

# DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

ASA HUTCHINSON | Governor MICHAEL PRESTON | Secretary

April 9, 2020

Ms. Marty Garrity, Director Arkansas Bureau of Legislative Research State Capitol, Suite 315 Little Rock, AR 72201 RECEVED

APR 0 9 2020

BUREAU OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH

Re: Arkansas Division of Workforce Services ("DWS") Request for Emergency Rule 30

Dear Marty:

Please find enclosed a copy of proposed DWS Emergency Rule 30. The proposed rule is needed to be issued on an emergency basis in order for the State to qualify for federal unemployment benefit funds. Pursuant to Arkansas Legislative Council requirements on the promulgation of an Emergency Rule, we request a meeting to present the proposed Emergency Rule to the Executive Rules Subcommittee to obtain review and approval for the Rule. Given the fiscal session, the review may well be through a different body. I am attaching a copy of the proposed rule and the standard BLR Rule filings for your review. Although this is an emergency rule, and DWS is not an agency subject to the APA, we are holding a public hearing, via internet streaming next Friday; so, we are requesting expedited review if possible for early next week.

If you have any questions, please give me a call.

Sincerely,

Steven Porch General Counsel

Arkansas Department of Commerce

CC: Jessica Sutton, BLR

FILED

APR 0 9 2020

Arkansas Secretary of State

# QUESTIONNAIRE FOR FILING PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS WITH THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

DEPARTMENT/AGENCY	Arkansas Department of Commerce ("ADOC")					
DIVISION	Division of Workforce Services					
DIVISION DIRECTOR	Dr. Charrise Childers, Ph.D.					
CONTACT PERSON	Cindy Uhrynowycz, Associate General Counsel					
ADDRESS	2 Capitol Mall, P.O. Box 8040, Little Rock, AR 72203-8040					
PHONE NO. NAME OF PRESENT						
PRESENTER E-MAIL <u>cir</u>	ndy.uhrynowycz@arkansas.gov, don.denton@arkansas.gov					
	<u>INSTRUCTIONS</u>					
A. Please make copies of this form for future use.  B. Please answer each question completely using layman terms. You may use additional sheets, if necessary.  C. If you have a method of indexing your rules, please give the proposed citation after "Short Title of this Rule" below.  D. Submit two (2) copies of this questionnaire and financial impact statement attached to the front of two (2) copies of the proposed rule and required documents. Mail or deliver to:  Jessica C. Sutton  Administrator, Administrative Rules Review Section  Arkansas Bureau of Legislative Research  One Capitol Mall, 5th Floor, Room L-513  Little Rock, AR 72201						
	**************************************					
<ol> <li>What is the short title of the p</li> <li>What is the subject of the p</li> </ol>	Requiring employers to give notices to employees of the availability of unemployment benefits. Notice shall be given upon separation of employment. This Rule is promulgated under the Director's authority under ACA					
regulation?	comply with a federal statute, rule, or Yes $\boxtimes$ No $\square$ he federal rule, regulation, and/or statute 42 U.S.C. Sec. $1103(h)(1)(C)(i)$ and $(2)$					

