Arkansas Department of Aeronautics

<u>MISSION STATEMENT</u>: To create a safer, more desirable atmosphere for the Pilot, and at the same time, create and improve airports to better serve Arkansas communities and industry.

ORGANIZATION: The Department currently has 5 staff members and a Commission of 7. Commissioners are appointed by the Governor and serve 5-year terms. The Department Director is recommended to the Governor by the Commission. Director serves at the will of the Governor.

<u>RESPONSIBILITIES</u>: Inspection of airports and facilities, encourage the establishment and planned expansion of airports, promote aviation safety/security, administer state airport aid program. <u>Coordinate aviation planning efforts between local, state, and federal (FAA) governments</u>.

FUNDING PROGRAMS:

Department receives revenue (for funding) from a *Special Revenue* account derived from the sales tax paid on aircraft, aviation fuel/aviation related products, parts and labor. All 92 public owned/public use airports are eligible for funding on a reimbursable, matching basis and all Arkansas airports (cities & counties) have participated in this grant program at one time or another. The percentage of funding depends upon the type of project requested. Projects eligible are: runway/taxiway/apron paving, land acquisition, navigational equipment and lighting, security fencing, obstruction removal, etc. All safety/security enhancement projects are the focus and priority. The Department offers airport planning assistance by maintaining a current State System Plan, Capital Improvement Plan, and Airport Layout Drawings for all public owned/public use Arkansas Airports.

Aviation safety/education is promoted through the wire marker program, FBO Line Training video series, windsock program, annual Certified Flight Instructor Refresher Clinic and annual aircraft Inspection Authorization clinic. We also work closely with the FAA Flight Standards District Office (FSDO) in support of the Wings Safety Program for all pilots and other collaborative administrative duties. The Department maintains a current air navigation chart and a pictorial directory, both of which are updated as needed, and publishes a quarterly newsletter. Support from the Governor, Lt. Governor, Legislators, State Commissioners, and the aviation industry in Arkansas has helped make this program successful.

Commission Members:

Dr. William Morgan	Paragould	Term Expires 11/09/2016
William McKenzie	Fayetteville	Term Expires 11/09/2016
David Glover	Tillar	Term Expires 11/09/2017
Wiley Blansett	Searcy	Term Expires 11/09/2017
Clark Mason	Little Rock	Term Expires 11/09/2018
James Brain	Rogers	Term Expires 11/09/2019
Samuel Jackson	Blytheville	Term Expires 09/09/2020