TENTATIVE AGENDA Senate Committee on Education

Wednesday, December 17, 2008
RESCHEDULED
Room 171, Dec. 22
Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jimmy Jeffress, Chair Sen. Steve Bryles. Vice Chair

Sen. Kim Hendren Sen. Shane Broadway Sen. Gene Jeffress Sen. Mary Anne Salmon Sen. Johnny Key Sen. Joyce Elliott

A. Call to Order 10:00 A.M.

- B. Approval of the Minutes of November 24, 2008 [Exhibit B]
- C. Discussion of Issues Pertaining to Teacher Performance Pay
 Dr. Gary Ritter, Director, Office of Educational Policy, College of Education and Health Professions,
 University of Arkansas
- D. Discussion of the Activities of the Commission on Closing the Achievement Gap in Arkansas
 Dr. Calvin Johnson, Dean, School of Education, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and former
 Member of the Arkansas House of Representatives
 Dr. Jesse Hargrove, Chair, Commission on Closing the Achievement Gap in Arkansas
 and Chair, Division of Education, Philander Smith College
- E. Discussion of Activities of the Arkansas Department of Education to Address Issues Related to the Achievement Gap
 - Dr. Ken James, Commissioner, Arkansas Department of Education
 - **Dr. Alice Barnes Rose**, Assistant Commissioner, Learning Services, Arkansas Department of Education **Ms. Deborah Coffman**, Associate Director, Professional Development, K-12 Literacy Arkansas Department of Education
- F. Other Business
- G. Adjournment

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"