## **AGENDA**

## Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly

## Tuesday, August 20, 2019 9:00 AM Room A, MAC Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jane English, Chair	Rep. Bruce Cozart, Chair	Rep. Rick Beck
Sen. Joyce Elliott, Vice-Chair	Rep. Reginald Murdock, Vice-Chair	Rep. Dan Sullivan
Sen. Linda Chesterfield	Rep. Stephen Meeks	Rep. Nelda Speaks
Sen. Jim Hendren	Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh	Rep. Mickey Gates
Sen. Eddie Cheatham	Rep. Jon S. Eubanks	Rep. DeAnn Vaught
Sen. Lance Eads	Rep. John W. Walker	Rep. LeAnne Burch
Sen. Mark Johnson	Rep. Mark Lowery	Rep. Fred Allen
Sen. James Sturch	Rep. Jim Dotson	Rep. Frances Cavenaugh
	Rep. Jana Della Rosa	Rep. Denise Garner
	Rep. Grant Hodges	Rep. Brian S. Evans
		·

- A. Call to Order 9:00 AM
- B. Remarks by the Chairs
- C. Approval of Minutes from the June 11, 2019 Meeting [Exhibit C]
- D. Introduction of the Adequacy Study Process
  Ms. Nell Smith, Administrator, Policy Analysis and Research Section, Bureau of Legislative Research
- E. Discussion of Request for Proposal (RFP) to Conduct the Adequacy Study [Exhibits E1, E2]
- F. The State's Status under Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) [Exhibits F, F1]
  Ms. Deborah Coffman, Assistant Commissioner, Public School Accountability, Arkansas Department of Education
  - Dr. Eric Flowers, ADE Chief Opportunity Officer, Arkansas Department of Education
- G. English Language Learner State Categorical Funding
  Ms. Nell Smith, Administrator, Policy Analysis and Research Section, Bureau of Legislative Research
- H. Other Business
- I. Adjournment

Note: All exhibits for this meeting are available by electronic means and are accessible on the General Assembly's website at <a href="https://www.arkleg.state.ar.us">www.arkleg.state.ar.us</a>

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as 'Members and Staff Only'.