

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF NURSING

SUBJECT: Chapter Two: Licensure: RN, LPN, and LPTN

<u>DESCRIPTION</u>: The Arkansas State Board of Nursing is revising its current rules relating to Licensure. As a member of the compact, all participating states must adopt consistent rules with the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). Definition of terms and editorial changes were made throughout to align.

• The added provision of 60 days for a licensee to apply for a license in the new primary state of residence provides guidance for employers and licensee related to working on the privilege to practice in a new primary state of residence.

Arkansas Code Annotated § 17-3-102 was passed in 2019, replacing the Board of Nursing's statute and related rules to criminal convictions which are considered a bar to licensure. The duplicate rule of Ark. Code Ann. § 17-87-312 was not removed due to an oversight and is now repealed as it is unnecessary.

In 2017, legislation was passed which provided automatic licensure of uniformed service members, their spouses, and veterans. Each year the statute is modified, and the current changes reflect modifications made by Act 137 of 2023. Revisions were made to align.

PUBLIC COMMENT: A public hearing was held on February 28, 2024. The public comment period expired on March 8, 2024. The board provided the following summary of the comment it received and its response thereto:

<u>Commenter</u>: Janice Ivers, National Park College (Attended public comment hearing) <u>Comment</u>: She asked for clarification regarding Multistate Applicant Responsibilities 402.4 "A nurse shall not apply for a single state license in a remote state while the nurse holds a multistate license in their primary state of residence."

<u>Response</u>: Mrs. Tedford explained this provision is required by the Compact. She also defined the term "remote state" as any other Compact state outside the primary state of residence.

Suba Desikan, an attorney with the Bureau of Legislative Research, asked the following questions and received the following responses:

- 1. The following information was provided in the summary:
 - "Section III(B) 202(1) Changes made to align with statute and provide clarification." Could you please identify the statute(s) that require these changes? **RESPONSE:** Ark. Code Ann. § 17-87-601, Article IV(a).
 - "Section III(B) 203(1-3) This new rule defines full party state participation in the coordinated licensure system. This is required by statute." Could you please identify the statute(s) that require these changes? **RESPONSE:** Ark. Code Ann. § 17-87-601, Article VI(a).

- **2.** What is a "remote party state" as referenced in Section IV(D) 401(3)? **RESPONSE:** Ark. Code Ann. § 17-87-601, Article II(l) the definition of a remote state
- **3.** Concerning Section IV(D) 402(2), was the provision of 60 days for a licensee to apply for a license in a new primary state of residence, required by the National Licensure Compact? **RESPONSE:** The provision for applying within a specific number of days was a part of the original compact (passed by AR in 1999). It was removed from the enhanced compact (passed by AR in 2017) and is now being added back.
- **4.** Could you please identify the statute necessitating the changes in Section IV (D) 407 concerning active-duty military personnel? **RESPONSE:** The changes are editorial (changing home state to primary state of residence) for consistency within the Rules. Spouse was added to broaden the scope of the compact which aligns with Arkansas statute.

The proposed effective date is pending legislative review and approval.

<u>FINANCIAL IMPACT</u>: The board indicated that the amended rule does not have a financial impact.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION: The Arkansas State Board of Nursing has the power and responsibility to promulgate whatever rules it deems necessary for the implementation of Title 17, Chapter 87 of the Arkansas Code concerning nurses. *See* Ark. Code Ann. § 17-87-203(1). This rule implements Act 137 of 2023, sponsored by Senator Ricky Hill, which amended the Arkansas Occupational Licensing of Uniformed Service Members, Veterans, and Spouses Act of 2021; added consideration of national certification toward initial occupational licensure and extended the application to spouses; and eliminated the one-year limit for veterans to apply service education, training, or certifications toward initial occupational licensure.

QUESTIONNAIRE FOR FILING PROPOSED RULES WITH THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

DEP	PARTMENT
	ARD/COMMISSION
BOA	ARD/COMMISSION DIRECTOR
CON	NTACT PERSON
ADI	DRESS
PHC	ONE NO EMAIL
NAN	ME OF PRESENTER(S) AT SUBCOMMITTEE MEETING
PRE	CSENTER EMAIL(S)
	INSTRUCTIONS
Que wha	rder to file a proposed rule for legislative review and approval, please submit this Legislative stionnaire and Financial Impact Statement, and attach (1) a summary of the rule, describing t the rule does, the rule changes being proposed, and the reason for those changes; (2) both a kup and clean copy of the rule; and (3) all documents required by the Questionnaire.
of R	ne rule is being filed for permanent promulgation, please email these items to the attention ebecca Miller-Rice, miller-ricer@blr.arkansas.gov, for submission to the Administrative es Subcommittee.
Dire	the rule is being filed for emergency promulgation, please email these items to the attention of ector Marty Garrity, garritym@blr.arkansas.gov , for submission to the Executive committee.
Plea	se answer each question completely using layman terms.
****	*******************************
1.	What is the official title of this rule?
2.	What is the subject of the proposed rule?
3.	Is this rule being filed under the emergency provisions of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act? Yes No
	If yes, please attach the statement required by Ark. Code Ann. § $25-15-204(c)(1)$.
	If yes, will this emergency rule be promulgated under the permanent provisions of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act? Yes No

4.	Is this rule being filed for permanent promulgation? Yes No
	If yes, was this rule previously reviewed and approved under the emergency provisions of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act? Yes No
	If yes, what was the effective date of the emergency rule?
	On what date does the emergency rule expire?
5.	Is this rule required to comply with a <i>federal</i> statute, rule, or regulation? Yes No
	If yes, please provide the federal statute, rule, and/or regulation citation.
6.	Is this rule required to comply with a <i>state</i> statute or rule? Yes No
0.	
	If yes, please provide the state statute and/or rule citation.
7.	Are two (2) rules being repealed in accord with Executive Order 23-02? Yes No
	If yes, please list the rules being repealed. If no, please explain.
	N/A - these changes are amendments only and not a new rule.
8.	Is this a new rule? Yes No
	Does this repeal an existing rule? Yes No If yes, the proposed repeal should be designated by strikethrough. If it is being replaced with a new rule, please attach both the proposed rule to be repealed and the replacement rule.
	Is this an amendment to an existing rule? Yes No If yes, all changes should be indicated by strikethrough and underline. In addition, please be

sure to label the markup copy clearly as the markup.

9.	What is the state law that grants the agency its rulemaking authority for the proposed rule, outside of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act? Please provide the specific Arkansas Code citation(s), including subsection(s).
10.	Is the proposed rule the result of any recent legislation by the Arkansas General Assembly? Yes No
	If yes, please provide the year of the act(s) and act number(s).
11.	What is the reason for this proposed rule? Why is it necessary?

12.	provided in Ark. Code Ann. § 25-19-108(b)(1).
13.	Will a public hearing be held on this proposed rule? Yes No
	If yes, please complete the following:
	Date:
	Time:
	Place:
Pleas	se be sure to advise Bureau Staff if this information changes for any reason.
14.	On what date does the public comment period expire for the permanent promulgation of the rule? Please provide the specific date.
15.	What is the proposed effective date for this rule?
16.	Please attach (1) a copy of the notice required under Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(a)(1) and (2) proof of the publication of that notice.
17.	Please attach proof of filing the rule with the Secretary of State, as required by Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e)(1)(A).
18.	Please give the names of persons, groups, or organizations that you anticipate will comment on these rules. Please also provide their position (for or against), if known.
19.	Is the rule expected to be controversial? Yes No If yes, please explain.

FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY.

DEI	PARTMENT_
	ARD/COMMISSION
PER	RSON COMPLETING THIS STATEMENT
TEL	LEPHONE NO EMAIL
emai	omply with Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e), please complete the Financial Impact Statement and il it with the questionnaire, summary, markup and clean copy of the rule, and other documents. se attach additional pages, if necessary.
TIT	LE OF THIS RULE
1.	Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule have a financial impact? Yes No
2.	Is the rule based on the best reasonably obtainable scientific, technical, economic, or other evidence and information available concerning the need for, consequences of, and alternatives to the rule? Yes No
3.	In consideration of the alternatives to this rule, was this rule determined by the agency to be the least costly rule considered? Yes No
	If no, please explain:
	(a) how the additional benefits of the more costly rule justify its additional cost;
	(b) the reason for adoption of the more costly rule;
	(c) whether the reason for adoption of the more costly rule is based on the interests of public health, safety, or welfare, and if so, how; and
	(d) whether the reason for adoption of the more costly rule is within the scope of the agency's statutory authority, and if so, how.
4.	If the purpose of this rule is to implement a <i>federal</i> rule or regulation, please state the following:

(a) What is the cost to implement the federal rule or regulation?

	Next Fiscal Year
General Revenue	General Revenue
Federal Funds	Federal Funds
Cash Funds	Cash Funds
Special Revenue	Special Revenue
Other (Identify)	Other (Identify)
Total_\$0.00	Total_\$0.00
(b) What is the additional cost of the	
Current Fiscal Year	Next Fiscal Year
General Revenue	General Revenue
Federal Funds	Federal Funds
Cash Funds	Cash Funds
Special Revenue	Special Revenue
Other (Identify)	Other (Identify)
Total	
10tai	Total
	scal year to any private individual, private entity, or prended, or repealed rule? Please identify those subject
What is the total estimated cost by fis business subject to the proposed, amorule, and explain how they are affected Current Fiscal Year \$ What is the total estimated cost by fis implement this rule? Is this the cost	scal year to any private individual, private entity, or prended, or repealed rule? Please identify those subjected. Next Fiscal Year \$
What is the total estimated cost by fis business subject to the proposed, amorule, and explain how they are affected Current Fiscal Year \$ What is the total estimated cost by fis	scal year to any private individual, private entity, or prended, or repealed rule? Please identify those subjected.

7. With respect to the agency's answers to Questions #5 and #6 above, is there a new or increased cost or obligation of at least one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000) per year to a private individual, private entity, private business, state government, county government, municipal government, or to two (2) or more of those entities combined?