4. Was this rule filed under the emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act?

ru	If yes, what is the effective date of the emergency $4/27/2020$	Yes	No 🖂			
ex	When does the emergency rule pire? 12/31/2020					
	Will this emergency rule be promulgated under the permanent proprocedure Act?	visions of the	Administrative No 🖂			
set fro bei	Is this a new rule? Yes No \( \subseteq \) No \( \subseteq \) If yes, please provide a brief summary explaining the regulation. See so out the form which all employers must provide their employees upon employment. The Notice tells the employee of the availability of the energy and where to go to file claim. The Notice does not promise employees they will ultimately tects the employee where to go to file a claim.	oon an employ unemploymer	yee's separation at compensation			
	Does this repeal an existing rule? Yes \( \subseteq \text{No } \omega \) If yes, a copy of the repealed rule is to be included with your combeing replaced with a new rule, please provide a summary of the rule the rule does.					
rul	Is this an amendment to an existing e? Yes No S  If yes, please attach a mark-up showing the changes in the existin substantive changes. Note: The summary should explain what the mark-up copy should be clearly labeled "mark-up." See att changes.	e amendmer	t does, and the			
6.	Cite the state law that grants the authority for this proposed rule? Arkansas Code citation.	If codified,	please give the			
	ACA 11-10-306 and 307					
7.	What is the purpose of this proposed rule? Why is it necessary?					
De rec pro sep em	In order to qualify for Allotment I of emergency administrative grants from the United States Department of Labor, three conditions have to be met, and one of the conditions is that the state requires the employers to provide notification of the availability of unemployment compensation to employees at the time of separation from employment. USDOL UIPL 13-20 sets out a form Notice which states may use. The Arkansas					
$D_1$	visions of					

Workforce Services has adopted this form. Emergency Regulation 30 requires employers to provide this Notice.

Before the adoption of Emergency Rule 30, the Arkansas Division of Workforce Services did not require employers to provide notice to employees upon separation from employment.

- 8. Please provide the address where this rule is publicly accessible in electronic form via the Internet as required
- by Arkansas Code § 25-19-108(b). <a href="https://dws.arkansas.gov/">https://dws.arkansas.gov/</a> This link will be available beginning April
- 10, 2020 by close of business.
- 9. Will a public hearing be held on this proposed rule? Yes No If yes, please complete the following:

Date: 4-17-2020

Time: 10: a.m.

2 Capitol Mall, Little Rock, AR, Fifth

Floor Conference Room via internet Place: streaming

race. streaming

- 10. When does the public comment period expire for permanent promulgation? (Must provide a date.) 4-17-2020
- 11. What is the proposed effective date of this proposed rule? (Must provide a date.)

1-27-2020

- 12. Please provide a copy of the notice required under Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(a), and proof of the publication of said notice. See attached.
- 13. Please provide proof of filing the rule with the Secretary of State and the Arkansas State Library as required pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e). We will provide you with a file marked copy when received from SOS.
- 14. Please give the names of persons, groups, or organizations that you expect to comment on these rules? Please provide their position (for or against) if known.

The Department does not know at this time but will update BLR and ALC in the public comments summary following the close of the comment period and public hearing.

# FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY

DEPARTMENT Arkansas Department of Commerce ("ADOC")								
DIVISION			Division of	Workforce So	ervices ("	DWS")		
PE	RSO	N COMPLI	ETING THI	S STATEME	ENT Cin	ndy Uhrynowycz, Asso	ciate Genera	l Counsel
TE	LEPI	HONE 501-	-682-3151	<b>FAX</b> 501	-682-314	0 EMAIL: cindy	.uhrynowycz	z@arkansas.gov
				§ 25-15-204(e tionnaire and		complete the following I rules.	Financial Im	npact Statement
SE	IORT	TITLE O	F THIS RUI	Emerger	ncy Rule (	30		
1.	Does	s this propos	sed, amended	l, or repealed	rule have	a financial impact?	Yes 🗌	No 🔀
2.	Is the rule based on the best reasonably obtainable scientific, technical, economic, or other evidence and information available concerning the need for, consequences of, and alternatives to the rule?  Yes  No							
3. In consideration of the alternatives to this rule, was this rule determined by the agency to be the least costly rule considered?					Yes 🖂	No 🗌		
If an agency is proposing a more costly rule, please state the following:								
(a) How the additional benefits of the more costly rule justify its additional cost;								
	(b)	The reason	n for adoptior	of the more	costly rul	e;		
	(c) Whether the more costly rule is based on the interests of public health, safety, or welfare, and so, please explain; and;					welfare, and if		
(d) Whether the reason is within the scope of the agency's statutory authority; and i explain.					ority; and if	so, please		
4. If the purpose of this rule is to implement a federal rule or regulation, please state the following:						ring:		
	(a)	What is the	e cost to imp	lement the fed	deral rule	or regulation?		
NO	ONE o	or NOT API	PLICABLE.					
<u>C</u> t	ırren	t Fiscal Yea	<u>ır</u>			Next Fiscal Year		
Ge	eneral	Revenue				General Revenue		

