, forage blower, auger conveyor, or the unloading
mechanism of a nongravity-type self-unloading wagon or trailer; or

(iti) Power post-hole digger, power post driver, or nonwalking type rotary
tiller.

(3) Operating or assisting to operate (including starting, stopping, adjusting, feeding,
or any other activity involving physical contact associated with the operation) any of the
following machines:

(i) Trencher or earthmoving equipment;
(ii) Fork lift;
(iii} Potato combine; or
(iv}) Power-driven circular, band, or chain saw.
(4) Working on a farm in a yard, pen, or stall occupied by a:
{1) Bull, boar, or stud horse maintained for breeding purposes; or
(i} Sow with suckling pigs, or cow with newborn calf (with umbilical cord

present).

(5) Felling, bucking, skidding, loading, or unloading timber with butt diameter of

10
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more than 6 inches.

(6) Working from a ladder or scaffold (painting, tepairing, or building structures,
pruning trees, picking fruit, etc.) at a height of over 20 feet.

(7) Driving a bus, truck, or automobile when transporting passengers, or riding on a
tractor as a passenger or helper.

(8) Working inside:

(1) A fruit, forage, or grain storage designed to retain an oxygen deficient or
toxic atmosphere;

(ii) An upright silo within two weeks after silage has been added or when a top
unloading device is in operating position;

(iii) A manure pit; or

(iv) A horizontal silo while operating a tractor for packing purposes.

(9) Handling or applying (including cleaning or decontaminating equipment, disposal
or return of empty containers, or serving as a flagman for aircraft applying) agricultural
chemicals classified uvaderthe Federal- Insecticide; Fungiciderand-Rodentieide A7 U-5-C135
et-seq} by the federal Environmental Protection Agency as Category I of toxicity, identified by
the word "pmson" and the "skull and crossbones" on the label; or Category II of toxicity,
identified by the word "warning" on the label {See 40 C.F.R. 156};

(10) Handling or using a blasting agent, including but not limited to dynamite, black
powder, sensitized ammonium nitrate, blasting caps, and primer cord; or

(11) Transporting, transferring, or applying anhydrous ammonia.

te)(b) Exemptions.

(1) This regulation—2-302-Rule 010.14-308 shall not apply to the employment of a
child below the age of sixteen (16) by his parent or guardian on a farm owned or controlled by
such parent or guardian;

(2) Student-learners. The prohibitions in 2302¢=} 010.14-308(a) shall not apply to
the employment of any child as vocational agriculture student-learner in any of the occupations
described in paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4), (5), or (6) of 2-302¢s) 010.14-308(a) when cach of the
following requirements are met:
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(A) The student-learner is enrolled in a vocational education training program in
agriculture under a recognized State or local educational authority, or in a substantially similar
program conducted by a private school:

B) Such student-learner is employed under a written apreement w. :ch provides:
ploy g %
(i) that the work of the student-learner is incidental to his training;

(ii) that such work shall be intermittent, for short periods of time, and under
the direct and close supervision of a qualified and experienced person;

(iii) that safety instruction shall be given by the school and correlated by
the employer with on-the-job training; and

(iv) that a schedule of organized and progressive work processes to be
performed on the job have been prepared;

(C) Such written agreement contains the name of the student-learner, and is signed
by the employer and by a person authorized to represent the educational authority or school; and

(D) Copies of each such agreement are kept on file by both the educational
authority or school and by the employer.

(3) Federal Extension Service. The prohibitions in Rule 2:302¢a} 010.14-308(a)
shall not apply to the employment of a child under 16 years of age in those occupations in which
he has successfully completed one or more training programs described in 2302 }3}A-3;
o6} 010.14-308 (b)(3}(A), (B), or (C) provided he has been instructed by his employer on safe
and proper operation of the specific equipment he is to use; is continuously and closely
supervised by the employer where feasible; or, where not feasible, in work such as cultivating,
his safety is checked by the employer at least at midmorning, noon, and midafternoon.

