AGENDA Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly

Monday, July 14, 2014 10:00 AM Room 171, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Johnny Key, Chair Sen. Joyce Elliott, Vice Chair Sen. Jason Rapert Sen. Bruce Holland Sen. Uvalde Lindsey Sen. Alan Clark Sen. Jim Hendren Sen. Eddie Cheatham Rep. James McLean, Chair Rep. Ann V. Clemmer, Vice Chair Rep. Debra M. Hobbs Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine Rep. Robert E. Dale Rep. Karen S. Hopper Rep. Jody Dickinson Rep. John Charles Edwards Rep. Mark Biviano Rep. John Catlett Rep. Homer Lenderman Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh Rep. Jon S. Eubanks Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin Rep. James Ratliff Rep. Bruce Cozart

Rep. Charlotte Vining Douglas Rep. Mark Lowery Rep. Charles L. Armstrong Rep. Brent Talley Rep. Stephen Meeks, Non-Voting Rep. Lane Jean, Non-Voting Rep. Fredrick J. Love, Non-Voting Rep. Reginald Murdock, Non-Voting Rep. Justin T. Harris, Non-Voting Rep. Jeff Wardlaw, Non-Voting Rep. Andy Mayberry, Non-Voting Rep. David Fielding, Non-Voting Rep. Harold Copenhaver, Non-Voting Rep. Randy Alexander, Non-Voting Rep. Chris Richey, Non-Voting Rep. Jim Dotson, Non-Voting

- A. Call to Order 10:00 A.M.
- B. Remarks by the Co-Chairs
- C. Approval of the Minutes from the May 12, 2014, May 13, 2014, June 9, 2014, and June 10, 2014 Meetings [Exhibits C1, C2, C3, and C4]
- D. Reports from Members Who Attended Recent Meetings Concerning Public or Higher Education
- E. Introduction of New Administrative Team at the Arkansas Department of Education
- F. Discussion of the El Dorado School District's High School Completion Program Mr. Jonathan Crossley, 2014 Arkansas Teacher of the Year Ms. Ann Hays, Counselor, El Dorado High School, El Dorado School District Ms. Alice Mahony, Member, Arkansas Exemplary Educators Network (AEEN) Colonel Cary Shillcutt, Chief of Staff, Joint Force Headquarters, Arkansas National Guard Mr. Tom Simmons, District Math Chair, El Dorado School District Mr. Jim Tucker, Superintendent, El Dorado School District Ms. Susan Waggener, Member, Arkansas Exemplary Educators Network (AEEN)
- G. Update on Technology Issues
 Mr. Mike Hernandez, Deputy Commissioner, Arkansas Department of Education
 Mr. Jimmy Cunningham, Superintendent, Hampton School District
 Mr. Jeff Cantrell, Superintendent, Jasper School District
 Mr. Mark Gotcher, Superintendent, Atkins School District
 Mr. J. Carroll Purtle, Superintendent, Wonderview School District
- Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "*Members and Staff Only*"

Agenda July 14, 2014 Page 2

- H. Discussion of Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC) Assessment from a School-Level Perspective
 Ms. Heather Rainbolt, Testing Coordinator, Central High School, Little Rock School District
- I. Discussion of the U.S. Department of Education's Determination of Arkansas's Status for 2014 Under Section 616 of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)
 Ms. Lisa Haley, Associate Director, Special Education, Arkansas Department of Education
 Ms. Courtney Salas-Ford, Attorney Specialist, Special Education, Arkansas Department of Education
- J. Review of Arkansas Department of Education Rule Referred to the Committees by the Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the Arkansas Legislative Council Concerning the Arkansas Comprehensive Testing, Assessment and Accountability Program (ACTAAP) and the Academic Distress Program [Exhibit J] Mr. Jeremy Lasiter, General Counsel, Arkansas Department of Education
- K. Other Business
- L. Adjournment