

# MINUTES SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

Meeting Jointly
Tuesday, November 9, 2021
10:00 AM
Room A, MAC
Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Missy Irvin, Chair; Joyce Elliott, Vice-Chair; Charles Beckham, Linda Chesterfield, Jane English, Greg Leding and James Sturch; Representatives Bruce Cozart, Chair; Brian S. Evans, Vice-Chair; Rick Beck, Gary Deffenbaugh, Megan Godfrey, Steve Hollowell, Gayla H. McKenzie, Stephen Meeks, Reginald Murdock, Stu Smith and DeAnn Vaught

Other members present: Senator Larry Teague; Representatives Fred Allen, Marsh Davis, Jim Dotson, Jon Eubanks, Kenneth Ferguson, Jack Fortner, Jack Ladyman, Tippy McCullough and Danny Watson

Senator Irvin called the meeting to order.

## Consideration to Approve the October 26, 2021, Meeting Minutes [Exhibit C]

Representative Evans made a motion to approve the minutes, seconded by Representative Godfrey, and without objection, the motion carried.

### Discussion Regarding the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021

Dr. Ivy Pfeffer, Deputy Commissioner, Division of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE), and Arijit Sarkar, Chief Information Officer (CIO), Division of Information Systems, DESE, presented an update on the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021. Dr. Pfeffer provided an overview of the Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER) transparency dashboard which provides the public an opportunity to access information about funding to improve student learning.

#### Consideration to Adopt Interim Study Proposals (ISPs) [Exhibits E1-E3]

Senator Chesterfield made a motion to adopt ISPs E1-E3, seconded by Representative Meeks, and without objection, the motion carried.

#### Presentation from Teach Plus Arkansas [Exhibit F] [Handout 1]

Senator Irvin recognized Teach Plus Arkansas (TPA) State Director, Stacey McAdoo. Ms. McAdoo provided and overview of TPA. Teach Plus Arkansas is a national non-profit organization with the mission to empower educators to take leadership roles on issues related to policy and practice to improve student success. The presentation included comments from Teacher Policy Fellows: Holley Howard and Brandie Loomis, Bentonville School District; Romana Mathews and Deon Harris, Forrest City School District; LaRon McAdoo, Little Rock School District; Kendria Jones, Pine Bluff School District; Michael Flowers, Pulaski County Special School District; and Dominique Bonill, Springdale School District.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:20