TENTATIVE AGENDA (Revised 03/09/12, 10:30 AM) Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly

9:00 AM
Room 171, State Capitol
Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jimmy Jeffress, Chair

Sen. Mary Anne Salmon, Vice Chair

Sen. Gilbert Baker Sen. Kim Hendren Sen. Gene Jeffress Sen. Johnny Key Sen. Joyce Elliott Sen. Bruce Holland Rep. Eddie L. Cheatham, Chair

Rep. Johnnie J. Roebuck, Vice Chair

Rep. Toni Bradford Rep. Kathy Webb

Rep. Bobby J. Pierce Rep. Donna Hutchinson Rep. Randy Stewart

Rep. Jerry R. Brown Rep. Duncan Baird Rep. Tim Summers

Rep. Debra M. Hobbs Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine Rep. Robert E. Dale Rep. Karen S. Hopper

Rep. Ann V. Clemmer Rep. James McLean Rep. Jody Dickinson

Rep. Jane English

Rep. Tracy Steele

Rep. Tommy Wren

Rep. James L. Word, Non-Voting Rep. Andrea Lea, Non-Voting

Rep. Garry L. Smith, Non-Voting Rep. Davy Carter, Non-Voting

Rep. Tiffany Rogers, Non-Voting

Rep. Henry "Hank" Wilkins, IV, Non-Voting

Rep. John Catlett, Non-Voting

Rep. Homer Lenderman, Non-Voting

Rep. Kelley Linck, Non-Voting

Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh, Non-Voting Rep. Justin T. Harris, Non-Voting

Rep. Jeremy Gillam, Non-Voting

- A. Call to Order -9:00 A.M.
- B. Remarks by the Co-Chairs
- C. Overview of Adequacy Requirements and Education Funding

Mr. Richard Wilson, Assistant Director for Research Services, Bureau of Legislative Research Ms. Jerri Derlikowski, Administrator, Policy Analysis and Research Section, Bureau of Legislative Research

- D. Discussion of Issues Related to Special Education
 - **Dr. Laura Bednar**, Assistant Commissioner, Division of Learning Services, Arkansas Department of Education

Ms. Martha Kay Asti, Interim Associate Director, Special Education, Division of Learning Services, Arkansas Department of Education

- E. Discussion of Written Testimony Submitted by Various Education Associations Regarding their Concerns about the State's Current System of Funding for Public Education [Exhibits E1, E2, and E3]
 - Dr. Richard Abernathy, Executive Director, Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators
 - Mr. Rich Nagel, Executive Director, Arkansas Education Association
 - Mr. Bill Abernathy, Executive Director, Arkansas Rural Education Association
 - Mr. Dan Farley, Executive Director, Arkansas School Boards Association

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"

Revised Tentative Agenda March 13, 2012 Page 2

- F. Other Business
- G. Adjournment