(A) 4-H tractor operation program. The child is qualified to be employed in an

occupation described in 230233 010.14-308(a)(1) provided:

(i) He is a 4-H member;

(ii) He is 14 years of age, or older;

(iii) He is familiar with the normal working hazards in agriculture;

(iv)  He has completed a 10-hour training program which includes the
following units from the manuals of the 4-H tractor program conducted by, or in accordance with
the requirements of the Cooperative Extension Service of a land grant university:

(a) First Year Manual:
Unit 1 - Learning How to be Safe;
Unit 4 - The Instrument Panel;
Unit 5 - Coatrols for Your Tractor;
Unit 6 - Daily Maintenance and Safety Check; and
Unit 7 - Starting and Stopping Your Tractor;

12
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(b) Second Year Manual:
Unit 1 - Tractor Safety on the Farm:
(¢) Third Year Manual:
Unit 1 - Tractor Safety on the Highway;
Unit 3 - Hitches, Power Take-off, and Hydraulic Controls;

(v) He has passed a written examination on tractor safety and has
demonstrated his ability to operate a tractor safely with a two-wheeled trailed implement on a
course similar to one of the 4-H Tractor Operator's Contest Courses; and

{(vi) His employer has on file with the child's records kept pursuant to Rule
2.600 010.14-319(basically, name, address, and date of birth) a copy of certificate acceptable by
the Labor Standards Division, signed by the leader who conducted the training program and by
an Extension Agent of the Cooperative Extension Service of a land grant university to the effect
that the child has completed all the requirements specified in 2:302 ()3} +threugh{+)
010.14-308 (b} 3} A1) through (v).

(B} 4-H machine operation program. The child is qualified to be employed in an
occupation described in 22302GH2) 010.14-308(a)(2) providing:

(i) He satisfies-at-thereguirements completed the Tractor Operation Program
specified in paragraphs (B2yA)-through-64 (D)(3)AXI) through (v) of this Rule;

(ii) He has completed an additional 10-hour training program on farm
machinery safety, including 4-H Fourth Year Manual, Unit 1, Safe Use of Farm Machinery;

(ili) He has passed a written and practical examination on safe machinery
operation; and

(iv) His employer has on file with the child's records kept pursuant to Rule
2600 010.14-319 (basically, name, address, and date of birth) a copy of a certificate acceptable
by the Labor Standards Division, signed by the leader who conducted the training program and
by an Extension Agent of the Cooperative Extension Service of a land grant university, to the
effect that the child has completed all of the requirements specified in 2302 (X3 By throush

11).010.14-308 (b)Y 3)B)(1) through (iii).

(C) Tractor and machine operation program. The child is ciualified to be
employed in an occupation described in Rule 2-302¢(a)-and—2) 010.14-308(a)(1] and (2]
providing:

(i) He is 14 years of age, or older;

(ii) He has completed a 4-hour orientation course familiarizing him with the
normal working hazards in agriculture;

(iii) He has completed a 20-hour training program on safe operation of tractors

13
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and farm machinery, which covers all material specified in Rule 2:302-(e}3¥A)Gv)and-(ByH
010.14-308 (b)(3)(A)(iv) and (B)(ii).

(iv) He has passed a written examination on tractor and farm machinery safety,
and has demonstrated his ability to operate a tractor with a two-wheeled trailed implement on a
course similar to a 4-H Tractor Operator’s Contest course, and to operate farm machinery safely.

(v) His employer has on file with the child’s records kept pursuant to Rule
2660 010.14-319 (basically, name, address and date of birth) a copy of a certificate acceptable
by the Labor Standards Division, signed by the volunteer leader who conducted the training
program and by an Extension Agent of the Cooperative Extension Service of a land grant

university, to the effect that all of the requirements of Rule 23823y Bythrough—{v)
010.14-308(b)(3¥B)(i) through (iv) have been met.

