EXHIBIT G

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES, DIVISION OF MEDICAL SERVICES

SUBJECT: Pharmacy Manual Update 3-21 and SPA 2022-0001

DESCRIPTION:

Statement of Necessity

The 93" General Assembly enacted Acts 406, 407, 408, and 503, which give pharmacists
a new scope of practice to prescribe certain vaccines, immunizations, and certain
prescriptions. They also allow for prescription of over the counter (OTC) drugs and
testing for certain infections and viruses per protocol. These Acts were put into place
officially in compliance with the Prep Act due to COVID-19 U.S. Department of Health
and Human Services (HHS) regulation, but also expand other prescribing and testing
allowances for pharmacists individually. Legislation did not address reimbursement to
pharmacists for these services but rather allows pharmacists to be the prescriber on the
pharmacy and medical claims in the pharmacy. The Division of Medical Services is
revising Section 201.100 of the Pharmacy Manual to comply with the Acts. The
Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) has been updated to reflect the changes in the
Acts.

Rule Summary

Pharmacy Manual Section II, Section 201.100

- Renamed the section title

- Added, “The Arkansas Medicaid Program will allow pharmacists to enroll
individually as atypical providers to prescribe and administer specified drugs and
test and screen for certain health conditions, per current allowable protocols.
Pharmacists are not billing providers, but they may be rendering providers on
medical claims. Pharmacists will be allowed as prescribing providers on
pharmacy claims for drugs identified in current protocol.”

- Changed seven (7) to three (3)

- Deleted “...to eighteen (18) years of age under a general written...”

- Added “...and older under current...”

- Deleted “The Arkansas Medicaid Program will continue to reimburse pharmacies
the cost and administration fee of selected vaccines for Medicaid beneficiaries
nineteen (19) years of age and older.”

State Plan Amendment (SPA)

- Page 3.1-A, page 3b: Added “(7) Pharmacists. Pharmacists may enroll
individually as atypical providers to prescribe and administer specified drugs and
test and screen for certain health conditions, per current allowable protocols.
Pharmacists are not billing providers, but they may be rendering providers on
medical claims. Pharmacists will be allowed as prescribing providers on
pharmacy claims for drugs identified in current protocol.”



- Page 3.1-B, page 3d: Added “(7) Pharmacists. Pharmacists may enroll
individually as atypical providers to prescribe and administer specified drugs and
test and screen for certain health conditions, per current allowable protocols.
Pharmacists are not billing providers, but they may be rendering providers on
medical claims. Pharmacists will be allowed as prescribing providers on
pharmacy claims for drugs identified in current protocol.”

PUBLIC COMMENT: A public hearing was held on this rule on March 24, 2022. The
public comment period expired on April 11, 2022. The agency indicated that it received
no public comments.

The proposed effective date is June 1, 2022.

FINANCIAL IMPACT: The agency indicated that this rule has a financial impact.

Per the agency, the total cost to implement this rule is $9,167 for the current fiscal year
($2,602 in general revenue and $6,565 in federal funds) and $110,000 for the next fiscal
year ($31,218 in general revenue and $78,782 in federal funds). The total estimated cost
by fiscal year to state, county, and municipal government as a result of this rule is $2,602
for the current fiscal year and $31,218 for the next fiscal year.

LEGAL AUTHORIZATION: The Department of Human Services has the
responsibility to administer assigned forms of public assistance and is specifically
authorized to maintain an indigent medical care program (Arkansas Medicaid). See Ark.
Code Ann. §§ 20-76-201(1), 20-77-107(a)(1). The Department has the authority to make
rules that are necessary or desirable to carry out its public assistance duties. Ark. Code
Ann. § 20-76-201(12). The Department and its divisions also have the authority to
promulgate rules as necessary to conform their programs to federal law and receive
federal funding. Ark. Code Ann. § 25-10-129(b). This rule implements Acts 406, 407,
408, and 503 of 2021.

Act 406, sponsored by Representative Justin Boyd, allowed pharmacists to prescribe,
administer, deliver, distribute, or dispense vaccines, immunizations, and medications to
treat adverse reactions to administered vaccines.

Act 407, also sponsored by Representative Boyd, authorized pharmacy technicians to
administer vaccines and immunizations.

Act 408, sponsored by Representative Aaron Pilkington, amended the provisions of the
Arkansas Code concerning the practice of pharmacy and authorized pharmacists to
provide access to and administration of oral contraceptives.

Act 503, sponsored by Representative Lee Johnson, allowed pharmacists to treat certain
health conditions, modified physician dispensing and allowed delegation of physician
dispensing.



QUESTIONNAIRE FOR FILING PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS

WITH THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

DEPARTMENT/AGENCY Department of Human Services

DIVISION Division of Medical Services

DIVISION DIRECTOR Elizabeth Pitman

CONTACT PERSON Mac Golden

ADDRESS P. O. Box 1437, Slot S295 Little Rock, AR 72203-1437

Mac.E.Golden
PHONE NO. 501-320-6383 FAX NO. 501-404-4619  E-MAIL @dhs.arkansas.gov

NAME OF PRESENTER AT COMMITTEE MEETING  Elizabeth Pitman

PRESENTER E-MAIL _Elizabeth.Pitman@dhs.arkansas.gov

INSTRUCTIONS

Please make copies of this form for future use.

Please answer each question completely using layman terms. You may use additional sheets, if
necessary.

If you have a method of indexing your rules, please give the proposed citation after “Short Title
of this Rule” below.