Federal Funds Cash Funds Special Revenue Other (Identify)		Cash Funds Special Revenue Other (Identify)	
Total _	0	Total	0
(b) What is the	e additional cost of the st	rate rule?	
<b>Current Fiscal</b>	<u>Year</u>	Next Fiscal Year	
General Revenue Federal Funds Cash Funds Special Revenue Other (Identify)		Federal Funds Cash Funds Special Revenue	
Total _	0	Total	0
they are affected.  The cost to any priva	ate individual, entity and er times the number of en	entify the entity(ies) subject to the business subject to Emergency Inployees separating from employing	Rule 30, is the price of copying
<b>Current Fiscal Yea</b>	<u>r</u>	Next Fiscal Yea	<u>ır</u>
\$ 0 0		\$ 0	
this rule? Is this	l estimated cost by fisca the cost of the program	l year to state, county, and munic or grant? Please explain how the	cipal government to implement government is affected.
NONE			
<b>Current Fiscal Yea</b> \$ 0	<u>r</u>	Next Fiscal Yea \$ 0	<u>nr</u> 
0			

7. With respect to the agency's answers to Questions #5 and #6 above, is there a new or increased cost or obligation of at least one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000) per year to a private individual, private entity, private business, state government, county government, municipal government, or to two (2) or more of those entities combined?

#### NOT APPLICABLE

If YES, the agency is required by Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-to file written findings at the time of filing the financial statement. The written findings shall be filed simultaneously	Yes 🗌	No 🗌	204(e)(4) impact
with the financial impact statement and shall include, without	ut limitation, t	the following:	
(1) a statement of the rule's basis and purpose;			
(2) the problem the agency seeks to address with the proper required by statute;	osed rule, incl	uding a statement	of whether a rule is
(3) a description of the factual evidence that			

- (3) a description of the factual evidence that:
  - (a) justifies the agency's need for the proposed rule; and
  - (b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory objectives and justify the rule's costs;
- (4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;
- (5) a list of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public comment and the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;
- (6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or contributed to the problem, an explanation of why amendment or repeal of the rule creating or contributing to the problem is not a sufficient response; and
- (7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years to determine whether, based upon the evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without limitation, whether:
  - (a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives;
  - (b) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and
  - (c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve the statutory objectives.



# DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

ASA HUTCHINSON | Governor MICHAEL PRESTON | Secretary

Attachment B

## SUMMARY OF PROPOSED EMERGENCY RULE 30 OF THE RULES OF THE ARKANSAS DIVISION OF WORKFORCE SERVICES

Arkansas Division of Workforce Services
April 8, 2020

- 30.1 This section of Emergency Rule 30 sets out the Director's authority to promulgate the rule.
- **30.2** This section sets out the main provision of the rule requiring all employers to give notice to any employee, upon separation from employment, of the availability of unemployment insurance benefits.
- **30.3** This section sets out, the effective date April 27, 2020, and the expiration date of December 31, 2020 and the emergency clause which explains the reason why the Rule should be adopted as an emergency. The clause cites the emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and the resulting widespread unemployment in Arkansas. The Rule is necessary in order for the Division of Workforce Services to access federal emergency grant money.





DATE: APRIL 9, 2020

TO: ALL INTERESTED PARTIES

FROM: DIVISION OF WORKFORCE SERVICES

SUBJECT: EMERGENCY RULE 30

#### NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated §11-10-306 and 307 for the purpose of giving the public an opportunity to be heard regarding Emergency Rule 30 of the Arkansas Division of Workforce Services. The anticipated effective date is April 27, 2020, and a public hearing will be held on Friday, April 17, 2020, at 10:00 a.m. Due to COVID-19 concerns, the hearing will be held by live stream via internet.