Yes No

If yes, the agency is required by Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e)(4) to file written findings at the time of filing the financial impact statement. The written findings shall be filed simultaneously with the financial impact statement and shall include, without limitation, the following:

- (1) a statement of the rule's basis and purpose;
- (2) the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule, including a statement of whether a rule is required by statute;
- (3) a description of the factual evidence that:
 - (a) justifies the agency's need for the proposed rule; and
 - (b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory objectives and justify the rule's costs:
- (4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;
- (5) a list of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public comment and the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;
- (6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or contributed to the problem, an explanation of why amendment or repeal of the rule creating or contributing to the problem is not a sufficient response; and
- (7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years to determine whether, based upon the evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without limitation, whether:
 - (a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives;
 - (b) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and
 - (c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve the statutory objectives.

PROPOSED COPY

CHAPTER TWO LICENSURE: RN, LPN, AND LPTN

SECTION I QUALIFICATIONS

- A. Completion of an approved high school course of study or the equivalent as determined by the appropriate educational agency.
- B. Possession of a valid United States Social Security Number (SSN) or has been issued Federal Form I-766 U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services-issued Employment Authorization Document.
- C. Completion of an approved nursing education program.
- D. The Arkansas State Board of Nursing (ASBN) may refuse to admit to the examination any candidate and refuse to issue a license, certificate, or registration to any applicant if the license, practice privilege, certificate, or registration of such person has been revoked or suspended or placed on probation and not reinstated by the jurisdiction which took such action.
- E. Effective January 1, 2000, no person shall be eligible to receive or hold a license issued by the Board if that person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, or been found guilty by any court in the State of Arkansas, or of any similar offense by a court in another state, or of any similar offense by a federal court of any offense listed in ACA §17-3-102.

HISTORY: Amended: January 1, 2018; December 29, 2018 Amended: June 4, 2021

SECTION II EXAMINATION

A. ELIGIBILITY

The applicant shall meet the licensure requirements of the Board.

B. APPLICATION

- 1. Applications for examination shall be completed and filed with the Board prior to the examination.
- 2. Examination applications shall not be acceptable if the director or chairman of an educational program has certified the applicant prior to date of completion.
- 3. Applicants for licensure by examination shall not be deemed eligible to take the licensure examination until such time that the results of the state and federal criminal background checks have been received.

C. FEE

- 1. The application fee shall accompany the application.
- 2. The application fee (first time or retake) is not refundable.
- 3. The fees for the state and federal criminal background checks are the responsibility of the applicant and shall be submitted to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing with the application for same.
- 4. The fees for criminal background checks are determined by the Arkansas State Police and the FBI and are not refundable.

D. PASSING SCORE

The passing score on the licensure examination shall be determined by the Board.

PROPOSED COPY

E. FAILING SCORE AND ELIGIBILITY TO RETAKE THE EXAMINATION

- 1. Any applicant whose score falls below the passing score shall fail the examination.
- 2. Persons failing the examination will be responsible for preparing to retake the examination.
- 3. The frequency and number of retests by unsuccessful candidates shall be determined by the Board.
- 4. Applicants retaking the examination shall have state and federal criminal background checks within the past twelve months on file with the Board.

F. RESULTS

- 1. Examination results shall not be released until the applicant's official transcript is received from the school.
- 2. Examination results shall be made available to all applicants and to their respective schools.

G. INTERNATIONALLY EDUCATED NURSES

- 1. The applicant must present evidence of:
 - a. Graduation from an approved or accredited school of nursing as a registered nurse or first-level nurse.
 - b. Licensure or proof of eligibility for licensure in the country of graduation.
 - c. Theory and practice in medical, surgical, pediatric, obstetric, and psychiatric nursing which is substantially similar in length and content to that in equivalent Arkansas Board approved nursing programs at the time of application as verified by a credentials review agency.
 - d. State and federal criminal background checks within the past twelve months on file with the Board.
 - e. Credentials review by a Board approved credentialing evaluation agency, which includes verification of the candidate's education, training, experience, and licensure with respect to the statutory and regulatory requirements for the nursing profession, as well as oral and written competence in English.
- 2. Applicants shall be required to take such licensure examinations as required of Arkansas Board approved nursing education programs.

H. EQUIVALENCIES

- LPTN to LPN: Candidates holding LPTN licensure who completed Arkansas Board approved LPTN programs after March 18, 1980, may be admitted to the LPN licensure examination provided they are otherwise qualified.
- 2. RN examination failures: Graduates of Board approved RN programs, upon submission of an official transcript directly from the school, and a copy of their RN examination failure results, may be admitted to the PN licensure examination provided they are otherwise qualified.

I. DEFERRED ACTION FOR CHILDHOOD ARRIVALS (DACA)

- 1. Arkansas State Board of Nursing may grant a license to an individual who, in addition to fulfilling the requirements to practice nursing in this state, satisfies the following requirements:
 - a. The United States Department of Homeland Security has approved the individual's request for exemption under the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals policy (DACA);
 - b. The individual's exemption status under the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals policy has not expired or has been properly renewed;
 - The individual has a current and valid employment authorization document issued by the United States
 Citizen and Immigration Service;
 - d. The individual does not have a criminal record of felonies or serious misdemeanors.
- 2. If at any time after licensure, the individual's exemption status under the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals expires or is withdrawn for any reason the individual shall immediately surrender their license. If the individual fails to surrender their license, the Arkansas State Board of Nursing shall suspend or not renew the individual's license.

HISTORY: Amended: January 1, 2018

Amended July 1, 2020

PROPOSED COPY

SECTION III INTERSTATE NURSE LICENSURE COMPACT

A. DEFINITIONS - SECTION 100

- 1. "Commission" means is the Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators (ICNLCA).
- 2. "Compact" means is the Nurse Licensure Compact that became effective on July 20, 2017 and implemented on January 19, 2018.
- "Convert" means to change a multistate license to a single state license if a nurse changes primary state of
 residence by moving from a party state to a non-party state; or to change a single state license to a multistate
 license once any disqualifying events are eliminated.
- 4. "Deactivate" means is to terminate the active status ehange the status of a multistate license or privilege to practice in a party state.
- 5. "Executive Director of the ICNLCA" means is the individual approved to perform duties as delegated by the Commission. referred to in Article IV of the Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators Bylaws.
- 6. "Disqualifying Event" means is an incident, which results in a person becoming disqualified or ineligible to retain or renew a multistate license. These include but are not limited to the following: any adverse action resulting in an encumbrance as defined in Article II e, current participation in an alternative program, a misdemeanor offense related to the practice of nursing (which includes, but is not limited to, an agreed disposition), or a any felony offense (which includes, but is not limited to, an agreed disposition).
- 7. "Independent Credentials Review Agency" means is a non-governmental evaluation agency that verifies and certifies that foreign nurse graduates have graduated from nursing programs that are academically equivalent to nursing programs in the United States.
- 8. "Licensure" includes the authority to practice nursing granted through the process of examination, endorsement, renewal, reinstatement and/or reactivation.
- 9. "Prior Compact" means is the Nurse Licensure Compact that was in effect until January 19, 2018.
- 10. "Unencumbered License" means is a license that authorizes a nurse to engage in the full and unrestricted practice of nursing.

B. COORDINATED LICENSURE INFORMATION SYSTEM - SECTION 200

201. UNIFORM DATA SET AND LEVELS OF ACCESS

- 1. The Compact Administrator of each party state shall furnish uniform data to the Coordinated Licensure Information System, which shall consist of the following:
 - a. the nurse's name;
 - b. jurisdiction of licensure;
 - c. license expiration date;
 - d. licensure classification, license number and status;
 - e. public emergency and final disciplinary actions, as defined by the contributing state authority;
 - f. a change in the status of a disciplinary action or licensure encumbrance;
 - g. status of multistate licensure privileges;
 - h. current participation by the nurse in an alternative program;
 - i. information that is required to be expunged by the laws of a party state;
 - j. the applicant or nurse's United States social security number;
 - k. the existence of current significant investigative information; and
 - 1. a correction to a licensee's data.
- 2. The public shall have access to items (1)(a) through (g) and information about a licensee's participation in an alternative program to the extent allowed by state law.
- 3. In the event a nurse asserts that any Coordinated Licensure Information System data is inaccurate, the burden shall be upon the nurse to provide evidence in a manner determined by the party state that substantiates such claim.

PROPOSED COPY

4. A party state shall report the items in the uniform data set to the Coordinated Licensure Information System within fifteen (15) calendar days of the date on which the action is taken.

202. QUERYING THE COORDINATED LICENSURE INFORMATION SYSTEM

- 1. Upon application for multistate licensure, with the exception of renewal by a nurse, a party state shall query the Coordinated Licensure Information System to determine ascertain the applicant's current licensure status, previous disciplinary action(s), and member board notifications related to current participation in an alternative program, and any or current significant investigative information.
- 2. Upon discovery that an applicant is under investigation in another party state, the party state in receipt of the nurse licensure application shall contact the investigating party state and may request investigative documents and information.

203. PARTICIPATION IN COORDINATED LICENSURE INFORMATION SYSTEM

All party states shall participate in a coordinated licensure information system of all licensed registered nurses and licensed practical/vocational nurses. Such participation includes participation in all of the following components:

- 1. Licensure information, which includes the Uniform Data Set as described in Rule 201(1); and
- 2. Submission of the disciplinary history of each nurse, including information regarding adverse actions taken against a license, application, and/or multistate licensure privilege; and
- 3. Participation in the licensure verification service for endorsement.

C. IMPLEMENTATION - SECTION 300

301. IMPLEMENTATION DATE

The Compact shall be was implemented on January 19, 2018.

302. TRANSITION LEGACY CLAUSE

- 1. A nurse who held a multistate license as of July 20, 2017, whose multistate license remained unencumbered as of the January 19, 2018 implementation, and who retained that multistate license, was not required to meet the new requirements for a multistate license under this Compact.a. A nurse who holds a multistate license on the Compact effective date of July 20, 2017, and whose multistate license remains unencumbered on the January 19, 2018 implementation date and who maintains and renews a multistate license is not required to meet the new requirements for a multistate license under the Compact.
- 2. A nurse who retained a multistate license pursuant to subsection (1) of this section and who changes primary state of residence after January 19, 2018, must meet all applicable Article III (c) requirements to obtain a multistate license from a new primary state of residence.
 - b. A nurse who retained a multistate license pursuant to subsection (a) of this section and subsequently incurs a disqualifying event shall have the multistate license revoked or deactivated pursuant to the laws of the home state.
- 3.e. A nurse whose multistate license is revoked or deactivated may be eligible for a single state license in accordance with the laws of the party state.
- 2. A nurse who applies for a multistate license after July 20, 2017, shall be required to meet the requirements of Article III (c) of the Compact.
- 3. During the transition period, a licensee who holds a single state license in a Compact state that was not a member of the prior Compact and who also holds a multistate license in a party state, may retain the single state license until it lapses, expires or becomes inactive."
- 4. After the implementation date, party states shall not renew or reinstate a single state license if the nurse has a multistate license in another party state.