Submit two (2) copies of this questionnaire and financial impact statement attached to the front
of two (2) copies of the proposed rule and required documents. Mail or deliver to:

¥ 0 RE»

Rebecca Miller-Rice

Administrative Rules Review Section
Arkansas Legislative Council
Bureau of Legislative Research

‘One Capitol Mall, 5 Floor

Little Rock, AR 72201

*********************************************************************************

1. What is the short title of this rule? Pharmacy Manual Update 3-21 and SPA 2022-0001

2. What is the subject of the proposed rule? See Attached.

3. Is this rule required to comply with a federal statute, rule, or regulation? Yes [X No [ ]
If yes, please provide the federal rule, regulation, and/or statute citation. prep-act-guidance.pdf (hhs.gov)

4. Was this rule filed under the emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act?

Yes [ ] No [X]

If yes, what is the effective date of the emergency rule?

When does the emergency rule expire?

Will this emergency rule be promulgated under the permanent provisions of the Administrative

Procedure Act?
Yes [ ] No [ ]
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5.

10.

1.

Is this a new rule? Yes[ ] No
If yes, please provide a brief summary explaining the regulation.

Does this repeal an existing rule? Yes [] No

If yes, a copy of the repealed rule is to be included with your completed questionnaire. If it is being
replaced with a new rule, please provide a summary of the rule giving an explanation of what the rule
does.

Is this an amendment to an existing rule? Yes No []

If yes, please attach a mark-up showing the changes in the existing rule and a summary of the
substantive changes. Note: The summary should explain what the amendment does, and the
mark-up copy should be clearly labeled “mark-up.”

See attached.

Cite the state law that grants the authority for this proposed rule? If codified, please give the Arkansas
Code citation. Arkansas Code §§ 20-76-201. 20-77-107, and 25-10-129

What is the purpose of this proposed rule? Why is it necessary? See Attached.

Please provide the address where this rule is publicly accessible in electronic form via the Internet as
required by Arkansas Code § 25-19-108(b).

https://humanservices.arkansas.gov/do-business-with-dhs/proposed-rules/

Will a public hearing be held on this proposed rule?  Yes[X]  No[ ]
If yes, please complete the following:

Date: March 24, 2022
Time: 11:30 a.m.

Place: hitps://us02web.zoom.us/j/87865566387

When does the public comment period expire for permanent promulgation? (Must provide a date.)
April 11, 2022

What is the proposed effective date of this proposed rule? (Must provide a date.)
June 1, 2022

12. Please provide a copy of the notice required under Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(a), and proof of the
publication of said notice. See Attached.

13.

14.

Please provide proof of filing the rule with the Secretary of State as required pursuant to Ark.
Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e). See Attached. R

Please give the names of persons, groups, or organizations that you expect to comment on these rules?
Please provide their position (for or against) if known. Unknown

Revised June 2019



NOTICE OF RULE MAKING

The Director of the Division of Medical Services of the Department of Human Services announces for a
public comment period of thirty (30) calendar days a notice of rulemaking for the following proposed rule
under one or more of the following chapters, subchapters, or sections of the Arkansas Code: §20-76-201,
20-77-107, & 25-10-129. :

Effective June 1, 2022:

The Director of the Division of Medical Services (DMS) amends the Medicaid State Plan and the
Pharmacy Manual to comply with Acts 406, 407, 408, and 503 of the 93" General Assembly. Arkansas
Medicaid Program will allow pharmacists to enroll individually as atypical providers to prescribe and
administer specific drugs as well as test and screen for certain health conditions.

The proposed rule is available for review at the Department of Human Services (DHS) Office of Rules
Promulgation, 2nd floor Donaghey Plaza South Building, 7th and Main Streets, P. O. Box 1437, Slot
5295, Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437. You may also access and download the proposed rule at
https://humanservices.arkansas.gov/do-business-with-dhs/proposed-rules/, Public comments must be
submitted in writing at the above address or at the following email address: ORP@dhs.arkansas.gov. All
public comments must be received by DHS no later than April 11, 2022. Please note that public
comments submitted in response to this notice are considered public documents. A public comment,
including the commenter’s name and any personal information contained within the public comment, will
be made publicly available and may be seen by various people.

A public hearing by remote access only through a Zoom webinar will be held on March 24,2022, at
11:30 a.m. and public comments may be submitted at the hearing. Individuals can access this public
hearing at https://us02web.zeom.us/i/87865566387. The webinar ID is 878 6556 6387. If you would like the
electronic link, “one-tap™ mobile information, listening only dial-in phone numbers, or international
phone numbers, please contact ORP at ORP@dhs.arkansas.aov.

If you need this material in a different format, such as large print, contact the Office of Rules
Promulgation at 501-396-6428.

The Arkansas Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights
Act and is operated, managed, and delivers services without regard to religion, disability, political
affiliation, veteran status, age, race, color, or national origin. 4502035775

A R

Elizabeth Pifm¥n, Director

Division of ical Services




FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT
PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY
DEPARTMENT Department of Human Services

DIVISION Division of Medical Services
PERSON COMPLETING THIS STATEMENT Jason Callan
TELEPHONE 501-320-6540 FAX EMALIL: Jason.Callan@dhs.arkansas.gov

To comply with Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e), please complete the following Financial Impact
Statement and file two copies with the questionnaire and proposed rules.

SHORT TITLE OF THIS Pharmacy Manual Update 3-21 and SPA 2022-0001
RULE
1. Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule have a financial impact? ~ Yes [X] No [ ]

2. Is the rule based on the best reasonably obtainable scientific, technical,
economic, or other evidence and information available concerning the
need for, consequences of, and alternatives to the rule? Yes No []

3. In consideration of the alternatives to this rule, was this rule determined
by the agency to be the least costly rule considered? Yes [X No [ ]

If an agency is proposing a more costly rule, please state the following:

(a) How the additional benefits of the more costly rule justify its additional cost;

(b) The reason for adoption of the more costly rule;

(c) Whether the more costly rule is based on the interests of public health, safety, or welfare, and if
so, please explain; and;

(d) Whether the reason is within the scope of the agency’s statutory authority; and if so, please
explain.

