

MINUTES SENATE COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC HEALTH, WELFARE, AND LABOR HOUSE COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC HEALTH, WELFARE, AND LABOR

Meeting Jointly
Tuesday, April 30, 2024
15 Minutes Upon Adjournment of Both Chambers
Room A, MAC
Little Rock, Arkansas

Committee members present: Senators Missy Irvin, Chair; Dan Sullivan, Vice Chair; Justin Boyd, Bryan King, Fredrick J. Love, Clint Penzo, David Wallace; Representatives Lee Johnson, Chair; Josh Miller, Vice Chair; Fred Allen, Mary Bentley, Jon S. Eubanks, Deborah Ferguson, Kenneth B. Ferguson, Justin Gonzales, Zack Gramlich, Jack Ladyman, Stephen Magie, Kendra Moore, Aaron Pilkington, R. Scott Richardson, Ryan A. Rose, Bart Schulz, and Jeremy Wooldridge

Other members present: Senator Breanne Davis

Representative Lee Johnson called the meeting.

Consideration to Approve the March 29, 2024, Meeting Minutes [Exhibit B] Without objection, the minutes were approved.

Discussion of Nursing Vacancies at State Human Development Centers (HDCs) [Exhibits C1-C3] Carole Sherman, President, Arkadelphia HDC Family & Friends Association and Chair, Public Affairs Committee, Families & Friends of Care Facility Residents; Kimberly Dodd, Vice President, Arkadelphia HDC Family & Friends Association and Secretary, Families & Friends of Care Residents; and Katrina Robertson, President, Booneville HDC Family & Friends Association and Member, Board of Directors, Families & Friends of Care Facility Residents; discussed how important the HDCs have been for their families. Melissa Weatherton, Director of Specialty Medicaid Services, DHS; and Tommy Tarpley, Interim Director of the Division of Developmental Disabilities Services, DHS; gave an update on a plan to increase salaries of existing and future licensed practical nurses and registered nurses.

Referral of Interim Study Proposal 2023-004 by Senator Justin Boyd – To Establish the Arkansas Kratom Consumer Protection Act; And to Remove Mitragynine and 7-Hydroxymitragynine, Also Known as Kratom, from the Controlled Substances List in Arkansas [Exhibit D] Senator Justin Boyd gave a brief description of Kratom and requested the ISP be referred to the Health Services Subcommittees for further discussion.

Representative Lee Johnson stated that without objection, ISP 2023-004 is referred to the Health Services Subcommittees.

Department of Human Services (DHS), Division of Medical Services, Review of Rule, Continuous Glucose Monitor and Diabetic Supplies Coverage & REPEALS: DDS Policy 3018 – Reporting of Denial of Access to Services; DDS Policy 3018 – Mortality Review of Deaths of Persons Receiving Alternative Community Services Waiver Services [Exhibit E]

Janet Mann, Deputy Secretary for Programs and State Medicaid Director, DHS; Elizabeth Pitman, Director, Division of Medical Services, DHS; and Mitch Rouse, Chief of Staff, DHS; discussed the rule pertaining to continuous glucose monitoring coverage.

Representative Miller made a motion to not review the rule, seconded by Representative Eubanks, and the motion failed.

Morgan Butler, RN, Certified Diabetes Care and Education Specialist; Jennifer Sellers, RN, Certified Diabetes Care and Education Specialist; and John Burris, Dexcom Representative, Capitol Advisors Group; spoke in favor of the rule regarding continuous glucose monitor and diabetic supplies coverage.

Representative Eubanks made a motion to hold the rule in committee, seconded by Representative Wooldridge, and the motion failed.

Representative Magie made a motion to take no action on the rule, seconded by Representative Pilkington, and the motion carried.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