The purpose of the hearing is to allow interested employers doing business in the State of Arkansas and the public to comment regarding Emergency Rule 30 and the required notice to employees. Emergency Rule 30 requires employers in Arkansas to provide notice to their employees of the availability of unemployment insurance benefits. Rule 30 requires the notice to be given to an employee upon separation from employment. The rule and required notice to employees is set out below.

Those persons wishing to participate via live stream may access the hearing at <a href="https://www.youtube.com/user/ArkansasDIS">https://www.youtube.com/user/ArkansasDIS</a> or at

https://www.dws.arkansas.gov/unemployment/public-hearing.

Written comments may be submitted to: Emergency Rule 30 c/o Charisse Childers, Ph.D., Director, Division of Workforce Services, P.O. Box 8040, Little Rock, AR 72203. Online comments or questions may be submitted prior to the hearing

at https://www.dws.arkansas.gov/unemployment/public-hearing

The full text of Emergency Rule 30 may also be obtained by calling 501-682-2121 or by writing to: Emergency Rule 30 c/o Charisse Childers, Ph.D., Director, Division of Workforce Services, P.O. Box 8040, Little Rock, AR 72203.

Sincerely

Dr. Charisse Childers, PhD., Director Division of Workforce Services

P.O. Box 8040, Little Rock, AR 72203

(501) 682-2121



# DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

ASA HUTCHINSON | Governor MICHAEL PRESTON | Secretary

#### STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR RULEMAKING

A.C.A. § 11-10-307 § 11-10-307. Rules Effective: July 24, 2019

- (a)(1) General and special rules may be adopted, amended, or rescinded by the Director of the Division of Workforce Services only after public hearing or opportunity to be heard thereon, on which proper notice has been given.
- (2) General rules shall become effective ten (10) days after filing with the Secretary of State and publication in one (1) or more newspapers of general circulation in this state.
- (3) Special rules shall become effective ten (10) days after notification to or mailing to the last known address of the individuals or employing units affected thereby.
- (b) Rules may be adopted, amended, or rescinded by the director and shall become effective in the manner and at the time prescribed by the director.

Formerly A.S.A. 1947, § 81-1114.

FILED

APR 0 9 2020

Arkansas

Secretary of State

**EMERGENCY RULE NO. 30** 

RECEIVED

APR 0 9 2020

BUREAU OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH

**30.1**. This general rule is promulgated pursuant to the Director's authority as set out in Arkansas Code Annotated §11-10-306 and 307 and is necessary to comply with 42 U.S.C. §1103(h)(1)(C)(i) and (2) and receive supplemental federal funding.

**30.2** All employers in the State of Arkansas must provide the notice as set out in Appendix "A" of Rule 30 to an employee upon that employee's separation from employment.

30.3 This rule shall become effective on April 27, 2020 and shall expire on December 31, 2020.

30.4 EMERGENCY CLAUSE. The Director finds that because of the COVID-19 pandemic and the widespread closures of businesses an extraordinary amount of unemployment claims have been filed or will be filed as a result of such closures throughout the State of Arkansas. The Director further finds that Rule No. 30 is necessary in order for the State of Arkansas to receive emergency administrative grant funding from the United States Department of Labor pursuant to 42 U.S.C §1103(h)(1)(C)(i) and (2). One of the conditions of receiving such funding is that employers must be required by the state to provide direct notice to their employees of the availability of unemployment compensation benefits. This rule is necessary to ensure that the Division of Workforce Services has adequate resources to meet the increased demand caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Dr. Charisse Childers, PhD.

Director, DWS

4/8/2020 Date

#### APPENDIX A TO RULE 30

#### NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE

Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits are available to workers who are unemployed and who meet the requirements of Arkansas UI eligibility laws. You may file a UI claim in the first week that employment stops or work hours are reduced.