4. If the purpose of this rule is to implement a federal rule or regulation, please state the following:

(a) What is the cost to implement the federal rule or regulation?

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year
General Revenue $ General Revenue $
Federal Funds $ Federal Funds $
Cash Funds _ Cash Funds

Special Revenue Special Revenue
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Other (Identify) Other (Identify)

Total $ Totalr ‘ : $

(b)  What is the additional cost of the state rule?

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year

General Revenue  $2,602 General Revenue  $31,218
Federal Funds $6,565 Federal Funds $78,782
Cash Funds Cash Funds

‘Special Revenue Special Revenue

Other (Identify) Other (Identify)

Total $9,167 Total $110,000

5. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to any private individual, entity and business subject to the
proposed, amended, or repealed rule? Identify the entity(ies) subject to the proposed rule and explain how
they are affected.

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year

$ ; $

6. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to state, county, and municipal government to implement
this rule? -Is this the cost of the program or grant? Please explain how the government is affected.

Current Fiscal Yea_f : Next Fiscal Year
$ 2602 - - $ 31,218

7. With respect to the agency’s answers to Questions #5 and #6 above, is there a new or increased cost
or obligation of at least one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) per year to a private individual,
private entity, private business, state government, county government, municipal government, or to
two (2) or more of those entities combined?

Yes [] No

If YES, the agency is required by Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e)(4) to file written findings at the
time of filing the financial impact statement. The written findings shall be filed simultaneously
with the financial impact statement and shall include, without limitation, the following:

(1) a statement of the rule’s basis and purpose;

(2) the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule, including a statement of whether
a rule is required by statute;

(3) a description of the factual evidence that:
(a) justifies the agency’s need for the proposed rule; and
(b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory objectives and justify
the rule’s costs;

Revised June 2019



(4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons why the alternatives do not
adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;

(5) a list of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public comment and
the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the
proposed rule;

(6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the agency seeks
to address with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or contributed to the
problem, an explanation of why amendment or repeal of the rule creating or contributing to the
problem is not a sufficient response; and

(7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years to determine whether,
based upon the evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without limitation,
whether:

(a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives;

(b) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and

(c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve the
statutory objectives.

Revised June 2019



Statement of Necessity and Rule Summafy
Pharmacy Manual 3-21 and SPA 2022-0001 Per Acts 406, 407, 408 and 503

Why is this change necessary? Please provide the circumstances that necessitate the change.

The 93" General Assembly enacted Acts 406, 407, 408, and 503 that give pharmacists a new scope of
practice to prescribe certain vaccines, immunizations, and certain prescriptions. They also allow for
prescription of over the counter (OTC) drugs and testing for certain infections and viruses per protocol.
These Acts were put into place officially in compliance with the Prep Act due to COVID-19 U.S,
Department of Health and Human Services (H HS) regulation, but also expands other prescribing and
testing allowances for pharmacists individually. Legislation did not address reimbursement to
pharmacists for these services, but rather allows pharmacists to be the prescriber on the pharmacy and
medical claims in the pharmacy. The Division of Medical Services is revising Section 201.100 of the
Pharmacy Manual, to comply with the Acts. The Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) has been
updated to reflect the changes in the Acts.

What is the change? Please provide a summary of the change.

Pharmacy Manual Section Il
Section 201.100

® Renamed the section title.

* Added, “The Arkansas Medicaid Program will allow pharmacists to enroll individually as atypical
providers to prescribe and administer specified drugs and test and screen -for certain health
conditions, per current allowable protocols. Pharmacists are not billing providers, but they may
be rendering providers on medical claims. Pharmacists will be allowed as prescribing providers on
pharmacy claims for drugs identified in current protocol.”

Changed seven (7) to three (3).
-Deleted, “... to eighteen (18) years of age under a general written...”
Added, “...and older under current...”
Deleted, “The Arkansas Medicaid Program will continue to reimburse pharmacies the cost and

administration fee of selected vaccines for Medicaid beneficiaries nineteen (19) years of age and
older.”

State Plan Amendment (SPA)

SPA page 3.1-A, page3b- Added, “(7) Pharmacists. Pharmacists may enroll individually as atypical
providers to prescribe and administer specified drugs and test and screen for certain health conditions,
per current allowable protocols. Pharmacists are not billing providers, but they may be rendering
providers on medical claims. Pharmacists will be allowed as prescribing providers on pharmacy claims
for drugs identified in current protocol.”

SPA page 3.1-B, page 3d— Added, “(7) Pharmacists. Pharmacists may enroll individually as atypical
providers to prescribe and administer specified drugs and test and screen for certain health conditions,
per current allowable protocols. Pharmacists are not billing providers, but they may be rendering
providers on medical claims. Pharmacists will be allowed as prescribing providers on pharmacy claims
for drugs identified in current protocol.”

Please attach additional documents if necessary




Pharmacy Section

TOC reguired

201.100 Arkansas Nedicaid Participation Reguirements for Prescribing 2-4-206-1-
Pharmacists and for Pharmacies Administering Vaccines 22

The Arkansas Medicaid Program will allow pharmacisis to enroll individually as atypical providers
to prescribe and administer specified drugs and test and screen for certain health conditions, per
current allowable protocols. Pharmacists are not billing providers. but they may be rendering
providers on medical claims. Pharmacists will be allowed as prescribing orowders on phammacy
claims for drugs identified in current protocol.