(4) Vocational agriculture training. The findings and declarations of fact in Rule
2:302(a} 010.14-308 (a) shall not apply to the employment of a vocational agriculture student
under 16 years of age in those occupations in which he has successfully completed one or more
training programs described in Rule 2302 (e)thAyor- (B} 010.14-308(b)(4)(A) or (B) and who
has been instructed by his employer in the safe and proper operation of the specific equipment he
1s to use, who is continuously and closely supervised by this employer where feasible or, where
not feasible, in work such as cultivating, whose safety is checked by the employer at least at
midmorning, noon, and midafternoon, and who also satisfies whichever of the following
program requirements are pertinent:
(A) Tractor operation program. The student is qualified to be employed in an

occupation described in Rule 2:302{a3) 010.14-308 (a)(1) provided:

(i) He is 14 years of age, or older;

(ii) He is familiar with the normal working hazards in agriculture;

(iii) He has completed a 15-hour training program which includes the
required units specified in the Vocational Agriculture Training Program in Safe Tractor
Operation, outlined by the Office of Education, U.S. Department of Health, Education, and
Welfare and acceptable by the U.S. Department of Labor. The training program is outlined in
Special Paper No. 8, April 1969, prepared at Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich., for
the Office of Education. Copies of this training program outline may be obtained from the
Office of Education, U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Washington, D.C.
20202.

(iv) He has passed both a written test and a practical test on tractor safety
including a demonstration of his ability to operate safely a tractor with a two wheeled trailed
implement on a test course similar to that described in the Vocational Agriculture Training
Program in Safe Tractor Operation, outlined by the Office of Education, U.S. Department of
Health, Education, and Welfare; and

(v) His employer has on file with the child's records kept pursuant to Rule
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2606 010.14-319 (basically, name, address, and date of birth) a copy of a certificate acceptable
by the Labor Standards Division, signed by the Vocational Agriculture teacher who conducted
the program to the effect that the student has completed all the requirements specified in Rule

2:302 ()4} ) through-Gv).010.14-308 (b)(4)(AX) through (iv).

(B) Machinery operation program. The student is qualified to be employed in an
occupation described in Rule 2382{)}23y 010.14-308(a)(2) provided he has completed the
Tractor Operation Program described in Rule 2:302-(e}(43A) 010.14-308(b)(4 ) A) and:

(i) He has completed an additional 10-hour training program which includes
the required units specified in the Vocational Agriculture Training Program in Safe Farm
Machinery Operation, outlined by the Office of Education, U.S. Department of Health,
Education, and Welfare and approved by the U.S. Department of Labor;

(ii) He has passed both a written test and a practical test on safe machinery
operation similar to that described in the Vocational Agriculture Training Program in Safe Farm
Machinery Operation, outlined by the Office of Education, U.S. Department of Health,
Education and Welfare; and

(iii) His employer has on file with the child's records kept pursuant to Rule
2:680 010.14-319 (basically, name, address and date of birth) a copy of a certificate acceptable
by the Labor Standards Division, signed by the Vocational Agriculture teacher who conducted
the program to the effect that the student has completed all the requirements specified in Rule

2302 (e)d))-and-Gi) 010.14-308(b)4XB)() and (ii).

2:303-010.14-309 Work Experience and Career Exploration Programs

(a) This Rule creates an exception to the application of some provisions of this
Hazardous Occupations section 380 (010.14-306 - 010.14-310) to the employment of children
under sixteen (16) years of age who are enrolled in and employed pursuant to a school-
supervised and school-administered work-experience and career exploration program which
meets the requirements of paragraph (b) of this Rule in the occupations permitted under
paragraph (c) of this Rule and for the periods and under the conditions specified in paragraph (d)
of this Rule. With these safeguards, such employment is found not to interfere with the
schooling of the child or with their health and well-being and therefore is not deemed to be
hazardous.

(b) A school-supervised and school-administered work-experience and career
exploration program shall meet the standards of and be approved by the Arkansas Department of
Education and the U.S. Department of Labor as provided in 29 C.F.R. § 570.35a.

