AGENDA

Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly

Monday, November 02, 2015 01:30 PM Room A, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jane English, Chair

Sen. Uvalde Lindsey, Vice Chair

Sen. Eddie Joe Williams

Sen. Alan Clark Sen. Bobby J. Pierce

Sen. Jim Hendren

Sen. Eddie Cheatham

Sen. Eddle Cheathan Sen. Blake Johnson Rep. Bruce Cozart, Chair

Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin, Vice Chair

Rep. Greg Leding

Rep. Reginald Murdock

Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh

Rep. Justin T. Harris

Rep. Jon S. Eubanks

Rep. James Ratliff

Rep. Jeremy Gillam

Rep. John W. Walker

Rep. Nate Bell

Rep. Scott Baltz

Rep. Charlotte V. Douglas

Rep. Mark Lowery

Rep. Mark D. McElroy

Rep. Charles L. Armstrong

Rep. Bill Gossage

Rep. Warwick Sabin

Rep. Grant Hodges

Rep. Michael John Gray

- A. Call to Order 1:30 P.M.
- B. Remarks by the Chairs
- C. Approval of the Minutes of the October 5, 2015 and October 6, 2015 Meetings [Exhibits C1 and C2]
- D. Reports from Members Who Attended Recent Meetings Concerning Public or Higher Education
- E. Discussion of Closing the Gap 2020: A Master Plan for Arkansas Higher Education **Dr. Brett Powell**, Director, Arkansas Department of Higher Education
- F. Receipt and Discussion of the Annual Report of the School Leadership Coordinating Council **Dr. Mary Gunter**, Chair, School Leadership Coordinating Council

Mr. Mike Mertens, Assistant Executive Director, Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators

Ms. Ivy Pfeffer, Assistant Commissioner, Human Resources, Educator Effectiveness and Licensure, Arkansas Department of Education

Dr. Tony Prothro, Executive Director, Arkansas School Boards Association

Mr. David Cook, Director, Arkansas Leadership Academy

Mr. Blaine Alexander, School Support Program Leader, Arkansas Leadership Academy

Ms. Jennifer Medeiros, Research and Data Specialist, Arkansas Leadership Academy

G. Discussion of the ForwARd Arkansas Report, **THE STATE OF EDUCATION IN ARKANSAS**

Ms. Kathy Smith, Senior Program Officer, Arkansas Education Reform Initiative, The Walton Family Foundation

Dr. Sherece West-Scantlebury, President and Chief Executive Officer, Winthrop Rockefeller Foundation

Mr. Cory Anderson, Executive Vice President, Winthrop Rockefeller Foundation

- H. Other Business
- I. Adjournment

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"