The Arkansas Medicaid Program will reimburse pharmacies the cost and admlmstratlon fee for
selected vaccines and immunizations for Medicaid beneficiaries-clients seven-(Fthree (3) years
of age tee@hteeﬁ—ﬁsa—yea%ef—age—emde%&geﬂem—mﬁeﬂand older under current protocol and
written consent of the parent or legal guardian of the minor. -Consent must be obtained before
the administration of the vaccine or immunization. -Written protocol and consent must be
retalned and is sub]ect to reportlng requnrements Jhe—A;kansas—Med@a{é—PFegﬁam—wHJ—eompnae

bene-ﬁsmﬁemqmeteen{fkg}-yeare—ef—ageﬂaﬁé—eldef—For a complete ilsi of ccvered vaccines and
CMS- 1500 bllllng instructions, please refer to the CMS-1500 Claim Form Billing Instructions.

The Arkansas Medicaid Program will reimburse pharmames the admlntstratlon fee for selected
vaccines that are obtained through the Vaccine for Children Program (VFC) or ARKids-B SCHIP
Vaccine Program. -Please refer to section 292.950 of the Physician manual for VFC vaccines
billing procedures and section 262.430 for ARKids-B SCHIP vaccine. -All Arkansas State Board
of Pharmacy laws and regulations will apply

To be eligible for participation, the pharmacy must meet the following criteria, in addition to those
specified in Section 201.000:

A. Complete Section lll, ltem 22, of the enrollment application (view or print Provider
Enrollment application material) if the pharmacist is certified to administer the influenza
virus and pneumococcal polysaccharide vaccines; and

B. Pharmacies must be enrolled in the Title XVIII (Medicare) Program to administer the
vaccines.

Refer to Section 210.100 for scope of coverage; Section 213.000 for benefit limits.



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 3.1-A

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page 3b
STATE @E-ARKANSAS
AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF
SERVICES PROVIDED Revised: Pecember-June 1, 2004
—2022
CATEGORICALLY NEEDY
6. Medical Care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed

practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law. (Continued)
6.d. Other Practitioners’ Services (Continued)
(5) Psychologists
Refer to Attachment 3.1-A, Item 4.b. (13).
(6) Obstetric - Gynecologic and Gerontological Nurse Practitioner
Refer to Attachment 3.1-A, Item 24 for coverage limitations.

() Pharmacists

Pharmacists may enroll individually as atypical providers to prescribe and administer specified
drugs and test and screen for certain health conditions, per current allowable protocols.
Pharmacists are not billing providers, but they mav be rendering providers on medical claims.
Pharmacists will be allowed as prescribing providers on pharmacv claims for drugs identified in
current protocol.

TN: 22-0001 Approved: Effective:06/01/2022
Supersedes TN:AR-01-25



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 3.1-B

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page 3d
STATE O -ARKANSAS
AMOUNT, DURATION, AND SCOPE OF
SERVICES PROVIDED Revised: Pecember-Junel, 2801
—2022
MEDICALLY NEEDY
6. Medical care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed

practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law. (Continued)
6.d.  Other Practitioners’ Services (Continued)
(5) Psychologists
Refer to Attachment 3.1-A, Item 4.b.(13).
(6) Obstetric - Gynecologic and Gerontological Nurse Practitioner
Refer to Attachment 3.1-B, Item 21 for coverage limitations.

(T Pharmacists

Pharmacists mav enroll individuallv as atvpical providers to prescribe and administer specified
drugs and test and sereen for certain health conditions, per current allowable protocols.
Pharmacists are not billing providers. but they may be rendering providers on medical claims.
Pharmacists will be allowed as prescribing providers on pharmacy claims for drugs identified in
current protocoel.

TN: 22-0001 Approved: Effective:06/01/2022
Supersedes TN: AR-01-25



Pharmacy

TOC required

*

1.100 Arkansas Medicaid Participation Reguirements for Prescribing 6-1-22

Pharmacists and for Pharmacies Administering Vaccines

The Arkansas Medicaid Program will allow pharmacists to enroll individually as atypical providers
to prescribe and administer specified drugs and test and screen for certain health conditions, per
current allowable protocols. Pharmacists are not billing providers, but they may be rendering
providers on medical claims. Pharmacists will be allowed as prescribing providers on pharmacy
claims for drugs identified in current protocol.

The Arkansas Medicaid Program will reimburse pharmacies the cost and administration fee for
selected vaccines and immunizations for Medicaid clients three (3) years of age and older under
current protocol and written consent of the parent or legal guardian of the minor. Consent must
be obtained before the administration of the vaccine or immunization. Written protocol and
consent must be retained and is subject to reporting requirements. For a complete list of covered
vaccines and CMS-1500 billing instructions, please refer to the CM$-1500 Claim Form Billing
Instructions.

The Arkansas Medicaid Program will reimburse pharmacies the administration fee for selected
vaccines that are obtained through the Vaccine for Children Program (VFC) or ARKids-B SCHIP
Vaccine Program. Please refer to section 292.950 of the Physician manual for VFC vaccines
billing procedures and section 262.430 for ARKids-B SCHIP vaccine. All Arkansas State Board
of Pharmacy laws and regulations will apply.

To be eligible for participation, the pharmacy must meet the following criteria, in addition to those
specified in Section 201.000:

A.  Complete Section lll, Item 22, of the enrollment application (view or print Provider
Enroliment application material) if the pharmacist is certified to administer the influenza
virus and pneumococcal polysaccharide vaccines; and

B.  Pharmacies must be enrolled in the Title XVIII (Medicare) Program to administer the
vaccines.

Refer to Section 210.100 for scope of coverage; Section 213.000 for benefit limits.

Section Il



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 3.1-A

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page 3b
STATE ARKANSAS
AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF
SERVICES PROVIDED Revised: June 1, 2022
CATEGORICALLY NEEDY
6. Medical Care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed

practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law. (Continued)
6.d. Other Practitioners’ Services (Continued)

(5) Psychologists
Refer to Attachment 3.1-A, Item 4.b. (13).