(c) Employment of children enrolled in a program approved pursuant to the requirements
of this Rule shall be permitted only in the following occupations:

(1) occupations in retail, food service, and gasoline service establishments covered
by Rule 2364 010.14-307; and
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(2) occupations in agriculture covered by Rule 2:362 010.14-308.
2304 010.14-310 Administrative Responsibility

(a) The Director shall be assisted by the Labor Standards Division in making studies and
investigation to discover the occupations which are sufficiently dangerous to the life and limb or
injurious to the health or morals of children under sixteen (16) years to justify their exclusion
therefrom. All interested persons and organizations are invited to cooperate with the Director
and the Division by making suggestions and requests and providing pertinent information to the
Division concerning employment hazards to children. Submissions should be mailed to the
Administrator, Labor Standards Division, Arkansas Department of Labor, 10421 West Markham,
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205. In addition, the Administrator of the Labor Standards Division
shall have authority to obtain information by holding conferences to which he may invite various
persons who have had experience or expert knowledge concerning occupational hazards to
children.

(b) The Administrator of the Labor Standards Division shall from time to time prepare
and submit to the Director of Labor reports of investigations with respect to any occupations or
group of occupations which he/she has reason to believe should be added to, or deleted from, the
list of those found and declared to be particularly hazardous for the employment of children
under 16 years of age or detrimental to their health or well-being. Each such report shall contain
an explanation of the hazards involved and the reasons why children below the age of 16 are, or
are not, particularly susceptible to them. Copies of such reports shall be made available to the
public at the offices of Labor Standards Division.

(c) The Director, on recommendation of the Division or on his own motion shall initiate
proceedings to make, amend, or revoke a determination regarding a hazardous occupation in
these rules andregulations. Notice of such proceedings as well as any rule-making shall comply
with the Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-201 et seq.

(d) Any person may at any time file with the Administrator of the Labor Standards
Division a written application, petition or other requests in connection with any proceeding to
make, amend, or revoke a hazardous occupation determination. In the event his petition is
denied, he will be advised promptly with a simple statement of reasons.

(e) Any person adversely affected or aggrieved by the procedure provided in Rule 2364
010.14-310 may file a petition for a change with the Labor Standards Division, Arkansas

Department of Labor, 10421 West Markham, Little Rock, AR 72205, expressing the change
desired with supporting reasons.

SECTION-500—- HOURS OF EMPLOYMENT

2:508 010.14-317 Children Under Sixteen (16)
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No child under the age of sixteen (16) years shall be employed, permitted, or suffered to
work:

(1) more than six (6) days in any week;

(2) more than forty-cight (48) hours in any week;

(3) more than eight (8) hours in any day; or

(4) before 6:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m., except that on nights preceding nonschool days
children under sixteen {16) years may be employed until 9:00 p.m.

2:501 010.14-318 Children Under Seventeen (17) Eighteen(18}

(a) No child under the age of Seventeen (17) Eighteen{18) shall be employed, permitted

ot suffered to work:

(1) more than six (6) days in any week;

(2) more than fifty-four (54) hours in any week;

(3) more than ten (10) consecutive hours in any day;

(4) more than ten (10) hours in a twenty-four hour period; or

(5) before 6:00 a.m. or after 11:00 p.m., except that children ages sixteen (16) ané
seventeenr—(17) years may be employed until 12:00 midnight on nights preceding non-school
days.

(b} Children ages sixteen (16) years and-severteen—{3F—years of age may be employed

between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 6:00 a.m. on nights preceding non-school days, except
in the occupations or circumstances listed below and provided the work is not otherwise
prohibited by state or federal law:

(1) in any convenience or retail store of less than 4500 square feet;

(2) in any restaurant, except that a sixteen (16) erseventeen-{17) year old may work
in a locked restaurant or fast-food restaurant if only the drive-through window is open
to the general public;

(3) in any business where a child would be working without direct supervision by an
adult 21years of age or older;

(4) in any business which serves alcohol;

(5) in any business which provides adult entertainment, including nude or topless
entertainment;

(6) at any truck stop or service station;

(7) at any race track or gambling establishment;

(8) as a security guard,

(9) as a delivery person; or

(10) in violation of any local curfew ordinance.