303. RECOGNITION OF IMPLEMENTATION BY NEW PARTY STATES AFTER JANUARY 19, 2018

- 1. All <u>The Executive Director shall notify</u> party states shall be notified by the Commission within fifteen (15) calendar days <u>after</u> when a new party state enacts the Compact.
- 2. The new party state shall establish an implementation date six (6) within twelve (12) months from

PROPOSED COPY

- enactment or as specified in the enabling language, and shall notify the **Executive** Director of the date.
- 3. Upon implementation, a new state licensee who holds a single state license in a Compact the new party state that was not a member of the prior Compact and holds a multistate license in a party the new home state, may retain the single state license until it lapses, expires or becomes inactive.
- 4. At least ninety (90) calendar days prior to the <u>new party state</u> implementation date, all other party states shall notify any active single state licensee with an address in the new party state that the licensee may only hold one multistate license in the primary state of residence. The licensee shall be advised to obtain or maintain a multistate license only from the primary state of residence.
- 5. Each party state shall deactivate a multistate license when a new home state issues a multistate license.

D. LICENSURE - SECTION 400

401. PARTY STATE RESPONSIBILITIES

- 1. On all application forms for multistate licensure, a party state shall require, at a minimum:
 - a. A declaration of a primary state of residence and
 - b. Whether the applicant is a current participant in an alternative program.
- 2. a. An applicant for licensure who is determined to be ineligible for a multistate license shall be notified by the home state of the qualifications not met.
 - b. The home state may issue a single state license pursuant to its laws.
- 3. A <u>remote</u> party state shall not issue a single state license to a nurse who holds a multistate license in another party state.

402. MULTISTATE APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES

- 1. On all application forms for multistate licensure in a party state, an applicant shall declare a primary state of residence.
- 2. A <u>multistate licensee</u> nurse who changes primary state of residence to another party state shall apply for a license in the new party state <u>within 60 days</u>, when the nurse declares to be a resident of the state and obtains privileges not ordinarily extended to nonresidents of the state, including but not limited to, those listed in 402 (4) (a) (e).
- 3. A nurse shall not apply for a single state license in a party state while the nurse holds a multistate license in another party state.
- 3. 4. A party state may require an applicant to provide evidence of residence in the declared primary state of residence. This evidence may include, but is not limited to, a current:
 - a. driver's license with a home address;
 - b. voter registration card with a home address;
 - c. federal income tax return with a primary state of residence declaration;
 - d. military form no. 2058 (state of legal residence certificate); or
 - e. W2 form from the United States government or any bureau, division, or agency thereof, indicating residence.

4. A nurse shall not apply for a single state license in a remote state while the nurse holds a multistate license in their primary state of residence.

- 5. An applicant who is a citizen of a foreign country, and who is lawfully present in the United States and is applying for multistate licensure in a party state may declare either the applicant's country of origin or the party state where they are living as the primary state of residence. If the applicant declares the foreign country as the primary state of residence, the party state shall not issue a multistate license, but may issue a single state license if the applicant meets the party state's licensure requirements.
- 6. An applicant shall disclose current participation in an alternative program to any party state, whether upon initial application or within ten (10) calendar days of enrollment in the program.

403. CHANGE IN PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE

- 1. A nurse who changes his or her primary state of residence from one party state to another party state may continue to practice under the existing multistate license while the nurse's application is processed and a multistate license is issued in the new primary state of residence.
- 2. Upon issuance of a new multistate license, the former primary state of residence shall deactivate its multistate license held by the nurse and provide notice to the nurse.

PROPOSED COPY

3. If a party state verifies that a licensee who holds a multistate license changes primary state of residence to a non-party state, the party state shall convert the multistate license to a single state license within fifteen (15) calendar days, and report this conversion to the Coordinated Licensure Information System.

404. TEMPORARY PERMITS AND LICENSES

A temporary permit, license, or similar temporary authorization to practice issued by a party state to an applicant for licensure shall not grant multistate licensure privileges.

405. IDENTIFICATION OF LICENSES

A <u>party state shall</u> license issued by a party state shall be clearly identified identify a license as either a single state license or a multistate license.

406. CREDENTIALING AND ENGLISH PROFICIENCY FOR FOREIGN NURSE GRADUATES

- 1. A party state shall verify that an independent credentials review agency evaluated the credentials of graduates as set forth in Article III (c)(2)ii.
- 2. The party state shall verify successful completion of an English proficiency examination for graduates as set forth in Article III (e)(3).

407. DEACTIVATION, DISCIPLINE AND REVOCATION

A party state shall determine whether a disqualifying event will result in adverse action or deactivation of a multistate license or privilege. Upon deactivation due to a disqualifying event, the home state may issue a single state license.

406 408. FEDERAL CRIMINAL RECORDS

Communication between a party state and the Commission and communication between party states regarding verification of the nurse's eligibility for licensure pursuant to the Compact shall not include any Criminal History Record Information (CHRI) received from the Federal Bureau of Investigation relating to a federal criminal records check performed by a member board under Public Law 92-544

407409. ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY PERSONNEL OR THEIR SPOUSE

An active duty service member, or the member's spouse, shall designate a home state primary state of residence where the service member or spouse has a current license in good standing. The service member or spouse may retain the home state primary state of residence designation during the period the service member or spouse is on active duty. Subsequent to designating a home state primary state of residence, the service member or spouse shall only change home state primary state of residence through application for licensure in the new primary state of residence.

E. ADMINISTRATION - SECTION 500

501. DUES ASSESSMENT

- 1. The Commission shall determine the annual assessment to be paid by party states. The assessment formula is a flat fee per party state. The Commission shall provide public notice of any proposed revision to the annual assessment fee at least ninety (90) calendar days prior to the Commission meeting to consider the proposed revision.
- 2. The annual assessment shall be due within the Commission's first fiscal year after the a new party state's implementation date and annually thereafter.

502. DISPUTE RESOLUTION

- 1. In the event that two or more party states have a dispute, the parties shall attempt resolution following the steps set out in this rule.
- 2. The parties shall first attempt informal resolution. The Compact Administrators in the states involved shall contact each other. Each Compact Administrator shall submit a written statement describing the situation to the other Compact Administrators involved in the dispute. Each Compact Administrator may submit a response. The submission of the statement and the response shall be in a mutually agreed upon time. If the

PROPOSED COPY

dispute is related to an interpretation of the Compact, the parties shall request contact the Executive Director to request assistance from the Executive Committee. If all issues are resolved, no further action is required and all party state Compact Administrators shall be informed of the result. If any issue remains unresolved, the parties shall notify the Executive Committee, through the Executive Director to request mediation and provide the Executive Committee with a concise statement of unresolved issue(s) and analysis including references to NLC statutes, rules and any supporting documents. The Executive Committee may refer the matter to the Compliance Committee. After review by the Compliance Committee, its recommendations will be sent to the parties and the Executive Committee for further review.

- 3. a. A party state that has a dispute with one or more other party states, and informal resolution was unsuccessful, shall attempt mediation. Mediation shall be conducted by a mediator appointed by the Executive Committee from a list of mediators approved by the National Association of Certified Mediators or as agreed to by all parties. If all issues are resolved through mediation, no further action is required. If mediation is unsuccessful, the parties shall submit to binding dispute resolution.
 - b. The costs of mediation shall be shared by all party states involved.
 - c. All party state Compact Administrators shall be notified of all issues and disputes that rise to the mediation stage in order to comment on those matters and disputes that may impact all party states.
- 4. a. In the event of a dispute between party states that was not resolved through informal resolution or mediation, the party states shall submit to binding dispute resolution. The parties may choose binding dispute resolution either by submitting the question <u>in</u> dispute to the Commission for final action or by arbitration.
 - b. All party states involved shall agree in order to proceed with arbitration. In the absence of agreement, the matter shall be referred to the Commission for final determination.
 - c. Each party state involved shall be responsible for its own respective expenses, including attorney fees.
 - d. The party state Compact Administrators involved in the dispute shall recuse themselves from consideration or voting by the full Commission.

503. COMPLIANCE AND ENFORCEMENT

- 1. Compliance and enforcement issues shall be initiated by the Executive Committee.
- 2. The Executive Committee, through the **Executive** Director, shall send a written statement to the Compact Administrator in the party state with the alleged non-compliance issue. That Compact Administrator shall respond to the written statement within thirty calendar days.
- 3. The Compact Administrator may appear before the Executive Committee at a time and place as designated by the Executive Committee.
- 4. The Executive Committee shall make a recommendation to the Commission concerning the issue of non-compliance.

Amended: December 29, 2018 Amended: August 10, 2020; June 4, 2021; **2023**

SECTION IV ENDORSEMENT

A. ELIGIBILITY

- 1. An applicant for licensure by endorsement must meet the requirements of the Board at the time of graduation.
- 2. An applicant licensed in another state after January 1950 must have taken a state board licensing examination and achieved a passing score.
- 3. LPTN applicants will be accepted from California and Kansas only.
- 4. Internationally educated nurses practicing in other states may appeal to the Board for licensure if not otherwise qualified.
- 5. An applicant for licensure by endorsement who has not been engaged in the active practice of nursing for a period greater than five (5) years shall document completion of the following:
 - a. Completion of a Arkansas board approved refresher course within one (1) year of the date of application; or
 - b. Graduation from an approved nursing education program within one year of the date of application; and

PROPOSED COPY

c. Provide other evidence as requested by the Board.

B. EQUIVALENCIES

- 1. RN examination failures: Graduates of Board approved RN programs, holding LPN licensure by examination in other jurisdictions, may be endorsed provided they are otherwise qualified.
- Canadian Registered Nurses licensed by NLN State Board Test Pool Examination in the following provinces during the years indicated: Alberta, 1952-1970; British Columbia, 1949-1970; Manitoba, 1955-1970; Newfoundland, 1961-1970; Nova Scotia, 1955-1970; Prince Edward Island, 1956-1970; Quebec (English language), 1959-1970; and Saskatchewan, 1956-1970. These applicants may be endorsed provided they are otherwise qualified.