(6) Obstetric - Gynecologic and Gerontological Nurse Practitioner
Refer to Attachment 3.1-A, Item 24 for coverage limitations.

(7) ~ Pharmacists
Pharmacists may enroll individually as atypical providers to prescribe and administer specified
drugs and test and screen for certain health conditions, per current allowable protocols.
Pharmacists are not billing providers, but they may be rendering providers on medical claims.

Pharmacists will be allowed as prescribing providers on pharmacy claims for drugs identified in
current protocol.

TN: 22-0001 Approved: Effective:06/01/2022
Supersedes TN:AR-01-25



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 3.1-B
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page 3d
STATE ARKANSAS

AMOUNT, DURATION, AND SCOPE OF
SERVICES PROVIDED Revised: June 1, 2022
MEDICALLY NEEDY

6. Medical care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed
practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law. (Continued)

6.d. Other Practitioners’ Services (Continued)

(5) Psychologists
Refer to Attachment 3.1-A, Item 4.b.(13).

(6) Obstetric - Gynecologic and Gerontological Nurse Practitioner
Refer to Attachment 3.1-B, Item 21 for coverage limitations.

7 Pharmacists
Pharmacists may enroll individually as atypical providers to prescribe and administer specified
drugs and test and screen for certain health conditions, per current allowable protocols.
Pharmacists are not billing providers, but they may be rendering providers on medical claims.

Pharmacists will be allowed as prescribing providers on pharmacy claims for drugs identified in
current protocol.

TN: 22-0001 Approved: Effective:06/01/2022
Supersedes TN: AR-01-25
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 406 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: H2/25/21 H3/8/21
93rd General Assembly Bl
Regular Session, 2021 HOUSE BILL 1134

By: Representative Boyd

By: Senator Gilmore

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND THE DEFINITION OF "PRACTICE OF
PHARMACY" TO ALLOW PHARMACISTS TO PRESCRIBE,
ADMINISTER, DELIVER, DISTRIBUTE, OR DISPENSE
VACCINES, IMMUNIZATIONS, AND MEDICATIONS TO TREAT
ADVERSE REACTIONS TO ADMINISTERED VACCINES OR
IMMUNIZATIONS TO A PERSON WHO IS THREE (3) YEARS OF
AGE OR OLDER; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO ALLOW PHARMACISTS TO PRESCRIBE,
ADMINISTER, DELIVER, DISTRIBUTE, OR
DISPENSE VACCINES, IMMUNIZATIONS, AND
MEDICATIONS TO TREAT ADVERSE REACTIONS TO
ADMINISTERED VACCINES.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 17-92-101(17)(A)(i), concerning the
definition of "practice of pharmacy", is amended to read as follows:

(i)(a) Dispensing, selling, distributing,
transferring possession of, vending, bartering, or, in accordance with rules
adopted by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy, administering drugs,
medicines, poisons, or chemicals that under the laws of the United States or
the State of Arkansas may be sold or dispensed only on the prescription and
order of a practitioner authorized by law to prescribe drugs, medicines,

poisons, or chemicals.

QU NPT e



O 00 ~N O U B~ W N

W L LW W L L LW NP NN PN DD R = = = = =
S U B~ LN O WYy WY = O W 00N Yy LN+ O

As Engrossed: H2/25/21 H3/8/21 HB1134

(b) Except as limited by rules adopted by the
Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy, a pharmacist has the ability to administer

medications.

(c) A pharmacist may prescribe, administer,

deliver, distribute, or dispense medications that treat adverse reactions

associated with the administration of vaccines and immunizations, vaccines,

and immunizations to or for a person three (3) vears of age or older.

(d) A pharmacist who prescribes and

administers vaccines and immunizations other than for influenza or

coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) to a person who is three (3) vears of age to six

(6) yvears of age shall:

(1) Participate in the federal Vaccines

for Children Program; and

(2) Inform the person who is three (3)

years of age to six (6) years of age and adult caregivers accompanying the

person who is three (3) yvears of age to six (6) yvears of age of the

importance of a well-child visit with a pediatrician or other licensed

primary care provider and recommend a well-child visit at least yearly.

(e)(l) A pharmacist may administer medications

other than medications that treat adverse reactions associated with the

2 03-08-2021 11:43:01 JMBO4O
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As Engrossed: H2/25/21 H3/8/21 HB1134

administration of vaccines and immunizations, vaccines, and immunizations

under a patient-specific order or prescription or general written protocol.

(2) The administration of the medication

under subdivision (17)(A)(i)(e)(l) of this section is subject to reporting to

the prescribing physician, if applicable.

4&)(f) A general written protocol under
subdivisieons— A i) te)and {e)of this seetion and patient-specific
orders or prescriptions under subdivisiens—{HHA)HHH{d)—-and (£ subdivision
(17)(A) (i) (e) of this section shall be from a physician licensed by the

Arkansas State Medical Board and practicing in Arkansas or within fifty (50)
miles of the Arkansas border.