You will need to provide the Arkansas Division of Workforce Services with the following information for the Division to process your claim:

- 1. Your Full legal name
- 2. Your Social Security Number
- 3. Your authorization to work (if you are not a US Citizen or resident)

To file a UI claim online, visit our Arkansas' online claims filing site at <a href="https://www.ezarc.adws.arkansas.gov/">https://www.ezarc.adws.arkansas.gov/</a> from 6 a.m. through 6 p.m. Sunday through Saturday.

To file a UI claim by telephone, call 1-844-908-2178 or 501-534-6304 from 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

To file a UI claim by paper, please visit your nearest Arkansas Workforce Center. To find the nearest Arkansas Workforce Center please visit www.dws.arkansas.gov/contact.

For general assistance or more information about filing a UI claim, call 1-855-225-4440 or 501-682-2121. HOURS: Monday – Friday, 8a.m. - 3:30p.m.

If you have questions about the status of your UI claim, you may call your local Arkansas Workforce Services office or 1-855-225-4440.

#### APPENDIX A MARK UP

#### **Emergency Rule No. 30**

- 30.1. This general rule is promulgated pursuant to the Director's authority as set out in Arkansas Code Annotated §11-10-306 and 307 and is necessary to comply with 42 U.S.C. §1103(h)(1)(C)(i) and (2) and receive supplemental federal funding.
- 30.2 All employers in the State of Arkansas must provide the notice as set out in Attachment A of Rule 30 to an employee upon that employee's separation from employment.
- 30.3 This rule shall become effective on April 27, 2020 and shall expire on December 31, 2020.
- 30.4 EMERGENCY CLAUSE. The Director finds that because of the COVID-19 pandemic and the widespread closures of businesses an extraordinary amount of unemployment claims have been filed or will be filed as a result of such closures throughout the State of Arkansas. The Director further finds that Rule No. 30 is necessary in order for the State of Arkansas to receive emergency administrative grant funding from the United States Department of Labor pursuant to 42 U.S.C §1103(h)(1)(C)(i) and (2). One of the conditions of receiving such funding is that employers must be required by the state to provide direct notice to their employees of the availability of unemployment compensation benefits. This rule is necessary to ensure that the Division of Workforce Services has adequate resources to meet the increased demand caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

## APPENDIX A TO RULE 30

#### NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE

Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits are available to workers who are unemployed and who meet the requirements of Arkansas UI eligibility laws. You may file a UI claim in the first week that employment stops, or work hours are reduced.

You will need to provide the Arkansas Division of Workforce Services with the following information for the Division to process your claim:

- 1. Your Full legal name
- 2. Your Social Security Number
- 3. Your authorization to work (if you are not a US Citizen or resident)

To file a UI claim online, visit our Arkansas' online claims filing site at <a href="https://www.ezarc.adws.arkansas.gov/">https://www.ezarc.adws.arkansas.gov/</a> from 6 am through 6 pm Sunday through Saturday.

To file a UI claim by telephone, call 1-844-908-2178 or 501-534-6304 from 8 a.m to 3:30 p.m Monday through Friday.

To file a UI claim by paper, please visit your nearest Arkansas Workforce Center. To find the nearest Arkansas Workforce Center please visit www.dws.arkansas.gov/contact.

For general assistance or more information about filing a UI claim, call 1-855-225-4440 or 501-682-2121. HOURS: Monday – Friday, 8am - 3:30pm

If you have questions about the status of your UI claim, you may call your local office or 1-855-225-4440.