C. APPLICATION

- 1. Applications must be completed and filed with the Board.
- 2. Endorsement certification will be accepted from the state of original licensure only.
- 3. Applicants for licensure by endorsement shall not be issued a permanent license to practice until such time that the results of the state and federal criminal background checks have been received.

D. FEE

- 1. The endorsement fee must accompany the application.
- 2. The fees for the state and federal criminal background checks are the responsibility of the applicant and shall be submitted to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing with the application for same.
- 3. The fees are not refundable.

HISTORY: Amended: January 1, 2018

SECTION V CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK

- A. No application for issuance of an initial license will be considered without state and federal criminal background checks by the Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
- B. Federal background checks originating within the State of Arkansas shall be submitted electronically.
- C. Each applicant shall sign a release of information on the criminal background check application and licensure applications and shall be solely responsible for the payment of any fees associated with the state and federal criminal background checks.
- D. Upon completion of the state and federal criminal background checks, the Identification Bureau of the Arkansas State Police shall forward all information obtained concerning the applicant in the commission of any offense listed in ACA §17-3-102.
- E. The state and federal criminal background checks conducted by the Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation shall have been completed no earlier than twelve (12) months prior to the application for an initial license issued by the ASBN and at any other time thereafter that the Board deems necessary.
- F. The ASBN shall not issue a permanent license until the state and federal criminal background checks conducted by the Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation have been completed.
- G. Pursuant to Act 990 of 2019, an individual may petition for a pre-licensure determination of whether the individual's criminal record will disqualify the individual from licensure and whether a waiver may be obtained.
 - 1. A request for a waiver shall be in writing and accompany the completed application and fees.

PROPOSED COPY

- 2. All decisions of the Board in response to the petition will be determined by the information provided by the individual.
- 3. The Board's response shall state the reason(s) for the decision.
- 4. Any decision made by the Board in response to a pre-licensure criminal background waiver petition is not subject to appeal.
- H. A waiver of the denial of licensure pursuant to the provisions of ACA §17-3-102 is not required for individuals who held a valid license on July 24, 2019, an individual who held a valid license on or before July 24, 2019, but failed to renew his or her license for any reason; or, an individual who was a student on or before July 24, 2019, in a nursing school or program.
- I. A request to seek waiver of the denial of licensure pursuant to the provisions of ACA §17-3-102 17-87-312 may be made to the ASBN by:
 - 1. The affected applicant for licensure; or
 - 2. The person holding a license subject to revocation.
- J. The request for a waiver shall be made in writing to the Director or designee within thirty (30) calendar days after notification of denial of a license. The request for waiver shall include, but not be limited to the following:
 - 1. Certified copy of court records indicating grounds for conviction; and
 - 2. Any other pertinent documentation to indicate surrounding circumstances.
- K. If an individual notifies ASBN in writing that he or she desires a hearing regarding their request for a waiver, the ASBN will schedule the individual for a hearing pursuant to the Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act.
- L. In compliance with ACA §17–87–312, whenever a criminal background check is performed on a person under the provisions of the criminal background check requirement contained in the Arkansas Code for licensure, the person may be disqualified for licensure if it is determined that the person committed a violation of any sexual offense formerly proscribed under ACA §§5–14–101 through 5–14–127 that is substantially equivalent to any sexual offense presently listed in ACA §§5–14–101 through 5–14–127 and is an offense screened for in a criminal background check.

HISTORY: Amended: June 4, 2021; 2023

SECTION VI TEMPORARY PERMITS

A. ENDORSEMENT AND EXAMINATION APPLICANTS

- 1. ASBN shall be authorized to issue a nonrenewable temporary permit for a period not exceeding six months. This temporary permit shall be issued only to those applicants who meet all other qualifications for licensure by the ASBN.
- The temporary permit shall immediately become invalid upon receipt of information obtained from the state
 or federal criminal background check indicating any offense listed in ACA §17-3-102 or upon notification to
 the applicant or ASBN of results on the first licensure examination he or she is eligible to take after the
 permit is issued.
- 3. Falsification of the applicant's criminal record history shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the Board.

B. FEES AND APPLICATIONS

- 1. The temporary permit fee shall be submitted with the application.
- 2. The fee is not refundable.

HISTORY: Amended: January 1, 2018; December 29, 2018 Amended: June 4, 2021; October 6, 2021; Amended: May 1, 2022

PROPOSED COPY

SECTION VII CONTINUING EDUCATION

Each person holding an active license or applying for reinstatement of a license under the provisions of the *Nurse Practice Act* shall be required to complete certain continuing education requirements prior to licensure renewal or reinstatement.

A. DECLARATION OF COMPLIANCE

Each nurse shall declare his or her compliance with the requirements for continuing education at the time of license renewal or reinstatement. The declaration shall be made at the time of renewal.

B. AUDITS OF LICENSEES

- 1. The Board shall perform random audits of licensees for compliance with the continuing education requirement.
- 2. If audited, the licensee shall prove participation in the required continuing education during the 24-months immediately preceding the renewal date by presenting photocopies of original certificates of completion to the Board.
- 3. The licensee shall provide evidence of continuing education requirements within thirty (30) calendar days from the mailing date of the audit notification letter sent from the Board to the last known address of the licensee.

C. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT STANDARDS

- 1. Standards for Renewal of Active Licensure Status. Licensees who hold an active nursing license shall document completion of one of the following during each renewal period:
 - a. Fifteen (15) practice focused contact hours from a nationally recognized or state continuing education approval body recognized by the ASBN; or
 - b. Certification or re-certification during the renewal period by a national certifying body recognized by the ASBN; or
 - c. An academic course in nursing or related field; and
 - d. Provide other evidence as requested by the Board.
 - e. Effective January 1, 2010, APRNs with prescriptive authority shall complete five (5) contact hours of pharmacotherapeutics continuing education in the APRN's area of certification each biennium prior to license renewal.
- 2. Standards for Nurses on Inactive Status. Nurses who have their license placed on inactive status have no requirements for continuing education.
- 3. Standards for Reinstatement of Active Licensure Status
 - a. Nurses reinstating a nursing license to active status within five years or less shall document completion of the following within the past two (2) years:
 - 1. Twenty (20) practice focused contact hours within the past two years from a nationally recognized or state continuing education approval body recognized by the ASBN, or
 - 2. Certification or re-certification by a national certifying body recognized by the ASBN; or
 - 3. An academic course in nursing or related field; and/or
 - 4. Provide other evidence as requested by the Board.
 - b. Nurses reinstating a nursing license to active status after greater than five (5) years shall document

PROPOSED COPY

completion of the following:

- 1. Twenty (20) practice focused contact hours within the past two (2) years from a nationally recognized or state continuing education approval body recognized by the Arkansas State Board of Nursing, or
- 2. Certification or re-certification by a national certifying body recognized by the ASBN; or
- 3. An academic course in nursing or related field; and
- 4. Active practice of nursing for a minimum of one thousand hours (1,000) within the two years immediately prior to application. Verification of employment shall be submitted; or
- 5. Completion of a Arkansas board approved refresher course within one (1) year of the date of application; or
- 6. Graduation from an approved nursing education program within one (1) year of the date of application, and
- 7. Provide other evidence as requested by the Board.
- 4. Standards for Reinstatement of Prescriptive Authority Effective January 1, 2010, APRNs whose prescriptive authority is inactive shall complete five (5) contact hours of pharmacotherapeutics continuing education in the APRN's area of certification for each twelve (12) months of non-prescribing activity in addition to the five (5) contact hours required for APRN license renewal, as noted in Chapter 4, III(F)(7), prior to reactivation of prescriptive authority.
- 5. The Board may issue a temporary permit to a nurse during the time enrolled in a Board approved nursing refresher course or an employer competency orientation program upon submission of an application, fees, and verification of enrollment in such program.
- 6. Continuing education hours beyond the required contact hours shall not be "carried over" to the next renewal period.

D. RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE INDIVIDUAL LICENSEE

- 1. It shall be the responsibility of each licensee to select and participate in those continuing activities that will meet the criteria for acceptable continuing education as specified in ACA §17-87-207 and these rules.
- 2. It shall be the licensee's responsibility to maintain records of continuing education as well as documented proof such as original certificates of attendance, contact hour certificates, academic transcripts or grade slips and to submit copies of this evidence when requested by the Board.
- 3. Records shall be maintained by the licensee for a minimum of two consecutive renewal periods or four years.

E. RECOGNITION OF PROVIDERS

- 1. The Board shall identify organizations, agencies, and groups that shall be recognized as valid approval bodies/providers of nursing continuing education. The recognition may include providers approved by national organizations and state agencies with comparable standards.
- The Board shall work with professional organizations, approved nursing schools, and other providers of
 continuing educational programs to ensure that continuing education activities are available to nurses in
 Arkansas.

F. ACTIVITIES ACCEPTABLE FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION

- Activities presented by recognized providers which may be acceptable include: national/regional educational
 conferences, classroom instruction, individualized instruction (home study/programmed instruction),
 academic courses, and institutional based instruction; and
- 2. The content shall be relevant to nursing practice and provide for professional growth of the licensee.
- 3. If participation is in an academic course or other program in which grades are given, a grade equivalent to "C" or better shall be required, or "pass" on a pass/fail grading system. An academic course may also be taken as "audit", provided that class attendance is verified by the instructor.
- 4. Volunteer service as defined in ACA §20-8-801 et. seq.

G. ACTIVITIES WHICH ARE NOT ACCEPTABLE AS CONTINUING EDUCATION

- 1. In-service programs. Activities intended to assist the nurse to acquire, maintain, and/or increase the competence in fulfilling the assigned responsibilities specific to the expectations of the employer.
- 2. Refresher courses. Programs designed to update basic general knowledge and clinical practice, which consist

PROPOSED COPY

- of a didactic and clinical component to ensure entry-level competencies into nursing practice.
- 3. Orientation programs. A program by which new staff are introduced to the philosophy, goals, policies, procedures, role expectations, physical facilities, and special services in a specific work setting. Orientation is provided at the time of employment and at other times when changes in roles and responsibilities occur in a specific work setting.
- 4. Courses designed for lay people.