B} (g) Under a statewide protocol, a
pharmacist may initiate therapy and administer or dispense, or both, drugs

that include Naloxone and nicotine replacement therapy products;

/s/Boyd

APPROVED: 3/22/21

3 03-08-2021 11:43:01 JMBO4O
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 407 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: HI1/19/21 H3/8/21
93rd General Assembly 1
Regular Session, 2021 HOUSE BILL 1135

By: Representatives Boyd, Pilkington

By: Senator Gilmore

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AUTHORIZE PHARMACY TECHNICIANS TO
ADMINISTER VACCINES AND IMMUNIZATIONS; TO AMEND THE
DEFINITION OF "PRACTICE OF PHARMACY" TO ALLOW
PHARMACY TECHNICIANS TO ADMINISTER VACCINES OR
IMMUNIZATIONS TO A PERSON WHO IS THREE (3) YEARS OF
AGE OR OLDER; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AUTHORIZE PHARMACY TECHNICIANS TO
ADMINISTER VACCINES AND IMMUNIZATIONS.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION I. Arkansas Code § 17-92-101(17)(C), concerning the
definition of "practice of pharmacy" relating to pharmacists and pharmacies,
is amended to read as follows:

(C) (i) The Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy may permit
pharmacy technicians other than pharmacists or interns to perform some or all
of those functions described in Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy rules under
the direct, personal supervision of a licensed pharmacist pursuwant—te under
rules defining the minimum qualifications of such employees, the ratio of
pharmacy technicians to supervising pharmacists, and the scope of the duties,
practices, and procedures that the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy
determines will promote the delivery of competent, professional

pharmaceutical services and promote the public health and welfare. Nethingdin

his el hall ] ; 11owt ] e
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e 14 ;

(ii) A pharmacy technician may administer vaccines

and immunizations to a person three (3) vears of age or older if delegated to

do so by a supervising pharmacist, but may not administer other medications.

(iii) The conduct of a pharmacy technician is the
responsibility of the pharmacist-in-charge and supervising pharmacist of the
pharmacy who shall not permit the employee to perform any act, task, or
function that involves the exercise of independent judgment by the employee.

4443y (iv) Pharmacy products prepared by pharmacy
technicians shall be verified for accuracy by the supervising pharmacist
before release for patient use, and the verification shall be documented.

i) (v) The use of pharmacy technicians in a manner
not authorized by this chapter or rules promulgated hereunder shall be
unprofessional conduct by the pharmacist-in-charge and the supervising
pharmacist.

4#)¥(vi) It is recognized that hospital pharmacy
technicians as defined in § 17-92-602(4) are governed by the Hospital
Pharmacies Act, § 17-92-601 et seq., and related Arkansas State Board of

Pharmacy rules developed pursuant—te—that subehapter under the Hospital

Pharmacies Act, § 17-92-601 et seq.;

/s/Boyd

APPROVED: BECAME LAW ON 3/22/21 WITHOUT THE GOVERNOR’S SIGNATURE.
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 408 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: H2/22/21
93rd General Assembly 1
Regular Session, 2021 HOUSE BILL 1069

By: Representatives Pilkington, McCollum
By: Senators B. Davis, T. Garner

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND THE PROVISIONS OF THE ARKANSAS CODE
CONCERNING THE PRACTICE OF PHARMACY; TO AUTHORIZE
PHARMACISTS TO PROVIDE ACCESS TO AND ADMINISTRATION
OF ORAL CONTRACEPTIVES; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE PROVISIONS OF THE ARKANSAS
CODE CONCERNING THE PRACTICE OF PHARMACY;
AND TO AUTHORIZE PHARMACISTS TO PROVIDE
ACCESS TO AND ADMINISTRATION OF ORAL
CONTRACEPTIVES.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 17-92-101(17) (A) (1) (h), concerning the
definition of "practice of pharmacy" regarding pharmacists and pharmacies, is
amended to read as follows:

(h) TUnder a statewide protocol, a pharmacist
may initiate therapy and administer or dispense, or both, drugs that include

Naloxone, and nicotine replacement therapy products, and oral contraceptives;

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 17-92-115 is amended to read as follows:

17-92-115. Requirements for administering and dispensing under
statewide protocol.

(a) When initiating therapy and administering or dispensing, or both,

under a statewide protocol, a pharmacist shall:

T ————
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As Engrossed: H2/22/21 HB1069

(1) Notify the primary care provider of the patient of any drug
or device furnished to the patient or enter the appropriate information in a
patient record system shared with the primary care provider, as permitted by
the primary care provider;

(2) Provide the patient with a written record of the drugs or
devices furnished and advise the patient to consult a physician of the
patient’s choice, if the patient does not have a primary care provider; and

(3)(A) Make a standardized fact sheet available to the recipient
of the drug or device.

(B) The standardized fact sheet shall include without

limitation:

(i) The indications and contraindications for the
use of the drug or device;

(ii) The appropriate method for the use of the drug
or device;

(iii) The need for medical follow-up; and

(iv) Other appropriate informatiom.

(b) (1) In addition to the requirements under subsection (a) of this

section, when initiating therapy and administering or dispensing, or both,

oral contraceptives under a statewide protocol, a pharmacist shall:

(A) Complete a training program related to oral

contraceptives that has been approved by the Arkansas State Board of

Pharmacy;

(B) (i) Screen a patient seeking oral contraceptives to

assess whether the patient has been seen by a primary care provider or

women’s healthcare provider within the previous six (6) months.

(i1) If the patient has not been seen by a primary

care provider or women’s healthcare provider within the previous six (6)

months, the pharmacist shall:

(a) Provide the patient with a referral to a

local primary care provider or women’s healthcare provider; and

(b) Not dispense more than a six-month supply

of oral contraceptives or the equivalent number of refills to the patient

until the patient has been seen by a primary care provider or women’s

healthcare provider.

(iii) A pharmacist shall not provide the patient

2 02-22-2021 09:32:27 JMBOO7Y
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As Engrossed: H2/22/21 HB1069

with a referral to a licensed abortion provider.

(iv) The board shall adopt screening assessment

procedures and questionnaires to be used by pharmacists throughout the state;

(C)(i) Explain verbally to the patient the possible

effects of an oral contraceptive, including without limitation the death of

an unborn child and possible health complication or adverse reactions as

printed by the United States Food and Drug Administration.