#### APPENDIX D CLEAN COPY

#### **Emergency Rule No. 30**

- **30.1**. This general rule is promulgated pursuant to the Director's authority as set out in Arkansas Code Annotated §11-10-306 and 307 and is necessary to comply with 42 U.S.C. §1103(h)(1)(C)(i) and (2) and receive supplemental federal funding.
- **30.2** All employers in the State of Arkansas must provide the notice as set out in Attachment A of Rule 30 to an employee upon that employee's separation from employment.
- 30.3 This rule shall become effective on April 27, 2020 and shall expire on December 31, 2020.
- **30.4** EMERGENCY CLAUSE. The Director finds that because of the COVID-19 pandemic and the widespread closures of businesses an extraordinary amount of unemployment claims have been filed or will be filed as a result of such closures throughout the State of Arkansas. The Director further finds that Rule No. 30 is necessary in order for the State of Arkansas to receive emergency administrative grant funding from the United States Department of Labor pursuant to 42 U.S.C §1103(h)(1)(C)(i) and (2). One of the conditions of receiving such funding is that employers must be required by the state to provide direct notice to their employees of the availability of unemployment compensation benefits. This rule is necessary to ensure that the Division of Workforce Services has adequate resources to meet the increased demand caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

#### APPENDIX A TO RULE 30

#### NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE

Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits are available to workers who are unemployed and who meet the requirements of Arkansas UI eligibility laws. You may file a UI claim in the first week that employment stops, or work hours are reduced.

You will need to provide the Arkansas Division of Workforce Services with the following information for the Division to process your claim:

- 1. Your Full legal name
- 2. Your Social Security Number
- 3. Your authorization to work (if you are not a US Citizen or resident)

To file a UI claim online, visit our Arkansas' online claims filing site at <a href="https://www.ezarc.adws.arkansas.gov/">https://www.ezarc.adws.arkansas.gov/</a> from 6 am through 6 pm Sunday through Saturday.

To file a UI claim by telephone, call 1-844-908-2178 or 501-534-6304 from 8 a.m to 3:30 p.m Monday through Friday.

To file a UI claim by paper, please visit your nearest Arkansas Workforce Center. To find the nearest Arkansas Workforce Center please visit www.dws.arkansas.gov/contact.

For general assistance or more information about filing a UI claim, call 1-855-225-4440 or 501-682-2121. HOURS: Monday – Friday, 8am - 3:30pm

If you have questions about the status of your UI claim, you may call your local office or 1-855-225-4440.



# State of Arkansas Bureau of Legislative Research

Marty Garrity, Director Kevin Anderson, Assistant Director for Fiscal Services

Tim Carlock, Assistant Director for Information Technology

Matthew Miller, Assistant Director for Legal Services

Estella Smith, Assistant Director for Research Services

## Memorandum

TO: Members, ALC Executive Subcommittee

FROM: Rebecca Miller-Rice, Legislative Attorney, Administrative Rules Review

Section, Legal Services Division

CC: Marty Garrity, Director, Bureau of Legislative Research;

Jessica Sutton, Administrator, Administrative Rules Review Section, Legal

**Services Division** 

**DATE:** April 9, 2020

SUBJECT: Legal Authorization for the Arkansas Department of Commerce's Division of

Workforce Services' Emergency Rule 30

In an effort to qualify for Allotment I of emergency administrative grants from the United States Department of Labor, the Arkansas Department of Commerce's Division of Workforce Services seeks legislative review and approval of its Emergency Rule 30. The agency states that the proposed rule is required to comply with 42 U.S.C. § 1103(h)(1)(C)(i) and (2), and that it will require all employers to provide a notice regarding the availability of unemployment insurance benefits to any employee upon separation from employment.

It is the duty of the Director of the Division of Workforce Services to administer the Division of Workforce Services Law, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-10-101 through 11-10-1018. *See* Ark. Code Ann. § 11-10-306(a). Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 11-10-306(b)(1), the Director shall have the power and authority to adopt, amend, or rescind such rules, employ such persons, make such expenditures, require such reports, make such investigations, and take such other action as he or she deems necessary or suitable to that end. *See also* Ark. Code Ann. § 11-10-307 (authorizing the adoption, amendment, or rescindment of general and special rules by the Director of the Division after public hearing or opportunity to be heard thereon, on which proper notice has been given).