(c) For the purpose of determining compliance and assessing penalties, the department
shall enforce the prohibition against more than ten (10} hours of work in a 24-hour period
provided by Ark. Code Ann. § 11-6-110(4) and this Rule 258443 010.14-318(a)(4), in the
following manner:
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(1) If a child sixteen (16) er-seventeen~{17} years old has a rest break between
shifts or period of work of at least ten (10) hours, the department will determine compliance by
the hours worked between midnight of one calendar day and midnight of the following calendar
day. i;
(2) If a child sixteen (16) erseventeen{t7) years old does not have a rest break
between shifts or periods of work of at least ten (10) hours, the department will determine
compliance by the hours worked in any 24-hour period.

SECTION-600— RECORDKEEPING
2:600 010,14-319 Records To Be Maintained

(a) Every employer of a child under eighteer+318) seventeen (17) years of age, whether
partially or fully exempted from the Minimum Wage Act, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-4-201 through -
219, shall maintain complete and accurate records which must contain the following for each

employee under age eighteen(+&)seventeen (17).

(1) name in full;

(2) home address, including ZIP code and telephone number;

(3) date of birth;

(4) occupation,

(5) rate of pay;

(6) any employment certificate or entertainment work permit issued pursuant to
Rules 2:200-2:203-o¢ 2-461-010.14-302 - 010.14-305 or 010.14-312 herein;

(7) hours worked each workday, including starting time and ending time; and

(8) total hours worked each workweek.

(b) The records required by Rule 2-600-a) 010.14-319 (a}) are in addition to and not in
lieu of other records or writing required by the Minimum Wage Act, Ark. Code Ann. §§11-4-201
through -219, and by other chapters of these rules and-regulations including but not limited to
gross wages, wage deductions, cost of meals and lodging, tip credits, or commissions.

2:601 010.14-320 Record Accessibility

(a) All records required by Rule 2:666 010.14-319 shall be open for inspection or
transcription by the Director or his authorized representative during normal business hours at the
place of employment.

(b) Any employment certificate or entertainment work permit issued pursuant to Rules
2.200-2203-of 2:40% 010.14-302 - 010.14-305 or 010.14-312 shall be maintained and accessible
to any authorized representative of the Arkansas Department of Education or any local school
official, in addition to the Department of Labor.

2:602 010,14-321 Record Retention
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(a) All records required by Rule 2:600 010.14-319 must be retained by employers for a
period of three (3) years,

(b) Any employment certificate or entertainment work permit issued pursuant to Rules
2:200-2203-and 246+ 010.14-302 - 010.14-305 and 010.14-312 must be retained by employers
for a period of three (3) years following the termination of the child's employment.

SECTION-700— CIVIL. MONEY PENALTIES
2-700 010.14-322 Civil Penalties

(a) Any person, firm, corporation, partnership, association, parent, guardian, or custodian
who employs or permits or suffers any child to be employed or to work in violation of Ark. Code
Ann. §§ 11-6-103 through -3 -116 or 11-12-101 through -105, or any regulations rules issued
thereunder, shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than fifty dolars ($50.00) and not more
than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each violation. Each day the violation continues shall
with respect to each child so employed or permitted work constitute a separate offense.

(b) The amount of all civil penalties will be determined in accordance with 276+
010.14-323 of these regulations rules.