(ii) The patient and pharmacist shall sign an

informed consent form that documents the explanation described in subdivision

(b)(1)(C) (i) of this section and place the form in the patient’s medical

record;

(D) Report the following information to the Department of

Health:

(i) The number of women who receive oral

contraceptives without a prescription; and

(ii) The age of the women who receive oral

contraceptives without a prescription;

(E) Provide a standardized information sheet about the

oral contraceptive dispensed to the patient; and

(F) Write a summary of consultation to be maintained in

the patient’s medical record.

(2) A pharmacist shall only initiate therapy and administer or

dispense, or both, oral contraceptives under a statewide protocol to an

individual who is eighteen (18) years of age or older.

/s/Pilkington

APPROVED: 3/22/21

3 02-22-2021 09:32:27 JMBOO7



O 00 ~N oy BN

W W W W W W W N ™D N NN N DD NN N = = e
P R Syt S N S S V= S > B S - MU U SN ~SR SCR (C RS I« B X« e B N S A - O e =

Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 503 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: H2/24/21 H3/4/21
93rd General Assembly 1
Regular Session, 2021 HOUSE BILL 1246

By: Representatives L. Johnson, Bragg, Eubanks
By: Senators D. Wallace, Hester

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO ALLOW PHARMACISTS TO TREAT CERTAIN HEALTH
CONDITIONS; TO MODIFY PHYSICIAN DISPENSING; TO ALLOW
DELEGATION OF PHYSICIAN DISPENSING; AND FOR OTHER
PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO ALLOW PHARMACISTS TO TREAT CERTAIN
HEALTH CONDITIONS; TO MODIFY PHYSICIAN
DISPENSING; AND TO ALLOW DELEGATION OF
PHYSICIAN DISPENSING.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. DO NOT CODIFY. Purpose.

It is the purpose of this act to authorize pharmacists in Arkansas to

test and screen for health conditions that the Centers for Medicare and

Medicaid Services has determined qualify for a waiver under the federal

Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988, the federal regulations

adopted, or any established screening procedures that can safely be performed

by a pharmacist.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 17-92-101(17)(A)(x), concerning the

definition of "practice of pharmacy", is amended to read as follows:

(x)(a) Providing pharmacy cares—and.
(b) A pharmacist may treat the following

conditions within the framework of a statewide written protocol:

HANEREn o020 03544 B
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As Engrossed: H2/24/21 H3/4/21 HB1246

(1) Influenza;

(2) Pharyngitis caused by streptococcus

A; or
(3) Other health conditions that can be

screened utilizing the waived test under the Clinical Laboratory Improvement

Amendments of 1988, that may be adopted by rule of the Arkansas State Board

of Pharmacy, in consultation with and upon approval of the Arkansas State

Medical Board.

(c) A pharmacist shall only treat conditions

for which the pharmacist has tested and that are approved under this
subdivision (17) (A)(x)(c).

(d) (1) The Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy,

with consultation and upon approval of the Arkansas State Medical Board,

shall adopt by rule:

(A) A formulary of medicinal drugs

that a pharmacist may prescribe for treatment of conditions listed in

subdivision (17)(A)(x)(b) of this section; and

(B) A written statewide protocol

for conditions listed in subdivision (17)(A)(x)(b) of this section, which

shall including without limitation age of people that can be treated and

medications to be used to treat people under this subdivision.

(2) The formulary shall include

medicinal drugs approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration

which are indicated for treatment of these conditions, including without

limitation any over-the-counter medication.

(3) The formulary shall not include any

controlled substance in Schedule I-IV or 21 U.S.C. § 812, as existing on

January 1, 2021.

(e) A pharmacist may write a prescription for

over-the-counter medications, supplies, and devices; and

SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 17-92-101(18), concerning the definition of
"prescription", is amended to read as follows:
(18) (A)(i) “Prescription” means an order for medicine or
medicines usually written as a formula by a physician, optometrist, dentist,

veterinarian, or other licensed medicinal practitioner.

2 03-04-2021 10:35:44 JMB190
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As Engrossed: H2/24/21 H3/4/21 HB1246

(ii) A prescription It contains the names and

quantities of the desired substance, with instructions to the pharmacist for
its preparation and to the patient for the use of the medicine at a
particular time and may authorize the pharmacist to substitute a
therapeutically equivalent drug that is at & an equal or lower cost to the
patient and communicate that authorization by any generally accepted means of
communication of a prescription from a prescriber to a pharmacist.
(B)(i) A _— : £ ) a1l fal ;

Ball 1 £ ; L1 ; —_— ; : ;

preseription. pharmacist whose practice is located within this state may

substitute one (1) medication for a therapeutically equivalent medication.

(ii) However, a pharmacist shall not substitute ome

(1) medication for a therapeutically equivalent medication if:

(a) A prescription is in writing and the

prescriber indicates in his or her own handwriting by name or initial that no

substitution is to be made;

(b) A prescription is not in writing and the

prescriber expressly indicates that the prescription is to be dispensed as

communicated; or

(c) The Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy has

determined that a therapeutically equivalent medication should not be

substituted and has notified all pharmacists of that determination.

(C)(i) Before dispensing, the pharmacist shall discuss
verbally any suggested substitution with the patient and inform the patient
that the patient has a right to refuse the substitution.

(ii) The discussion under subdivision (18)(C)(i) of
this section shall include without limitation:

(a) Notification to the patient that the
therapeutically equivalent drug does not contain the identical active
ingredient present in the prescribed drug; and

(b) All differences in dosage and frequency
between the prescribed drug and the therapeutically equivalent drug.

(D) The pharmacist shall send notice of the substitution
to the prescriber in writing or by electronic communication within twenty-
four (24) hours after the drug is dispensed to the patient.

