AGENDA

Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly

Tuesday, May 06, 2014 10:00 AM

Arkadelphia Public Schools High School, 401 High School Road Arkadelphia, Arkansas

Sen. Johnny Key, Chair Sen. Joyce Elliott, Vice Chair Sen. Jason Rapert Sen. Bruce Holland

Sen. Uvalde Lindsey Sen. Alan Clark Sen. Jim Hendren Sen. Eddie Cheatham Rep. James McLean, Chair

Rep. Ann V. Clemmer, Vice Chair

Rep. Debra M. Hobbs Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine Rep. Robert E. Dale Rep. Karen S. Hopper Rep. Jody Dickinson

Rep. John Charles Edwards Rep. Mark Biviano Rep. John Catlett Rep. Homer Lenderman Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh Rep. Jon S. Eubanks Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin Rep. James Ratliff

Rep. Bruce Cozart

Rep. Charlotte Vining Douglas

Rep. Mark Lowery

Rep. Charles L. Armstrong

Rep. Brent Talley

Rep. Stephen Meeks, Non-Voting Rep. Lane Jean, Non-Voting Rep. Fredrick J. Love, Non-Voting Rep. Reginald Murdock, Non-Voting Rep. Justin T. Harris, Non-Voting Rep. Jeff Wardlaw, Non-Voting Rep. Andy Mayberry, Non-Voting Rep. David Fielding, Non-Voting

Rep. Harold Copenhaver, Non-Voting Rep. Randy Alexander, Non-Voting Rep. Chris Richey, Non-Voting Rep. Jim Dotson, Non-Voting

- A. Call to Order 10:00 a.m. (Please See Note Below)*
- B. Remarks by the Co-Chairs
- C. Welcome and Overview of Meeting (10:00 a.m.-10:15 a.m. Arkadelphia High School Little Theater) **Dr. Donnie Whitten**, Superintendent, Arkadelphia School District
- D. Remarks by Members of the Clark County Legislative Delegation
- E. Recess for Tour (10:15 a.m.-11:00 a.m. Tours led by New Tech Ambassadors. Tours will include all secondary STEM Works programs New Tech Network [NTN], Project Lead The Way [PLTW] and Environmental and Spatial Technology [EAST])
- F. Meeting Resumes (11:00 a.m. Room 724 of Arkadelphia High School)
- G. Presentations Regarding STEM Works

Mr. Artee Williams, Chair, Governor's Workforce Cabinet

Dr. Kristin Cuilla, Director, New School Development-New Tech Network

Mr. Tim Johnston, Program Coordinator, Arkansas Department of Career Education - Project Lead the Way

Mr. Matt Dozier, President/CEO, EAST Initiative-EAST Core

Mr. Shane Broadway, Director, Arkansas Department of Higher Education-UTeach

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"

Agenda May 6, 2014 Page 2

- H. Presentation of Arkansas Digital Learning Study
 Dr. Ed Franklin, Chair, Quality Digital Learning Study Committee
- I. Other Business
- J. Adjournment
 - * The joint meeting will be live streamed over the Internet courtesy of *Connect Arkansas*. If you would like to view the portion of the meeting regarding the Quality Digital Learning Study Report, which will be heard at approximately 11:00 a.m., please use the link listed below to register:

http://www.connect-arkansas.org/quality-digital-learning-study