H. INDIVIDUAL REVIEW OF A CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITY PROVIDED BY A NON-RECOGNIZED AGENCY/ORGANIZATION

- 1. A licensee may request an individual review by:
 - a. Submitting an "Application for Individual Review"; and
 - Paying a fee.
- Approval of a non-recognized continuing educational activity shall be limited to the specific event under consideration.

I. FAILURE TO COMPLY

- 1. Any licensee who fails to complete continuing education or who falsely certifies completion of continuing education shall be subject to disciplinary action, non-renewal of the nurse's license, or both, pursuant to ACA §17-87-207 and A.C.A §17-87-309(a)(1) and (a)(6).
- 2. If the Board determines that a licensee has failed to comply with continuing education requirements, the licensee will:
 - a. Be allowed to meet continuing education requirements within ninety (90) days of notification of non-compliance.
 - b. Be assessed a late fee for each contact hour that requirements are not met after the ninety (90) day grace period and be issued a Letter of Reprimand. Failure to pay the fee may result in further disciplinary action.

HISTORY: Amended: January 1, 2018 Amended: May 15, 2020; June 4, 2021

SECTION VIII RENEWALS

A. Each person licensed under the provisions of the *Nurse Practice Act* shall renew biennially.

- 1. Sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date, the Board shall mail a renewal notice to the last known address of each nurse to whom a license was issued or renewed during the current period.
- 2. The application shall be completed before the license renewal is processed.
- 3. The fee for renewal shall accompany the application.
- 4. The fee is not refundable.
- 5. Pursuant to Act 204 of 2017, upon notification of active-duty status and submission of appropriate documentation, the license renewal fee will be waived for members of the military.

B. LAPSED LICENSE

- 1. The license is lapsed if not renewed or placed in inactive status by the expiration date.
- 2. Failure to receive the renewal notice at the last address of record in the Board office shall not relieve the licensee of the responsibility for renewing the license by the expiration date.
- 3. Any licensee whose license has lapsed shall file a renewal application and pay the current renewal fee and the late fee.
- 4. Any person practicing nursing during the time his or her license has lapsed shall be considered an illegal

PROPOSED COPY

practitioner and shall be subject to the penalties provided for violation of the Nurse Practice Act.

C. INACTIVE STATUS

- 1. Any licensee who desires to temporarily inactivate their nursing license in this state, shall submit a request and the current license shall be placed on inactive status.
- 2. While inactive, the licensee shall not practice nursing nor be subject to the payment of renewal fees.
- 3. When the licensee desires to resume practice, he or she shall submit a reinstatement application and meet the continuing education requirements.
- 4. When disciplinary proceedings have been initiated against an inactive licensee, the license shall not be reinstated until the proceedings have been completed.

D. RETIRED NURSE

- 1. Any licensee in good standing, who desires to retire for any length of time from the practice of nursing in this state, shall submit a request and the current license shall be placed on retired status.
- 2. While retired, the licensee shall not practice nursing, however:
 - a. A registered nurse with a retired license status may use the title "Registered Nurse", or the abbreviation "RN"; and
 - b. A practical nurse with a retired license status may use the title "Licensed Practice Nurse", or the abbreviation "LPN"; and
 - c. A psychiatric technician nurse with a retired license status may use the title "Licensed Psychiatric Technician Nurse", or the abbreviation "LPTN"; and
 - d. An advanced practice registered nurse with a retired license status may use the title "Advanced Practice Registered Nurse", or the abbreviation "APRN".
- 3. When the licensee desires to resume practice, he or she shall submit a reinstatement application and meet the continuing education requirements.
- 4. When disciplinary proceedings have been initiated against a retired licensee, the license shall not be reinstated until the proceedings have been completed.
- E. The licensee may be required to submit to a state and federal criminal background check if the Board deems it necessary.
 - 1. A waiver is not required for renewal of a license for an individual convicted of a crime listed in ACA 17-3-102 if:
 - a. The licensee has completed the waiver requirements at the time of initial licensure; or
 - b. Was licensed prior to July 24, 2019; or
 - c. Attended a professional or occupational school, program, or training in pursuit of an occupational license before the enactment of subsection (a) (July 24, 2019) and would have been qualified to hold an occupational license on or before July 24, 2019.

HISTORY: Amended: January 1, 2018; December 29, 2018

SECTION IX CERTIFICATION/VERIFICATION TO ANOTHER JURISDICTION

Upon payment of a certification/verification fee, a nurse seeking licensure in another state may have a certified statement of Arkansas licensure issued to the Board of Nursing in that state.

SECTION X NAME OR ADDRESS CHANGE

A. A licensee, whose name is legally changed, shall submit a name change request, copy of marriage license, or court action, and the required fee.

PROPOSED COPY

B. A licensee, whose address changes from the address on file with the Board, shall immediately notify the Board in writing of the change.

HISTORY: Amended May 15, 2022

SECTION XI

LICENSURE FOR UNIFORMED SERVICE MEMBERS, VETERANS AND SPOUSES

A. EXPEDITED AUTOMATIC LICENSURE

- 1. Temporary permits for individuals listed in Section XI(A)(2) shall be issued within twenty-four (24) hours of receipt of all required documents.
- 2. The Board will give preference in the order of processing to applications for full licensure filed by the following individuals:
 - a. A uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas;
 - b. A uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; or
 - c. The spouse of a:
 - 1) Person under (a) or (b) above; or
 - Uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to Arkansas; or
 - 3) Uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in Arkansas.

B. EXTENSION OF LICENSURE EXPIRATION DATE

Upon written request and submission of appropriate documentation, deployed uniformed service member or spouse shall be allowed an extension of the expiration date without penalty or assessment of a late fee for renewing the nursing license. The extension shall be effective for one hundred eighty (180) days after the service member or spouse returns from active deployment.

C. CONSIDERATION OF MILITARY TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE

When considering an application for licensure from a uniformed service member or a uniformed service veteran applying within one (1) year of his or her discharge from uniformed service, the Board shall:

- 1. Consider whether or not the applicant's military <u>education</u>, training, <u>national certification</u>, <u>service-issued credential</u>, and experience in the practice of nursing is substantially similar to the experience or education required for licensure.
- Accept the applicant's military <u>education</u>, training, <u>national certification</u>, <u>service-issued credential</u>, and experience in the practice of nursing in lieu of experience or education required for licensure, if the Board determines that the military training and experience is a satisfactory substitute for the experience or education required for licensure.

D. WAIVER OF CONTINUING EDUCATION

- 1. Upon written request and submission of appropriate documentation the continuing education requirements for license renewal shall be waived for:
 - a. A uniformed service member deployed; or
 - b. The spouse of a deployed uniformed service member.
- 2. This waiver shall be extended until one hundred eighty (180) days following the date of the uniformed service member's return from deployment.

History: Adopted December 29, 2018 Amended: May 15, 2022; 2023

CLEAN COPY

CHAPTER TWO LICENSURE: RN, LPN, AND LPTN

SECTION I QUALIFICATIONS

- A. Completion of an approved high school course of study or the equivalent as determined by the appropriate educational agency.
- B. Possession of a valid United States Social Security Number (SSN) or has been issued Federal Form I-766 U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services-issued Employment Authorization Document.
- C. Completion of an approved nursing education program.
- D. The Arkansas State Board of Nursing (ASBN) may refuse to admit to the examination any candidate and refuse to issue a license, certificate, or registration to any applicant if the license, practice privilege, certificate, or registration of such person has been revoked or suspended or placed on probation and not reinstated by the jurisdiction which took such action.
- E. Effective January 1, 2000, no person shall be eligible to receive or hold a license issued by the Board if that person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, or been found guilty by any court in the State of Arkansas, or of any similar offense by a court in another state, or of any similar offense by a federal court of any offense listed in ACA §17-3-102.

HISTORY: Amended: January 1, 2018; December 29, 2018 Amended: June 4, 2021

SECTION II EXAMINATION

A. ELIGIBILITY

The applicant shall meet the licensure requirements of the Board.

B. APPLICATION

- 1. Applications for examination shall be completed and filed with the Board prior to the examination.
- 2. Examination applications shall not be acceptable if the director or chairman of an educational program has certified the applicant prior to date of completion.
- 3. Applicants for licensure by examination shall not be deemed eligible to take the licensure examination until such time that the results of the state and federal criminal background checks have been received.

C. FEE

- 1. The application fee shall accompany the application.
- 2. The application fee (first time or retake) is not refundable.
- 3. The fees for the state and federal criminal background checks are the responsibility of the applicant and shall be submitted to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing with the application for same.
- 4. The fees for criminal background checks are determined by the Arkansas State Police and the FBI and are not refundable.

D. PASSING SCORE

The passing score on the licensure examination shall be determined by the Board.

CLEAN COPY

E. FAILING SCORE AND ELIGIBILITY TO RETAKE THE EXAMINATION

- 1. Any applicant whose score falls below the passing score shall fail the examination.
- 2. Persons failing the examination will be responsible for preparing to retake the examination.
- 3. The frequency and number of retests by unsuccessful candidates shall be determined by the Board.
- 4. Applicants retaking the examination shall have state and federal criminal background checks within the past twelve months on file with the Board.

F. RESULTS

- 1. Examination results shall not be released until the applicant's official transcript is received from the school.
- 2. Examination results shall be made available to all applicants and to their respective schools.

G. INTERNATIONALLY EDUCATED NURSES

- 1. The applicant must present evidence of:
 - a. Graduation from an approved or accredited school of nursing as a registered nurse or first-level nurse.
 - b. Licensure or proof of eligibility for licensure in the country of graduation.
 - c. Theory and practice in medical, surgical, pediatric, obstetric, and psychiatric nursing which is substantially similar in length and content to that in equivalent Arkansas Board approved nursing programs at the time of application as verified by a credentials review agency.
 - d. State and federal criminal background checks within the past twelve months on file with the Board.
 - e. Credentials review by a Board approved credentialing evaluation agency, which includes verification of the candidate's education, training, experience, and licensure with respect to the statutory and regulatory requirements for the nursing profession, as well as oral and written competence in English.
- 2. Applicants shall be required to take such licensure examinations as required of Arkansas Board approved nursing education programs.