(E) Subdivision (18)(B) of this section does not apply to

3 03-04-2021 10:35:44 JMB190
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specific acts of drug therapy management or disease state management
delegated to a pharmacist based upon a written protocol or patient care plan

approved by a physician under subdivision (17)(A)(ix) of this section;

SECTION 4. Arkansas Code Title 17, Chapter 92, Subchapter 1, is
amended to add an additional section to read as follows:

17-92-118. Point-of-care treatment.

A pharmacist who tests for conditions under § 17-92-101(17)(A) (x)
shall:

(1) Hold a license to practice pharmacy in this state;

(2) Report a diagnosis or suspected existence of influenza to

the Department of Health;

(3) Furnish patient records to a healthcare practitioner

designated by the patient upon the request of the patient; and

(4) Maintain records of all patients receiving services under

this section for two (2) vyears.

SECTION 5. Arkansas Code § 17-95-102 is amended to read as follows:

17-95-102. Legend drugs.

(a) A-dispensing physieian—3is As used in this section, a "dispensing
physician" means a physician licensed under the Arkansas Medical Practices

Act, § 17-95-201 et seq., § 17-95-301 et seq., and § 17-95-401 et seq., who

purchases legend drugs to be dispensed to his or her patients for the
patients’ personal use and administration outside the physician’s office.

(b) This section shall does not apply to physicians who only dispense
drugs in injectable form unless they are controlled substances, in which case
the section shall fully apply.

(c) The dispensing physician shall:

(1) Personally dispense legend drugs, and the dispensing of such
drugs may net be delegated;
(2)(A) Keep records of all receipts and distributions of legend
drugs.
(B) The records shall be subject to inspection by the
proper enforcement authority and shall be readily accessible for inspection
and maintained in a central registry; and

(3) Label legend drugs with the following information:

4 03-04-2021 10:35:44 JMB190
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As Engrossed: H2/24/21 H3/4/21 HB1246

(A) Patient’s name and address;
(B) Prescribing physician’s address and narcotic registry
number issued by the United States Drug Enforcement Administration or

national provider identification number;

(C) Date of dispensing; and
(D) Directions and cautionary statements, if any, as
required by law.
(d) (1) A physician licensed under the Arkansas Medical Practices Act,
§ 17-95-201 et seq., § 17-95-301 et seq., and § 17-95-401 et seq., shall not
dispense legend drugs without prior approval by the Arkansas State Medical

Board after application to the beard Arkansas State Medical Board and on the

showing of need.

(2) Licensed physicians who were dispensing in the ordinary
course of their practice before April 12, 2013, shall be exempt from the
requirements of this subsection.

(3) The beard Arkansas State Medical Board shall determine

whether need exists for a physician to dispense a specific legend drug to the
physician’s patient for a patient’s personal use and administration outside
of the physician’s office based on such information as is necessary for the

board Arkansas State Medical Board to determine:

(A) The legend drug or drugs that the physician requests
to dispense;

(B) The ability of a physician’s patient to obtain the
legend drug from other medical professionals;

(C) The availability of the legend drug to be prescribed
by the physician;

(D) The hours at which the legend drug may be obtained
from other medical professionals;

(E) The distance the physician’s patient must travel to
obtain the legend_drug from other medical professionals;

(F) Whether the physician has been investigated by the

board Arkansas State Medical Board concerning the improper prescribing or use

of a legend drug;
(G) Whether the physician has a financial relationship
with the manufacturer of a legend drug that would create the appearance of a

conflict of interest;

2 03-04-2021 10:35:44 JMB190
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As Engrossed: H2/24/21 H3/4/21 HB1246

(H) Whether the physician dispensing a legend drug will
foster cost containment through improved efficiency and productivity; and
(I) The procedures the physician has implemented to:
(i) Assure compliance with the requirements of
subsection (c) of this section;
(ii) Monitor and guard against potential drug
interactions;
(iii) Store and safeguard the legend drugs; and
(iv) Comply with the Prescription Drug Monitoring
Program Act, § 20-7-601 et seq., concerning the reporting requirements to the
Prescription Drug Monitoring Program.
(4) This section does not apply to a prescription for:
(i) A preseriptienfer—a topical medicationy;
(ii) Naloxone+y;

(iii) Nicotine niecetimre replacement therapy

productsy—e¥;
(iv) Contraceptives; ecentraceptives—is—exempt—from
Loy () {3) ok thi ,

(v) Acute care medication; or

(vi) Initial treatment for maintenance medicatiomn.

(e)(l) The beard Arkansas State Medical Board shall enforce the

provisions of this section and is authorized and directed to adopt rules to

carry out its—purpese the purpose of this section.

(2) The Arkansas State Medical Board shall adopt rules for

physician dispensing that, at minimum, meet the same requirements for

dispensing and oversight established by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy.

(f) As used in this section:

(1)(A) "Acute care medication" means a legend drug that is not a

controlled substance and is prescribed for no more than fourteen (14) days of

therapy.

(B) "Acute care medication” includes the following oral

medications:

(i) Medications to treat infections;

(ii) Anti-inflammatory medications;

(iii) Antinausea medications;

(iv) Antihistamines; and

6 03-04-2021 10:35:44 JMB190
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As Engrossed: H2/24/21 H3/4/21 HB1246

(v) Cough medications;

(2) "Initial treatment" means the first prescription written for

a specific prescription medication intended to initiate therapy on the

medication; and

(3) "Maintenance medication'" means a legend drug that:

(A) Is not a controlled substance;

(B) Is prescribed for no more than thirty (30) days; and

(C) Is used to treat one (1) of the following medical

conditions:

(i) Hypertension;

(ii) Diabetes mellitus; or

(iii) Hypercholesterolemia.

SECTION 6. DO NOT CODIFY. Effective date.

Sections 1 -4 take effect on and after January 1, 2022.

/s/Johnson

APPROVED: 4/1/21

7 03-04-2021 10:35:44 JMB190
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