## TENTATIVE AGENDA (Revised 05/08/14, 11:00 AM) Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly

Tuesday, May 13, 2014 09:00 AM Room 171, State Capitol

Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Johnny Key, Chair Sen. Joyce Elliott, Vice Chair

Sen. Jason Rapert Sen. Bruce Holland Sen. Uvalde Lindsey Sen. Alan Clark Sen. Jim Hendren Sen. Eddie Cheatham Rep. James McLean, Chair

Rep. Ann V. Clemmer, Vice Chair

Rep. Debra M. Hobbs Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine Rep. Robert E. Dale Rep. Karen S. Hopper Rep. Jody Dickinson Rep. John Charles Edwards

Rep. Mark Biviano
Rep. John Catlett
Rep. Homer Lenderman
Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh
Rep. Jon S. Eubanks
Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin
Rep. James Ratliff

Rep. Bruce Cozart

Rep. Charlotte Vining Douglas

Rep. Mark Lowery

Rep. Charles L. Armstrong

Rep. Brent Talley

Rep. Stephen Meeks, Non-Voting Rep. Lane Jean, Non-Voting Rep. Fredrick J. Love, Non-Voting Rep. Reginald Murdock, Non-Voting Rep. Justin T. Harris, Non-Voting Rep. Jeff Wardlaw, Non-Voting Rep. Andy Mayberry, Non-Voting Rep. David Fielding, Non-Voting Rep. Harold Copenhaver, Non-Voting

Rep. Randy Alexander, Non-Voting Rep. Chris Richey, Non-Voting Rep. Jim Dotson, Non-Voting

- A. Call to Order 9:00 A.M.
- B. Remarks by the Co-Chairs
- C. Review of Arkansas Department of Education Rule Referred to the Committees by the Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the Arkansas Legislative Council Concerning Policies Governing Programs for Educator Licensure Offered by Institutions of Higher Education in Arkansas [Exhibit C]

Mr. Jeremy Lasiter, General Counsel, Arkansas Department of Education

Ms. Cheryl Reinhart, Attorney, Professional Licensure Standards Board, Arkansas Department of Education

- D. Continued Discussion of Written Testimony Submitted by Various Organizations Regarding their Concerns about the State's Current System of Funding for Public Education
  - Dr. Richard Abernathy, Executive Director, Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators

Mr. Tom Dooher, Executive Director, Arkansas Education Association

Mr. Scott Smith, Executive Director, Arkansas Public School Resource Center

Mr. Ron Harder, Policy Service & Advocacy Director, Arkansas School Boards Association

**Dr. Michele Linch**, Executive Director, Arkansas State Teachers Association

- E. Other Business
- F. Adjournment

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"