H. EQUIVALENCIES

- LPTN to LPN: Candidates holding LPTN licensure who completed Arkansas Board approved LPTN programs after March 18, 1980, may be admitted to the LPN licensure examination provided they are otherwise qualified.
- 2. RN examination failures: Graduates of Board approved RN programs, upon submission of an official transcript directly from the school, and a copy of their RN examination failure results, may be admitted to the PN licensure examination provided they are otherwise qualified.

I. DEFERRED ACTION FOR CHILDHOOD ARRIVALS (DACA)

- 1. Arkansas State Board of Nursing may grant a license to an individual who, in addition to fulfilling the requirements to practice nursing in this state, satisfies the following requirements:
 - a. The United States Department of Homeland Security has approved the individual's request for exemption under the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals policy (DACA);
 - b. The individual's exemption status under the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals policy has not expired or has been properly renewed;
 - The individual has a current and valid employment authorization document issued by the United States
 Citizen and Immigration Service;
 - d. The individual does not have a criminal record of felonies or serious misdemeanors.
- 2. If at any time after licensure, the individual's exemption status under the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals expires or is withdrawn for any reason the individual shall immediately surrender their license. If the individual fails to surrender their license, the Arkansas State Board of Nursing shall suspend or not renew the individual's license.

HISTORY: Amended: January 1, 2018

Amended July 1, 2020

CLEAN COPY

SECTION III INTERSTATE NURSE LICENSURE COMPACT

A. DEFINITIONS - SECTION 100

- 1. "Commission" is the Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators (ICNLCA).
- 2. "Compact"-is the Nurse Licensure Compact that became effective on July 20, 2017 and implemented on January 19, 2018.
- 3. "Deactivate" is to terminate the active status of a multistate license or privilege to practice in a party state.
- 4. "Executive Director of the ICNLCA" is the individual approved to perform duties as delegated by the Commission.
- 5. "Disqualifying Event" is an incident, which results in a person becoming disqualified or ineligible to retain or renew a multistate license. These include but are not limited to the following: any adverse action resulting in an encumbrance as defined in Article II e, current participation in an alternative program, a misdemeanor offense related to the practice of nursing (which includes, but is not limited to, an agreed disposition), or a any felony offense (which includes, but is not limited to, an agreed disposition).
- 6. "Independent Credentials Review Agency" is a non-governmental evaluation agency that verifies and certifies that foreign nurse graduates have graduated from nursing programs that are academically equivalent to nursing programs in the United States.
- 7. "Licensure" includes the authority to practice nursing granted through the process of examination, endorsement, renewal, reinstatement and/or reactivation.
- 8. "Prior Compact" is the Nurse Licensure Compact that was in effect until January 19, 2018.
- 9. "Unencumbered License" is a license that authorizes a nurse to engage in the full and unrestricted practice of nursing.

B. COORDINATED LICENSURE INFORMATION SYSTEM - SECTION 200

201. UNIFORM DATA SET AND LEVELS OF ACCESS

- 1. The Compact Administrator of each party state shall furnish uniform data to the Coordinated Licensure Information System, which shall consist of the following:
 - a. the nurse's name;
 - b. jurisdiction of licensure;
 - c. license expiration date;
 - d. licensure classification, license number and status;
 - e. public emergency and final disciplinary actions, as defined by the contributing state authority;
 - f. a change in the status of a disciplinary action or licensure encumbrance;
 - g. status of multistate licensure privileges;
 - h. current participation by the nurse in an alternative program;
 - i. information that is required to be expunged by the laws of a party state;
 - j. the applicant or nurse's United States social security number;
 - k. the existence of current significant investigative information; and
 - 1. a correction to a licensee's data.
- 2. The public shall have access to items (1)(a) through (g) and information about a licensee's participation in an alternative program to the extent allowed by state law.
- 3. In the event a nurse asserts that any Coordinated Licensure Information System data is inaccurate, the burden shall be upon the nurse to provide evidence in a manner determined by the party state that substantiates such claim.
- 4. A party state shall report the items in the uniform data set to the Coordinated Licensure Information System within fifteen (15) calendar days of the date on which the action is taken.

CLEAN COPY

202. QUERYING THE COORDINATED LICENSURE INFORMATION SYSTEM

- 1. Upon application for multistate licensure, with the exception of renewal by a nurse, a party state shall query the Coordinated Licensure Information System to ascertain the applicant's current licensure status, previous disciplinary action(s), and member board notifications related to current participation in an alternative program, or current significant investigative information.
- 2. Upon discovery that an applicant is under investigation in another party state, the party state in receipt of the nurse licensure application shall contact the investigating party state and may request investigative documents and information.

203. PARTICIPATION IN COORDINATED LICENSURE INFORMATION SYSTEM

All party states shall participate in a coordinated licensure information system of all licensed registered nurses and licensed practical/vocational nurses. Such participation includes participation in all of the following components:

- 1. Licensure information, which includes the Uniform Data Set as described in Rule 201(1); and
- 2. Submission of the disciplinary history of each nurse, including information regarding adverse actions taken against a license, application, and/or multistate licensure privilege; and
- 3. Participation in the licensure verification service for endorsement.

C. IMPLEMENTATION - SECTION 300

301. IMPLEMENTATION

The Compact was implemented on January 19, 2018.

302. TRANSITION LEGACY CLAUSE

- 1. A nurse who held a multistate license as of July 20, 2017, whose multistate license remained unencumbered as of the January 19, 2018 implementation, and who retained that multistate license, was not required to meet the new requirements for a multistate license under this Compact.
- 2. A nurse who retained a multistate license pursuant to subsection (1) of this section and who changes primary state of residence after January 19, 2018, must meet all applicable Article III (c) requirements to obtain a multistate license from a new primary state of residence.
- 3. A nurse whose multistate license is revoked or deactivated may be eligible for a single state license in accordance with the laws of the party state.

303. IMPLEMENTATION BY NEW PARTY STATES

- 1. All The Executive Director shall notify party states within fifteen (15) calendar days after a new party state enacts the Compact.
- 2. The new party state shall establish an implementation date within twelve (12) months from enactment or as specified in the enabling language, and shall notify the Executive Director of the date.
- 3. Upon implementation, a licensee who holds a single state license in the new party state and holds a multistate license in the new home state, may retain the single state license until it lapses, expires or becomes inactive.
- 4. At least ninety (90) calendar days prior to the new party state implementation date, party states shall notify any active single state licensee with an address in the new party state that the licensee may only hold one multistate license in the primary state of residence. The licensee shall be advised to obtain or maintain a multistate license only from the primary state of residence.
- 5. Each party state shall deactivate a multistate license when a new home state issues a multistate license.

D. LICENSURE - SECTION 400

401. PARTY STATE RESPONSIBILITIES

- 1. On all application forms for multistate licensure, a party state shall require, at a minimum:
 - a. A declaration of a primary state of residence and
 - b. Whether the applicant is a current participant in an alternative program.
- 2. a. An applicant for licensure who is determined to be ineligible for a multistate license shall be notified by the home state of the qualifications not met.

CLEAN COPY

- b. The home state may issue a single state license pursuant to its laws.
- 3. A remote party state shall not issue a single state license to a nurse who holds a multistate license.

402. MULTISTATE APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES

- 1. On all application forms for multistate licensure in a party state, an applicant shall declare a primary state of residence.
- 2. A multistate licensee who changes primary state of residence to another party state shall apply for a license in the new party state within 60 days.
- 3.. A party state may require an applicant to provide evidence of residence in the declared primary state of residence. This evidence may include, but is not limited to, a current:
 - a. driver's license with a home address;
 - b. voter registration card with a home address;
 - c. federal income tax return with a primary state of residence declaration;
 - d. military form no. 2058 (state of legal residence certificate); or
 - e. W2 form from the United States government or any bureau, division, or agency thereof, indicating residence.
- 4. A nurse shall not apply for a single state license in a remote state while the nurse holds a multistate license in their primary state of residence.
- 5. An applicant who is a citizen of a foreign country, and who is lawfully present in the United States and is applying for multistate licensure in a party state may declare either the applicant's country of origin or the party state where they are living as the primary state of residence. If the applicant declares the foreign country as the primary state of residence, the party state shall not issue a multistate license, but may issue a single state license if the applicant meets the party state's licensure requirements.
- 6. An applicant shall disclose current participation in an alternative program to any party state, whether upon initial application or within ten (10) calendar days of enrollment in the program.

403. CHANGE IN PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE

- 1. A nurse who changes his or her primary state of residence from one party state to another party state may continue to practice under the existing multistate license while the nurse's application is processed and a multistate license is issued in the new primary state of residence.
- 2. Upon issuance of a new multistate license, the former primary state of residence shall deactivate its multistate license held by the nurse and provide notice to the nurse.
- 3. If a party state verifies that a licensee who holds a multistate license changes primary state of residence to a non-party state, the party state shall convert the multistate license to a single state license within fifteen (15) calendar days, and report this conversion to the Coordinated Licensure Information System.

404. TEMPORARY PERMITS AND LICENSES

A temporary permit, license, or similar temporary authorization to practice issued by a party state to an applicant for licensure shall not grant multistate licensure privileges.

405. IDENTIFICATION OF LICENSES

A party state shall clearly identify a license as either a single state license or a multistate license.

406. FEDERAL CRIMINAL RECORDS

Communication between a party state and the Commission and communication between party states regarding verification of the nurse's eligibility for licensure pursuant to the Compact shall not include any Criminal History Record Information (CHRI) received from the Federal Bureau of Investigation relating to a federal criminal records check performed by a member board under Public Law 92-544

407. ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY PERSONNEL OR THEIR SPOUSE

An active duty service member, or the member's spouse, shall designate a primary state of residence where the service member or spouse has a current license in good standing. The service member or spouse may retain the primary state of residence designation during the period the service member or spouse is on active duty.

CLEAN COPY

Subsequent to designating a primary state of residence, the service member or spouse shall only change primary state of residence through application for licensure in the new primary state of residence.

E. ADMINISTRATION - SECTION 500

501. DUES ASSESSMENT

- 1. The Commission shall determine the annual assessment to be paid by party states. The assessment formula is a flat fee per party state. The Commission shall provide public notice of any proposed revision to the annual assessment fee at least ninety (90) calendar days prior to the Commission meeting to consider the proposed revision.
- 2. The annual assessment shall be due within the Commission's first fiscal year after a new party state's implementation date and annually thereafter.

