

MINUTES SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly Tuesday, October 3, 2023 9:00 AM

Arkansas School for the Deaf, 2400 West Markham Street Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Jane English, Chair; Kim Hammer, Greg Leding, and Matt Stone; Representatives Brian S. Evans, Chair; Keith Brooks, Vice Chair; Rick Beck, Hope Duke, Charlene Fite, Lanny Fite, Denise Garner, Ron McNair, Stetson Painter, DeAnn Vaught, Steven Walker, and Carlton Wing

Other members present: Senators Alan Clark, Jonathan Dismang, Fredrick Love, and Clarke Tucker; Representatives Matt Brown, Denise Ennett, Jon Eubanks, Jack Fortner, Jimmy Gazaway, Justin Gonzales, Austin McCollum, Tippi McCullough, Chad Puryear, and Johnny Rye

Presentation and Tour of the Arkansas School for the Deaf and the Arkansas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired [Handout B1-B2]

Dr. Gretchen Cobb, Interim Superintendent, Arkansas School for the Deaf, presented information on the school and facilities. She then led a tour of the school for legislators.

James Caton, Superintendent, Arkansas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired, discussed the school and facilities. He then led a tour of the school for legislators.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:00 p.m.