TENTATIVE AGENDA Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly

Thursday, August 28, 2008 10:00 AM Room 171, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

- Sen. Jim Argue, Chair Sen. Dave Bisbee, Vice Chair Sen. Gilbert Baker Sen. Jimmy Jeffress Sen. Steve Bryles Sen. Kim Hendren Sen. Shane Broadway Sen. Gene Jeffress
- Rep. Mike Kenney, Chair Rep. Bill Abernathy, Vice Chair Rep. Benny Petrus Rep. Jeff Wood Rep. Sid Rosenbaum Rep. Betty Pickett Rep. James Norton Rep. Janet Johnson Rep. Tommy Dickinson Rep. Tommy Dickinson Rep. Shirley Walters Rep. Eric Harris Rep. Michael Lamoureux Rep. Curren Everett Rep. Nancy Duffy Blount

Rep. Mark Martin Rep. Rick Saunders Rep. David Rainey Rep. David Cook Rep. Eddie Cheatham Rep. Toni Bradford Rep. Eddie Cooper, Non-Voting Rep. Rick Green, Non-Voting Rep. Eddie Hawkins, Non-Voting Rep. Tommy Lee Baker, Non-Voting Rep. Johnnie Roebuck, Non-Voting Rep. Bobby Pierce, Non-Voting Rep. Donna Hutchinson, Non-Voting Rep. Randy Stewart, Non-Voting Rep. Steven Breedlove, Non-Voting

- A. Call to Order 10:00 A.M.
- B. Approval of the Minutes of the August 12, 2008 and August 13, 2008 Meetings [Exhibits B1 and B2]
- C. Preliminary Discussion of the Recommendations of the Arkansas Task Force on Higher Education Remediation, Retention, and Graduation Rates [Exhibit C]
 Representative Johnnie Roebuck, Chair, Arkansas Task Force on Higher Education Remediation, Retention, and Graduation Rates

Agenda August 28, 2008 Page 2

- D. Preliminary Discussion of the Recommendations of the Governor's Task Force on Best Practices for After-School and Summer Programs [Exhibit D]
 Ms. Lynn Donald Carver, Co-Chair, Governor's Task Force on After-School and Summer Programs
- Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "*Members and Staff Only*"

- E. Review and Formal Adoption of the Report Concerning the Adequacy of Arkansas's System of Public Education
 Mr. Richard Wilson, Assistant Director for Research Services, Bureau of Legislative Research
 Ms. Nell Smith, Senior Legislative Analyst, Bureau of Legislative Research
- F. Other Business
- G. Adjournment