EXHIBIT C1

MINUTES SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly Tuesday, June 6, 2022 1:30 PM Room A, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Missy Irvin, Chair; Joyce Elliott, Vice-Chair; Linda Chesterfield, Jane English, Colby Fulfer; Representatives Bruce Cozart, Chair; Brian S. Evans, Vice-Chair; Rick Beck, Karilyn Brown, Megan Godfrey, Steve Hollowell, Fredrick J. Love, Mark Lowery, John Maddox, Gayla H. McKenzie, Stephen Meeks, Stu Smith and DeAnn Vaught

Other members present: Senators Alan Clark, Jonathan Dismang, Kim Hammer, Bart Hester, Mark Johnson and Larry Teague; Representatives Fred Allen, Stan Berry, Cameron Cooper, Jim Dotson, Denise Jones Ennett, Jon Eubanks, Kenneth Ferguson, Vivian Flowers, Justin Gonzales, Rick McClure, Tippi McCullough, Jon Milligan, Aaron Pilkington, Johnny Rye, Jamie Scott, Keith Slape and Joy Springer

Senator Irvin called the meeting to order.

Approval of Minutes for May 2, 2022, and May 3, 2022, Meeting [Exhibits C1-C2] Representative Meeks made a motion to approve the minutes, seconded by Representative Love, and without objection, the motion carried.

School Safety Update [Exhibits D1-D6]

Dr. Cheryl May, Director, Criminal Justice Institute; provided a school safety update and discussed recommendations. Ms. Courtney Salas-Ford, Chief Counsel, Arkansas Department of Education - Division of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE); Ms. Nikki Edge, Assistant Director, Research and Evaluation Division, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences; Dr. Mike Hernandez, Executive Director, Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators, Ms. Hope Worsham, Program Director, Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief, DESE, and Dr. Betsy Kindall, AWARE State Project Coordinator, DESE; contributed to the discussion.

Discussion on Statewide Education Assessment System [Handout E]

Dr. Kiffany Pride, Assistant Commissioner, Learning Services, DESE, and Ms. Hope Worsham, Program Director, DESE; provided an update on the statewide education assessment system.

Discussion on Professional Learning Communities (PLC) [Exhibit F]

Dr. Ivy Pfeffer, Deputy Commissioner, DESE, and Dr. Missy Walley, Director, Special Projects, DESE; discussed PLC implementation and as a system of support and process for change.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:50 p.m.

Approved 8/8/2022