502. DISPUTE RESOLUTION

- 1. In the event that two or more party states have a dispute, the parties shall attempt resolution following the steps set out in this rule.
- 2. The parties shall first attempt informal resolution. The Compact Administrators in the states involved shall contact each other. Each Compact Administrator shall submit a written statement describing the situation to the other Compact Administrators involved in the dispute. Each Compact Administrator may submit a response. The submission of the statement and the response shall be in a mutually agreed upon time. If the dispute is related to an interpretation of the Compact, the parties shall contact the Executive Director to request assistance from the Executive Committee. If all issues are resolved, no further action is required. If any issue remains unresolved, the parties shall notify the Executive Committee, through the Executive Director to request mediation and provide the Executive Committee with a concise statement of unresolved issue(s) and analysis including references to NLC statutes, rules and any supporting documents. The Executive Committee may refer the matter to the Compliance Committee. After review by the Compliance Committee, its recommendations will be sent to the parties and the Executive Committee for further review.
- 3. a. A party state that has a dispute with one or more other party states, and informal resolution was unsuccessful, shall attempt mediation. Mediation shall be conducted by a mediator appointed by the Executive Committee from a list of mediators approved by the National Association of Certified Mediators or as agreed to by all parties. If all issues are resolved through mediation, no further action is required. If mediation is unsuccessful, the parties shall submit to binding dispute resolution.
 - b. The costs of mediation shall be shared by all party states involved.
 - c. All party state Compact Administrators shall be notified of all issues and disputes that rise to the mediation stage in order to comment on those matters and disputes that may impact all party states.
- 4. a. In the event of a dispute between party states that was not resolved through informal resolution or mediation, the party states shall submit to binding dispute resolution. The parties may choose binding dispute resolution either by submitting the question in dispute to the Commission for final action or by arbitration.
 - b. All party states involved shall agree in order to proceed with arbitration. In the absence of agreement, the matter shall be referred to the Commission for final determination.
 - c. Each party state involved shall be responsible for its own respective expenses, including attorney fees.
 - d. The party state Compact Administrators involved in the dispute shall recuse themselves from consideration or voting by the full Commission.

503. COMPLIANCE AND ENFORCEMENT

- 1. Compliance and enforcement issues shall be initiated by the Executive Committee.
- 2. The Executive Committee, through the Executive Director, shall send a written statement to the Compact Administrator in the party state with the alleged non-compliance issue. That Compact Administrator shall respond to the written statement within thirty calendar days.
- 3. The Compact Administrator may appear before the Executive Committee at a time and place as designated by the Executive Committee.
- 4. The Executive Committee shall make a recommendation to the Commission concerning the issue of non-compliance.

CLEAN COPY

Amended: December 29, 2018 Amended: August 10, 2020; June 4, 2021; 2023

SECTION IV ENDORSEMENT

A. ELIGIBILITY

- 1. An applicant for licensure by endorsement must meet the requirements of the Board at the time of graduation.
- 2. An applicant licensed in another state after January 1950 must have taken a state board licensing examination and achieved a passing score.
- 3. LPTN applicants will be accepted from California and Kansas only.
- 4. Internationally educated nurses practicing in other states may appeal to the Board for licensure if not otherwise qualified.
- 5. An applicant for licensure by endorsement who has not been engaged in the active practice of nursing for a period greater than five (5) years shall document completion of the following:
 - a. Completion of a Arkansas board approved refresher course within one (1) year of the date of application; or
 - b. Graduation from an approved nursing education program within one year of the date of application; and
 - c. Provide other evidence as requested by the Board.

B. EQUIVALENCIES

- 1. RN examination failures: Graduates of Board approved RN programs, holding LPN licensure by examination in other jurisdictions, may be endorsed provided they are otherwise qualified.
- Canadian Registered Nurses licensed by NLN State Board Test Pool Examination in the following provinces during the years indicated: Alberta, 1952-1970; British Columbia, 1949-1970; Manitoba, 1955-1970; Newfoundland, 1961-1970; Nova Scotia, 1955-1970; Prince Edward Island, 1956-1970; Quebec (English language), 1959-1970; and Saskatchewan, 1956-1970. These applicants may be endorsed provided they are otherwise qualified.

C. APPLICATION

- 1. Applications must be completed and filed with the Board.
- 2. Endorsement certification will be accepted from the state of original licensure only.
- 3. Applicants for licensure by endorsement shall not be issued a permanent license to practice until such time that the results of the state and federal criminal background checks have been received.

D. FEE

- 1. The endorsement fee must accompany the application.
- 2. The fees for the state and federal criminal background checks are the responsibility of the applicant and shall be submitted to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing with the application for same.
- 3. The fees are not refundable.

HISTORY: Amended: January 1, 2018

SECTION V CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK

A. No application for issuance of an initial license will be considered without state and federal criminal background checks by the Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

CLEAN COPY

- B. Federal background checks originating within the State of Arkansas shall be submitted electronically.
- C. Each applicant shall sign a release of information on the criminal background check application and licensure applications and shall be solely responsible for the payment of any fees associated with the state and federal criminal background checks.
- D. Upon completion of the state and federal criminal background checks, the Identification Bureau of the Arkansas State Police shall forward all information obtained concerning the applicant in the commission of any offense listed in ACA §17-3-102.
- E. The state and federal criminal background checks conducted by the Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation shall have been completed no earlier than twelve (12) months prior to the application for an initial license issued by the ASBN and at any other time thereafter that the Board deems necessary.
- F. The ASBN shall not issue a permanent license until the state and federal criminal background checks conducted by the Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation have been completed.
- G. Pursuant to Act 990 of 2019, an individual may petition for a pre-licensure determination of whether the individual's criminal record will disqualify the individual from licensure and whether a waiver may be obtained.
 - 1. A request for a waiver shall be in writing and accompany the completed application and fees.
 - 2. All decisions of the Board in response to the petition will be determined by the information provided by the individual.
 - 3. The Board's response shall state the reason(s) for the decision.
 - 4. Any decision made by the Board in response to a pre-licensure criminal background waiver petition is not subject to appeal.
- H. A waiver of the denial of licensure pursuant to the provisions of ACA §17-3-102 is not required for individuals who held a valid license on July 24, 2019, an individual who held a valid license on or before July 24, 2019, but failed to renew his or her license for any reason; or, an individual who was a student on or before July 24, 2019, in a nursing school or program.
- I. A request to seek waiver of the denial of licensure pursuant to the provisions of ACA §17-3-102 may be made to the ASBN by:
 - 1. The affected applicant for licensure; or
 - 2. The person holding a license subject to revocation.
- J. The request for a waiver shall be made in writing to the Director or designee within thirty (30) calendar days after notification of denial of a license. The request for waiver shall include, but not be limited to the following:
 - 1. Certified copy of court records indicating grounds for conviction; and
 - 2. Any other pertinent documentation to indicate surrounding circumstances.
- K. If an individual notifies ASBN in writing that he or she desires a hearing regarding their request for a waiver, the ASBN will schedule the individual for a hearing pursuant to the Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act.

HISTORY: Amended: June 4, 2021; 2023

SECTION VI TEMPORARY PERMITS

A. ENDORSEMENT AND EXAMINATION APPLICANTS

1. ASBN shall be authorized to issue a nonrenewable temporary permit for a period not exceeding six months.

CLEAN COPY

This temporary permit shall be issued only to those applicants who meet all other qualifications for licensure by the ASBN.

- 2. The temporary permit shall immediately become invalid upon receipt of information obtained from the state or federal criminal background check indicating any offense listed in ACA §17-3-102 or upon notification to the applicant or ASBN of results on the first licensure examination he or she is eligible to take after the permit is issued.
- 3. Falsification of the applicant's criminal record history shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the Board.

B. FEES AND APPLICATIONS

- 1. The temporary permit fee shall be submitted with the application.
- 2. The fee is not refundable.

HISTORY: Amended: January 1, 2018; December 29, 2018 Amended: June 4, 2021; October 6, 2021; Amended: May 1, 2022

SECTION VII CONTINUING EDUCATION

Each person holding an active license or applying for reinstatement of a license under the provisions of the *Nurse Practice Act* shall be required to complete certain continuing education requirements prior to licensure renewal or reinstatement.

A. DECLARATION OF COMPLIANCE

Each nurse shall declare his or her compliance with the requirements for continuing education at the time of license renewal or reinstatement. The declaration shall be made at the time of renewal.

B. AUDITS OF LICENSEES

- 1. The Board shall perform random audits of licensees for compliance with the continuing education requirement.
- 2. If audited, the licensee shall prove participation in the required continuing education during the 24-months immediately preceding the renewal date by presenting photocopies of original certificates of completion to the Board.
- 3. The licensee shall provide evidence of continuing education requirements within thirty (30) calendar days from the mailing date of the audit notification letter sent from the Board to the last known address of the licensee.

C. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT STANDARDS

- 1. Standards for Renewal of Active Licensure Status. Licensees who hold an active nursing license shall document completion of one of the following during each renewal period:
 - a. Fifteen (15) practice focused contact hours from a nationally recognized or state continuing education approval body recognized by the ASBN; or
 - b. Certification or re-certification during the renewal period by a national certifying body recognized by the ASBN; or
 - c. An academic course in nursing or related field; and
 - d. Provide other evidence as requested by the Board.
 - e. Effective January 1, 2010, APRNs with prescriptive authority shall complete five (5) contact hours of pharmacotherapeutics continuing education in the APRN's area of certification each biennium prior to license renewal.
- 2. Standards for Nurses on Inactive Status. Nurses who have their license placed on inactive status have no requirements for continuing education.
- 3. Standards for Reinstatement of Active Licensure Status
 - a. Nurses reinstating a nursing license to active status within five years or less shall document completion

CLEAN COPY

of the following within the past two (2) years:

- 1. Twenty (20) practice focused contact hours within the past two years from a nationally recognized or state continuing education approval body recognized by the ASBN, or
- 2. Certification or re-certification by a national certifying body recognized by the ASBN; or
- 3. An academic course in nursing or related field; and/or
- 4. Provide other evidence as requested by the Board.
- b. Nurses reinstating a nursing license to active status after greater than five (5) years shall document completion of the following:
 - 1. Twenty (20) practice focused contact hours within the past two (2) years from a nationally recognized or state continuing education approval body recognized by the Arkansas State Board of Nursing, or
 - 2. Certification or re-certification by a national certifying body recognized by the ASBN; or
 - 3. An academic course in nursing or related field; and
 - 4. Active practice of nursing for a minimum of one thousand hours (1,000) within the two years immediately prior to application. Verification of employment shall be submitted; or
 - 5. Completion of a Arkansas board approved refresher course within one (1) year of the date of application; or
 - 6. Graduation from an approved nursing education program within one (1) year of the date of application, and
 - 7. Provide other evidence as requested by the Board.
- 4. Standards for Reinstatement of Prescriptive Authority Effective January 1, 2010, APRNs whose prescriptive authority is inactive shall complete five (5) contact hours of pharmacotherapeutics continuing education in the APRN's area of certification for each twelve (12) months of non-prescribing activity in addition to the five (5) contact hours required for APRN license renewal, as noted in Chapter 4, III(F)(7), prior to reactivation of prescriptive authority.
- 5. The Board may issue a temporary permit to a nurse during the time enrolled in a Board approved nursing refresher course or an employer competency orientation program upon submission of an application, fees, and verification of enrollment in such program.
- 6. Continuing education hours beyond the required contact hours shall not be "carried over" to the next renewal period.

D. RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE INDIVIDUAL LICENSEE

- 1. It shall be the responsibility of each licensee to select and participate in those continuing activities that will meet the criteria for acceptable continuing education as specified in ACA §17-87-207 and these rules.
- 2. It shall be the licensee's responsibility to maintain records of continuing education as well as documented proof such as original certificates of attendance, contact hour certificates, academic transcripts or grade slips and to submit copies of this evidence when requested by the Board.
- 3. Records shall be maintained by the licensee for a minimum of two consecutive renewal periods or four years.

E. RECOGNITION OF PROVIDERS

- 1. The Board shall identify organizations, agencies, and groups that shall be recognized as valid approval bodies/providers of nursing continuing education. The recognition may include providers approved by national organizations and state agencies with comparable standards.
- 2. The Board shall work with professional organizations, approved nursing schools, and other providers of continuing educational programs to ensure that continuing education activities are available to nurses in Arkansas.

F. ACTIVITIES ACCEPTABLE FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION

- Activities presented by recognized providers which may be acceptable include: national/regional educational
 conferences, classroom instruction, individualized instruction (home study/programmed instruction),
 academic courses, and institutional based instruction; and
- 2. The content shall be relevant to nursing practice and provide for professional growth of the licensee.
- 3. If participation is in an academic course or other program in which grades are given, a grade equivalent to

CLEAN COPY

"C" or better shall be required, or "pass" on a pass/fail grading system. An academic course may also be taken as "audit", provided that class attendance is verified by the instructor.

4. Volunteer service as defined in ACA §20-8-801 et. seq.

G. ACTIVITIES WHICH ARE NOT ACCEPTABLE AS CONTINUING EDUCATION

- 1. In-service programs. Activities intended to assist the nurse to acquire, maintain, and/or increase the competence in fulfilling the assigned responsibilities specific to the expectations of the employer.
- 2. Refresher courses. Programs designed to update basic general knowledge and clinical practice, which consist of a didactic and clinical component to ensure entry-level competencies into nursing practice.
- 3. Orientation programs. A program by which new staff are introduced to the philosophy, goals, policies, procedures, role expectations, physical facilities, and special services in a specific work setting. Orientation is provided at the time of employment and at other times when changes in roles and responsibilities occur in a specific work setting.
- 4. Courses designed for lay people.

H. INDIVIDUAL REVIEW OF A CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITY PROVIDED BY A NON-RECOGNIZED AGENCY/ORGANIZATION

- 1. A licensee may request an individual review by:
 - a. Submitting an "Application for Individual Review"; and
 - b. Paying a fee.
- 2. Approval of a non-recognized continuing educational activity shall be limited to the specific event under consideration.

I. FAILURE TO COMPLY

- 1. Any licensee who fails to complete continuing education or who falsely certifies completion of continuing education shall be subject to disciplinary action, non-renewal of the nurse's license, or both, pursuant to ACA §17-87-207 and A.C.A §17-87-309(a)(1) and (a)(6).
- 2. If the Board determines that a licensee has failed to comply with continuing education requirements, the licensee will:
 - a. Be allowed to meet continuing education requirements within ninety (90) days of notification of non-compliance.
 - b. Be assessed a late fee for each contact hour that requirements are not met after the ninety (90) day grace period and be issued a Letter of Reprimand. Failure to pay the fee may result in further disciplinary action.

HISTORY: Amended: January 1, 2018 Amended: May 15, 2020; June 4, 2021

SECTION VIII RENEWALS

A. Each person licensed under the provisions of the Nurse Practice Act shall renew biennially.

- 1. Sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date, the Board shall mail a renewal notice to the last known address of each nurse to whom a license was issued or renewed during the current period.
- 2. The application shall be completed before the license renewal is processed.
- 3. The fee for renewal shall accompany the application.
- 4. The fee is not refundable.
- 5. Pursuant to Act 204 of 2017, upon notification of active-duty status and submission of appropriate documentation, the license renewal fee will be waived for members of the military.

B. LAPSED LICENSE

1. The license is lapsed if not renewed or placed in inactive status by the expiration date.

CLEAN COPY

- 2. Failure to receive the renewal notice at the last address of record in the Board office shall not relieve the licensee of the responsibility for renewing the license by the expiration date.
- 3. Any licensee whose license has lapsed shall file a renewal application and pay the current renewal fee and the late fee.
- 4. Any person practicing nursing during the time his or her license has lapsed shall be considered an illegal practitioner and shall be subject to the penalties provided for violation of the *Nurse Practice Act*.

C. INACTIVE STATUS

- 1. Any licensee who desires to temporarily inactivate their nursing license in this state, shall submit a request and the current license shall be placed on inactive status.
- 2. While inactive, the licensee shall not practice nursing nor be subject to the payment of renewal fees.
- 3. When the licensee desires to resume practice, he or she shall submit a reinstatement application and meet the continuing education requirements.
- 4. When disciplinary proceedings have been initiated against an inactive licensee, the license shall not be reinstated until the proceedings have been completed.

D. RETIRED NURSE

- 1. Any licensee in good standing, who desires to retire for any length of time from the practice of nursing in this state, shall submit a request and the current license shall be placed on retired status.
- 2. While retired, the licensee shall not practice nursing, however:
 - a. A registered nurse with a retired license status may use the title "Registered Nurse", or the abbreviation "RN"; and
 - b. A practical nurse with a retired license status may use the title "Licensed Practice Nurse", or the abbreviation "LPN"; and
 - c. A psychiatric technician nurse with a retired license status may use the title "Licensed Psychiatric Technician Nurse", or the abbreviation "LPTN"; and
 - d. An advanced practice registered nurse with a retired license status may use the title "Advanced Practice Registered Nurse", or the abbreviation "APRN".
- 3. When the licensee desires to resume practice, he or she shall submit a reinstatement application and meet the continuing education requirements.
- 4. When disciplinary proceedings have been initiated against a retired licensee, the license shall not be reinstated until the proceedings have been completed.
- **E.** The licensee may be required to submit to a state and federal criminal background check if the Board deems it necessary.
 - 1. A waiver is not required for renewal of a license for an individual convicted of a crime listed in ACA 17-3-102 if:
 - a. The licensee has completed the waiver requirements at the time of initial licensure; or
 - b. Was licensed prior to July 24, 2019; or
 - c. Attended a professional or occupational school, program, or training in pursuit of an occupational license before the enactment of subsection (a) (July 24, 2019) and would have been qualified to hold an occupational license on or before July 24, 2019.

HISTORY: Amended: January 1, 2018; December 29, 2018

SECTION IX CERTIFICATION/VERIFICATION TO ANOTHER JURISDICTION

Upon payment of a certification/verification fee, a nurse seeking licensure in another state may have a certified statement of Arkansas licensure issued to the Board of Nursing in that state.

SECTION X NAME OR ADDRESS CHANGE

CLEAN COPY

- **A.** A licensee, whose name is legally changed, shall submit a name change request, copy of marriage license, or court action, and the required fee.
- **B.** A licensee, whose address changes from the address on file with the Board, shall immediately notify the Board in writing of the change.

HISTORY: Amended May 15, 2022

SECTION XI

LICENSURE FOR UNIFORMED SERVICE MEMBERS, VETERANS AND SPOUSES

A. AUTOMATIC LICENSURE

- 1. Temporary permits for individuals listed in Section XI(A)(2) shall be issued within twenty-four (24) hours of receipt of all required documents.
- 2. The Board will give preference in the order of processing to applications for full licensure filed by the following individuals:
 - a. A uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas;
 - b. A uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; or
 - c. The spouse of a:
 - 1) Person under (a) or (b) above; or
 - 2) Uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to Arkansas; or
 - 3) Uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in Arkansas.

B. EXTENSION OF LICENSURE EXPIRATION DATE

Upon written request and submission of appropriate documentation, deployed uniformed service member or spouse shall be allowed an extension of the expiration date without penalty or assessment of a late fee for renewing the nursing license. The extension shall be effective for one hundred eighty (180) days after the service member or spouse returns from active deployment.

C. CONSIDERATION OF MILITARY TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE

When considering an application for licensure the Board shall:

- 1. Consider whether or not the applicant's military education, training, national certification, service-issued credential, and experience in the practice of nursing is substantially similar to the experience or education required for licensure.
- Accept the applicant's military education, training, national certification, service-issued credential, and
 experience in the practice of nursing in lieu of experience or education required for licensure, if the Board
 determines that the military training and experience is a satisfactory substitute for the experience or
 education required for licensure.

D. WAIVER OF CONTINUING EDUCATION

- 1. Upon written request and submission of appropriate documentation the continuing education requirements for license renewal shall be waived for:
 - a. A uniformed service member deployed; or
 - b. The spouse of a deployed uniformed service member.
- 2. This waiver shall be extended until one hundred eighty (180) days following the date of the uniformed service member's return from deployment.

CLEAN COPY

History: Adopted December 29, 2018 Amended: May 15, 2022; 2023