(¢) In civil penalty cases, the Administrator of the Labor Standards Division shall notify
the person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association, charged with the violation(s) by
certified mail of the following:

(1) the nature of the violation;

(2) the date(s) of the violation,;

(3) the name of the child(ren);

(4) the amount of the civil penalty;

(5) the civil penalty determination shall be final, unless within fifteen (15) days after
receipt of this notice, the person, firm, corporation, partnership or association charged with the
violation(s) notifies the Director of the Department of Labor in writing that he/she contests the
penalty; and

(6) the procedure for contesting a civil penalty as provided in 2762 010.14-324 of

these regulations rules.

(d) If the person, firm, corporation, partnership or association charged with the violation
has not filed notice that he/she contests the civil penalty within fifteen (15) days after receiving
notice in accordance with 2:700¢e} 010.14-322(c) of this regulation Rule, the penalty assessment
by the Labor Standards Division becomes the final determination of the Director of Labor.

(e) Notice of the civil penalty may also be delivered in the same manner as summons in
civil cases.

2-761-010.14-323 Civil Penalty Assessment
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(a) If upon inspection or investigation, the Labor Standards Division finds that a person,
firm, partnership or association has violated any of the provisions of Ark. Code Ann. §§11-6-103
through -3 -116 or 11-12-101 through -105, or any fegelations rules issued thereunder, the
Administrator of the Labor Standards Division may assess a civil penalty for each violation.

(b) The maximum amount of a civil penalty will be based on the nature and the gravity
of the violation or violations. Matters which are indications of the gravity of a vielation and
which justify maximum civil penalty assessments are:

(1) the likelihood of injury and the seriousness of the potential injuries to which the
child has been exposed;

(2) multiplicity of violations by a business or employer;

(3) recurring violations;

(4) employment of any child in a hazardous or detrimental occupation;

(5) violations involving youths under fourteen (14) years of age;

(6) a substantial number of hours worked in excess of the statutory limits;

(7) falsification and/or concealment of information regarding the employment of
children in viclation of state or federal law; and

(8) failure to assure future compliance.

(c) Reduction in the penalty amount may be made based on the size of the business. The
size of the business includes the number of employees and the gross volume of sales.

(d) Assessment of a civil penalty shall be made no later than two (2) years from the date
of the occurrence of the violation.

2702 010.14-324 Contesting a Civil Penalty

(a) An employer may contest the imposition of a civil penalty by filing a written request
for a hearing with the Director of Labor, 10421 West Markham, Little Rock, Arkansas 72205.
The written request must be made within fifteen (15) days after the employer's receipt of

notification of the civil penalty or the assessment will become final.

(b) A written request for a hearing shall be referred to a hearing officer designated by the
Director.

(c) The employer shall be provided at least twenty (20) days notice of the hearing. Such
notice shall include:

(1) a statement of the time, date, place, and nature of the hearing;

(2) a statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is to
be held;

(3) a short and plain statement of the matters of fact and law asserted; and
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(4) a statement that the employer may, upon written request, obtain the issuance of a
subpoena by the Director for the attendance and testimony of witnesses and the production of
documents.

(d) The designated hearing officer shall, after consideration of the evidence, issue a
decision setting forth findings of fact and conclusions of law. Such decision shall become the
final determination of the Director, unless judicial review is sought within thirty (30) days
pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-212.

EFFECTIVE DATE AND HISTORY

010.14-325 Effective Date and History

The effoetivedateoiil tions | 1141002

(a) The Department originally promulgated rules pertaining to Act 647 of 1987
(established standards for employment of children in the entertainment industry) on June 3.
1987. The Department promulgated comprehensive rules for other jurisdictional statutes
effective April 14, 1992.

(b} Rule 010.14-306(b)(9) pertaining to hazardous occupations was adopted effective
Julv 28, 1995,

(¢} Rule 010.14-318 pertaining to permissible hours for children under 18 was amended
effective December 1, 2005.

{d) Effective January 1. 2019, Rule 010.14-300; -318; and -319 were amended to remove
reference to 17 year olds pursuant to Act 162 of 2015. Rule 010.14-313 was amended regarding
hours and rest time for children in the entertainment industry. Additionally. the child labor rules
were re-numbered and some references updated.
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